Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Harcum College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Busy, career changes

    Bang for the buck

    Its small and its cute. Some of the classrooms look a little old like they can use dusting though or a nice coat of paint. However the staff works with what they have and you LEARN which is the primary focus.

    What to do for fun

    Theres a lunch room and aschool store. During the morning- early afternoon there is a food cart in the academic building hallway. I am not sure about all the food accomodations the school offers in their lunch room.

    Food and Dining

    Never stayed on compus but am thinking about doing so next semester. There isnt anything offered to commuters other than you pay. I wish it was part of the tuition to eat at least ONCE aday there. Especially for people whom are commuting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared by the lunch cart lady yelling good Morning on your first day. Harcum has a lot of activities and welcoming days with tons of free food and free vendors, events, all kinds of things. Not your typical extremely large college where everyone is fighting to be at the top. Just stay focus and do your work.

    In three sentences

    Small college with lots of personality. The staff takes the utmost professionalism with their students and work with you quickly. The teachers and staff are wonderful.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great. monitoring the parking lots hourly makes me feel safer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    clinical hours are in the evenings

    Bang for the buck

    19,700/semester=full time 630/credit=part time

    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    no cafeteria...just a snack bar. food would be nice

    Academic Rigor

    there is a small window of flexibility

    Tips for prospective students

    read and study all material before coming to class. learn to practice abstract thinking.

    In three sentences

    great for working parents; day or evening classes available. teachers are geared to help us understand our knowledge of material.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always there when you need them They are great!

    Greek Life

    Library is always opened and all computers are welcomed to be used by students, guests, and visitors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always events going on campus. Most are free!

    Great for these types of students

    Sporty-type students will like it here. The fitness center is on thing, but the mountain roads are a great way to do some hiking and jogging.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a daycare right on campus for little kids.

    Bang for the buck

    It is so expensive. Everything in this school is way over priced.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stores around this area. Also, there is a fitness center you can work out if you want.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion, the food is very unhealthy. I have a sensitive stomach and I always have problems after eating their breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms here are terrible. It is old, and inconvenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here are great. They help you whenever you need it. There is a tutor center for people who might need a slight help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, all you have to do is ask your advisor. If you don't, you will get lost and things will get very complicated. They're very nice.

    In three sentences

    This college is very old, but their programs are amazing. Staffs are all very helpful. It's a good college overall.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college grounds appear to be clean and active with students. The local community has good restaurants and activities for students to participate.

    Food and Dining

    I am unsure of the food and dining. I am a cummuting student

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure of dormatory life. I am a commuting student.

    Academic Rigor

    I am unsure of the academic rigor, but based on the statements of the faculty and current students it was stated that the program is very intense but prepares you for the nursing licensing exam

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty and staff appear to be well prepared to teach and tutor the nursing students to fundamental on being an effective nurse.

    In three sentences

    Based on the first orientation program, the faculty appears to be very knowledgeable and prepared for the upcoming school year. The program appears to be designed for students to succeed with additional supports for students who require help. The current nursing students were able to give a reality to the program and faculty.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports. Very nice library. Outdoor activities. Local parks. Close to King of Prussia Mall and Philadelphia.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria is nice enough and the food is good enough. Since I didn't live on campus, I rarely ate there.

    Dorm Life

    *Unfortunately, I did not live on campus-much cheaper for me to commute!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small, which means a lot more attention for each student when necessary. Even lecture classes only consist of twenty to twenty-five students, which makes it much easier to concentrate. Being that it is a junior college, Harcum's classes are about the same academic rigor as a Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Harcum is a Junior college, which means that most students are there for two year Associate degrees. They have numerous degrees that only require the two years. Most professors are very accommodating and helpful in their area of expertise. If necessary, students can be tutored and even take their test with the Learning Specialist.

    In three sentences

    Harcum is near the city of Philadelphia Pennsylvania in the thriving town of Bryn Mawr. There is alot in that area for every type of person, whether you like the outdoors, shopping or the city, there is something for everybody. Winters can be cold, and summers are hot, but the Fall is beautiful because it is close to a mountain.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did read up on the safety on the college campus. They have a strict policy on everything that covers unlawful to loitering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This I am unable to answer, I do not start classes until January 13, 2013.

    Bang for the buck

    Hopfully I will not be in a large hole after attending college to further my education.

    What to do for fun

    Always be safe in whatever you do. Mingle with other students. Talk about classwork and how you have adjusted to your new life journey.

    Food and Dining

    Not being on campus, I have no way of knowing this.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Working smart, not hard. Always asking questions. Keep a current activities calendar about all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do the research on any school before going forward. Make sure that your are ready 100% and are ready to work smart, not hard. Keep a journal on all your acheivements while attending any and all higher education institutions for your benefit.

    In three sentences

    From my research I have found that there are older students like myself. The course hours are within my weekly work schedule. The history of the college is outstanding.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    $5 movies at the Bryn Mawr Film Institute with a student membership!

    Food and Dining

    Definitely a weak point. The snack cart and the dining hall are not convenient and do not offer enough fresh, healthy food options.

    Dorm Life

    I don not reside on campus, but I hear the dorms are okay.

    Academic Rigor

    The vocational programs are top-notch, but the general classes, not so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    They are not the most tech-savvy school, so be prepared for lots of paperwork and steps to complete basic administrative processes.

    In three sentences

    Best place in the area to train in a career as a dental assistant, vet tech, occupational therapist assistant or physical therapist assistant. Each program is led by top professionals in their respective fields. It's in a great location and easy to get to.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Right outside Philadelphia a train ride and you are in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expensive school look for $$

    In three sentences

    Professors are awesome

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I dont know I never attended the campus

    Bang for the buck

    expensive and the financial aid doesnt help you.

    What to do for fun

    I did not attend the campus I took online courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your instructor respects you

    In three sentences

    Does not care

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very strict

    Greek Life

    not apply

    Clubs and Activities

    not apply

    Great for these types of students

    all kind of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    food contests

    Bang for the buck

    great teachers, friendly environment

    What to do for fun

    gym, Harcum fun

    Food and Dining

    very good

    Dorm Life

    do not apply

    Academic Rigor

    very intense curriculum program and hands-on experience

    Tips for prospective students

    study, do your homework

    In three sentences

    close by, challenging

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have no idea.

    Dorm Life

    Only 5% of students live on campus, and I am not one of them.

    Academic Rigor

    If you manage your time and pay attention in class and study outside of class, you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is extremely expensive!

    In three sentences

    Amazing faculty! Everyone really wants to help you and make things easy and simple for you. I love it.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Harcum College is a very safe place to be and live. Security is on point at all times.

    Greek Life

    no answer

    Clubs and Activities

    no answer

    Great for these types of students

    Harcum College is good for students who are afraid to step out on faith and do their own things right away. You can gradually do what you need to do at your own pace. No one every hassles you about anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no answer.

    Bang for the buck

    When visiting the bookstore it is the bomb, they have everything you need and if it is not there, speak to someone and see if they can order it for you.

    What to do for fun

    You can go shopping on public transportation which will take you to center city or take you to King of Prussia, PA. They show movies on campus or you can hang out in the book store and watch television. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food from what I sampled was decent, not remember you are not at home to get that home cooked meal, but they are doing the best with what they have to work with.

    Dorm Life

    No answer not living on campus, always visit.

    Academic Rigor

    No answer

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your instructors; don't be afraid of asking questions to fellow students or staff, everyone is very friendly.

    In three sentences

    I give Harcum College a 10+++++++++. When visiting the campus you notice how well kept it was not a piece of litter anywhere. The faculty and staff were very pleasant and down to earth but professional at all times. I know any parent that sends their children to Harcum will be very pleased of the education curriculum and the way they assist every student if need be, if staff or faculty not available they can go to the schools web site and find all the answers to their questions. Not only is Harcum College people friendly but it is also computer friendly and both go hand in hand. Keep up the great work Harcum College.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students sign up for the automatic alert system so if anything goes wrong you'll hear about it. A campus text message will be sent out along with emails to make sure students know what's going on, when to come to school or when to chill in a safe place.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love shopping in thrift shops to pop some tags this area is for you. Very safe and clean students love to walk the streets entering the many boutiques and thrift shops. There are also many yogurt shops around that a student can drop by for a cool treat.

    Bang for the buck

    Your getting what you pay for. Classes may usually end early but when you mention Harcum people look at you differently. Being partnered with the university of Pennsylvania allows the students to get Ivy League instruction, without the price. Some programs send the students away to hospitals and internships so that they may, one show their skills and get hired, and get the experience to back up their degrees. With multiple labs on campus the student is close to the instruction they need, and its known as some of the best.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of events to attend! In the first week of a semester the school hosts an all you can eat welcome pick nick for the entire college! Fill your plate till your full and sample to cool freebies that are there, possibly free hair styling or free treats from the local bakery. The school also hosts dances, movies on the lawn and multiple trips into town. One of the bigger trips is the trip downtown on Philly College Day where students can enter the museums for, you got it, Free!

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, but there aren't that many options. You can either buy a snack (or heat up your own meal) at the school store and lounge. Or you could buy a small lunch from the cart in the hall. If your really hungry you can take 6 bucks and go to the dining hall where there is an all you can eat buffet breakfast lunch and dinner. If you don't want to eat at the school there are other options near by that flashing your school id will get you a discount on.

    Dorm Life

    This isn't a party school. The majority of the students are in their twenties or on the tip of their thirties. It's a great environment to study in, because it's quiet. The students aren't riley and all have their goals. The work is meant for this environment. Focusing on studying and completing assignments early allows for time to relax. There's plenty of shops in the suburban area and cool little hole in the wall restaurants to check out.The school provides many coupons for free meals at the surrounding places, so check it out!

    Academic Rigor

    A 73% or a C is considered failing. Study hard and make sure to ask enough questions so you know the material. At a minimum, there will be either a quiz or an exam in one class a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized: The school provides you with a daily planner, take it and write down your assignments for each class. Ask Questions: The Professors are nice and are willing to work with and help you. It may take a minute, but set time aside to talk to them one on one. But first make sure you know exactly what you want to ask. Have fun: The Professors have a sense of humor and like to see you enjoying their class. Also when the school offers it's activates take advantage, but don't let it interfere with your studies.

    In three sentences

    If you want a way to get in and out of school, with not much debt this is the school for you. A small college where Professors are on a first name basis with the students. Also a 100% employment rate for graduating students, leaves very little to be dissatisfied with.