Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Hardin-Simmons University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any student who like to learn in education and Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go on a campus tour of here and all schols you are interested in. Go to all events during orientation, you'll make so many friends. Don't stay inside your shell. Attend campus acivites, they are uberfun.

    Bang for the buck

    HSU has tuition lock, s what you pay your first year is what you will pay every year no matter what, it never raises.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a great campus, easy to navigate and very close together. At Christmas time, all the trees are lit up. It's beautiful. The band marches around campus to practice for parades, it's awesome to be coming out of a long lab and see the band walkng down the street, it always puts me in a better mood.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really and truly are there for you. They know you by name and face. The teachers are interested in you, you as a student, you as a person, you as an adult, everything. They love questions, and e-mails, and office visits. Never be scared to stop by, they love to help.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I hope to learn alot. I would rate them a 5

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a smaller campus, those looking to get involved through campus life and enjoy a top-notch education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a diligent student. Research your opportunities, especially before getting into debt at a private university. Take full advantage of your professors because they care for you and seeing you succeed!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other Baptist universities in Texas, Hardin-Simmons is one of the more affordable choices. Of course as a student, I would have greatly appreciated lower tuition rates, but for the education, class size and professionalism of the profs, definitely worth it!

    Did enjoy being here

    I'm a Cowboy Band ex and miss all the fun I had performing at football and basketball games as well as in parades throughout Texas. The campus is beautiful, teachers are awesome and there is a lot to offer students.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors here are fantastic! They are willing to meet with students outside of class and want to see the students succeed!

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardin-Simmons is great for students who are passionate about God. The university has an amazing Christian atmosphere. It is also great for students who do not want to go to a huge public university. The small student population is great for students who want to get plugged into social clubs and campus organizations. I believe that anyone who applies here can find a place to fit in.

    Tips for prospective students

    In general, don't be afraid to apply to college. For prospective students thinking about applying to Hardin-Simmons, don't get turned off by the school because of it's small size. The small student population allows incoming students to feel at home here. I have found a family here at Hardin-Simmons among my close friends. I highly encourage students to apply to the Honors Program at Hardin-Simmons. If you get into the Honors Program, you get another scholarship added to the university scholarship you will probably receive when you apply to the university. Hardin-Simmons is a great place to be. The Christian atmosphere is very inviting, and you feel like you are home here.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition may be a bit high, but the education you receive is totally worth the money you pay. The university offers many scholarships, so paying for college is not so difficult to do. I have a university scholarship which covers almost all of my tuition and other costs such as my meal plan and my housing costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a small school, Hardin-Simmons makes everyone feel like one big family. The university encourages students to get plugged into campus organizations and social groups on campus. I enjoy being a part of something big, and I do not feel like a number here. Making friends is so easy here, and mostly everyone you meet will have a smile on their face and is ready to strike up a conversation with you.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning environment is excellent here. The student to professor ratio is considerably lower than that of other colleges and universities, so students can actually have access to the professor and build genuine relationships with them. I feel that students can learn whole lot better with a smaller class because being in a class of 500 people is so much more intimidating than being in a class of 15 to 20 people. Most of the classes I am taking are intellectually engaging. I highly recommend high school students applying here to also apply for the Honors Program. Being a part of the Honors Program has developed my cognitive skills and has taught me how to think differently about important issues in our society.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Aside from the occasional pledging annual car tagging, your relatively safe on and around campus.

    Greek Life

    Heavily service group oriented.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join, but lacking in a variety of Majors.

    Great for these types of students

    If your from a smaller town and don't mind being surround by wide open spaces.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Abilene Art Walk happens in twice in the fall and twice in the spring. A large showcasing of local talent from surrounding colleges, high schools, and around town. Plenty of free food, music, and programs to entertain families for hours.

    What to do for fun

    Most entertainment takes places in the Abilene Civic Center where hosts of Car Shows, Roller Derby, Philharmonic Orchestra, Operas..ect come and go. There are plenty of places to go line dancing or, if your looking for something more modern, night clubs catering to the college crowd. The only mall in town is one story and open for early morning joggers before stores open for the day.

    Food and Dining

    Very basic choices of meals. From Home Style to Fast Food.

    Dorm Life

    Heating/Cooling system is based on an old water conditioner. Takes a while to circulate during the hottest days; Somewhat ok in the coolest days of summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult to follow. You'd really have to work hard to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    All dorms are divided by gender. Don't expect the local bus to get you around town on time; it stops service to/from campus roughly 5 pm weekdays. The Ring by Spring is common tradition among the predominately Christian students. Mom and Pop grocer directly across the street from campus. Wonderful intership opportunities throughout the little, big town of Abilene.

    In three sentences

    Small town campus with a home town heart. Any future and returning student can appreciate the beautiful landscaping as well as the Southern hospitality of its students and staff. Don't be fooled by the small campus, little change mentality, because Hardin-Simmons happens to have a few hidden gems your sure to discover as you attend.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hardin-Simmons is an open campus but does not slack off when it comes to the safety of their students. There are emergency phones located in each parking lot, and campus police who work specifically for Hardin-Simmons and are on the clock 24/7 along with lights that illuminate the campus like Christmas. There has never been a moment that I have felt unsafe or in danger while walking around campus during the daytime or nighttime, which definitely makes my parents feel a lot better.

    Greek Life

    Because this is a private university, the social and service groups are local and unique to Hardin-Simmons along with a few national groups that are academic or service based. While these are organizations are all different, each student can find a group that meets their interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join that will keep you busy. These make it easier to make new friends you might not meet otherwise, and give you a great study break to relax and take a breather.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who are looking for a smaller atmosphere where you get to know your professors and classmates on a deeper level and a good, Christian environment that is encouraging and uplifting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some crazy and strange traditions here on campus but it is a lot of fun to join in on them. It is almost cult-like but not in a creepy way. Being here and participating in the different events makes you feel like you are a part of something great.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel like I have gotten what I paid for. I have worked hard to be able to attend this school, and through all of this, there has never been one moment where I regretted coming here.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities going on every week that are always fun to do, but even if the campus gets old, there are tons of things to do in Abilene that are college student budget-friendly.

    Food and Dining

    The two meals I have in our cafeteria are some of my favorite parts of the day. I have nutritious food, time to relax and hang out with friends, and sometimes a little entertainment. It is always nice to enter such a warm environment where I can stop for a while and eat good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a little hard when you are with the same people all the time, but if you keep an open mind and you are willing to compromise and work with your roommate and neighbors, it can be the best part of college.

    Academic Rigor

    College classes can be a challenge, and the professors will not baby you here, but they are also very willing to work with and help you. The professors push you to reach high goals and be the best you can be, and are willing to help you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a very different experience and can be a huge change in one's life, so any advice I would give is this: let the college you choose be the one that feels most like home. You want the school you attend to be an environment that you are comfortable in and can adapt to easily. Hardin-Simmons was the perfect match for me because every time I visited, I met people that were genuinely kind and caring and were honest with me about their experiences. Basically, I felt like I was running into old friends and were catching up with each other.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons University is a warm, welcoming and family-based school that has the goal of being a family in Christ. The campus is not so big that you are overwhelmed, and not so small that you know everyone and see the same people every day. The staff is kind and willing to help you with whatever problems you may have and work to make the transition to college and then into the real world smooth.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have actual police officers on campus so its not like they're mall security guards.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small schools where everyone knows everyone and tradition is huge then you'll like this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's beanie capping. The beanies aren't to appealing and freshman have to wear them for about a week.

    What to do for fun

    There's a zoo and a coupl of movie theatres but thats about it. I just workout.

    Food and Dining

    It's all that you could ask for. There is pizza, hamburgers ,and salads.;all sorts of food . The only problem is sometimes the drinks are just water. One of the ladies is a little grouchy.

    Dorm Life

    Its okay if you want a room that is a little old. The rooms are small and the beds are so uncomfortable. The air conditioner works so that's good.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are really challenging me to go beyond my limits. Its hard but the teachers are there to help you out whenever. They really want you to succeed .

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a Really great place for incoming freshman. The orientation is so fun and the community is so nice. I love it here.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not that it's a good idea to go running around campus alone at night with party rocking blaring through your headphones, but the campus is pretty safe. The police respond very quickly and will make sure you are taken care of.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Omega!!!! Be a Leader, Be a friend, Be of service !!! What more can I say.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various events named challenges taking place around campus that makes the week very interesting. If you love to write, our campus newspaper is student run and its a great way to earn extra cash and be creative.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love to serve, go on mission trips, enjoy geek life, driving 3 hours to the nearest metro :-) , Road Trip! If you love theatre we have an amazing production crew!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The basement is located on the bottom floor of the moody center, every Thursday an event called Thirsty Thursdays where at noon, free pizza and soda is served to students. They are welcome to start up a game do ping-pong, pool, guitar hero or just watch some entertainment on the flat screen, pretty cool way to stay connected and meet new faces . Every time I go I meet someone new, it's insane!

    Bang for the buck

    Small town, but you can't judge a book by its cover. You don't have to be a super nerd to like the school or the town, you just have to keep an open mind,

    What to do for fun

    Lets go Cowboys/Cowgirls. sports here are tons of fun. Also Bowling in the basement, coffee shops, boutiques, prime time, lots of home style restaurants, Sharon's BBQ, Nikki's Swirl Shop, Sharky's, Jason's Deli, Coldstone, Old Navy, Greek life, student councils, volunteering at various organizations in town.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat in the campus cafeteria due to living off campus , however they are constantly trying to keep it affordable for students, healthy and diverse.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but had a chance to be a resident assistant over the summer and that was not fun. The students and I had an awesome time when the Internet and lights were working. Needless to say they could use a few updates.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors and professors are very proud to educate, minister and lead. This kind of dedication is what they are expecting from their students and it shows in all aspects of the campus community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. While Hardin-Simmons is located in a town of approximate 120,000 people, there is much opportunity to get involved. If you have a heart for serving others, this is a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    HSU is very productive in getting the student body involved in the community and ministry. The education is well worth the cost. It's a great and easy place to fall in love with.

  • 04/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HSU is the perfect university for students who love a small learning and living environment. Here at HSU, you have the opportunity to expand and grow as a person with Jesus Christ in your life. Students who are looking for strong Arts, Theater, Science, and/or Education programs will love it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    If HSU is the school for you, make sure you want to be here. It is a beautiful school, but it is not for everyone. If you are planning to attend here, God should be number one in your life. Having a strong faith in Him will make your experience and college years at HSU 100% worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    HSU is a very expensive school, but you receive a great education here! Not many universities have the tuition lock system that we have here. Meaning, whatever tuition you started off with in the beginning, it will stay the same until you graduate.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is a wonderful experience. I really got to know who I am as an individual person and learn to fend for myself. It was difficult at first, because I am so far from home, but the students and faculty here make me want to be here. Everyone is so welcoming and loving. I love that this school is a Christian-Baptist University. God is incorporated into everything that I do and accomplish here. I enjoy going to my weekly Chapel on campus and hearing from speakers about their experiences and how Christ has moved them into becoming a better Christian. It is truly a wonderful atmosphere and beautiful campus!

    Am learning a lot

    HSU has an excellent learning environment. All the classroom sizes are relatively small and the professors here love to get to know each and every student. Even though each professor has a different learning technique, I learn a lot from each one.

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students welcome!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just visit HSU. Take your parents and stay for an afternoon and you will feel the spirit of success.

    Bang for the buck

    I praying it will be, everyone who I've talked to so far agrees. I'm still searching for the bucks.

    Will enjoy being here

    I already have so many friends from church and Granbury who attend and have told me how much I will enjoy HSU and I have to attend!!

    Will learn a lot

    from Christain surrounds and ethics. I can't wait to start in the fall.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The environment is great and the people are nice. Plus, there is always something happening on campus.

    Will learn a lot

    The education is average, but respectable.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HSU is small and Christ oriented. Students looking for a small university that still offers many of the same extra-curricular activities as a large university will enjoy HSU. HSU is a place where you can grow in your faith while getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit the schools you think you may want to attend. If you are interested in HSU, visit. Imagine yourself at the school, if it seems comfortable and somewhere you could spend the next four years of your life, HSU may be the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    HSU is an expensive school, but if HSU is what you are looking for the cost is worth it. HSU also has a tuition freeze, the cost of tuition will not increase each year you attend, which is not something many schools can say. The faculty is kind and friendly, they want you to be able to attend HSU.

    Am enjoying being here

    HSU is a smaller school, getting to classes is very easy and quick. You will always see someone you know walking around campus. The campus grounds are beautiful and well kept. There is always something to do on campus. It is a small community at HSU, the professors, staff, and students all make a point of getting to know each other. Someone is always looking out for you.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great and definitely approachable. They want to know you as a student and as a person; they truly care about your success at HSU. They participate in school activities besides classroom teaching. Although, your choices for professors are limited due to the size of HSU, all the professors love what they do and will help you succeed in their class.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Couch Crew is a group of students that drag out couches, lawn chairs, and practically anything else you can imagine to support their football team on game day. This ambitious group of students sit on the furniture just north of the end-zone and cheer on their classmates, friends, and companions.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Hardin-Simmons University is quaint, yet diverse. There are many different food options for such a small school and environment.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Hardin-SImmons University is great! As a student, you will make a ton of friends within the dorms and build a home away from home with amazing individuals.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at Hardin-Simmons University treat you like an individual, not a number. They get to know each student in their class and bend over backwards to make sure each student is succeeding and being prepared for their desired field of work.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons University is a dream come true for me. I can not imagine getting a degree in Physical Therapy from anywhere else. The staff and students are absolutely phenomenal and there is a place for everyone wishing to attend this college.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police, and there is one on duty at all times.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a dog named damit was buried on campus, and there's an event each year around his grave. this year there were fun activities and a number of drawings; winners got ipods, gift cards to various places like chili's or itunes, etc.

    What to do for fun

    there's a bowling alley on campus and lots of movie theaters around town. there is also a mall for those who love to shop!

    Food and Dining

    although some food is not the best, the cafeteria has many different choices each day, and it is all you can eat. the student favorites are chicken fried steak, wraps, and the dessert area. there is always cookies, cake, and ten choices of blue bell ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    unlike many private schools, it's nice that there is no curfew for those living in the dorms at hsu.

    Tips for prospective students

    i know hsu is a private school and is very expensive; if money is the issue, apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    i really like the size of the school. my largest class this semester has about twenty students, so we aren't strangers to the professors. also, it's nice being able to walk from one side of campus to the other in less than ten minutes.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a campus police department. the policemen take shifts in patroling round the campus 24 hrs a day. the gate to the student apartment is locked after a certain time and can only be accessed through the swiping of the student's i.d card.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a whole bunch of clubs and activities going on, you just have to find the one that suits you and make the best of it!

    Great for these types of students

    students who enjoy studying or learning in a serene environement and who enjoy learning with practical experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it has a family psychology center on campus open to staffand students and also outsiders for counseling, therapy and testing. it also has a chapel where services are held once a week.

    What to do for fun

    join any of the sports teams. join the cowboy band or attend theatre shows by the theartre department.

    Food and Dining

    meals are a bit expensive, but nicely prepared, with a lot of hygeine in place.

    Dorm Life

    facilities are well maintained. peaceful and conducive.

    Academic Rigor

    it's very challenging, with a lot of hands-on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    just be yourself and enjoy the student- faculty relationship. find what suits you around and make the best of it.

    In three sentences

    it's a serene and conducive environment to learn. faculty and other staff are warm and encouraging. it's indeed a place to get an in-depth education enlightened by faith.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, swimming, sand volleyball, activities, and many more things!

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a great college experience, Hardin-Simmons University is the right choice for you. Be ready for a fun, loving, and friendly environment that will help you and your faith grow.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons University is located in a great environment. The college is very welcoming, fun, and a beautiful place to go to college. I loved the college when I went for a visit and has been the best one I've visited.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police driving around campus all the time.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is stupid and made up. The greek life at HSU arn't national clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some kind of activity going on around campus whether that's some kind of dance or free food.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the beginning of your freshman year we have a beaning capping. And we have this big ceremony and we get these hats. then the past Alumni have a an homemade ice cream party and the upperclassmen just come up and introduce themselves and sign your beany. by the end of the night your beany is covered with signatures. The freshman have to wear your beany on the first day of school. This tradition has been going on for years!!

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Abilene in general but we go country dancing a lot!!! We go to Guitars on Thursday nights and Oplin on Friday night.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is okay food but we are supposed to be signing a new food contract with another company fall of 2012. But we'll see.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good! Except since it is a private baptist school there are strict rules about girls going into boys dorms and the other way around. Girls dorms are opened on Thursday nights from 8 to 11 and Guys dorms are opened on Wednesday from 8 to 11. And there are strict rules on those nights. But the dorm buildings are cleaned everyday and we have room checks once a week.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are small so it's a lot of competition. In some of my classes I had 15 kids at most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to NSO!!! And don't be afraid to go to every school function, it's a great way to meet people.

    In three sentences

    It's a small but very beautiful campus. HSU has the West Texas feel, everyone is super friendly, including the professors.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus cops are always on patrol and just a short call away. I have never felt unsafe on campus as the university works hard to make it a secure and safe place for the students.

    Greek Life

    Our campus has seven social clubs that are far from the sororities and fraternities seen at many larger schools. Our social clubs focus on the sister and brotherhood of their clubs while serving Christ and others.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our campus features something for every student including service clubs, intramurals, newspaper, annual All School SING!, choir, and many more opportunities to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is serious about their education, faith, and friendships will love Hardin-Simmons University.

    Bang for the buck

    I could not ask for a better school for this price! The campus is absolutely gorgeous and the education you receive is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities at Hardin-Simmons is continually hosting events on campus to keep us having fun, getting needed breaks from studying, and getting to know each other. There is also free bowling, pool, ping pong, swimming, and gaming systems always available for study breaks and hang outs!

    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria on campus is definitely not one of the best parts of campus, the food is good enough to be happy with and bad enough to be excited to get home cooking! Plus there is an all you can eat Blue Bell ice cream bar!

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus was a great experience for me! The directors and RAs are always busy making dorm life a memorable and great part of college. The dorms are great and surprisingly became home to me!

    Academic Rigor

    Hardin-Simmons is serious about academics and strives to set us in the work world at the top of employers' lists. Because of the small class setting, we are able to do many more speeches and hands on projects to give us real world experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a small school that you can feel part of a family while being accepted for your beliefs and getting a great education, check out Hardin-Simmons. One experience with the friendly community and you will fall in love with it.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons is a family where as you walk to class you know almost every person you pass. Hardin-Simmons is a place of freedom to serve and speak about Jesus. Hardin-Simmons is an education enlightened by faith where the teachers care about the students on a personal level and because of this we are able to be scholars in our fields.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at HSU are social clubs, I am in one. I love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    HSU has social clubs and plenty of opportunities to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to enjoy college in a healthy way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pond on campus with water fountains in it, and it is by far my favorite place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    I love HSU, I just wish I wasn't paying so much for it.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with people and go to the mall of Abilene.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf at HSU was recently remodeled and the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is safe and easy!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a testing program! But the student to teacher ratio is small, and the professors are always available to talk!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    I love Hardin-Simmons University. It is a beautiful campus filled with wonderful people. I would choose to go here again if I could.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My mother, the true snoop that she is, never allows any of us to go anywhere without knowing whether or not its safe. And after searching and asking alot of questions, she found that its a very safe place.

    Greek Life

    After talking with a friend who was kind enough to show me around campus, she put me in mind of what it takes to be a pledge at HSU. Full of kind and respectful societies, Greek Life at HSU is not easy, but has its rewards.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs available at HSU than I could survey during the days which I spent on campus, but the ones I did get a chance to see at work were fantastic. There are music groups, photography, student government organizations, book studies and even more. Each seems to be an inviting place.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a variety of majors available at HSU, but the ones which I found the most common were sciences, theology and ministry, and the arts. An odd mix, but great in its own right.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't gotten to see as many traditions as I've heard about. For example: A girl on campus walked into her room and found her dog had died. She says, Oh dammit. So they buried her dog, who everyone loved, by the bridge in the front of the campus. Inscribed on his tombstone are the words, Here lies Dammit.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a private school, so its a little expensive if you compare it to a community college. However, if you have good grades or a good record of volunteerism or sports, you are able to get a scholarship and other monies which will cover the bulk of your education. I have received most of my tuition and other expenses in full.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large variety of clubs, sports and activities available on campus. From horse back riding to acapella groups, there are so many opportunities to get involved and have some fun! The basement, the featured gaming center, is smaller but fully equipped for black ops, bowling and Internet splurges.

    Food and Dining

    School food is school food. But I was surprised to see that the cafeteria features a large variety of foods and they are very appetizing!

    Dorm Life

    I love Behrens hall, the freshman dorm. Its nice and the students who stay there seem to welcome you in as soon as they see you. And Lange Hall, the upper classmen dorm is so spacious. Its older, but it has character and alot of study space.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Theory and Composition Major, I have been able to experience a little bit of the academic side of this school. It seems challenging, but not impossible. And the challenge is welcome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to apply or have already applied, I suggest going to the Winter Preview and Early Registration events available to you. I have met most of my professors, incoming freshmen and connected with my roommate. Also, be ready to participate in whatever activities which are available to you.

    In three sentences

    Hardin Simmons University is a 10! The atmosphere, people and opportunities available here are dynamic. Its one of the best learning environments that I have been around.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out in the fully. Stocked gaming basement that the school has set up for free. It has computers, the latest gaming Systems, and a bowling alley with ten lanes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a buffe stile set-up and has special dining occasions for holidays.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly neighbors and a very helpful dorm director.

    Academic Rigor

    I find myself drawn into every discussion my professors start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the new student orientation and get involved in the fun events that are planned throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons university provides a enriching environment for students seeking knowledge. This university allows one to grow academically and on a personal level. The students and staff are all wonderful.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible!! You get a better dorm room :)

    In three sentences

    I love the Hardin-Simmons campus! It is absolutely beautiful and very welcoming, since it is a small campus! It is a religious based school and I love that!

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While Hardin Simmons is expensive, and my family struggles to make each payment, we continue to push forward in this investment because my education is quality and my time is not wasted at HSU. I love this school, no matter how much it costs me.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy spending time in the basement and chatting with friends in the pod. Being an art major, I love spending time in the art building, making art and being around friends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is a fun community place to be. I am happy with the selection of food, and the workers are very, very kind and are not hesitant to build a friendly relationship with you.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. It's a miniature community and there is always someone to talk to, watch tv with, or study with. Be sure and leave your door open when you can, I promise you'll make more friends that way!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely rigorous, but in a healthy, productive way. The teachers push you to give %100, and I know I have to really push myself to make a grade I am happy with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to come in with hours ahead of time and be sure to make friends in and outside of your major.

    In three sentences

    I have made many friends, not only through New Student Orientation, but through my major and extracurricular activities. The professors are helpful in every way and often times will even give you their cell phone number to contact them at any time. The classes are challenging and push you to be the best student you can be.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the campus police driving around at all times, so it's safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    There are many social groups such as Zeta Chi, Theta Alpha Zeta and Tri Phi there is something for everyone as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things that you can get involved with it's unreal. Whether it's joining a social group, student council, International students, honors, or student activities there's something for everyone. The list can just go on and on.

    Great for these types of students

    Red, yellow, black, white, shy, outgoing, fun, boring, everyone should be a part!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Humans VS Zombies is a game we play with anyone who wants to join. We have dammit the dog celebrations as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Hardin Simmons is expensive however the educational and academic value is great. All the professors are nice warm and welcoming and more importantly they know what they are talking about.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, color, read, write, take bathes, and work.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide choice to choose from including hamburgers, fajitas, grapes, salad, pietas, crepes and much more! The burgers however are sometimes old.

    Dorm Life

    In NIX Hall we have a pretty fun time especially when the whole school plays Humans VS Zombies!

    Academic Rigor

    All classes are led by doctors so it's fairly intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a time of your day dedicated to studying. ALWAYS GO TO CLASS :)

    In three sentences

    Fast, Christian, Fun

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always driving around and making sure that everything is going as it should and you can always have and officer escort you to your dorm if you feel uneasy about walking there by yourself.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is always something to whether you just want to hang in the POD or down in the basement playing pool, bowing, or all sorts of video games. Also there are always intramural games going on that you can get a team together and compete in.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is actually really good. There are plenty of varieties in food from the grill to the sandwich line you will always find something you like. On top of that the desserts are the bomb.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best! You meet so many people and have fun movie nights and cook outs. The dorms them self are nice and very clean, no bugs. Some complain that some of the dorms are too small but I believe they are all a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important here at HSU including to coaches. As every other school you have your hard classes and your easy classes but all the classes are well taught and professors are always willing to help you in anyway they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible to get more scholarship opportunities because the school is pretty expensive. Also be sure to sign up for New Student Orientation (NSO) and participate in all its' events you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons is a great Christian University with many great professors and advisors who want nothing more than to see you succeed. HSU has a beautiful campus and tons of places outside that you can sit under a tree and study and it is so relaxing. Also the other students are great and are always there when you need something.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Not a HUGE thing on campus like other schools but the presence is here if you want it! You can be comfortable not being in a frat or sorority but we have some good clubs if you are interested, ranging from less than 20 members to over 50 probably.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from, maybe not as many as a larger school, but there are still plenty of ways to get involved. Such as: the Baptist Student Ministry (offers a free lunch once a week, freshmen Bible studies, a freshman leadership team, upperclassman leadership, mission trip opportunities, etc.), Student Activities (leadership team where you help with activities, or you can participate in all sorts of events going on campus year round), Student Congress, greek life, sports, our cheerleading or dance teams, SING! (a singing/dancing program/competition between greek groups, freshmen and all other students), and more.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small school and/or want a Christian environment; they have a great music program and their physical therapy school is excellent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our crazy band is a tradition in itself! They have all their own stuff to make them different :) The super outdoor workers wrap up the trees by the pond in lights at Christmas. It's all white with one purple tree and it's so pretty. Our special chapel (Logston, not to be confused with our larger auditorium called Behrens chapel) has a gorgeous stained glass wall in the back that is just stunning! It's the perfect spot to go and pray on your own if it's not being used. Our cafeteria has several themed days throughout the year, with some fun decorations and even surprise guests :) There are several traditions you learn about if you go, no other big ones I can think of now.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't be discouraged by their price tag up front. Look into scholarship options and talk to financial aid; you will likely get help! They have good academic scholarships, scholarships in most departments for when you are an upperclassman, and their tuition freeze program means you won't pay a higher tuition each year you go! My time here has not cost any more than a state school would.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of campus there's not a whole lot of stuff, that I've done anyway. Getting involved in a church and activities related to that is a great thing to do! Lots of churches in Abilene have great college ministries. There's also a mini golf place, Paramount theatre downtown that shows old movies sometimes, a regular movie theatre, a couple museums, the Abilene Zoo, we have a mall, there's a lake close by, and my favorite activity - going to Oplin! It's the name of a little town not too far away, but also the place lots of people (of all ages, but there's a good college crowd) go to two-step! It's in a cute little renovated gym and live bands play.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides average food. Since it's not a huge school, they don't have a great variety of things, but it's okay. The salad bar is excellent with lots of toppings to choose from, the action stations where they make food on the spot is nice, sometimes they have fried rice and pasta which I like. There's the normal comfort food line (think elementary/jr high cafeteria line), a pizza line, hamberger station, action station with a different meal each day which repeats each week, a deli line (similar to Subway. I like going here especially on wrap days when they have different flavored tortillas), they have 2 soups each day, and a desserts section with different desserts and a Blue Bell ice cream freezer. We also have the POD (provisions on demand) which is a section outside the Caf that sells packaged foods and coffee. There is a good variety of fast food/restaurants in Abilene. Sharky's, a burrito place similar to Freebirds or Chipotle, is one of my favs. Rosa's mexican is good too. There's Little Panda, most of the major fast food places you would think of, Chili's, a couple BBQ places, and Texas Roadhouse if you like fancier things :)

    Dorm Life

    Our residence halls are great. We have several hall parties and dorm-wide parties each year. There are several living arrangements to choose from, whether you want a roommate or not, and different sizes of rooms depending on the dorm. The directors in Lange and Ferguson are outstanding. They really care about you and are easy to talk with.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major, definitely. Some students have several 10 page papers a semester it seems, but others don't have nearly as much. Religion classes are tough, biology too, but I'm not in either of those. My speech pathology program has been challenging but doable for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up a visit to campus if you're interested! Talk with financial aid. See about meeting the program director of whatever major you're looking into. For any school you go to, try to come in with a major in mind. Professors may stress your freshman year that you still have time and it's not a big deal to wait a little and see what fits you, but honestly if you have time now, be thinking about what you would like to do. If you come in with a major selected it can save you lots of time and money, and may help your GPA (some students take hard classes that end up not being required for their major but the grade stays with them!) If you really have no idea though, then yes, take several different classes, talk with people in the field and see what works during your first year. Everything will work out in the end, really! No need to stress. Pick a school that's right for you. See what fits, what atmosphere you like, if your major is offered, etc. Have fun! Searching for a college is exciting, especially when you come across a gem like HSU!

    In three sentences

    I love being at HSU. Their small campus/class size and Christian environment is great for me.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police 24/7. I have never felt fear full.

    Greek Life

    There are a variety of different sororities and each with different people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of different sororities and ways to be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in their career, having a relationship with their classmates, and who have a relationship with Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HSU has a lot of great spirit. There are quorkie tradition/ things remembered daily!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your bang for the buck at HSU! The tuition rate at HSU freezes after your first year so you never pay more!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at HSU has great variety! There is everything from pizza, salad, sub sandwiches, stir fry, etc. The deserts are also out of this world! They have cookies, cake, ice cream, lemon bars, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an amazing experience! All of the dorm directors are great mentors and helpful to all the girls. All the girls in the dorm grow really close and just living on campus helps get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors go out of their way to make sure students understand. If there is a problem or confusion in material there is always a willingness to help understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a smaller university where people will know you, your at the right place! There is always campus events almost every week, so get involved!

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons University is an amazing campus to become apart of. The campus population is about 2,000, so everyone becomes like family. This is a close knit campus of students who go out of the way to make everyone feel welcome!

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Hunter Hall for info

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, yet feature filled, and the staff are very helpful. Walking through campus is quick, and the set-up is made so that you can find what you are looking for easily. I was impressed by the campus.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Abilene is a boring town but the school does have alot of activities here for us.

    Food and Dining

    Its not that its bad food or anything, its just the same stuff all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Its all pretty nice just a little hard when you need to study.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect alot from you but they should. We are all adults here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what classes youll be needing, that way you dont take classes that arent necessary. Check out professors before registration if you can.

    In three sentences

    The school is absolutely beautiful. Almost all professors are willing to work with you to get the grade you need. Everyone is so kind and caring here.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour campus police as well as emergency call posts around campus. You can call the police to escort you to the dorms or your house, or you can call them if you need to jump your car or fix a flat tire!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is definitely alive and growing. Students involved in greeks are usually involved in other activities too. Don't think that HSU is a place where you have to be a part of a greek club in order to belong; there are so many things to be a part of that everyone can find a place at HSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many ways to be involved on campus, as I have already mentioned, and student activities are a load of fun, and they happen all the time! If you're passionate about anything, you're sure to find a club (or multiple clubs) that you can be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Extroverted students who love being involved in multiple activities; students who want to build personal relationships with their professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a freshman, you must undergo Beanie Capping. I would tell you about it, but I can't! Stampede (Freshman Orientation) will be one of the most fun experiences of your college career. As a graduate, your name is placed on a plaque in Centennial Square for all to see!

    Bang for the buck

    You get so much more than just an education at Hardin Simmons. But the education will prepare you for life unlike many universities. HSU has 100% acceptance into Pre-Health programs, and employers around the world seek graduates from Hardin-Simmons.

    What to do for fun

    Abilene has three movie theaters and one drive-in movie theater, all of which are great for nights out. It also has Primetime, a center for bowling, laser tag, mini-golf, and go-carts! You could also go out dancing! HSU has a FANTASTIC student activities program, with events like Blacklight Breakdown, a dance party with blacklights (obviously) and you get covered in neon paint! There are picnics with free food and sunglasses, tons of intramural sports, pool parties, game nights, free coffee study sessions, and concerts (real concerts, with outside singers and bands)!

    Food and Dining

    The caf is definitely better than any other cafeteria I've been to, and there are plenty of different options to choose from, almost all of which change daily. The caf also has vegetarian options. Abilene, TX also has some really cool little places to eat, along with the places everyone knows about.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had more fun than I did while living in the dorm my freshman year. I definitely recommend freshman to live in the respective freshman dorms; Nix for the guys and Behrens for the girls. You're porbably upset because you just realized that there aren't co-ed dorms, but don't worry, guys and girls are allowed in each others' dorms every day from noon to midnight!

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of kids say that the classes at HSU are difficult, because professors don't just ask you to study for a test, they challenge you to apply what you are learning to the real world. HSU also has had 100% acceptance into Pre-Health programs for the past two years, making the science program well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared by the fact that HSU is a private university; it is not only relatively inexpensive, but also has many opportunities for financial aid. It also has tuition freeze, which means that your tuition won't increase every year like it does at many large schools

    In three sentences

    HSU is a fantastic, relatively inexpensive, private school for both undergraduate and graduate work. It's faith-based education provides insightful, real-life application every day in the classroom, or in the coffeehouse (where many professors meet for class). If you want close relationships with your professors and opportunities you couldn't find at a larger school along with a great student life then you will love Hardin Simmons.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have on-campus police that are working 24/7 to insure the safety of the students and faculty members here at HSU. We are also located right across the street from Hendricks Hospital so, God forbid a medical emergency happens, doctors and nurses are a quick car ride away.

    Greek Life

    We have sororities and fraternities on campus. They are more than just clubs. They are brotherhoods and sisterhoods and really push one another to grow in their faith and encourage and teach others to do so as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many ways to get involved and meet new people at HSU. From sports and intermural teams to choir, band, dance team, student congress and the activity committees, sororities and fraternities, the list goes on and on. There's something for everyone to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    HSU is great for students who like the smaller classroom environment and who like the teachers to know who they are, instead of just being a face in the crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a campus wide Humans vs Zombies game. You sign up and are either put on the zombie team or the human team. The only weapons you get? Automatic Nerf guns and Nerf swords.

    Bang for the buck

    Hardin-Simmons has frozen tuition which means, whatever you come in paying, tuition wise, you pay that same amount your entire educational life here at HSU. You don't have to worry about tuition increases and things like that. It is a huge blessing for people who come from families living paycheck by paycheck, or those who rely on financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Hardin-Simmons has on-campus bowling lanes, pool and foosball tables, board and video games along with many plays and performances put on by the students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is superb. The cooks and workers are all very nice and helpful. The salad bar is to die for and you can get ice cream any time of day. There's something for everyone, so you never have to go hungry. For those that are in a rush or a time-crunch the POD (Provisions on Demand) works as a snack bar where you can get you caffeine and coffee fix, along with chips, candy and even things like Hot Pockets and Lean Cuisine meals.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are great. The rooms are decently sized and the RAs and RDs are so helpful and strive to make sure the dorms are as homey as they can be.

    Academic Rigor

    The variety of classes at HSU is amazing. In some classes you have to put more effort and time in than in some other classes, but work is required. There's tutoring for pretty much every subject and the teachers are more than willing to help out if you have a hard time with something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grab your chaps and cowboy hats, because you're going to LOVE it at HSU!

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons University is an amazing school that is indeed education enlightened by faith. The staff and faculty members are so loving, compassionate and willing to help you and work with you to make you successful during your time here. The students are wonderful, fun-loving and accepting; it's very easy to find a group of friends you can bond with and relate too.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun in Abilene, there's always the mall, movies, and guitars. All of these are always fun to do in order to take a break from the school life.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is great, but it can get boring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Through the residence life here, you are able to meet so many great new people especially those who live on your hall which can turn out to be your best friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty level of the classes of course follow a wide range, but if you are struggling with a class professors are always ready to lend a helping hand.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the small atmosphere that is here. From the moment you arrive on campus for Freshmen orientation, you feel right at home. The teachers are always there to help you, and the group of students here are helpful and kind.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A great christian school with an amazing christian atmosphere. I was welcomed on campus as soon as I got there. This is definitely one of my top schools.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many school based activities that are actually fun. Don't be that person that says you are too cool to go to school functions. I was that way but honestly when I started attending is when I started having fun! There are tons of things to do on the weekend. Get with a group and go out to eat, to the mall, or go to the movies!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in strong and confident. Don't stress about whether you can do it or not. Show the teacher you are willing to meet him/her half way.

    In three sentences

    I am only a freshman but so far all of my professors want to know me on a person basis. The classes are small enough to where you can really get on a personal level with your teacher. They don't mind working with you outside of class. It's an amazing experience really!

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hardin-Simmons has its own police department, and there are Emergency buttons around campus that you can press in case of an Emergency. It is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There are several different fraternities and sororities, but I don't know much about them, because I am not in any. There are rush activities in the fall, and they are open to anybody, and they are very fun. Freshman pledge in the spring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of activities to get involved in, and I would definitely recommend finding at least one to take part in. They are a great way to have fun and to make new relationships.

    Great for these types of students

    HSU is known for its liberal arts and science programs. It is great for people pursuing any career in one of these fields, specifically, but all programs are great. It is great for people that want to prepare for their field and have a faith-enlightened environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Hardin-Simmons is top quality in my opinion. It is a private school, so it is fairly expensive, but they work with you and help you find scholarship money if you ask.

    What to do for fun

    Abilene is a medium sized town, and there is not a whole lot of recreational places around. However, the college puts on different events all the time, from movie nights to karaoke nights and foam parties. You can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of different foods, and you are bound to find something that you will like at each meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are about average sized. There is a wide variety of different kinds of rooms, with some having suites, some have one bathroom to a hall, and some personal rooms. There are many residence hall activities, which are a great way to get to know the people that you are living around. The residence hall directors and assistants are amazing, and they are always around if you need anything at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very tough, but the teachers are great. By paying attention in classes and doing the outside work that is asked of you, you can do well in classes and learn a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to look into scholarships that the school offers and organizations to take part in. College is so much more enjoyable when you are taking a part in some campus club or organization.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons is a great college to learn the things that you will need for your career. The professors are great at preparing you, and they show that they care about you, which is even more important to me. The school has many activities guided towards getting to know people and make college a memorable experience.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for athletes that are looking to continue playing their respective sport but couldnt make it big as well as students that are focused and driven towards a religiously influenced and shaped education and study.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money that students pay to the school, students could have a little more given back to them in the process. 3 stars for the current situation but the current plans for the construction of additions to the school should make everyday life and opportunites worth while.

    What to do for fun

    Abilene is a very booming and up and coming city in Texas. Nice dining, family activity spots like PrimeTime and Play Faire Park, as well historical ties to the land and frontier gives many different aspect of recreation for students to do.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat dining in the cafe with optional POD stands for a quick snack or drink gives students a chance to eat while on campus or grabbing food in between classes. The quality of the food as well as the cleanliness of the dining area attracts students towards the Moody Center where plenty of activities are always happening.

    Dorm Life

    For a small school, the dorm life could not be any better. Wifi in every room with more than comfortable layout of the rooms allows students to enjoy the on campus living lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    Although they could be a little more strict on students, the lifestyle of HSU is supposed to be friendly and willing to work with any student or situation. I applaud HSU on their willingness to work but the difficulty of the material could be harder or more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Current improvements and constructionis in place for all types of students. Improvements to all sports teams and facilities could be an incentive for any prospective athletes as well as the updates and improvement to the after hours on campus food places and the educational side including the library and more computer labs.

    In three sentences

    Hardin-Simmons, in my opinion, is one of the best small unversities in the state of Texas. Constant improvements, updates, and growth in student body makes HSU one booming campus and college lifestyle at the moment. I would recommend HSU to anyone looking for a college that will give you that hometown feeling as well as the feeling on people knowing who you are instead of just another college student.