Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Harding University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to be a part of spreading the word about Jesus Christ and have oppurtunites to travel all over the world! There are a lot of rules tho so make sure you know what they are before hand and are ok with them. I was kind of shocked by some of them and pretty annoyed but you get over it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is more of a tip for all college kids! Find out which books you'll need and get them off the internet!!! College bookstores have no problem taking all ur money for a book that's really worth like 30 bucks! Harding is a great school! The teachers are dedicated and have a genuine excitment about their subjects which makes it even more interesting to learn about. The students are pretty nice and sencire and there is so much excitement to spread gods word its truly a blessing being there!

  • 01/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to be a Bible major, Harding offers some of the most challenging, exciting, and amazing classes you can imagine. There is also an incredible Psychology department with teachers who are still practicing in Searcy. The Physicians Assistant school, which is brand new, has a demanding and excellent program for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who desire to come to Harding, definitely come and visit the campus! You will find how beautiful Arkansas is and how great the people are at the University. Get connected with a recruit for your area, because they are a big part in your beginning experience at Harding. Be prepared for cold weather, because it can get very chilly in the winter months!

    Bang for the buck

    The expense for Harding is completely worth the cost. The knowledge and life skills they equip you with will last a life time. The knowledge you gain about the Bible will be with you as long as you live. Harding takes so much time and effort to make sure that we are comfortable and having a great time year round.

    Am enjoying being here

    People wonder what is so great about Arkansas. In Searcy, Harding is the main attraction to the town. The campus constantly has activities going on every weekend. They have already held a concert with Owl City and other popular artists. There is never a dull moment when you go to Harding University.

    Am learning a lot

    Harding offers such a wonderful variety of classes to choose from, and the teaching is exceptional. The teachers are extremely caring and understanding to the students' needs at all times. They take their time to go through all of the material, making us experts on each subject we are taking.

  • 10/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Members of the Church of Christ or any Christian religion, personable people, Bible majors, Nursing majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is conservative so if you expect to get drunk every night and just party all the time then this isn't the school for you. It's a great place to live a christian life.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but I would never leave it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are some of the nicest you'll ever meet. Most of the boys aren't just looking for hookups. People find creative activities to do and are very personable.

    Am learning a lot

    I am not just learning things in my field of study but also from experiences.

  • 10/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for both social butterflies and home bodies, like me. I am not completely anti-social, but even if I were, it would be pretty easy to just stay in your room all day if you really wanted to. The social butterflies are of course having fun too because they are always out making their fun, while making more friends. People who are in between, like me, also have fun. This is a great place for all because there's so many different things to do and places to be! This is also a place for any major! Harding has some of the best programs for both undergraduate and graduate. And not only that, if you really want to be at Harding but Harding doesn't offer your major, then you can meet with an adviser and basically create your major based on what is needed for that major at different schools!

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm not quite sure what to say for this box, but Harding is a place where most of the people actually WANT to be. It's not just a place where you say, Oh I suppose this is an okay school. It's a place you want to be to grow in your faith, your friendships, and your education. You need to think about all 3 of those aspects when choosing a college. If you don't, then things may not turn out how you expected, or worse, how God wanted things to happen, and your life may just fall apart if you only rely on one aspect. Love ties all of them together, and I'm pretty sure everyone wants some type of love in college, right?

    Bang for the buck

    I guess you could say that Harding is a little expensive, but hey, it's college, and quite a good one. Although, that's probably why we're all looking for scholarships.. But either way, Harding is worth it. The dorms are nice, and the one I'm in has just been renovated! The food in the student center and the cafeteria are good too, at least I like the food! But others seem to too. Although every now and then you come across a problem, but Harding will do its best to fix it.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's so much to do around campus and off campus! There's many events, such as, concerts, hypnotists shows, movies, big bashes on the front lawn, etc. There's also different activities like social clubs, service project groups, and anything else you can really think of! Well, as long as it's clean! I'm not as big into clubs myself, I'm more of a home body, but there's still a lot to choose from even though I'm not doing any clubs. I still made friends and love being here on campus because it's a great environment and the people are amazing!

    Am learning a lot

    This is only my semester here and I have already learned a lot! There are so many different types of classes you can take that pertains to your interests, but classes that everyone has to take are general education classes. Even if you're not very interested in the subjects, the classes and teachers themselves are usually interesting enough and will help you get through them. But the most important thing is that we are all learning to live together in peace and always learning more about Jesus and what he has ad is doing for us, so that someday we can be with Him.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Prepharmacy, business, teaching, ministry

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Harding and see if you like it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not as expensive as a lot of private schools

    Am enjoying being here

    It is not large, student population-wise, so I do not get lost in the crowd.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are stimulating

  • 01/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that Harding is great for any type of student. I have learned so much about God and people in my few years at Harding than throughout my whole life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your Admissions Counselor. We have some great ones here! And when you get to Harding, plug yourself in right away in some group. You won't be disappointed that you did.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding is not as expensive as other private Universities. And the Professors really do care about you and your well-being. Harding is amazing!

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many exciting things to do on campus and off. There are social clubs to be a part of, sports teams, music ensembles, drama events, and so much more that make every day here at Harding one to remember.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors here at Harding really care about you as a person spiritually and intellectually. They are ready and willing to help you as long as you show that you are putting in some effort. The Professors here want to see you succeed.

  • 12/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bible majors, nursing, Christians, specifically Churches of Christ members, or If you're looking for a safe place away from home with great people who will help you out. Or if you're looking for friendly people in general and close friends. Also if you like traveling abroad- they have numerous programs to look into

    Tips for prospective students

    There are some rules that can be annoying about Harding. I would look them over and make sure you're alright with them before attending. They bothered me at first but you get used to it. Visit the school if you have a chance. Walking on campus allows you to see how friendly everyone is and shows you just what you'd be getting into if you do come.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding can be expensive, but so are most schools these days. However, getting an academic and Christian education all at once is very valuable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being surrounded by the people at Harding. Everyone is very friendly and it's very easy to meet new people. If you're social- its great! And even if you aren't- there's plenty to do. Searcy, AR is a small town with not much to do but the school itself is great at having activities planned every week. You're bound to find something that you like.

    Am learning a lot

    Being an advertising major, sometimes it's hard to morally decide if doing this major is okay. I may get a job one day that advertises sugary foods to children who may become obese. Harding, being a Christian school, helps balance that out by teaching me all I need to know about my major but also teaches me the moral side to advertising. It's a good balance that I greatly appreciate.

  • 01/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Harding University is great for all type of students, except the ones that do not want to excel. The professors are helpful. They will help you follow through the rough times of studies and also through life. When your family is going through hard times, they pray them through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research what Harding University has to offer for your goals in life. If you find that they have the curricular activities that will help you reach your goals then you have made a wise decision to join us at Harding.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding University is expensive but you get more for the money to take with you through life. What you get through Harding's christian atmosphere, moral teaching and fairness you will have forever wherever you go in life.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Harding because I am a christian and the university is a christian atmosphere. Not everybody here is a christian but they are taught the morals and values of a christian atmosphere. It will go with them wherever they go either at work , home, or on the mission field. If we can get it in our hearts, then we can spread it to others, hopefully, making the world a better place to live.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot about music and the Bible which i am majoring in both. Through music and the Bible you can express yourself in life when others are depressed and going through life with stress. Learning the Bible and living by it will make you be strong in morality and values. Through music you can sing the songs that are in your heart and let your values out in words.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Harding University is a great place for people who LOVE people! It is a place of almost constant fellowship. We all just really love each other here. Also if you are looking for a place that gives meaning to your life, Harding is truly the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind! People tend to judge private schools by their titles. Harding University is a Christian private school that really focuses on Christ, but it is not overwhelming by any means. Do not come just to be around 'other Christians' because there are people from all walks of life here. However, don't not come because you are afraid that the Bible will be shoved down your throat. Definitely take the opportunity to sit in on a class you are interested in if you can.

    Bang for the buck

    As much as I've enjoyed my first 2 years at Harding, it is definitely EXPENSIVE. It is a private college, so it is definitely something to either save up for or get a good amount of scholarships for.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the most amazing things I have ever done in my life is choose to go to Harding University. We are really one student body. I can talk to anyone I see. Harding has a beautiful campus and overall a love for camaraderie! I would not have my college experience happen anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    At Harding University, the classes are challenging and the teachers are well educated and truly enjoy their jobs and their students. I have enjoyed every class I have been a part of, even Geology! All the classes truly involve you in what you are learning.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, dedicated students who want to be challenged to grow in their faith and like small towns.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at Harding as a possible choice for college, somethings to take into consideration is that it is a Church of Christ school, and it holds fast to Church of Christ beliefs, I am not Church of Christ so it can be frustrating at times for me, but if anything this environment has strengthened my faith and caused me to dig deeper into Gods word. Also Harding is a pretty strict University with a fair amount of rules that have to be followed so make sure you know what you are getting into before you come here. It is not all that bad once you are here but if you don't want to have a curfew, room inspections, or specific set times when guys can come into your room with certain rules applied, then this school is probably not for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding is probably one of the most inexpensive private schools in the country and it is a great school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a long way from home but already after three months of being here I feel like this is my second home. It is a beautiful campus and the people here are very friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I am continually being challenged both academically and spiritually to grow and seek God's will in my life.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Harding is great for anyone looking for a medium size school. Though it is on the smaller side, Harding is academically challenging and is good for those who want a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and see what it is like. If you know someone already here, visit them and go to some classes with them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Harding is a great place to go to school. I really enjoy living on campus and being involved in everything that happens.

    Am learning a lot

    Every class I have been in has taught me so much. After just my first year, I feel like I know so much more!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Harding University is a great school for students to learn morals and get a great education. It has great professors wanting to help. This school helps bring people close to God.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt completely safe on campus, and I have never felt like I was in danger when walking alone on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus, just the unique social clubs. There is a club for everyone and everyone should feel accepted somewhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs are an important part of the Harding experience. Not everyone gets involved in a club, and that is totally fine, however I would strongly encourage participating in a social club! There are also many other wonderful student and professional organizations to get involved with on campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Harding is the place for all students. You will especially love Harding if you want to serve God's kingdom here in the United States and abroad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Sing is a favorite tradition on campus. Each club will produce a show with singing, choreography and costumes. The clubs practice for months to ensure a production that is entertaining. Each show is judged in various areas and the overall winning club gets to donate money to the charity of their choice.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Harding is 100 percent worth the tuition! I have developed sincere friendships and I truly feel like I am being well-prepared for my future career.

    What to do for fun

    If you join a social club there are often functions or outings with your club that are always fun. You can find volunteer opportunities in the Searcy community that provide many fun times.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nice and the food quality fluctuates. There is always bread, cereal, and salad!

    Dorm Life

    There is curfew for every on campus resident, however curfew isn't really that bad. Everyone is back in the dorm at the same time and you are able to build relationships with other people in your dorm. The dorm rooms are also very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely challenging, however the professors are usually very willing to help you in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not hard to get involved on this campus, so definitely plug in wherever your interests lie. However, on the flip side, don't ever feel guilty for turning down some opportunities if you need to study. It is best to balance all aspects of your life.

    In three sentences

    Harding is an absolutely wonderful school. I feel incredibly blessed to have the opportunity to study with outstanding professors and other motivated students. Harding is a Christian school that truly upholds its morals and ethical standards.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus. There is public safety that is available 24/7 for whatever you may need. The doors all lock in the dorms, and there is high security. There are drivers who drive around in Ford Escapes all through the night to make sure nothing goes on over night. I have never felt unsafe walking around by myself at night.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities/fraternities on campus, but we do have clubs! there are several different options ranging from large to small. There is one club to fit any student of any personality!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are great. They make you get close to the people who are in your club and they really give you a good opportunity to get out of your comfort zone and meet alot of new people

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want more than just an education... but a good college experience. Willing to push yourself and abide by strict rules. Willing to be attentive in class when possible and only miss when ill. Ready to learn and study hard! not good for those who like to just breeze by.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The clubs can sometimes be unusual to incoming students. There is a whole club week where the new pledges have to do weird things that the older members tell them to do such as dress up strange and do a variety of things around campus. There are several instances where the students will have to dress up crazy for events on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Harding is a great school. It is expensive, and there are things that they could improve on, but Harding has great teachers, nice facilities, and is an overall positive campus to be on.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately there isn't many things provided for students to do for fun. but we make our own fun! that's one of the good things about having a curfew and living in a dorm. Students really get the chance to bond late at night after curfew with all of the people living around them in the same hallway, much fun is made on your own! Searcy is a small town, so there isn't much going on around town.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a fan of the food at Harding.... The cafeteria is not very impressive, and it is very pricy. The meals evened out to about $8 per meal swipe into the cafeteria, and the food just isn't worth that in my opinion... I personally spent alot of money eating out during my first year at Harding.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The halls are filled with fun at night, and that's where you can really get close to people around you! The rooms are fairly nice, but you aren't really in there very much anyway! Good closet space for the girls, and lots of room for video games for the guys :)

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really push you to do your best at Harding. Attendance is mandatory, you get only a few absences per class per semester. There is tutoring available for students that are struggling, and the teachers are very helpful in making sure you get all the tutoring you need. You are definitely not set up to fail at this school. It challenges you, but in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Harding may not be for everybody, make sure you are ready to follow the rules and make sure that you are okay with following all of them. Harding has strict rules, and you can't get around them.

    In three sentences

    Harding is a great school with great opportunities for students. Teachers are very helpful and truly care about students. I would recommend Harding to anybody looking to be involved in a tight community of students.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to many to write

    Great for these types of students

    Christian student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pregnant tree or the swings or the bell tower myths hahaha

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright not the best.

    Dorm Life

    It's fun!

    Academic Rigor

    I love it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and ask lots of questions!

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a great school! I love it here. Couldn't be happier to attend at this amazing college.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Searcy is lame, but Little Rock is full of activities and is a short hour away! Take turns driving with your friends and it wont even be much in gas to get there.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't the best, and you have to get creative in the cafeteria. They do, however, have chick-fil-a, taco bell, and a sub shop that make for quick fixes when the cafe is too crowded!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! It is such a good experience getting to live with your close friends! But pick wisely, you will have to live on campus all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    You will find both your easy blow off classes and the classes that keep you up all night. Personally, if you stay on top of all your work you shouldn't have a problem with any of them. The teachers are all extremely helpful and make themselves available to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Harding can be considered a bubble because we are constantly surrounded by protection. There are rules, lots of rules. The only thing that makes the rules bearable are that everyone you want to be with has to follow the same rules you do. If you want to come to a college where you can openly share your faith, Harding is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a wonderful place where people can come together and both learn God's word and get a great education! It is different from other schools because you don't have to worry about foul mouth professors spitting half truths, but instead are embraced by warm people who generally care and even invite you over to their house. You get out of Harding what ever you put in to it; there are so many great opportunities and things to get involved with here!

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can join a social club - there are activities, sports, banquets - it's a great way to make friends and stay connected. there are on-campus movies and concerts, sporting events, raquetball courts, swimming pools, people play games on the lawn - ultimate frisbee - you can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is not my favorite but it's okay. there is a big variety. i'm pretty picky so ... much rather eat home cookin' or restaurant food.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorm has been such an experience - learning to get along with others, making new friends, lots of interaction with friends - it's awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging but gives you options to suit your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a church of christ based college. the principles are centered around god and growing to be the person that he would have you to be. if you are interested in spiritual things, there is no better place to be.

    In three sentences

    harding is a great place to be! the students and faculty are friendly and concerned about you as an individual. there is always someone that can and will help you whenever you need it.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe, protected by 24/7 public safety. free golf cart rides are available every night of the school year, and some safety classes are offered throughout the year.

    Greek Life

    we have social clubs. they are a great support system and an awesome way to meet tons of new friends! not to mention spring sing!

    Clubs and Activities

    there is so much to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    any student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bell tower - don't go under it by yourself! front lawn - watch a movie on your laptop or swing with your sweetheart. pregnant tree - don't touch it! lily pond fountain and benson fountain - see a friend get baptized or a newly engaged couple get thrown in!

    Bang for the buck

    harding is one of the cheaper private schools that i know of, and it's worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    social clubs, organizations, concerts, movies, theater performances, guest speakers, and many things in searcy and little rock are just a few things in the long list of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is pretty good on most days, but if you get tired of it, you can turn to the great restaurants in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are really nice and roomy, and hallmates can become some of your best friends and resources.

    Academic Rigor

    i always have something academic to do, and i've already learned a ton in just being here for one year.

    Tips for prospective students

    it truly is great to be at harding! be prepared to have the time of your life!

    In three sentences

    harding is a great environment for students - spiritually, academically, and socially. chapel, classes, teachers, social clubs, and peers are just a few of the many awesome things that will help you grow into a well-rounded and life-loving adult. the beautiful campus only adds to harding's appeal, especially when the annual christmas lights are up!

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so that you can have choice of dorms.

    In three sentences

    Great school spirit! Academically challenging has a great marching band. Go Thundering Herd

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have looked on their website and found plenty of things to do that sound interesting and fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard that the food is good.

    Academic Rigor

    It looks like it will be hard but I think that is to be expected for college work. I will be taking 15-18 credit hours a semester.

    In three sentences

    I have literally been pursued by the admissions office which is great. They keep me up to date about what I need to do to be ready and keep me informed about a lot of other things.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't ventured into the cafe yet, but from what I've heard the food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    When I visited I slept on the floor so it wasn't the best. However, the rooms are average sized, the bathrooms are a decent size, and the AC can get pretty low if thats what you like.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard, depending on the classes you take and the professor you get, the classes can be as hard or as easy as you want.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    3 swings and a ring- white swings are said to 'create' marriages, swing on swing three times with significant other and a ring will be received.

    In three sentences

    It is a Christian based college, striving to unite all students. Professors are understanding, compassionate and patient.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Social, academic, service clubs. Intramural sports

    Great for these types of students

    Service oriented, desire for caring professors and ability to bond with them more than just a student teacher relationship, Christian environment

    What to do for fun

    Front lawn is always active with something. Hangouts to games of ultimate and soccer. On campus movies at least every other weekend. Movie theater, bowling alley, coffee shops, rock climbing, and disc golf. Trips to Cabot, lLittle Rock, and Memphis for upscale versions of what's in Searcy as well travels. Hebert springs and Petit Jean and the Ozarks for hiking and camping. Hebert springs cliff diving.

    Food and Dining

    A bit over priced, but it is not horrible quality. One needs to escape every now and then, but it's still great for returning back to. Great place for socializing.

    Dorm Life

    It's wild. It can get loud for the studious student but it is always crawling with excitement for those who need a break.

    Academic Rigor

    They are brutal in their sciences, but still learn so much and a great program. All programs really work to make sure you have what it takes to face the world.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful environment. They want you to succeed and will take the time and effort to assist you in any way with that. A place where the professors care.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of opportunities for social interaction.

    Food and Dining

    Chick-fil-A, Taco Bell, and coffee shops on campus.

    Dorm Life

    As a non-traditional student, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Harding University is serious about education. Success is encouraged, hard work is expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, administration is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school with caring instructors. Classes are small, yet challenging. Harding University takes a stand for Christ.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. We have Public Safety and whenever you need help with absolutely anything, call public safety and they will direct you in the right path. They are wonderful especially if you have a flat tire and are stranded somewhere, need a ride to somewhere on campus at night, or anything else.

    What to do for fun

    Harding is located in Searcy, Arkansas which is home to many stores, food restaurants, and parks. Students can go watch a movie at searcy cinema, grab a bit at sonic, play frisbee in the park, or do fun things at walmart. There is always something to do, you just have to be creative!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Harding serves good food, but every once in a while its good to eat out. Eventually you might get tired of going to the cafeteria, but that's why there is a student center with more food. The food is good, but I wouldn't want to eat there everyday for all my meals.

    Dorm Life

    Most, if not all, dorms at Harding have been renovated. As a entering freshmen you will be housed in wonderful dorms which are suite styles. The dorms were the best part because you were able to meet your best friends, develop close friendships, and have tons of fun while living there.

    Academic Rigor

    Harding challenges you with rigorous courses to be the best in what you strive to do. It offers amazing teachers that will help you reach your goal. Study hard, work hard, and don't forget to have fun, and you will do well here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the school first and you will fall in love with it. You will be taken away by the breathtaking campus and wonderfully nice people and atmosphere. You will love it as soon as you step foot on this campus.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is such a wonderful school with amazing teachers and a beautiful campus. It has many opportunities for the students and you meet the best people at this school. It's great to be at Harding.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus offers many safety features such as: -Golf carts patrolling at night -A 12am curfew in the week and a 1am curfew on weekends to help keeps students safe. -red phones located on campus in various places that directly go to campus safety office in case of emergency.

    Greek Life

    Social clubs are the greek life at Harding. The social clubs do not live in the same house, but live in the dorms as everyone else. There is a rush week where students preview each social club and decide which best fits them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Clubs and bible study classes offer many opportunities for social time and fun activities. the town also offers many activities for students.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many different programs to accomodate every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a man named Bud on a bench by the lily pond and if you rub him it is supposed to be good luck. There is a bell tower and legend has it if you walk under it alone, you will be lonely forever, if you walk under it with a person of the opposite gender then you two will eventually wed. Legend has it: if the same couple sits in the same swing 3 times they will wed.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding is a great school for the price. Many say it is overpriced for the cost, but the programs are excellent and always improving and the teachers go beyond to help you if they see you are doing your best.

    What to do for fun

    Harding offers many functions and activities for students to be involved and have fun. Social clubs offer a wide variety of opportunities and events for members. The town offers lazer tag places and other places students can find for fun. Little rock is an hour away if students do not mind the drive for more activities and events.

    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of food choices and other places in the student center to dine. Just minutes into town students can also find many places to eat or hang out. If you get the 210 meal plan, the meals come out to about $14 a meal.

    Dorm Life

    Great facilities that are constantly expanding and updating for its students. Good room sizes and nice size bathrooms. Good closet space and storage in Searcy hall.

    Academic Rigor

    A great school with challenging courses that will surely expand the minds of the generations now and to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus as much as possible to get the FEEL of it. Talk with your professors and degree advisors for guidance or to ask any questions you may need. Ask ALL questions that you may have.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic Christian enviornment full of life and educational opportunities for students. Harding offers a historic campus that revolves around nature and offers many athletic opportunities. Students can strive in this school that is supported heavily by the community and expect a loving enviornment to help them in whatever they may need.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, even when walking alone after dark from the Ulrey to my dorm. It's a safe place and security is always driving by on golf carts to ensure student safety.

    Greek Life

    Harding does not have an sororities/fraternities because they are not going with the belief system of the school's fundamental values. However we have Social Clubs which are basically all Christian sororities/fraternities without the national organization.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bell tower that has been on campus since before it was Harding College. It was left over from Galway Women's College. According to tradition if you walk under the bell tower alone, you will never get married. And if you walk under it with your significant other, you two will get married to each other.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for Harding is extremely low considering that Harding is a private, religious school. You're definitely getting your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Searcy is 45 minutes from Little Rock and there's always a concert of festival going on there. Plus shopping and movie theatres. On campus the Student Association has movie nights, parties on the front lawn, themed dinners, and other cool stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not try to overload yourself with classes, clubs, and organizations. Find a couple that fit you and stick with them. Gaining new friends is a process and it does not happen overnight.

    In three sentences

    Harding University has three words that define the campus environment: Faith. Learning. Living. After just one year as a student it is evident that Harding has seamlessly embedded all three of those aspects in the universities core values. From Bible class to Music theory to my own dorm, I have witnessed the integration of these values in all of the students, faculty, and staff on campus.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe no matter where I am.

    Greek Life

    Harding Clubs are the equivalent to fraternities and sororities. It is a great way to get to know people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone should get involved in a club. Harding Clubs are the equivalent to fraternities and sororities. It is a great way to get to know people.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone at Harding.

    Bang for the buck

    Across the street from campus is a great place to get snow cones. They are the best I have ever had and are inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling is the best option for off campus fun. I even took bowling lessons.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the greatest. I really like the additional funds on my card that I can use at campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are ok. I am looking forward to moving into the nicer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but I am learning so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do is become involved.

    In three sentences

    The slogan for Harding is It's great to be at Harding. I thought it was a little cheesy until I got to Harding. I quickly became acclimated to college life and I love it. There is something for everyone at Harding.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to walmart and people watching is a must. The Zonkey is a big thing to see. Waffle house at all hours of the night. Sonic.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not very good at all but if you learn to cook in the caf you will be alright.

    Dorm Life

    Even though there are rules, the dorms themselves are nice. The upperclassmen dorms are great will full kitchens and living rooms. The University is always remodeling and improving the dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    The upper level classes are tough but the professors are willing to help you succeed. As long as you put in the effort, the professors will go over and beyond to ensure you succeed. Harding offers free tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected once you get on campus to make the first few weeks easier. Don't be afraid of leaving home, Searcy has a lot of perks even though it is so small.

    In three sentences

    Harding has definitely exceeded my expectations. I never imagined I would get so much out of my education at a small private University in Searcy, Arkansas. I would recommended to anyone!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. Campus security is really good and also so is the safety you feel as if you are home away from home. Additionally, the guys have extra 5 minutes because they can escort girls back to dorm if needed.

    Greek Life

    At Harding they are called Social clubs but they are very big on campus. I am considering to join in the fall.

    Clubs and Activities

    many great clubs from inter mural flag football to running clubs and all in between.

    Great for these types of students

    A nice beautiful place to grow with the Lord, or even just not go too wild but still want to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Oil. Is just on the corner of the campus, 90% of profits go to children in Africa. This place is a great place to study, get a bite to eat and drink coffee. Love it, better than Starbucks. Also-- the Front lawn great beautiful area to spend times with friends between classes

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty reasonable for private schools though it is hard for scholarships as a freshman

    What to do for fun

    though Searcy is small town its easy to find things to do but its a treasure hunt with your friends

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent for college food.

    Dorm Life

    One of the best things I could ever go for. Never thought I would enjoy it as much as I have

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are somewhat difficult but they allow you to go at your own pace and the professors will help you when your lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is Church of Christ and a school with a church background does not mean you should put it right off of your list. Because, for me I almost did that but I am so glad I decided to pursue it and visit the school and absolutely fell in love with everything.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a place where people from all walks of life come to study in not just a beautiful atmosphere but a place where you feel welcomed and loved. A place where you can go all over the world and experience a small school feel but feels as if you are at home.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    10+ there are security guards and call boxes all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Unknown Iam new to town

    Clubs and Activities

    8-10 unknown but I would guess a

    Great for these types of students

    unknown I am new to town

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown I am new to town

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do. i can't name it all

    Food and Dining

    10+ The food is very enjoyable

    Dorm Life

    10+ I am an off campus person but I have noticed a lot of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    10+ you have to work for anything but with God All things are possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep God in your heart to help you along the way.

    In three sentences

    10+ All of the people I have met at Harding has been very nice, kind courtesy and helpful. It makes coming from a small town school to a huge school like Harding very easy and comfortable.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always driving around and at night they have golf carts that will escort you around campus.

    Greek Life

    Harding does not do the national Greek sororities and fraternities. They have their own social clubs that often use greek letters. They are very similar.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and social events throughout the year. Last year we had intramural quidditch followed by butterbeer and other Harry Potter stuff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whoever you walk under the belltower with, is who you'll marry. DON'T WALK UNDER THE TOWER ALONE (people will give you funny looks). Also if you go on three swing dates, it's time for the proposal.

    Bang for the buck

    It's decently priced. Keep in mind it is a private school. Harding has several donors. This allows the students to attend at a fraction of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    I mentioned before that there are several on-campus activities during the year, but there are also a couple of things to do in Searcy: go bowling; play billiards; go to ihop, Waffle House, or Sonic with friends; and see a Zonkey. If searcy is too boring for you, Little Rock is 45 minutes away and Memphis is an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a lot of good options, and a lot of bad options. However, there is a chik-fil-a that accepts the meal plan and that is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty awesome. All of the girl's dorms are suite style and have at least one kitchen. The dorms are segregated (by gender). A lot of new dorms are also being built.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor depends on your major. I am in the sciences and gets pretty vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, you need to be aware that Harding does have a lot more rules than most universities, but the rules are not as bad as they seem.

    In three sentences

    Harding University has a great atmosphere. The students and professors are all really friendly and understanding. There are several on-campus events during the academic year.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had a burglary or two within the dorms, so keep your doors and bikes locked up good! Public Safety is on our side, and they always get their guys. Trust me.

    Greek Life

    There's a few Greeks, but most of them are just as down to earth as the rest of us non-Greeks. We're all equal in God's eyes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Joining a club is probably the biggest blessing and golden opportunity you will ever experience! You get to meet new people, do a bunch of crazy activities, and build strong relationships. Don't miss out on the memories.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like writing, we have a fantastic Journalism and English program. We also have just about every other subject you could possibly be interested in. Get involved and start dreaming!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a ton of social clubs on campus and each one of them has quite the unusual tradition. If you're lucky, you may get to see the Knight's Joust or, during club week, you may see a bunch of students hurling food at each other on the practice fields. You will definitely get a kick outta this!

    Bang for the buck

    Ok, we're college students. Not millionaires. We're poor. We work while we're studying at school. We get the blessing of a good 20-30 bucks if we work decent hours every week. And, we get to pay 10,000 dollars or more back in loans after we graduate! But, thankfully, we can work this all out with Financial Aid.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, us college students usually chill out on the front lawn while we study, or for the more athletic people, you can toss a frisbee around to your heart's delight. There's also Rue 21, JC Penney, Maurice's, Hastings, and, of course, a Walmart, for you shoppers.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food at Harding University is bountiful, sometimes it doesn't taste that great. The students wonder what they're having when they look at what the cafeteria is serving and from time to time, also wonder if it's safe to consume....good thing we have Chic-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a blast! (Occasionally.) You get to be close to your friends and pick the friends you choose to live with....well, sometimes. If you get assigned a room mate you haven't met yet and they're crazy, it can be kind of rough. In addition, the walls are very thin. Sweet dreams??

    Academic Rigor

    If all the beautiful trees and green campus aren't enough to keep your focus on studying, your teachers will! They will answer any question you have because they believe no question is a stupid question. They are here to lift you up and help you achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in Harding, you must know a few things first. 1) You will impress them more if your ACT score is above a 22. 2) Study first, party later. 3) Coffee is your new best friend. 4) Reach for your goals every day and work hard!

    In three sentences

    Harding University is the greatest school I've ever attended! It's beautiful, natural environment keeps me at peace and helps me to study more effectively. Godly relationships are found and built here every day.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This place is awful

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do here at all.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is mediocre at best. But you do have a Chick Fil' A on campus and a taco bell.

    Dorm Life

    It's like a terrribly tiny hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy most of my classes here for the most part. I've learned alot and they aren't boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to come here make sure and get your housing arrangements early. Out of the freshman dorms, armstrong is prefferable. You have your own bathroom here as oppossed to the bathroom for everyone at Harbin.

    In three sentences

    This place is not a whole lot of fun. I wouldn't recommend it to anybody if they want to enjoy there years at college to the fullest. The academics though are pretty good.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Harding University has a very active campus safety department. The crime rate is also very low on campus. Occasionally the campus safety department can be annoying because of the trivial issues that they often enforce but over-all they do a very good job at responding to calls and they do keep crime rates on campus down.

    Clubs and Activities

    Harding University doesn't participate in national Greek fraternities and sororities but Harding does host a wide range of clubs for both men and women. There is also a diverse selection of activities available to any student at almost any time of the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Harding University is great for students looking to strengthen or create a relationship with God. This school is Christ focused and that influences everything that is done on campus. Harding University also has great academic programs and is great looking for a Christian education with accredited programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions at Harding are built into the dynamic of the school. For instance, one has to be careful about swinging on the front lawn with girls, because many of the girls here believe that once a man swings with them three different times they are destined to be married. There is also a rumor that if a certain deformed tree is touched by a woman then she will become pregnant within the year. There are many other rumors and unusual traditions on campus besides these but those are the most prominent.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding University can be a little expensive but the over-all experience given by the people and the school are unattainable anywhere else. A great education is easy to be had a Harding and the relationships are ones that cannot be beat. One of the really nice things about Harding is that, since it is a small school, the teachers are almost always available to help students and networking is made easy by the extensive influence of the school.

    What to do for fun

    Fun in Searcy AR is sometimes hard to come across but with some good friends and a little creativity something can always be found to do. We have two movie theaters in town, as well as a rock climbing gym, a billiards hall, and many parks and outdoor recreation areas near-by.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food at Harding University is not good at all. The dining service provided is sub-par to say the least. The redeeming factor is that a chick-fil-a, Taco Bell, and other such restaurants are provided in the student center for the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Harding University are fairly nice for dorms. Dorm life itself isn't bad at all. People are generally much quieter in the dorms here than they are at a state university (in my experience). The only problems that someone would have with dorm life are the ones that can be expected from any dorm, occasional maintenance issues, small rooms, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Harding University is a school whose focus is upon education given in a Christian atmosphere. The classes can be very difficult at times but the difficulty helps students to truly master the subject and, even though it isn't fun, it helps greatly when using those concepts later in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one were planning on attending Harding it should be known that Harding does have rules that have to be obeyed that most consider restrictive or even invasive. Be aware that upon attendance one is expected to wear pants to all classes and chapel attendance is mandatory for every student Monday through Friday. Harding University also implements a curfew for all students living on campus. Those are the rules that catch many by surprise so if a prospective student were looking at Harding they should be aware of those things.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a place that is truly unlike any other college I have ever heard of or visited. This is a place where thousands of Christians can come together and worship God together as well as learn in a Christian atmosphere without any judgement. Harding is a wonderful school to attend for the opportunities offered, the relationships built, and for the wonderful education given.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Around the clock, Harding University supplies the campus with public safety officers who patrol the campus. Some even drive golf carts to drive walking students across campus for extra safety measure after dark. The officers are easily accessible by a phone call.

    Greek Life

    Social Clubs replace Greek life at Harding University.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Social Club process is one of the best parts about Harding. You can pledge a social club that suits you, and it is a great way to meet people from all over. Social clubs assemble for functions, formals, devotionals, games, off-campus retreats, service projects, and for sports. Getting involved in a social club is a great way to make everlasting memories.

    Great for these types of students

    Harding is a great place for students who love the small town feel of a Christian college. Harding is essentially a school for God-loving people, as well as people who have a heart for serving peers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Sing is a spring musical put on by the students of Harding University. It is a yearly tradition that brings in tourists and visitors from all over the world. It is an unparalleled event and a spectacle to behold.

    Bang for the buck

    The Harding experience is worth every penny. Though there are rules to be followed and curfews to remember, Harding is a community that I can easily call family. God and his word are always at the forefront of the school's decisions and the Christian atmosphere is nothing to be replaced with. It is an experience unlike any other college experience that I could imagine.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do on campus. Students can get involved in the many social clubs available on campus. Clubs (similar to sororities and fraternities) are always putting on activities like club functions, game nights, devotionals, and Spring Sing, Harding's yearly tradition of singing and dancing. Also, there are always concerts (past concerts have included Jason Mraz, The Band Perry, and Sara Bareilles), outdoor games, on-campus movies, and sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Harding is known for its infamous Caf food, but it is not nearly as bad as it seems. Harding does its best to reach out with a variety of food choices: home-style meals, salad bars, international meals, cereal bars, grills, Asian cuisine, and vegetarian/non-allergenic lines are only a few of the many choices the Caf provides. Within the student center, Harding also houses restaurants like Taco Bell and Chick Fil A.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very exciting at Harding University. Though you have a midnight curfew on week-nights, the dorms are a friendly place to meet new people. The residence assistants do a great job making the dorms comfortable for students. Most of the dorms have been refurnished and are roomy and cozy. Boys and girls live in separate dorms, but there are comfortable lobbies and sizable kitchens/game/study rooms to mingle with friends. The furniture within the dorm rooms is relatively new and usable. All dorms also come with free maintenance repair.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Harding University challenge your abilities and push your skills, but the small class sizes and interesting curriculum are what make the classes here worthwhile! You have many one-on-one experiences with your professors and they do the best to help students succeed. You get to know your professors in a way that you never could at a public school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a Christian institution and enjoy the small town feel of a homey campus, then Harding will be a perfect fit for you. Though there are many rules that you will not find at a public university, Harding is a fair and honorable institution that values quality education and Christian discipline above all else. The faculty relates with students on a personal scale, which makes classes more enjoyable. There are always on-campus activities going on throughout the year. Basically, you will never be bored on campus! So if your ideal school is a Christian college with excellent academic records, exciting activities, and a small Christian atmosphere, Harding is perfect for you!

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a great school that centers around a Christ-like image. Everything Harding stands for is in line with the teaching's of Jesus Christ, and it is a school that regards its students and faculty with the highest respect. It is a tremendous institution and it deserves five stars in terms of one of the finest higher education schools in the southern United States.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is so safe, I walk to and from the track every night alone and I have never once felt unsafe. Campus security is always driving arounda nd we all have their number, also they have these golf carts that drive around campus and will take you anywhere you want to go. If you need anything (to go to the doctors, to change a tire, your leg is broken and you need to get to class... anything) campus security will be there to help.

    Greek Life

    Harding does things a little differently. Our fraternaties and sororities are simply called clubs. They are made from the same Greek letters and whatnot, but there is no hazing allowed, no drinking, none of the stuff that you see on t.v. about college greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for all types of people. Anyone can find one they belong too, and if they aren't the club type that's okay too. The activities are great, concerts, hypnotists, magicians, banquets, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Harding has a place for everyone. Since it is a church of Christ school you do have to go to chapel and Bible class everyday, and the rules are stricter based on religion and stuff, so that is something to take into account before you come. But Harding is perfect for anyone who is looking for a place of excellent education and a place for furthering your life with God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harding is a little strange, because everyone calls it a marriage factory, so most traditions or stories are spoofs off of that. For example, there is a bell tower on campus; if you walk through that alone you won't get married, but if you walk through it with someone you will (if you are holding hands while you walk through it's said that you'll get married to that person). Also we have these beautiful swings all around campus, its an ongoing saying that if you swing on three different swings with the same person you will get married to them (it's called three swings and a ring). Though it all is just superstition it is still fun and everyone honors is. Almost everyone walks around the bell tower because they don't want to walk under it alone. It's silly but it's Harding, and we love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Harding is not the cheapest school, I must say, but I'm glad I decided to come here. Because of the funding that the school has I have opportunities here that I would never have anywhere else. Harding has the small school feel but the big school opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Searcy is a small place, and there isn't a whole lot in the form of entertainment; so we like to make our own fun! You can drive about 45 min to Heber or to Little Rock, where you can go shopping, cliff jumping, swiming, dining, two-stepping, etc. People who stay around here go to sonic, the movies, walmart, or hang out around campus with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Caf food; I will admit it isn't something to write home about, but it isn't something that makes you sick just thinking about. The caf food is not that bad, and if you don't like it there are other options on campus. In the student center there is a taco bell, chick-fil-a, hamberger joint, a bistro place, and a java city; so there are other options.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms here; they aren't perfect, but I have already made so many wonderful memories in the dorms. Living in the dorms is like camp; the girls are in your cabin or tent and you have to learn how to live together. It is like one big family and it helps develop great friendships!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not so hard that you dread going to them, but they aren't so easy that you don't have to try. The classes here are designed to make you think, but they don't set out to fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you only get as much out of things as you put in to them. Meaning, don't come expecting things to just happen, you have to get involved. Put your best foot forward and work your hardest

    In three sentences

    Harding is a wonderful place to be. The teachers are so willing to work with you and the other students are so nice. The campus is beautiful and it is easy to feel like you fit in.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Harding has a gym with many activities and recreational rooms. (My favorite is Zumba!) There is really not a lot to do, especially around the town because it is very small.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasty and you can always find a healthy option. The downside is, there is not a very large variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is very nice. Carpeted flooring, separate bathrooms for each suite, and no unwelcome critters.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only in my first semester at Harding but so far the classes have been great! The courses I am taking are interesting, but not over my head. The work load is definitely manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small school so it seems like a big family at times, which could be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. It is in a small town so there is not much to do once you leave campus.

    In three sentences

    Harding has a great, Christian environment. The teachers truly care about the students and the students for one another. Harding has great living facilities and an average cafeteria.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    awesome

    Great for these types of students

    Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the fountain and the student life center

    What to do for fun

    Sports, bowling, movies and outings to Heber Springs or Little Rock recharge anyone.

    Food and Dining

    This has really improved over the years and cant be beat for southern style cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is where you really meet your friends and your social life grows. It can get crazy but its still safe and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    It is slightly higher than most colleges but is well worth the effort. You feel as if you have really earned it once you finish a class or semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with family and remember your goals, stay focused on your goals and have fun meeting all the great friendly people - staff, faculty and fellow students.

    In three sentences

    Its a very positive atmosphere with alot of protection and security in mind for the student body. I felt safer here than any other campus I have been on.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Other people seem to like them, I'm not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, Christian, and self-disciplined students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three swings and ring- supposedly if you swing with the same person three times you will get engaged to that person.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of concerts and movies on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of rules, dress code is a pain.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends what classes you take and your work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring in as much credit as possible.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school if you want a Christian education. Professors and staff care about the students and take an interest in them. It is a good challenge academically.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hr public safety guards checking around campus. No worries

    What to do for fun

    I met my best friend here in harding so everything we do is fun!!!!

    Food and Dining

    I work in the cafeteria, I love the food especially the stir fry section. Students are able to stir fry their own food.

    Dorm Life

    I can't complain about dorm life, my dorm mom was the sweetest! But I wanted more space so moved off campus now

    Academic Rigor

    I am in pre nursing program right now. And all these classes I am taking really preparing me to be an RN.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve with school activities and don't be shy around campus, everyone is so nice here.

    In three sentences

    Harding is a very Christian environment. I learn to be a better person inside out; Academically, I've learned more than what I expected. Coming to Harding was the better decision I've ever made in my life.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    living off campus

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THE BEST. If you call Public Saftey, they will even give you a ride on their golf carts after dark if you need to go somewhere on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Any of the local coffee shops, cliff jumping, two-stepping, movies, Little Rock, mountain climbing, rock climbing, canoeing, swimming, concerts!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options for any type of food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is SO FUN. I love living with all my friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes, the academic side may seem really difficult, but it is worth what you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are hesitating, please come visit! Few can come onto campus and not be blown away.

    In three sentences

    An amazing Christ-seeking atmosphere. A loving community of intelligent faculty. A fantastic and open peer group.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is open at all times. They offer to take you anywhere you need to go, plus at night they drive around golf carts so you don't have to walk alone in the dark.

    What to do for fun

    You can go swim in the pool, Harding is near several parks. You could play frisbee on the front lawn. There are several things to do in the town of Searcy where Harding is located.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a salad line, grill line, unlimited drinks. It also has a pizza line and the best fries you could ever have! The student center has a Taco Bell, Burger Studio, Chik-Fil-A, and asian resteraunt and a mini mart.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better. The dorms are alright, but they are not the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the classes will be more difficult. I believe that the classes are adequately difficult. They give you the chance to learn and experience what you love.

    Tips for prospective students

    When making your schedule, do not pick noon to be your lunch break. You will never get to the food in time. It will be packed. Take oppertunities seriously. Here at Harding, you have so many chances to meet great people and learn so much. You can also study abroad for the same price as in the states.

    In three sentences

    As a freshman theatre major, I have never felt more at home. Harding's academics, food, adviser's, professors, and campus are the most wonderful things I have ever experienced. I mean where else does the president of the college come sit with you in the student center to ask how you are and how you feel about Harding?

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe relative to the slightly dangerous town in which the university is located (Searcy, AR).

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Clubs instead of Fraternities or Sororities; Christian-focused groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, non-christians, people who love to learn, people who want to make friends with a lot of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lighting ceremony in fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school. Tuition is not bad for being a top-ranked private christian college at only around $20,000/year.

    What to do for fun

    Movie theater in town, Little Rock-45 minute drive, Memphis-2 hour drive. Hiking-45 minute drive, lots of community involvement opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre, usually tolerable in the cafeteria. Although, our student center has a Taco Bell, Chick-fil-A and other food court options.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are very fun and most of them are very nice. The campus is small enough it doesn't take more than 12 minutes to walk anywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but that means you learn a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    The rules are strict, but they are trying to uphold christian values, so don't attend here if you can't follow the rules. No matter what degree program you chose, expect to be challenged and pushed but come out with knowledge and passion for your area of study.

    In three sentences

    Harding is a Christian school that lives up to it's title. The professors, faculty and staff all care about the students and it is easy to see. The student body is wonderful and the small/medium size of the campus is great for building close relationships.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a good selection of vendors around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I went to Spring Fling and got to stay in a dorm on campus. They were awesome!

    In three sentences

    The school is beautiful, and plenty of events go on to keep you entertained. I love how Christ is incorporated into all the activities!

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe on campus infact I do not think I have ver heard of anyone being hurt on campus.

    Greek Life

    Well at Harding we call the greek life social clubs, same things (no frat houses) just a different name. Social clubs are a great way to get involved and meet some awesome people. Only downside is that some people take rivalries very seriously, but those people are easy to ignore. GO BOX!

    Great for these types of students

    A very touchy crowd here at Harding, so if you absolutly need personal space you may be suprised by some of the people here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well there are a couple of spots that have unique traditions; several of these about marriage and others about common pranks pulled by students.

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively cheap to go there. Harding is very generous with scholarships and they will work with you so you can afford to go there.

    What to do for fun

    The people are what make Harding fun, because Searcy is in the middle of nowhere andnot much happens there. However on the weekend if you are willing to drive about 50 min you cant get to Heber Springs which has some good hiking and cliff jumping or you can go to Little ROck which has a number of things seeing as it is the capital of Arkansas.

    Food and Dining

    Again, not the Ritz, so the food isn't that great but that is not why I came to college. Armark does a good job of providing enough food but some days they make some food that is difficult to look at and eat.

    Dorm Life

    Armstong is fantastic! Even though it's not the Ritz the personal touch I made on my room made it a home away from home. However that means nothing, because all of the shenanigans I got into when I was in that dorm are worth every scratch in the paint.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several teachers that have made certain courses more difficult than I first expected them to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encorage all incoming students to keep an open mind, because there will be many things taught there that you may not necessarily believe. However, because many of my friends and teachers have different beliefs, I get to learn from them every day. And that is the best thing about Harding.

    In three sentences

    The place where I was given the insight and ability, to discover and advance my hopes for the future. Here I Have found out exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life. They solely, are responsible for connecting me with the great and faithful friends that I hope to have for a lifetime.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good. Public safety is always roaming around campus to increase protection.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus for guys and girls. There are always club functions occurring or club sports for teams to compete against each other for bragging rights and trophies.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love sports , Harding sports team have unique atmosphere for its sports teams and fans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harding has a nickname know as the Marriage Factory, and there are several white swings around campus. There's this saying, three swings and a ring, meaning that if you sit on the swings with the same person three times you will marry them.

    Bang for the buck

    The Harding book store has a sale on every Thursday .

    What to do for fun

    There are many events and church activities to get involved in. Some events help prepare you for dating/marriage, some prepare you for your careers, but most importantly some help you to grow a stronger relationship with God.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is not that great. You will miss your mothers cooking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are interesting for guys, because there are so may spontaneous things that occur.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but very well structured. The professors seek to build relationships, and the lectures are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for classes ahead of time and seek tutors if you need them. The tutors are free.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a very prestigious school offering many challenging courses. The relationships you build with students, professors, and people in the community help contribute to your growth as a person. The fellowship is second to none.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Searcy, Arkansas doesn't hold much to do for fun. But college is what students make it.

    Food and Dining

    The quality of the food on campus isn't the best. The food options are very limited, but what can anyone expect? It's college.

    Dorm Life

    Most students will agree that living in the dorms on campus is actually very enjoyable and fun. It isn't anything special, but it could be much worse in other places.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are very laid back and are easy to manage. Others are very challenging and time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find as many scholarships as possible. The university isn't very helpful with financial aid and it would have been nice to have had more money flowing into my account this past semester.

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a school that prides itself on offering top quality Christian education from a Church of Christ Denominational perspective. As a result, the university can be somewhat limited and biased towards it's own viewpoints and stances. I do not advise this school to those who may disagree theologically or who aren't members of the Church of Christ denomination.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. They have a security person you can call and they pick you up in a golf cart and take you around campus at night, or take you to your car.

    Greek Life

    They call them clubs. It is fun and not that expensive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports for a NCAA II school. They have intermural sports every semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious and missionary.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have Chaple every day of the week that is worked into your schedule. Also you have to take a religion course every semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state or in state, same tution. The college has great programs and is not that expensive compared to others.

    What to do for fun

    Fishing and Hunting are close. There are activities at night, volleyball, flag football, fresbee football and swimming during the evening.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is okay. It gets boring after a few months. There are resturants close and they give 10% discount to Harding students.

    Dorm Life

    Curfew at 12 every night. Cable is included and free wi-fi. Ping pong in most dorms and a TV area. Nice size dorms, but have to share a room in every dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough. Some don't even have a book. Must attend class to get credit and must wear pants only to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know a little about the bible and are not a drinker or smoker. This is a dry town. There is fishing and hunting and great activities to do while classes are not in session. There is help for students that dont get a subject and the tutors are really good.

    In three sentences

    The kids are church goers and follow the rules. The school is super hard if you like a challage and there is a curfew every night of the week. I would rate this school a 8 out of 10.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located just blocks from downtown Searcy. The main aspect of campus safety is that Harding University is committed to Christian values which greatly reduces the number of security-related problems that are so common on other college campuses.

    Greek Life

    Harding does not have traditional fraternities and sororities. Instead there are social clubs that do service projects and promote school spirit. Harding assures club membership to all students who desire it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Area churches to participate and serve. --Theatre productions --Musicals --Art Shows --Athletic events --Honor Societies --10+ music organizations --Student Publications: newspaper & yearbook --Social Clubs --Student Association

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have an all-encompassing love for God and other people will love Harding University. Students who prefer a smaller college environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The swing in the gardens is a great tradition. --Regular student-led devotionals --Homecoming --Spring Sing Variety Show with over 1000 students participating --Annual Lectureship that connects with churches around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a non-resident student paying out of state tuition at a private Christian university and the cost is only $2000 more a year than if I had attended a state-supported school in my home state.

    What to do for fun

    Too many things to list. From athletic events, to club formals, to Spring Sing. Harding is a great place to be.....

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food in the world, but a great place to meet up with friends.

    Dorm Life

    I had the time of my life my first year at Harding. I cannot wait to go back....

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study, but the professors are so helpful. Because it is a smaller school the class sizes are not so ridiculously large that you are just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with an open mind. You will meet so many new friends so try not to make roommate decisions until you get to HU and begin to meet people. Make sure you attend chapel. It will change your life.

    In three sentences

    Attending Harding University is a life-changing experience, and one of the best decisions I have ever made because you aren't just a number or a face-in-the-crowd you're a person that the professors and staff; all the way up to the President of the university, know by name. Not only do you grow spiritually in your relationship with Jesus Christ, but you are offered an amazing opportunity to obtain a great education. You will never be disappointed if you choose Harding University as your location to pursue your dream of a college degree.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harding is full of its funny quirks and traditions including it's couples, swings, hammocks, pranks, and buildings.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things year around going on on campus. Searcy has plenty of opportunities as well of activities such as laser tag, movies, and paintball. Little Rock is only a fairly short drive away, and Heber Springs, home to Greers Ferry Lake and Sugarloaf mountain, is close as well.

    Food and Dining

    Harding's cafeteria has many options, but you get tired of them fairly quickly. The student center, on the other hand, has plenty of great food options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful. The dorms are nice, and they give you a great opportunity to make some new and long lasting friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Harding teachers are seriously devoted to teaching you whatever subject you may be in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Harding is full of wonderful opportunities both locally and internationally, take advantage of them all you can while you can.

    In three sentences

    Harding is honestly a fantastic place to attend college. The teachers are willing to help you out most of the time, and they actually attempt to know you. Also, if you're looking for a beautiful campus, Harding is gorgeous all year around.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do although it may not seem like it. One thing that has helped me is by joining a club of about 60 other guys has given many plenty of opportunities to hang out with people and find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided by the school cafeteria is not the best. The options in the student center of Taco Bell, Chik-fil-A, and others are nice. There not many choices of dining places near campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the best for the guys, but the atmosphere that comes with it is priceless. It is amazing how many friends I have made just from living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Harding has very challenging academics, but they are very rewarding. You will come out of every class knowing that you learned something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay strong and dedicated in your academic life and Christian life at all times. Take every opportunity and have fun, just not too much fun.

    In three sentences

    Harding places the highest value on their Christian beliefs. Harding is a great place to study and grow closer to God. Harding offers so many great opportunities.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. I have only heard of maybe 2 incidents in my 3 years here at Harding and they included some break ins to cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs which have various activities throughout the year. Admission to a club is not difficult and nearly all students are part of some club.

    Bang for the buck

    It is relatively inexpensive for a private university so that is a plus!

    What to do for fun

    There are various locations around Searcy to go to for extracurricular activities. LIttle Rock has many attractions, Heber Springs, a lake town which is located 30-45 mins away from campus has cliffs to jump off of, and Sugarloaf mountain (really just a big rock) has many climbing and hiking trails to go on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a typical cafeteria, not great, not terrible. There is also a taco bell and sandwich shop on campus in the student center area. If you can cook, you are ahead of the game.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has it's own flavor. If you choose a dorm with many freshmen, you generally have a louder dorm, if you choose a dorm with mainly upperclassmen you have a much more peaceful dorm. There is a dorm for every type of person.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at Harding University are a challenge, especially in the sciences. The professors are fair in their expectations of you and love to work with students 1 on 1 to help them in areas which they are struggling in. If you work hard and smart, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard if you come to this university. Classes are not easy, but professors truly do want to help you and see you become a successful contributor to society, one who is looking out for the good of others.Get involved in campus life activities, they are everywhere and they will help you in getting connected to the student body as well as the faculty.

    In three sentences

    Harding University has provided me with not only an education, but an education based on biblical principles. I have learned to be a diligent student as well as a diligent follower of Christ during my time here. The atmosphere at Harding University is friendly, welcoming, and encouraging; I would encourage anyone who is considering a university with strong ethics and superb academics to invest in this university

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Our Student Association with host movie nights on the front lawn or in chapel buildings with free popcorn. Lots of students like to go outside on the front lawn and play: soccer, frisbee, catch, or multiple other games. Other like to wait to go to dinner and a movie at night, or walk around at the park, or just go shopping all day!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Harding in not the best, but it could be worse. We have multiple different options, and of course there is always our student center you can rely on if the cafeteria isn't reliable. They are really good about making sure they please everyone's food styles.

    Dorm Life

    Although Harding has separate girl/guy dorms and curfew, you can still have tons of fun in the dorms! At times you will love the dorm life and at times you will hate it. With a bunch of girls living together (or a bunch of guys living together) drama can come up, but in all reality the dorm life is where you bond with your friends and learn more about yourself as an independent person!

    Academic Rigor

    Harding University is not easy. At times it may feel unbearable, but in all reality you just have to figure out how to manage your time. In the end, student from Harding University come out on top of the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I would say be prepared to: work hard, stay up late, have fun, meet new people, build new relationships, learn lots of material, and grow in your faith with God! Harding is not the easiest university, but with the right mindset, friends, and focus you will have a blast. Always keep your chin up and give your very best!

    In three sentences

    Harding University is a great place where you can meet many new people from all over the world! Here at Harding professors truly care about seeing their student succeed and take the time to teach them about God along the way. God is a number one priority here at Harding as well and it's great to be able to learn about him along the way!