Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Harford Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to start at a community college and then transfer to a four year college. Specifically for students who wish to attend Towson University, Harford hosts Towson Classes, so you will be attending Towson except you will be on Harford Campus. If your a student that prefers smaller communities and more one on one help/attention, Harford provides just that.

    Tips for prospective students

    When deciding what major you are going for do not fear that it is the only thing you will be locked to. You can change your major as many times as you want. Harford is a very flexible community college that will transfer most of its credits. Time management is key factor to achieving your best, Harford career advising can set up a class schedule that fits you the best. The environment is friendly, helpful, diverse and interesting to a student thinking about attending Harford.

    Bang for the buck

    The only college that has no registration fee and is the cheapest when it comes to paying for tuition.

  • 10/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone fits in here. Young kids, parents who want to go back to school. It is a great college with great professors!!!!

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who may not be completely sure of what they want to do should definitely consider Harford first. It is cheap, and if you end up changing your major a few times, it will not be as big of a deal here than at a four-year college or university. Someone who is not ready to leave home and be on their own may also want to come here before going to a four-year college or university. It is a great transition. You are on your own in some ways, but can still come home and enjoy your family's presence at the end of the day. Other students who should consider Harford are those with money problems. It is easy to pay for and their is a wonderful financial aid office that can help you with aid, scholarships, and loans. Even adults both young and older are welcome here. It is a great place to take one or two classes or even to pursue a whole new degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although you do not have to know what you want to do upon entering the college, it is a good idea to find out as soon as possible to help keep you on track. This way, the school can better help you in finding and helping you pick your courses for a good and successful transfer to a four-year college/university. Plan your courses ahead of time if you know what you want to do. This is good so that you know you have everything you need to graduate and transfer in two years. Do not be afraid to talk with advisers. They are there to help you and can be a HUGE help. Do not work more than 20 hours a week... If you are a full time student, this can put you under a lot of stress. Take the bus to school. It can save you on a lot of gas money you would otherwise be spending. Make sure you know who the professor is in the classes you are signing up for. You have the choice, so use it. You want to have the best learning experience you can possibly have, and to do this you need to be compatible with your professors. Go to class. I know people say you don't have to go in college. But you do. You are partly graded on participation, and can be dropped from the class if you miss too much. You also will not do so well on the tests.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC was a good place to start for me. I would recommend it to anyone, because the tuition is very low, and the students' get a very good beginning education out of it. You will be saving a lot of money by going to HCC first.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is pleasant. I don't mind the walks from the parking lots and from class to class. There is plenty of fresh air and space to walk around without bumping into people. The classes are small which makes for a closer relationship with both peers and professors. The cafeteria food is pretty good and I do not mind eating there at all. There is always a place to sit and relax on breaks. Everyone is friendly and helpful at HCC, and you will never feel lost. There are many clubs and organizations to get involved with. There are free lunches and outdoor movies and other things to do while on campus. At the Chesapeake and Amoss centers, there are plenty of musicals, plays, and other sources of entertainment to be seen, as well.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors' are good at what they do. It is easy to tell that they enjoy what they are doing, and when a professor enjoys their job, the students get the best learning experience they can. The library is helpful and quiet, and is a great place to study. I do not feel incredibly pressured in any of my classes, and I do not mind completing the work. The professors' are friendly and want their students to succeed, and it does show in the grades of the students.

  • 03/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a great education at a great price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved: there are tons of clubs and organizations; something for everyone. Get familiar with the College Life office: they sponsor trips and do a lot of interesting cultural events.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is one of the least expensive community colleges in Maryland, and the quality of education is so much better than at other MD community colleges. It's awesome!

    Am enjoying being here

    I was a little apprehensive about attending HCC, especially with the community college stigma. But now I absolutely love it. The campus is very pretty, there's always something fun going on and I've met a lot of really great people.

    Am learning a lot

    I've had amazing professors in my two years at HCC. My instructors were well qualified and you can tell that they have a passion for what they do. My classes were rigorous, but not overwhelming and the school provided me with a great foundation to transfer to a 4-year school.

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HCC is a great school for everyone. The classes challenge you and you learn a lot while here. Any students looking to receive a college degree and save money at the same time, should first look into HCC. It was my first choice and I couldn't be happier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class. My first semester I thought it would be a breeze. What I soon realized was that college is a lot different than high school. Overall, enjoy your college experience. You can't redo these years so make the most of them.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college it is a cheap place to start. I have learned the same amount of facts in my classes here at HCC than I would at a four year University. As a student you save a lot of money by starting here.

    Am enjoying being here

    HCC does a lot of student events. In the spring time they have a movie night where they show a children's movie. Tons of people come out for this event. Throughout the year they give out free items to the students as well.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot since I became a student here. The professors are amazing and explain what they are teaching very well. There is a math center as well as a writing center that can help you if you are having problems in your classes. Even the professors are willing to help you if you are having problems in their classes.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like all community colleges, it's great for high school grads, high school students wanting to take a few college classes before they graduate, and adults going back to school. The tuition is fairly inexpensive if you live in Harford County, however they quickly skyrocket for out of county and out of state students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest thing to remember is to check your school email. That is usually the way that professors will keep in touch with their students. Other than that, do the readings that you are asked to do, as they will significantly increase your test scores.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I learned things in 70% of my classes, but the rest seem fairly pointless. The wifi on campus is horrible and their online system can be difficult to navigate. Overall, it has given me a get in, get out mentality.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed the small school setting, however because of the fact that everyone lives off-campus, it's difficult to connect with other students. A lot of them know each other from high school or are adults just coming in for a couple classes, so it's difficult to find a group that you can fit into, though this is an aspect of most community colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are typically good at what they teach and can be quite enthusiastic about it. However, there are a handful that are quite boring or don't seem to have a clue.

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller classes, more individualized teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    For every hour in class, you should probably spend about three hours doing homework or studying material, it pays off on tests!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap college, good education!

    Am enjoying being here

    Professors are great and peers are friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are fantastic, you will do well in your classes if you study and pay attention.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Tips for prospective students

    Harford Community is great

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always driving around and can be found everywhere, i always feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    those who do not know what they really want to major in, or would like to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    being a community college, it is the cheapest option to start out at college.

    What to do for fun

    on campus, there is plenty of art to look at in joppa hall, and a short walk from there, there is an amphitheater. there are festivals to attend in fall and spring. around campus there is an arena club, plenty of restaurants, and downtown bel air just down the road!

    Food and Dining

    the food in the globe cafe is always delicious, and sometimes there are free lunches!

    Academic Rigor

    it mostly depends on the professor. they all have different expectations and policies.

    Tips for prospective students

    career and life planning is a really great class to take if a student does not know what they want to do in life. it has really helped many students figure out their majors and career plans. do not choose online or hybrid courses if you do not like self teaching, plus it takes just as much time to study for them as regular classes, so you will not be saving time!

    In three sentences

    harford community college is a great school to start off at. it is the best for students who do not quite know what they want to major in, or who want to save money. everyone is friendly, including the professors.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    a quality education at the lowest price in maryland.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is very expensive and fairly limited in selection. some good restaurants and food places nearby the college include subway, mcdonald's, burger king, wawa, and a local coffee shop.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers expect college-level work. some teachers are flexible with deadlines, but some are very strict. many of the classes are set up the same way as those at 4-year colleges, and many of the teachers have taught at 4-year colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are unsure of what you want to do after or college or what to major in, take the career and life planning class. it is really helpful! also, i recommend joining groups that interest you to get connected with people.

    In three sentences

    harford community college is a great school with really helpful professors and advisers. they have many scheduling options. the campus is well-maintained and easy to navigate.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus

    In three sentences

    harford community college is convenient with home and work schedules and has great amenities for students of all ages.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Out of county or out of state higher tuition

    What to do for fun

    Study like it's your job

    Food and Dining

    Unaware

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken chemistry so I cannot rate beyond this class with this specific professor. High accuity material, low actual coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library for studying Learn about the resources available to you early

    In three sentences

    I have had great experiences with the professors, faculty, and staff. I came out to this school specifically for organic chemistry. The labs and classrooms are modern which is appreciated.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe atmosphere and campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This college provides a great education curriculum wise and resource wise.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Fees are set to be raised in June 2012, but still a less expensive option to going to a 4 year school for all 4 years.

    What to do for fun

    Not far from downtown Baltimore, or staying local in Harford County for wine tasting events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Standard fair institutional food. Nothing to brag about. As a vegetarian, I'd like to have more options. Fresh food is best.

    Academic Rigor

    Course syllabus, requirements, books and class material are clearly defined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well rounded sport programs, but no football. Lots of clubs and groups to immerse yourself in.

    In three sentences

    Strong communication, up to date courses and technology and wide variety in class options. Responsive instructors, fair grading,

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many security systems and a female Sherlock Holmes as the head of security. Very alert system dedicated to keeping all students safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of them, get connected and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided, Those who want to change their academic record before heading to a university, financially troubled.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None known of, other than the Green components worked into nearly every building.

    Bang for the buck

    University learning for 1/3 the price. Like any university, there are teaching legends, and learning hazards. Student descriptions are fairly accurate, so buddy up and you'll find a good professor.

    What to do for fun

    The grounds are great for sports, and there are places to meet people and hang out, and in the fall there is plenty of activities, but other than mini-golf, eating out, and sports, there isn't much to do, since there aren't any dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is expensive, but there are restaurants nearby for lunch, snack, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but particularly in the fall, there is a lot going on, like every day. Numerous clubs to get involved in, for virtually any interest.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor. Use ratemyprofessor.com before signing up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep the GPA up from the beginning (above 3.5) and you will be safe. Phi Theta Kappa has many transfer scholarships, and having that on your application will boost chances of getting into your choice college.

    In three sentences

    Depending on the professor, may or may not prepare you well. The hardest are the best, usually, and the easiest ones are the worst. As an engineering major, with hard work there are plenty of intern options, as most professors work/worked on APG.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Globe cafe has excellent and afforable food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your first two years here and then transfer!

    In three sentences

    This is a great start for a college education. It is an affordable alternative to a 4-year university for the first two years and has helped me discover my passion. I highly recommend this school.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a pretty good presence, we've never had any significant problems.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    Normal stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't care and those want cheap but are willing to work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hay-Heigh House is an old, historical building that has exhibits throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap so if you invest in it it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    They try to put on event but a lot of them are lame.

    Food and Dining

    Mostly vending machine and the overpriced Globe cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    A few teacher will work you but some will let you get by with just o.k.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is what you make of it. You can get by without excessive work but you will get a lot more out of it if you put something into it.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere was an intimate learning experience where I was able to get personalized attention for what I needed. The college life was adequate although it didn't have much to attract me personally. I had several great professors who taught well but I also had some did not care to go beyond the minimum.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a nursing student, Harford is a great place to begin. They offer a full nursing program and I have met several students who have graduated and work in great places ranging from local hospitals to out of state.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafe is delicious but expensive, so I mostly eat out or I bring lunch from home

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms, because it is a community college so everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class, however most freshmen level classes and concentrated classes meet a four year college academic level. It is a great place to transition from high school to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be willing to work hard. Though the professors want you to succeed, they will not just hand it to you. Be prepared to make mistakes and don't be afraid to seek help.

    In three sentences

    Harford is a great place to attend if you have no idea what you want to do in college. The professors are willing to work with you; they want you to succeed. There are a variety of on campus activities and it's a great place to meet life long friends.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security was always there. All of the parking lots had lights and cameras. The officers were always driving around checking on students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have enough money to afford University right off the bat. It is perfect for completing basic classes and then transferring into a university to finish a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind Joppa Hall there is a pond with a trail that is always nice to visit.

    What to do for fun

    The are many clubs and there are always activities going on in the globe cafe. They had concerts and parties. There was always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good. The hotdogs and chicken fingers were the best. The prices were reasonable as well.

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms. Stayed at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to do well. Some classes didn't seem like college courses, they reminded me of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep yourself on track with classes. When its time to sign up for classes make sure you sign up as soon as you can because some classes fill up quickly. Work hard and it will pay off in the end.

    In three sentences

    It was a great school to get my per-requisite classes done. It was a convenient drive from home. The teachers were helpful and wanted you to succeed.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I havent tried anything

    Dorm Life

    none...communtiy college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have had have been tough but nothing that is to hard if you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes early or as soon as you can! Classses go fast!

    In three sentences

    This is a very nice college for anyone just satrting college or looking to go back to school. I would recommend thhis school to anyone. Great class sizes and great teachers.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No experience with the food and dining here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and tour the campus and speak with an adviser. They are very helpful in leading you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    After being out of high school for 22 years, I was nervous returning to school. It has been a good experience. Nice people, easy to follow classes.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am going to graduate from HCC with everything I need to take the N-CLEX exam and become a licensed RN and I spent a fraction of the money that it would have taken at a 4 year college. As a matter of fact, with my financial aid it has been an extremely practical option for my family.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports and events going on all year. There are plenty of organizations and groups that you can become part of.

    Food and Dining

    We do have the Globe Cafe, which is getting remodeled this summer, and their food is really good. Plenty of seating in the dinning area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, sorry!

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is as extensive and difficult here than any other college. I am challenged by the academics and requirements this college is offering. Harford Community College has an outstanding nursing program open for all to apply to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in order. Have a plan for your college career. Always seek out help with the advisors, faculty, and financial aid office.

    In three sentences

    Great school with fantastic faculty. Beautiful campus with green features in place. Lots of options for majors.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities at HCC every day. Music in the student center, Frisbee on the field. Pick up a handbook at the beginning of the year and it tells you the activity for each week to stay a part of the community.

    Food and Dining

    The food at HCC is just a step above high school cafeteria food. It's great for snacks, but I bring my own meals from home. There are plenty of ways to get caffeine at this school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm on HCC grounds. I live 15 minutes from school. Traffic is always light.

    Academic Rigor

    The pace of each teacher varies. Depending on what you're learning, the academic rigor will be different.Thus far, it has been a good pace for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    HCC teaches at a good pace. Don't worry about getting an A, worry about learning what you need to. Lastly, stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Almost every teacher I've had has been excited to teach as their profession. The professors relate to students in ways stereotypical university professors would not. Only a few teachers have shown they are not happy to be teaching at HCC.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Smoke free and tons of security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't seen much of anything but I hear the clubs and activities are pretty good.

    Great for these types of students

    People semi serious about education after high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons f park benches and shady trees to sit outside and do work on or under on a nice day.

    Bang for the buck

    It's extremely cheap and worth it, as long as your credits will transfer to whichever school you plan to transfer to. Check to make sure they transfer before applying because if they don't, you're hosed.

    What to do for fun

    There are some athletic teams which many people participate on. Aside from that, there are a variety of student life events.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good teachers but the classes aren't too difficult and the work is a synch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take morning classes if you're serious about college. All the not so intelligent students take the later classes and its a lot more distracting.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a little like 13th grade to be honest. The professors treat you like children and the work isn't very rigorous. However, if you're looking for a school to finish the prerequisites for your major for cheap, this school is perfect.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police and campus cameras keep incidents at a minimum. First Aid stations available, rails on stairs, and snow removal is punctual.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities, too many to list. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that likes a community without the overwhelming sensation of University life, but with the options to participate and get actively involved. For the student who wants good classes at a good price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of, But the campus is a smoke free campus, great tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent facilities, one of the green campuses that utilizes energy conservation and uses the money saved to keep campus at premium level. Great instructors and programs for a fraction of the university price.

    What to do for fun

    The bars are right around the corner, sports facilities are top notch, and Rock State Park is just up the street.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe with some decent options to hold you over throughout the day

    Dorm Life

    no on campus boarding, yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the course loads are demanding, but not without reward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain focus, take part in the campus activities, and enjoy the experience!

    In three sentences

    The facilities are up-to-date and clean. The staff is committed to your success. The college is a great first step into the land of college.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do in and around the college. My first reccomendation would be to become involved with an extra curricular program at the school. There are also gyms and such in the local area though that offer fun programs, as well as a movie theatre and shopping nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There are many good restaurants in the local area of the college, as well as an on campus cafeteria-esque lounge. They offer a wide variety of foods, and are also open for breakfast. They also have snacks that can be bought throughout the day as well as always having hot food available to order.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms because they are a community college. There is plenty of housing nearby though that has a very young crowd. If there were to have college housing, it would be a mad house due to the fact of a very high enrollment of students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standpoint is also great. They are not extremely hard, yet offer just enough of an academic challege to make you feel as though you have gained and learned something from their classes. Some things are occasionally tough, but they have outstanding professors who are willing to help anyone who may need it. I feel as if I have gained great knowledge and insight already in just one year of attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage any prospective students of Harford Community College to certainly enroll and attend. They have great programs all the way around. I also encourage students to get involved in all the outside academic programs that Harford Community College has to offer.

    In three sentences

    I rate Harford Community College a 4.5 on a scale of 5, being the highest. They are a very exceptional school and care very much about the students. They also make things very easy for current students to access.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Harford Safety patrol cars are always around the campus looking out for the students and the teachers. For example, I was able to get my car jumped by the Harford Safety Patrol when I left my lights on during my class.

    Greek Life

    Harford Community College doesn't offer any type of Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different types of programs that will keep the student body busy and having fun doing the things that they enjoy with people that share a common interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, any type of student should be able to enjoy an experience at Harford Community College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't heard of any unusual traditions or locations on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money that students pay for a semester, we get more than was expected. There is always something to do and many different things that accommodate any students desires.

    What to do for fun

    Harford Community College offers many different clubs and live entertainment within the student center. The Fighting Owls are also a Division 1 Junior College for sports.

    Food and Dining

    The Globe Cafe offers many different choices on their menu. From breakfast to dinner foods, It's impossible to say that the food doesn't taste good and it's also not very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Harford Community College currently doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    People call community colleges the 13th and 14th grade when after all its nothing like a high school class. Any class that Harford Community College provides will challenge a student to mature rapidly. Responsibility and time management skills are often tested when it comes to completing the work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, do not look down on yourself because your attending a community college. You will still have to work hard and meet plenty of new and interesting people.

    In three sentences

    Harford Community is a challenging community college. The classes are definitely hard and they will prepare you for the future workload that you will face at a four-year university.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enoy sports and music. Just find time to relax and unwind at the student center.

    Food and Dining

    A good place to grab a quick and inexpensive meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very demanding; however the professors' caring atitude and patience made it seem fairly easy. you still have to study to earn your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to make new friends. It's Ok to change your major.

    In three sentences

    Home away from home. Excelent instructor to student ratio. Great instructor flexibility.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Globe Cafe has a good range of food that can be prepared to your convience. If the Globe doesnt have what you want there are several food places that you can walk or drive to for preference.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending Harford community College was easier than expected. Our Professors give you homework that is only necessary for topics covered; therefore, you will not have piles of homework. However, studying is a self motivated/ determined activity when you are in college. Teachers will not remind you to study or complete homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who like to attend a college close to home while getting the full college-life experience you should attend Harford Community College. There are plenty oppurtunities and activities to explore on campus especially at the student center. If you do not have a vehicle or need tansportation for specific needs, the college provides a bus that will pick you up from a bus stop near your home. For bus tickets you can buy them from the cashier in the student center.

    In three sentences

    Harford Community College is a great institution to attend for a low cost. Advisors and teachers are always willing to help students select classes that will help them in there future careers. Harford provides a range of useful resources and tools to credit and non-credit students.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We get alerts through texts and emails all the time and are asked to leave at even the slightest possibility of inclement weather. There are plently of security guards walking the campus throughout the day and safety cars driving around as well.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or frats

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is used to the high school type setting will enjoy HCC. The class sizes are about the same and the student to teacher ratio is great. The students can ask teachers anything usually and their office hours are easily accessible. It is also great for those who work or are just going back to school because of the flexible schedules you can make. It is wonderful for those who are just not ready to leave home quite yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The window seats in the library are always taken, but there are multiple courtyards throughout the campus, too! It is always a nice surprise when I find one and I am excited to use them when the weather is warm again!

    What to do for fun

    They do have activities every so many weeks in the quad area, such as lunches and volleyball games that are fun and free! They have sports teams you are able to join and are always recruiting for. They have sporting events, especially in our new arena. For the artsy kids, they have new plays and musicals all year round and concerts as well. There is always something for everyone here!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a definite choice if you are undecided. It is saving you thousands of dollars going here over a university.

    In three sentences

    Very efficient. The advisors are not helpful to my personal schedule. Many different class times for general classes.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well-lit and patrolled on a regular basis by campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    HCC offers a variety of activities in which one can take part.

    Great for these types of students

    Cultural diversity is great and they also have lots of older students returning to school to either get a degree (like myself) or further their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The College maintains a historical house on the grounds called the Hays-Heighe House in which they provide many cultural events. It is beautifully decorated at Christmas time and shares various historical facts at events during the year. Ex. The War of 1812 was recently highlighted.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition has been pretty reasonable and there are various ways to pay for credits.

    What to do for fun

    Many programs and entertainment offered here. I like to attend the theatrical plays.

    Food and Dining

    HCC offers a good dining experience in their student center with many choices to select from.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable, since it is a 2-year college only.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in communication with the professors and department of your selected studies. They can guide you towards your goals and aspirations.

    In three sentences

    HCC is an excellent place to start towards getting a great education and determining career goals. All of the professors are knowledgeable and the library maintains a good database for research. All in all, a really neat experience and enjoyable to attend!

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups and clubs to join. Plus, there is always some activity going on around campus where any student is invited to attend

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicous and at a reasonable price

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you, but are very nice and helpful if you don't understand what is going on

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to a community college before heading off to a 4-year is a very smart choice. You save money and are able to get the required courses out of the way

    In three sentences

    This college is friendly, accepting, and well stocked with everything you would need to succeed. The professors are amazing teachers and very willing to work with you. I would rate Harford 5/5

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although campus safety is generally good, when something occurs on campus that involves the police being called, something that could harm the students, it takes them longer than it should to deliver calls and texts to the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities! In fact, there is a newly formed science club that hopes to schedule seminars and speakers.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join, but I think the fun comes from the many people you meet. There are many others with a variety of interests that can make the experience fun!

    Food and Dining

    I'm not sure about anyone else, but I always enjoy the wraps or sandwiches that I order. The staff do a good job at keeping the food they make warm and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there are no dorms at Harford Community.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the teachers you have or will be taking, but over all, the teachers have expectations, and believe you are able to do the work they give. It is possible, but if you're taking four or five classes, it can be a little difficult, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to pay attention during every class. Each teacher has their own requirements, but in every class in helps to review weekly and takes notes on chapters you will be tested on. It is helpful putting what you learned in your own words, so it makes sense to you when you look back on them later.

    In three sentences

    Harford Community College is warm and welcoming. There are a few teachers who may discourage you, but the majority of the teachers are well taught and do well in teaching. The college is open and willing to help whenever someone is in need regarding their education.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food can be pretty good, but there are only two places to get meals- the student center or in Joppa Hall. The drink vending machines take credit cards, but the food vending machines don't.

    Academic Rigor

    At HCC, you give what you get. So if you want to write an A paper, you can. If you want to put hard work into it, your teachers will appreciate it. But this isn't grad school, and it isn't Yale. It's a community college. I know some people who are scraping by without doing anything and they're fine with that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look the teachers up on RateMyProfessor.com- I've found that RMP has always been reliable when it comes to HCC teachers.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a prototypical community college. You get what you put in. The professors are always happy to see dedicated students and will appreciate it if you pay attention, but you won't get in too much trouble if you don't.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Harford Community college is awesome. The staff in this school is very helpful and the environment is clean

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is well protected. Cops are always roaming around.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the best, can be better. Tastes awful. Better bring home lunches.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available for students at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Only some courses are challenging while other class are ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself.

    In three sentences

    It's cheap and always me to stay with my parents. Also allows me to stay at a place where i am comfortable with. I can take classes at with less people in the lecture hall compared to other university.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Must carry school I.D. Campus security is always on-call and patroling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activites

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need online classes, night classes, weekend classes, and/or recent graduates preparing to transfer, students only pursuing certificates and AA degrees.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center, oddly enough, is located all the way in the back of the campus. This is also the area that does not contain a lot of parking.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the education I received was well worth the money paid. It is not too expensice and their curriculum is good.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in group avtivities and clubs. Make friends enrolled in similar classes to spend time with outside of school.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines located in every building. No cafteria or food court.

    Dorm Life

    No campus housing available

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. I mostly did online classes which contained a lot of reading.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring to a 4-year college, always consult with advisors and view the future college's transfer guidlines.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, it's in a good area. Really nothing to be worried about here.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Im not sure what clubs are really offered, i know some intramurals go on if you have the time for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who aren't sure what they want to do yet this is a good place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center can be odd sometime, and you won't get any work done. The library is a better option in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very cheap for college, so i recommend going here if you're looking to save money while you're figuring out what you want to do then this is a good option.

    What to do for fun

    They have a nice athletic center with a nice gym and a pool, and there's a decent amount of school spirit for the sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Food is sold at the student center. There's a lot of options, but it can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but the workload isn't that overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come earlier then your class starts. Parking can be a pain sometimes. The library is a great resource as well.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great place to start if you aren't sure what you want to do yet. It is cheaper and the teachers are personal and learn you by name. Transfering should be easy afterward as well.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security guards patrolling, and if your even a little worried they will gladly escort you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities to do at Harford Community College.

    Great for these types of students

    Harford Community College is great for all types of students, but especially for students who want/need more one on one with a professor, and also for students who like smaller classrooms.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is lower than a university, and the professors are great. Harford Community College is definitely a bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, and tons of events every week at Harford Community College. There is also a movie theater right next to the college, and typically it is not crowed and has the most recent movies released to theaters playing.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy in the cafeteria and unhealthy depending on what you want. However, there are tons of healthy restaurants and a grocery store all within walking distance of Harford Community College.

    Dorm Life

    To my knowledge there are no dorms, but I have heard rumors about them building some in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to students who go to Harford Community Colllege. All the teachers are really good, so prospective students do not need to worry about being stuck with a bad teacher.

    In three sentences

    Harford Community College is just as good as any State University. They have professors that have taught and/or gone to big University's such as, Harvard, Yale, etc. The professors here also want you to learn and succeed, they will set aside extra time at the end of class to make sure you understand the material. It is a great school I will be sad when I have to transfer to a four year university.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Quad is always open so you can play, weight room is available for those who want to work out. And library study rooms do have TVs with DVD players in them.

    Food and Dining

    Good quality however, it is quite expensive save money honestly by bagging lunch or going to nearby restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Ranges from high to low, based mostly on class type and who your professor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great starting place just be sure you have a plan B and C for when you decide to change majors.

    In three sentences

    Great place to adjust to college life while still having friends and family. Very community focused. And easy to transfer within Maryland.