Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Harrington College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students interested in design, creative students, or anyone with the desire to learn photography, interior design, or communication design

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to carry a lot of stuff especially if you don't live close to the school. Harrington also has a moderately strict attendance policy, and you will have a lot of homework.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is the reason that I stopped attending Harrington. It is EXTREMELY expensive. However, most colleges are, so if you have the money, I say go for it.

    Did enjoy being here

    Harrington is a wonderful school for anyone that is interested in design.

    Did learn a lot

    I studied interior design at Harrington and I loved the teachers there. They are wonderful and what they do, and I learned a lot in the two semesters that I went there.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though an expensive school, the cost is definitely worth every penny. Students are allowed to many opportunities, advantages, and equipment that normally costs a fortune on its own.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, when I am not working on assignments for class, I like to utilize the school's studio and print farm. In studio, I open myself up to equipment I may be using in the future, practicing my techniques. The print farm allows me to print my finalized work to share with others.

    Food and Dining

    Being located downtown, there are many restaurants available within close distance. Also, the school cafeteria has vending machines with food, drinks, and snacks available. Besides all this, the Student Government and other clubs have days where they bring in free food, such as pizza, ice cream, hot cocoa, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Personally I do not use the on campus housing available, but have seen fellow classmates use it, and have not seen much dissatisfaction.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers have a stern but fair way of teaching and grading. The no late work policy makes sure students are staying on task. Group critique lets students receive opinions and comments of their work in order to continue or improve how they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and open to the teachers, faculty and other students. Network yourself and try your best. The environment is comfortable and you will feel at home.

    In three sentences

    Harrington College of Design is my home away from home. It has and continues to teach me the fundamental techniques to live up to my full potential. Thanks to Harrington, I am becoming a professional digital photographer.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and only has a few entrances. The campus is quite and out of the way, nothing has really happened since I have been there, and if something were to happen the campus is close to a major city that has it's own police force and I feel safe at the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is none that I am aware of so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I have said there are a ton of things that they host on the weekends for students and families.

    Great for these types of students

    The students that attend here are working and/or have families. There is also a wide age range within the students attending here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no real unusual traditions at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school so far seems to be good for the money when looking at the information so far in class. However the school book store seems to run high when looking at the prices of books and are strict when returning, not to mention there aren't any used book options.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of different events that they host through the school. The events are career and family oriented. Unfortunately I have not been able to attend because of my work schedule.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining on this campus, however it is in Grove City which happens to have a ton of different food selections nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at this school

    Academic Rigor

    Though I have only been here for a single quarter the academics have been okay so far, in fact three out of four of my classes were easy. The course that centered in the actual field of study however seemed fair when compared to other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have money saved, it helps when you can pay some now, while your in school. The school will help you set up plans so that you can pay only what you are able and while you worry now you won't have to quite so much later. Also remember that attendance does make a difference.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the atmosphere is pleasant and helpful. However there have been quite a few changes since I've been there, and it makes little sense. They are also very focused on outings with the students, perhaps sometimes too much.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one way in and one way out of the school. You must have a student ID to enter the school or proof of ID to sign into the school. I have never felt unsafe in this school.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus but I'm not all that familiar with them.

    Great for these types of students

    Harrington is great for driven, inspired, creative, outgoing, determined students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harrington is located in the downtown Chicago loop. This makes for easy transportation to and from school.

    Bang for the buck

    Harrington works very hard at providing great equipment for students to rent out and work with. There are multiple Mac labs to edit photos or do other work on. The teachers are are working professionals in the industry so they know what they're talking about. The school has a great printing lab and five studios. I would highly recommend Harrington College of Design to future students any day!

    What to do for fun

    The best thing about Harrington is that you connect with your classmates by having fun in the studios. There is so much equipment that you can rent out and have fun, silly photo shoots. You get to have fun and learn at the same time!

    Food and Dining

    Harrington has a couple vending machines, microwaves, sinks and tables. There are no meal plans or on campus restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorm rooms for Harrington but they do have housing in the Presidential Towers in the west loop.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is phenomenal. The teachers work their hardest to make sure every student understands what they're suppose to be doing. I do not think I could had chosen a better school to complete my digital photography degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Harrington is a very career based school that challenges students to their fullest potential, so come prepared.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending the Harrington College of Design for three semesters now and I couldn't be more thrilled. Each and every staff member is determined to help each and every student become a professional in their industry of choice. I feel that the school has started preparing me to make my dreams come true since day one!

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am an online student, but I have been to the Columbus Indiana campus. It was very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Online.

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy Harrison College. I wouldn't even consider transferring.

    What to do for fun

    Know U is the format that is being used for learning / social. Go to your classes from there, and talk to friends from there. It is really cool.

    Food and Dining

    There are alot of restaurants around the area

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the IT department, and I did not grow up in the computer age. I am doing well though and have a 3.70 GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would include: Be ready to work hard because it is not easy, then again nothing worth having is. Do not be afraid to ask for help. The staff is always available to answer questions and help in any matter, even personal. Just do it.

    In three sentences

    Harrison College is a great institution, especially for online students. My student advisor is very helpful. I have never encountered a problem with any staff members and in fact, they all want me to succeed.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is at check-in desk and one must provide a school id to enter the premises.

    Clubs and Activities

    student government and one other club, but not much happens that is seen constantly throughout the school for all students to see or take a part of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i go to mackelly's to grab fruit. the chase building is close by for convenience. there is also a church within 2 blocks that is nice to walk into to relieve stress while sitting in.

    Bang for the buck

    as all colleges, tuition is always expensive, but i do believe this is too pricey for the general education courses. i would suggest to take general education courses at a community college (huge class tuition difference), transfer credits over- but double-check with advisors to make sure you take the correct class elsewhere. the core classes that center around interior design are magnificent and well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    school related, i haven't had an outlet for fun but there are things in the city such as events taking place at millenium park or at the cultural center. i always find it nice to dine at the french market on fulton st, although its a bit of a walk's away.

    Food and Dining

    harrington has vending machines located within their facility, but aren't well replenished during finals. there are many dining areas in the city in close proximity of the school.

    Dorm Life

    i wish there were a dorm building type or an apartment building in close proximity to make it feel more like a regular campus, but i believe their housing is all over the city. i have lived on my own up north, a tip: living by the brown line train is a plus because the washington/wells stop is right in front of school.

    Academic Rigor

    academically it is driven and you gain knowledge in the important areas within interior design.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to be motivated and accountable for your time-management. because the school is very plain and static, i recommend studying or working on projects in the library or 1st floor lounge, they're more comfortable to be in. also bring a sweater because it is always cold, especially in the computer labs.

    In three sentences

    harrington is a driven school with a fast-paced curriculum. its interior environment is very static and cold, not motivating. the teachers are amazing professionals that are great at what they do and always can answer your questions.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    awesome

    Greek Life

    none its a small college

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Harrison college is awesome for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    like i mentioned before the donuts with the dean is very cool!@

    Bang for the buck

    Harrison college is more than just a school its like a little family, you talk about your experience and they give advice and communicate back. Your not just a number your a person here. When you walk into Harrison everyone knows your name (well after you introduce and meet everyone)

    What to do for fun

    Harrison College is a small school so there not really a lot to do on the campus. However they do a lot of charity work life relay for life and etc.... they also sometimes have little carnivals with the local radio station here for us.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining are the basics. pop machines and vending machines. But our dean does something awesome every Tuesday morning she brings Donuts and milk and she sits and talks to us about everything and anything, and enjoys the breakfast that she has brought for the day.(donuts with the dean)

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing to do is always study and never assume you know the answer. Come to class and get that one on one learning. Never give up on yourself.

    In three sentences

    Harrison College is an excellent place to attend for education. Harrison college classrooms are small and you have a lot of one on one with your instructor. I would recommend everyone to attend Harrison College.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its in one building so you dont ever have to walk threw town to your classes. ID check in at the front door and its very strick!

    Greek Life

    no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student goverment. AIGA. Figure Drawing. Book Reading. and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    You need to be artsy in some degree, you need passion, and you need to be able to be professional and show up to class and do your assignments on time. Otherwise you will never make it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WHirlyball for communication and graphic designers. Go carts meet wack a ball, meets basketball and its teachers vs. students.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a private school so expect to pay more however with all the resources and just having a name like harrington college of design behind you is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Its chicago! The school itself takes lots of field trips including museums, art galleries, studio tours, but on your free time the world is your oyster and there is so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafateria just vending machines but everything you would ever want to eat is just down the block considering its in downtown chicago.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm, the school does have a designated apartment building but its on the pricy side, its better to just find your own apartment and the school can help you with that!

    Academic Rigor

    THe teachers are all from the professional world and they will show you what it takes to make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not high school, you have to do your work and if your not going to try the teachers are not going to force you.... but your grades will defiantly show that. Get involved as much as possible because everything looks good on a resume. Also have fun make friends talk to your teachers you'll find out they are very interesting people.

    In three sentences

    If you want to be a professional out of college this is the school for you. Its hands on, small classrooms, and very experienced and knowledgeable teacher. I would give it an A in every feild.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Chicago! Trust me you'll find the fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria area but no food! There are surrounding restaurants to dine in or pick up food with new friends.

    Dorm Life

    Their student living is at the Presidential Towers a few blocks away. Too pricey. Living with roommates and renting an apartment in another part of the city is much cheaper and smarter.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of work! So many projects! A lot of creative work with required classes and lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the student cta card if you're a fulltime student! It is a necessity for exploring the city and all it had to offer. Prepare to leave room in your schedule for dedicated hours of project work, especially if you have a job.

    In three sentences

    Harrington is a great design school! The interior design program offers associates, bachelors, and masters degrees which you can't find everywhere! Great location in the Chicago loop for inspiring hardworking minds.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We feel very secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student government host a lot of fun and interesting trips and meetings. Most of them free like a boat tour of Chicago.

    Great for these types of students

    I love the fact that the art posted in the school is from the students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have students work on display throughout the school. One that is very interesting are the chairs outside of the library on the third floor. One is made of high heel shoes. Crafty!

    Bang for the buck

    I like the International Studies. We get to travel at a discounted rate or stay here and meet new exchang estudents.

    What to do for fun

    We have movie night at school, attend events or just hang out. School is located in the downtown area so there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have vending machines, but there are a lot of restaurants close by so you can eat anything.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are lovely. One location that I know of is the Presidential Towers.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are intense but being in their class is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready! You are going to have the time of your life and learn while doing it.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Harrington College for two months and I am very pleased with them. The staff and students a nice and helpful. I am looking forward to graduating from Harrington in 2014. Go Harrington.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    be respectful to other as you want them to your self

    Great for these types of students

    the ones that will work hard will make somethan with there self an the one will give up they will motivate them to work hard as well

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    libary to get work done or the lounge to rleax or eat or talking to your teacher

    What to do for fun

    talk to people learn about the school be social good enviroment to learn

    Food and Dining

    the snacks are great an i like siting down there to clear my thought

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    everybody is here for you to succed in life an help you get pass the next level in you life an help you push forward with you life

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard worj hard and push your self because they giving all they got so why not give back the same results

    In three sentences

    i will rate Harrison college a 5 out of 5 because it give you peace no drama. Then it give you hope to have fun. Another thing it give you is hope

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's always fun to visit millenium park. Also, I love going to the museums.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines everywhere but it's cheaper to go across the street to Walgreens and buy the food there. You are also in the middle of the city so it's easy to go out for food as long as you are willig to pay for it.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher you get. The only thing that might become a problem is when you can't turn in a project late and you have to recieve a 0. However, as long as you do your homework properly that is a rare problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure to take notes -Save the documents that they give you -Scan everything you do (including process) so that it isn't lost -Get to know the Merchandise Mart as soon as possible -BACK UP YOUR FILES

    In three sentences

    Harrington is an elaborate school that works well with students that are willing to put forth the effort. Though the classes can be very extensive the teachers are more than willing to help you through. All-in-all the school creates easy working conditions and builds hard work ethics.