Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Harris-Stowe State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tutoring sessions

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay to yourself and dont let the feel of college get to you.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here, at first I was a little bummed out about having to go to a college that was out of state because I didn't necessarily know anyone. I made some friends and met a lot of people and it is a comfortable environment. I don't regret making the decision of coming to this school.

    Am learning a lot

    I did learn a lot actually. The whole year I had excellent teachers that worked with their students individually whenever they needed it and they dedicated their time to give us a better understanding of the material.

  • 03/11/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    You will.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I began going to HSSU, I was a little concerned for my safety due to the location. However, I have not had any problems on campus or in the parking lots. I feel at-ease when walking around campus. There are security guards and emergency phones in the event that one is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at Harris-Stowe is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Harris-Stowe State University is very near to downtown St. Louis...the possibilities are limitless!

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten the cafeteria food, I do not live on campus. But the snack machine is always available.

    Dorm Life

    They have a new dorm building, but I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The workload has been fairly easy, but it all depends on the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must be prepared to do a lot of footwork when seeking answers--the staff is not always willing to help--at the college level, they expect you to be resourceful. Ask a lot of questions before--I cannot stress that enough--you begin your education here.

    In three sentences

    The tuition is quite affordable. The instructors, for the most part, are knowledgeable. The school has a long history in the teaching field and are breaking barriers in other fields.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    even a mouse would get caught!

    Greek Life

    taken very seriously

    Great for these types of students

    well rounded and motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one main location is the great circle. It is where students meet between class and crossing into the dorms to talk.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in all the clubs, and local events for the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have fun learning.

    In three sentences

    Great school of Business, with a growing variety of other degree programs. Has a great athletic department.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the gym, play

    Food and Dining

    i never ate the food here before.

    Dorm Life

    i still stay at home

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focued and don't let anything distract you from getting to your goal.

    In three sentences

    a place for education. offering more degree programs. good school to come to if you want to be a teacher.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it extremely safe on the campus. they have twenty four hour patrol and strict dorm rules so that they prevent anything from happening. you must carry an identification everywhere and sign in to various buildings like the library.

    Clubs and Activities

    i like the sports here. we are not a top athletic program but the athletic community is really close with each other.

    Great for these types of students

    if you can't afford a big name college but want a great education come to harris-stowe university. in high school, many of my teachers had an education from their. you will be able to find a job out of this university.

    Bang for the buck

    overall i think this is a great school because of its price and location.

    What to do for fun

    the campus is in the center of downtown st. louis so their is plenty to do. the arch is only three miles away along with st. louis university right next door. you also have union station within blocks.

    Food and Dining

    i have ate breakfast their and it is amazing. you pay a cheap price and can eat as much as you want. it is great and i heard the later meals are great as well.

    Dorm Life

    students all say the dorm life is nice. harris-stowe has just built brand new dorms and the old ones they have are all really nice. it is a suite styled dorm with four rooms for your own privacy along with a kitchen and living room.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a challenging school but if you apply yourself it can be really easy. you must keep up with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say three tips for prospective students are too go to class, eliminate procrastination, and give it everything you have for the years you are their. the teachers at harris-stowe all say that if you participate and show up to class, the least you can walk out with is a c.

    In three sentences

    harris-stowe state university is affordable, accessible, and diverse. they truly stand by their motto. my experience has been a great one with great academic support and a fun college experience.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only thing they have going for them. The safety officers are awesome and they are 24/7. However there isnt enough of them.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheap school but the school is horrible

    What to do for fun

    theres litterally nothing to do here

    Food and Dining

    the food here is horrible

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good, the rooms in upperclassmen are big. You get your own room. Its a suite style theres 4 rooms 2 bathroom and a kitchen/living room. Unless you are upperclassmen there is no visitation and if you are upperclassmen you can only have visitation until 10pm and the door has to be opened.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT GO HERE!

    In three sentences

    This school is horrible. Do not go here, the finanical aid office takes forver, most of the teachers dont care about you they just want the money. This school just wants the money, most employers see that you graduated from here and won't hire you.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Biology club and Math club are helpful for students,who are majoring in Biology ,or Math.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at dinning room ,so I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in campus. I stay at home.

    In three sentences

    Harris Stowe State University has many advantages comparing to the other universities. First, HSSU is cheaper. Second, offers many degrees,but I wish they offer Pre-Pharmacy program. Third, instructors are knowledgeable. In conclusion, Harris Stowe University is a good school!

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Must Love them.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here at Harris Stowe State University is getting better they are still in rebuilding mode.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more activities to do for the students that do stay on campus as well as more clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Harris Stowe State University will meet all of your requirements if you love a big city with local people that you can get to know on a regular.

    Bang for the buck

    Things here are more affordable than other Universities in the State of Missouri.

    What to do for fun

    What I normally do for fun is go out with friends, go to the zoo, maybe go have a game of bucket, and just have a fun but safe time around friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great almost any type of cuisine that you may crave, you can find here in St. Louis

    Dorm Life

    They could be a little bit more private at times.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are struggling and need help the help is here that if your having problems in a class we always have tutotrs that can help a student understand a subject or a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to college with the mind frame that nothing with keep you from achieving more out of life and with that the stars are your limit.

    In three sentences

    Harris Stowe State University is Affordable. Harris Stowe State University is Divers. Harris Stowe State University loves to work hands on as well as one on one with students.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety Officers are patrolling 24/7. They're great people, both friendly and professional. The only problem is that they don't have any officers at the main building during class times. Instead, all of the officers are either at the dorms or at the Emerson Building, so if a fight breaks out in class, they will be late to respond.

    Greek Life

    Most activities that take place are planned by the Greek associations; stroll offs, bbq's, etc. Many of the faculty members are either Deltas or AKAs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few activities. I don't know what happened to the campus because Student Activities used to plan a lot of things. I guess the unstable economy has affected their budgets as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students (working, older adults, parents, foreigners)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I heard there's a dam that runs through the basement of the school. This could explain the large bugs you see laying upside down in the bathrooms every now & then.

    Bang for the buck

    As previously mentioned, the majority of the instructors have a doctorate; it is the only HBCU in St. Louis; and it's the cheapest University around. Definitely worth the few dollars you spend.

    What to do for fun

    I think HSSU is more ideal for students who are working. There aren't a lot of activities planned out for students, and the few that are usually take place at night...so, a student who is working after class anyway will probably be more occupied than a student who is only taking classes.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh Ideas is the company currently contracting with HSSU. They are set up as an all-you-can-eat buffet, which has both advantages and disadvantages. It's good because they are open for specific time periods throughout the day serving either breakfast, lunch, or dinner. You pay one fee and then you can go back for more as often as you'd like. The cafeteria is large and very open, so students can meet up and work on homework or study for a test while eating; however, for those of us who can't afford to spend a lot of money, this can be a disadvantage. In order to enter the cafeteria, you have to pay at the door. While the prices are reasonable, $5 for a lunch when all you want is a small salad is quite pricey. Overall, the food is great. You have a variety to choose from and you can eat as much as you'd like.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus students have an advantage to the activities that take place on campus; the dorm rooms are large and there is always someone in charge on duty for problems that you may have.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the work really depends on the instructor. Please don't expect online classes to be easy; there is usually 2-3 times the workload in online courses because the instructors have to have a way to monitor your progress more closely. The majority of the instructors have Doctorate degrees, so you can expect the information you receive to be accurate.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Always find out information about policies directly from the employees; students try to fill you in but it's usually the wrong information. * Remember that every student's situation is different...don't dismiss the possibility of choosing HSSU because of something you heard from somebody else. * Communication is key. Always update your information with the Registrar (changed address, changed phone number, etc.) because failure to do so could result in you missing out on excellent opportunities. * Make a habit of checking your HSSU e-mail daily. This is how they communicate with the students, so important information can be missed if you fail to utilize this free account.

    In three sentences

    Harris-Stowe State University is whatever you make it out to be; if you are a hard working student who is more concerned about your future than you are about the parties taking place this weekend, you won't have any problems. The teachers are willing to work with you as long as you are respectful, honest, and demonstrate determination to succeed. It is the only HBCU in St. Louis, and it's the cheapest University I have found. You'll be satisfied.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its ok.

    Greek Life

    Boring

    Clubs and Activities

    None that have caught my eye or interest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    All in all its a good schools. But it lacks of lot of things a university should have and offer. It is really boring campus.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    The food is sometimes good. The have off brand stuff. The dining area is good.

    Dorm Life

    It is boring. The only events that are fun are the stroll-offs. It is never any fun things or activities to do.

    Academic Rigor

    It doesn't have want I want to study. It lacks internships. It lacks opportunities for the students to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top on your finances, Stay on top of your grades at all times. Do all the work required for you to past the courses.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. It lacks funds and activities. It has no good sports teams.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It offers a high level of security on campus, thinking back, a security officer is always crossing my path.

    Greek Life

    This school is not open for older students to take part in the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would like to see more activities posted in the school main building. Off campus students to not see the message boards that are in the residence halls.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for young, high school graduates, but not so much or older working class students.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they really protect you.

    Greek Life

    love them

    Clubs and Activities

    get active

    Great for these types of students

    who loves leaning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's different a little if you know how to manage your time.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school and really cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Explore downtown, clubs, restaurants, and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food is just like southern cooking

    Dorm Life

    I love staying in a dorm because you get to meet new people and make new friends and that's what college is all about.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy if you do the work. But are a little like high school. You will have to get use to using labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask a lot of questions about living on campus and off campus and about the school and classes in general.

    In three sentences

    Good school. easy to get accepted into and is reasonably cheap.