Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Hartnell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you push to get in the classes you want. Just because registration says it's full doesn't mean thats true. =]

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is community college, Hartnell is much more cost efficient and the teaching is great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am involved in the Student Senate who is working hard to make your college experience cheaper! Booklenders-instead of buying a book for $150, you can rent one for $10 per semester!

    Am learning a lot

    in the fields of Psychology and Political Sciences.

  • 09/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn, choose your classes carefully, and enjoy your time here because time passes by so quickly.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made great friends, the staff is friendly, and the student area is very comfortable to be in.

    Am learning a lot

    Since I started attending Hartnell, I have only had the best instructors who love what they do, and share it.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the guards are always visible.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs of all types for everybody's taste.

    Great for these types of students

    indecisive high school graduates, people looking to go back to school, it's for any and everybody looking to go to a low stress college.

    Bang for the buck

    if you get the bog, the classes are 4 dollars for all of your classes. books are cheaper at the community college level.

    What to do for fun

    the library is huge and has a lot of recourses, the student lounge is always full of people and there is always a conversation to be had. the gym is a fun place to hit up as well as the track.

    Food and Dining

    stick to the salads and fresh sandwiches. it depends on who is manning the grill.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    when the professors really care and teach the material, they are great, but like everywhere, there are some educators who would be better off retiring from the profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid about college after high school, if you are not sure whether to go to a 4 year or another college,hartnell is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    slow paced transition from high school. non intimidating classes. friendly and inviting atmosphere.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for a small campus, hartnell has very good safety measures. there's always security guards on every building and there's police officers by the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at hartnell.

    Clubs and Activities

    their a very deep part of hartnell and there's a wide variety.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for students of low income, looking to transfer, and those looking for a bachelors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the panther at the front parking lot is a nice a place to visit. theirs a wall with world war 2 veterans that went to hartnell by the gym. and the most strange is the masonic symbol by the pool.

    Bang for the buck

    for the amount you are going to spend you will get a good education. most classes aren't too expensive and the great thing is that their transferable credits. i highly recommend anyone either wanting an associates or bachelors to begin here and get your general education before transferring.

    What to do for fun

    you can always go to the gym (given your signed up for the class). theirs occasional showings of movies. i have also seen flyer's by the math club that offer food. for me i usually head to the library were you can use any computer for free and with full internet access.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good but the prices aren't. they do offer their own coffee shop and a large cafeteria but expect to pay a good amount for not a lot of grub.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life so i cant give a rating on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the staff is really helpful. most lectures are given very thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    the tips i would offer is for every student to be at school at all times. attending is probably the most important thing you can do in order to succeed. another tip would be to turn all work on time, most teachers are strict and demand everything on their due date. finally i really suggest everyone to have a relationship with their teachers. ask as many questions as you can during and after class when you don't understand something. the good thing about hartnell is that most teachers will explain it to you until you get it, practically guaranteeing you success in your academics.

    In three sentences

    hartnell is a very clean and well maintained campus. the newer buildings are very attractive inside and out. most teachers really want you to succeed and offer you the opportunity to talk to them during their business hours.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety always walks around and makes sure everything is good. I've never seen any type of violence.

    Greek Life

    A ton of classes to choose from. Teachers show students what the Greek life feels like, teach them how to think, read, and use Greek language in the real world.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many types of clubs. Lots of flyers around campus to catch your interest. Even students interrupt the classes to get you to join and explain what it is about.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students coming out of high school. Students that haven't gotten a high school diploma. Students that a returning back to college. This school is for everyone out their.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something really interesting we have in our campus is our new Planetarium. Also Hartnell is divided into different locations throughout our area code for those that can't travel far, Hartnell has decided to come to your hometown.

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers a lot of great programs from financial aid to scholarships to get the best help a student will need in order for them to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    Use the computers at anytime, full access. Play sports on their big field. Go to role plays or talent shows they have.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of food to choose from in the cafeteria. At times clubs have gatherings and try to raise money by making BBQ for students and staff to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Theirs not much of a dorm life. It's more of a community college. If you live around the area you are better off attending this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student that attends this college will leave with an educational plan and a goal to look toward to.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college for students coming out of high school to feel the atmosphere and understand of why school is important in our future.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell College is a fun and friendly school for students that want to understand what success feels like. At Hartnell College the teachers work with every student to help them become successful and well prepared for their future goals. Hartnell College offers a variety of programs to help any student in any type of struggle become successful.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    expensive and only open til two

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    basic stuff just keep up wit your homework

    Tips for prospective students

    registered on time because the classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    teachers really involved and care about your education. good stepping stone school. limited classes available.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    try hartnell. you cant go wrong.

    In three sentences

    hartnell is excellent choice for students wanted a 2 year degree or transfer for 4 year university. its clean and staff are friendly. cheap tuition too.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    go to school..better yourself

    In three sentences

    i love attending hartnell...i love all my classes and i find all my instructors to be very helpful and accomadating

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very safe. There are security guards everywhere and they have a look out on students as well as school property. They really do a lot for us.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life for me.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are amazing clubs and activities. They bring the best out of us. I am not in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, it is great for the students. We are like a big family and together we can achieve great things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no unusual tradition or location of Hartnell. I really think its great as it is.

    Bang for the buck

    Hartnell College is very resourceful. There is a lot of help when we, as students, need it. Very positive staff.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to Hartnell's Student Center to be with other Hartnell students and get to know them.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at Hartnell College.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live at Hartnell College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hartnell is very competitive between our students and that is what the school needs. With a little competitiveness, the best comes out of us.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell College is very hands-on. They do offer the help and service we, as students, need. I really think their programs are great and very interesting to me. I give Hartnell College a 9 out of 10. Being 9, great.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus

    Great for these types of students

    ambitious students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    student center

    Bang for the buck

    its kind of expensive but if you buy your food at local grocery store it definitely more bang for your buck

    What to do for fun

    Local bars clubs in surrounding cities and down the street from the colleges

    Food and Dining

    there are some near by pizza places and in downtown salinas there are lots of places to eat. just a bike ride away

    Dorm Life

    I didnt stay in a dorm but the college apt are nice and affordable from what ive heard by friends who stay near campus

    Academic Rigor

    There are many avenues you can go so your not just stuck to one theme you can mix and match just talk to a counselor he or she can help alot

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check it out you'll love it. Newly renovated buildings parking garage. Great to meet students with common goals.

    In three sentences

    Its an awesome school great energy. There are not to many student so if you need one on one time with a instructor you can get it

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at the school, and security will walk around at all times of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs on campus, but they are not really promoted, and i did not really know there were clubs until recently.

    Great for these types of students

    Its good for students who don't know exactly what they want to major in, so they can take different classes and decide before paying a lot of money and getting a BA degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is considerably less expensive that going straight to a 4 year university.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine. They just renovated the cafeteria area so it is modern.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, only apartments to rent that are somewhat near the school, so i think it does not count as dorm life'.

    Academic Rigor

    It is somewhat low, in the category of classes being difficult, and I think the standards could be raised.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take the classes and do not get into that slump of not going to school, because it is easy to just stop going and drop out of school.

    In three sentences

    It is conviently located, not very expensive, and a good started school for college. It is more of a school for students who are unsure in what they want to get a degree in and want to think about it before they invest the time and money into it. It has a very laid back atmosphere, and most people just hang out, even after their classes are over.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is great and healthy. Great selection of food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Hartnell has a lot of academics that make it seem an active and great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't give up,, follow your dreams to succeed in life!!

    In three sentences

    Hartnell college is a great community college that contains great students and instructors. Hartnell helps out students with financial aid which allows students to pay for their classes and for books. I like Hartnell college since its close to my home and it is all me and my family can afford now.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are safe on campus, we have security everywhere, also the campus is small and you won't have the worry of getting lost.

    Greek Life

    Not on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everyone, whether it be a seat on the student senate of just a club with in your desired major, you'll find something here.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student young or old, also the price is affordable for those that do not qualify for financial aid. Also if fresh out of high school and didn't get accepted you still can start your education knowing that you will be able to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of, although during the first weeks of the new semester they usually have a free lunch for the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are the biggest wallet buster, so its best to find out what textbooks you will need and find them online, you'll save so much. The tuition is affordable and Hartnell College has the staff to help you find the four year university that's right for you, if you choose to transfer. Also Hartnell has a wide selection of AA/AS degree courses as well.

    What to do for fun

    That ball depend on what your opinion of fun is, we are twenty minutes away from the beach and we are twenty minutes away from the coastal mountains, so where ever you want to go is completely up to you.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food is a bit pricey, it is good and well worth the money. Also the dinning area is conveniently located so no matter where you are on campus its not far away.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college and we all live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on where you place on the STARR exam the academic load varies. Also with this exam it will place you in classes to help you better succeed in the more advanced classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip is to meet with a counselor and create an educational plan, that way as a student you don't end up taking classes that will not allow you to transfer on a timely basis.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell College helps serve those that may not be able to afford to go straight into a four year college. Also Hartnell College has various locations to better serve the Salinas valley, making it possible to attend college no matter where you live. Also Hartnell College has great programs that will help students get to their educational goals.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none that i know of

    In three sentences

    A good place to start if you want to be close to home and save money. One of the benefits it has is that it has guarantee transfer to CSUMB and that is one less thing to stress about. The campus is medium size and the professors I've had so far are good and not over strict.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty tight and safe. We all watch out for each other. There is also security that walks around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. Whether it be academic like with physics or engineering club or involvement like with the LGBT group or the veterans club there are LOTS of ways to be involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pretty high at $46 for fall 2012. It has increase every semester I have been there so far! from 26 to 46 dollars

    Food and Dining

    The sandwiches are really good! but overall the selection isn't to bad, unless your trying to be healthy then you're stuck with salad or sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms,

    Academic Rigor

    The general classes aren't bad, but if you take the higher up math or science then make it four or five stars.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good safety

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. Can be better.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers.

    In three sentences

    Great College. The college has helpful tutors. Small college.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good there is always security everywhere all around the location and we are located just a mile away the police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has many clubs and activities as well as teams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always do fundraising no matter what.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is next to the beach and it is really nice is a quiet city. There''s not a-lot of traffic after 8am and 5pm

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations, we also have many fundraising.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining we have our new cafeteria and the food is available until 2p.m. mostly all food is cold and it has been already packed.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms in this college, because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are very strict, and the classes get super packed the best professor for math is Mr. Weber and for psychology is Dr. Lechman

    Tips for prospective students

    Hartnell Community College is in a small town called Salinas in Monterey CA. It is a small institution but they have a various of locations all over the county.

    In three sentences

    I have attend this community college for the past few years and it is incredible. I have taken classes online and in campus classes arrange from 15-20. This will be my last semester in this class.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems rather safe as it is surrounded by neighborhoods. The campus itself is smaller than most colleges so it's easy to get around as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student wanting to learn at a lower budget. I too, was accepted to a private school and was ready to head out of state until I received the tuition statement. It was too much for me to pay up front. Community colleges are great because you can still get the same education but at a much lower cost. You can get the credits and transfer over to private colleges too, which is great.

    Bang for the buck

    As it is a community college, it is much more affordable than a private college. The financial aid is generous to those who are rewarded as well as those who apply and it's easier on your pockets as well for food and transportation.

    What to do for fun

    When you leave the main campus, whether you are driving or walking, you are surrounded by entertainment. There is also a movie theater and shops and restaurants all around the area so there is a lot of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria in the student center. Don't underestimate the word 'small'. It has vending machines, as well as little vendors that sell coffee (Peet's coffee), and food to eat too. If you go out of campus, you can also eat delicious foods as you are connected to Old Town Salinas. There's Italian pizzas and spaghetti, Chinese and Asian cuisines as well as Thai food, hamburgers, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on-campus so I don't know if they offer a dorm since it is a community college. I would check their website at hartnell.edu.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes that you take and the professor determines whether you will be studying a lot, and doing a lot of homework. Keep in mind, that this is not high school. I would say in college, the Professors tend to be a little more lenient as to when the homework and projects are due (they give you a couple of weeks or so) rather than in high school it would be due the next day. I'm not guaranteeing on anything, but from my classes and Professors, they have a passion for the subject they are teaching. Some Professors who are extremely passionate about their subject often forgets that the students don't understand that subject, but the Professors here want to teach you. They respect you as you respect them. I have previously went to another private university studying abroad and I must say that compared to there, the Professors actually talk about the subject in a more way that students can understand it and feel confident in getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    After you register for classes, buy books in advance for the majority, the Professors will ask that you have the book by a certain date. It will also be more helpful when you have a book to look at while doing homework. If you have any problems make sure that you keep in contact by email or text, or call the Professor to tell them if you have financial problems, or just need help in that subject. They check their emails daily and are there for you. Any college is different than high school. The curriculum is different, the settings are different but the hearts of the students who want to learn and grow are the same.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell College lies next to the heart of Old Town Salinas. It's a smaller community college than the ones you would see in big cities but it is cozy and the buildings are quite new. It's a community of students, staff, and Professors who all work hard and learn, and grow.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't feel Hartnell is a particularly safe place.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that going to Hartnell to get your AA is definitely worth your time and effort especially if you can get financial aid to help pay for classes and books.

    What to do for fun

    There is a variety of clubs on campus that seem enjoyable though I don't participate in clubs much. Also the school has occasional events on the quad.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with some pretty good food I suppose.

    Dorm Life

    It's a JC so basically everyone lives at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the people that are at the counseling and admissions desks are less than qualified and very definitely less than helpful with most subjects. As far as the classes themselves, a majority of the time I have had excellent professors. The classes are not give me classes but are challenging and educating.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advice that you speak to your counselor at least twice a semester, at the beginning and at the end when its time to sign up for new classes. Also make sure you are very, very clear with your counselor about what it is that you are wanting help with.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell is what is very much what I expect out of a junior college. You are expected to seek constant guidance, even when you don't know there are deadlines or new things that need to be done. I feel the school, while providing an excellent education, does not communicate well with it's students.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can go to the student center and interact with other students grab a bite to eat and play in the game room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so great

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students: A great place for GED completion,

    In three sentences

    Hartnell has some great professors. It is also a peaceful place. The library at Harnell is one great place to do homework.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Getting there...

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    ENTIRELY student run!

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, cash strap kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't any... that I know of....

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Clubs, clubs, and remember sports!

    Food and Dining

    Average cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Majoring in the science here is as rigorous as any UC!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think it'll be super easy because it's a community college!

    In three sentences

    The science department is great, it is a highly underrepresented school. Most teachers are great in their respective fields. It is definitely worth it to go here.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not had any issue with the safety in this school so far. We have security guards that walk around the school continuously and are quick to act in any response. We also have fire and lockdown drills. There's also a Hartnell alerts thing that is amazing!! You sign up for Hartnell alerts via text and they will send any information that is important to us, such as crime around the area or emergencies. They also inform us of any new activities that are going on. I feel very informed and reassured whenever I get a text.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have club fairs a lot in Hartnell. The clubs usually sell stuff or are awareness groups that inform students of any current local or state issues and what we can do about it. We have monthly blood drives and karaoke nights on Tues and Thurs!!

    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect for those people that like to stay close to home and friends. It is also for those that like an open and liberal feel. We are very tolerant and have a very safe and aware school. I'd recommend it to anyone really.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable!! The tuition there is not a buck burner. We also get a lot of help to apply for scholarships and fafsa so we don't really have to pay out of the pocket. I have spent maybe $30 since i've entered the school which says a lot. Classes are not expensive and the school kind of requires us to apply for a BOG waiver that gives us $500 or more in money to cover our registration fee.

    What to do for fun

    Most people just hang around the student center and eat with friends or play onlines. Others tend to go to the surrounding stores. We have bowling alleys, arcades, movie theaters and other things like that, that are very close to our school

    Food and Dining

    Our campus sells very well made meals and has a variety of foods and drinks. We also have super comfortable chairs and a gamer room. There's also a good amount of dining tables that are usually kept clean and a lot of vending machines!!

    Dorm Life

    It's not a live in college so I can't really say it's good but the campus is very comfortable and open and anyone could be there. The library doesn't close until 9pm which allows students to finish any work that they might need and we also have a student center that sells amazing food and it also has a very comfortable dining and lounging room.

    Academic Rigor

    The student's education is #1 priority. The professors stress hard work and the faculty members and school provide an extensive amount of help with scholarships, free tutoring and easy access to counselors. My school also keeps in mind creating groups that will help build student moral.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to make a trip to the Administration building for any issue that you may have. There are people there that dedicate themselves to help you and do not mind. We also have a fantastic library and a phenomenal education department that will make you feel comfortable.

    In three sentences

    This school is very homely, open and professional. The staff is on top of things and always remind us about scholarships, job opportunities and important issues. There is acceptance in this school, you can be who you are and there's a high change no one will judge you!

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Hartnell there's not much to do for fun. They have a little art exhibit where you can check out some student art, a gym you can go to, but most of the fun would be in the town or in Monterey, a neighboring city. In Salinas there is a mall, a movie theater, and a bunch of little spots to hangout and eat like starbucks and some local cafes. In Monterey there's a lot to see like the beach, wharf, and aquarium to name a few. I recommend just being open to anything and willing to have a good time being.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafeteria has decent food and some snacks. It is open for breakfast and later into the afternoon. The food is good for if you're hungry. They are closed on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Hartnell college does not offer dorms. I believe they do have housing for out of state students but I am unaware of the accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is not very hard but it is not easy and I believe it is good for preparing you for university level curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register early, the classes fill up fast. Be early for your class on the first day to get a good seat. If you need help ask for it!

    In three sentences

    Hartnell college can definitely be a fun place. The classrooms in general are small and teachers are accessible and willing to help if you ask for it. It's a small school with potential to be good school.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not seen/heard of any issues in regards to campus safety, but it is located in Salinas...a town not prided in being particularly safe so it's always good to be alert and cautious.

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I have not personally joined a club- YET..I have heard there are a fair amount of clubs on campus, I actually intend on joining the Journalism Club this fall so we'll see how it goes!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students taking the smart route and wanting to save up before going off to a 4 year university!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non-existent

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college is the best route by FAR. I am almost thankful that I slacked in high school. I am now getting a 4.0 GPA, learning more than ever with teachers who actually CARE, and I'm taking the same exact classes that my friends are taking at CSU's and UC's for a quarter of the price if not less. This is the best thing that has ever happened to me and I wouldn't go back in time and change a thing!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    I have never tried the cafeteria on campus but I have heard that it good!

    Dorm Life

    no-existent

    Academic Rigor

    Personally I have learned a lot but mainly because I have payed tedious attention to instruction, BUT I sometimes feel I could be challenged more. It is a pretty easy school, sometimes I think it is too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be persistent and stay on top of your work. Always go the extra mile, and make sure to leave early so you make it on time to class, they tend to fill up fast leaving many students without chairs.

    In three sentences

    Easy, Good teachers who actually care, small campus and easy to get around.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good grub in the student center and cafeteria. All vending machines are alike, so you know how that is.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of cool clubs and groups to get into that will boost your academic career into overdrive. Better study habits, no more missing homework assignments and better grades! One club is called MESA.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor early and ask all of the questions you could possibly think of right off the bat.

    In three sentences

    Hartnell is a great school to begin a career in any STEM field, as well as any other field of study. The school offers plenty of good resources to accommodate the students' needs and is continuing to renovate our school to meet the green energy requirements.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think it was fair I mean for a community college it was worth it when you compare it to a CSU and a USC.

    What to do for fun

    Well i joined a Trio Program that helped me keep myself on track to transferring out. They did have club day you got to see all the clubs they had on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I did like some of the food i loved the tea and muffins they had in the morning.

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty good i liked the teachers i had there they were helpful cared that we learned the material

    Tips for prospective students

    You must make sure that you are taking the right classes and get not only your transfer units but also your general ed done. When you end up transferring you will be working on you B.A. or B.S. not continuing on your AA.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school if you are focused and know what your major is it will be easy. You must ask for help for any subject go to the tutoring center they will help you. It helps you if you join a club while you are attending it will help you when you are transferring out.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    MeChA

    Bang for the buck

    Sign up for the Textbook Loan program

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym, a sporting event or a theatrical performance.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria ladies are very nice!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Even if the class seems easy, make sure you really understand the concepts as they all build on each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers through office hours and email. If you are having trouble in a class, do not be afraid to ask for help as instructors are there for you!

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for people at any stage of their educational career. There are many evening and online classes for people that work full time or have a family. Hartnell College does a great job at making resources available to students.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center is a great place to hangout and relax.

    What to do for fun

    work out in the gym

    Food and Dining

    great grill cafe

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    a great place to learn at your own pace.

    In three sentences

    small campus with great professors. very intimate classes help you learn. the online classes are easy to navigate.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs . We are now in the process of our donations for the Philippines and sending things out their to help those that are not incapable of doing so theirselves. All the clubs work together as a team to do certain activities and make the community a big part of our school.

    What to do for fun

    Their are football games , basketball , soccer . A lot of plays it's not much to do necessary but its around the time of it.

    Food and Dining

    Great food served ! The chef is nice and makes sure you get what you want . And it's open pretty late for those that have night classes!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    I give it a 4 because their are still some things they could get together like their finacial aid and how long they take to get it to students. But overall being at HARTNELL encourages me at least to do a great job and get all As , and the teachers are willing to help you do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard . This isn't high school . Yes teachers will help you and be there for you , but still this is your future , your money.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers accommodating !

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join a club

    Food and Dining

    fair

    Academic Rigor

    ask questions color code notes avoid chunking while studying

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for college try not to miss class take notes study sleep well/ eat well focus

    In three sentences

    Hartnell has instructors that care for their students and their education. Counselors are always looking for away to help out the student, education, job seek, and emotional. Flexible hours, many programs that fits every student.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Securities are always around and there are a lot of little booths where you can call for help in case of an emergency. There is also cameras in the parking structure to catch anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college campus has a variety of clubs. For example MESA, MATH, Physics, Biology, SIMA, Veterans, Spanish, and many more. All of the clubs strive to help others and do a lot of outreach with the schools around to try and get young students excited about furthering their education.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here are really helpful. Especially the science department, there is a lot of teachers with PhD degrees, and you get the same education you will get at 4 years for a lot less money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a big area with game consoles where students can go play during their class breaks. There is also a gym and pool where students can go and let off some steam.

    Food and Dining

    Hartnell College has a small cafeteria where you will find the usually cafeteria food. It gets you through those long study sessions, but it is not the best gourmet cuisine.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus living

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but the teachers make it easy to understand and since class sizes are small there is a lot of student-teacher communication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start strong and finish strong many students start really weak and try to pick it up towards the end and that really hurts your GPA. Another thing students do is start strong and get senioritis towards the end and slack off.

    In three sentences

    Diverse campus with a lot of opportunities to succeed. Very fun and everyone helps each other to get ahead. The teachers and advisers really walk you through the whole way to ensure a good educational experience.