Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Hartwick College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hartwick is prestigiously known for it's study aboard program during J-Term. Students are able to go to China to study business, London to study museum history/art, Jamaica to study nursing, Germany, etc. Hartwick also has a very good nursing and science program.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing a college, you have to look at all the factors. Choosing a college is like choosing a new home. You want to make sure that you feel comfortable, you know you're going to learn and not just party, aren't afraid to ask for help. The school has your major, you are covered financially. Especially, if you decide to go to Hartwick, you must come up and visit. Hartwick is located in Oneonta, NY. Oneonta is known as the City of Hills, therefore there are a lot of hills. At first I wasn't use to it. But then I got use to it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little expensive, but it's worth it. Majority of the kids here are on scholarship for their grades in high school, so that makes up for the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are extremely friendly. When walking to the Commons, or to the library you will usually say hi to about four to five people along the way. There are a lot of activities always going on campus such as Orchesis Dance Club, Habitat for Humanity, and our Hartwick Hawks are always having a game in either Elmore Field, Lambros Arena, Wright Stadium. There are many different productions that go on at Hartwick, musical or theatrical. Staff members will join students in the Commons, and discuss how they're doing in school. I know because I've seen the president sit down and talk to some students myself. There's always something going here at Hartwick, you'll never get bored.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a freshman here at Hartwick College, and I am loving it. The professors are extremely nice and they care about your education. Some professors are also students' advisors, so they tell you on which path to go. We also get monthly progress reports on how we're doing in class and that tells us what to do better or to just remain the same, grade-wise. Majority of the classes are lecture halls, but the student there are about 20 students per 1 professor, which is creates a more intimate learning space.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who want great Study Abroad opportunities. -Students who would like a suburban area to attend school. -Students who don't mind the crazy Upstate NY weather! -Students who like good relationships with their professors, pre-career advisement, and small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit! That's definitely the best way to get an idea for yourself. -If you can't make a personal visit then check out their website and scholarship calculator. -Take advantage of all the awesome opportunities like J-terms and such. Every student I talked to considered it a highlight of their college career.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing Hartwick is great about is Merit Aid scholarships. They can look at your psat or sat scores, although they are sat optional, as well as your gpa and that is solely the basis to finding your scholarship. If you can manage a CR+M score of 1200 or higher combined with a 92 or higher average you qualify for 22,000 per year off your tuition! I would say those combined with the endless internship, study abroad, and J-term opportunities you definitely will receive a bang for your buck.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is in a nice are. It isn't total country but also not a big city setting either. When I came there was lots happening around campus including their OH! Fest where SUNY Oneonta and Hartwick come together to hold a street festival and lots of fun activities for both the students and the community. Pitbull was coming to perform a concert that night also! The students are all genuinely sweet, welcoming, and helpful, so it will be no problem fitting in. The only major turnoff I witnessed while there is the layout of campus. There are a lot of hills which require many staircases to go from building to building. The stairs seem not necessarily the best built and are outside and uncovered. With the weather we get in Upstate NY it is kind of scary to think that during your trip from the fitness center to the art center your 17 flights of stair journey may end in you slipping on ice and cascading to a broken bone or two!

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are extremely nice and fully knowledgeable. I spent an hour during a visit just chatting with a pre-law advisor. The staff seems close knit and able to have very personable relationships with both other professors and students. If you are interested in political science/pre law or anything in that area then there semester term at American University in Washington DC is fantastic. They also have tons of other J-terms and semester or even year long study abroad programs that are nationally recognized and loved by most students.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small town, nursing, small class size, small city, community feel, not a number, active, engaged, determined, fun-loving, hard working

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter where you go to college, take advantage of all of the great opportunities your school offers. Get to know the faculty and staff. Find people with similar interests. Join and/or make a club or organization. Give back. And definitely try new things, step outside your comfort zone, meet new people, study hard, and have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Hartwick has many great opportunities. You can do research and projects your first year. Because Hartwick is smaller, professors know your name and will work closely with you on classwork and work outside of the classroom. There are many employment opportunities on campus. Like I said above, I was able to participate in MetroLink as a first year student. Hartwick has other link programs as well. Hartwick has over 60 clubs and organization, we have many athletic teams, too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Hartwick. Hartwick has such a community feel. Not only are the professors friendly and helpful, but so are all of the other staff members, and many of the students too. I am really glad I chose to make Hartwick my home. There are many fun things to do on and off campus too. Oneonta is a nice small city and you can walk to main street from campus or ride the bus to Walmart or the mail. On campus, we have many events, and next year, we will have late night programming on the weekends. We have move nights ever Friday and Sunday, trivia nights on Thursday, we have concerts and open mic nights, Third Eye Blind, OAR, and Howie Mendel came recently. We also have a holiday ball, festivals, mud volleyball, and more. You will never be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors I have had so far have been amazing. All of my professors are very willing to help you when oyu come to see them and they are very flexible if you cannot visit during office hours. I have one professor who even comes in on most weekends because he wants us to get what we are paying for. All of my professors are very knowledgeable too. They know much about their area of interest but even other areas as well. And there is so much to learn outside of the class room. As a first year student, I participated in the MetroLink Program and had the opportunity to job shadow in Boston and New York City. I also completed an honors challenge by learning about fair trade and educating the Hartwick Community about fair trade. And now my friend and I will be starting a committee to work on getting more fair trade, local, and organic options at school. There are so many opportunities to learn in and out of the class room.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be a nursing major will love the program and the opportunity since there are two hospitals in the area. Hartwick also has a simple program that makes it easy to study abroad if you are interested in visiting other countries. Students who work and learn well in small classrooms will love the small classes at Hartwick and enjoy the one on one with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay true to who you are! When entering college a person can get lost with the freedom, new people, and new classes. It is a lot of responsibility and you must take baby steps. Do not try to sign up for every club, fraternity, or group, which will cause you to feel burdened. Your first year is about the experience and getting used to the college atmosphere and it would be too much of a hassle to try and be apart of multiple clubs and maintain a job at the same time. If you are paying for your tuition by yourself then the most important thing to do is stay on top of your work and find a job on campus. Most importantly have fun and never forget who you are!

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive when you look at the cost, but it is a private college which means it is not funded by the state. They give amazing financial packages and scholarships for those who have a fair to high GPA so keep your grades up! Make sure you visit the student accounts office in order to be responsible for your account. This also lets the people who deal with your account know that you are responsible, which they will respect you for that.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus itself is beautiful with its trees and historic brick buildings. The students there are nice and you can make friends easily since the classes are smaller than a regular universities. You basically know almost everyone who lives on campus so it becomes like a small family, which can have its pros and its cons. Due to the size of the campus you can walk from one end to the other end in about 10 minutes so it is easy to get from class to class if they are in different buildings. In the winter it can get rough but sledding on the commons trays makes up for the cold nights.

    Am learning a lot

    the quality of information that you learn at Hartwick is awesome due to the professors. The professors are what make Hartwick a great school. They will sit down with you and make sure you get what they are talking about. They have a high respect for students who visit them within their office hours. So if your professor tells you his/her office hours then you better be there to get extra tips on the subject or just to talk to them about the lesson of the day, they will appreciate the visit nonetheless. It helps you understand how the professor teaches the subject and can also help with your grade in the class too!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very dedicated team of school officials, affectionately referred to as campo. They do everything in their power to keep you and your belongings safe

    Bang for the buck

    Hartwick is around $48,000 a year, but they do offer many need based and merit scholarships. Hartwick is an excellent school, and has a very prestigious science department, of which I am a student.

    What to do for fun

    There are regularly scheduled events here at Hartwick, which are quite fun. Also, we have division I men's soccer, and women's water polo, as well as many other division III sports like football or basketball. Downtown Oneonta is also a place where so many things can be done.

    Food and Dining

    The commons is a very diverse dining hall. They have everything from eggs to pastas to pizza to meats and even vegetarian menu items. We also have Table Rock cafe, which is absolutely delicious. There are many well known restaurants around in Oneonta, and even some that you wouldn't know of, but should definitely try.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are as good as you want them to be. The rooms and residence halls themselves are nice, but whether they remain that way is up to you and your fellow residents.

    Academic Rigor

    There are quite a few fields that you could major in, and a lot of them are difficult. While they are difficult, Hartwick is a great school and a great name to have when looking for a job. Hartwick can prepare you for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest and make all needs known so that they can do their best to help you with what you might need.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College is a great school with about 1500 students. The faculty and staff here are greatly dedicated to the education of the students. They also do their best to accommodate for special or financial needs.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very involved and makes sure that the students feel safe in and around the campus. There are emergency poles all around campus so that if you ever unsafe or want someone to walk with they will accompany you.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sorrorities and 2 fraternities recognized.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition that has always happened is the opening convocation ceremony where the entering freshman class goes through a preview of graduation in four years and professors and the president welcomes you to the college.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering that you pay almost 50 thousand dollars a year for Hartwick, you want to get the most out of it. Hartwick does a very good job at doing this. There are many resources that are available to students whenever they need them. The library for example has great staff and many tools you can use. The view of the campus is breath taking and very well groomed.

    What to do for fun

    The first week at campus (welcome weekend for freshamn and transfers) Hartwick puts togother a series of events to help students and families ease into the moving and college process. Oneonta is a very small town, but has a lot of history. There are alot of bars for adult students. The greek life and sports teams parties are very fun. If you prefer to stay on campus you can participate in the many clubs Hartwick has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Our dinning hall, called the Commons, is small in relation to the small campus. The staff that work there are very nice and polite. The food is fairly good. You just have to be creative when eating there. I recommend getting the unlimited food plan the first year to sort of test the food. The mac and cheese and chicken nugget days are my favorite! But if you prefer to cook, most resident halls have a kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are very safe and comforting. We have night watches from 11 to 4am. There job is to sign you in the residence halls if you are not from there. They patrol the floors hourly to check if anything is out of the ordinary and to make sure that students are obeying the silent hours rule. The resident advisers here are very friendly and easy to talk to. We usually have weekly events in the lounges to help students meet other students and to promote getting involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am a biology major, my first year classes are very challenging, but its to test who will actually remain in that field after the first semester. The amount of work at Hartwick is a lot, but most professors give you enough time in advance. The same is for exams. Professors don't usually throw you in the deep sea without warning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering applying to Hartwick, you have to realize that because this is a private college the classes are difficult and you need to develop good study habits. You really have to learn good time management skills and study skills. Try not to be too studious and have fun! College is about discovering who you are as a person and it is okay to struggle your first year, it is expected.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College is ideal for students looking for a small and friendly campus. The professors here actually know who you are and are more than happy to help if you are behind. Hartwick makes the transition into higher education very manageable and achievable.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Wonderful. Worth part of the tuition.

    Dorm Life

    This depends on what dorm you end up living in. Smith is the worst and most populated. Van Ess (my dorm) is the typical. Not bad, but not the best either. Hilltop and Oyaron are pretty nice. I've never been in Saxton or Wildern though. Leitzell is rumored to be the best, as are the townhouses on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Since classes are smaller that the usual (think high school class size or less), having personal time with a professor for help is easier and more helpful. Classes are hard, but not to the point of a mental break down. One just has to know how to balance their social and academic lives well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you have a good vehicle for the snow, don't bring your car up. It isn't worth it, plus finding a good parking space is annoying.

    In three sentences

    Other than the expensive tuition (though absolutely worth it), it's the dream school. Small classes, small but beautiful campus, and nice dorms. It's easy to connect with your professors and classmates because of the small campus population.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Ive heard many great things about this school. based on what ive seen online the cmpus looked beautiful! i deffintely plan on researching more into Hartwick!

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to go outside of their comfort zone and take classes they never thought they would take. Hartwick is heavy on experimental learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! This year they had more applicants than ever before and I know quite a few people that got turned away.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, no doubt. But they are also really great with scholarships. Merit based alone cut the cost in half for me.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and the people are really nice as well. Unfortunately, I ended up visiting during their spring break so I didn't meet many students but the admissions office spent a lot of quality time with me and found things in the area for us to do after our tour.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, driven, motivated, athletic, want to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    GPA is great, but it's not always best to have a 4.0 with no extra curricular activities, sports, musical performances, or social skills. These all factor into admissions interviewers and even job interviewers in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a private college and expensive, the experiential learning aspect of Hartwick is incredible. It allows students to study abroad easily, take classes other then the typical Western Civ or Music/Dance/Art History.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many clubs to join and because of the size of the school, you will be able to find a group of friends very easily. Also, being a member of a sports team is a lot of fun and helps to make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small, therefore class discussions and critical thinking is a must!

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful:)

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hartwick has a very safe campus. I can say from experience that I have never felt uncomfortable being on campus alone, even late at night. There are at least two Campus Safety people on duty 24 hours a day. They have two vehicles to drive around campus, and they are always able to be contacted by our main switchboard office. They check residence halls and check and lock up the academic buildings each night. There are also blue emergency poles around campus that if for some reason a students feels uncomfortable or something has happened, they can push the button and Campus Safety will respond immediately.

    Greek Life

    A decent amount students on campus are involved in Greek Life. There are two recognized fraternities and three sororities. Students can rush for either their second semester at school, assuming that they have the grades to participate. Many of the Greek life organizations participate in a lot of community service activities and give Hartwick a great name.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 65 clubs and 17 sports teams on campus. From the Softball/Baseball Club to the Clay Club to Harry Potter Club, there is always something for everyone. If there is something that isn't seen that should be around, students have the ability to start their own clubs and organizations and get students even more involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a smaller community and small classes sizes would enjoy a school like Hartwick. Students get to know a lot of other people and there are always new interactions. You also get to know your professors a little more too because the class sizes are so small. Though it is a cliche, students really are not just numbers at Hartwick, they are people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a location on campus known as Table Rock. Our cafe also has the same name, but the other Table Rock is an actual rock that students will hike up to behind the school. It is open during the day to students to hike too, and it has a awesome view. We also have guiding eyes for the blind dog trainers on campus. It has been going on since I've been at school, and students get the chance to train dogs who will eventually become service dogs. Lastly, Hartwick has Code Blue games for every team during their season, where all athletes on any sports team are required to go to that Code Blue game and cheer on their fellow athletes, though a lot of them go on a normal basis anyway.

    Bang for the buck

    Hartwick is a private school, therefore it will be more expensive than any state school. But the education that the students come out with is worth the money. The professors are always available to help, the people are friendly, and students come out of school as well-rounded as they could be. As long as there is effort, there will be success.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus, but there is a lot to do off campus as well. Recently, activities boards have been putting on things such as karaoke nights and black light parties on weekend nights to keep students on campus. But there is a mall, lots of shops downtown, a movie theater, a bowling alley and other things close by that are available all of the time. There are also weekly movie nights on campus (usually playing movies that have not yet come out on DVDs) and other activities are hosted throughout the week by Resident Advisers and staff.

    Food and Dining

    While no dining hall will ever be mom's home cooked meal, there is a lot of variety in the Commons. We have one dining hall and one cafe on campus, and the hours are fair. They work to accommodate everyone's needs and the food does not taste all that bad either!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are much bigger than the rooms I had seen at other schools. Many rooms have been recently refurbished and the others have plans being made for changes to them as well. After your first year, you have all the say to where you live and who you want to live with. Students are required to live on campus through the end of their junior year, so having the space and freedom of choice that we have is a definite benefit.

    Academic Rigor

    Hartwick wants to make college fun, but there is a lot of work involved in maintaining good academic standing. As long as students study, do their work on time, and keep focused, college can be a fun experience. Students have a lot of freedom on this campus, but when there is trouble, consequences come with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to go into college and work. It is fun to be independent and on your own for the first time, but there are responsibilities to be held and if you don't live up to them, it won't work out. College is a lot of fun, and Hartwick will give you an education that will really benefit you in the future.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick is a wonderful school that provides a small community for students as well as an interactive environment for active students. There are many things to do both on weekdays and weekends, and most students stay on campus every weekend. Every student who puts in effort will come out as a well-rounded person with a positive looking future ahead of them.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities that are campus wide. clubs hold difforent events throughout the year and anyone is more than welcome to join. each dorm also has events that go on every week as well.

    Food and Dining

    the few times i've eaten at the dinning hall i really enjoyed myself. don't be afraid to try something difforent though or you could get bored of eating the same thing.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm so i cannot say what dorm life is like. i know that most of my friends don't mind it at all.

    Academic Rigor

    college is harder than highschool. there's a lot more homework. however, there are a lot more people willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    always ask questions. it may seem stupid, but you'll learn so much more if you put yourself out ther and ask why something is the way it is or if a teacher could explain something better. chances are you aren't the only one in the class confused.

    In three sentences

    hartwick college is a small, community oriented college. it has lots of activities for students to participate in. the professors are really willing to help the students suceed.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is great; if you are walking alone at night and afraid, you can call them and they'll give you a ride back to your dorm. also, hartwick is covered in stairs, so if you happen to be on crutches, they will pick you up for classes. there are minimal crimes at hartwick, though.

    Greek Life

    there are a few fraternities and sororities at hartwick. i do not have much experience with the greek life, but i do know that hartwick approved fraternities and sororities do not haze their pledges.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are quite a few clubs, certainly one for everyone. even if there is not one that you find to your liking, you can easily create one.

    Great for these types of students

    students who can afford hartwick, and have good study skills will excel at hartwick.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the pine lake campus, which is a 450 acre environmental campus which some classes and housing are held. there is oh fest, which is a huge festival; this year they are having mac miller play at oh fest.

    Bang for the buck

    as i said before, hartwick is like being sold an empty paper bag with expectations of it being filled to the brim. this is not that case. do not become thousands in debt for this school.

    What to do for fun

    not much, to say the least. oneonta's main street has a lot of little mom n' pop stores. there is also a bowling alley, and a skating rink.but that is about it.

    Food and Dining

    the commons' food is disgusting. it's the same thing every week, and it's either undercooked, overcooked, or made from something indeterminable.table rock is a cafe downstairs from the commons, and has decent food.

    Dorm Life

    all the buildings are old, falling apart and smelly. especially the freshman hall: don't expect to get much sleep there.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes were not too hard if you kept up on your reading and your homework. a lot of the professors don't check homework, it is just there to help you. i'd suggest you do it anyway.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don't have a lot of money, or if hartwick is not your dream school, find a new one.

    In three sentences

    hartwick is a good school, with wonderful professors and staff. however, for how much you pay to attend, it is not worth it. going to hartwick was like being sold an paper bag and a load of promises that there would be so much in the paper bag, but when you opened it, the bag was empty.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent. theres never a moment when i don't feel safe because campus safety patrol all the time and drive around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ohfest is a free spring concert in the park that gets put on by suny oneonta and hartwick college. its so much fun and there are carnivals all day up until the concert.

    What to do for fun

    there are always activities to do in all of the dorms. emails are always getting sent to everyone also for volunteer opportunities and dances and ice skating and lectures. there's never a dull moment here.

    Food and Dining

    its buffet style eating so you get all the food you can eat with one swipe of your wickit card. there is also a place below the dinning hall called table rock where you can buy food for you room and also get coffee and burgers. its almost like a cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm in the nursing program so it is highly demanding and they expect a lot from you from the moment you begin classes your freshman year. if you have a passion for nursing though, you will like the clinicals within the first year all the way through to your senior year.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you learn to time manage well and make sure when you first get here, you go to the residence hall activities. you meet so many more people.

    In three sentences

    i love hartwick college. there is never a moment when you have nothing to do. i've never met more friendly and welcoming people.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    most are douchebags

    Great for these types of students

    science/english/music/everything but art

    What to do for fun

    lost of things to do around campus lots of clubs but I wish there was more.

    Food and Dining

    it ok but is gets old fast

    Dorm Life

    I had possibly one of the worst first year dorm expericnces..... I just lived ona really rowdy floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard and some of them aren't but there is always someone there to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO ON A J-TERM TRIP. It really will change your life.

    In three sentences

    A really great school with great oppurtunities. However I can seem like once you actually go here they forget about you. But overall it is nice.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join on campus that suit everyone's interest. There are also many clubs sports to join. The school also gives a lot of money for clubs to use so there are always interesting activities going on!

    What to do for fun

    Main Street is a five minute walk from campus. There are many pizza shops and coffee houses that many people go to. There is also a park and a mall not to far away that you can get to by bus. The bus is free with your student card. On campus almost everyone goes to sporting events. There are also a lot of club activities that are open to the whole campus. On the weekends many people take day trips to Albany or Binghamton.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall, the commons, and one grocery store, Table Rock. Like all cafeterias, some days are much better than others. The salad bar is by far the best and there is always pizza. If you are a picky eater or come from an Italian family, like me, then you might find yourself eating salads most days. If not, then the food is really good. The staff is very friendly and will process requests as best as they can. The commons also has festive dinners for each holiday.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are not very strict. There are always dorm events going on, but only some people go. Living in a all freshman dorm is a great way to meet people and get acclimated to the school and Hartwick does a great job of this.

    Academic Rigor

    As a science major there is a lot of work to be done in your classes. most of it is reading, studying and laboratory reports. Teachers expect the work to be professionally completed and on time. Some majors are more rigorous than others.

    In three sentences

    Great professors, everyone is personable and very willing to help! Great views, the campus is gorgeous in every season. Great opportunities, from career services, to the class room, to volunteering, there are always ways and people to help you get involved and achieve your goals.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and very safe. The campus safety officers are friendly and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't see how someone could not be a part of at least one club. There are so many to choose from for a wide variety of interests. If there isn't a club that suits your interest you can go through a simple process to create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided, arts oriented, those interested in athletics, outdoorsy, those that need lots of extra curricular activity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Table Rock and Strawberry Fields are great (easy) hiking locations that the students frequent in the nice weather. They offer spectacular views of Oneonta and at night you can see the stars so well.

    Bang for the buck

    The small class sizes ensure that if you put forth the work you will get the help you need to understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be embarrassed to take the elevator but don't depend on it either.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick college is a great liberal arts school. It's small size allows for close faculty/student relationships which are a huge help. In addition the campus itself if beautiful.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Eh.

    Greek Life

    Most of them are drunks.

    What to do for fun

    Not much really. A trip to walmart?

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food options. More so than most schools.

    Dorm Life

    People are excessively loud and Residential Life does not tend to enforce quiet hours or drinking rules.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hit and miss with professor quality.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you use this as a back up school.

    In three sentences

    It is very expensive and the administration is not of much help. They raise the tuition suddenly trying to say it's to help incoming students. Meanwhile, students currently attending suffer financially.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The plus of a small school is that they can cater to everyone's needs more often. Vegan, vegitarian, or allergies... you name it and they'll help you out.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've seen, they have housing available for all types of students. There's the typical dorm, but also the honors housing for the more serious and the substance-free housing for those with stronger morals. And if science is your thing, there's even a second campus in a camp.

    Academic Rigor

    Hartwick is really competitive for a small school. Their nursing program is established and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't necessarily have tips, since I haven't necessarily been to college yet. However, I've been coping with daily journal entries to clear my thoughts and online shopping to fill my dorm.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick is small and homey. The school seems to have any opportunity you could imagine. It's a small place with big dreams, perfect for a student with big dreams.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is generally there within a short amount of time. There are only a few officers working at a time, so sometimes it may take a little longer than expected for them to get there. They will assist you across campus, or at your residence hall. They are not afraid to write tickets if you're parked in the wrong spots, so be careful to watch out for that. They are all very friendly and eager to help out in any way they can.

    Greek Life

    There are several different Fraternities and Sororities on campus, including: Alpha Sigma Tau, Alpha Omnicron Pi, Phi Sigma Phi, Gamma Phi Delta, and others. They are a great group of students!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great for clubs and activities, and all the clubs are very open to new members. You can petition to start your own club, if you have the right resources and reasons. The clubs always produce different events for the campus, and it's good to make interactions like that.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like close-knit communities, and who enjoy not being a number but actually a student. Great for the students who pride themselves in hard work, and academic success and it's great for anyone who loves the country but can't go to college in the country.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Different locations on campus that are interesting to hang out in are: Frisbee Field, Strawberry Fields, Binder Athletic Facilities, and Table Rock. There is always something to do on campus, and the options of rushing are available as well.

    Bang for the buck

    All college tuition is expensive, but the more people donate the lower it can remain. The tuition is expensive, and sometimes a little more expensive than they realize. You will get to know the financial aid office very well, especially if you can't get all the money for your bills right away.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event on campus, whether it's a concert, or movie night. There are also different places to walk and enjoy nature, like Table Rock, or Strawberry Fields. There are also numerous sporting events, so support your friends and school!

    Food and Dining

    The commons generally appeals to all kinds of tastes in food. There is always an omelet station, fries, soups, salad bar, sandwich bar, and pizza/pasta station. Sometimes, the commons produces the same foods throughout the month, and the students can get sick of it, but generally it is decent. We also have Table Rock, and they offer alternative meals. The only thing is the dining hall hours can be inconvenient, especially if you play a sport.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what residence hall you live in, you will be faced with different situations. Most of the residence halls are very comfortable, and your resident advisers are there to help. You will develop long lasting relationships with the people around you, and some may become your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are designed for the people interested in them. Some courses are more challenging but all the staff will be willing to work on a project with you if you ask. If you are a serious student and take your academics seriously, then Hartwick houses great potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to increase your stair exercises, Hartwick is known for all the stairs. If you enjoy the comfort of a small college, and making personal connections, then Hartwick is definitely your school of choice. Don't be afraid to try something new, and with Hartwick, the opportunity is even greater to explore.

    In three sentences

    It is a very enjoyable atmosphere, where everyone is generally friendly. You get to create wonderful relationships, and the President of the college is very sociable and gets to know all the students. All the faculty and staff are very committed to academic excellence.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food in the dining hall seemed rather limited, but it seems do able, better than Ramen every night! Also, Table Rock sounds like it balances the dining hall out pretty well with options...so it doesn't seem so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit it, because there are a lot of stairs and you should give it a go before you apply, the virtual tour made the stairs seem like less of a hassle than they really were.

    In three sentences

    The campus seemed real nice, but I'm a detail person and the grass seemed sloppily cut, the windows were greasy, the plaster was cracking, dead bugs lined window sills, and one would think on a Visiting Day they would try to spruce it up a bit.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activities, but if none of the multitudes of things on campus please you SUCO, the SUNY school next door to Hartwick, has events and concerts, and there are also things to do downtown like bowling, skating, restaurants, parks shopping, or movie theaters. Or you can hang out with friends, watch a movie, go to a theatre show, watch a music concert, or get some extra sleep. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus and off campus are excellent. On camps there are two places to eat, the commons and Table Rock, and both have excellent options for everyone. There are vegetarian and vegan options, as well as food options for people with allergies and intolerance's. You can always mix and match what is given and make your own dinner as well. The food is of a high quality and available whenever you need it during a reasonable time of day.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the Residence halls are excellent. There is always something to do, and always an activity happening. The RA's put on programs, clubs and camps activities put events and other things on for the campus to do. If you're bored its because you don't want to leave your room. There are concerts, seminars, training's, presentations, trivia, bowling, or even hanging out with friends. There is never a dull moment if you're looking for something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the college depends on the student. It is higher than most colleges, and you should expect to spend more time studying than you did in high school, up to three hours outside of class for every hour in. The professors challenge you to think about things in new ways and re-evaluate your views of the world. Make sure that you are prepared to take time from other things in life, if need be, to spend on classwork and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small college, and be prepared to be busy. Hartwick, like any college, isn't a place to go to party and throw money away. There are parties, like any college, but it is most definitely an academic college focused on preparation for the future. The clubs and organizations are a lot of fun, and they offer many real world experiences for the future. You learn, through them, how to create budgets, rent hotel rooms and buses, organize events, plan large scale happenings and get involved. Be prepared for a lot of work and a lot of fun also. Just because it is a college with an academic focus, that doesn't mean that we don't have fun while we are learning. This may be very different than high school, so be prepared and open minded for new differences.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College is a place full of potential and opportunity for knowledge, growth, and development as a scholar and a person. Though it is a small college, opportunities abound to study-abroad, do independent research and work with professors one on one. Hartwick is a place that will be what you make it, and you can make it into a gateway for your bright and full future.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cold Cheese pizza is really popular with the students. It is basically a hot regular pizza that comes with cold mozzerella. When you sprinkle that cheese on your pizza and start eating it literally melts in your mouth. :)

    What to do for fun

    There is the Southside mall you can go to. There is a bus on campus that can take you there. Albany is only an hour way so if have a car you can drive up there for some good shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places that you can eat at on campus. The dining hall and the Table Rock cafe, the latter stays open until midnight. In the cafe they have an omelet bar, vegan bar, grill bar,etc. So tons of choices for picky eaters like myself. There are also plenty of affordable places to eat in town. Most of those businesses are locally owned but Oneonta also has your Taco Bell, Mcdonalds,etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I stayed in at orientation is pretty decent. The lighting wasn't good in that particular dorm but in the other ones they are. There are 2 bathrooms on each floor which is SHARED BY THE WHOLE FLOOR. Oh it is mandatory that you live on campus until your junior year, then you can apply for off-campus living. During welcome weekend everybody in the dorm that you are staying in make up rules along with the RA. They are just general rules to follow in order to keep the dorm clean and respecting other people's property.

    Academic Rigor

    Since classes havent started yet I don't really know much about the academics. However they do have plenty of programs, depending on your major through other universities. There is pre-law, an excellent nursing program, pre-engineering, business, occupational& physical therapy,etc. Hartwick does offer a 3 year Bachelor program as well as an Honors Program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in smaller class sizes (about 10-13), friendly people, and a liberal arts education then this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick has a huge campus with tons of stairs. The administration especially the Office of First Year Experience is extremely caring& friendly. Also they have an excellent study abroad program.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hartwick, has a campus activities board that plans activities every week. there is never not something to do, whether it be volunteering, sporting event or activities board event.

    Food and Dining

    If there is something in the Commons that you want all you have to do is ask the chef, he will either prepare it right there for you or have it the next day as a feature meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, your dorms are very small making for a community with in your residential halls. You make friends that truly last forever.

    Academic Rigor

    Hartwick is a challenging college, if you do not want to work hard this school is not for you. 75 percent of the students are athletes, student athletes on this campus have a higher average GPA than those who do not participate in college athletics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do career wise, start early it is never to early to start interning. Go to career services and let them help you. Do well in class it is the best method to your ultimate college success.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick college is an academically challenging school with professors that truly care about what you want to do with your career. My academic success come from my professors constantly pushing me to be a better student in multiple aspects. This college truly transforms a student into a professional.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is number one.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a strong connection to the world. Brother/Sisterhoods create a friendship and opporotunities for the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports galore, from D1 soccer and waterpolo to D3 football, lacrosse, field hockey, basketball, and plenty more. Aside from the athletics, Hartwick College offers over 100 clubs to participate in.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, concerts, sports events, street fairs, programs, and many more are all offered at Hartwick with no or minimal charge to current students. Outside campus, the cinemas are only a 5-10 minute drive, and the college provides free busing to and from town. Eateries and creamies are abundant, as well as the common fast foods and dunkin doughnuts/starbucks.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is decent but knowing how to cook is always a good life skill. There is a convenient cafe on campus which serves hot and cold foods, in addition to selling groceries and basic necessities.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to nearby colleges, the rooms on Hartwick's campus are larger. The options of housing vary from singles and doubles to suites and houses, all of which are located on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of the work load and you will minimize stress. Studying may not have been a personal requirement in high school but don't expect that in college. Hartwick's professors are human beings and are understanding that at times due dates may need to be altered; Though this is a privilege that is not to be abused.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Apply early for plenty scholarships to build up funds before entering college. (Books are not cheap neither is gas) -Build a relationship with the department of your major and get involved with as much as possible. -Get involved with internships by sophomore or junior year.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College decreases the student to teacher ratio which in turn provides a more personal, one-on-one atmosphere. The campus is full of activities and opporotunities that engage all types of students. The community of professors, students, and staff create a warm, at-home feeling, allowing for a smoother transistion from home to college.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They have a few different options that allow for a variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    I live at Hartwick College's Pine Lake Environmenal Campus. There are about 10 cabins on a small lake 8 miles form campus. It is a great place to live and even to just visit. On campus dorms are safe and clean, for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Hartwick four stars for academic rigor due to the teacher's involvement in the students academic career. Students and teachers form relationships that help students progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well first be ready to walk up a lot of hills. Don't be afraid to talk to your advisors and faculty, everyone is willing to help the students out. People are very friendly at Hartwick. Also, be ready to learn because the faculty are very involved.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College has a great community and it has many different opportunities for their students. Students have great influence in regards to their academic career. We have the freedom to choose different classes and majors and even the ability to create a major.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what to study you can get help here.

    In three sentences

    Great assistance in career development. People who care about helping you learn. Great scenery on campus.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety can definitely have its off days. In the beginning of the year, I experienced atrial fibrillation. Even though this condition is very serious, I was urged to call campus safety to escort me to the emergency room. When the officer came to pick me up, we sat in his car for a good 5-10 minutes while he talked on his cell phone. I hope that in the future they will be able to take care of issues like these.

    Greek Life

    The majority of Greek life primarily stays off campus. I am part of a fraternity called Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia which is for music. We are very academically centered and do not participate in traditional Greek life activities such as hazing and the such. I have not experienced any of the typical Greek life but from what I can tell, the problems associated with hazing have been addressed.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a French and music major. I have friends in both programs but I would say that the students in the music program are much more close knit. We always hang out with each other and they have made me feel the most welcome out of anyone at Hartwick.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is VERY expensive and a lot of work could be done to improve the residential halls and the buildings. Even though this is true, I feel the professors are, in fact, being paid to help the students. They are very accessible.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Oneonta is very small. The transit system only runs Monday through Saturday and starts running at 6:00. This makes it hard if you do not own a car to get to town. There are various activities on campus that are fun to do. On top of that, in the student lounge, there is an air hockey table and pool table free for any of the students to use. Since the college is so small, I've never run into a problem with the student lounge being to crowded. There are many places on campus in which a group of students can go to relax by themselves.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall on campus. The food is very good and there are many options to choose from. The hours of the dining hall could be improved. For instance, the dining hall closes every day between 3:00 and 4:00 to prepare for dinner. There are many classes that end around that time and it is hard to eat as they have significantly less options during this time. Also, the dining hall closes at 8:00 p.m. during the week and closes at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday. This makes it difficult for busy students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in somewhat of a bad shape. Right now, I am living in Hilltop House which is located about a half mile away from the center of campus. While it is a long walk, it provides for a very quiet atmosphere at night since most people tend to gather in the center of campus for night life rather than making the trek to Hilltop. The condition of the dorm is lacking. Everyone in the dorm is extremely nice and has made me feel welcome.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel very challenged by my courses at Hartwick. Even though they are challenging, the course loads are not overwhelming. I am very happy with the help the professors have given me.

    Tips for prospective students

    The acceptance rate seems high. However, the price is high so the competition for scholarships to make this college affordable is more important to consider than the acceptance rate.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick is great for someone who is looking for a small student body. Everyone, as a result, seems to know each other. All professors are very available and it is very easy to form a personal connection with them.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety can be seen driving around every now and then. They're only a phone call away and are very helpful. Everyone who works as Campus Safety is very friendly and easy to approach.

    What to do for fun

    The town has a lot to offer. They have a lot of restaurants, thrift stores, hookah bar and a lounge. They also have something called the OPT (oneonta public transport) and it's free for Hartwick students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good. They have a special vegetarian/vegan station. They also have a really good salad bar set up. They have a lot of different options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The resident halls are spacious. The complaint that most students have is the Oyaron Hall and Hilltop House is that those halls are completely separated from the rest of the campus. However I think it's nice because it stays very quiet during finals week, which is a bonus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an easy school to get into however the academic rigor is high. This is shown through the amount of work and effort that goes into all the classes, even the lower level ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    The hills may seem intimidating, especially when you think about upstate winter weather. However the grounds are very well kept and they salt even when there are flurries, so it's nothing to worry about. Try to do the three year degree! A lot of people look away because they think it might be too hard, however it's not. There are advisors specifically for you and they will be there for whatever you need.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick College has a wide variety of programs in place to help improve the lives of their students. The staff there will bend over backwards in order to help students out with whatever they can. If they can't do something specific for a student, they try their best to match it.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The parties are pretty nice. A lot of drinking. Also Oneonta is nicknamed StonyOneonta.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall. The food is pretty much the same all the time. Take out in Oneonta is expensive like 10 dollars ( the minimum).

    Dorm Life

    If you get assigned to Smith Hall ( all freshman dorm) be prepared for heatless winters. Also freshman parking is pretty far from Freshman housing. Do not request a Triple, it is extremely uncomfortable in a room with three people.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses that fall under Humanites are pretty decent. Be prepared to sweat in the Science and Math Courses. Most professors are always willing to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    * Bring your car if you can: The bus only runs at night * Be prepared for the Guiding Puppies on campus *The Nursing students start Clinicals there first semester *Make sure that the college covers half of your tuition

    In three sentences

    The town is a bit boring but there are a lot of campus activities. The courses are a bit challenging. The professors are awesome except the Biology ones.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Fresh and healthy options, and friendly staff.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are actually quite nice and large.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors know every student and their life, just because of the small atmosphere. They expect you to do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus has a lot of stairs, so work out plenty before coming here. To come to Hartwick, you don't need a set plan, the faculty will help you decide your sophomore year if you've yet to decide.

    In three sentences

    Hartwick has a very friendly, close knit campus. The professors known their stuff, and go out of their way to help you. The food isn't half bad either.