Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Haskell Indian Nations University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Haskell is great for freshmen and students new to college life. This school goes out of its way to make students, especially freshmen, feel comfortable. Its also good for new comers because its give you a chance to go to school and still see future for what you plan to do with your life. Many freshman are clueless and unsure of their direction yet, a year or two at Haskell will put you in the right direction even if your future isn't at this school all the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking to come out here for college be prepared to endure some cold during the winter. And everyone out here is more than willing to help out and lend others a hand, so don't be shy just talk to folks and they'll talk back. One last tip is to pre enroll if you plan to attend, so many students look to squeeze into this school last minute. Pre enrolling will save you the hassel of getting in I promise you.

    Bang for the buck

    I got three numbers to say, 2 1 6. It cost a total of $216 to attend Haskell and they pays for everything from your room to your books. And if your luck (or unlucky, depends how you look at it) enough to get a pel grant, all of that money goes straight into your wallet. I don't know if you would call that bang for your buck but to me thats more like hitting the lottery as far as college tuition goes.

    Am enjoying being here

    Collegiate fun thrives not only on campus but in the city of lawrence, kansas itself. Being neighbors to KU is obviously a factor in that, and when the Jayhawks basketball team starts winnin the national championship this city turns into a mad house of excitement. But on campus is also one exciting day after another, you never know what your gonna be doing one minute from another.

    Am learning a lot

    Because of the teachers and the right amount of students to each class, its fairly easy to understand and learn every subject taught. Teachers here will actually help you when ur lost, or even help you excel if you get the work just fine. Overall the atomosphere to go to class and actually learn what is taught is above average compared to other colleges. If you plan to get the most out of ur classes then this would be my college recommendation.

  • 11/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Out-going who really want to get their college going early.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pick a school that is known for the amount of partying because you will have fun, but you will be waisting your time. This school has a good rep and its still fun to be here.

    Bang for the buck

    Since you don't have to pay a whole lot of money any of the schooling here is well worth it. You get to go to school and get your degree for a very low investment of money but a good investment of time.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are great and everyone seems to get along really well. Teachers and others who are supposes to help really do there jobs.

    Am learning a lot

    To learn a lot here you have to know which classes to take. I have picked a range of classes so I get to get the most out of my college experience.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    2.46

    Will learn a lot

    That's Its a geat school for runners

  • 01/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Natives

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are Native for a reservation please don't look down on the white people it makes us feel bad. Go in with an open mind, I have met so many people who are so closed minded. Don't binge drink I have a lot of friends that drink and get mad when someone calls them a stereotype.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school for what you pay for it. It's a 215 dollar education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I haven't really enjoyed my time here I feel the people here are really judgemental. I'm white and when I first got here I got looks that were just unwelcoming like I had done something to them, when I haven't done anything.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are looking for a school with a diverse education this really isn't the school for you. I'm in the business program and I feel like I'm not getting much out of it other than tribal business. I am native but was never raised on a reservation and I don't feel I'm getting a good education when it comes to wanting to explore non native business fields. If tribal education interests you then this would be a great school for you.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    with campus security around and being so close to the lawrence, kansas the crime is low (i encourage you to look at the campus crime report).

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs and activities are truly to numerous to mention. student senate sanctions most any club with at least 10 interested members that also have officers. it's quite the campus, having a variety of clubs ranging from religious interest, tribal affiliation and even gamers!

    Great for these types of students

    american indian, freshmen, non-traditional, returning students, students looking to get their basic course work done for cheap!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    haskell is the same campus as the former haskell institute (an early boarding school for american indians), haskell's admissions team is bound by rules that only allow the admission of american indian students. as a native when i arrive on the campus, i feel completely comfortable being surrounded by people from all walks of life. i feel one of the most important concepts explored at haskell is the complete affirmation of who people are. whether you participate in pow-wow or punk rock is more your scene you will still fit in at haskell!

    Bang for the buck

    at only $215 dollars a semester for on campus students it is quite the buy. this includes your tuition and room-and-board.

    What to do for fun

    whether you want to get involved in intramural sports, on campus activities, clubs (or form a club of your own), there is something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    though, the food is generally quite good if you don't like what is being served you have the option of jetting into town on the local transit bus (and as a haskell student your fare is reduced) to grab something from any of the many local eateries!

    Dorm Life

    several older dorms, along with several recent additions keep dorm life interesting. couple the dorm experience with the activities offered and you are in a comfy place!

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging (with plenty of tutoring and study options), great curricula that will challenge even the most savvy student.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early, know what your major gpa is, e-mail your adviser over the summer. work on your extra-curricular activities early!

    In three sentences

    great folks. once on campus you will get the feeling that you have 'arrived' somewhere. an amazing education, friends for life and all the best is what you will find here! very historic campus surrounded by a great community!

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards troll around all night and the resident assistants do all day. i can say i feel pretty safe here but don't forget to lock your doors! people will occasionally steal stuff from your room if you don't lock them!

    Greek Life

    no greek clubs

    Clubs and Activities

    hard to find something on campus that is really organized, the school itself is not that organized. sad to say, it's hard to even find help around here!

    Great for these types of students

    native american students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have pow-wows and get togethers there are load of unusual traditions to non-natives, but to native people, you will feel right at home.

    Bang for the buck

    not bad in this department considering that it is $215.00 a semester. for on campus students. the only thing is i sometimes wonder if i'm getting the complete education i need to go out and have a career in the real world...

    What to do for fun

    go out to the clubs, parties if that's your type of thing. there is a hookah bar downtown, countless coffee shops and ice cream shops, but my favorite thing down town is the antique mall. you never know what you will find in there. all sorts of gizmo's and gadgets. also lawrence is a really friendly place, just walking down the street you will probably meet someone you know or want to know. ;)

    Food and Dining

    you will get your three meals a day in that's for sure, the lunch people are grouchy and tend to pick the students that they like and dislike, the will give you more or less depending on if they like you or not.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms will probably make you a little depressed, especially with the resident assistants always trolling the hallways. they are always looking for trouble so try to not get into any! don't smoke weed in the dorms, you will get caught, and they will call the cops. (besides that's dumb!!)

    Academic Rigor

    this isn't a hard school to go to, you can get through your classes with relative ease if you do your homework and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't do drugs, don't drink and don't smoke, you won't be able to get to class if you aren't even in your right state of mind! don't come here and make a fool of yourself, you wouldn't be doing anyone good, and you'd be misrepresenting not only yourself, and your tribe but native american people as a whole. we as a people are not ignorant, so please, keep your head held high and your eyes wide open. you can only be successful if you really want to be.

    In three sentences

    haskell is a place full of diversity amongst native american tribes, where you will be able to find a cultural experience like no other. haskell is a place where you will have to work hard to do your best and it will remind you of why you go to college everyday. haskell is a place where you can get started on your college career or you can finish your college career and get started on the real world.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security who patrols and dorm monitors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Boxing Club, Dine Club, Navajo Club, American Indian Business Leaders, Powwow Club, Dorm Council, Veterans Club, Social Work Club, Alaska Club, Stories N' Film Club, Student Senate, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Enrolled Native Americans.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition this year was only $215 and that was for EVERYTHING. Next semester they may raise it to little under $500 but that is still an opportunity in itself.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs to be active in on campus, there's a few churches on campus, there's something always going on every week. There is a fitness gym, swimming pool, pool table, TVs in every dorm lobby with cable (cable are in some dorm rooms also), football field, track, and basketball gym. The University of Kansas is right down the street, it is one big college town. Haskell gives out free tickets to KU games and other events. It's always sunny and there are many places such as stores, parks, and restaurants in walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    There is the Eagle's Nest where you can buy food during the week and there is Curtis Hall which is a cafeteria that serves everyday. They have their good days and their bad days but it's free (included in tuition) and we're in college! Food is food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are assigned by the semester. The first semester freshman and transfer students are assigned to a dorm where they have no choice as to where they stay. There is an all boys dorm and an all girls dorm. The girls dorm is the oldest building on campus where there is a community bathroom and small rooms to share. The dorm monitors can be strict but that's only for one semester. Afterwards the student is free to live in a co-ed dorm with balconies and personal bathrooms. Athletes and honor students get their own rooms along with a couch and locker in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is all left to the student. The teachers are supportive and let all of their students know they are there if they need absolutely anything but it is up to the student to choose what they do with it. Some students drop out of school after the first month but many others finish out walking across the graduation stage.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those considering Haskell, don't be afraid to succeed. Stick it out and take any opportunity given. Being Native we succeed for our tribe, our people, and ourselves to give back to our people. When setting foot on campus you become important if you stick with your studies. There is a lot of opportunity if you don't let it slip away.

    In three sentences

    Haskell Indian Nations University is a diverse campus filled with Native tribes that literally come from all over the country. It is a small school but all of the staff remain behind their students, putting student's first. Like any place else, Haskell is what you make it, which also comes with a lot of history.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police and everything arrives in under 5 minutes

    Clubs and Activities

    have football, basketball, cross country, track, softball, volleyball, pow wow club.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly explore around Lawrence, or if you have a vehicle, do some shopping or hit the parks in Kansas city.

    Dorm Life

    very bland except on the weekends, big party school.

    Academic Rigor

    fairly easy and simple classes, almost freshman high school level.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't attend if you don't want your bachelors in business or native American studies, or education. do not fall for the party crowd.

    In three sentences

    its a decent school, whose focus is mainly to get the percentage of educated native Americans up. They offer fairly easy courses, and work a lot with students so that they may pass classes. great for kids to get off the reservation and get an education.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is working 24-7 to keep our campus safe.

    Greek Life

    We have two Native American Chapter based organizations, women's (Alpha Pi Omega) and men's (Phi Sigma Nu). Although they don't have priority housing for them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dine Club, Campus Activities Assosciation, Stories N' Motion, Oyate Club, Apache Club & Dance Group, Student Senate, Wetlands Preservation Organizaiton, Social Work Club, American Indian Studies Club, American Indian Business Leaders Club, Pow Wow Club, Dorm Clubs, Sports Clubs,

    Great for these types of students

    Native American students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Native American Church, Peyote Meetings, Pow Wows, Feasts

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for only $215 a semester, yeah definitely think about it!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do! Watch varsity sports teams, play in intramural tournaments and leagues, movies in town, KU games, bowling, worlds of fun is just 45 minutes away. Basically anything you could think of trying, its here in Lawrence or in the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always that great, but when you're broke and its free, who can complain? If you can afford to eat off campus there are TONS of places good for takeout or dining in.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are always full of enjoyable people. There are places to hang out and chill, places to study and some even have kitchens to cook in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is the same as going to any other university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take and pass ACT. Find scholarships. Get a laptop (there are labs but it would be helpful to have one of your own), plan to get to know people, expect to have fun!

    In three sentences

    Haskell is a very good school to consider for people of Native American heritage. The faculty and staff are always willing to help and very supportive. The community is buzzing everyday with something to do and is right next door to the KU campus.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Native American students looking for a great education, fun, and meeting other fellow Natives from all across the country representing over 150 tribes.

    What to do for fun

    The campus resides just outside of downtown Lawrence, KS so all the fun will be found of 23rd Massachusetts. There are no classes on weekends so you have that all to yourself to have fun yourself or with friends. Also, sports activities and occasional pep sessions could be held either in the auditorium or in Tecumseh Hall.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is served in the center of the campus at Curtis Hall. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served. Breakfast runs from 7:00am-9:00am, lunch 11:00am-1:00pm, and Dinner from 4:30pm-6:30pm.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are sectioned. OK Hall, Baylock Hall, and Roe Cloud Hall all offer students the best dorm life experience any college student might want. The residential advisors are on schedule 24/7 to watch over you and the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Basically the classes are compared to those of other 4 year institutions. Haskell offers a variety of classes to meet your academic major and/or career of choice. In class the teachers are right with you the entire way and care for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be to apply as soon as the date opens therefore you get to experience the unbelievable vibe Haskell offers. Get to the residential halls as soon as the new student check-in is dated so you can receive great dormitory rooms. Meet with your advisor and GO HASKELL!

    In three sentences

    Haskell Indian Nations University is an institution prided on the known fact that Native Americans deserve a great education. At Haskell student life renders upon your own actions. At Haskell every Native American student is one!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for, low cost=very low education

    What to do for fun

    Go all around Lawrence, its a college town so its got things to fit the need of college kids. clubs, movies, paintball, sporting events, you name it, its probably in Lawrence and if not, go to KC, its less than an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    HS cafeteria style. somewhat healthy meals.

    Dorm Life

    Very crazy, lots of parties

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy classes compared to many universities. Do not transfer unless you get your Associates, you will fall very far behind if you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fight the urge to go home, Haskell is a good school, with many opportunities. Be prepared to see a lack of disorganization though.

    In three sentences

    A great way for Indian kids to get off the reservations and get a college degree. Very small and family based, from class size to overall school size, Only all native american collegiate sports teams. Many nations, one goal.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haskell is very safe! All of the students look out for one another because we are all cousins. Haskell is one giant family!

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity on campus. It is brand new and I have no experience with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs as far as the eye can see. However, they come and go as students do. If you want to keep a club running, chances are, you will be running it!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for Native American students who want to feel at home and may be concerned about college difficulties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are powwows all the time. Every time I turn around there is a powwow. There is even a powwow for graduation! Additionally, there are always fundraisers on campus where groups sell Indian tacos and fry bead.

    Bang for the buck

    It is FREE! I cannot stress that enough. I have had some problems with disorganized administration, but in the end, I do not care. Nothing beats a free education.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, running trails, and a gym on campus. Off campus you can find just about anything in Lawrence. A great place to live!

    Food and Dining

    The food made me gain thirty pounds my freshman year. All very high in carbohydrates and starches. Everything seems to be fried or breaded. The salad bar is laudable and any fruit provided is gone in a heart beat.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in three different dorms at Haskell. Two of the three had mold problems and the buildings were never clean. The honors dorm, Winona, and the freshman boys' dorm, Blalock, are the places to live. Both very clean with wonderful staff! I have had no experience with the athletic dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the instructor like every other college. However, Haskell's instructors are all very patient and understanding; maybe sometimes a little too understanding. A lot of instructors will except late work or allow students to redo projects or tests that they failed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you find you frequently need emotional, spiritual, financial, or educational help then Haskell is the place for you. Every student and faculty member is just waiting to tutor you and offer several different kinds of services, free of charge.

    In three sentences

    Haskell is a great place to learn more about your Native American heritage through classes and fellowship among colleagues. The class sizes are small so every student can seek tutoring time with instructors. It is tuition free, but suffers from disorganized administration.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and there is a text message group you can get on for alerts like weather and crime.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity. I heard there is going to be a sorority soon.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 30 or less clubs to get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Haskell is for everyone, from a serious student to someone who is living their life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a spirit week in the fall during homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    Best $215 you'll pay.

    What to do for fun

    What any college student does, go out at night. You can go eat out or drive to Kansas City to the mall. Going to concerts in Kansas City too and downtown is a must.

    Food and Dining

    I recommend buying some of your own food such as microwave foods. Having a mini fridge helps. Cafeteria food decent.

    Dorm Life

    There is a freshmen girl dorm and freshmen boys dorm you have to stay at in your first semester. There are also RA's that are there at all times. Some dorms have a council which you can represent your dorm as a club. There are three dorms that are coed but one is the athletic dorm. You can live in them after your first semester. There is an honor's dorm which requires a gpa to get in. There are room checks and rules to life by.

    Academic Rigor

    The first couple of years are just like high school. Harder classes are the ones you have no idea about and don't study for. All teachers have a syllabus that they expect you to follow and come prepare for everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    The day you get your ID and schedule, come no later than 30 minutes before. Lines do form and are long. Don't miss class. That is the easiest way to fail. Don't get too carry away with night life. Try to make as many friends as possible, will keep you from getting homesick. Don't give up.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunity for Native American students. Excellent student to teacher ratio as well as good list of class which do fill up fast. And you can always find someone to help you.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, sporting events and campus activities. Also Lawrence has great fun for college age kids.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and respectful

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't take the opportunities that the campus gives you for granted.

    In three sentences

    A place full of diverse, friendly, and motivated students and teachers. The campus welcomes anyone, and everyone, that shows a genuine interest in bettering their life. H. I. N. U. doesn't stand for Haskell Indian Nations University, it stands for home, involvement, never ending possibilities, and unique experiences.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always circling the area. They are very nice and approachable as well!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus. Anything from the gardening club to the kick boxing club. There are many clubs that help students stay in tradition with their culture like the beading club. Last week they made moccasins. How cool is that?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haskell was a boarding school back in the 1800's so there is this super creepy cemetery in the back of the campus. Some say the campus is haunted but I have yet to come encounter with any spirits. Pow wows are also held here. I do not know of any other college with frequent pow wows.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is the cheapest university in the U.S. which is crazy to me. It is very much worth the money. Most college students are in debt when they graduate but not here! We will all enter the work force with money in our pockets!

    What to do for fun

    Kansas University is literally five minutes away so there is always something to do in Lawrence. There are many 18+ clubs in town that are always packed. Mass St. is down the road from Haskell which is downtown Lawrence with tons of shopping centers and fun things to do like the Hookah House or the Granada which is a club. Home basketball games are always a blast also.

    Food and Dining

    One down side to Haskell is Curtis Hall, the cafeteria. The food is disgusting. Unlike many colleges, Curtis has one choice of a main course. The positive to their terrifying food is that there is always soups and salads which are not too bad. Breakfast isn't too shabby either.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice. There's nothing too fancy about them. It really depends on which building you chose. I would recommend Roe Cloud.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a first semester freshman and my classes are super easy. I struggled in high school so I was a little worried about the difficulty of my courses. There is nothing to worry about here. Of course there is always going to be that one strict teacher but for the most part all of the instructors are pretty lenient.

    In three sentences

    Haskell Indian Nations University is an awesome school for native students. Not only does it give under privileged kids a chance to get an education but it also has a great amount of American Indian cultures around campus. Haskell is a one of a kind college with many traditions and opportunities that can not be found at any other institution.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, hang out with friends, shopping, bowling, exciting Kansas City only 30 minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    As long as your hungry, the cafeteria is a nice and chill place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Great students and helpful staff

    Academic Rigor

    everyday you learn something new!

    In three sentences

    Great place to start off after high school! There are so many helpful and caring staff that will help open opportunities for yourself. I love it here!