Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Haverford College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The average Haverford student is thoughtful, intelligent, modest, ambitious, laid-back, sincere, responsible, friendly, and somewhat socially awkward. Haverford is diverse on paper, but the Honor Code definitely attracts a fairly ideologically homogeneous student body. That being said, people still have plenty of opinions and talk about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the Honor Code (http://students.haverford.edu/code/). If it's interesting and appealing to you, that's fantastic. If it's not, Haverford is probably not the best fit. The community is structured around the Code, and while you don't have to agree with it, it will pervade most aspects of your life here. That being said, Haverford is not the kind of school that looks for everyone to obey and accept the standard: we value discussion, constructive criticism, changes. The Code is a living document, re-ratified by the student body every year. Past that, be genuine. Haverford students are interesting, and admissions prizes personality, thoughtfulness, character over GPA and numerical measures of excellence.

    Bang for the buck

    Haverford is expensive, with tuition upwards of $50,000 a year. If you're not on financial aid, it can be brutal. However, Haverford has (relatively) fantastic financial aid: many students say that their financial aid package from Haverford was by far the best of their offers. If you're looking for an intellectual, socially responsible, and laid-back community, I'm convinced that Haverford is one of the best out there. By virtue of its uniqueness, I think the price is very worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Haverford prides itself on its Honor Code, a unique student-written and student-enforced living document which covers both academic and social concerns. The Honor Code is logistically useful, as it allows students to take self-scheduled exams and it also creates a general atmosphere of student/administrative/faculty trust. The Code stresses personal involvement and responsibility, and the community takes it to heart. Rules at Haverford are minimal and make sense. Interactions are friendly. Haverford is an incredibly unique community where the average person has a great deal of common sense, is trustworthy, and takes time to listen and discuss concerns. All of this translates to the social environment: students know how to have fun, but are responsible and understanding of others' concerns. Issues on campus definitely carry the feeling of we're all in this together. We have a very strong ethos of student self-government, and the student body comes together once a semester at Plenary to present and vote on resolutions. These, and other forms of student input are actually taken very seriously by the administration. Haverford students are aware they live in the Haverbubble but generally enjoy it. There's a stereotype that the kids who come here are nerdy and socially awkward, but this characteristic is manifested in an endearing manner, and the vast, vast majority of Haverford students are lovely, thoughtful, respectful, and intelligent human beings. Of course, every school has its problems, but in the grand scheme of things, Haverford functions pretty well. It's a pretty good example of a real, cohesive community.

    Am learning a lot

    Haverford is a fantastic academic environment. In my experience, professors really care about their subject and their students. Overall, they are incredibly approachable and always interested in helping you learn and eager to discuss issues that are of further interest and tangentially related to classroom work. Professors will work you hard, but the work is meaningful, productive and worthwhile. Busywork is very minimal if not absent. As a sophomore, I've already been to three professors' houses for dinner. Classes are small, allowing for involved student-professor and student-student interaction. Students themselves are thoughtful, generally interested in learning and care about their subjects. Haverford is a liberal arts college, and discussions in the classroom frequently involve related subjects and connections made to other classes. It's definitely an intellectual community: I am constantly aware that I'm surrounded by incredibly intelligent human beings and I'm grateful for the opportunity to learn from all of them, whether their lessons be academic or social.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Haverford stresses the importance of the community. Although the school strives to accommodate every type of person, I think the people who enjoy it the most are the very outgoing, usually social types.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're visiting, bring your homework. Although we do our best to show you around and make sure you have fun, when Sunday rolls around, we usually have quite a bit of work to do, and it's painful for you to sit and be bored while we try and work.

    Bang for the buck

    I hear people say that Haverford has a great financial aid program, I've just seen nothing of it. Tuition is extremely expensive, but Haverford also gives its students opportunities I don't think you can find elsewhere.

    Am enjoying being here

    They call it the Haverbubble for a reason. The social scene can be a bit suffocating. It is a very small school, and I feel that I know too much about people I don't know. Although the SEPTA is easily accessible, it can be difficult to get off campus, especially as a freshman.

    Am learning a lot

    This is definitely a quality education. All of my classes are small, my professors know my names, and there is a wide selection of courses one can take at Haverford, Bryn Mawr, Swarthmore or Penn.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unbelievable. I love how secure the campus is. The Safety and Security officers on campus are always vigilant, but the real key are the people on campus because everyone can more or less recognize each other and are quick to identify threats. Not that there are very many.

    Greek Life

    There are none, however, the sports teams act as small hubs of intense group bonding on campus. Other groups, such as affinity groups, can mirror the Greek feel as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are entirely too many things to do here on campus and plenty of leadership opportunities in clubs and other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    People interested in liberal arts and sciences. A lot of students here pursue premed studies and psychology. Haverford people are also conscientious, intelligent, and modest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unofficial requirement on campus is to go tunneling, which is to say to travel through the underground maze of tunnels. No one's very sure why they are there, but I suspect that it is a quaker thing.

    Bang for the buck

    At Haverford, you're mainly paying for the one on one attention, resources, and networking capabilities. There's no way to tell how the extra money I'm spending will help me later on, but I know that this community is more than supportive enough to help me be successful.

    What to do for fun

    There are always student bands, improv shows, visiting artists, plays, and of course, parties to go to on the weekends. All of these choices don't exist every weekend, but for a small campus, I've found that I've never had the time to do all of the things I wanted to on the weekend. And of course other college campuses are very close by. And then there's Philly.

    Food and Dining

    Although people always complain about the food, it's really not bad. There are plenty of choices/options on most days. However, it's not your mother's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my freshman dorm. It feels more like living with relatives than like living with people who were once total strangers.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the work here challenging for most classes and a lot of care should be taken when choosing classes in certain departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the school often in order to ensure that its atmosphere and location best suits you.

    In three sentences

    A close-knit space where people of liberal tendencies really get to know one another. The faulty is superb and dedicated, and people generally look out for each other. The general air of people on campus is surprisingly reserved and polite.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Primal Scream. You'll see.

    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive. REALLY expensive.

    What to do for fun

    so many clubs. so many acapella groups. so many events on the weekends!

    Food and Dining

    Coming from NYC I wish there were more options, but Wawa is open 24 hours and the Dining Center is not terrible.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you live, and what you like.

    Academic Rigor

    Really, really hard. If you're not already a genius (and you don't need to be) you will learn to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't place too much value on the one hall you stay on, every hall is different. If you connect with another person, ask your host if you can spend time with them and they should be happy to oblige!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, strong honor code, friendly people!

  • 10/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like many schools, there is an emergency blue light system (wherever you see a blue light, you can push a button and help will come to you promptly), but also our Campus Safety Officials are awesome and are always around to help out. Even if you are off campus, if you call them, they will pick you up. Also, on weekend nights there students that drive golf carts and will pick up people that need help/don't feel like walking home at night.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    A haiku about clubs and activities at Haverford: So much to do here I wish I could do it all But I'm just a girl

    Great for these types of students

    People that don't cheat and don't steal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you like art, go to James House. You can paint on the walls and use the provided art supplies.

    Bang for the buck

    Haverford is clearly quite expensive, but I've seen many articles about how much alums earn after graduation (Haverford is ranked at the top for mid-career salary). I haven't graduated yet, so we'll see how that goes, employers that know about Haverford know that it is an awesome school, so that is always nice. Article: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2014/09/11/where-to-go-to-college-if-you-want-the-highest-starting-salary/

    What to do for fun

    Literally anything. There are always events going on and if there is something you feel that is missing, it is easy to get funding from the school to put on an event.

    Food and Dining

    Taste-wise, the food could be better, but there are always many options. Also, if you get tired of Haverford food, your meal plan allows you to go to Bryn Mawr and get amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more spacious than many other dorms on other campuses. Also, most of them are singles--it is quite possible to graduate from Haverford having never had a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    It takes a lot of effort to succeed in the classes here, but I have never felt that the work I've been assigned is outrageous or pointless. There are so many opportunities to get help on campus as well. Professors will always have office hours and there are many tutoring options as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun! I'm sure many people (mainly parents, teachers, other adults) will tell you to manage your time wisely, which is very important, but also don't forget to absorb as much as you can in your four years here. Don't be afraid to reach out to others socially or for help and remember that if you are ever bored, you're just not paying attention to the plethora of activities that are happening on this campus.

    In three sentences

    Haverford College is a community of extremely caring and concerned people. One of the many aspects of the college that stands out is the our Honor Code; the Code is representative of the standard of trust and respect shared in the community and is seen in action when students feel comfortable leaving their doors unlocked and belongings unwatched, knowing that none of the community will take anything. But even more importantly, it also allows for students to take proctored exams because the professors know that students will respect the rules and not cheat.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    'Safety and Security' is a wonderful part of the Haverford community because they are really there to look after its students.

    Great for these types of students

    Haverford is a great school for students looking for a smaller liberal arts school with small class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus has an observatory, which I think is extremely cool. I think a really fun tradition at Haverford is the Customs Week program that is meant to welcome incoming freshmen in the fall.

    What to do for fun

    FAB events, dances held in Founders Hall, Lunt concerts

    Food and Dining

    The food is fine, but it gets tiring after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves aren't as wonderful and luxurious as on other campuses, but living in the dorms is a wonderful experience overall.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are extremely challenging, but I believe that they are not overwhelming or too stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Haverford College is a place for those who are looking for a smaller school where professors give students the attention and help they desire.

    In three sentences

    Haverford College is giving me the well rounded education that I was looking for when first applying to colleges. To me, the most notable aspects about Haverford are the small class sizes that create a more intimate learning environment and the more than generous financial aid that is offered to its students.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join their clubs

    Food and Dining

    Food Is delicious can't get enough

    Dorm Life

    the dorms a re roomy and they're making new one

    Academic Rigor

    They are very rigorous but still make way for fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Look or what you want and take a close look at the time

    In three sentences

    I loved this school! Its environment was just so welcoming. It also has some great research

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are so nice and friendly and they care about everyone. They are always on the lookout for our safety and I feel like they are part of my family.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types of students ranging from jocks to nerds to hipsters, and anyone in between :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Screw Date is funny tradition in which you get paired up with someone for a date, and you get to embarrass yourself on stage by saying funny or sexual pick up lines!

    Bang for the buck

    The admissions department is absolutely generous with your financial aid package!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs! There are so many awesome clubs on campus ranging from athletic clubs to outdoor clubs to movie watching clubs. People can also go out into the city for some great restaurants or do community service. There are definitely many parties on the weekends on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Although we have one dining hall, the food is not too shabby. The deserts are really good, however the food can get boring and dull sometimes. But it is up to each individual to switch it up a bit and explore new varieties of meals that they would have never though about trying.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Each dorm building has a unique quality and theme. The people that reside in each of these building are a perfect fit for each building. They dorms are not too small, but not too large. Everyone looks out for each other on their hall and it is truly a family environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous but rewarding. However, there is so much help out there for you. The teachers are willing to extend there office hours to meet with you are just to catch up on things with you. Due to the honor code, you academic honesty relies upon yourself and effects the community as a whole.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that every person out there apply to Haverford. The people are awkward, yet friendly and unique. It is a great liberal arts college that allows you to explore yourself with the support of teachers and faculty. It is here that you can tackle anything while still being entertained and enlightened.

    In three sentences

    Haverford is has an amazing, creative, insightful atmosphere that contributes to the success of all of its students. Its honor code is not strict-despite the opinions of others, in fact it is open to the ideas and issues that its students bring up and these issues are voted upon twice a year.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Haverford.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the DC is not perfect but if you want to make your own food, one of your friends has a kitchen you could borrow.

    Dorm Life

    Uniquely, Haverford offers a variety of choices and makes anything you want possible. I prefer having a single for four years and make my own food and that is not difficult for me to accomplish.

    Academic Rigor

    Haverford's acceptance rate is low and thus it is a competitive environment academically. Most of the students who go to Haverford are well prepared and set a high standard for the others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Haverford is a school that will teach you a lot but mostly will show you a new way to think - which is the goal of most liberal arts colleges in the country.

    In three sentences

    Haverford College is an academically challenging school that allows students to make their education a journey of their own. The Honor Code serves as a backbone for the students to ensure their accountability and trust in themselves as well as in their fellow students making the relaxed wnvironment possible and fully functional.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful, beautiful campus! Very traditional, lots of cobblestone, and even the residential area around it is gorgeous.