Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hawkeye Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hawkeye Community College is great for every type of student. If you enjoy attending class, want to meet new people, get involved, want to extend your education, or just take a course for fun, Hawkeye is for you. Don’t put off your education any longer. Apply for Hawkeye today and see what your future holds for today and see what your future holds for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great way to succeed in school is to go to class and do the work assigned. Participating in school is the easiest way to get good grades. Also, work on writing papers well in high school. If you know how to write an excellent paper, college will be a lot easier.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting a college education is an investment in your future! Hawkeye Community College is less expensive than the other colleges in the area and the Financial Aid office can help you determine what assistance may be available to you. More than 82% of Hawkeye’s students receive some form of financial aid. Hawkeye is a great way to save money if you get your general education classes and transfer to get your major.

    Will enjoy being here

    Hawkeye Community College has a wonderful atmosphere for students to study, relax, or socialize with other students. The campus is beautifully designed for studying outside in those summer months and even a tunnel from one side of campus to the other for those rainy days. Each building has its own unique qualities for every program and the diverse students who attend help you get a cultural experience that will last a lifetime. The social bonds you leave with may lead to friendships that you share outside of school and in the business community. Hawkeye Community College is a great start.

    Will learn a lot

    Hawkeye Community College has numerous building to fit every program. It has exceptionally large classrooms that are well-equipped with the latest technology to enhance your success as a student. It also has a well-stocked bookstore, human resources, student services (including services for international students and disability students), distant learning, an indoor and outdoor firing range, a greenhouse, a student activities office, wellness room, numerous business offices to help in any way possible, and much, much more.

  • 12/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hawkeye Community College is worth the money. I honestly thought that I would be in over my head when I wanted to attend college. I thought that I would be spending so much money that I felt I would never be out of debt after I graduate. Once I started looking into Hawkeye, I realized that not only is Hawkeye a great school with staff ready to help with all of your problems, but it is also very affordable. You spend about as much for your whole degree here that you would spend in one semester at most four year colleges. I believe that Hawkeye Community College is worth your money no matter if you are going to live in the apartments, or off campus. You will be satisfied with how much less you will be in debt after you graduate and also will be wowed at how inexpensive Hawkeye really is.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Hawkeye Community College because I love the fact that the teachers will always be willing to help you, no matter what the circumstances. Also, there are many different student activities to attend, making it easier to meet new people, or just have some fun in between your classes. There is such an enjoyable energy at Hawkeye Community College. I love the fact that everyone is friendly, and is willing to help you out if you feel that you need the help. The staff is friendly, and always willing to help you with your needs, making this friendly little college so enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    Hawkeye Community College is a great place to go if you want to learn a lot, on your own time. There are many different variations of classes you can take, and many different majors you can choose from. Just from walking from one class to the next, I feel that I have learned a lot, just from watching other people. There are so many different types of people attending this friendly college that you will most likely see all of your friends. All of the teachers here are very helpful, and love to take the time to help you out if you are not understanding what is going on in the class, or how to do your homework. Hawkeye Community College is a great community college to attend if you would like a small, friendly college where the teachers work with you, your friends are all right around the corner and you learn a lot.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place to build leadership, professional, and academic skills before transfering to a university. This is a great transition from high school before attend a university. Plus, one can get thier general ed/liberal arts courses out of the way for cheaper amount of money before attending a university. It also gives one more time to think about what they want to do if they don't know what they want to major in yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place for students who like small surroundings and small class sizes. Plus, there is furniture in the Student Brock Center where students can hang out and there is a fitness room in there as well. I would also recommed you take a campus tour around the campus, so will know where everything is located.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very cheap to attend here. Books are expensive, but most textbooks are expensive. The good thing at Hawkeye is that can return books at the end of the semester and get quite a bit of money back. Plus, they have a lot of scholarships listed on their web page for students to apply for. I actually got a full ride here because I was the top of my class, so that was nice.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved it here. All the buildings are in one big circle, so not very spread out, so easy to run into friends in different majors. Campus is pretty small and class sizes are small, which I like. There were also a lot of events/activities throughout the week held on campus and there were many clubs/organizations that students could get involved in. I was involved in the Student Senate, Student Ambassadors, Hawkeye Activities Team, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Education Club, Multicultural Club, Latino Club, and cross country club. I also tutored in the TRIO program; it was a great place to build leadership, professional, and academic skills.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot in my history classes, Russian civilization, coaching classes, math, science, and educational classes. Each of my classes were beneficial to me and I learned a lot. I would say that none of my classes were a waste of time.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students with jobs students with apartments very busy students

    In three sentences

    it is a great school that is flexible with my schedule and the professors are good with me. i can do work and school without feeling over-stressed. everyone has their own individuality unlike universities.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, athletics, golf, gym

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people if you have questions.

    In three sentences

    My program advisor is great. Classrooms are easy to find. Teachers are great.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers are always on hand if you need any assistance.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities. Ranging from weight lifting competitions to music, to running.

    Great for these types of students

    None.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    With tuition's cost raising every year. no student will be getting there money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There is a health center where students can go to work out. There is also a student center where students can go to relax or surf the Internet and eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. pretty pricey in my book.

    Dorm Life

    It's college, what can I say.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are pretty tough, but the teachers will help you out if you need assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind on any career choice you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    Great school with many career opportunities!

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems like a safe place. It's kinda out away from town. I would rate it an A+

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots and lots of clubs to join!! Very interesting! I would give them an A+

    What to do for fun

    Constantly have things going on daily!!

    Food and Dining

    They have excellent food cards and prices. I would give them an A+

    Academic Rigor

    I would give Hawkeye Community College a A+

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a community college check out Hawkeye!!

    In three sentences

    So far I think it is a great school., I love the atmosphere and after one week of school it seems like we have very caring teachers that want to help you succeed

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at school, and the head of campus security was one of my teachers, and I would never mess with him!

    Clubs and Activities

    Hawkeye CC has a lot of clubs such as soccer, dance team, student senate, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who do not know what they are interested in doing, and those who did not do as well in high school and are trying to work on their study habits.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college is great, especially if you don't know what you want to do. The price is great! I decided to take 2 classes each semester instead of 4 so that I could just pay for it myself, rather than getting a loan and having to pay interest.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of restaurants and pubs near by along with a big shopping mall, a bowling alley, and a ton of bike trails that go to many different surrounding towns with beautiful views that many people don't know exist.

    Food and Dining

    I only went to the cafeteria a couple of times, but the set up is nice and there is always something going on like a Family Guy marathon or Guitar Hero.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, just apartments which I did not live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class every time and make sure you are reading the text books that you pay so much money for because not all test questions come from lectures.

    In three sentences

    The small classes allow students to really get to know there teachers and the teachers there students. The campus is just the right size, and it is easy to get around to each class. I am very happy with my education that I received for half the price of a university!

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security and if you lock your keys in the car they will get them for you for FREE! And if your car has trouble they'll try to help you.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life for second year students with a gpa of 3.5 or better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many activities available the students can participate in any whenever they want and however many then want.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for any students! They care about your disabilities and helping you get grades with or without them. There are four year students here, as well as two year. I am glad i go here because they are so flexible!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many activities! And they are free, there's glow in the dark volleyball tournaments and all kinds of events.

    Bang for the buck

    The fee isn't bad at all and if you want to learn, you can ask any instructor and they GO OUT OF THEIR way to help! I love the change from high school. It makes me want to go here next year.

    What to do for fun

    I really love the activities!!! We have so many available! There is free bowling, free group fitness classe, free contests for the whole month. It surprised me when i started here, because i thought it would be dull. But it's honestly really itneresting and fun, i love it so much!

    Food and Dining

    The food comes in varieties but it can be cold sometimes. Other than that i think the different types of food make it open for students to experience more tastes. I only go if i am really hungry and can't go through class without eating.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms but from what i am told it is very good except for the neighbors. Sometimes it gest loud and it's easy to get distracted from your school work. The library is across the streeet so it is very beneficial and the dorms are near by so it is easy to do your work.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are really understanding if you have circumstances that make you fall behind. If you work hard and push yourself you can get scholarships. The advisers have different ways for you to improve your grades and the studying is very time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all the majors and make sure you really want to study what you are getting into. Don't be afraid to try out new courses and experiment so you expand your knowledge. Keep on task and push yourself to study more than your used to so you can get a better grade, it really does pay off!

    In three sentences

    The teachers help students and care about you succeeding. If you work hard, so will they to help you achieve what you want. This is a great school and is very supportive in striving to help it's students!

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hawkeye Campus Safety is 24 hours a day 7 days a weeks. Here are the security measures they provide. -locking and unlocking buildings -random and preventive patrols of campus escorts -enforcement of college regulations -enforcing college parking regulations -medical emergency response -emergency message delivery

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities at Hawkeye to chose from. You can check them all out that the link below. http://www.hawkeyecollege.edu/students/get-involved/clubs.aspx

    Great for these types of students

    Hawkeye Community College is great for students who don't mind a slower passe, plenty of open scenery, and want to further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Is it Band for your buck? That all depends on you. I know for me, I'm finding it out that its not, but that's because I have to pay for housing.

    What to do for fun

    Hawkeye is always trying to keep the student involved through events they hold. They will throw monthly events and will have prizes like groceries, which is amazing for a starving college student. If your willing to drive or hop on a bus you could go to the mall, or go downtown to where there are a few shops and restaurants you could go to. Waterloo, IA is a pretty small town. Its slowly growing out of it farm town roots, but its still slow going here.

    Food and Dining

    The only food offered on campus is in the cafeteria. Its alright food, but overpriced. The closest fast food or even Wal-mart. Is at Crossroads. Its also where their mall is. Its about a 10min drive form the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I happened to pick the Hawkeye Towers for my dorm. The Towers are a great place to live. The lease is for a year. You can live there for the summer if you wanted to and you can renew your lease. The rent as of right now (October 2012) is $385 with a $200 deposit when you first move in. Its not really a dorm if you think about it. Its more of an Apt complex. Your dorm is shared between 4 people. You get your own room that is 10x9. There are 2 bathrooms. 2 in each. The kitchen is fully functional. Its comes with a refrigerator, microwave, oven, and a dishwasher. The freezer is a little small. So you will have figure out spacing details with your roommates. The walls are a bit thin so if your neighbors are making really lowed noises you may here them. But otherwise not a bad place to live. The people working in the office are friendly and always willing to help.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes themselves are not to difficult. The only issue I've encountered is having a few teachers who have never taught a college course before. Their hearts are in the right place but it feels like guess work in the beginning.

    Tips for prospective students

    The CC is in the middle of nowhere. Its surrounded by corn and soy bean fields. So there isn't much to do in between classes if you have a huge hour gap. So if you can, plan your classes pretty close together to save yourself some frustration. If your driving get there early. you want to make sure you have a parking spot. The spaces start to show later on in the day, but in the morning its jammed packed. There also isn't a huge choices in elective classes. Hawkeye says they have the class but then they don't offer it. So it may be hard to get your elective credits done.

    In three sentences

    Hawkeye Community College has a fairly nice campus. The teachers are great and the people friendly. The classes are nicely sized, not to many people.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always there when you need them. They have unlocked my car in blizzards before. They're a great staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was a member of the criminal justice club. It was a great chance to learn about things outside.

    What to do for fun

    The Brock Student Center is a great place to go for fun. Every month they have Wii tournaments, bike powered blenders that make smoothies and everyday you can play pool or study and just relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of affordable restaurants inside town.

    Dorm Life

    I prefer to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Hawkeye has very good instructors that have hands on experience. That experience really helps to show you what you are getting into.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Good Security on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a lot clubs on campus. One of the new clubs this coming school year is the Glee Club or Choir Club. More information available on the college's website: HawkeyeCollege.edu

    Great for these types of students

    I would say this college is really great for students who just coming back to school after being away for along time. There are many opporunities on campus to help these students with academic support that may needed it when they first return to the classroom for first time in years.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, if you looking at transferring to a four college. But, other community colleges within a hundred miles radius offer better tuition rates but limited major opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There is variety clubs on campus. Hawkeye has a fitness center on campus seven days a week and does offer certain activities throughout the school year for both student's and their families.

    Food and Dining

    Very little dining opportunities on campus. Although, food is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    I would said it depends on the instructor and subject that is being taught. Some explain the subject matter way too easy for those had previous academic . Other instructors (again depending on the subject matter), explain to way to hard. Which I believe causes students to give up or end up taken course again at a different school or other instructor from the college itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students check out their perspective programs carefully; especially those who are planning going into nursing or health related fields. I said this because healthcare has greatly change and what is binging taught is not what currently being used in the healthcare field.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Hawkeye Community College: One, factually friendless and approachability 10 out of 10. Second Cost: 7.5 out of 10, and programs offer 8 out of 10. All rates baste out of 10

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hawkeye seems like a safe and secure campus to me. Every time I've been on campus, whether it be to buy a book, orientation, or to visit the business office, I've always seen campus security officers patrolling.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with sororities and fraternities available at Hawkeye yet. I never got involved with one at my last college just because of the expense, although I can see the benefits of being a part of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    On Hawkeye's website I noticed opportunities for many clubs and activities. There are many clubs associated with various majors and then there are more recreational clubs available as well such as soccer club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Hawkeye is great for students who are dedicated. College isn't all about what grades you earned in high school, although a lot of times your high school grades serve as a good predictor of your college grades. If you are dedicated to learning and take your classes seriously, you will succeed. I know that from 4 years of experience as a student at the University of Northern Iowa.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't had a lot of experience with student life at Hawkeye yet because I have only taken a couple online classes from Hawekey this summer. This semester I will have the opportunity to delve into all that fun stuff with my traditional classroom environments.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Hawkeye is an institution of quality. I'm starting the nursing program this fall and am proud to be earning my degree at Hawkeye because they are ranked among the top 4 nursing programs in Iowa. I feel comfortable spending my money on tuition at Hawkeye because I am confident they will provide me with the skills and knowlege I'll need in the field of nursing.

    What to do for fun

    I'm most excited about the great work out center Hawkeye has to offer. I enjoy working out and am ready to get started using their equipment that is free to all of its students. However, there are many clubs and organizations to be a part of as well that I have noticed on Hawkeye's website.

    Food and Dining

    I've only seen pictures of the dining center at Hawkeye from powerpoints shown at orientation. It wasn't anything big or spectacular and I haven't tried the food, but it looked like it was accommodating for such a small school and campus.

    Dorm Life

    Hawkeye doesn't necessarily have dorms. They offer apartment buildings which are called the Hawkeye Towers. I haven't lived in them myself, but I've had friends that lived there and they seemed to like it. The towers are right across the street from campus and offer several beneficial ammenities to its tenants.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've taken this summer have been fairly easy for me. However, they were just general education courses I took as electives in oreder to complete my Bachelor's degree at different school. I'm sure my nursing classes at Hawekey will be much more challenging than the electives, but I'm a good student and am up for the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions. There are no stupid questions and if something is unclear to you, make sure you ask! There are so many helpful staff members at Hawkeye who are knowlegeable and willing to help you figure anything out.

    In three sentences

    I have taken a couple summer classes at Hawkeye to complete my BA degeree at UNI and so far they have been wonderful about helping me get registered for classes and making sure I'm informed. I've been so impressed with the registration staff at Hawkeye. They've been so accommodating at getting me accepted and making the transition from a four-year school to community college.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel the campus is very safe, because there are always people around. Also if you ever feel uncomfortable or unsafe you can call Hawkeye Safety and they will walk you to your car or help you with any little need you need for free.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a student ambassador and that is a great way to get involved and make friends. They also have dance team, cross country, and soccer. The Brock Student Center always has activities going on there also.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like that Hawkeye has a farm for the students that are going into veterinary programs and they have lots of hands on classrooms for students who are going into collision repair and all kinds of different programs.

    What to do for fun

    I am a student ambassador and that is one way I really get involved, make friends, and have lots of fun. I also go shopping, to movies, and the waterpark. There is plenty do do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    I live at home and my mom cooks for me most of the time, but when I'm on campus I go to the Brock Student Center to eat and I honestly love the food.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, I love home cooked meals and Hawkeye isn't that far of a drive for me.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics here are amazing. There are small class sizes and the teachers really take the time to help and care for you. I have never had a problem with not being able to talk with a teacher about a concern I have. They are always helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether getting your full degree at Hawkeye or you're just getting started I recommend going to Hawkeye. It is a great school and has a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    Hawkeye Community College is an amazing school with small class sizes, helpful staff, and wonderful student life. I wouldn't want to start my college career off anywhere else. I love Hawkeye for everything they have to offer for my education and keeping me active.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is alot of securty on campus. There is cameras in the buildings.

    Greek Life

    Hawkeye Community College has Alpha and Beta familys.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is three sports anyone can join like cross-country, dance team, and soccer. There is a honors club, spanish club and many more. They also have movie night you can go to and watch.

    Great for these types of students

    The buildings are in one area and easy to walk to class, bus stops, and air-conditioned classrooms.

    What to do for fun

    You can join some sport clubs like cross-country, soccer, and dance team. Hanh out with friends at the lunch room, library, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is lots of room for everyone to sit and enjoy their food. The lunchroom has tvs to watch.

    Dorm Life

    They have apartments that you can rent by yourself or share with a roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have good food, activities, clubs, and tutors to help you with your homework.

    In three sentences

    Hawkeye Community College has wonderful teachers that would help you with your homework and have tutors that can help you with math, science, study skills for tests and quizes. This college even has activities for everyone to join and have fun. They also have a sports center or exercising building that has an indoor/outdoor track, weight room, and an xbox 360.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great security system that is right on top of things whenever something needs to be handled, whether its an emergency or an disturbance.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in any of this due to the fact that I am a full-time student with a full load of classes. I use my time wisely and use this towards my classes.

    What to do for fun

    I don't have time for fun. When I'm not at school, I am home apending time with my children.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let anything or anyone distract you for what you want in the life. Believe in yourself and with that, you can do anything. Keep your head up and have faith in yourself.

    In three sentences

    Hawkeye has a very good student/instructor relationship. Hawkeye is also at the top list for one of the cheapest colleges in the state of Iowa. Hawkeye is a college where you would get hand on experience in whatever career/program you chose.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and organizations that you can join. There are always events going on and there are calenders everywhere with when and where the events are going on. You can also sign up for texts that tell you what's going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced, but I think food is overpriced anywhere. Lots of options and plenty of dining room.

    Dorm Life

    Hawkeye doesn't have dorms, but there are apartment building across the street. Also students that are attending Hawkeye can live in the University of Northern Iowa dorms and get the full college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very difficult. It's nicknamed Hawkeye High, so it's about as difficult as a high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's always way colder and more windy out there than in town, so make sure you're dressed accordingly!

    In three sentences

    The campus is arranged well so it's easy to find all of the buildings. Nice student center that is fun to hang out in during free time. Plenty of opportunities for help if needed.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am always seeing Campus Security rolling around in the parking lot! It's good to know someone has a watchful eye at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be something for everyone here!

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable for the typical college student--or a single mom like myself! There is truly an option for everyone here.

    What to do for fun

    Lost Island waterpark and The Isle of Capri Casino are within a mile of campus. Waterloo also offers a shopping mall and movie theater, a great selection of gyms and dance studios, minor league Bucks Baseball games take place downtown at Riverfront Stadium and the Black Hawks hockey team at the Young Arena. Tons of different activities, museums, Waterloo Center of Arts, the list goes on and on. I've lived in town my entire life and am still discovering new things to do!

    Food and Dining

    Great amount of options within 10-15 minutes! There is always something new opening up nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced the living quarters but have heard good things! I myself live in Waterloo about 10 minutes from campus. Great neighborhoods nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently enrolled in the Practical Nursing program. The material is difficult, but as it should be! The teaching staff takes the sting away from the intense coursework and offers a helping hand to each of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to check out everything Hawkeye has to offer along with the surrounding attractions!

    In three sentences

    HCC has a great small-town feeling with the resources of a large city. It offers top of the line training in many specialty areas with the advantage of small class sizes and great student to teacher ratios. A great place to learn while enjoying the college experience!

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. Conduct drills every semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type, young and older alike!

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. Perfect option to save money taking general education classes before transferring to a more expensive university.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs you can join and can conduct tours for new incoming students.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food, but not that cheap (averaged priced)

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so really can't rate dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Not at all that stressful, but depends on the classes you take and on if you do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some/most teachers stress attendance a lot, so be there and be on time! Do the work and classes will be a breeze. If you need help and are struggling, there are plenty of people to help you.

    In three sentences

    Hawkeye Community College is a very nice college for students to get acclimated to new college life. Teachers are personable, classes are small (20 students average), courses aren't too rigorous (but depends on classes taken), and very much affordable. This school is perfect for students planning to take general education courses and transfer to a university and older non-traditional students alike.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The teachers at Hawkeye Community College are so personable and friendly! The Tutors and rest of the staff in the Library are always very helpful! The class sizes are perfect for someone just starting College, and maybe doesn't know what they want to do yet!

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The cooks here are perfect and have fun at what they do. You will never go hungry at hawkeye.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm llife at hawkeye is quite interesting. The dorms across the street are constantly parties and fights. If you live with new people it wont be so bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Hawkeye Community College is known for easy programs. It is also know for simple classes. Overall you get what you need to transfer but otherwise this is not a school to stay at.