Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Heidelberg University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music! We have a great reputation and Dr. Cook, our concert choir director loves music more than anything! If you join our music department, I swear you won't regret it. P.S. Our theatre department isn't anything to sniff at either!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has a lot of squirrels. If you are afraid of squirrels, look elsewhere. However, the buildings have alot of character and there are tons of computer labs! This really is a good school!

    Bang for the buck

    Heidelberg is expensive. Very expensive. But let me convince you that you can afford it. Heidelberg gives out huge scholarships for academics, as well as athletics and participation in the music department (you don't even have to be a music major, and you can get a scholarship to be in choir!) Also, Heidelberg works really hard to ensure you are getting your money's worth. We are currently constructing a new building for our new business and administration department! Those majors are expected to go through the roof, and the new rooms should be state-of-the-art!

    Am enjoying being here

    Like any person away from home, I miss my family a lot. I didn't think I would when I enrolled here, but sometimes I just want to go home. However, Heidelberg really is like a family, especially the music department. You will find people here who will blow your mind! Altogether, you will love it here, but you'll still look forward to the holidays.

    Am learning a lot

    I attend Heidelberg University's music program. I've at least doubled my knowledge about music, and I've only been here a semester! You will definitely learn, and the work is challenging but not difficult. I really think you will enjoy going here.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy waking up to a beautiful place and the small, home town feeling of a place should go here. Everyone on campus is friendly and wants to make you feel at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a school with a few majors you think you would enjoy. When you find schools with the academics you like, note the size and try to observe the people you will be around. The environment and the people are what make your college experience enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of this school is great- admissions grants a lot of aid and if you work hard throughout your senior year they will be impressed and you'll have great opportunities to receive scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is beautiful year-round. The people are friendly and always willing to lend a hand- I know so many students on campus because of the small size of the school. So many opportunities to get involved in Greek Life, athletics, honors programs, and just about anything you could imagine! If you want a small, home town feel, then Heidelberg is your place!

    Am learning a lot

    The programs here are moderately challenging. Purpose with distinction is the school motto and it explains a lot about the university from an academic standpoint. If you apply yourself and study, you will be successful and opportunity will come your way. I love my professors and have learned so much during my first semester at the Berg!

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for outgoing, personable, sociable students, but if you 're not, don't worry! Not many are upon entering, but Heidelberg's atmosphere brings out the socialite in them! The first few days I went there, an upperclassman told me that In order to go to Heidelberg, you have to be a little weird or crazy, and it's true.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are at least a hundred different clubs and organizations to join, so make sure you don't join to many at once. Don't overwhelm yourself your first semester: start out slow. Don't be afraid to contact your professors, or even a student tutor, if you need help: they are more than willing to assist you with any problem. If you have a question for a member of the faculty but can't contact them, Email them. The faculty check their email twice or more in one day.

    Bang for the buck

    It really is an expensive college-$33,000 a year for in-state students. But hey, it is a private college so of course it's going to be more expensive. If you have good grades, and do exceptionally well on the ACT, you automatically qualify for the $12,000 presidential scholarship. So even though it's expensive, if you add all of the scholarships it's just like going to a public college with the benefits of a private college.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you enjoy small-town colleges, and just love the feeling of a small, homey college, this is the right place for you. It really is a beautiful campus, and the three-story library was definitely a plus for me! The security is really tight, which is VERY good if you want to go to college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are small classes that get you that one-on-one personal time with the professor that will help boost learning for you, and there are such a wide range of classes that you are bound to broaden your horizons on something. Heidelberg offers a wide variety of general education classes that helps its students live a life of purpose with distinction.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Heidelberg has a little bit of everything, the music department is fabulous, some of the faculty are breathe taking to listen to, and the students are also so very talented. In the business department a new building has been revamped and dedicated to business studies. Across the way in the science building the biology department has some of the best classes to prepare students for medical school as well other science related fields. All around Heidelberg has very dedicated professors who make the departments outstanding for any student in any major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Heidelberg is a very close knit kind of school, students leave their doors open, or just hang out in the halls. So don't be afraid to just come up and chat with people, you never know the kind of amazing people you might meet just by sitting down and joining a conversation. There is always time to have fun and get work done to, BEC and other groups on campus provide entertainment and social gatherings to help new students fin where they want to fit into campus. Take a chance and go see some comedian on campus, it is always a blast and all sorts of cool people will be there to hang out with.

    Bang for the buck

    While attending Heidelberg is expensive there are so many ways to lighten the burden on your family. The amount of money that the school gives to students covers a large portion of the costs for many students. There are also many scholarships given out by the respective departments for students. A final way to help offset the cost are jobs on campus. Every building has jobs that students are able to apply for, some students even have two or three jobs on campus. With all of these options and the kind of attention you receive at Heidelberg, it is definitely worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wasn't even looking at Heidelberg University until I drove through it by accident having gotten lost on the way to Akron. When I saw the campus I knew that this was the place for me. It was almost like love at first sight, the feeling I got just being on the campus was so strong. Now having spent 3 years here I still get that feeling when I come back. Heidelberg has become home for me, the people you meet and the experiences you have are phenomenal. The dance team has become a large part of my life, but there are groups for every type of person on this campus, and none are closed off or uninviting. Heidelberg is like a big family.

    Am learning a lot

    While in high school I worked very had and took several AP courses. While that gave me an edge coming into college, I have still learned far more than I thought I would. The trick is that the professors have a way of making the material work for everyone in the class, whether you learn things very quickly or if you need just a little extra time Heidelberg has a way of giving everyone the chance to shine.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. people can just leave there laptops on a table and it will be there when you come back. because it is a small school you know most everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there clubs at heidelberg take pride in their groups and go to a lot of effort to have fun activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    because it is a small town and a small school, it is better for people who are there for the academics. however, there are all kinds of people at heidelberg from all over the us and the world.

    Bang for the buck

    the quality attention you get from your professors is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    there is many campus event. there is greek life, and other social events for those who want to participate. there is also some restaurants and a movie theater five minutes from the school.

    Food and Dining

    new cafe that was put in that also includes a bar.

    Dorm Life

    like anything it depends on the type of person you are. there was just new dorm built that is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the professor and the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    heidelberg has certain programs that are really excellent. if you decide to do one of them actually put the effort into it. it isn't high school you are working towards your future.

    In three sentences

    heidelberg is a small school with a lot of opportunities. the professors are there to help you succeed, and will do anything to help you.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a fantastic number of clubs on campus, and it is very easy to start your own if you don't see one you want! I also mentioned this earlier, but this campus is very friendly to those students who are interested in studying abroad at some point during their college career - I did, and I loved it!

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely better for those who are more focused on academics rather than partying (not to say it doesn't happen, because it does), and those who prefer smaller, more intimate classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    T-Bridge... I say no more! I'm also sure the fraternities and sororities have their own closely-guarded traditions.

    What to do for fun

    In Tiffin, not much. There are some bars/clubs, if that's your thing, and a movie theater, but we're in the middle of a cornfield... options are limited, to say the least. However, about 30 minutes away there's a larger city with a mall, restaurants, and even a great antiques shop if that's your thing.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall leaves a bit to be desired, particularly if you're a vegetarian, but there is a fantastic pub on campus - and yes, pub. We are not a dry campus, despite our UCC affiliation!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, who could love a dorm? =) But there are fantastic buildings for upperclassmen, a new building for sophomores, and an all-girls dorm for those who don't want to room near the men!

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it depends on the program/major, and clearly it depends on the professor, but all in all I find the academics to be worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be clear on what you want to do. Since the campus is small and private, opportunities for the more obscure specialties are not necessarily available.

    In three sentences

    Warm, inclusive environment with friendly faculty. Fantastic opportunities for abroad studies. Size is just perfect - not so large that you feel overwhelmed, but not so small that you feel like you haven't left high school either!

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food on campus is above average always available. cafe on campus makes eating with friends even more enjoyable. restaurants in town are close and cheap for late night food.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very safe and sanitary for the perfect college life. fellow students are very friendly and easy to make friends. overall life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are very challenging and provide for a bright future. professors are very knowledgeable and ready to help. classes are small in size which leads to one on one time with professors.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    KAPPA PSI OMEGA!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    T-Bridge and more breaks than any other school I know.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of pricey but well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you could possibly think of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard and get all the scholarships you can.

    In three sentences

    I love Heidelberg, the people, faculty and the atmosphere. It's small feel gives you a warm and inviting place to focus on academics while still having fun. I would recommend it to anyone who asked.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heidelberg has campus security throughout the day and night. You see them driving around it really gives a lot of security to all of the students.

    Greek Life

    I am actually going to work hard to go Greek this year. You get to participate in so many things by going Greek. You do a lot of community services and you get such a wonderful experience by making brothers and/or sisters during your college years.

    Clubs and Activities

    Heidelberg has choir, band, athletics, fraternities, sororities, and clubs! There are countless activities to pick from.

    Bang for the buck

    On Heidelberg's campus you feel welcomed and you also feel like you belong. The students that I have had the chance to talk to are honest and very wise. I know I made the right decision by picking Heidelberg. The price is very high but you cannot get this feeling from other colleges you get so many scholarships and opportunities to bring down the price of this college.

    What to do for fun

    On Heidelberg's campus you can go to the University Commons to just hangout and have fun or some dorm buildings have pool tables and different things to keep you busy. Heidelberg is what you make of it there are things to enjoy everywhere you go on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Heidelberg is amazing and healthy! Most schools just make anything to get by from I have experienced but Heidelberg's food is good and healthy they also have a salad bar and places to eat on campus so you have plenty of places to choose from when you are ready to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am actually commuting but for orientation all new students were required to sleep in a dorm and I now wish I was staying on campus making friends and staying up and talking and having fun telling stories and then waking up in the morning and going to breakfast together was an amazing experience!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended any classes yet but Heidelberg has plenty of classes available to fit your career to a T.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit this school look at their majors and minors, be active in all the things that Heidelberg has to offer! There are so many clubs and athletics that you can participate in, don't be shy talk to people and make friends!

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg is all about the students, every faculty member you pass has a smile on their face. The students are wise and very informative and willing to answer questions that you have. Heidelberg is community oriented with a broad select of majors to choose from.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Heidelberg's campus security is made available at all times for the students' safety. Along with campus security, the Tiffin police department is there to handle the more alarming issues within and surrounding the university.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororities on campus have no national affiliations to other fraternities or sororities, but they do provide a strong sense of unity to the students involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs available on campus that provide many different activities throughout the academic year. If there is not a club for a person, the resources are available for he or she to create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Heidelberg University is a great place for a student wanting to go to a small school with big opportunity. An athlete looking to play at the next level while pursuing a college degree, a student who enjoys the fine arts, or one looking for a college education with minimal negative distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The university's rich German tradition and affiliation with the Heidelberg University in Germany, allows for a convenient study abroad program to a familiar name in a foreign country.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a private, liberal arts university means paying a high tuition. Though, looking beyond the dollar signs, a smaller schools brings a comfortability unmatched by a crowded state school. At Heidelberg, students get to know their professors on levels beyond letter grades. Tight bonds are formed with teammates and classmates that will last a lifetime. You get what you pay for at the Berg, a great education and a great time.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus at the Berg, varsity athletics play a huge role in most of the student's lives. With over fifty percent of the students on campus participating in varsity athletics, hanging out with teammates and other teams is always a good time. For all students, Greek Life is a great way to feel a part of something important. The nightlife at Heidelberg comprises mainly of the bar scene, fraternity or sorority houses, and varsity team houses. One of the three are always happening on the weekends and usually during the week. All of which provide one with a good time. There is not much to do in the city of Tiffin , but Findlay makes up for it with a short drive to a much bigger city.

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining hall is subpar, but it is not unbearable. The hot lunch line is hit and miss with enjoyable food, but thankfully, the pizza is always a safe bet for a decent meal. For breakfast, most students look forward to bacon and fried egg days, but cereal is always a solid fall back. The popular station for lunch is the sandwich line or as previously mentioned, pizza. The hot lunch line usually has one or two good food items for dinner. Unfortunately, healthy food options are not always available. Off campus dining is also below average in the city of Tiffin, providing mainly the basic fast food chains.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Heidelberg University is above average. Besides King Hall, all of the dorms are air conditioned and provide adequate living space with sanitary community and private restrooms. Along with the older residence halls, the year old dorm that is connected to the campus pub, is a sought after living spot on campus. Reasonable Residence Administrators control loud and obnoxious behavior, without taking all of the fun away. All of the dorms are co-ed besides the one all female hall and the one all male hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Heidelberg University is challenging but not overwhelmingly so. Professors on campus provide more than reasonable office hours to answer any questions regarding their course. Also, at a private university, you are not just a number. Professors know you by name, and they work to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for a prospective student at Heidelberg University is to come in with an open mind. Do not be quick to the judge the small school atmosphere, rather embrace it. Enjoy the comfortable, high school feel that allows for a quick transition from living at home to living on one's own. Most importantly, get involved. Involvement in athletics, clubs, and greek life will quickly earn you new friends and further transform oneself as a productive member of society.

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg University provides a great family atmosphere in the classroom, on the athletic fields, and through the arts. The university provides its students with more than adequate academic and athletic facilities to excel on and off the field. If there is not a club or team one is interested in, one has the opportunity to create their own.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always call security, we have the blue lights, and always walk with a friend if you're afraid of walking alone.

    Greek Life

    We have 5 fraternities and 4 sororities. We're local so our dues are lower than many other Greeks. They're all different from each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs that you'll have no trouble finding one for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Music, Psychology, Business, Theatre, and Education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    T-bridge (tradition), Founders Hall Basement (location), and France Hall (location). That's all I can say on these.

    Bang for the buck

    You get out of it what you put into it. If you strive to do your best in everything, then Heidelberg is definitely worth it. However, if you slack off a lot, then you should probably go somewhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with various groups on campus. We are in a smaller town so we tend to make up our own fun. Heidelberg does bring in some people such as comedians and magicians, etc., but the rest of the time, you're on your own.

    Food and Dining

    You'll want to pack a lot of snack food with you. The dining hall leaves you wanting more food (or just good food) and the cafe starts to get a bit pricey after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others. Houses are your best friend.

    Academic Rigor

    This is depending on which program you enter and how many classes you put on your plate. Each program demands the best of its students because, oh hey, we're the ones who will have to use our knowledge to go out and get good paying jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a ton of scholarships! Paying for Heidelberg can be a little tough on your parents/guardians, so always look for scholarships. I suggest coming for a visit and ask to sit in on a class while you're here, the professors are fun to be around!

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg has a lovely campus and fantastic academic programs. Their Honors Program helps prepare students for the grown up world and gives students a chance to give back to the community. There are many groups that students can join and you meet new friends that way.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been to a few other colleges and none of them make me feel as safe as Heidelberg does. Campus is kind of sectioned off from the rest of the community, and also there are Blue Lights all over that you can call security with if you ever do feel unsafe on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I know that it is expensive, but your not paying to just sit in a boring lecture hall all day. You get to go out into the world and get real life experience, and maybe even go abroad for a summer.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and also a little on campus restaurant called the Fire Side Cafe. If you ever get tired of eating on campus though, there are a ton of really great places to eat in town; most offer some sort of student discounts too!

    Dorm Life

    I'm pretty sure that all the dorms are co-ed except for the one all girls hall. That dorm, and one other do not have air conditioning but they are older than the other dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and faculty make it very clear that they want to do everything they can to ensure that you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit as many times as you can. Get a chance to talk with professors and especially students. I think when it comes down to deciding between two colleges, it is important to find out what student life is like out side of classes.

    In three sentences

    Love at first post card. I knew that when I got my first little post card in the mail from Heidelberg, that this was the school that I have to go to!

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of vegetarian options!

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Great way to meet and make great relationships. All Greek societies meet and plan events together.

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse students will flourish.

    What to do for fun

    Stay involved in campus activities. Visit local and surrounding colleges. Go to bar functions.

    Food and Dining

    There is a new food restaurant on-campus and many less than two miles drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all financial aid in order.

    In three sentences

    This campus is very small but safe and fun. There are many close and personal relationships within students, faculty, administrators, and staff. Has one of the best education program.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is very safe, and has a good alert system. You will receive texts, phone calls, and emails alerting you of any potential threats on campus. If you have any problems you will find phones around campus allowing you to alert for help.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek life options and events that you can become a part of. The organizations are not nationally recognized but they are very involved and help people around the small campus get to know more groups. The Greek life groups are always easily spotted around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different things to get involved in and to do if you look for them. They might be hard to find at first but once found they are easy to join and become a member.

    Great for these types of students

    Heidelberg is great for student athletes and a big majority of the students on campus are involved in sports one way or another.

    Food and Dining

    The food options they have come in 3 plans. Each plan has 2 parts that you have to look at which are the dining plans in the café and in the main dining hall. The food is okay in the dining hall but after a while the food gets old as there is not much variation in the menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and they have new dorms that have lots of space and are very clean. The down fall of the new dorms is sound travels very easily. Some of the old dorms are not as clean but have different layouts and they are all dependent on the style of living you want.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for very challenging and time consuming classes then there is a few that you can take. But for the most part the classes donâ??t require much out of classes work if you plan to get by. But to maintain very good grades some out of class work and reading will be required.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Talent competitions, wii nights, carnival type deals, greek rush events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    First come, better serve. I've never gone and left complaining that there was nothing good to eat. If the main entree isn't exactly your dig, there are more options, and even across the street a pub that has consistently good food.

    Dorm Life

    You can easily come to call your cliche little cell home. Whether you are a resident or a commuter, there are certainly things posted about fun events.

    Academic Rigor

    You get in what you put out plain and simple. If you slack and barely show up for class your grades and relationships with your professors will reflect as such. Go to class, pay attention, DO THE READING, and I promise the semester will flow so easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Call home. Get sleep. Go to class, skipping is not your worst enemy, but also not your best friend.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is broad and flexible. It is impossible to NOT be involved at Heidelberg. Heidelberg University is the best choice I have ever made.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is totally safe. The buildings are close together so you don't have to worry about crossing so many roads. As long as you know when to cross the road you're fine

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs around campus. I'm not familiar with a lot but all the clubs get together to make friends, improve social skills and to plan activities on campus. I see a lot of activities going on around campus everyday

    What to do for fun

    At Heidelberg, its never boring. If you say you're bored, you brought that unto yourself. There's always something going on at Heidelberg.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own lunch because I commute but I had their food once and I liked it. The dinning room is beautiful and really big.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I'm a commuter so I don't really know how the dorm life is like. I would imagine that its fun and awesome. I hear people who live in dorms say that they participate in a lot of events around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    At Heidelberg, professors are willing to help students out only if they ask. If you have an emergency for some reason and you tell them you won't be in class a certain day they will understand and sometimes will you give you the assignment if you email them

    Tips for prospective students

    For future Heidelberg students, I would suggest you to try your best and always ask questions when needed. If your professor tells you his or her office hours, take advantage of that time to go get some one-on-one help. Professors are always there to help. Stay focused on your work and don't put homework off until the last minute. The faster you get it done the easier college will get.

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg is an amazing college. The environment is gorgeous The professors, students, and faculty are all very nice and get along very well.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    drink

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I love greek life. There are five sororities and five fraternities on campus and the amount of unity we have among the groups is very unique. Administration has stuck their nose into our inner workings and are beginning to mess things up. I hope that we can all make it through their changes in one piece, but I am not sure. I think that greek life is very important to the people who are involved and if it does not survive the support for the school will decline rapidly.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much in Tiffin, Ohio so the things to do for fun are limited. There are the movies, places to go eat, bowling and some bars as well. Some people will go to Findlay which is around 30 minutes away, but has a lot more to do. Most people will go to small parties on campus on the weekends, but the amount of fun a person has is directly correlated with how fun their friends are or are not.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not terrible, but it is also not good. The meals are very repetitive and most of the time there is not healthy options that are good. The meat is normally breaded and/or fried which is not what I want to have twice a day everyday. The other food like fruits and salad are not of the freshest caliber majority of the time. At the cafe and pub the food is better with a little more variety, but it is even more unhealthy. Most of the time if I want a healthy meal I will just eat in my room.

    Dorm Life

    This depends on the actual dorm and the people living there at that time. The more fun and outgoing people that are living there, then the more fun it will be. The majority of the dorms are nice, but they all have their pros and cons. Some are colder than others and some are louder. On average though the facilities are very nice and livable.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is hard, but no harder than anywhere else. Some classes are harder than others because of the nature of the class and some are harder because the professors are hard to follow. However nothing is impossible to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nothing is prefect. The environment here is very friendly and fun, but you make your experience what you want. If you do not go out and make friends you will probably find it miserable and boring here. Go out and make the best of your time here. Also do not slack on school work. The first year is the hardest because you have to get into the grove of things, but do not give up. It is what you make it not matter where you go.

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg is a great school when it comes to feeling welcome and accepted not matter how you act, what you look like or anything of that nature. There are certain things that administration does that makes it seem like they do not care about the student body and how we feel about the situation. I feel like there are improvements that need to be made and not appearance improvements; I am talking about behind the scene improvements.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no incidents regarding suspicious characters or anything (outside of flooding) of that nature.

    Greek Life

    No national chapters.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs appeal to nearly everyone while still fitting niches and more than half of the campus participates in varsity level athletics giving many something in common.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to go to a smaller school and feel like a part of the community will love it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot (Student Princes) is often included in strangest mascots for college sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Between the very respected education administered at Heidelberg and the entire atmosphere, most will love it as a relatively cheap private liberal arts institution.

    What to do for fun

    The number one thing to do for fun would be getting involved. Attending athletic events, some of the numerous speakers, and so on are the largest events on campus and many different groups gravitate towards them. It is also not far from larger schools such as OSU and University of Findlay.

    Food and Dining

    They are moving more and more towards increasing your options and changing food around but meals get old quickly. There is one main cafeteria that the majority of your meals will come from and they are extremely friendly to reusing food. It is most definitely a welcome change if you've lived at home your whole life nonetheless.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life is what is to be expected in a small institution like Heidelberg. As a future RA I believe that the Residence Staff does a very good job of maintaining order and not being an extremely strict force. More so than any other school I've noticed or talked about with someone else, the staff forms a much better relationship with the students.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging enough that students learn and become prepared for their future, however, as I consider myself an above average student, the curve was not as bad as expected. Many could not adjust very quickly and suffered greatly for it. The largest factor in performance is the resources that one takes advantage of and effort put in inside the classroom and outside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to live in a small town and adjust quickly. Don't take too much advantage of your new independence and freedom.

    In three sentences

    Heidelberg has an extremely family-like atmosphere and also does a great job at offering resources. The classes have opened my eyes to a nearly numerous amount of opportunities as well as given me a desire to be educated that I did not have in previous education. The integration of athletics and the staff's drive for success their students is one of my main reasons in attending.