Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Henderson State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe Henderson is great for all types of students. There are people from all over that attend this school. Henderson offers a great variety of things for every type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to look ahead on your specific degree requirements, and always know what classes you have left to take. There are some classes only offered Fall semester, and some only offered Spring. Be sure to know of these, as it could cause difficulties if some of these classes are prerequisites of other required classes. I am a biology major, and have come across this a few times.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for classes aren't near as expensive as other colleges. However, the cost of meal plans are a little much considering the hours of operation. I live in the apartments on campus, and although it is convenient, they are definitely a little pricey.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Henderson. It wasn't my first pick, but I visited the school and loved it. The classroom sizes are great, and I have enjoyed all of the teachers that I have had. There are several things, such as movies and functions, that Henderson offers, which adds to the college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken several classes, and almost every one of them I have learned a lot of new information from. There were only a couple classes that I didn't really retain much, because they seemed to be a review from the college prep classes from high school. Other than that, I have learned a lot!

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Arkadelphia is a small town so there is not much to do. Most students go to DeGray lake in town to hang out. There are beaches at the lake that are open to the public and multiple camp sites. Students usually travel about thirty minutes away to go to Hot Springs to watch movies, play put-put, eat out, shop, or go to the horse races. The best way to have fun in town is to get involved in clubs and organizations on campus. The heart of Henderson is the people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at HSU in known as Caddo. Caddo's food is not my favorite place to eat. The food is alright most of the time. There are quite a few options to choose from, but they could provide more healthy options. They always have pizza, a salad bar, cereal, burgers/hot dogs/ chicken sandwiches, a sandwich bar, a comfort line, and exhibition line. There in and ice cream and desert bar at all times, also. The breakfast that they offer has always been satisfactory. Caddo on the weekends is rarely good and the hours the caddo are open should be extended.

    Dorm Life

    There are two older dorms are campus that hold many students. These two dorms just received new flooring and look much better. These older dorms are known as Newberry and Smith. There are two people to a room in Newberry and Smith and plenty of community showers on all eight floors of the building. The three newer dorms are Sturgis, East, and West. The new dorms are very nice. Sturgis is reserved for Honors College students. It has two people to a room and you will have suite mates and a living room area. East and West have two people to a room and you share a bathroom area with suite mates. There are lobbies and pool table rooms where everyone can hang out in each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the classes ranges. The majority of freshmen level classes tend to be easier than upper level classes. The types of tests given on class depend upon the professor. Tests often use multiple choice questions and open response essays. Many professors will give students research papers or projects to complete throughout the semester. Most of the projects are group projects in class. Henderson offers an Honors College which offers more challenging classes and outside projects. Creativity and flexibility in research are encouraged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should go to class and read the professors syllabi to determine how rigorous classes will be. The best way to enjoy your experience at HSU is to get involved on campus. The school is located in a small town with not much to do, so getting involved keeps students busy. Get to know your professors so that they can write glowing letters of recommendation.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University located in Arkadelphia, Arkansas is a small school. You are not just a face in crowd there. Your professor will know your name and the people on campus are very kind. There are many opportunities to be involved on campus. There are at least ninety-five clubs and organizations on campus. The classes range from easy to challenging depending upon the professor and class level difficulty.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Henderson has it's own police station, and the officers are always very helpful and kind. The crime rate in Arkadelphia is very low. I've never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    There is a prevalent Greek society that has both fall and spring rush.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and an honors society for almost every discipline, and there is also a few over all service and scholarship societies. There are numerous volunteer opportunites and interest clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes, musicians, science scholars, education majors, artists, thespians, and everyone in between. Henderson really is a place that makes everyone feel welcome, and everyone is a part.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The week before homecoming, there are all sorts of traditions! There is a huge bonfire, and one of the fraternities is responsible for the heartbeat of Henderson until the ball is kicked off at the game. They take an old barrel and beat on it non-stop from the time of the bonfire, usually on Thursday evening, until the game. Also, there is the annual Battle of the Ravine, the second longest rivalry in the history of college football, against Ouachita Baptist University. Every year, the entering freshman class take the Heart picture, where all of the incoming students are arranged into a heart wearing their red Reddie shirts. The picture is made into a postcard and mailed to students families.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board is always hosting events such as movies on the Quad on Friday nights, Big Money Bingo, and Iron Chef Henderson. There are always guest speakers, and most of the time you can either catch a planetarium show in Reynolds, the science building, or find a play or recital to go see. Arkadelphia is conveniently located a few miles from the Caddo River and Lake DeGray, where students can go to float the river or hang out at the local beach on a hot day.

    Food and Dining

    The Caddo Cafeteria isn't the best place to eat, but it is mostly due to the current dining environment. However, the ground breaking for the new cafeteria, located closer to the dormitories, is going to make things a lot better! In the cafeteria, there is a salad bar, traditional line, grill works station, pizza line, sandwich line, and theme line, along with a dessert bar and self-serve icecream. Also, there is the option of Caddo To-Go where you can stop in and grab either a sandwich, wrap, or salad, chips, dessert, fruit, and drink to take with you during lunch and dinner. Henderson also has a Quizno's, Java City, and the Reddie Cafe on campus in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    Aside from the older freshman dorms, the co-ed upperclassmen dorms are fairly new buildings with suite-style living. The Honors dorms also have a living area with a microwave and a refrigerator. The Wi-Fi is decent for the most part, and the buildings are usually pretty quiet. All rooms come equipped with a bed, desk, and dresser Also, students have access to a newly built recreational center.

    Academic Rigor

    Henderson is definitely not a walk through the park, but nothing so far has been so difficult that I wanted to change majors or drop out. You definitely have to study as you go along instead of waiting until the night before, but if you keep up with things as you go, you should be fine in any discipline.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get to know your professors. Don't be afraid to go to their office during office hours to ask questions before an exam or when you get stumped on something. Also, try to live on campus your first year, at least. I feel like you get the most out of your college experience when you have such ease of access to technology and study areas.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University provides quality education at a reasonable price. The professors, administrators, and staff are all personable, helpful, and caring. I am fully satisfied with my decision to come to Henderson State University, and I am proud to be a Reddie.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I say that I will enjoy it here because it seems like a great town with great people, also it will be a good opportunity for me because it is not too far from home and I will love the newer enviornment their.

    Will learn a lot

    I have researched on this school a lot, I also looked at the different programs and I really seem to like it. I believe this will be a great school for me.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    At henderson you pay a good amount for your education. There are scholorships to help also.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE MY COLLEGE! I enjoy everyday at Henderson. Even when I go home for breaks i find myself so excited to come home to my dorm room and continue in my education.

    Am learning a lot

    Henderson State University strives for success. As an enrolled student at this school i am constantly push to succeed and excel to new learning heights. The extracurriculars are fun and keep you involved and give plenty of community service hours as well as provide bonding time between you and fellow students. The professors are caring and help in anyway possible. This college also provides an aviation major which is very uncommon.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    This school is so awesome!!!!!!! I can't wait to attend this school because it has a great atmosphere and I can learn a lot!!!!!

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always on call and quick to respond. The policemen are friendly and willing to help in any situation you may have.

    Great for these types of students

    Henderson is best known for their teacher's college. If you want to be a teacher, the program is excellent and this is the school for you.

    What to do for fun

    Arkadelphia is a small town so most of the stuff to do around town is outdoorsy. Most people hang out in the dorms, on campus, or drive thirty minutes to Hot Springs to eat, shop, and go to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not good, but you do get a lot of options, so you can work around the bad stuff. Also, they have a great to go option where you can grab a sandwich and chips to take with you if you don't have time to sit and eat.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are terrible, but the other dorms (East, West, and Sturgis) are very nice. Only issues there are how difficult it is to get maintenance to come fix something.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year classes are fairly easy, but classes get much more difficult as your progress through school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that prospective students know beforehand what major they are interested in, or at least start to plan certain tracks. because Henderson is a liberal arts university, you have to take 30 hours of liberal arts classes, which leaves less time for your major classes. So be prepared!

    In three sentences

    Henderson is a great school because it offers a small-school feel without compromising the educational value. Students get the opportunity to get to know their professors well, as well as to get to know the other students well. There are plenty of on-campus opportunities for people who want to get involved and the classes are small enough that you can receive as much help as you need.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always one call away! Whether you lock your keys in your car or see strange behavior there is always a helping hand. I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek unity is very important here at HSU. Whether you are a member of NPHC or IFC. I am a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc, the first African American sorority of the Divine 9. We exemplify service to our community and campus,

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to be a part of here on campus. I am apart of the Showband of Arkansas, Reddie To Rumble Debate Team, and Henderson TV staff. There is a lot of fun involved but also great experience!

    Great for these types of students

    Henderson is great for all students of any race, religion, age, ect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entire history of HSU is full of traditions, this is what make it The School with a Heart. As a freshman you will go to a Pine Tree Assembly and learn all the stories.

    What to do for fun

    HSU offers so much to do for fun which is all covered in tuition. There is movies out on the lawn, big money bingo with great prizes like TVs and laptops, cultural events, greek events, ect.

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoy the food on campus. There is a variety everyday whether its the pizza line, hamburger line, cold cut line, and hot line. There is also a 24 hr dessert bar and cereal bar. What ever mood you are in, the Caddo serves.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Henderson is average. Maybe I am biased because I have had bad luck with roommates, but Residence Life is willing to help you solve any problems and make you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are first here at Henderson State University. The classrooms are small and instructors know each student on a first name basis. They are also willing to work with you after hours until the job is done!

    Tips for prospective students

    To all prospective students, make your face known on campus with faculty and students. Join as many organizations and clubs as you possibly can. Make the best of all the wonderful things Henderson has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is a great university. The campus and faculty make you feel at home everyday. If I had to go back to senior year in high school and make a college decision again, I would still choose Henderson State University.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    For students that are into the greek there is penalty of greek life and activity at Henderson State University.

    What to do for fun

    There are penalty of things to do its like every other day Henderson has something for the students to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Henderson because they have penalty of things to offer.

    In three sentences

    On ascale from 1-10 I would rate henderson at a 7. They have a good variety of majors for students to choose from and lots of activity for students. The campus life is one of a kind.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My friends and I always go to the Garrison on Fridays where they play different movies. We also attend just about all the on-campus events such as Greek shows, Big Money Bingo, Basketball/Football Games, you name it. Hot Springs and Little Rock is also right around the corner and there's plenty of things to do in those two places.

    Food and Dining

    The main places for dining on campus are: Caddo Cafeteria, also known as The Caddo, Reddie Cafe, and Quizno's. The Caddo isn't that bad, but it can be a little repetitive if you ask me. Not much of a choice where to eat when you're a broke college student lol.

    Dorm Life

    I would have to say nearly all freshmen stay in Newberry or Smith their first year at HSU. However, if you're one of the lucky ones and turn in your housing application early (before November, in my opinion) then you will be placed in the newer dorms, which are East and West Halls. I stayed in Newberry my first year and it wasn't that bad. I met tons of friends while there and if I wouldn't have stayed in Newberry, I wouldn't have met my best friend. It all depends on your preferences. Several of my friends stay in Whispering Oaks, the on-campus apartments. If you have a lot in refund, I would definitely recommend them.

    Academic Rigor

    No one spoon-feeds you here. It's up to you to grasp the material or get help understanding it. That's what a lot of people fail to understand, especially first-time freshmen. College is no walk in the park; it takes hard-work and dedication and if you do not possess one or the other, it's going to be hard to pass all of your classes! All professors have office hours in which you can drop in and get help on assignments or just to simply discuss important things with your professor. Study, study, study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Please, apply for HOUSING and SCHOLARSHIPS as early as possible. The earlier you apply, you have a better chance of getting into the newer dorms and also first dibs on scholarship money! Also, take your ACT as many times as possible! Don't wait until your senior year to start taking them! Start your junior year, or better yet, your sophomore year and get the best score possible! The higher your ACT, the higher amount of scholarship money you will receive!

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is a terrific place to call home. There's always something to do on campus so there's no excuse for someone complaining about being bored. The professors are great and I haven't had not one professor who wasn't available during office hours to help their students in areas they needed it the most. On a scale from 1-10, this school is definitely a 10!

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, education, and nursing students have the best programs on campus. Everyone else, i wouldn't recommend it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you chose this school, I recommend at least living off campus. The meal plan is not worth the money they charge, and the dorms leave much to be desired. The community is reclusive and full of gossip and drama. To be successful here, commuting is the best way to go

    Bang for the buck

    I received their full ride scholarship, so I didn't have to pay much more than books. This was enough for me to get my basics out of the way for little cost, then transfer to a decent school where I can really learn something, rather than be torn down for having an original thought.

    Did enjoy being here

    The dorms were unsatisfactory, except the coed upperclassman dorms. However, they are now being open to freshman and denied to upperclassman in an attempt to boost freshman enrollment. So those of us that worked to live there are now being told we cant. The food always made me sick to my stomach, and they had terrible operational hours, so the cafeteria was almost never even open when I wasn't in class

    Did learn a lot

    I learned alot of my basics, and the class sizes were decent, but the conduct of the professors left much to be desired. They were very unprofessional, and had a tendency to pick favorites, and ignore the rest of the class. If you weren't already a prodigy, you weren't worth their time.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have really good campus safety

    Greek Life

    it's pretty cool

    Clubs and Activities

    different types of sports and greek life and its a few other organizations that you can join

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    hsu is the school with a heart

    Bang for the buck

    the school is a pretty good bang for your buck it has a lot to offer

    What to do for fun

    you can go to the rec and play different sports and some of the greeks have parties on almost every thursday ..but do your homework first

    Food and Dining

    the caddo is ok but you kinda get tired of eating it every day

    Dorm Life

    i stay in the east hall and its very nice ..but as a freshman you might get put in newberry or smith. they are ok but not as nice as the east an west

    Academic Rigor

    the professors will try they best to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    hsu is the place to be. its a very nice school with lots of nice people. just come and take tour to check it out for yourself

    In three sentences

    henderson state university is a wonderful school with a heart. here at hsu we have lots of friendly proffers that are very good at what they do. hsu also has the wonderful greeks that you may join.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few safety issues need addressing like more lighting around campus to ensure the safety of students attending at night. Henderson's police need to patrol the school more instead of just driving down the streets.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have much of an outside life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Studying until you drop.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I just attend my classes but Henderson engages in many activities for their students.

    Food and Dining

    Henderson has several restaurants in which students, staff, and visitors may enjoy. However, they could practice more cleanliness of these facilities. I rate it a 3.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Henderson need a lot of work done to them. For all the extras included in one's tuition price, they should be better than what they are. I rate it a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students are highly encouraged to buckle down and utilize any tutoring you may need.

    In three sentences

    Henderson is a very fast paced institution. On the scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the highest, I'd rate Henderson as a 5. Although it is an efficient schooling institution there are many areas within it's organization that needs to be addressed.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education majors and Family and Consumer Science majors. Ive found quite a few scholarships offered by the school, for specific majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a lot of schools in Arkansas and has a quality environment.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Henderson State University safety is very important. Their police are always patrolling

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Henderson is really neat. They always have events and keep the students involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs here. I plan on participating in a few, but I am looking for the right one.

    Great for these types of students

    The school would be great for students majoring in nursing, band, or biology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The story about the Henderson spirit is an unusual tradition.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to hang out with my friends, go swimming, or go to events that Henderson offers. Another thing I do for fun is go to Hot Springs, to go shopping, bowling, movies, or etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is on campus is not all that great. Arkadelphia is a small town so therefore it is not a lot of places to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm my freshman year. Although I wish I did. I recommend that first year students do. I feel that is the way you get your real college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics means a lot to me. I try my best in what I am involved it. There are some challenges I have not conquered yet, but I am not giving up.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell others to make sure this is school they want to go to. Also look at all the background information about the school and what they have to offer. Another thing would be to spend a day on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is such a diverse college. The college makes sures that their students are involved and that are plenty of ways for them to be involved. I also like how the teachers are available when you need assistance.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some passages are not well lit at all.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is worth it, despite all of the campus shortcomings. Henderson really has their act together when it comes to academics.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the lake, float the Caddo, sit around in Foster are really the best things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Caddo cafeteria can be OK, but most of the time it's terrible. The food options in town aren't that great, either. Your best bet is to stock up on groceries.

    Dorm Life

    Would be better if Newberry and Smith did not exist. Probably five stars. Newberry and Smith don't get taken care of and they STINK. East, West, and Sturgis dorms are top of the line, though.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really take what they do seriously. The academics are very strong and probably the best thing about Henderson. The class sizes are the best part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get into East, West, or Sturgis. There's a rumor every year that Newberry and Smith halls will either be renovated or that they're going to build new dorms, but they're terrible.

    In three sentences

    Henderson has the Reddie Spirit. This means that overall, the people are what make the place. Henderson has some of the best faculty and staff on Earth.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always out and about. If anything happens on or near the campus, you are notified via email.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional Students and anyone looking for a Liberal Arts degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coffee shop in the Garrison is great! They have the best Lattes and Chi Teas!

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors are awsome. They are concerned and don't just talk above your head.

    What to do for fun

    HSU has a lot of student activities. There is always something to do. DeGray State Park is located in Arkadelphia and Hot Springs is only 30 min away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, you will be amazed at what they offer. Talk with current students.

    In three sentences

    Growing to remain a viable option for students. Very student friendly. A good mix of academics and fun.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security 24/7, 365 days a year. No reported attacks or major disruptions on this campus.

    Greek Life

    Many organizations, fraternity, and sororities to fit everyone's preference.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to be called by name by their peers, professor,s and even the president of the college. Everyone knows everyone!!! If you want to be known.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All incoming freshman take a picture together on the front lawn. They are placed together to form a heart. The pictures are hung all over the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Being away from home can be very hard on some. Henderson State University can be your home away from home.

    What to do for fun

    Movies on the lawn, lots of activities across campus, Lake DeGray is awesome. Reddie spirit is big on this campus!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and there is lots of variety to choose from. They will be building a new dining facility during this school year.

    Dorm Life

    Don't really care for the freshman dorms with community showers. They are continuously updating.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes schedule seems challenging, but free tutoring and smaller classes makes a big difference.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that there is no question that is stupid. Someone is always available to help you.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is a small campus with a big heart. Students are made to feel important. Take advantage of the technology available and get to know your admissions counselors, they want to know you!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HSU's campus is relatively safe. Officers are ready to aid you and roam the campus ensuring safety. The criminal activity on the campus is to a minimum which is an extreme blessing for the concerned parents.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is energized on HSU's campus. From the Greek shows to service projects to simply intermingling, the Greek Life is busy and worth a beings time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are immense at HSU. A benefit to this is that if a club is not already created to your liking you are able to make that club if it is in your best interest. Getting involved is a great experience at HSU and I encourage all students to do so.

    Great for these types of students

    If a student is determined to get in shape this campus is for them. Intramurals, athletics, recreational sessions, and many other forms of exercise are available. Do not be afraid to take the initiative because others will gladly stand by you in your journey to fitness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location on campus is Bench 13. This story of this bench is that if any male proposes to the female on this bench she will say yes. To this day no female has refused.

    Bang for the buck

    HSU is not an overly expensive campus. The miscellaneous fees cover a multitude of campus activities and resources which makes campus life more relaxed and affordable. Many students enjoy this luxury and attend many events as a result.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is based on the person. Personally, I enjoy movie Fridays and football games. Other activities are available such as intramurals, recreational events and tournaments. The funnest thing on campus would have to be getting involved in organizations. Once you are a part of an organization many interesting events are bound to spark interest of the thrill seakers.

    Food and Dining

    HSU is known for the Caddo which is its dining hall. The food there is not perfect but it is good if you are willing to try different things. Currently a new dining hall is being built and should be finished by Fall 2013. Once this hall is finished the food is sure to improve greatly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quite promising and a new experience for those leaving home for the first time. Currently renovations are being made to the freshman dorms so expect much inprovement. Dorm life is also what you make it: personalize your room, meet new people, make new friends, and be open to changes.

    Academic Rigor

    HSU has numerous courses that are deemed academically rigorous but in furthering your education challenges will come. All classes are passable with an adequate amount of studying and determination to succeed. Do not be afraid to ask the professor about any assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students planning on attending HSU must remember why they are here and be sure to stay focused while enjoying their stay and the many things HSU has to offer. If a student has any questions remember there is always administration there to aid you. Also do not be afraid to venture out and think outside the box. Enjoy the college experience.

    In three sentences

    HSU is a very social campus. There is always activities designed for all levels of education and ethnic backgrounds. This campus encourages and aids in networking which is essential for life and a successful career path.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    This school has that but I am not apart of it.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has a really good art program! They also have an amazing science department. This school is also the go to place for anyone teaching because they have a really good teaching program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a really cool Christmas caroling show that they put on every year in fount of Arkansas hall there are tuns of lights and free hot chocolate and coffee!! Also during finals week they have some sort of distress area for students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student recreation center on campus as well as a building dedicated to computers games and things like that there is a huge TV in there as well and it has Netflix on it. There are TVs in the dorms as well as pool tables and things like that. There is a water park in town and a indoor pool on campus. There are also movies on the quad sometimes. they have a huge blow up TV and you sit out in the grass and watch a movie its tuns of fun!!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't ever eaten in the cafeteria at school but I have heard some pretty bad things about it. such as one time they ruined frozen waffles I don't know how that is even possible but they managed to... I have eaten in the student cafe and the Quiznos on campus and they are excellent but a bit pricey. Also there are plenty of restaurants near the school so if you don't like any of the food on campus there are other options available.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms I drive to school every day but many of my friends do live on campus and the only thing they relay complain about is the food in the cafeteria so I imagination that its not that bad!

    Academic Rigor

    This school has some very hard classes but the teachers for the most part are good at what they do so you understand things fairly well and the teachers will always help you if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with something ask for it. Most everyone on campus is ready and willing to help you out and guide you in the right direction so if you are stuck on something or are confused just ask for help! Also the second you get an assignment start on it. The teachers at this school will give you a lot of assignments to complete and they expect the very best of you. Thus if you don't want to be overwhelmed do the assignments when you get them. Another good thing to do is learn the layout of the campus it will help you a lot!

    In three sentences

    I would say that Henderson State University is an excellent school! Most of the teachers and staff are amazing and extremely nice. Also the students are very friendly and welcoming!

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 star

    Greek Life

    I can't wait to plede. I haven't decided if I really want to be a Delta, Zeta Phi Beta, or and an AKA.

    Clubs and Activities

    5 star

    Great for these types of students

    This is a fantastic school for students who wants to experience being away from home but close enough to run home every so often for mom's home cook food.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a straight shot from my home town and its close enough enough for me to be far enough from home. Most of all I enjoy the atmosphere here at HSU.

    What to do for fun

    They have movie night, games and the greek shows that are truly awesome.

    Food and Dining

    Help!!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Need Updating ASAP

    Academic Rigor

    5 Star

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small college atmoshpere, caring staff, friendly and helpful staff, come to HSU.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my college experience at HSU. I love everything but the door and the choice of food they serve. My classes are fine and the instructors are super!

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the league which helps black males graduate

    What to do for fun

    You can go to Foster which is our schools technology building with Netflix and videos games. There are events all the time and parties.

    Food and Dining

    Depends what your into, however the food could be a little better then it is

    Dorm Life

    Depends which dorm in get in, but East and West dorms are the best ones

    Academic Rigor

    I am a business management major

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and also stay focused.

    In three sentences

    It is a good place for education. It is a small school, but has nice professors. Its fun to be here as well.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol constantly and are on call all the time.

    Greek Life

    They have a ton of greek life groups and they do great things around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a countless number of clubs and activities around campus

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student. Shy people, out going people, smart people, people who need a little help with studies. Everyone has a place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go to the pine tree assembly

    Bang for the buck

    Its worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Get out and be social! There are so many things going on around campus. They have new things to do and you will never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food is just like home cooked meals. They have so many things to choose from and they make new things all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a great way to meet new people and living with a roommate is fun. You grow up a lot living away from your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that hard. Get to know your professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and socialize. There are plenty things going on all the time on campus so go make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is a great college. It offers social opportunities, Helps you grow as a person, and prepares you for real life challenges. I highly recommend this school.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Ravine

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on how dedicated you are.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The classes are great and I love the environment. I really enjoy it.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is thriving with activities So there is alot to do.

    Food and Dining

    I dont have a meal plan but. The meals cafe's and restraunts are good.

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay in the dorms but the freshmen dorms could be alot better.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a good academic school

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep learning first!

    In three sentences

    Henderson is a great school. It has a learning enviorment. It is a all around good school.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Campus Police and they're actually cool. But they're not afraid to write a parking ticket.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is cool mostly during homecoming though. They try to be active but hey things happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few club that are interesting. I recommend student government, KSWH radio, HTV, The Oracle, and Student activity board and a community service coed sorority/fraternity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many Battle of the Ravine Game against any team playing the school across the street. The annual Polar Plunge where you jump into Lake Degray in freezing temperature.

    Bang for the buck

    Go to any event offering Free Food!

    What to do for fun

    Hang with my boyfriend and other friends. Go to events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good if you like the same thing every day. I suggest investing in a 10 meal plan and eating in your room most days. Yet they do have good stuff atleast twice a week. A new cafeteria is being built so may the food will be better. They also take suggestion and listen to them so hey who knows

    Dorm Life

    Snith and Newberry aren't the best dorms to live in. I heard East and West were the best. I like living in Smith though, the RA's always have programs with free food and although I have a roommate the space is not that crammed, I can do a Kart Wheel in my room so it's not that bad. Just Don't settle for a roommate if you don't like them talk it out or move cause it'll only get worse.

    Academic Rigor

    Study. Teaching only get you half way, the other half is up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    UTILIZE all resources teachers, tutoring, library...etc. Don't wait till the last minute and if you do let someone know. Make sure you can afford it before you go to school, money can cause the strongest person to crack under the pressure.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school with lots of tradition. The people here really care and they are here for you. They are continually improving the campus and they take suggestion in all areas.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police at ever corner of this school, at night we have Reddie Rides which is set to drive students around just so that they are extra protected.

    Greek Life

    I have never joined anything, but I would love to. The Greek Life is extremely active here.

    What to do for fun

    You can do almost anything at this college! There is so much to do from swimming, running, video games, hanging with friends at the lake, and just having a good time!

    Food and Dining

    The food could be way better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused!

    In three sentences

    This place is amazing. The college has everything you need. The people and students are this college are friendly and probably the best in the state.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police at HSU 24/7. They have emergency phones located throughout the campus. I feel very safe here at HSU.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in a sorority, but I've been to all the activities that they provide. It seems to be very exciting and fun experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of it, then there is a club for that here at HSU. There is always something going on. We have Henderson Idol which is much like American Idol. There are parties, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to a college where the class sizes aren't really big, then this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad is where everyone just hangs out between classes if the weather permits.

    Bang for the buck

    There is always tutoring available for all your classes if you need it. We also have a writing center on campus that helps students with papers.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to foster hall, which is on campus. It is open 24 hours. It has computers, games like ps3, Wii etc. It is also a place you can go to do work if you need to. You can also go for walks around campus because its so beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The caddo, which is our cafeteria is okay. However, they are in the process of getting a new caddo built and it should be ready in fall 2013. We also have a quiznos. They are planning to replace quiznos with Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a very fun experience here at HSU. They normally have many activities for everyone at the dorm. You also get to meet so many new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, you have to study. It's nothing like high school where you can just get by. The courses are designed to make you study, so you can pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning to attend HSU, I would say just stay focused. Don't let the college life and partying distract you from what is important. Remember what you came to Henderson to do, and that is obtain a degree.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University makes transitioning from home to college very smooth. The environment is so fresh and welcoming. The staff is very helpful and I'd rate HSU a 10.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quads is where you will see many studentds and when greeks step.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities held by the Student Advisory Board. They plan movie nights, spring fling, and much more

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. You have numerous of choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not as bad as it sounds. I really enjoyed being in the dorms this is where I mostly met my new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    My grades are great. The teachers are always there to help you if you are putting forth an effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give prospective students is to develop study skills and habits. I would also reccomend that you have funand get to know people.

    In three sentences

    Henderson Sate University is a school with a heart. As I completed my freshman year I wouldn't have chose another school. I love the teachers that are willing to work with me and I met friends that may be friends for a lifetime.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to play football and thats something fun to do

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy but remember class come first

    In three sentences

    Henderson state university is a great school ,the campus is beautiful and the people their are friendly

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they now provide,reddies rides, where you can call in if you are afraid to walk at night, you know just for security purposes.

    Greek Life

    i havent attened the greek life but i know peopole who attend and they said its wonderfull, one day i hope to attend as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of Activities around every week

    Bang for the buck

    if your looking for a collge that fits your budget this is the school to choose its great.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, help supprot events such as Henderson Idol, Fashion shows and ect.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good, we just built a new dining area for this coming up year with chick-fil-A, Subway, and Starbucks

    Dorm Life

    Drom life is exciting, you meet new people and don't have to drive hoping to find that good parking spot to get to class its nice and convinant.

    Academic Rigor

    very good!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a contry type of person this is the right enivironment, or if you want things to do they have this avalible as well.

    In three sentences

    Henderson is a wonderfull college. The teachers and staff help you when help is needed and they always lift you up. I would advise if you want a college where its all about helping you achive your goal,come on out to Henderson , they will gladly help.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Ravine! This is where we would get ready for the school across the street!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are various things to do on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet new people. Stay focused and cooperative. And most of all, HAVE FUN!

    In three sentences

    Henderson State is a peaceful place to enjoy life and meet new people. Also, it has great facilities to help reach your full potential for your future career. Personally, I would highly recommend this school to anyone!

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HSU makes sure that the campus is 100% sure safe. Security is on guard 24/7. You will feel safe at HSU at all times.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is also, as long as you find the one that personally fits you. Dont be afraid to get involved with the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    HSU offers a variety of clubs and activities. Just pick a club and activity and join the crowd and have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If your the type of person that likes liberal arts, then HSU is great for you. Whether you are a video game designer, or theatre person, etc. HSU is great for you.

    What to do for fun

    the student recreation center is where you want to be when you want to have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food id great and so is the dining. it has lots of varieties to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. it meets all of your needs with activities to do with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is really great, i love it. the classes are small and awesome. there are some great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to meet new people and make friends. Also , take the time to get to know your professor, after all you will be glad you did. Have fun, and don't forget to join the student body organizations, they have plenty.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State University is a great college. I love the simple fact that is has small class sizes and professors that are willing to take time to personally get to know you. HSU is home away from home truly.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great but if you want to join a fraternity/sorority DO NOT tell people except the greek when you are ready to pledge

    What to do for fun

    The school has a new rec center where you can play ping pong, volleyball, lift weights, basketball and run. The football games are very exciting and the school always has activities for students during the week.

    Food and Dining

    This year HSU has added a chik-fil-a and a starbucks, along with the usual cafeteria. The cafeteria food is not all that great but over time students learn to appreciate it.

    Dorm Life

    The all male dorms have been remodeled, but not the female dorms. The RA's always have activities student can participate in and they are available for you whenever you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you to think above and beyond, while teachers are there to guide you every step of the way

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard Put school before play Have fun

    In three sentences

    I give Henderson State a A. They get this grade because it is a great learning environment, where teachers will go out of their way to help any student. It is a family environment and every student is not just treated like a number.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The most prevalent activities on campus are probably those related to Greek life. These events are widely advertised all over campus and all Greek chapters seem to be very inviting. However, there are clubs and organizations for virtually every major and interest. Regular events like Big Money Bingo, illusionists, really amazing plays, and planetarium shows are also very popular.

    Food and Dining

    Caddo cafeteria has very recently been renovated and is very modern and beautiful. The food is relatively tasty for cafeteria concoctions, and the staff is friendly and helpful. In addition, there is a wonderful salad bar for those who are more health-conscious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is probably the only area in which Henderson could use some improvements. However, upperclassman and honors college dorms are relatively comfortable (East, West, Sturgis). For anyone who is very particular about their living environment, the on-campus apartments are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is undoubted that Henderson State's academic programs are very rigorous. All professors and staff expect that students learn all material necessary for their career field rather than just memorizing information for tests. Administration keeps in mind hat a lot of students plan to continue to graduate programs after Henderson, and aim for very high acceptance rates. However, individualized teaching approaches and flexibility of professors keeps students from feeling overwhelmed or strained academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who is thinking about attending Henderson State should keep in mind that it's definitely a school in which students are expected to make learning their number one priority (assuming they are full-time students). Because professors and staff members and other staff are so dedicated to the success of students, it's very important that said students make a wholehearted effort to earn their degree, rather than just taking advantage of extracurricular opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State is a wonderful school for those who like individualized learning opportunities one gets from a small school, but also the rich social experiences of a larger one. Henderson's professors, counselors, and other staff, as well as students, all obviously care about each other and are very helpful and understanding in almost every situation. If any student wishes to attend a school that boasts both amazing academic statistics and a very satisfied, successful, enriched student body, Henderson is a wonderful choice.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its pretty safe they have these little emergency posts all over campus.

    Greek Life

    I have no clue.. I'm not greek...yet

    Clubs and Activities

    All types of clubs to join, check your email !

    Great for these types of students

    Great for a student who wants to do NOTHING !!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During homecoming week they host a bonfire and they have a heartbeat that lasts all week, because Henderson is the school with a heart.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not really worth the money you're paying..

    What to do for fun

    Foster Hall the tech center is about it !

    Food and Dining

    Caddo is ok. It doesn't compare to at home eating though !

    Dorm Life

    Community bathrooms sucks where ever you are ! Smith and Newberry SUCK ! If you just so happen to have a room at the end of the hall, don't expect to have wifi even though you're paying for it in your many fees !

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this school is for you. Stay at least a year before you leave !

    In three sentences

    Henderson is very small. The town is depressing because there is not much to do.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are hard-knocks FOR SURE. $20 for a parking ticket. CRAZY, right?! Only park outside of main campus such as: across the street from Reynolds, at Newberry/Smith, or by Whispering Oaks.

    Greek Life

    I haven't joined. People say it's a crazy good time, though!

    Clubs and Activities

    ULTIMATE. FRISBEE. But seriously, talk to any Intramural staff and they'll hook you up with all kinds of cool games and clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, really. I've met all kinds of people and I've learned many different lifestyles, ideas, and cultures!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Ravine! A rivalry between HSU and the college across the street: Ouachita Baptist University.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything is crazy overpriced. Food, Residence, Parking Tickets, all expensive... Get as many scholarships as you can and you'll be fine.

    What to do for fun

    ULTIMATE FRISBEE. Yes, Ultimate Frisbee is an amazing experience with amazing people. This is a very biased opinion, considering I'm on the team. However, there are so many things to do: Greek Life, Honors College opportunities, community service projects, and more!

    Food and Dining

    MUCH better than the old Caddo, however, still could be better. :-P

    Dorm Life

    Not as bad as people might think or say! Find some friends and make friends with the RAs. They're awesome! (No, I wasn't told to say that, nor am I an RA.)

    Academic Rigor

    No fluff around here! Teachers crack down hard, as opposed to your rinky-dinky high school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Reddie Day, and Heart Start. I met so many cool people there. Talk to Alan Ford and Chad Fielding. Seriously some of the coolest guys ever. Study hard, don't party. Partying is only good if you want to waste money. :-P

    In three sentences

    Henderson State is a great place to meet people and learn everything about anything. Being a Liberal Arts University, everyone studies the basics and will help you get that job you've always wanted! It is an honor being a Henderson Reddie!

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will make so many friends you can have fun with them. If not, the school provides a lot of things to do all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to be in the showband of Arkansas.

    In three sentences

    Henderson state university is the most friendly college I know. Everyone at henderson is nice and care for each other. Teachers know your name and how to help you improve.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always parties and the non varsity sports are fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always obey the rules because if you are caught violating them there is a fine to pay.

    In three sentences

    It is Fun. Its is fair. School spirit is everything at Henderson State University.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems.

    Greek Life

    AMAZING! I love to observe them all.!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy what it has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Far too much to mention. The dorms offer versatility in social experiences. The parties are weekly and a lot of fun. The library is even fun for studying.

    Food and Dining

    Food is tolerable. Could be better but it's a great dining hall because it's new and the variety keeps you from running into everyone at once.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not the best but my floor was good. I would highly recommend getting on the residential waiting list for the newer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not become distracted by all the parties. Everyone is kind to one another. Definitely utilize the school's offerings for technology.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this college. It is a school with heart and compassion for its students. The parties are awesome.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe but be smart and dont walk around at night by yourself. and dont leave anything just laying around or in view of others if in your car. it will get taken and you will never see it again

    Greek Life

    6 national sororities Alpha Kappa Alpha Alpha Sigma Alpha Alpha Sigma Tau (my favorite) Alpha Xi Delta Delta Sigma Theta Zeta Phi Beta 7 national fraternities Alpha Phi Alpha Kappa Alpha Psi Kappa Sigma Omega Psi Phi Phi Beta Sigma Phi Lambda Chi (my favorite) Sigma Phi Epsilon Leadership opportunities. Professional networking. Enhanced academic support. Loads of social activities and events. And a sense of belonging to a brotherhood or sisterhood that lasts a lifetime.

    Great for these types of students

    it has an amazing fine arts department but also great athletics and an awesome athletic training program

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Battle of the Ravine This is the biggest week of the year. Our annual football game with â??the school across the streetâ?? serves not only as a serious source of pride, but itâ??s a weekâ??s worth of fun and the occasional hijinks that result in memories that last a lifetime. The â??Showband of Arkansasâ?? Any time Henderson Stateâ??s famed Showband takes action, youâ??ll be doing yourself a favor to sit back and listen up. After all, they arenâ??t called the â??Showband of Arkansasâ?? for nothing. Recognized as one of the best marching bands in the nation, this group of accomplished musicians represent one of our best traditions. The Miss HSU Pageant Who doesnâ??t like a little glitz now and then? We do. Hendersonâ??s Miss HSU Pageant has been a proud annual event since 1960, showcasing some of the brightest, smartest, and most motivated students Henderson has to offer. The pageant qualifies as an official preliminary to the Miss Arkansas pageant. Homecoming Homecoming at Henderson is a weekâ??s worth of fun that would be hard for anyone to match. Weâ??re talking barbecues, football, volleyball, tailgating, bonfires, brunches, golf, concerts, reunion events, and, of course, the presentation of the homecoming court and the crowning of the queen. Friday Night Movies On Friday nights when the weather is beautiful, throw down a blanket, kick back with friends, and enjoy a movie night, Henderson style. Recently released movies are shown on our campus quad, using a 20x40 foot inflatable screen and state-of-the-art sound system. When itâ??s cold or stormy, movies are shown in a comfortable lecture hall with an 18-foot screen and equally impressive sound system. Bubba Olympics Forget the long jump and decathlon, the Bubba Olympics at Henderson takes fun and gut-busting laughter to the extreme. Events include the hubcap toss, root beer chugging, horseshoes, hot dog eating, wheel barrel racing, and the infamous belly flop contest. Reddie to Serve Faculty, staff and students are Reddie to Serve the community by helping citizens clean up and improve their properties. The School with a Heart Each year freshmen meet for a traditional photograph in the shape of a heart. Bench 13 Many stone benches, which classes, organizations and other entities have donated throughout the institutionâ??s history, sit on Hendersonâ??s historic South Lawn. Perhaps the most famous is Bench 13. The bench is in memorial to the former sponsor of the Heart and Key organization. It is told that when a girl is asked to marry someone while she is sitting on the bench she won't say no. That Old Reddie Spirit The official fight song of Henderson State University, That Ole Reddie Spirit, was introduced in 1923 by cheerleader Anna Lee Chidister and is affectionately known as The Reddie Hymn. This song is sung to the tune of â??That Old Time Religion.â?? Originally the song was used because of a lack of school spirit being shown at football games. At the time, cheerleaders were positioned throughout the bleachers to lead the fans in the song. In the lyrics displayed below, the word me is often replaced with random names of Reddie football players during the games. You can use the console below to play That Old Reddie Spirit. Turn up your volume and sing along. Note that it is a large file and could take some time to load.

    What to do for fun

    get a group of friends together and go to degray lake to swim or hang out or go to clear lake to fish. there is always something to do on campus too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. but their are alot of restraunts close to campus that are really good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing its a great way to meet new people and have a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics challenge you to do your very best and pay attention in all of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Stay in the Dorms you meet alot more new friends that way *Don't let anyone other than your assigned advisor register you for any classes. you could end up like me and have 22 hours of non required classes that you will pay for but never use. *Get involved

    In three sentences

    its is a great place to go to school. All of the professors truly care about your personal sucess as a student. The Campus is beautiful.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety for students on the campus is pretty good. There are police boxes set up around the campus and cops are patrolling throughout the day. However, life off campus is not in general 'safe'. Its best to live in the dorms or live with friends if off campus.

    What to do for fun

    Arkadelphia is a very small town so there's not a whole lot to do. It's best to join a club or social group to hang out with to keep you from getting bored.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria (otherwise known as Caddo) is pretty disgusting. I haven't heard of one student who hasn't gotten sick from the food at least once. The Caddo does have a variety of different foods to try from salad bar to cereal and several other comfort food selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty awful for freshmans living in the dorms Smith or Newberry. On the up side, the upperclassmen dorms, east and west, are alot nicer with a bathroom split between 4 people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too difficult and the teachers are pretty dedicated to the students who put forth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    The food available at the caddo is terrible so make sure you have some extra money to go out to eat. Also, make friends as early on as you can and find that right group of people to hang out with.

    In three sentences

    Henderson is located in a very small town with not much to do. There's also a neighboring rival college that makes life pretty interesting for reddies. Most of the teachers are really great that are generally interested in the students and helping them succeed.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Henderson is VERY cheap in my opinion, compared to most public universities in Arkansas. That is one of the main reasons I chose this school.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, get involved! There are so many student activities to do. And if you don't go home on the weekends, they show movies in one of the lecture halls! Recent movies that have just come out, for free!!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is horrible. Buy your own groceries, even though if you live on campus, you're required to purchase a food voucher. There is a Chick-fil-a as well as a Starbucks on campus, though!

    Dorm Life

    I would say if you are going to Henderson, try to figure out different living arrangements other than on campus. The freshmen dorms are nasty. If you absolutely have to stay on campus, make sure you get involved in campus activities. You do not want to be stuck in your dorm room. Because it will depress you. If you can afford it, look into Whispering Oaks apartments. They're very nice and right on campus! And you don't have to pay for on campus dining. A big plus!!

    Academic Rigor

    Henderson is pretty great with academics. It is a liberal arts school, which requires you to take all the basics, history, math, English, arts, and an exercise class. This is all very important for a well rounded education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, do your homework, and get involved in activities. Make friends and study partners.

    In three sentences

    Henderson is a smaller university, with about a 30 to 1 student-teacher ratio, which makes it easier to connect with your profs and fellow students. Most of the professors are very open and willing to help students succeed. The school overall is very enjoyable.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. They are very sports based and have a fantastic football team. In addition, there are a lot of musicians, theater productions, greek organizations and so forth.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a lot of activities, this would be the place for you. It is very spirited in all of the activities that they offer.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small liberal arts college that offers so many different opportunities to all of the students in attendance. The teachers are very helpful and understanding. It is small enough to be personal but large enough to be challenging.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the Ravine

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok, but there is a Chick Fil-A and a Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Ok. Freshmen dorms are bad but if you can get into the Honors College or the Apartments, its way better.

    Academic Rigor

    Great education and nursing programs.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can work out. I know you are thinking How is working out fun? but when you work out there you could listen to music at the same time. They have a television in front of every machine and all you have to do is plug it up. They also have a game room. You can go and borrow PS3 and other games at anytime.

    Food and Dining

    Henderson cafe is so nice! They have Chick-Fil-A, Starbucks, many variety's to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't quite see the inside of the dorms because they was working on it, fixing it up more but I can say the outside looks really good. One of the students there told me they were really nice in the inside and I will enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    The day I visit the college was on spring break. Most student were leaving to go visit family members. Some were in the library getting there work together.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming on campus you will see other students eating out in the cafe, hanging out enjoying the fresh air, and some even be studying.Campus life is nice.

    In three sentences

    Henderson State is a great college. The campus is nice and clean. Also, the administrative's and students are nice and eager to help with anything.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops everywhere and will give you a lift home (on campus)

    Greek Life

    over 30 different groups

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    battle of the ridge-hsu vs obu

    Bang for the buck

    go reddies

    Food and Dining

    we have chick-fil-a, a burger joint, and a starbucks

    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs! this is how you meet new people and get better deals with classes and study groups

    In three sentences

    big campus, lots of groups to join, and a great library