Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Henry Ford Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would be looking for as many grants, loans, and scholarships that would help me pay for all of my classes and my supplies that will be needed for all of my classes. I also would be getting money from the covernment that would be very helpful for me finishing college. The last thing that I'm planning to do is get a part time job on campus and try to budget all of my money that I will be receiving from my job and my family members throughout the United States of America.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy it so much there at Henry Ford Community College starting this fall. I would also enjoy being around some new friends that I have not ever met before in my life. I also would enjoy spending time with the new staff members and councelors because they would always be helpful to me when I need any help with anything at that college.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes I will learn a lot. I also would keep up with my studying at home with a member of my family. Every semester at this college, I want to learn something new that I never knew before I went to that college. Another thing I want to do is keep getting as much help with my assignments from my family and from some of the tutors at the college. I would also be following the curriculum that my advisor would be giving to me when I start tanking classes there to get my Associates Degree in Interior Design.The last and final thing I hope to do is pass all of the classes that I take with a 3.0 or higher. I also want to be called one of the students with a G.P.A. of 3.5 or higher. That are the reasons why I will be learning alot at Henry Ford Community College.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join career related programs or workout at the gym

    Food and Dining

    It isn't a wide selection of food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Manage your time wisely

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best of your education.

    In three sentences

    HFCC is overall a great school to attend. The professors are very helpful when it comes to getting the information you need as a student. I would say that HFCC is one of the best community colleges in Michigan.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe and well lit. If something is going on or seems suspicious, the school will alert students. Also, campus safety will walk you to your car if you want them to.

    Great for these types of students

    Henry Ford has a lot of programs. It's a great school for: -Nursing & Other Health Related Careers -Computer Information Systems & Other Computer Related Careers -Graphic Design & Art Related Careers There are many more, but these are a few I know about.

    Bang for the buck

    This school saved me a lot of money. Tuition is very cheap here and if you live in Dearborn, it's even cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    If you have lots of time to burn between classes or after class, go to the mall. If you don't have a vehicle or just don't feel like driving, catch the campus shuttle. It's free!

    Food and Dining

    The school has food that is okay (and kind of expensive). But you can always catch the campus shuttle to the mall and get something good to eat. Because of the mall option, I give it 5 stars. Otherwise, as far as the school's food, I give it 3 stars.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Talk to a counselor about your academic status at least once each school year to help keep up with your progress. They will give you the information you need to know about your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend classes (unless your sick or there's something important you need to do of course!). Henry Ford is very strict on attendance. Some teachers will even give points for attendance, which can help your grade. So don't skip classes for no reason.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Henry Ford Community College is a great school. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking to gain a great education for a reasonable price.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great>

    Greek Life

    None other than an honor society: Phi Theta Kappa. By invite only.

    Great for these types of students

    If your not ready to move away and still want to commute to school or if you work part time or even full time or returning to school or have children, the schedule is very flexible.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend people to go there. I had a great time.

    What to do for fun

    There are nice things to do and I am always getting an email blast for different concerts or school functions.

    Food and Dining

    Its nice they provide healthy alternatives for the students.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and your teachers are always there for you and you get their emails so use them.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is a great community college. The teachers are awesome and work with your situation. And a beautiful and nicely kept campus.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For 1/3 the price of a 4 year school, this college is an amazing deal!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of student activities on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and if you can't find something you like there are many restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school, however it does offer tons of student activities!

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a community college, does not mean that the classes are easier. Students are expected to perform at a level equal to other higher education institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that any new student take time to get to know the campus, as well as sit down with an advisor.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford CC has done alot lately to make it more student friendly. The new Welcome Center now houses most student services in one building. The teachers are dedicated professionals, who are focused on the well being of their students.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Henry Ford has a lot of activities such as the music department, basket ball, soccer. etc I am actually wanted to start a poetry club.

    Food and Dining

    Henry Ford Community College has a very nice Cafe, it's very comforting.

    Dorm Life

    Henry Ford Community College does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor seems up to part, due to the small class sizes there is a better understanding of work given.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that all high school students should start out at a community college to get the fill of being in college. Also always apply for classes and financial aid 3 months ahead before starting school.

    In three sentences

    The people and administrators are very friendly. I love the fact that we can use the computers for free. I really love the small class room sizes.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Amazing academics for cheap price

    Will enjoy being here

    It's so open and close to the mall

    Will learn a lot

    I am going for Nursing and Chemistry and the teachers are great and always try to help

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is great, no problems since I attended the college

    Greek Life

    no answer

    Clubs and Activities

    you can go on field trips according to the course that you are taking

    Great for these types of students

    to get a great start for transferring to other colleges in the future

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the science building is magnificent

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap

    What to do for fun

    Walk in the woods during summer

    Food and Dining

    Good food at the Skylight cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm at HFCC

    Academic Rigor

    very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    always ask for help from your instructors!

    In three sentences

    HFCC have a very comfortable environment to study. The instructors are all dedicated to make sure every student succeed in their course.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great. There is an ideal variety of healthy, nutritious, and tasty meals and treats to choose from. Staff is always friendly and helpful, but it seems a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    To my understanding there are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    I believe Henry Ford Community College is very dedicated to helping the student body develop a successful educational path. Professors, faculty, and staff go above and beyond to create a professional, yet comfortable experience. Everyone is respectful and courteous.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Henry Ford Community College is located in a safe well lite area. There are security on campus at all times in the parking lot and in the buildings themselves.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an entire book full of different activities and clubs. Join one and make your college career one you'll never forget.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every single month there are different activities for you to be a part of. With such a large variety of cultures there is always something going on.

    Bang for the buck

    From the student life to clinical work Henry Ford is the ideal place for a student who wants a high class education without breaking the bank.

    What to do for fun

    Henry Ford offers every sport and activity you can think of from softball to dance to ice carving. They work around your class schedules and even help pay for your tuition.

    Food and Dining

    Henry Ford has a wonderful on campus restaurant ran by professionals as well as our very own student body. You will leave thinking you left a 5 star restaurant with only 2 star prices. Its an amazing place for a dining experience you wont forget.

    Dorm Life

    Henry Ford Community College does not offer on campus living, although there are many affordable off campus apartments and homes for rent within a 10 mile radius from the school making it ideal for full and part time students.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a wide variety of different programs and courses which makes it idea for a working student who is unsure of which program they would like to earn a degree in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are well prepared to work hard and study even harder. Just because Henry Ford is a community college doesn't mean you won't be working just as hard as a well known university.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community college is a very diverse school with many different ethnicities. I believe it is a wonderful learning experience because there are so many different cultures bringing their own experiences and life lessons to the classroom. It is also very affordable for those who are short on funds.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus and respect the campus security.

    Greek Life

    I haven't decided if I am going to pledge yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't participated in any clubs or activities but Student Orientation.

    Great for these types of students

    Community College is great for people on a budget, people that need to get their GPA higher before applying for a University, or for people that are choosing a 2 year degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the fact that in Student Orientation they gave you a flash drive that connects you with everything pertaining to the college, along with your student information.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure you live near campus, so that you can walk instead of drive to school.

    What to do for fun

    At this time I don't know but I can't wait to find out.

    Food and Dining

    Eat with family to save money, or value menu.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm but I am getting my first 1 bedroom apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    For ever class you take; credit hours you must times it by two hours in order to successfully plan your study time, wotk time, fun activity time with friends an family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take your ACT/SAT test.

    In three sentences

    I like the location of their campus. I like their Nursing program waitlist. I like that all my credits will transfer to a 4 year University.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student activites for everyone. Gym is open to all students.

    Food and Dining

    Great food for a cheap price for students.

    Dorm Life

    HFCC does not have dorm housing. They have apartments separate from the school that students can rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty tough. The school tries to make sure a student understands the subject being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and understand the subject and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College rated is A-. They are currently improving and becoming a better school. I think that this school has potential.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secure and security is always seen and easily accessible.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in campus clubs or activities at this time.

    What to do for fun

    In my spare time, I like rest and relaxation.

    Food and Dining

    I have not dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out of class what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who do well in their classes study for their exams in a timely manner and do not cram.

    In three sentences

    Very professional in the way student affairs are handled. So far, my instructors have been prompt and fair. The campus has clean bathrooms and classrooms.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SPORTS AND EXERCISE

    Food and Dining

    EATING HEALTHY IS IMPORTANT IN DAILY BASICS, BUT THIS CAMPUS NOT HAD DINING

    Dorm Life

    8 HOURS AT NIGHT. YOU SLEEP AND YOU GOING BE ABLE TO CONCENTRATE IN SCHOOL, BUT THE CAMPUS DOESN'T HAD DORM.

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS BE IN TIME STUDY IS VERY IMPORTANT AT LEAST 15 HOURS A WEEK. DO YOUR HOMEWORK ETC.

    In three sentences

    I HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY IN HENRY FORD COMMUNITY COLLEGE, AND IF A CHALLENGE BE HERE. I LOVE THE SCHOOL AND A MATH TEACHER IS GREAT.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs are available but I tend to stay as far from Henry Ford Community College as possible.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good well at least when you are starving I usually get the same thing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics isn't tough if you apply yourself you will be good to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend class every session and study you are guaranteed to pass.

    In three sentences

    HFCC is pretty much a high school. The environment is very diverse which is good. But too much high school level things are constantly going on.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    Good there.

    Dorm Life

    Cleans rooms

    Tips for prospective students

    Work real hard and study real hard.

    In three sentences

    It is the best school to go to in michigan. They have the best teacher's there in America. And good for learning there.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened while on campus at HFCC.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great especially for those who work and go to school because they have a variety of class start times to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    HFCC is more affordable than the bigger universities. This helps me out while I complete my core classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate HFCC at about 3 stars out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make certain all of your paperwork is completed properly and be very careful on choosing your classes to make certain they align with your schedule.

    In three sentences

    I am excited to be attending college. HFCC so far seems to be working well for me. The teachers are very knowledgeable on the subjects they teach.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Better try hard in high school, and better meet the campus before signing up.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a five star community college. It is very educational, academic, and organized. Believed to be one the best community college in the United States.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I have seen the campus is safe. They have emergency phones throughout, security walking around, and safe walk, where you can have a security personnel walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities to involve yourself in. They are very hard to get a hold of though.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are hear to learn, are serious about getting a good experience, in pursuit of an associates or a trade it's well worth it! If you want the college experience, look elsewhere.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are absolutely worth what you pay and then some.

    What to do for fun

    Not much going on on campus that i'm aware of. There are a few different clubs you can be involved in. I find it very difficult to get a hold of any of them... Lots of restaurants and some bars in the area, and downtown dearborn is very close.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe at HFCC is lacking. Mostly fried stuff or junk food. They do have a salad bar and some soups, but there is very little variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm's that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    I find many of my classmates are sticklers of good grades! There is an overall want to succeed, and the teachers I have had WANT the students to do the best possible. It's a nice combination.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can have someone who has gone here previously help you to get your bearings that would be a plus. The financial aid office is fairly helpful but chaotic. I've found that most places on campus the staff are unfriendly and a sense of entitlement surrounds them. It can be hard to find answers to questions without having to talk to 10 different staff.

    In three sentences

    Hfcc has a nice campus for a community college. All the buildings are relatively close together, and there is an opportunity for a beautiful scenic walk by taking the hines drive path which is connected to hfcc and u of m dearborn. The teachers that I have encountered are wonderful, helpful, and caring. The staff at the school leaves something to be admired however.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a restaurant in the school called 5101 which is run and operated by Henry Ford Culinary Department and they also have the Skylight Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is very fun and you do learn a lot basically need to keep a 2.0 minimum

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is a fun college. I have learned so much at Henry Ford that I will be graduating soon. I am thinking about attend Henry Ford again but for a different major.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A very clean enviornment as well as not worrying about who is going to stare at you while you eat.

    Dorm Life

    Henry Ford Community College doesn't have a dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Help is always there when you need it so dont worry about being the student feeling left out or ashamed if you dont know a answer. Peers are always willing to help you succeed. Make communication be your number one priority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look forward to completing your career with no worries or struggles. Always stay with a positive attitude and make sure you keep god first and anything is possible. Look forward to keeping your alarm as your best friend. Remember To be early is to be on time.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is friendly and conversation is well among the teaching standards. Your career will be fufilled as long as you keep your head in the game. However, there will be some hard challenges that you'll have to over come.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe! Lots of security walks around all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    One of the clubs that I am aware of is the Criminal Justice club and you get to do a lot of fun things!

    Bang for the buck

    Henry ford offers a lot of different classes which are an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Henry ford offers a lot of electives to take and also a ton of clubs to be active in!

    Food and Dining

    Here at henry ford they have a cafeteria that has really good food!

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    All classes will be challenging at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    www.ratemyprofessor.com Is the website I use to check out some of the teachers before I take their class. Also study hard! College is not cheap! So try as hard as you can to get some kind of help, like scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Henry ford is a really great school, I have learned so much in only a year that i have been there. The criminal justice program has so many classes to take and they have awesome teachers!

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HFCC is not a big university therefore, you go in to your classes and leave as soon as you are done. Most students don't hang out and have fun around campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always keep up with your financial aid because you might be dropped from classes if money is owed.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a great school for any transferring students. The school offers free help for any student who needs tutoring in most subjects that are offered. The classes are fairly small in size and easy to contact your professor when needed.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    great food cafe'

    Dorm Life

    doesnt have dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    really great

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, study, learn as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school. Its alot of help and inspiring people here. The professors are great.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very intwined with the students and respectful

    Clubs and Activities

    bowling club chess club math club

    Great for these types of students

    open minded ,smart ,willing to learn

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just like chilling in the libary reading books cooling.

    Bang for the buck

    You get every thing you pay for in henry ford they pride themselves on educating the mind

    What to do for fun

    Its alot of of fun activities like kickboxing classes

    Food and Dining

    It has a great cafe affordable with great menu

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your academic counselor they are the main help and they are good at what they do .

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford community college is a very diverse school.They have great teachers and its a great ominous .Henry ford community college also has great class sizes.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is primarily low in cost and delicious! There are different foods ranging from salad to burgers to chicken fingers! There are numerous meals that are under $5, drink included!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The lessons are not rushed and are very easy to comprehend. Although some classes are challenging, the professor still offers all the help they can. Each class moves at a slow pace to make sure that the students understand what has been taught.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a very nice school that is easy to get from building to building. The cafeteria is wonderful and there are many people to help you enroll, transfer or gather financial aid, If there was any community college you were thinking about attending, I would suggest Henry Ford Community College!

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Skylights Cafe is located on campus.The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more intense than others. Depends on your course that your taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking just to get the credit, its a good fit.

    In three sentences

    Nice environment, but hard to make friends because people are always coming and going.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is plenty of campus safety, do not worry..

    Greek Life

    Not that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors society

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college book library is a fun place, with college themed hoodies, socks and t-shirts. Also pens,erasers,pencils,notebooks.

    Bang for the buck

    There is optional tutoring in any study.

    What to do for fun

    There are arts and crafts, AP HONORS team, honors society.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't really much of a good food service in the cafeteria. There are concession stands by almost every building entrance.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Henry ford has plenty of academic's to fulfill you're needs. Such as the school daily news paper for up-coming events, to class schedule accommodation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for serious instruction and guidance; HFCC is the place for that. HFCC ijust got a whole lot better in assertiveness and professionalism.

    In three sentences

    Well established and organized college as far as I have been attending. Great instructors who are willing to go the extra mile to help you individually. Good size library, with a withen walking distance class structures.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security who monitor the school and make sure everything is ran smoothly.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, meet new people, sit outside by the water fountain and just mingle with the oncoming students in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, they offer a variety of meals throughout the coarse of the day.

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great school, just stay on time with everything.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is a great and fun school. They have a wide variety of sports programs that are on the rise; and also is a very diverse school which separates them from others.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is every where, they constantly check all the buildings and drive around in the parking lots. I feel safe when I am at school walking from class to class no matter what time it is.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Xi Mu is our greek life but we are a subchapter of Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society. It is something that will help you go further in life and the world.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in Phi Theta Kappa. The National Honor Society for 2 yr-colleges. There are a variety of clubs and activities this campus is very lively.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria is one of the hot spots for fun, music, and general conversation.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very inexpensive college. The tution is low especially if you live in the same city.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, if i'm not at school I'm at home studying either with a friend or with my children.

    Food and Dining

    They have a restaurant that the students are the chef's. They have a nice friendly cafeteria with different variety's of food. Plus, there is a lot of vending machines throughout the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I don't know what it is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they will help you get to college standing in any subject. If you are only in middle school math they can bring you up to speed for your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a disability this college will help you get everything together and assist in what to need to graduate. It is not expensive to go to, as well as a friendly environment.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford has some of the best tutors for all types of classes. The Assisted Learning Services are amazing, they are very helpful. I would rate this college from 1-10 a strong 9, because some of the professors should get better etiquette on how to talk to a student.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great school, great professors, and an overall great environment to study.

    Food and Dining

    I love it. I've only gone there for two semesters over a year ago but I love the teachers. I'm currently enrolling in the Fall 2012 semester to finish my degree

    Dorm Life

    One of the best community college's in Michigan. Excellent programs, student diversity, teachers are very knowledgeable and devoted to students success. Great learning atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall it is a pretty good college. Nursing waitlist is way too long, Financial Aid is terrible! they are slow and do not respond to emails. parking is not good at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the best community college ! The classes push you and make you feel as your already attending a university. The teachers are great I haven't had one bad one yet and I have been there a year attending year round.

    In three sentences

    At HFCC, most of the instructors are very invested in student success and will work with you to help you excel. But the courses are not cake courses like those at WCCC. You will have to work diligently, but you will learn enough to pass state boards and be well qualified for entry level positions. HFCC transfer students perform better at Wayne State, University of MIchigan-Dearborn, and Easter than native students who spent their entire career at the university. If you are bright and have a 3.5 or higher in high school, check out the Honors Program. This program is challenging in nature and prepares you to earn a four-year scholarship. Tuition is also free. Don't wait until the last moment to enroll. If you enroll at least a month before the deadline, you won't spend endless hours in line and you will be able to work with counselors to select the right classes.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Henry Ford Community College is a very safe environment. There is a campus safety building located on campus and also tons of emergency stations located through out the campus. The security guards are very professional and take there job very serious.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek Life that exist on campus, however it is no where near as big as ones at 4 year universities.

    Bang for the buck

    I am saving a lot of money by taking the classes that I needed to transfer in as a junior at a 4 year university at a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of sports teams and clubs that you can join at Henry Ford Community College. The Fine Arts department offers plays every semester that students can audition for and also dance teams.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is delicious at Henry Ford Community College. I personally enjoy going to the cafe during the breakfast hours. There is also a nice restaurant on campus that many of the culinary art students work at.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Henry Ford Community College. However, the college is located near many apartments that have student discounts.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor does not exist in my opinion. As long as you show up and do your best you will pass the classes. The main part is that you show up.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip for prospective students is deciding where you want to further your education after Henry Ford Community College. Many 4 year universities have online classes that they will accept from community colleges. There is no point of taking classes that will not transfer. In addition, there is no point of attending and not receiving you associate's degree.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community college is a great school for both recent high school graduates and adults. I personally did not do well at a 4 year university after graduating. However, I took a step down and now I am completing my associates.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus! There are campus safety personal walking around every where you go, so you can always feel safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for nearly everything you can think of! I was part of a Human Rights, Astronomy, Computer Security, and a Honors Society all at once! So diverse!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone and everybody!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of mythological card games being played in the back corner of the Cafe. I have never been into the whole Yu-Gi-Oh card game, but it seems that they have a lot of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap and very worth it. The education I received is one that money can't buy, but what I did have to pay was very worth it. There is no point to spending three times the cost just to go to a four-year college right off the bat!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, you name it! I was a part of five different clubs at one point in a semester, and it was extremely fun!

    Food and Dining

    The Fifty-One restaurant is high class and very affordable! Everything that was cooked was cooked by students within the culinary program, and it was amazing! There is also a very affordable Cafe right next to it!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Henry Ford Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, getting into the college lifestyle was challenging. Over time, Henry Ford Community College adjusted me to understand the system and how college works. So, I am more prepared to conquer a four year university by going to this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help through the many resources available from the college. As a student tutor within the college's Learning Lab, I was able to help many students whom were having trouble with writing long essays. Make use of the many resources they give to you.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a great establishment for those whom are returning students, or straight out of high school students. Small classes and helpful teachers makes learning such an easy passive trait here. There are also many secondary education possibilities, as well as a helpful staff, to get you to where you want to be.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe in my opinion because there many security personnel all the time, even at night to ensure people are safe at all time.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I go to the library and read new books and do homework. I also get help at the Learning Lab and I also get help from some of the tutors.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Skylight Cafe is good, but they could have more varieties of foods. For the most part, the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Henry Ford Community College doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors do their best to teach material well, but at the same time give assignment to present challenges to get student to critical think about finding a solution. They do a good job of getting student to get through challenges and not to be scared of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are majoring in anything, these college would be a great place to start your prerequisites here and then transfer to a university to finish your major.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a great college because the class sizes are small and not enormous like big lecture halls. The instructors teach the material well and are friendly to get along with.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class and be a serious student and you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is an excellent school with helpful and knowledgeable teachers. I have enjoyed the last 3 years I have spent there and look forward to the next 2 years I will spend in the nursing program. I expect to graduate with my RN in December 2013.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The more time you put in the better the outcome. For every one credit you have to study two hours @ home. If you are taking a three credit class that is six hours a week that you are reviewing completing homework and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its okay to take it one steurp at a time. Do not feel rushed to complete your degree as soon as possible. Enjoy the ride!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Henry Ford Community College to pursue my nursing degree. I believe the faculty is very superb. I am proud to be a student @ HFCC

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can work out at the fitness center which it's a good place to go in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    You could go there to make a career out of whatever you want to be.

    In three sentences

    It's the best Community College in Michigan. Great class choices. A great backup plan if you want to go from there to a regular college.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are every where on campus, its impossible not to find atleast one security gurard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs for almost every course of study.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking to save money. Its cheap for in district and out of district students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They had a Chinese New Year celebration in Feburary. We got a chance to win prizes, eat yummy food, and learn more about the culture.

    Bang for the buck

    You save so much money!!

    What to do for fun

    If your in a club there is always things to do! We also have study abroad every year.

    Food and Dining

    The best tons of choices of all kinds.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    In three sentences

    I rate my school a eight! Its awesome it could use some improvement.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go play games

    Tips for prospective students

    You will find the college as your community.

    In three sentences

    HFCC is a great college for a freshmen student and returning as well. Staff and instructors are very encouraging and helpful. Tution is also the lowest in the area.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fairlane mall is right around the corner, shopping, restaurants and the movies all in one place. Also the Henry Ford estate is not far, its very pretty in the spring and summer.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a very picky eater so i didn't eat much in the cafeteria but the mall is not far.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With the right amount of studying and determination its not difficult at all. classes can get challenging but overall its pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take HFCC seriously, its not a school you just blow off just because its a community college.

    In three sentences

    very good environment. Gets you ready to attend university. classes are not a blow off, especially the science classes.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend Basketball games

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and attend class. they have tutors and a specific building you can go into and get help on any subject.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful colege to start at! never be afraid to take courses at community colleges. They're just as good as any other college courses you could ever take.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities, especially if you are looking for more community service activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need to save a little money before going away to school/ need to boost their GPA.

    Bang for the buck

    I learned a lot and saved my self a lot of money by going to this school to earn my general education credits, plus it really helped my GPA.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't a lot to do on campus unless it's welcome back week or something along those lines; but the school is right across the street from a mall and movie theater and down the street from beautiful downtown Dearborn, which has shops and restaurants and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the restaurant is really good and made by the culinary arts students. The Student Center food is okay but a little over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Henry Ford is a bit like high school in terms of academics, though it is a little more demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on credit transfer and take only the classes you need! Do not get side track or take a lot of pointless classes. They may be cheaper at Henry Ford but most of the time they are not worth wasting time and money. Get in and earn your general education credits and get out!

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is a great stepping stone for a student who isn't quite ready to leave home to go to school; whether for money reasons or personal reasons. Most of the teachers are supportive and are a great help when it comes to getting you ready for transferring, but the same can not be said for most of the guidance councilors; who generally have no idea what they are talking about. Henry Ford is considered to be one of the best community colleges in the country because the credits transfer so well to other colleges and universitys.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Has many different clubs to join and they are or can be related to your field of study.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap to go to school here compared to any other school or university. This is meant as a two year institution so you do have to transfer after two years or after your third year while doing a 3-in-1. It is $81 per credit hour for a Dearborn resident and about $140 for a non-Dearborn resident per credit hour.

    Food and Dining

    It is not a five star restaurant but they do have some good food. Fast food, fries, burgers, pizza, soups, chips, cookies, pop, juice, and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    In some sense it is a good learning experience but you do have a bad teacher here and there. Everything you need is usually laid out in front of and explained so failing is pretty hard unless you do nothing the while time your in that classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a school ID first from the Welcome Center. Have your high school transcript sent in from your high school because they will ask for it. It is pretty laid back here so just be your self.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are caring to a point, they want you to pass. They have so many different programs to choose from. It is really cheap to go here about $81 a credit hour for a Dearborn resident and around $150 for a non-Dearborn resident.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always patrolling campus and are available to you if you call. They have great response time.

    Greek Life

    No greek life unfortunately.

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a little of everything

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone wanting to get into shape, there is dance, yoga, Pilates and weight training available! For someone looking to become a chef, the culinary program is STRONG! For the student who has interest in Art but doesn't want to do the same old boring painting or ceramics class...Ice Sculpting and Cake Decorating classes are offered! This college is great for students of all ages and even has a child care center on the campus for parents!! For the student who doesn't have a car, there are shuttle services that pick up students from the nearby mall.

    Bang for the buck

    Spring and Summer Semester can be a great way to get core classes in and over with quickly. It is more intense because the classes are accelerated but if you can stay disciplined for the 6-8 weeks, you will save money and time!! I took English and Math and had some great teachers that made sure the class understood the concepts, but it was nice because they didn't have to drag out a chapter for a month like they might have in the Fall or Winter. It's worth it if you can stay focused!! Just do it :-)

    What to do for fun

    There are always festivals and shows/concerts, round table discussions and groups/teams to join. Please take advantage of them! You might learn something or meet someone that you never expected.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so so in the student center. Breakfast can be awesome if you catch the right cook, try the pancakes or waffles, french toast sticks are cool too and cheap. Have never eaten in the fancy restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, it could be better. This is dependent on many factors; the student mindset, which professors are chosen, and the people in the class(many times, professors plan the semester at a pace that they think will be beneficial to majority of the students). Overall, the rigor can range from so so/average to very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the most out the experience while saving money on the core classes you need! Use rate my professor to find great teachers! Stay focused on the goal and time will fly by.

    In three sentences

    The main downfall would be the Welcome Center's staff...rude. Overall, the school is really impressive to be a community college. As long as you choose your professors correctly, your experience can be amazing!

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots available.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school.

    What to do for fun

    Attend sports events.

    Food and Dining

    Good variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions or to ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Great choice of classes available. Great teachers and staff. Great atmosphere.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    call the counsler or the advisor before you make a decision

    In three sentences

    Great professors Tution is not that expensive so many events

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    tons of entertainment within the cafa; such as bands , and clubs

    Food and Dining

    overly crowded, somewhat like a hangout, the food is poorly prepared

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay on top of your tuition, never give up no matter how tough the class is the professors are always willing to help

    In three sentences

    henry ford community college is a great college, but they do have there share of problems. there is never any help when the school messes up and over charges one, but it is easy for them to take there money but hard to give back yours if they are in the wrong. other than that they have amazing professors as well as tons of help all over campus for anyone struggling in any of their subjects

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is very well cooked and delicious. Dining is clean. They try the best they could to keep it clean but its difficult when the cafe is flooded with people leaving and entering.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Mostly all the professors are highly skilled in the subject they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is definitely a very well opportunity and a good place to start of whether you are going back to school or just starting off with littke money. Definitely a money saver college compared to a university.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is a well educated environment. Teachers, students and faculty all try to work together to help the students succeed. The people who attend the college are just as helpful when asking for help to get around campus.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe

    Clubs and Activities

    even though this college has many clubs and activities, they are barely heard of. i heard they have a great basketball team though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love chilling in the dock that shows the rouge river and the bridge and the campus center

    What to do for fun

    there is many clubs that students can join, there is running and biking trails behind campus and Fairlane mall is across the street

    Food and Dining

    they have a small cafeteria but students barely eat there

    Dorm Life

    no dorm on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a joke, but most of the math and science classes are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not under estimate the classes. Even though its a community college. its science and math classes are still pretty hard

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford is one of the best Community colleges in the area. It is cheap and offers a good service. Definitely a great first college.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I only ever seen campus safety driving around the parking lot, I rarely see them walking throughout the buildings.

    Greek Life

    I do not believe there is greek life; this isn't a university.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not looked into these.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not sure college is for them or those who cannot afford university tuition. It is also great for those who work full time and want to take just a couple classes at a time.

    Bang for the buck

    HFCC makes it possible to afford tuition out of pocket and avoid loans without monthly payment plans.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and activities you could join, although I have never looked into it.

    Food and Dining

    I have only been to the cafeteria a couple times, never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at HFCC.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any community college, some classes are going to push you harder than others. It is easy to get distracted by other students in class who do not want to be there or just like to cause problems. Always speak up if you do not know something and take advantage of the office hours with your professors! They are more helpful than you think, no questin is a dumb question!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to sign up for your classes early; sciences, math and online classes are the first to fill up. If you are unsure about financial aid, do not be discouraged of the long lines, make sure you talk to someone in the department. There is often extra money out there that you did not know about! If you are hesitant about college or you want to save money while taking prereqs this is the college to attend, can't beat the tution and location.

    In three sentences

    I try not to stay on campsu longer than I have too. The student body acts more like they are in high school than college. I wish more teachers would act on correcting the way these students act in class. I understand they are adults, but some do not act like it!

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HFCC offers a wide variety of sports, clubs and other social events that you can attend. HFCC is also close to Fairlane Shopping Mall which can be a fun place to go in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The Skylight Cafe is great and has a variety of foods to choose from. They also have a soup and salad bar along with sandwiches, wraps and fryer foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or living arrangements available on the campus of HFCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors at HFCC have high expectations set for the students sitting in their classrooms. Therefore, it is important that you take classes seriously and put forth the effort in order to get good grades. Some classes are easier than others however, for the most part there aren't too many blow off classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip is to check, double check and triple check the transfer guidelines if you are planning on transferring out of HFCC. My second tip is to plan on getting to class at least 20 minutes early to allow yourself enough time to find a parking spot. Unfortunately, one negative aspect of HFCC is the parking lot. My third and final tip, is to avoid missing class as much as possible and if for some reason you do have to miss, make sure that you can provide documentation to excuse your absence. HFCC has a very strict attendance policy and the result of not attending class can have a negative effect on your grade.

    In three sentences

    Henry Ford Community College is a great choice for individuals who are looking for an affordable and student-centered education. Also, HFCC is a great starting point for individuals who wish to transfer to a four year university, however, I highly recommend checking and double checking the transfer guidelines to ensure that the credits earned will transfer. Last, HFCC is a very diverse and multicultural learning environment.