Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Herkimer County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for someone who doesn't know what they want to do... yet. By taking classes in what I was interested in, I met other students who were interested in the same things as me. That's how I decided what I want to: a friend in my class was taking the class because it was required for her major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class! Especially in general courses, attendance is sometimes part of your grade. If you are absent, not only do you miss what's happening in class, but you lose more of your grade by not being there! Also, keep in touch with your professors. Let them know ahead of time if you will be late, absent, or have to leave early. No promises, but usually they appreciate the gesture and will work with you so you won't fall behind.

    Bang for the buck

    HCCC is a SUNY school, so credits easily transfer throughout the SUNY system. Also, HCCC has a ton of transfer agreements with other 4-year schools in central New York.

    Am enjoying being here

    At times, this school seemed like another year of high school, especially in my General Education courses. However, I found I most enjoyed being at HCCC when I was around other students who were more goal-oriented. Also, HCCC has a beautiful campus; I enjoy looking at the town from the top of the hill and hiking on their trails.

    Am learning a lot

    If you take bare-minimum classes, that is exactly what you will get out of your experience here. If you take challenging classes, you will be taking classes with other serious students who are looking to learn, and not just to get a degree.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs.

    In three sentences

    great learning environment, and the teachers here will not stop until you succeed.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online learning is great for stay at home or working parents and students that have schedules that may not be able to adjust for regular classroom courses.

    Bang for the buck

    It is rather inexpensive and offers a wide variety of degree programs and course to be completed online, saving the student money towards their 4 year degree, by attending a community college for the first two years.

    Food and Dining

    NA-cannot rate

    Dorm Life

    NA-cannot rate

    In three sentences

    I attend full time online and am graduating in May 2012 with an AAS in Paralegal. I am very impressed with the program and its professors. I have been very successful and have maintained a 3.85 GPA.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a great option for students who want to save some money on college. Take your basic courses at a community college and you will only have to pay big bucks for 2 years instead of 4.

    Food and Dining

    Herkimer has a very nice dining area.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and excellent for anyone interested in living in a rural community.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cool most down to earth people. Provide great safety and friendship.

    What to do for fun

    Pool hall, Swimming pool, basketball, soccer tennis, nature walk, school events try and stay involved.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better but it does fill you up.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable. Get to know your roommates well. Stay away from house drama.. Opinion is never needed.. If you feel uncomfortable speak to housing that's all.

    Academic Rigor

    School is everything.. Academic support is always there. Teachers make things as easy as possible to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and don't take nothing lightly as easy as it may seem. USe the academc support center

    In three sentences

    It is an easy school. Made for anyone trying to pick their grades. Beautiful Campus.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Travel Club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of my Travel and Tourism classes were help in the Travel Suit where we had the inside of an airplane. It had been there for years. HCCC was the first Travel school in New York and the airplane setting made the perfect atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    This college was very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Green Club. Help make the community a better place.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus often.

    Academic Rigor

    There were high expectations and was very hands-on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and Network with your teachers. They can be the biggest help or best reccomendation and being there is more than half of the battle!

    In three sentences

    HCCC helped me realize what I wanted to do in life. My professors were all very kind and helpful and taught me about many different fields in my subject making it easier to choose my life goals. I recommend this college to my friends and my brother who will be attending college for the first time in the fall!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activties to choose from. You can join different teams. They have activities in the main lobby about every other day.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining you have many tasty food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are quiet, where you can study. No people are allowed after hours which is good if you have early classes noone can keep you up. On final week no one is allowed in the dorms that way you can study.

    Academic Rigor

    They make sure that the work isn't so difficult where students feel the need to give up. They make the work at college level and make sure we can handle the work. Professors give work that they believe is gonna meet both the student and professor expectations. Allow us to apply skills and critical thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the college focused with your mind set on one goal, which is getting your degree. If you feel your are struggling in any class talk to a teacher or your adviser they will help you succeed their not there to see you fail.

    In three sentences

    1. There is a great criminal justice program, that allow several hands on activities and allows you to see your career in a perspective it cannot be seen. 2. Professors and advisers take there time to make sure you understand and meet all standards that are to be meet in order to graduate. 3. Outstanding school that helps you succeed give you many opportunities.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always on patrol and blue lights are located all across campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Always a whole bunch to do and get involved in. Even free movie nights! And some of the clubs even go on trips to places like New York City

    Great for these types of students

    Any student willing to learn.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs on campus. Anything from Anime club, to fashion club, even clubs that focus on religion, different careers, and academics. Every week an activity takes place in the uppper lobby of the main building and we also hold seasonal activities as well.

    Food and Dining

    Many hot food choices are offered including, french fries, different burgers, an assortment of panini's, a daily special, and salads, desserts, and ice cream are also available.

    Academic Rigor

    In the production courses, we are given hands-on learning projects to enhance our learning experience. Books are required for most classes, there are some however that don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, show up to class on time and prepared, and you'll do just fine.

    In three sentences

    Herkimer has opened many doors for me. I have learned so much about the radio and TV profession including working in a news atmosphere and in an editing suite. I was also matched to a radio job by one of my professors.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its relatively a good price for the amount of learning you do.

    What to do for fun

    I read and spend time with my family.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you set time out to study. Studying is very important. Without doing so, I would not be on the presidents list all four semesters.

    In three sentences

    This school is hands on and works one on one with the students. They make sure you understand the material before teach new subjects. This is the best community college by far.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As an online college student, I'm still notified of all the happenings at the school. The school works very closely with law enforcement when need be. Their students safety is first priority.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for transfer students. This school is a stepping stone to a better education.

    Bang for the buck

    I choose to come here for the affordability

    Food and Dining

    I can't speak on food and dining, I'm an online college student.

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak for dorm life, I'm an online college student.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be challenging at times, other times it's easy to breeze right through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall behind in your courses, it will be impossible to catch up.

    In three sentences

    Excellent options in online degree programs. Very helpful faculty.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good.They won't follow you and hound you down for no reason but when they're needed they are right there.They set up a booth to make sure no one outside of the college is coming to do harm to someone and they're really nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities at HCCC.It has such a huge variety that I'm sure everyone could find a club they would love.

    Great for these types of students

    I think HCCC is great for really any kind of students.It has a wide range of majors and classes and it really has something to offer to everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe HCCC is worth every penny.The food is amazing,the dorms are like your own apartment,the classes are so much fun and the staff helps you however they can.I honestly cannot wait to go back at all and I know at least 2 or 3 others that can't wait as well.

    What to do for fun

    Just down the hill of the college is the town with many stores and food places. On campus there is a lot of room around the dorms to play volley ball,skateboard,or whatever you want!Not too far from them college is a park where a lot of people go just to relax and look at the trees and water and just relax and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at HCCC!!!I have never tasted such amazing school food before in my life.I know some people who say their onion rings are the best they ever had(even better than some restaurants!!).Some other people that I know agree that the food is much better than any other schools they have had before.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing!They have three different set of dorm life,campus meadows,res run,and college hill.They all have their perks and they all are a tight knit for groups of people.There not far from the school and very easy to get to and because they're so close it is easy to meet new people and make more friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fun yet challenging.They are very enjoyable and interesting and will keep anyone's attention. If you don't do well for some reason the college will put you on academic probation and help you raise your grades and do everything in their power to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe people should come to this college.The staff will help in anyway they can and the students will as well.The programs and classes are fun yet challenging and make you realize if you really want to go in that field of work or not.

    In three sentences

    Herkimer County Community College is very friendly.The staff is wonderful and very helpful. I would rate it a 5 out of 5 stars.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fitness center , movie night, bus trips, athletic games, holiday activities as well as the rmcc hall and auditorium. School parties and gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    Food from the cafeteria is great. It includes many different stations for food and have a wide variety of beverages as well as snacks. Depending if you live on camp of off camp they will give you a meal plan which incudes flex dollars. Theres also an off camp and on camp account where you can use your cash card for food and store needs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is incredible. Many choices and the dorms are extremely clean and come furnished with local cable,table,refrigerator and sitting area.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very experienced and take their jobs seriously. They are here to make sure that you get the most out of this experience. The curriculum is not very hard but they will challenge you a great deal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to play hard but work even harder. This school is very serious about academics and athletics. This is a great school for you if your looking to bring your average up and transfer to a new school and if your an athlete.

    In three sentences

    Herkimer is a great school, with numerous majors and degrees. They have an amazing campus and the people their are extremely helpful.The teachers are wonderful and very experienced.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety has been the main objective of this college. I get personal emails alerts every week letting me know about safety issues or at the time of the safety issue that happens.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a web base student.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak about dorm life I'm a web base student.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn a lot of different point of views from different people. You will enjoy learning the different ways that are being taught to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun an enjoy your experience there. You will meet new people and college professors. You will enjoy the experience you whether you go online or on campus classes.

    In three sentences

    A great college to go to. A very informational college. A very friendly college.

  • 07/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety will be on you if they know you do certain things that aren't allowed on campus . Most of the time you can go about your business without worrying but there are days when they will make a scene .

    What to do for fun

    There are parties to go to , go to friends house , go to the alumni hall & play games.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't good to me

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't to bad but I prefer to live off campus. There is always a problem with the heat and the Maintness guys barely keep college hill dorms warm during the winter months.

    Academic Rigor

    The work the teachers assign for the students aren't hard but it's time consuming. Try and go to your teachers office during your semester; that makes their day :).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending HCCC, bring things your going to need , especially if you live close to the school. Another thing is choose to live off campus .

    In three sentences

    HCCC is a college that is all about helping students move forward in life. What I enjoy the most is when it's snowing outside, I would go to the baseball field and watch the snow fall; it's relaxing. The students in HCCC are friendly and once you get to know them as a person,they could help you along your college life.