Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hesston College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 7

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone not involved in drugs or alcohol. Hesston is about a community and having a great college experience without the stereotypical view of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best phrases I've heard comes from Dustin Galyon, the Head Men's Basketball Coach and former Admissions Counselor. While it seems very simple, perspective students should ask the students about their college experience. The Admissions Counselor's are always going to tell you how great a school is, but ask a variety of students, those who live in the dorms and experience everything each and every day. And visit, visit, visit!! You have to visit a college before committing anywhere, even if you're from the area.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private, 2 year Christian institution, Hesston College is not the cheapest option. The food is very good, and often home-cooked by the nicest cafeteria women in Kansas! The dorm rooms are nice, and they take care of you for the money you pay. However, Hesston does offer great financial aid packages, and if you want to attend here, they will simply make it affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I grew up less than a block away from the Hesston College campus. From the time I was five till about 13 or 14, I attended every Hesston College Men's Basketball game I could, and I was always familiar with the people on campus. As a senior at Hesston High School, I had decided it was time to get away. I searched for out-of-state schools and others in-state, but didn't seem to find the right fit. I was offered a job as the Student Assistant Coach for the Men's Basketball team, and, after insisting on going elsewhere, I decided this would be a good place to start my first two years. I was wrong. Through my first 3 semesters, Hesston has been a great experience. I've met kids from all over the United States and the world. One of my closest friends is from Jakarta, Indonesia, and I plan on visiting him this summer back at home. As an RA my sophomore year, I have 8 other guys in my mod. The diversity amongst the guys is great, and watching them grow together and become a family has been the highlight of my year. After speaking with and visiting HS friends at other colleges and universities, I've realized Hesston College was a great decision. They have made friends for their college lives, but I've formed relationships with friends that will last the rest of my life.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Hesston College are very relational with the students in each class. With a student-teacher ratio of 12-1, and lab ratio of 7-1, the ability to form a strong relationship with each professor is phenomenal. From in-class help to assistance the frustrating assignment at 11 PM Tuesday night, they are there for the students because they know them on a personal level. The professors are committed to the school as well. The best example of this is Dr. Jim Yoder, the Chemistry professor. My mom, 53, had Jim in class when she was here. His dedication to the school is second to none, and he continues to bring the same enthusiasm he did 35 years ago. I began as an Engineer major, but changed to business as a sophomore. There are countless opportunities, and I was even fortunate enough to attend a business conference in San Jose, California. The business connections I've made are going to help me be successful over the rest of my life.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 7

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE!!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student would feel at home here. Hesston is really a great place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not sure how to answer this bc I am on scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    watch sporting events at the campus. lots of activities are always planned or your 45min from Wichita. I have very little time because I am going to school full time and play baseball.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a fan of cafeteria food but Hesstons is not bad.

    Dorm Life

    well being with friends is fun, small dorm is not. but the RAs always have activites planned around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Hesston takes pride in Academics. there is always someone whether a professor, student counselor that is willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a bike or skate board because it is an awesome way to get around the campus and when I said it was beautiful i meant it.

    In three sentences

    Caring professors on a beautiful campus, provides most sports except football. located in a small town which is only 45 min from Wichita. I have really enjoyed my first semester at Hesston.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 7

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hesston offers an extremely safe campus atmosphere. There are call boxes located at various locations throughout the small campus. It is nestled quietly within a small farming community where everyone looks out for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally have not had the opportunity to get involved with any of the many clubs and activities that are offered at Hesston. As a result, I do not feel confident in giving advice nor recommendation on these.

    Great for these types of students

    Hesston College is a Mennonite school, but does not push their religious views on others. They do however encourage you to keep an open mind. If you are an on campus student you will be required to go to a certain amount of chapel experiences. These do not have just a religious affiliation, but they also have worldly learning opportunities as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Hesston does have a somewhat higher tuition than other institutions, it is well worth it. I have looked around for future job prospects, and asked other professionals in the field about Hesston. Unanimously I have been given the answer that Hesston is a highly regarded school to have on your resume. This is a result of their high standards of excellence in education, as well as their success rates of retaining students throughout graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events, concerts, and art shows to attend on campus. Hesston also has its own public art gallery on campus that I encourage you to check out for yourself.

    Food and Dining

    Hesston is a small town surrounded by local farms. The dining hall has a bevy of delicious foods. Often you are treated to meals that have that home cooked taste. The cafeteria also offers meals at a very affordable price.

    Dorm Life

    I am a returning adult with a full time family life. As such I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student who is focused in the sciences, it is very important to bring your A-game. It can be very intensive and demanding, especially Microbiology. Although this is true, if you take advantage of all of the educational success opportunities the satisfaction of passing increases your confidence immensely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind this is a private college, and as such tuition levels are a bit higher than other institutions. They're nursing program is rated number two in the nation. If you are having any problems with a subject, they offer several different options personalized to help ensure your success.

    In three sentences

    They maintain a very knowledgeable, caring, and compassionate learning environment. Hesston has an extremely tranquil small town setting that enhances the learning experience. It offers several different opportunities to learn at home and abroad, in order to give you an exceptional education.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 7

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although Hesston is a small town, the town revolves around the college. There is a local movie theater and doughnut shop that provide a great place to hang out and study if you need.

    Food and Dining

    Hesston had the food made by hand so it was never old or cold. The food services catered to peoples special need with food and were always happy to do so.

    Dorm Life

    Hesston did a good job at making sure the dorm life was a success. They created a community environment so no person felt lost.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors there truly care about how students are doing. They will put their all into making you success especially if you show you want to. It is important to give it your all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out, never don't go to something because you are alone. Go to activities to meet people because there are so many nice people out there that are potential friends!

    In three sentences

    Hesston is an excellent place to learn more about yourself. At Hesston I had a fabulous experience, not only in my academics but in every aspect. Hesston showed me that there are real people out there who truly care.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 7

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hesston is a small town in the middle of rural Kansas. It's very safe out here at night. The only problems are incidences of college kids stealing, but that's where common sense comes into play.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of clubs to choose from, but most are just for fun, such as the Superhero Club or the Quilting Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Hesston is great for pretty all types of students except those looking to go to a huge party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a thing on campus called punching ice cream that involves climbing up on top of the buildings, especially the gym. Also, at the beginning of the year there's the mod olympics which is where all the mods compete against each other in silly games as a way to get to know each other. Then there's other things specifically for freshman to get to know each other better. There's countless Hesston-specific activities that happen all year long.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Hesston's expensive. It's a $30,000 a year private school, but the financial aid office has heaps of scholarships available. Even, then I can't say it's always worth that large of an amount of money. The internet is super slow and the food is super repetitive. Therefore, if you plan on attending Hesston, make sure you get loads of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Most people come to Hesston and complain of the lack of things to do, but that's because of the lack of huge drinking parties that go down in small-town Hesston. CAB (the student organization created to come up with fun activities) has things going on almost every weekend and sometimes the weeks in between. The drama department puts on plays and musicals, the art building has galleries open, there are plenty of lounges with couches and TVs with movies in the library, and there's two popular clubs in Wichita that have Thursday nights as college night.

    Food and Dining

    The food stinks. It's on a regular schedule and is quite repetitive (although not disgusting to taste), but it's paid for along with tuition, so if you're coming here as a full time student, you've already paid for it and might as well eat it. Also, if you get truly bored of it, there's plenty of places to eat in Hesston and neighboring Newton.

    Dorm Life

    There are only three different types of dorms you can be in, but all have mod lounges where you and those you live around can hang out, and there's always a very homey feel. Dorms group up into mods and mods group up into brother and sister mods who do activities together. It's a great time. The only downside is the open house hours that determine when members of the opposite sex can be in you dorm/mod.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I was considered one of the better students in my high school, coming to Hesston has still afforded me a nice test of my academic abilities. Some of the teachers are quite lenient (at least those that I've had as a freshman), but never to the point where you can walk all over them. The teacher you really need to watch out for in terms of academic rigor is Hugo Boschmann, the Biology professor. He's a great teacher, but very strict and hard to follow in lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting is a must for any prospective student at any school, but those who come to visit Hesston never regret it. I went to visit another neighboring school and did not in the least feel very welcome even though these two schools are very similar, but at Hesston everybody smiled and said Hello, and had no problem talking to me. The student ambassadors are very helpful and are students who love Hesston and love to spread that feeling.

    In three sentences

    Hesston College is a great place to go to further your faith as a Mennonite, but there is no need or obligation to be a Mennonite or even a Christian to attend and enjoy. The financial aid office is extremely helpful in getting scholarships: I got $26,000 just from Hesston. Also, the small class sizes are great for students who need more one-on-one interaction with their professors.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 7

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy my experience here. There is a great community and faculty. It's a good school all around.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 7

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel very safe, and have keys to everything almost.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many in campus

    Great for these types of students

    People that stand out in leadership skills, and want to make amazing friends and enjoy a good year of college. With little drugs and drinking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many things, you personally have to be there to experience!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but they work with you, and just a really good college overall.

    What to do for fun

    Many things, late night drubber donuts runs, half price apps, many activities, movies, fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Homemade food for the cafeteria and many options.

    Dorm Life

    Many activities, many friends, lots and lots of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Tough academics but you learn to study with help. You also know when you leave there that many other colleges should want you because all in kansas know just how tough Hesston college is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep all you're options open. You want colleges to want you.

    In three sentences

    Hesston is an amazing family and community college. You will meet some amazing people that will be a life long friend. Many impact you in amazing ways, and it's just a great and fun college!