Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Highland Community College - Kansas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike rides, go on road trips to visit the water parks in the Kansas City area, play Frisbee golf.

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine at the school

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help, the counsel and student body are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Highland Community College has counselors that are very helpful. Highland Community College has less students, therefore the teachers have more one-on-one time with each student. If I had to rate Highland Community College one out of ten, the school would get a ten.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiawatha and Saint Joseph are within a reasonable driving distance to the college, both of these towns provide entertainment for students of any ages. Saint Joseph offers dining, shopping and more; whereas Hiawatha offers local diners and a small town feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Very detailed and educationally centered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask the professors for help, that's what they're there for and they are always more than willing to assist! Professors do not mind if you have incorrectly been marked off on exams and you are right - tell them, they will review and correct any grading errors, they want to know these things!

    In three sentences

    Highland Community College online courses have allowed me to continue my education by being affordable and convenient. The professors are very professional and dedicated to assisting students,even though it is not done through your typical face-to-face interaction. I have gained experience and knowledge that will be very useful in my career.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security, He drives around all the time day and night. I see him almost every time I go outside He will stop and talk to you and make sure that everything is okay. He is on call 24/7 he will come and help you if you need it he is also a cop but does not carry a gun on school grounds.

    Greek Life

    I have never been told if we have a sorority I would try to get involved if we did

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from I had a hard time picking which ones I wanted to do. They try to have an activity probably two times a month.

    Great for these types of students

    Highland is great for any student that is in sports or into art.

    Bang for the buck

    Highland is a good college, it has a lot of options if your on campus or off campus. The teachers are good, they try to be up to date on what is going on with the school and your grades. Tutors are also an option if you need help with your school work they are there to help when you need it. There are also study groups that you can go to if you like to study for a test with a small group of people.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the track team for Highland so that consumes a lot of my time. What I do when I have free time is i go and hang out with the other girls or guys on the track team we gather before every meet and make dinner. I play guitar everyday when I can sometimes that can be a challenge. Highland also has events for students to go to that are free, I try to get involved with those. Also students go out to the lake to swim and hang out when its warm outside.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria normally has very good food. They also have something that they call a Scottie Pause which is a place where you can use Flex Dollars to buy food. Flex Dollars comes with your meal plan just in case you want to buy something else for a meal or a snake they have a wide variety of food in the Scottie Pause.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. They have single occupancy dorms if that is what you would like. They are apartment style housing which means that you have a kitchen, living room, bathroom and the bedrooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in what they have open for students to do, like the activities and maybe even sports. That will always help you to meet new people and mingle. Try to talk to your teachers if you have any problems with the course work.

    In three sentences

    I think that Highland Community College is a good College, it has good teachers and small classrooms. It is a small campus you can easily find your classes without walking miles in order to get to them. The environment that you meet new people is very open.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never even at 9 at night felt unsafe on this campus. They keep it well lit.

    Bang for the buck

    I have said this before but I am really impressed by these teachers and how the school makes classes available for working students. These classes are so very cheap compared to the universities and religious schools around us.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining area but as a nontraditional student so far I have never seen it open.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the privilege to be able to learn form some of the most wonderful kind hearted teachers here

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any problems make sure you call someone and keep on it until you get some kind of answer.

    In three sentences

    They are in a great location, have a wide range of hours, and want to be there for students. If students have the drive to succeed is the only way they will make it here due to the total lack of help from the administration. The campus and buildings are nicely taken care of and always clean!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few activities to keep you busy or occupied. Depending on the type of student you are.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet students wanting to get to know people. An athlete wanting a chance, really anybody is capeable of coming to this school and achieving.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the first day there is a block party wich is kind of fun, and then there is art day when the high school kids come and show there art, its really interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Highland really isn't the place to be if you just want to have fun, its more of a place to grow up and make you take responsibility of what you need to get done.

    What to do for fun

    There are sometimes competitions held in the wellness, but really you have to make your own fun, its what you make it.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food isn't good, but some days the food is ok

    Dorm Life

    Gives you some what a feel of independence.

    Academic Rigor

    Strict

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time, focus, do what your supposed to do, don't let little things distract you, and stay ahead

    In three sentences

    This school is a very friendly, caring, and small school. This is a good place to learn and grow as a person. Things are taken serious.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students on their own trying to improve their own living abilities and obtain a job that better utilizes their skills.

    Bang for the buck

    Highland is easily the most affordable college in the area. The degrees average out to be the same as any other college providing the same degree, however, I would have to strongly suggest using this as a start up for ones own general education.

    What to do for fun

    The students and teachers alike can be interesting to talk with. Everyone has a different story, I would strongly suggest talking with any random stranger to hear there stories. The school has an enjoyable feel that promotes both learning and socializing.

    Food and Dining

    Highland community college has a range of food that can easily accommodate anyone's eating habits, or diets.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, however, anyone can live anywhere if they are comfortable and able to focus on work. Dorms or not, there will be distractions, blaming it on roommates and the fact you may or may not live in the dorms, is simply you lying to your self.

    Academic Rigor

    Where the classes are small, they can lack in formality, and challenging academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Starting small does not mean you aren't starting at all. Simply because one person may find Highland and give up because they think that it's a sign of failure does not mean you must give up too. Failure is subject to ones own opinion, and you can only fail if you have decided to fail.

    In three sentences

    Where Highland Community College is a fairly cheap school, it is perfect for someone such as my self, an undergraduate straight out of high school with no help in trying to find colleges wanting to further his or her education while searching for other colleges. Highland is not where I will finish, but all great works of art start with small starting blocks that together make structurally sound beauties that live on through time, an immortal everlasting creation of man.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never tried the food or dining

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms I go to the technical center in atchison.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are there to make sure you understand everything they are trying to teach. Make sure you study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your information in time before the classes start. Be prepared to study, because the information can be alot on some students. Also make sure you get your financial aid in order before the classes start because student loans and grants are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I think the teachers are great here. I like that I don't have to travel to get to school. They also are willing to do everything they can to get you where you need to be!

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on call nearly all day. All night as well

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of student activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students just wanting to get the feel for college life

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, work out in the wellness center, walk around town

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the greatest

    Dorm Life

    Pretty nice dorms. Single rooms as well as doubles

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of athletes but academics is important here too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors; they really care, especially if you show that you do.

    In three sentences

    I think it is an excellent school. It gives you a chance to get the feel for the college life without the stress of a huge university. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is pretty good here, if there's any problems security handles it pretty well. We have security cameras around campus, I feel pretty safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities are fun here there's always something to do during the week.

    What to do for fun

    There is always campus activities going on either intramurals, movie night or something. My favorite was the big slip and slide they always do at the beginning of the year. And I also made friends with the locals here and they take us four wheeling and mudding.

    Food and Dining

    The caf�© food here sucks. I usually don't eat at the caf�© anymore because there is nothing good to eat besides the desserts.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms here because they are like mini apartments. They aren't like regular college dorms, you have a kitchen, living room, bathroom and two bedrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are pretty easy. The teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are usually easy just show up. You have to make your own fun though you can't just sit around in your dorm or you will not like here.

    In three sentences

    Highland CC is a great college to attend to if you want to go to a community college. The teachers are great and can work with you one on one if you need extra help. You make a lot of new friends here and great memories that you wont forget!

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is buffet style but not very good at times

    Dorm Life

    Full apartment style dorms are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a really small college so if you want to the big school expierence dont come here.

    In three sentences

    It is a great small community college. If you want to get your career started start here.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again, I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    Again, I am an online student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take more than 18 credits a semester if you don't want to go through the hassle of being accepted. Don't listen to the advisors because they will promise you things that won't happen.

    In three sentences

    I am currently online and the classes are good but the advisors or people that are suppose to help you, don't. They are not nice and if you want to take more than 18 credits a semester, you most likely will be denied. Also, they like to control what courses you do.