Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Highland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Highland was just the college that I chose to attend because it was the closest. However, now that I have had a year and half being there, I know I wouldn't have chosen another college. Highland is great because of the friendly atmosphere, the individual attention the teachers give the students, and the way the college actually cares and responds to issues the student body presents. I love to tell my friends back in Kentucky about Highland because I'm so happy that I'm a part of Highland Community College.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that have a life outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take speech with Yeager and get your gen-ed's out of the way. It will save you a lot of time later.

    Bang for the buck

    If your an in-state student, you can't beat the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my classes and the professors are really helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors push you to learn more and the students really want to learn.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local, and all majors, and those undecided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into every class with an open mind. You can learn a lot! Join clubs and go to campus events to make some new friends!

    Bang for the buck

    Very great!!

    Am learning a lot

    You do learn quite a bit in most classes. The classes aren't as challenging as those at universities, but if you pay attention you can learn a lot in class.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like small schools (better teacher/student ratios); Liberal Arts, nursing, cosmetology, agricultural majors; anyone who wants a great education AND to save money!

    Tips for prospective students

    Superior liberal arts programs: English, humanities, literature, psychology, etc. I especially recommend Tracy Mays (English); John Webb (humanities); and Jim Davis (class piano). Also, Vicki Schulz as advisor - she is extremely nice and helpful. My experience here is awesome - better than I ever could have dared to hope!

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education is absolutely superior; why spend more when I can receive everything I need and then some?!?

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the small school atmosphere, ease of getting around, small class size and the great individual attention and care that is given to students.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoyed my first semester and the professors are very knowledgeable, personable, and engaging.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    low for violence

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    low income and out of district

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not for sure

    Bang for the buck

    looking for a nursing loan for school

    What to do for fun

    on campus activities

    Food and Dining

    delicious and affordable

    Dorm Life

    will live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    the best

    Tips for prospective students

    i sat yes to attending

    In three sentences

    good student ratios

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not terrible, but always keep your car doors locked.

    Clubs and Activities

    The music and theater department is very good.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost, you really can't complain about the school. You can get your first two years of schooling in at a MUCH cheaper rate than universities, and you can still get just as much out of your classes as you could at the bigger schools.

    What to do for fun

    School clubs and sports exist. Other than that, I'm sure you could find something else to do around town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food suffices. Freeport doesn't have the most massive selection of restaurants, but there's enough of a variety that you'll find something even the pickiest of eaters will like.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment building I've been in near the campus is quite nice; however, I can't speak for all of them.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course there are the classes that are passable with minimal work and effort, but for those who like to be intellectually stimulated, I promise those intense classes are out there. Many of the science classes are quite the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highland is going to be what you make of it. If you attend with the mindset that you're stuck at a small community college, you're probably not going to enjoy yourself. Make the most of your time here.

    In three sentences

    Highland has a place for everyone. You're saving money and, as long as you're investing time into your classes rather than blowing them off, you'll actually learn a lot. You will get out of it what you put in.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can walk onto campus a feel safe. I am not afraid to walk on campus alone, ever.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities that students can join if they are looking to get involved with extra-activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Highland is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore carries everything from school supplies to campus apparel.

    What to do for fun

    Highland puts on plays and musicals. along with the sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is just like any other college, not quite like mamma's cooking, but not like high school lunch room food either.

    Dorm Life

    I have a couple friends that live on campus and they say campus life is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have been told by other students, Highland has a very rigorous academic expectation. The teachers don't put up with slackers and people that don't want to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a couple visits to Highland to make sure you get the complete feel for the campus, since you will be spending most of your time there. Also, get to know people before school begins by going to the campus tour they offer about two weeks before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    Highland is very down-to-earth and has a very homey feeling to it. Once I stepped on campus, I knew right away that it was the place for me. I am positive that others will find Highland to be just as welcoming as I do.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highland is a smaller-sized campus, someone will always be there to watch over you - whether that would be a fellow student, or more than likely a group of them, or security or even the local police.

    Bang for the buck

    Highland is so affordable it makes people from state university or bigger college want to transfer back to it, and they usually do! Compared to the tuition of 20,000 dollars or more Highland is amazing, with being full time being less than 1,500 a semester!

    What to do for fun

    Getting bored at Highland shouldn't be a possibility! In between classes you can go to the YMCA to play basketball, lift weights or swim! If staying on campus and meeting new people is your style head down to the cafeteria and play a game of pool.

    Food and Dining

    Highland has their own cafeteria along with being in the Freeport area which is home to plenty of fast-food and sit-down restaurants - believe me, you will not go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Highland is a community college in the heart of Freeport Illinois, if you're living in the surrounding area you'll most likely just to drive to campus everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    If you feel like you're not being challenged at Highland that's because you're not challenging yourself! Join a lab math class and just keep pushing yourself to new standards. You have to be willing to learn and try new things or else it won't work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy it! You're in college, challenge yourself, join clubs have fun. The YMCA is located right on campus so get in shape and work out! If you don't like a class get it changed and try something else you have two weeks after classes start.

    In three sentences

    Highland is a beautiful campus that is small enough that you are sure to see your buddies in between classes or during breaks. The whole feel of Highland is compact, nice and homey which unnerves you on your first day there. The teachers are nice and encouraging and you are sure to have a great college experience with new people!

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Freeport is a pretty boring small town. But Highland once in awhile has some interesting things to do for students throught the school year.

    Dorm Life

    Highland is a community college, so most students live at home or have their own appartments that are not affilated with Highland College.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be, to fill out scholarship applications while still in high school. I also say that studying for the placement test is BEST to do early! I was stuck with taking a college reading class and it has no effect on GPA or transfer credit.

    In three sentences

    Highland is a good community college for students out of high school who do not know what they plan on studying. Highland is also a good school because it is cheaper than a university. The instructors at Highland are very helpful and get to know you on a personal level.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are always officers about if students need anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, Fellowship, Student Senate, Highland Chronicle,and many more clubs are at Highland to enjoy! There are many opportunities to be involved and its easy to be apart of many of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like challenging courses but with a small campus feel will enjoy Highland Community College.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarships available to help limit a student's costs.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities as well as other clubs are always hosting free events to get involved in. Recently we had free indoor iceskating.

    Food and Dining

    There are no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a job right away as a work study if you need one. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    This is a very friendly environment. The academics are challenging, and the professors are very willing to help. There are also a lot of great work opportunities for students.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap compared to bigger universities!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of of activities to keep you busy. Highland has a ton of organizations that students can join free of charge. The student just needs to get out there and join!

    Food and Dining

    The college does have a cafeteria for students. Their prices are inexpensive for lunch and dinner. Also, the cafeteria is big and has a lot of tables with chairs.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Highland Community College because it is a small, community college, but they do have apartments within walking distance to the campus. I also do not know how much the rent is, but I have a feeling it is not expensive because the apartments seem to be filled by the starting of the term.

    Academic Rigor

    At Highland, there are multiple classes to choose from. They also provide four academic advisors free of charge to all current students. Some of the classes I have taken in the class are a lot of work, but it really does help in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be shy; the instructors are always available, but YOU have to talk to THEM. Highland is a small college, so you will get to know your instructors well and create new friends. Also, do NOT slack off for homework.

    In three sentences

    Highland Community College is helping me reach my goal to become a nurse. The instructors are always willing to help students if they need it. I give Highland Community College a five out of five!

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap. Good place to start and save money.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and organizations. also you could join one of the sports teams or go to the sporting events. The college provides lots of different thing throughout the year to participate in. For example, they threw a mardi gras parade.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is great. And cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor depends on the class and the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many general educations classes as you can your first year. Take some fun electives. For example, you could take a art class if you like to draw. Also, join clubs and organizations to meet people and have some fun.

    In three sentences

    Highland is a great place to start out. There are many options in classes to choose from. There are also online and on campus classes to choose from.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its very safe

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there is clubs but i never participate on one of them

    Bang for the buck

    you pay cheap for good education

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do around its a small town after all there is a movie theater and fast foods thats about it

    Food and Dining

    never ate at the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are more challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    well there is a lot of young people on campus but there is a lot of old too so get used to it. people usually are from around freeport. there is not many international people people are ok but it's not that easy making friends

    In three sentences

    its a good, and cheap college. you can expect good education.