Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Highline Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/04/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students would fit in this school. Its very diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a prospective student is planning to attend this school for Running Start or any other program similiar to it, I advise you to take full advantage of the program while it's free. Highline offers one of the best education, instructors and student body in Washington. Always stay focused on your education and you will easily excel.

    Bang for the buck

    The community college route is ALWAYS good if you're trying to save money. It covers your freshman and sophomore years of college for over half the price of most universities.

    Did enjoy being here

    Highline's diverse student body and its events are extremely enjoyable! I always enjoyed coming to school and always found other students I had something in common with. They have events going on in the student center almost every week and it always kept us entertained.

    Did learn a lot

    Highline community college is one of the best community colleges in Washington state. I was able to learn everything i needed to learn in order to advance in my prerequisites and ready myself for my upcoming major in nursing. This college provided a huge diverse student body that allowed me to learn how to communicate and understand other cultures. It also provided me with instructors that always had time to help with their students and because of this I excelled in each one of my classes.

  • 01/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask the people around you for their opinions on teachers. Choosing what teachers you have makes all the difference in your experience in classes.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive.... but at Highline it is so so worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers that I have had make the learning enjoyable. I am in the education department and they know that everyone has different ways of learning and adapt to those styles. I could have transferred to Central Washington University and finished my AA but I enjoyed being here and to keep costs down I stayed. There are so many different events on campus that gets everyone involved. Multi cultural, women's studies, MLK, Diversity and a plethora of others

    Am learning a lot

    I did running start through my high school and Highline was a great place to go. The administration was very helpful in making sure that I had me classes in order not only for my high school graduation but on track towards getting my AA.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards on duty all day long!

    Greek Life

    what the heck is greek life? lol

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and posters are posted for these clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE who is ANYONE

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We love to play guitar user trees in summer.

    Bang for the buck

    Good price... tuition is rising though:(

    What to do for fun

    Soccer field, basketball, hang around, play instruments and other sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Good food. Very clean place! Delicious coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Can't judge, don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you want diversity!

    In three sentences

    This college is pretty awesome! I know it seem cliché to say that but it is what it is. There is so much diversity! I moved here about 6 months ago from a small town in Minnesota. Everyone knew each other and there wasn't much diversity at all. moving here was a huge shift! The staff are great and campus looks beautiful. So far, Im loving it!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They love to give traffic tickets.

    Greek Life

    There isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you email the school, they will email you a list of all of the clubs and activities offered.

    Great for these types of students

    1. They have movie night every Friday day after classes on Fridays. 2. The MaST center is open for the general public and students who enjoy marine life. 3. The culture fair is open for anyone who wants a taste of several different cultures. 4. They have a lot of seminars on Fridays and saturdays

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1.) Level three of the student union building is the best spot for studying. 2.) The library quiet floor has group rooms with tvs that you connect your laptop to. 3.) The tutoring center rocks! 4.) They have a MAC computer room in building 30.

    Bang for the buck

    For tuition, its not bad, although it is rising.

    What to do for fun

    They have lots of clubs, and fun classes that you can take to learn misc things such as, wilderness biology, oceanography, and several art classes.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Do you home work. 2.) Study 3.) If you want somewhere to study that is quiet, go to level three of the student union building. 4.) Bring your lunch from home unless you get the soup 5.) Pay your tuition on time

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is culturally unique, interesting, but the classes are challenging. The staff is helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make sure their students succeed. The school in general is clean, has awesome study areas, and current technology for the modern day.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Redondo Beach is a couple minutes away from college. It's a nice place to take long walks, get some fresh air and get away from all the stresses in college.

    Food and Dining

    There's a student union where you get all your food. Sometimes it feels like I'm in a restaurant, so many food choices and good prices too!

    Dorm Life

    Didn't experience a dorm life because I lived with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends what classes you take. Some classes are tough where you have to work your butt off and some where you just have to use common sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you work! Study! Ask questions and you'll learn! Don't be afraid to ask for help because that's what the teachers are there for.

    In three sentences

    Highline is an amazing college! The teachers are all wonderful and help you to excel not just in class but so you'll become a better person in the future. The teachers are like a second family.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A couple cars get broken into a year in the parking lot and sometimes you will hear of someone getting jumped somewhere or getting stolen and sometimes you will hear about asian dudes grabbing on girls

    Great for these types of students

    Earthy organic earth loving people because highline is surrounded by nature

    Bang for the buck

    The library is 6 stories so pretty big

    What to do for fun

    sit on a bench overlooking the Cascades

    Food and Dining

    Theres not many places to buy food on campus only in the union from like 2 stores no food court or restaurants on campus

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms on Highlines campus

    Academic Rigor

    You always receive alot of homework and if you never need help there are tutors in every subject on campus for free

    Tips for prospective students

    Alot of the bathrooms in highline have push facets which are pointless so if you use the bathroom use the bathroom in the union

    In three sentences

    Highline is a very clean natural open campus. The teachers at Highline are strict yet thoughtful. The facilitys at highline are a little old but they are adding new buildings all the time which make it an evolving campus

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe, but there was alot of crime in the area and on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Great Value

    Food and Dining

    Slim choices. Long shelf time on Cold items. Have the soup, cheap and ALWAYS good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply EARLY! And do all business with Advising and Financial Aid in person, check and double check status as they WILL NOT INFORM you correctly that you need additional information/documentation which will delay your eligibilty.

    In three sentences

    Education is exceptional. Programs are limited. Student Services are nil.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I usually go at evening time, there is security in the campus all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    I personal thing that Highline is the best school, and they care about their students succeed and achievement. and they help you though your whole school, while you attending at Highline.

    Food and Dining

    there a lot of different places in cupus that you can get food and dring.

    Academic Rigor

    Highline wants their student to succeed and rich for their dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    student to be prospective is studing hard earning a good grades, and having the financial support, because sometimes if you don't have the fanancial support is hard to continue with school.

    In three sentences

    Highline is a good college, the curiculum is well prepard teachers and here to help you, and the advisors provide the advise to there students.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Running start students, students who are trying to ease their way into schooling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very inexpensive school, and you do get the fundamentals necessary for educational advancement.

    Am enjoying being here

    There isn't much to offer in my areas of interest and the location is not one that is very convenient. There also isn't much in the surrounding area that's of intrigue. However, the scenery is nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The level of learning here (maybe at all community colleges) is only that of an honors classroom in High School. I have been here for three quarters and have yet to actually feel challenged.

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for independent students and first year college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good advice for prospective students would be register early, get your financial aid/loans done early, and go as early as possible in the day to speak to advisors. Do not be afraid to talk to professors! If you need help, GET IT. That's what you pay them for.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition has gone up, but it's not so much the school's fault as it is Washington State's. The books are expensive, but I have seen more expensive at other schools, and if you buy used books it is not so bad.

    Am enjoying being here

    While most of the professors are great, the school itself isn't fantastic. It's a little outdated and does not have as much up-to-date equiptment as other schools. Also, I feel that registration and fincancial aid is a little unorganized and too swamped for how few workers they have. It can take hours in line to register at the beginning of each new quarter, and financial aid has also taken me at least two hours in line just to speak to someone who didn't seem to know what I really needed help with. I think it would be beneficial for HCC to get more organized and possibly hire teams who really know their stuff about financial aid and student registration.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Highline Community College are very helpful. They are very willing to work with you outside of class and tend to be very personable. I have been attending HCC for three years and have found most of the professors to be friendly, helpful, and real with their students. The advisors are also very helpful and generally seem as though they want you to be successful.

  • 10/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great way to get classes out of the way for less.

    Will enjoy being here

    The water is right by the campus, and it is an okay neighborhood.

    Will learn a lot

    I have heard a lot about the MaST Center, and I hope to gain a lot from attending classes there.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great place to start your education here if you're an international student, as here are plenty of them and the stuff is always ready to help you adjust to the new culture and education system.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highline is a great fit for beginning international students, the stuff provides you with all the information and help that you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here so much, the people are so very welcoming and the teachers are just great and very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot of new things, everyday you learn the things that you've never done before and that will be useful in the future.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sports. join clubs. go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    good food, and many different options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    very disciplined.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard!

    In three sentences

    highline community college is a very diverse school. the staff is friendly, and very helpful. there are also many programs that you could involve yourself in.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't had any problems. campus is very safe for me.

    Food and Dining

    food is very good and has a lot of choices.

    In three sentences

    it is very easy to register for classes. the people and student are very reliable and diverse. teacher are very serious and good at their teachings.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for a college close to a big city, we are relatively safe. we have a lot of a good safety plan and i have always felt very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have every club you can think of from christian to gay to math to science, everything.

    Great for these types of students

    any student that is looking for a good education, highline would be the right choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    since we are close to seattle, it is fun to go to pikes market and since we are very diversed, we have many ethic activities to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    you will find highling prepares you for you career or to transfer to an university.

    What to do for fun

    you are only a few miles from seattle, so there is much to do. but on campus, there are clubs and sport teams and all types of activities to get involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and take your classes seriously. get involved in study groups and get to know your professors. us the open door time to ask your professor questions about anything you are not understanding.

    In three sentences

    i have found highline community college to be a college with high standards and expections for their students. the professors are strict by helpful. i will graduate this spring with honors and am proud to be a hcc graduate and it has prepared me for my next journey to a 4 yr university,

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cars are broken into and stolen almost daily in the parking lots. Hide everything from view in your car and make sure to lock it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable and there are no unexpected fees that come up in the middle of the quarter.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs and always lots of fun things going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I've never had the courage to eat the food in the cafeteria. It smells fried and greasy and I doubt it has much nutrition in it at all.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but some apartments are available for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with an adviser before you sign up for classes or else you'll sign up for classes that you don't need to take. The parking lots are very crowded and theft is extremely common. I suggest finding a different way of transportation than driving.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is a typical community college. The campus is beautiful and in the most amazing city in the world, at least in my opinion. The teachers are awesome and most of the students are really cool and relaxed.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The pell grant covered all of my tuition and still sent me a check for books.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle is close and there are many activities there. I loving going to a mid-season Mariners game and sitting in box seats for under $40.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a few small food court type areas, but it's nothing to write home about and can be overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I don't know how the dorms are.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to get 95% in most classes or higher to get a 4.0, but the teachers are very helpful. There is also free on campus tutoring available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to interact with people you normally wouldn't. Learning from other students from different cultures and gaining friendships is the best thing about Highline.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is very diverse and you will get to learn with students from countries on the other side of the world. The teachers tend to be laid back and create an environment that encourages questions and discussion.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So far i havn't attend any clubs i would like to if they didn't scheadule them around my classes time.

    Food and Dining

    I Love the breakfast burritos here. Alot of choices. and cafes in some other buildings and alot areas to sit.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about dorm life because our school doesn't have dorms. Every lives on their own, with their parents or family members, or have roommates. So i can't rate this.

    Academic Rigor

    I get very good grades at this school and i can always just ask my teachers for help when i need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Who every go to highline would enjoy this school a big campus. Always lock your doors of your cars if you park here. Always pay attention to class because you won't fail if you do what you need to get done and priory your time.

    In three sentences

    My past couple years attending at Highline, I would say i enjoy all the teachers that i had. Everyone in my classes are helpful. on the rating of 1-10 i would rate this school an 8 overall since this place does let anyone attends somewhat some crime happens.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Trio Organization, Pi-Thets-Kappa SLAC

    Great for these types of students

    great for any student that is serious about there education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I spend a lot of time in the TRIO department and at the student union building.

    What to do for fun

    This last two quarters have been fun first in winter quarter we went on a retreat. I loved what they taught us, and enjoyed the company of 47 members and staff that attended with me.

    Food and Dining

    There is some kind of activity going on all the time at Highline they serve us well

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I do not feel that my academics at Highline are rig-ores at all, Everyone at that college tries hard to help each and every student to understand and grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend Highline to any student that wants to attend the best two year college that wants to get the most out of there fist two years.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Highline is the best Community College in Washington state. They really care about here students. I enjoy the diversity of the campus not only the divers students but also the diversity in the faculty also. everyone is wiling to help and if they can not help then they find out where and who would be able to help with your problem.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is really good about emailing students about security alerts and safety tips.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities but I haven't taken part in any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a close-knit community will like Highline.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm in my first quarter so I'm not yet aware of any unusual traditions yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's a great value.

    What to do for fun

    Highline advertises local events that may interest some students.

    Food and Dining

    They serve starbucks coffee.

    Academic Rigor

    Highline has a high passing rate of nurses passing the state nursing license test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the new student orientation to learn about all the ins and outs.

    In three sentences

    Highline has a wide variety of degree and certificate programs. The counselors are really great at telling you what courses are required. The teachers are really nice and seem to care about the students.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs and fun classes to take.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. The dining area is huge and spacious.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms here because it is a community college, but there are plenty of apartments surrounding the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The quality of education is great! The professors care and want to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to sign up for classes during peak hours where it will be hard for you to find parking. Also, do your research on professors to see which one would best fit you.

    In three sentences

    Great campus and wonderful professors. Parking can be difficult due to the amount of students, but there is parking off campus. Quality of education is great.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security and cameras around the school but it is still dangerous to be walking around alone. Especially at night. There have been multiple assaults and a few girls have been attacked in the bathrooms. I carry pepper spray with me at all times and rarely use the bathrooms on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is any type of club you can think of, Fridays there is a movie night where you watch movie marathons all night long and there is student elections that are always fun. The school has bulletin boards all around that have current activities or festivals going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Five credit classes are about $500 each, plus the class fee which is usually about $50 and the books. It's cheaper than a University so I think it's a good price. There is always used books for sale, along with new ones. The used books are decently priced and the food on campus is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and bake sales always going on. Theres also a lot of places to go that are just minutes from the school, such as fast food, teriyaki, stores, salons and the marina.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very clean and the staff is always friendly. Although I don't eat there often, the food never disappoints. They have gluten free food in the cafe along with pizza, chicken strips and fruit. There is a coffee stand and almost any beverage you can think of.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms considering it is a community college but there are many apartments and houses near the campus. There's always students looking for roommates as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are relatively challenging. To pass classes with an A you have to go beyond teachers expectations. The teachers are always pushing students to do their best and expect students to be responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a great school, the area can be dangerous. Be sure to lock your car doors and never walk alone at night. Also, get a parking pass or you WILL get a ticket.

    In three sentences

    I love Highline Community College. The professors and counselors are always helpful and kind. I've enjoyed every class I have taken here so far and look forward to many more!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Volunteering, honors program, phi theta kappa, key club, environmental club, green business club, crafting club, and any club you want. It is easy to get started with your own club, just needs interested members.

    Great for these types of students

    Interested in leadership, resourceful, interest in involvement.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, volunteering, huge library, and beautiful scenery from the student union.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, but available, healthy, and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that are willing to go out of their way to give you the best education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved. Go to the Center for Leadership and Services and tell them that you want to be involved. They will help you become a better student and a leader in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    It is the most diverse community college in Washington. The school offers so many activities and programs to serve the student body. The experienced I gained here at this school is incomparable to any other school.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's campus security always driving around the campus. I've never seen them in action but there are always reports in the school news paper about theft.

    Clubs and Activities

    HCC has a lot of different types of clubs and activities. There's several for each department that they have, some have events every week while others plan for one big event all year long.

    Bang for the buck

    You get good quality food for your buck but the book store can be pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Des Moines is full of local businesses and plenty of restaurants to choose from and there's also the Marina waterfront. There really isn't a lot of fun places in Des Moines, just a lot of restaurants, grocery stores and home appliance shops. Some of the best restaurants down there though are Anthony's Homeport, Marine View Espresso, Auntie Irenes, and Red Robin.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the HCC Student Union is always fresh and well put together. The prices aren't too bad either but I'd recomend the restaurants downstairs rather than the coffee bar upstairs.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your intended major is, the rigor is also different. If you are going into a math/science (or STEM) based major the rigor will be much more intense compared to other majors. Necessary classes for your AA have a difference in rigor as well depending on the teacher as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not put off core math and science classes until the last few quarters, you will need prerequisites so get them done early and spread them out.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is a great school to go to, the school is the most diverse community college in the nation and has great faculty. All of the teachers are great and get to know their students very well. Highline Community College's campus is also a great size for students, it's a bit hilly but the trek from one side to the other is short.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not in the safest locations and there has been a lot of sexual assault incidents.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of clubs and also offer inter mural sports.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small restaurant in the student center that provides a variety of foods, from a soup and sandwich bar to a grill and Asian food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I recently had a professor that does not give out 4.0's. I found the teachers very helpful though, and they take a lot of time to help their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors are caring but push you hard. They will help you as much as they can, but don't expect easy A's.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus, and caring teachers. The staff here challenge and push you to succeed. I love it here.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I dont believe theres dorms there but I am not sure

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College seems to be a suitable college for anyone. I believe I will be capable of great things there. I am lookinf forward to starting my journey at Highline Community College.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play a sport or join one of the teams there is.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried any of the food that there is available.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life currently active.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is very challenging so be aware.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend to start as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    I think that the school offers a good education. They are very consistent with the programs offered.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I saved a lot of money going here. Since my parents didn't make that much I got a lot of financial aid help and I didn't have to pay for my tuition because of my financial aid package.

    What to do for fun

    Well on campus I don't know what there is to do for fun but if you go to the commons mall which isn't far from the college you can go hit up the arcade.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have a lot of dining options. The ones they have are pretty good for what they have.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry no dorms on campus. :(

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is different. Some may challenge you while other classes wont. Pick classes where you know it will challenge you some and help you do better in the field you want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    I say if your looking to get a good education for way less the price of a 4 year school go here. Yes they might not seem as good but you can improve your knowledge in a lot of different fields if you study hard. Also don't forget to talk to instructors to see what it's like.

    In three sentences

    Highline is a nice campus with nice instructors. Only thing bad about the school is they never pick up but they call you back after a couple hours. I recommend going here I love it.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always seems to be calm campus. No criminal activity, no drugs or alcohol.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of things going on all year long! Art, Engineering clubs, Honors, Math geeks...

    Great for these types of students

    All of us. Absolutely worth going there alone, and you will make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every building has different feel to it. Different atmosphere and student faces.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes a little bit pricey, but definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Drama or other art activities always big part of the Highline community. There is a lot of various student clubs to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Highline has Student Union. A lot of food choices. Open the whole day. You can even get coffee at 8pm.

    Dorm Life

    You can adjust to the new environment to you.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard, you will gain the knowledge and get stronger.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisors and they will help you to determine what do you want from your life and how to get there. They will walk you through every step or , if you prefer do that on your own, they will just guide you the right direction.

    In three sentences

    The most diverse population of Highline Community College makes great students, teachers and beautiful friends with all their similarities and differences. The passion of sharing knowledge with each other turned Highline from your average college to the best place to study. It is not just the place where people get education, but it is the place where you get the strongest foundation to build the rest of your career.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus at any hour of the day. I am a female and that has always been something for any female to worry about. Most of the time you can see campus safety people. There have been a few times I have not seen them but it is a big campus and they can only be in so many places.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes! I am going to be making a film club soon for people to join! I know there are still students out there that want to do film making but don't know where to go to do it.

    Great for these types of students

    I think for all types of students, Many different majors go to this school. I am sad to say they do not have film making class. My major I wanted to have was film making.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many different clubs you can join and everyone gos to the lunch area. I have not found any type of traditions yet. I am still open to see what they may have.

    Bang for the buck

    At this point I would say yes it is. You should always look into what you need for what type of classes you are trying to get into. Make sure they are classes you need so not to waste money on a class you did not have to take.

    What to do for fun

    I am an actress, writer, love drawing, when I can I travel... but right now I can't afford that. Love learning about history, wanting to make costumes, and start my own business.

    Food and Dining

    The food that I have had at the college is always really good or really bad. Also if you want to save money just make your food at home because it cost more for a small sandwich than it does for a foot long at subway.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes I have taken have be well balanced with time I need for other things happening in my life. You will always have a teacher that you may not understand their teaching method but if you just walk up to them and tell them what you need to be able to learn they will help you. They are there to teach you not fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you go to an adviser, they will help you get the classes you need and be able to finish in a timely manner. If you feel like you are not ready for the full class load, You could do something that you liked doing in high school for an elective, and than a harder class. I did this and it made me feel better that I had a class I was good at to go to even if I was having a hard time in class.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school to attend because of how the teachers really seem to understand what you need in the real world. I am happy to be apart of a college that is ranked high in my state. Thanks to Highline I am already seeing the rewards with what I am learning.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are there when you need them and other then that you dont really see them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always club activities around campus and the Leadership staff are more then willing to help students start a club if there is not already one that fits their passions.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable for a community college

    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs going on around campus, but off campus we are close to both Federal Way and Des Moines and only a 30 minute drive from Seattle.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria is a little pricey for the quality of food but hey when your hungry you aren't too picky.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a community college, so there are the under 100 classes and there is less pressure to take a full time schedule if you cant or don't necessarily want too.

    Tips for prospective students

    As normal, remember that you are in college now and you should act like it. But more importantly you get out of Highline what you put into Highline, challenge yourself -in both academics and extracurriculars- its worth it in the end. Oh and of course, register for classes as early as possible and make sure you stay in contact with your faculty advisor.

    In three sentences

    Highline CC is a diverse community that cares about the person, and not the past. Yeah there will always be the ignorant and immature people but the staff and faculty actually like teaching here. I know i sound cliche but this is a school like no other.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all around campus, but this school is located in a somewhat dangerous area. I do believe that the security do their best.

    Great for these types of students

    Highline Community College is great for any type of student because it's so diverse. Academically wise if you are majoring in nursing, I hear good things about the program here and I highly recommend it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at highline that one can participate in. The student body at highline is so diverse that there are bound to be many clubs that one can participate in without the discrimination in race or gender. There are also many sports that one can participate weather it be from soccer to cross country.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is decent. They have breakfast in the morning and lunch in the afternoon and I haven't heard much complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful at highline and try their best to help you in any way they can. If the teacher isn't available there is also a tutoring center on campus for any subject and the tutors there are very smart and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by this college because the teachers are very helpful here and since the classes are at a reasonable size teachers tend to pay more attention to you. Also if you are somewhat nervous on making new friends there are many opportunities to on campus and I would encourage you to take them.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College has a great atmosphere for a college. Not only does Highline have some exceptional teachers, it's diverse student body helps you learn new things outside of class as well. There are always activities going on at Highline so you can see the effort that this college gives to get students more involved not only academically, but recreationally as well.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good. I have never heard or seen anything bad happen on campus but i know that the general area isn't the safest place on the planet.

    Greek Life

    I don't get this question.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports games are very fun to watch. I know there are quite a few clubs here but i haven't joined any. we have a lot of international students here so there are many clubs created for them.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many programs for all people interested. I feel as though Highline is great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyday and all day in the student union people dance on this stage that is in there. It is very entertaining.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion the cost of the tuition is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    We have a student union where most students hangout between classes. I always have fun in there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but like most places it is expensive. there are a few local restaurants where you can get a good deal on some food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. There are a few apartment complexes available for students to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good here. I have only been here for this fall quarter and i have learned a lot. although i do not love all of my classes they all keep me interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can use your classes at your next college if you are planning on transferring.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is nice college with a beautiful view of the water. The down side to HCC is that it is on a hill. The teachers are nice and the people are friendly.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It isnot that safe because at night it looks reallly scary!. Dont take class at night!

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome place to start a club!

    What to do for fun

    Attend students of color conferences, First Fridays leaderships because they always invite powerfull speakers.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafetaria is good. However, the one in the Bistro not that great!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms unfortunetly

    Academic Rigor

    It has good instructor who teache you what you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to involve more into students activities like clubs etc... For more info see the Center for Leadership and Service on the fird floor of buiding 8. Thanks!

    In three sentences

    It a more diverse school. It has teachers that more open to the changes in the world. It has more femele instructor than male.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the crime rates have fallen recently, we are still in a bad part of town and we know it. Drifters sometimes pass through campus and we have many an attempted auto theft. I never ride the buses at night, and I always check the weekly crime rosters. A notable incident a week is nothing surprising.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is more than enough for any given student at any given time. You may even need to pick and choose because there will be so many options. But what really makes a difference is how much the faculty members care about the clubs they've joined. Students are not alone in their pursuits, and they can always find friends in the huge number of touchpoints available.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is a college of diversity. Other colleges call themselves diverse if thirty percent of their students are not Caucasian. Here, we're less than fifty percent white. International students abound, and we love it that way. HCC is a nexus for people of all backgrounds. So if the communities elsewhere are too confined to one culture, HCC has room for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Community Colleges are in general, cheap. HCC is no exception. And in some respects, it shows. Many labs and classrooms could use renovation, and I would not mind a server upgrade or two. We are, nonetheless, a functional college. If you want eye candy, and our one vista of the Olympics and the Sound is not enough, go elsewhere. You can pay the higher rates for the right of a pretty campus.

    What to do for fun

    HCC is full of people with ideas. And since we are not divided by dorms or regions, everyone is invited to anything. There are numerous on-campus parties for holidays and special events, and occasionally the clubs will have some spectacular or another to draw people in. But for the most part, it will be up to you to turn your passion into a plaything.

    Food and Dining

    Since none of the students live on campus, the food services here are only for those who happen to need a snack or a meal between classes. The fistful of cafes in the Student Union provide mundane and mediocre meals. Nevertheless, the surrounding community is willing to pitch in to solve our problem. Several nearby restaurants provide discounts to students. So for a real meal, just cross campus and eat out.

    Dorm Life

    Simply put, there is none. Community colleges rarely have dorms, so naturally, neither does HCC. Enough said.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a community college, HCC is for two-year students and motivated high school students looking to get ahead. Subsequently, the workload is not what you might find when you transfer off to a university. Nevertheless, if you are motivated and hardworking, there are enough opportunities to help you get into shape to conquer some real challenges. Clubs and a complex honors system can help you pass the time if need some higher challenges when your classes are too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The community here may be nice and welcoming, but it's up to you to dive into it. Unless you meet an extreme extrovert, no one will draw you into what goes on here. You need to join. Any circle will do, whether you like philosophy, anime, engineering, chess -you name it. Just join up with like-minded students and join into the community. Diversity may be one of our specialties, but being united comes naturally as well.

    In three sentences

    HCC is both big and small at the same time. There are more resources and circles than anyone could ever have time for, but what you do use feels like home. The community there welcomes everyone and you will never get lost in a crowd, but can always stick to your college comrades.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus with great security. Email and text updates are available to keep students aware and safe. Be careful though, the security here can and will issue you parking tickets!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I wasn't an avid member of many clubs on campus but there are several.

    Great for these types of students

    Highline is great for students who are undecided on their major or can't afford a university tuiton just yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is always less expensive than a university, and it's a great way to get started if you're not sure what you want as a career.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, spend time in the student union and make friends. It's a community college so a lot of students still live as dependents at home so it's a nice transition from high school.

    Food and Dining

    The student union has 2 great little cafes but the prices are a little high in my opinion for the quality. I always brought my own food as there is plenty of space to sit and hang out.

    Dorm Life

    Highline is a community college, thus there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a great science program! The chemistry and biology professors work together to make class times and exam days reasonable for science majors. Also, the lab procedures aren't as strict as other community colleges in the area. The teachers understand that not all of us are studying to be scientists, thus you aren't graded as severely for correct lab results, rather for the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest finding a friend to carpool with or even considering public transportation to get to campus. Parking is limited and has occasionally made me late for class, but those who carpool don't pay for parking and have priority spaces.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to begin your college career. If you're unsure about what you want to major it, they have a diverse curriculum that can help you narrow your interests. The campus is beautiful and the students are very intelligent and kind.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I attend PTK, CRU, Culture Clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students Union, where you will find food as well as a good chance to chat with new friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus events and clubs to offering to students. so students have a lot of chances to make friends and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and various on campus. Or you can cook by yourself.

    Dorm Life

    It is easy to find a place, like share house, homestay or appatment to live around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The college instructors in Highline are professional,responsible,and understandable to all students regardless of the study abilities. Here at Highline, you can have approachable education to success in your academic goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to find a place to study and live comfortable, choosing Highline. It will give you amazing college experience.

    In three sentences

    I love Highline. The diversity enriches my experiences and let me to approach many wonderful culture. Highline is small, so everyone connects with each other that makes the college like a big family.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have the normal stuff.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several and if you don't find one it is easy to start your own club, I started the Musicians club.

    Great for these types of students

    I think any one will get a great experience here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Building 7, the theater, we all called it the TURTTLE.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a Com. College they are priced the same, this campus puts you in the center to do anything within 15 miles there is anything you might or want to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are several beaches and parks nearby, the campus is small and close to the freeway and both Seattle and Tacoma, park n ride is within walking distance and now Central University is on site.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food was better then the mess hall.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes made me work harder then I thought I could but in the end I did it made it to that Degree that is now opening doors to my future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your experience and get involved with your school.

    In three sentences

    I rely was able to feel comfortable here. The staff were always willing to help in any way when asked. This School was my first College so I didn't know what to expect, coming from the Marines to Class, was a good experience.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is perfect and nothing to say

    Clubs and Activities

    ISLC is for international students and its doing great!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for asians international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Highline is located on the hill so you will be tired and exhausted than other college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities in High line.

    Food and Dining

    very expensive to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm. It has a dorm called hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers are very nice but some doesn't.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to find your housing carefully because the housing they arrange is a hotel and you have to find the room mate if you want to be affordable for your housing fees

    In three sentences

    HighLine Community College has most international students, especially from Japan, Korea and Hong Kong. It has nice campus and beautiful surrounding. Not only it has 2 bus stops in front of the college, but also students' transportation is easy.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Last two weeks of spring quarter, there were over 10 cell phone robberies and 2 assaults. We're right across Hwy 99 from Seatac and Midway, so it's not exactly the most crime-free campus.

    Greek Life

    Ehh. Phi Theta Kappa has a presence. Other than that, very quiet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and extracurricular stuff. I've not found much time to get involved, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Unconventional, interesting, creative, and goal-oriented students are found here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, getting robbed is kind of a trend right now. I think there's also a way to get to the roof of the library, but I haven't found it yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic education, considering the price. I'm looking at $9,000 in tuition and books this year, and I'm going to graduate with an AA debt-free. (Woohoo.)

    What to do for fun

    1. Nap. 2. Do homework. Highline ain't no Disneyland.

    Food and Dining

    It's sustenance. There are five places on campus to get food: a cafeteria in building 29, which is okay, but not too spectacular, a bistro on the second floor of building 8, which serves pretty great pizza but not much else, and the union cafe, on the ground(ish) floor of building 8, which has a Chinese stand, a sandwich stand, and a burger stand. The Chinese stand is always swimming in grease and is comparatively expensive. The burger stand is ridiculously cheap and somewhat flavor-free, though the guys who operate it are awesome. The sandwich stand is what I recommend, because it's inexpensive and the guy who makes sandwiches there will teach you the meaning of good sandwich-making.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus housing is unavailable unless you sleep in building 23 (which is scary).

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard for most courses, though I can't speak for the computer science or mathematics courses. Most of the faculty are there because they are in their fields for a living and teach on the side, so they know their stuff inside and out and expect you to know it too. Meet that expectation, and you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't stay on campus with anything valuable after 6 PM. 2. Get a parking permit. campus security doesn't screw around. 3. Do the reading. 4. Get to know Dr. Darryl Brice and Dr. Bob Baugher. They are good to know, and they're really nice guys. 5. Take Honors 100. It will make you good at college.

    In three sentences

    Highline is loud. Highline is diverse. Highline is pretty darn awesome.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many security people walk around throughout the day to make sure everything is okay. campus security has around the clock rotations.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 30 clubs to join, each and everyone of them offer certificate after the club season is over.

    Great for these types of students

    any type of students are welcomed, multi cultural school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the location looks directly over the beautiful ocean, stunning if you're taking morning classes when the sun is just coming up.

    Bang for the buck

    fair amount of cost for 1 credit- 5 credit classes

    What to do for fun

    Tennis courts, gym, play area.

    Food and Dining

    cafe food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments are very close to this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    sports

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help when needed, there are many students who tutor and offer help everywhere around campus

    In three sentences

    Highline is a beautiful campus with many great teachers who are dedicated to making learning easy and fun.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of robberies and thefts have been happening with students every now and then but it has been put under control with tightened security.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of places where you can just meet up with friends and watch tv, talk, eat, read, and etc. Student Union and Library are the best places.

    Food and Dining

    HCC has a cafe with great drinks and snacks and a lunch store. Haven't been to the lunch store but the smells make me believe they serve good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers want you to succeed but ultimately you have to do all the work. The higher classes are tougher (like always) and the lower 100s classes are bearable. All one must do is study their butt off.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go to college, you need to have your career planned out-that's the main thing. Other than that, explore the campus to know where things are and the different options that are offered.

    In three sentences

    Highline Community college is a very diverse college thriving with myriads of nationalities. Not only does it provide great tuition prices, but it also has many great teachers. Overall, I would recommend all my friends to go to HCC because it's a fantastic college.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college is a great way to save money during the first two years of school.

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus and other great options nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, however the college does have resources for finding local housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect you to stay engaged in class, as long as you do, getting the grades you want are possible. Do no hesitate to seek help from the Writing, Math, and Tutoring centers.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In my free time, I like to try to hit the gym. There is a gym on campus, open to students, but it always seems to be pretty full; whether in the morning or at night. It is also quite small in size. It would help if it were a bit larger to accommodate the many students who desire to work out.

    Food and Dining

    The food and caf�������© options are pretty expensive. I do not tend to buy much of anything on campus, but when I do, it usually costs at least 5 dollars, even for a medium coffee. Because of the expense, I try not to put myself in the position where I need to spend the money. In addition, the food is mediocre- things that you can find at the grocery store deli/caf�������© or even at the gas station. Why not save the money?!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that because this is a Community College, and the amount of Running Start students only continues to grow in large quantities, the academic rigor is not as tedious as it may be at 4-year universities. Nevertheless, if you are a serious student who is there to learn, it is most important to try your best in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students who plan on attending or are considering attending Highline, the most important tip that I can give is do not walk around with your eyes glued to your cellphone! There have been countless occurrences within the last year of individuals getting physically assaulted whether simply pushed to the ground or punched in the face in order for thieves to steal their phones or their wallets. Make sure that you are always aware of your surroundings when you walk about alone. In terms of the academics, do not procrastinate! If you are planning to transfer to a 4-year university, consider this an important stepping stone in allowing you a wide range of options in universities that you may want to attend. Work hard and do not try to slide by. Teachers value and respect students who go the extra mile.

    In three sentences

    Highline is filled with students of all ages with diverse ethnic and cultural backgrounds. The teachers range in excellence, some being ineffective. The crime is violently rising, and thus is makes us students feel unsafe a large part of time.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Over the last year that has been too many phone and laptop thefts to count and they have become increasingly violent. Security is doing a poor job containing the situation and have been forced to employ local law enforcement to help keep students safe. I highly recommend walking in groups and keeping electronics out of sight and secure.

    Greek Life

    There is only one fraternity that is open to everyone as long as you maintain a certain GPA.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for most students. If you are a driven individual the degree specific classes are rigorous and filled with like-minded individuals. If you're more of a slacker the electives tend to be easier and more relaxed. This school is very multicultural and diverse which allows you to meet and work with many different types of people as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a pretty cool totem pole on campus and a beautiful view of the Puget Sound.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't speak for other programs but the Paralegal Program is a great value. It gives you the background knowledge you need and real world experience. Plus, all of the teachers are practicing lawyers and paralegals. That alone makes it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do in Des Moines, WA. That being said the Puget Sound is only a mile away, South Center Mall and shopping center is a could miles north and there is always downtown Seattle.

    Food and Dining

    There is no real dining hear. There is a convenience store and a coffee shop. Both are pretty good if you need a pick me up in between classes but kind of expensive. Your best bet is to go to Highline Teriyaki and Burger which is a 3 minute walk away. Super good food and amazing service.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Which for me is fine, but if you need on campus living, don't go to this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I took was an ABA accredited program so you were expected to put forth a lot of effort. I was required to do 24 hours of volunteer service and an internship on top of the 90 credits to earn my degree. Expect to work for and in return you will gain a wealth of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an adviser to help plan out your classes! There are ton to choose from and some weird requirements in certain degree programs. Meeting with an adviser regularly will help a lot!

    In three sentences

    Highline Community College is one of the few colleges in Washington State to be accredited by the American Bar Association for their Paralegal Program. All of their teachers in the legal department are practicing lawyers or paralegals. However, they have an awful theft problem with students stealing laptops and phones and they've been very slow to react.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would give credit to how much the security is trying to make the place safe. The alerts when a crime happens is really fast. Unfortunately, I get alerts that say that a student was harassed while on campus and had their phone taken often.

    Clubs and Activities

    not so active.

    Great for these types of students

    likes a small campus.

    Food and Dining

    I love the soups there. But I would say many things are just as expensive as other fast food place or more expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    I think lots of people are trying to do their best. I can see that a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact instructors frequently for help and use as much resources as you can.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a small school that allows you to know many people. I think there's many caring teachers. I think there are many running start students.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is definitely not the best. Cell phone robberies by armed unknown people are happening on regular basis, so avoid being alone, specially after dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities in Highline. One in particular is the women's programs which provide scholarships for women and encourage women to continue their education and expand the possibilities.

    Great for these types of students

    Highline CC is great for a variety of students since it is organized in the way that many students can find the area of study and be involved in clubs or groups that help them learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the unusual events that happened was the Super Ball parade. Highlne directors provided free lunch for all students that came to the parade. One of the best locations to study is the quiet room on the second floor of the Student Union. This room has a beautiful view of the shore and provides a great learning atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs that students can join, like CRU. Some clubs also may help you with learning, since some clubs are related to classes. Student union has a lot of activities that students can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the served food seems to be healthy and nutritious, but a little pricy for an average college student. The dining hall in the student union is nice and spacious where you can enjoy lunch with your friends of study.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in dorms, cannot say how it is, but most of the stories that I heard from others do not describe dorm life as the good one.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes will stretch your knowledge, teach you how to ingest lots of information quickly and enrich your knowledge and understanding in the area that you are studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highline is definitely a good choice. Do not hesitate to talk to advisers and they will guide you to the classes that you are most interested in.

    In three sentences

    Highline CC is a great school. It provides good variety of classes and programs.The campus is large, beautiful and friendly.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Guards are always around but that's because of the high amount of crime that occurs often.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who may not have allot of financial backing but plan to take the honors academic path to gain financial aid to attend a 4 year.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or make use of the free gym time.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good selection of food and coffee through out the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to class, do your work and pay attention, you will do very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the honors program! Easy to join and incredibly helpful if you plan to transfer and attend a 4 year University. Try to take day classes, night time can be come a tad dangerous.

    In three sentences

    Diverse selection of teachers. Most are well qualified and love to teach, a few are less than helpful and should not be college professors. Over all you get what you pay for here. A decent education for your AA at a very low price.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Highline has been a great school to attend. The professors are very willing to help and make they make sure you know what to expect on the 1st day of class. The campus is very clean and the scenery in the back is very beautiful. Overall I enjoy going to Highline.