Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hilbert College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who wants to excel and would prefer an environment with smaller class sizes. It is an amazing school for the majors of Criminal Justice and Forensics/CSI because that is what we specialize in. Hilbert is one of the best undergraduate schools for those going into these fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would prefer a smaller school and a tight knit community of students and professors than come take a tour or come to an open house or other event that the school is offering. Due to the fact that this is a small school, everybody knows everyone else for the most part, which may be a good thing or bad thing. I see it as a good thing because I love to know everyone around me but it could potentially be a bad thing if you get caught up in the drama. However, if you stay away from the high school drama then you won't have a problem.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is pretty affordable for most students with the help of financial aid and scholarships. Not as expensive as many other private colleges that I had researched back in high school. Hilbert is actually one of the least expensive private schools in the country.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Hilbert and the atmosphere of the whole place. Dorming is amazing!! It's a once in a lifetime experience and I've made so many new friends through living on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a great learning environment. The school is smaller which means smaller classes and a more personal connection with the professors on campus. I believe that it is easier to learn in this type of environment because you can receive more individual help from professors. Many of the professors have actually worked in the field that they are teaching in which gives them first hand experience with the majors that they are involved in. They give you a lot of insight about what it is like to actually be in the field.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since Hilbert College is a criminal justice college, safety around campus is the most important aspect of student life. There are a number of campus security police men who walk around campus and stay on duty twenty four hours a day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hilbert College provides many clubs and activities to get involved in on campus including adventure club where students can sky dive and scuba dive. Students can also join sga or student government to obtain a more political view of the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are very independent and like to work alone or with a group are best for Hilbert College. The class sizes are very small and the teachers are very patient. Students who are a little hesitant about the college experience should attend Hilbert College in order to feel comfortable and at home.

    What to do for fun

    Hilbert College provides many activities to do on campus for fun. This year for example the upper class students arranged a mock tail party for all students. The party consisted of no alcohol but was very creative and festive. For parent's weekend the dean of students arranged a dinner theatre which took place in the dining hall. We were treated to a variety of foods such as roasted potatoes, vegetables, roast beef, chicken, pasta, and biscuits. We were then treated to some cheesecake afterwards. The actors and actresses were very entertaining and creative.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Hilbert College is very delicious. Hilbert offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The dining hall is very big with two floors within it. The top floor is where the tables are set and the kitchen is placed. Students are given a variety of choices every day including weekends. On Sundays students are allowed to eat a brunch as well. The food is very professional looking and does not taste as if it were made by a school dining facility. The dining hall is always decorated for fall, spring, winter, and even summer.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to many colleges I have visited Hilbert's dorms are amazing. Hilbert College provides students with a clean bathroom, a twin size bed with mattresses, a large window that looks out over the campus, a front porch seating area for the fall and spring, and a large living area for TVs and seating arrangements. The freshman dorms are very well organized with more space than the dorms at larger college campus'.

    Academic Rigor

    Hilbert College provides a very developed legal program as well as criminal justice program. The legal program is approved by the American Bar Association. Members of the Bar Association visit Hilbert on a yearly basis in order to make sure they are teaching accurate and up to date material. Hilbert College is also helpful when students are in their final year and want to find a job fresh out of school. Hilbert will even provide services to alumni who have either lost their job or cannot find a job in the future. Hilbert also has an academic services center where students can find a tutor or find their study skills. Every professor has a different way of teaching, but the overall academic structure is helpful and thorough in details.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that when looking for a college Hilbert is the most reasonable and helpful. Students who are looking for a college that will help them every step of the way during their college career should look into Hilbert. Hilbert College is a very easy campus to find your way around. When I was looking for a college to attend I wanted to feel comfortable and worry free. I wanted a college that was small enough for me to find my way around campus easily. I also wanted a friendly atmosphere where everyone was happy and willing to help. Hilbert was the only College that fit my personality. I am now in small class sizes where the teacher knows everyone by name and is willing to help with anything I may be confused about.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert College is a great school and I recommend the college to all students. My professors sent me an email on my first day of classes welcoming me into their school. Hilbert College provides small class sizes, which help to assist students especially during their first semester.

  • 04/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people familar with the small school feel, and those who are ready to learn. You cannot hide here. Professors, administration, coaches, and everyone else knows just about everyone. It is one big family. Our school is growing, we just started graduate degrees for the fall of 2011. This school is also very good for those with ideas and leadership skills to shape this school into the best that it can become.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school, so somethings are very similar to high school such as drama. That is the one downside to the size of the school. So do not get caught up in he said, she said drama. You are here to learn and you are paying for this, so do you're best!

    Bang for the buck

    Hilbert College, being a private college can be looked at much more expensive than a state university. But Hilbert College is one of the least expensive private schools in the country, as well as it is one of best schools for Criminal Justice and its upcoming Forensic Science programs. Glad I came here!

    Am enjoying being here

    I do like living on campus rather than living at home, it is a once in a life-time experience. The campus is becoming more resident friendly rather than commuter only. Hilbert College used to be a commuter and 2-year only school, so its a work in progress to become a more residential campus. A lot may seem to be missing, but Student Life, and Student Government works well with both commuters and residents on campus to make it the best experience as possible.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely enjoy the classes and all of the professors here. I can honestly say I have yet to have a poor teacher in any of my classes. All the professors are overly helpful, regardless if they know you, have you in their classes or not. Everyone is friendly and wants you to succeed and everyone will push you and help you to do your best.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody who graduated high school or has their G.E.D. It has many majors and it's known for it's Criminal Justice/Forensics programs. It also is great for students who love to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply. If you get in, go there, visit. If you know people there, ask them what it is like. See if you can get into a class and watch what it is like.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good college with a good education.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed being here besides a little drama here and there but overall, I liked it.

    Did learn a lot

    I loved learning there. The teachers were great and they make work fun.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students, like myself, that are returning to school after a long absence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, Take advantage of all that Hilbert has to offer. It may not seem very important now but education is everything.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are small and professors and teachers take the time to make sure that every student that wants a great education gets one.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter student and still feel as though I belong here. The faculty and the other students have made it a great place to attend school.

    Am learning a lot

    Hilbert faculty are dedicated to teaching. The classes I have taken so far have been both fun and educational. I have been out of school for 25 years and I am very glad that I chose Hilbert to return too.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys are top notch, very helpful and very profesional!

    Great for these types of students

    commuters and adult learners

    Food and Dining

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and you will be fine. Do not look for somebody to do your work for you. Your Mother does not wipe your butt anymore so quit your whining and do your work. If a 43 year old with 3 jobs and 2 teenagers can get an A in class then so could YOU!!!!

    In three sentences

    A nice small school with great faculty, and staff. They are very helpful for a person returning to school after a long absence.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    The food is great because its made to order.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms, but i hear they are great

    Academic Rigor

    Career center is the place you want to be if you need help with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus and use the computer in the campus center.

    In three sentences

    The school is number one in connecting with alumni.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is home cooked and exceeds the expectations of students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Meeting new people, finding new friends, and living on your own is a very amazing accomplishment to say you achieved. Just stay away from drama.

    Academic Rigor

    Hilbert is very dedicated to having strong academics. As long as you stay focused on the goal at hand and remain attentive during class there should be no reason to fall behind in work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the syllabus.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert is a wonderful establishment. It is a small community with hard working professionals who want to see the students succeed in life. The faculty and staff help in all ways they can to make sure that the students who graduate from Hilbert have successful careers and continue on in their educations and follow their dreams.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hamburg is a fun small town to be out and about. A beach is within ten minutes of the campus, lots of food and bars nearby, a mall and a casino.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and don't be afraid to ask questions. The professors at Hilbert have experience in the field they are teaching and can lend extremely valuable real world advise.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert College is the perfect environment for those wanting a small town college experience. With small class sizes and welcoming teachers, Hilbert College is a truly wonderful college experience.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus with lots of security

    Clubs and Activities

    Several Clubs and Activities going on all the time

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth paying a little more to receive an education that is going to give you a better chance of getting job placement.

    What to do for fun

    Several activities are planned around campus. Lots of clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Need to improve the dining hall. Outdated compared to majority of other colleges.

    Dorm Life

    The only negative part of the dorm life is the co-ed dorms. I wish that each wing would be either male or female.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but doable. I will have the eduation I need to succeed in my career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your major and seek out the college with the best program.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert College is everything that I expected a college to be. I have found the student to be socialable and the faculty to be approachable. I couldn't ask for more from a college.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you can find campus safety everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    Hilbert offers a wide range of clubs and activities to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing that I can think of

    What to do for fun

    The college holds activities weekly. pool table in the campus center. weekly movies a local movie theater with discounts

    Food and Dining

    good food, only one dinning hall

    Dorm Life

    lots to do on and around campus

    Academic Rigor

    small class sizes. professors know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard. pay attention to your professors.

    In three sentences

    hilbert has small class sizes. a small campus. job opportunities on and off campus.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safty is always on time and there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    they do not have any greek clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Hilbert college has events that all students are able to attend.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert College is a great place for students that do not want a huge population in school. They have plenty of help to get in and with classes.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Even though Hilbert College's campus is secluded there is entertainment literally three minutes away. For example, two movie theaters, restaurants (fast food or sit down), and shopping malls.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are VERY nice compared to other colleges I've visisted, however at times it may get boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, but there is free tutoring offered

    Tips for prospective students

    - [If interested...] play a sport - Never be afraid to talk to your professors - Living on campus makes it easier to meet new friends -

    In three sentences

    In my opinion Hilbert College is great for a couple of major reasons. First, Hilbert professors go out of their way to not only encourage but also help their students do well in school and look for opportunities for jobs after school. Also, I love the small campus that Hilbert College has to offer.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes slow when you are locked out of your room, but if there is an emergency they are snappy.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's an array of clubs you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    If you come from a small high school this college is great. Not a big change so less stress.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school with small classes. Easier to concentrate and professors are amazing. If you seize opportunities you will be happy.

    What to do for fun

    The programs offered on campus are fun if you attend them. The mall and movies are just a short drive away.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall staff is nice and proficient. But the food is not healthy. A lot of fried food offered. Have to try super hard to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Small campus, so only 300-350 students live on campus. A lot of drama because there are so little people that live here.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors want to help you with whatever you need. If you go to them they will assist you with both academic and life problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be a leader on campus and seize the opportunities you are given and you are golden.

    In three sentences

    Small community with terrific professors. Great opportunities to build your resume.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was accepted into other colleges and tuition was crazy expensive. Hilbert's tuiton as of 2013 is $9,650. Now don't think that because tuiton is cheap that Hilbert is not a good school. I talked to a lot of students there and they said it's a greT SCHOOL. I did my research and i found that Hilbert is one of the top schools for Criminal Justice and forensics.

    What to do for fun

    Hilbert is a small college surrounded by a small town, there's a mall around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining....well, during my visit, I was lucky enough to try the food. For lunch I had buffalo chicken fingers w/ mozzerella sticks. It was pretty good. what I like about their food, is that you have A WIDE VARIETY of choice, so.you basically make your own plate.

    Dorm Life

    During my visit, I got a tour and the Dorms are great! Other colleges i've visited and the dorms aren't that great. Hilbert Dorms are clean (especially the bathrooms) and spacious. You get a dresser, a desk w/ a chair and a twin sized bed w/mattress.

    Academic Rigor

    From what i heard, Hilbert is all about helping students excel. There are great professors there and students, who are willing to help you. If you need to improve your study skills, Don't worry! there are students who are willing to help. Or if you excel in a class, you can help others who need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well.....Hilbert College is the school for Criminal Justice and Forensic Science ....so if this is what you want to do, Hilbert is the right choice! This is a small school, so if you're like me, someone who tends to be shy and enjoys small surroundings, you'll like it here. During my visit, i met great students, all who were friendly!

    In three sentences

    I recently got accepted to Hilbert College and took a visit there a few days ago. May I say, Hilbert College is the one for me! I plan on majoring Forensic Science and technology and I can't wait to attend Hilbert this fall !!!!!

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very helpful and kind. There offer a wide variety of services from locking yourself out of your room, to being locked out of your car. there ar friendly and great to have around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not a large selection of clubs but there is plenty to offer. If you cannot find one you like, you can simply start your own!

    What to do for fun

    In terms of events on the weekends, not so much. most people head home or go out for fun. There are quite a few events during the warmer days outside and trips through the school. Being involved in clubs will help you find more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is cooked to order from a wide array of choices. There is a large ice cream selection, cookies, salad bar, coffee, and soda. The food is made to order, so simply tell them what you want, have a seat and wait for your name to be called. The food is pretty tasty too.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great experience here. The rooms are some of the biggest of any college, and are air conditioned (the apartments and new dorm hall). There are a lot of events that take place and seeking help is easy.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but manageable. They provide students with a challenge and engage them to be ready for the workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the best you can in high school and be involved in the community. Hilbert is test optional so if you do not submit scores, have community service and academics to show how desirable a student you are.

    In three sentences

    Hilbert is a small, dynamic and overall great school to learn at. The professors are always there to help students and the class sizes are small. The majors here are rigorous but manageable and help students receive jobs when they graduate!

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at Hilbert is like every other campus safety. They take their jobs seriously. They are there when you need them, and always willing to unlock your dorm if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from at Hilbert. And if there isn't a club that you want, it's easy to try and start one up. All you have to do is get members, and then go to the Hilbert College SGA for more assistance.

    Great for these types of students

    Hilbert College is great for students who are coming from a small town. If you aren't used to big class sizes, Hilbert is a great place to start your college career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hilbert College has a Quad Party every year. It is basically a huge party that the entire campus gets involved in. There are carnival rides and games, and food everywhere! It is a ton of fun, and a great way to relax before finals week of second semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Hilbert College is a bit pricey because it is a private school. It is worth it though. Hilbert has brought me many new friends in the past two years I have been here. The advisors make scheduling easy, and the professors are approachable. It may not be the biggest college there is, but it's perfect for any student who wants the college experience.

    What to do for fun

    I play soccer, and the Hafner Center is open late. A lot of students will go there to play basketball, soccer, or workout. The are in the process of adding an athlete's lounge to the Hafner to make it more enjoyable for the athletes. However, the gym is still open for all Hilbert students. Occasionally, Resident's Life or SGA will put on an event for the students. Some events are Country Night, Open Mic Night, and Dances. A lot of students attend these events and they are usually a lot of fun. The clubs and organizations on campus try to have an event at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is open for three meals a day. The food is prepared daily and fresh. It is all-you-can-eat once you sign in, and is usually served in a timely fashion. The dining hall also has a salad bar that has fresh vegetables, pasta salads, and fresh fruits everyday. Just recently, the dining hall has added a pasta bar; where you can order custom pasta whenever you please.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing! They are much larger than most college dorms, which is always a plus. Hilbert has two dorm buildings: Trinity Hall and St. Joes, and four apartment buildings: Leo, Katherine, Agnes, and Rufino. Trinity usually houses freshmen and some upperclassmen. It has three floors with four washers and dryers on each floor. The washers and dryers are free of charge, and available at any time. Trinity also has an accessible basement that contains a computer lab, game room, and two locker rooms for the athletic teams. St. Joes houses sophomores and juniors. It has two floors with four washers and dryers on each floor. They too are free of charge and accessible at any time. St. Joes also has a kitchen on the second floor along with a game room. On the first floor, St. Joes has a counseling center, nurse's office, lounging center, and computers. Microwaves are not allowed in any of the rooms in either Trinity or St. Joes; however there are microwaves on each floor of both buildings. The apartments are based on credits; and there are four apartments in each building. Rufino is a 21-over apartment building; meaning only people 21 and older can live in them. Each apartment building has two floors and two washers and dryers. Each resident hall has Wi-Fi, heating, and fire exits.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging at times; but the professors are always there if you need additional help. They have office hours, and you can make appointments. The professors are also very understandable if you are an athlete. Being a college athlete means that you might miss class for a game every now-and-then. The professors will understand if you give them notice in advance; and the will usually let you make up the work that you missed. They also are very understanding if you need to miss class for any other viable reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the size of Hilbert fool you. It may be small, but it can still give you the real college experience. Hilbert has qualified teachers, and amazing staff. Because it is small, the teachers are able to get to know on a personal level. So they will know if you are struggling, and they can offer some assistance. The students at Hilbert are also great people. They are friendly, and helpful. If you are lost and don't know where to go on campus, all you have to do is stop someone and ask them, they will be more than happy to help!

    In three sentences

    Hilbert College offers the college experience in a small package. It's great if you're coming from a small/large high school. Everyone is friendly and willing to help if you need assistance.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always on the look out and they even have it set up to where we can get the number and get personal alerts to our phones in the matter of seconds, so if something is really wrong we'll all be connected in a flash.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's so much from Chess club to rifle club, basketball, volleyball, SGA, soccer, tennis, golf, bowling anything you name it!

    Great for these types of students

    Hilbert is the type of college that welcomes everyone, no matter what race, color, or gender you will not feel displaced. I personally thought I would be displaced being a female of the gay community going to a catholic school, but you would never guess that!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do for fun. Starting with going to the gym to work off that good food from the caf�©. Then you can go play volleyball in the sand right outside the apartments. On top of that there are tons of activities held by Res Life (which you will learn to LOVE by the way) there's just so much you could never be bored unless you really wanted to.

    Food and Dining

    Let me just start by saying that they have FREE ice-cream, yes FREE! All flavors and all kinds. The food is great, it's like eating out at dinner everyday. The only problem with that is, the weight. No one wants that freshman 15 that we all heard about.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like a mini heaven on earth, literally! The freshman dorm looks like a mini hotel and depending on which style room you have you might just fall in love. It varies from double to triple. They also have single and doubles in St. Joes which is for sophomores and over. Oh, and the apartments look like mansions! Who wouldn't want to live there?

    Academic Rigor

    If you stay on top of you're school work and so what you need to there will be no problem. Just ask for help when you need it, why pay all that money to go to school and not get the full experience? As you're professors that's what they're there for it's their job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come into college trying to be someone else be yourself. Don't be ashamed, if you need help ASK! Don't be afraid to help other people if that's what you're good at. Be a leader! Don't follow the crowd.

    In three sentences

    I would say out of 5 stars Hilbert College is a solid 3.5! It has been the perfect 1st semester for me and I will have the same for my second half. They make you feel like you're never alone, there is always someone there if you need help.