Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hill College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    low income but determined

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are attending class here. Online students are often left behind either experienced or inexperienced

    Bang for the buck

    I was put on a very precarious position this year.

    Am enjoying being here

    I gave it 5 just because i enjoy learning their process could be easier

    Am learning a lot

    I must say that I have not neen impressed.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students. They have different difficulties for different backgrounds.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what, always stay calm. Things may seem stressful, but take a deep breath and come back to it later.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hill College has on-campus officers. They also make sure that everyone has a school sticker on their car to show they belong at Hill College. The College is very small and well lit so that you are not alone when walking around at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hill College offers many different clubs, like the Phi Theta Kappa membership. Hill College does many different student activities which they send out to you school email. They also offer many different sporting activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Hill College is known for their baseball and softball programs. They are also known for their nursing program either MA, LVN, or RN program. Hill College has also recently started to offer a Ultra-Sound program for those still wanting to be in the medical field.

    Bang for the buck

    Hill College has the best of teacher's, counselor's, and any student assistance you may need. I find that Hill College offers something for everyone. Hill College has helped me with my goal of becoming a counselor one day and reaching the ultimate goal of receiving my degree.

    What to do for fun

    At Hill College you can hang out at the student center where there is ping pong tables, pool tables and video games on a big screen television. You can also join in some of the student activities they offer. Hill College offers a variety of athletic programs if you are an athlete.

    Food and Dining

    Hill College has a student center where there are snack machines and soda machines. Hill College does not offer a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had to stay in a dorm nor do I know anything about the dorms so this is a question I can not answer.

    Academic Rigor

    Hill College pushes you to use your mind and think outside of the box. They want you to find creative paths to resolve problems. The teachers are very involved with the students strong points and weakness and builds off of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go to Hill College and talk to the counseling department so they can direct you to the right classes and other departments you need to be talking to. I would then go and speak to financial aid and see what grants there might be for you. I would also go and speak to your teachers to see what the expect out of a student and answer any questions you might have about their class.

    In three sentences

    I find that Hill College helps their students with any questions, concerns, or difficulties they might run into. They also look out for the student's best interest. I would give Hill College high scores on everything from teaching, counseling, financial aide and any other student services.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch the sports. Visit with trio! Lots to do!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay dedicated! Don't give up no matter how hard or expensive it gets. Somewhere there are resources for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Hill college has been a good school. I definately reccomend someone who has a family or is just getting started to begin here. I have enjoyed the nursing program.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The local police patrol the campus regularly. I haven't heard of any types of criminal activity or any crimes committed.

    Greek Life

    This I know nothing about at this school. If there is Greek Life I'm unaware of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They seem to have a lot of clubs and especially activities. Plenty of things to keep things fun and entertaining.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is nervous about a large town or college, especially if they aren't used to being away from home or for those whom like small atmospheres.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing comes to mind about anything out of the ordinary or unusual traditions or locations. I don't live on campus and I work full time so except for the classes I take there I don't really spend much time on campus. Except something I find unusual is for such a small school it sure does have a lot of students from other countries that attend there.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable and compared to other colleges its prices aren't too bad. The book store doesn't always have enough books for the semester for some of the classes but the instructors are made aware and they get them ordered asap.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities held by the student services department. For every holiday or significant occasion. And even for no reason they will have an activity and everything is always publicized so that all students are aware and can attend if they want to and have the time to go.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, their is a variety, and its always hot and tasty. Once a week the Baptist students have a free lunch for students and its a very nice program they have.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus or in the dorm so I don't have anything to judge it by. I do know they have a person in charge of each dorm to make sure the rules are up held but as far as what dorm life is like I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    They do not tolerate cheating of any kind. Plagarism is unacceptable and a student will be kicked out of a class and possibly kicked out of the school for cheating if they are found to be guilty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure and visit the campus when deciding on what college to go to, visit the museum on campus, be sure and get all your paperwork turned in so once classes start there isn't anything to derail you from your classes.

    In three sentences

    Close in location to home which is a large plus with gas prices being so high. The campus is student friendly everything is easily accessible to get to and to locate. The college has helpful staff in the admissions, financial aid, counseling offices.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This college offers a few sports, baseball, softball, soccer, rodeo, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Hill College offers a lot of programs that can help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Where ever you decide to go, school is school and you will have to study hard. Hill College is a great way to start your career.

    In three sentences

    Hill College is a great way to start your college career if you are not sure what to do with your life. The education is great, the faculty and staff are polite and will help you. The rest of the students are friendly and make you feel comfortable.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecided in their major and want to save money.

    What to do for fun

    What we do for fun is play ping pong, pool, and watch sport games in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone that i know brings their own food or goes out to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I cant really rate dorm sense the Hill College i go to is in Cleburne, it doesn't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hill College is a good school to go to if you want to get your basics done with. It will save you a lot of money than if you were to go to a university.

    In three sentences

    This school is a typical community college. It isn't big and overwhelming nor the classes are huge. It offers a lot of good programs like: EMT, Cosmetology, and nursing programs just to name a few.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus I have never felt unsafe or threatened, but of course you must practice caution and common sense just as you would anywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    As well as athletics which include, baseball, softball, volleyball, men and women's soccer and basketball, and a rodeo team, this junior college also offers choir and theater programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hill College is great for students that are from rural settings wanting to continue that way of life. It also provides an excellent opportunity for continuing education classes for the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Hill College is a junior college and it is probably average as far as junior college costs. As an athlete we travel to other junior colleges and in my experiences they have provided better food services. This being said I feel as if the meal plan at Hill is too expensive for the quality.

    What to do for fun

    Hill College is located in the small town of Hillsboro. While there is not much to do in Hillsboro it is only thirty minutes north of Waco and about an hour south of the Dallas/Fort Worth area where you will find an abundance of activities and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The expense of the meal plan at Hill College is severely overpriced compared to the quality of food. The cafeteria could offer more variety and healthier choices.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms on campus are old, they are clean and functional. The greatest perk is that instead of communal showers and restrooms, you have two rooms connected by a shared bathroom. This set up provides greater convenience and hygiene. Another positive to dorm life is the relationship you build with the people your living with. It's also nice to not have to commute to any of your classes. Living in the dorms has been a wonderful experience for me.

    Academic Rigor

    Based on the courses I've taken they didn't prove very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to get to know your professors. Doing so will open the doors to better communication, which will benefit you in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Hill College is a small junior college where the professors know you by name, rather than a number like larger universities. While the relationship with the staff is phenomenal, the camaraderie between the students, along with school spirit could greatly be improved. To combat such problems more campus wide activities should be hosted and promoted.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Outlets are close by.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the food yet but the facility looks clean and the food looked appitizing. The salad bar looked fresh.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorm is very inexpensive and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    I am told to expect a hard course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of your dual credit classes. Also take advantage of summer classes to get ahead.

    In three sentences

    I love the small student ratio. The admissions department as well as the rest of the faculty and staff have been wonderful with assisting me and preparing me for the fall. I will be playing softball and am excited about the coach and student bonding that has already started to form.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    `get the free tutoring its worth it

    What to do for fun

    study and more studying :) get involved with the school there are several functions the school organizes

    Food and Dining

    i eat lunch everyday and since i dont have anything to compare it to its finw to me

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    its tough especially if you've been out of school for a while but they're is so much help from teachers and tutors that its do-able

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers. Ask questions and let them know when you do not understand.

    In three sentences

    Hill College has been a great experience for me. The teachers go out of they're way to help you succeed and pass their classes. I would recomend it to anyone considering re-entering school or entering for the first time.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with low finances because of the low tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    Lowest tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Its not very big so you can just walk down the hill to the mall and you don't have to waste your gas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Hill college. You will feel right at home.

    In three sentences

    I Absolutely love Hill college! I love It because it is a small college and very personal. The teachers actually care about you and your grades.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place during the day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus has a lot of activities helping the community for example food drives, soap for the animal shelter, etc. These activities are a good way to help out the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Hill College is a wonderful school to go to and meet new people from around the country.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a few fun things to attend like, pool tournaments, raffle drawings, and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    At this campus they do not have a food or dinning area they just have a lobby area with snack/drink machines, tables/chairs, and a screen TV. So you can sit back and relax until your next class starts.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life for me, I can not answer this question because I attend the Hill College Campus in Johnson County and they don't have dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Always try to understand the material being taught by the instructor at all times. It comes in handy at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always pay attention to what your instructor talks about for your assignments/tests, take notes, and have a wonderful time learning with all the other students in your class.

    In three sentences

    Hill College is a wonderful school to attend, I give it a 10. The counselors at the school will help you with any information that you need and help you find out what major(s) you would be interested in. The instructors are nice and are willing to help you out in anyway possible to make sure you go on to the next level in your education.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always out paroling and making the campus safe for the students.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities to offer such as ping-pong tournament, food drives, History bowls, basketball tournaments, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the small town students, laid back, knows they will get work done, and not looking for a overwhelming community college.

    Bang for the buck

    I think their prices are reasonable but scholarships are needed.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining, you can find throughout the town. It is not provided on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No housing available on the Johnson County Campus, but Hillsboro has some great Dorm leaders and good dorms from what I hear.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is Education in general. They do offer some classes there and getting your associates at Hill College is a good before transferring to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you have that one on one with the professor. It makes it easier throughout the semester. Extra Credit is great to do when they offer it, don't miss out on that.

    In three sentences

    Hill College Johnson County Campus has been a great campus this past year. It is close to home and I am able to get my basics classes down before transferring. The adviser's on campus are a great tool, they always answer our questions when we need to know something. The professors enjoy what they teach and by far I would give this school a 10 out of 10.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for parents returning to school and pleanty military vets attend this school.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't attended anything but the have a boots and suits ball.

    Food and Dining

    No real cafeteria, it has a dining hall but food is all vending machines and snacks but plenty fast food places up the street.

    Dorm Life

    I go to the cleburne campus and as far as I know there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging and you will definitly learn but not difficult to keep up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    The online classes are especially easy to keep up with, all is though blackboard or coursecompass.

    In three sentences

    It's a great small town college, everyone is very helpful, no glitz or anything purely educational.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college is cheap, but it's worth every penny. You still get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    When I have free time I enjoy going to the gym. The Hillsboro campus has a wonderful weight room.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorms. I live close enough to where I can stay at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has good teachers that aren't hesitant to help anyone that needs it.

    In three sentences

    It's a good college to get me the experience I need to transfer to a University. All the staff that I have encountered have been wonderful. They have a wide range of studies.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The professors have been awesome when it comes to make sure you get the material. I highly recommend all the teachers I've had.

    What to do for fun

    Exercise and hang out, or head somewhere local for a good time (off campus).

    Food and Dining

    The branch campus I attend has several snack and drink machines available, but there are no cooks. Students go to local restaurants instead.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed at any dorms at all while attending this school, so I can't accurately rate them.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor, but none of the teachers I have had have been anywhere near unreasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! The sooner you apply, the better your chances are that you will end up where you want to be class and financial aid wise.

    In three sentences

    Hill College to me is a perfectly good school to start out at. All the professors I've had have been professional, and have known their subjects. The office staff are very helpful with any problems, and I would suggest this school as an excellent place to start out your college career. The prices are not bad at all compared to other schools.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It has been easy for me to adapt to the online classes.

    What to do for fun

    They have ice cream socials. I have never attended one. I am an older online student.

    Food and Dining

    There is none that I know of. Vending machines is all I have ever seen.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown. I live at home so I do not know about the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I have found my classes to be easy to keep up with but I do not procrastinate ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of the free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    I like going to Hill the only thing I do not like about it is that they take forever to get our financial aid to us. They say its because they don't want us to owe the school if we don't end up taking the class but for those of us who do attend the classes we register for it is a huge hassle.