Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hinds Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is the school for those students who want to build their gpa's and adjust to college life before actually venturing into a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hinds is a good school with even better teachers. It's not very big but there is so much help around the campus and it's plenty of other students there to help ease the tension of being in school.

    Bang for the buck

    For anyone attending Hinds, it would be a great financial decision. It's a cheaper route especially if a student is just beginnig their college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hinds is not a big campus, but there are activities that go on throughout the year that keep students involved. I stay on the campus so we get excited about everything that goes on so we can have something to keep us occupied.

    Am learning a lot

    Hinds offers alot of great programs, and the instructors they have are very experienced in the fields. The information builds off of each lesson learned, so they make it easier to remember.

  • 09/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Technical students, medical-field majors, people nearby who can commute, anyone trying to save some money on college.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO join the Honors Program, get as involved as you can. DO take challenging classes.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking to save money, I can't think of better advice than to tell you to go to Hinds. I got money back.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student body is fairly friendly, the faculty is usually amazing, but it's not a large university and there is no party scene. A lot of people commute, and the campus is dead on the weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on what classes [topic, honors/nonhonors, specific teachers], there's no reason to down the curriculum just because it's a bargain school. The work is just as solid as a large university.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hinds is really great for students who want a great education without breaking the bank. The school has contracts with almost all of the four-year universities in Mississippi for two-plus-two degree programs. It is also great if you're looking for a school that is close to home and has a fair sized campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should get involved in any way they can to gain the best college experience. Participate in intramural sports or the band or Honors Program. Everyone at Hinds is very welcoming and helpful, so just ask around and you will find what you need.

    Bang for the buck

    Hinds is definitely bang for the buck. It is the economical choice to getting an great higher education that equals the four-year universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hinds these past two years. I participated in band, choir, and the Honors Program. All of them have been excellent and have allowed me to make new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Hinds has allowed me to participate in some excellent programs I might have missed out on at a four-year university. This past year, I participated in a study tour in the United Kingdom. The unique part of the trip was staying with host families whose children attend our sister college, Bridgwater. It was an amazing experience.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is always safe for the students. the police was always present if there were even a simple altercation. you can be safe anywhere on campus day or night.

    Clubs and Activities

    math club was always fun. choir is very enjoyable for the people who really have a passion for music.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is well worth what you pay. the education is high quaility and the rooms and food are really 5 star!

    What to do for fun

    for fun i visit the lobby and chill with friend or attend school functions such as basketball games and programs. choir was my favorite thing to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    the food was delicious. the cafe stays open all day so you can never miss out on your meals. no matter how much class you had during the day. the food is always hot and ready for you when you enter the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life was great. being on campus made learning easier because there was always access to a computers near by and study groups would always occur.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes made you think and the teacher were quite determined to help all of their students acchieve their goals and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    coming to hinds community college will help you in multiple ways as to helping yo to gain the knowledge needed for furthering your education and gaining a great learning experience.

    In three sentences

    hinds community college is a wonderul place to gain an education and life-long lessons that help to nurish the person you wish to become. hinds has taught me so much and has made my learning experience a great one. here is where you enter as a student and become part of a great family on this campus.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have sports that anyone can play.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at hinds. It's all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is really amazing. There are so many friendly people that are outgoing and love to meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are planning to become a student at Hinds Community College, you better be willing to work. Come to class prepared and with all the materials you need. Get enough sleep at night. Don't party during the week.

    In three sentences

    Hinds community college is a high quality school that has many opportunities for all types of careers. Hinds interacts with it's enrolled students and makes the college career more exciting than any other school. I am honored to be apart of this Hinds Community College family.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    always study. go to class on time and never miss class.

    In three sentences

    academics organization

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    hinds has multiple security guards at all campuses that work vigorously to ensure students safety.

    Bang for the buck

    the average tuition per semester is about 1,100 dollars. it is very much a good band for your buck!

    Food and Dining

    school food is school food. i can only imagine it is like high school food because i do not eat at school.

    Dorm Life

    i am not a dorm student, i commute, but i have heard great things about their dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    hinds offers a variety of classes that will challenge you academically and make you take charge of your future!

    Tips for prospective students

    the counselors are very helpful and knowledgeable. the campuses are well kept and secured!

    In three sentences

    hinds cc offers great learning experience and helps its students prepare for the working world, or a major university. they have multiple campuses and are willing to go out of their way to help you and equip you with tools that will help you reach with your goals.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    their always ppl walking around (police) raymond police is on campus

    Greek Life

    i love it

    Clubs and Activities

    different clubs you can choose from

    Great for these types of students

    anybody whos willing to have fun and try new things

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the little hut house in the back or the courtyard

    What to do for fun

    go to the parties that they have for us and the lil girls night out sleepover

    Food and Dining

    Very good

    Dorm Life

    FUN their always havin little things to do

    Academic Rigor

    number one priority

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school learn and have fun last.

    In three sentences

    HINDS COMMUNITY COLLEGE IS ABOVE AVERAGE.YOU LEARN AND STILL HAVE FUN. I RECOMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good security at hinds you are even more safer at hinds than your own house.

    Greek Life

    there is a honors group for greeks called PHI THA KAPPA.Which gives you a lot of respect and facilities to greek students or smarty pants.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each and every building on campus as I have my classes spread everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of thing I dont know from where to start and where to stop. lol :)

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of opportunities to join club and there are lots of student groups waiting for new people to join them and they will take good care of you like your best friends.You will never feel lonely if you start talking will people and making good friends.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at college.But I sometimes eat at cafeteria.It is cool and you will surely find some good people there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    WORK HARD.There is no magic in this world.You will surely be successful if you study hard and be good with teachers.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are really nice.You can bring a good GPA easily if you do some hardwork.It is really cheap as compared to other colleges.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety comes high

    Clubs and Activities

    there are numerous clubs

    Great for these types of students

    any..

    Bang for the buck

    with the rate of tuitions going up and compared to surrounding colleges or junior colleges.. hinds offer the best and at great tuition rates

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and participate in social activitie... or just hanging out the friends

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria offers great selection... and the eagles nest grill is the best.

    Dorm Life

    I, myself, have not stayed in the dorms, but my friends love it...

    Academic Rigor

    best teachers and classrooms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate with couselor (registration office) to keep

    In three sentences

    On a scale 5 to 1.. 5 being highest... I rate Hinds a 5. The ease of selecting courses and course availability are outstanding! My counselor has been most helpful in helping me to make course selections.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you plan on going here take full-time it's easier for on the money. Or else each class is about $400 if not full-time.

    What to do for fun

    Video games, maybe some athletic events, plays, and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at Hinds.

    Dorm Life

    I live at my house with my parents I don't know about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This semester has been my hardest semester of the 4 I've been in, partially because my teachers aren't teaching like they should be, but also because they have missed 1-2 and some even 3 days of class making it harder for us because we don't get to learn that information we need for the next test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention, try your hardest, make sure you get an instructor that actually teaches.

    In three sentences

    I attend Hinds CC in Pearl, MS, and I started in 2009 after high school. It was great in 2009, but now they are changing a lot about the college making you do unnecessary work that in my opinion isn't helping me. I dislike what they are doing with this college, and the teachers get off subject more than they should.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Hinds Community College is perfect for on-the-go students with busy schedules and families. The professors provide excellent help to students inside and outside of the classroom. Also, they are an extremely accreditated college.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Every penny is worth it...

    Food and Dining

    Various selection and fresh.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for scholarships, financial aid, and classes. Be ready to work hard, because it going to pay off!!!

    In three sentences

    Great place for freshman college students. The teachers are wonderful, and there is plenty of help being provided to every student. They strive to help every student to become successful.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never really had any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The BSU is awesome. Great people and friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't too high. I am able to work to help pay for school.

    What to do for fun

    Close to Jackson and Clinton for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I absolutely love their cafeteria options.

    Dorm Life

    They have updated and built new dorms in the last 2 years.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy the challenge that most of the science and math classes have to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with a counselor to help figure out the best academic route for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes and the atmosphere. Great teachers!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The policeman are very secure and protective about our safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of PBL (Phi Beta Lambda).

    Great for these types of students

    Yes.

    What to do for fun

    What I would do for fun is walk the beautiful campus. It's almost like a tourist area.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice and clean cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    It looks very educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your school work no matter what because education is always have and will be the key to success.

    In three sentences

    Hinds Communty College in Raymond, MS is one of the most beautiful schools that I have ever been to. The campus is so unique and different. The staff there are very nice and even though I have not started classes there, I believe that going to this school will make a big difference in my life.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is far most a cheap college and worth your time just make sure you get information on your major to make sure that you are put in only classes that you need to assure that you graduate on time !

    What to do for fun

    In order for me to have fun I have to make sure all of my business is handled . My type of fun is browsing the mall or going out to eat !

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Jackson Campus we have nothing but snack machines or buy things to eat from the culinary art students ,

    Dorm Life

    I did not have a chance to experience the dorm life , but I hear nothing but great things about it.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not had many teachers that I disagreed with there teaching style but I hear about them ! I love how some teachers charish their jobs and make sure that there students understand an assignment before they go on to the next objective !

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time for class and do not be afraid to build a relationship with your instructors because you never know what may come up ! Make the decision rather or not you or a student here for a paycheck or career and you will do better once you set goals .

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the Jackson Campus because it is small, which makes it easier to be on time for class ! I enjoy the teachers that I have encountered . At last but not least the administrators are always optimistic and have a word or two of encouragement which makes a huge difference , especially if you are having a bad day !

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    new dorms

    What to do for fun

    Hinds Connection

    Food and Dining

    Delicious

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. You will fall in love with the campus

    In three sentences

    Hinds Community College is for everyone. Attractive campus, everyone is involved in something. Dr. Muse, President, is a personable personal with a genuine interest in the individual.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    younge high school grads or someone who is exceptionally smart for my age

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Probably excellent, but not for someone of my age and delima in schooling

    What to do for fun

    nothing in Pearl, MS

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for SAT before you can get accepted or your first basic classes won't count toward your college credits

    In three sentences

    Won't get in just because I can't pass the SAT test after being out of school for 30 yrs

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far security has been on their jobs. I feel safe in every area of the campus.

    Greek Life

    A everyday journey for anyone who interested in the connections!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm more focused on my nursing adventure but from what I've observed there are a few great clubs along with great activities to keep the mind in gear will having fun.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is a college for everyone regardless of background if you're willing to be dedicated to learning for your future tomorrow !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The classroom because if you open your mind up to learn, you will definitely learn something new everyday you set in class.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like coming to HCC was the best decision Ive made so far. I have been down a lot of dead ends in my educational journey but I found my right turn when I decided to apply at HCC. Everyone is helpful and they make you feel needed not just wanted for the buck. I have enjoyed my experience at HCC even though my journey has just begun, my future looks bright. Thanks Hinds Community College

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers a lot of extra fun time to keep students from steering into the wrong direction.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its days just like every public place but for the most, it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Never have I stayed on the campus but it looks very warm and homie.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning is what you make of it and acquiring knowledge is the key to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're ready to succeed, Hinds will be your stairway if you allow it too!

    In three sentences

    Very nice place to finish what I started. The staff are very helpful with any questions I have. I love the attitude each individual has displayed so far.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to get involved in on campus. Plus the athletics at Hinds are very good. You can go to football, soccer, basketball and many other games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good in the cafeteria. The dining halls are always clean. They stay fairly quiet as well so you can enjoy your meal in peace.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are only at the Raymond campus. They're very nice and always clean. If you don't know your way around there are always people there who are friendly and either tell you or show you what you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Hinds Community college are great. It's difficult but you actually learn things. I really like that Hinds makes you apply what you learn not just take a test on it. It's really helpful later down the road and you actually remember what you learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at going to Hinds and you live in Reservoir area I would suggest going to the Rankin campus. One of the first buildings I would suggest finding is the library it will be very helpful to you.

    In three sentences

    Hinds Community college is a great school. Everything is really easy to find from buildings to classrooms and much more. I would give Hinds a ten on rating.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the dorm rooms.

    Food and Dining

    This college has an excellent dining plan available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life in this college helps you meet new people!

    Academic Rigor

    This college with challenge people, but it will also work with you to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you feel like you might not get accepted, apply! This college will work with you to make sure you are going in the correct direction.

    In three sentences

    This college receives a ten on a scale of one to ten. It is an excellent place to start your college experience, and it is a cheap education. Could you ask for more?

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe place with nice security officers.

    Greek Life

    Only Greek events we have on campus is for academical purpose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different academic clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students are welcomed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Hinds has many different major options and the cost are not that bad on books and schooling.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is really for just schooling and work.

    Food and Dining

    We do not have a cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think I am more harsh on myself then the teachers are on me, because I know what I can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholorships and aim for a good G.P.A.

    In three sentences

    Hinds is a very nice commuinty college. The teachers are wonderful. Hinds' has a very warm and welcoming enviroment.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read, play sports, or chat with your friends, if any!

    Food and Dining

    Their food there is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I rather stay at someone's home or your own home.

    Academic Rigor

    Lookout for one another and do right for other people or citizen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be late for anything.

    In three sentences

    I really want to start at Hinds Community College because its easier than at home to get started before attending any other college or university. Plus, there are a lot of interesting things I have heard from Hinds that can make any student to accomplish their dreams into a reality. Better yet, Hinds Community College is the right recommended school for those who can put their mind to it and let them shine one day out to the real world and become better citizens.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic level is very outstanding !

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for the prospective student is to stay focus and positive on his or her work.

    In three sentences

    Hinds CC is a very educational college! The teachers and students there is joyful and happy throughout that school system.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Up to this point, I have not felt threatened or unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are limited, but the clubs on campus do great things.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any one who wants to further their education and save a buck while doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Hinds Community College has talent shows, student teacher flag football, and much more. Community service is most important to me though. Serving others fills me with joy.

    Food and Dining

    The campus I attend only has one little cafe and serves prepackaged food items.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot accurately rate the dorms, because I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Hinds Community College courses keep me on my toes and challenge me on a daily basis. However, if the effort is put forward, success will occur. Professors want their students to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should keep a positive attitude. When you believe you cannot succeed, just remember you are not alone.

    In three sentences

    This community college is a great starting point for degree seeking students. I truly love my professors and small one on one classes. Hinds Community College is a quality college.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The people you meet are so much fun, you can hang out with them and have a good ole time!

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that the first year of college is a kick in the butt but I'm going to beat it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to register early and make sure to see a counselor they will try their best to help you out.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the employees of Hinds CC try their best to make my first year as easy as possible. I also feel that Hinds CC is a great step forward toward my future. I know that Hinds is going to push me toward where I need to be going which I am grateful for.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security cops around every corner.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hinds connect, cheer, football, baseball, mu alpha theta, they have it all.

    Great for these types of students

    Art class is great for people who want an easy A. Hinds Connect project is great for who really want to be involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really love sitting in the English building. It is beautiful and quiet.

    Bang for the buck

    Hinds is VERY inexpensive and you every penny worth. Just make sure to try and sell your books somewhere besides the bookstore at the end of semesters.

    What to do for fun

    There are always tons of art shows and sports going on!

    Food and Dining

    I was a commuter so I did not eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Staff!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always carry your I.D. with you to avoid tickets. Make sure to a car decal. Teachers are always willing to help you, so take the help.

    In three sentences

    I attended Hinds in the fall and spring for 2011-2012. It was beautiful and the teachers we're great. I transfer to a different school, and now I can't wait to be back at Hinds!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hinds is secured by campus police which consist of certified police officers while police station is located on campus. We are also a walking distance from the Raymond police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Program, ASG, RHA, Newspaper Staff, Yearbook Staff, PTK, and much, much more...

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of attendance, it is worth every penny. Hinds also offers a great deal for study abroad trips.

    What to do for fun

    Residence Hall members as well as other organizations such as RHA, the housing department, MOX, etc. hold various activities throughout the year. If you are bored with cafeteria food, there is a Mexican and Hibachi restaurant in addition to a Pizza Hut, Subway, Sonic and Pens a walking distance from the residence halls.

    Food and Dining

    Hinds offers an unlimited meal plan for $950 a semester which provides students unlimited meals three times a day Monday-Friday in addition to brunch and dinner on the weekends. This meal includes choices of what is on the menu, a salad bar, a sandwich bar and a pizza bar.

    Dorm Life

    On the Raymond campus, there are 9 residence halls which each consists of a Hall Director and four or more Resident Assistants. There is maintenance workers on call 24/7 in case of emergency issues, and are fairly quick on fixing the problem. There are two new residence halls that have in room bathrooms and ID security for enterance, elevators, and rooms. Each hall has an ID secured entrance that prevents non residents from sneaking in.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are offered on each campus that can bet transferred to a four year university. Most teachers are difficult to an extent; however, their teaching prepares students for the work load that they will face after community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go into school thinking you know everything if you had taken a similar class because college is a whole new ball game. Do not play around, not doing your homework can be the death of your academic career. Apply early to get better scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Hinds provides all types of students with various opportunities to achieve success on may levels. The classes are small which allows students to receive more attention from the professor. The offices (financial aid, housing, etc.) is a group of very professional employees who are extremely dedicated to their job and will go above and beyond to help a student.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is pretty good. One thing I do not like is are ID always have to be visible or we'll be fined. It for our safety they say.

    Clubs and Activities

    They seem great I'm only apart of the track team at the moment and have been attending BSU Bible study.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly since I've been here (which has not been that long) I have not found much to do. There have been a couple soccer games and some back to school events in the courtyard. My favorite is the bible study held by BSU (Baptist Student Union) held in the courtyard on Wednesdays.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection is great. You have healthy options and there is a variety of choices for every meal in the cafe. Having a : Deli, Pizza stand, salad bar, coffee, waffle maker, soup stand, desert/fruit stand, fountain drinks, and two lines for hot full course meals. They also have this place called campus grille where you can purchase other food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and always stay cold. There's not much closet and cabinet space. Their are outlets for cable and internet.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I'm taking are great transition from high school. The pace is faster but workload is less when compared to the free time you have and instructors seem well-rounded not just in their area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial aid info is in check.

    In three sentences

    A decent size junior college with a diverse student population. Its located in a small country town but is a couple miles away from Mississippi's Capital and largest city (Jackson). The atmosphere is very welcoming and faculty is very helpful.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police keeps a close eye on the whole campus and are quick to respond. Not only is there the campus police but also raymond police are also quick by the school and can be seen driving by the campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are socialize events plan every now and then that are a real crowd pleaser. As well as parties that are plan out my others. The many clubs that are at hinds as well plan events from the dancers to the band. But the best thing would come from just hanging with friends on the campus which hold manys spot to just sit down and relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food really shows the difference from eating at a highschool to eating actually good food at college. The dining is well place for socializing with othes and moving to and from the tables.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms life is easy and fair. The RA manage to keep everything and lively and peaceful. As long as one do as they're suppose to do, there is fun and good memories to be made.

    Academic Rigor

    Even if hinds is a junior college that doesn't that students aren't push hard. If you underestimate the classes there is a strong chance of failing. A college is still a college no matter what. That feeling of its just like moving just a grade a sign of doom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use every chance you have to take advantage of all the help that is offer by the school. Don't be lazy, use every min and use it to better yourself.

    In three sentences

    Hinds is a basic running step to help student climb to a higher level. The help provide by the school is a game changer from failing to passing. The campus is a beautiful and peaceful surrounding that gives a person peace of mind to acheive their goals.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the games hang out in the court yard chill out in the gym

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the cafeteria, but the have a place called the eagle's nest that is AWESOME!!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus, but from what i have seen it's reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not become a procrastinator!! if you are snap out of it!! get involved around campus!

    In three sentences

    Hinds Community College on the Raymond campus is one of the best community colleges you will come across. The teachers and students are so alive and active so you really get to have a college experience. most of all everyone is friendly.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not a member of any greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am memeber of H.A.L.S it is a parlegal club on the Jackson campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Education is great for all tpyes of students, so i would not single anyone out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To me there is not any thing tradition on this campus.

    What to do for fun

    I spend most of my fun time with my family. we mostly just relax around the house.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Jackson campus, and we do not have a food and dining. I wish that they would..

    Dorm Life

    I do not love on campus, but I think if I could iI would love it

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay focus and all things will happen.

    In three sentences

    I think that hinds is one of many community colleges that provide the best quialty to allow single mothers another opportunity to get a college degree. I would recommend hinds community college to any one that is trying to get a college degree. I love hinds.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always visible campus security during class time.

    Food and Dining

    I did not have a meal plan

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The course are available so that a student can obtain a ASN Degree or transfer to obtain a BSN Degree

    In three sentences

    Hinds Community College has a wonder student to teacher ratio. All the teachers that I have had the pleasure of having have taken a personal intrest in me. Tution is affordable and there are various campuses to make attending school easier.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe because they have a curfew and you can always find an officer on duty. Also, the students are required to wear I.D.'s at all times.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't not have and sororities or fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Hinds has plenty of clubs and activities to keep students busy

    Great for these types of students

    Hinds is great for students who want the college experience without completely being away from home, and or who needs more one on one instructions rather than being apart of a large class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hinds has plenty of different locations to choose from, Hinds is a school that really meets any students travel needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Hinds is very inexpensive, compared to a university and you get the same great education.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of the college students play recreational sports, but Raymond is near cities like Clinton and Jackson, where there are plenty of things to choose from, like bowling, skating, and dinning out occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is filled with many different foods to choose from on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great they offer a variety of dorms, and they also have dorm activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Hinds has a lot of Academic choices to choose from and they offer plenty of technical programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for someone who is thinking about attending Hinds CC, is to go for it because it is a great experience and they will enjoy the campus environment. Also the online classes are great for someone who doesn't have time to go back and forth to campus.

    In three sentences

    Hinds community college is a great college to attend because it gives you the one on one learning that a university may not be able to supply. Hinds is a very clean and safe environment. Also, the work staff if very helpful and friendly, from cafeteria staff to the business off. The Teachers are wonderful and will do anything to help out student.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Where there's a will, there's a way. You don't have to worry about safety when you attend this campus, because they're safe.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to different areas and read and study. Also, you can interact with following classmates and friends.

    Food and Dining

    Everybody loves to have a bite to eat. Being on this campus will leave you with a full stomach and a smile on your face.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a very wise decision, if you decide to do it. The campus is very clean and organized.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study in order to get good results. No one is going to give you a grade, you have to earn it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always remember to have faith, and work to the best of your ability. You can do anything you put your mind to. Perseverance is key in life.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Hinds Community College to freshmen students. Everything is always in order, but if you have questions, they are always there to assist you. This college is like a family to all.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security around the whole campus, so it is pretty much safe.

    Greek Life

    Hinds do not a Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Flag Football Disk Golf Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    Phi Theta Kappa Club is basically a club for students with GPA that are 3.0 and up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Well I am a dance major at Hinds and the dance classes are wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports you can play and they always have events for students each month.

    Food and Dining

    I do not stay on so I would not know.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus. I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise it is good because the teachers will work with you in each subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a college and it is time to get serious. Be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    Well Hinds is a great community college. Their library is very nice. The teachers are good at what they do.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go for it.

    In three sentences

    Its awesome campus I haven't heard any complaints about the school Always busy

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well it is best to travel with at least one other person just to be cautious. However, there are Blue emergency stations for you to go to in case of an emergency.

    What to do for fun

    Hinds throws a bunch of activities and parties for the students, but other than that there isn't much to do around Raymond. Clinton is real close by, and there are also a few (ghetto) clubs around to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Most the cafeteria food is horrible, except for the sandwiches- which are hard to mess up. However, you get the choice between five different (restaurant sort) places to eat from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms range from poor to very nice, and even the worst ones aren't that bad. However, they have new residence buildings for men and women that are extremely nice, like you are staying at a hotel just without the maid and room service.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is actually fairly easy compared to universities. However, if you get behind most classes won't let you make up any of the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is really important not to miss class because you are only allotted 2 or 3 absences before they drop with an F from the class.

    In three sentences

    The classes at Hinds are pretty nice; not to big and not too small. So far, all the teachers I have had are good at their job, and they have had all been fairly easy. However, the campus is really ghetto, not the buildings but the people.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The Rankin Campus is beautiful and everyone is super nice.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused, relaxed students.

    What to do for fun

    Workout, do homework, Jackson is not far at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small town feel.

    In three sentences

    Everything you need to succeed. Relaxed school with good professors.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get to know people

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY STUDYY STUDYYY

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school.There are a lot of things on campus to get involved in. Being there will be a GREAT experiences.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit in the courtyard

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better and have normal stuff.

    Dorm Life

    It is not that great unless you stay in the new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is okay for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are eligible apply for the new dorms they are really nice.

    In three sentences

    It has an excellent English Department. It could have a better choice of food in the cafeteria. It is a beautiful campus.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being a full time student and mom as well as working a full time job, I have not had any opportunities to enjoy any aspects of campus life.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so cannot a test to dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes offers at Hinds CC follow structured academic guidelines that educate and prepare for career options as well has furthering your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with a recruiter before you begin to make sure that you are on the right track. Hinds has many 2+2 and dual enrollment programs available.

    In three sentences

    Hinds CC is a great place to learn. Offering many programs of study, finding the right path for your education, Hinds CC is the place to start. The instructors are very knowledgeable and are always there to help you.