Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hiram College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A majority of Hiram students are first generation college students and that is something the college prides itself on. This is because when students graduates, which they will because the school has a ninety-five percent graduation rate, the whole family is moved by the experience. Also, this is a liberal arts college so it is along the lines of the movie, Accepted because Hiram is run by the students. Rather than the city making the college, the college makes the city in Hiram, OH. Also, this is a great time for any type of students because so many programs are offered and the college is expanding. In the last two-three years a new dorm has been created, an entrepreneurship, ethics, public leadership, and nursing program started, a new dinning hall, townhouses, an institution for public leadership, and additional parking so that all students can have cars. Before that a brand new athletic facility and art institute. All of these with out touching upon the buildings which have been remodeled and furnished. In 2009 when most schools were worried about cutting professors and cutting funds Hiram College listed all time high donations in the millions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Things to use around campus are the Writing Center, Career Center, professors, and library on a regular basis. Professors seems like an odd thing to list but at Hiram College the teachers are approachable and always willing to help. They will give out multiple forms in which to contact them including their home phone and in most cases none of them are needed because students can just stop by their office. At most universities there are waiting lists to see a professor and times have to be scheduled but their is always an open door policy here. Furthermore, something people should not miss out on is the involvement fair which takes place each fall. This is a lay out of booths which showcases each active club on campus and is a great way to meet new people. Lastly, each spring there are leadership applications in which students can become resident assistants, teaching assistants, orientation leaders, community council members, and international tour guides. These positions are a great way to be role models, make money, and stuff resumes.

    Bang for the buck

    If you ask students around campus, Why did you come to Hiram College, a majority of them will save they were the cheapest? Even though the sticker price for a single year at Hiram College is $34,000 with room and board it is only there to scare people. A majority of the students pay under $11,000 with room and board and that is less then most state colleges. Rather than going to a college which crams three hundred students into an auditorium to meet with a professor who will never even know your name Hiram prides itself on classes smaller then twenty-four students from day one. The college has been ranked in the Princeton review for having the best college experience and most for your money. This is a liberal arts college and because of that a lot more experiences are offered such as three week study abroad trips. Due to the availability and affordable price to study abroad over fifty percent of students do so by the time they graduate. Also, there are many opportunities to learn about other cultures with twelve to fifteen percent of students being international, a large international forum club which is open to everyone, a program put on yearly to display the different cultures, and Bowler dormitory putting on a tribute to a different country on the first Friday of each month. In addition, there are forty-five active clubs on campus which can be joined along with fourteen varsity sports most of which allow walk on try outs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have fallen in love with Hiram College as most people due once they begin walking around the beautiful campus and interact with the students, faculty, and staff. The school is in country side of northeast Ohio where all four seasons can be seen in a single day. The autumn leafs are painted orange and red and give the blacks squirrels native to the region a fun place to play. With traditional ceremonies as the freshman walk, country ho-down, homecoming week, Run for Grace and Andy, Institute week, Campus Day, Springfest, and many other activities the fun never stops. Springfest is one of the most famous traditions at Hiram because it is the division between twelve week classes and a three week class where students can really unwind. Events consist of a comedian, live bands such as Asher Roth, Tray Songs, and Trapt, hot tubs, inflatables, and more. The students on campus are great and since it is a small institution every one knows each other and it is common to say hello to everyone walking around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently going into my fourth semester at Hiram College and have been learning every step up the way. The fall of your freshman year you take a first year class where students learn about a particular topic and while doing so learn how to write, speak, and give presentation at a college level. I found myself in need of this class and have it to thank for allowing me to make the Dean's list, which is 3.6 or high GPA on a 4.0 scale. In addition to this class I found the Writing Center happy to work with my skills each and every time I needed help. There was even a time during finals when the center was closed but still had the ability to e-mail one of the students I met there for help. In addition, the bond I formed with my adviser was amazing because he was there every step of the way to show me how to design my class schedule to prepare for law school.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all sorts of learners. Whether you learn better listening, visually or through doing, there are many classes in which you can learn through. Hiram, wants to help develop a student. So if you are not the best student but you did well on your ACT and did community service, they work with you to help give you the best education you can have.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are more of a country/rural kind of person this is great. It is a small community of people in Hiram and Hiram, while expanding, has an average of 1,100 students. If you are afraid of gaining the freshman 15, no worries, Hiram is on a hill and you have to walk up and down a hill. It really is not that bad, but it is great form of exercise. If you are worried about the fact you ate 2 hamburgers , a piece of cake and a ton of soft serve ice cream at our all you can dining hall , you will have other opportunities to walk it off and enjoy the beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    My tuition is 36, 000 dollars. However, my financial aid package was 28, 000 dollars. That leaves room for 8,000 dollars, which is a lot of money. However, this is cheaper than most state colleges in Ohio and typically any where in the United States. There are many opportunities to go study abroad, join clubs, meeting a diverse group of people, and getting a great education. The experiences are worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and even though the older dorms aren't super, they each have their own personality. 99 % of the people who go here are very nice and fun to be with. Food is not bad,which is nice, because it is all you can eat. The professors and staff are terrific people who are ready to help the students. I have gained so much from Hiram, and I have enjoyed the time I have been here and looking forward to the years ahead!

    Am learning a lot

    At Hiram, you learn inside and outside the classroom. There is a lot of room for people to grow in this environment. It is great to see all the staff and faculty and students believe what this college does.. The size allows students have a more personal relationship. The nice thing about that is, the professor learn what your strengths are and help you enrich both your strong and you weak abilities. They are opportunities for students to learn a lot outside of the classroom. With a little over 1,100 students it has over 70 clubs.

  • 04/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a cozy atmosphere and who want to have a relationship with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about applying here, do it! If you're still unsure, take advantage of the overnight system. This way you can stay with a current student and explore student life and what goes on academically and in the extracurricular realm.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very high, but students can apply for financial aid and receive a lot of money through the school and other sources.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hiram is a small campus, so everyone knows everyone. The friends that I have made here are very supportive of me and are very accepting of me.

    Am learning a lot

    Hiram College is giving me a great education with professors who care about my academic success. The class work is beneficial to my major and I can take the knowledge that I have learned from every class and apply that to the current classes that I am in to help me in problem solving and critical thinking.

  • 06/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the size turn you off; It's awesome when your professors actually know you're name, invite you to their house for dinner, and develop a personal relationship with you. Hiram is a small but tight-knit, awesome community.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It can be a bit pricey unless you are eligible for scholarships, which they give a lot of. The great academics are worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is really friendly. The dorms are clean and the campus is well kept.

    Will learn a lot

    The academics here is what really drew me to the school. They have small class sizes and the professors really care about student success.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It's easy to get involved. If there is not a club you are interested in, you can create it.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who are well-rounded people. The type of student who does his or her work and also makes the best of each situation will have the greatest time at Hiram.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hiram has some haunted buildings so lots of times we go ghost hunting for fun! Also, Hiram breaks semesters up in a 12-week and a 3-week. During the 12 week you will take 3-6 classes, while in the 3-week you will take 1-2. This is cool because it breaks up your finals so its not super hectic, also it allows you an amazing opportunity to do study abroad. The school has one of the best study abroad programs in the country.

    Bang for the buck

    Hiram is expensive, but they do give generous scholarships to those who deserve them.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you need to get creative. We make off-campus trips to local cities, we head to the townhouses and suites for parties. There is also intramural sports and other clubs!

    Food and Dining

    This is the one major downfall to the school. They have one dinning hall on camps which has adequate quality food. They have a variety of international options and mix up the menu a lot, but sometimes you feel as though there is nothing to eat. There is one restaurant on campus known as the bistro which has good food, coffee, and smoothies, but other than that real restaurants are like 20 minutes away

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorms are not the newest, they are nice and cozy. Especially in the quad dorm, you get to know your floor-mates a great deal and make a special bond with all of them throughout the year.

    Academic Rigor

    Because Hiram is such a small school, teachers are able to pay specific attention to each student and grade each assignment. They do not normally curve tests and tear all research papers apart!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved at this school; it will make your time more enjoyable here!

    In three sentences

    Hiram College is a unique school from any other. You will get a very unique and personalized education experience as well as get to know many students on campus on a very personal level. The only downside is that you have to make an effort to enjoy campus life more here than at other universities.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you plan to stay out late, whether it is for the purpose of studying or hanging out with friends, and you may be worried about being outside, have no fear! Hiram is considered one of the safest campuses in the United States. No serious problems have occurred, and just incase something were to happen, the campus security is excellent. The crew patrols the grounds on a constant basis, especially during the night time, taking constant patrols around campus and through the buildings until dawn approaches. So fears and worrisome thoughts are not needed when coming to Hiram.

    What to do for fun

    Even though Hiram is a small school with a small campus, there are activities that go on every week or weekend. You can pick from participating in square-dances, an African-drum ensemble, choirs, theatrical plays, and much, much more. There is even ghost hunting that goes on with an actual ghost hunting club! And, if you find that your favorite hobby or activity is not found on campus, you can start start a simple petition and start it yourself with your new group of friends!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is fairly new that serves food during breakfast, lunch, and dinner hours. There is a salad bar that is open during all hours and it is pretty delicious. There is also a dessert and ice cream section for those who have a major sweet tooth. All of this is included in the price you pay for the meal plan. But if you choose otherwise, you may be welcomed into the Co-op: A Vegetarian Kitchen Cooperative located in the heart of Booth-Centennial. In order to become a member, you must apply (the application process takes place every semester during fall and spring). If accepted, not only do you take part in consuming outstanding vegetarian and vegan food that is either organic or local grown, you must take shifts to cook and clean up as well. The Co-op is great for making new, long-lasting friendships and not to mention, you become almost like a family with these people. If you have a meal plan at the dining hall, you won't pay an extra dime because a part of the money from your meal plan goes directly to the Co-op. But if you are a commuter without a meal plan, then you must pay a fee each semester (fall and spring). Remember, once you've been accepted, you will always be a member!

    Dorm Life

    There are a number of options to pick from when choosing a dorm, all depending on your personality. For example, if you are a jock, you would be best in the Quad, where it is filled with athletic students who not only cheer in the fields, but also in the dorm. If you are a quiet, more laid back person, Miller, Booth, or Centennial (Centennial is an all-girls dorm, but it is connected with Booth, a co-ed dorm) is the perfect choice for you. Whitcomb isn't a bad choice either if you want to get close with the people on your floor. And Henry is the perfect dorm for those who defy the 'social norm.'

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are excellent at Hiram. What I love about them is that they truly engage the students in lectures and in learning. To them, a student is not just a number, like how you see in most major universities. They see each student as a person with a name who deserves attention, guidance, and an experience to lean in a successful academic environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come to Hiram with ambitions and goals in order to have a successful future (just like at every college). If you are not sure what you plan to do with your life yet, that is fine! You will have until the end of your sophomore year to choose a major and an advisor for that specified major. There is no rush, just make sure to explore all possibilities, be social and respectable with the students and faculty, and enjoy your time at Hiram. Also, Hiram is a very small school, make sure to keep it classy and avoid drama, unless you want your business to be quickly spread around the campus, and I mean quickly.

    In three sentences

    Hiram is a terrific place for meeting new people, that is my favorite part about the college. No matter what type of personality fits you best, whether you are athletic, outgoing, or shy, you will find the right group for you that will make your years here the best you have ever experienced. This small campus welcomes everyone with warm and open arms, literally!

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus and the campus security are always around. Crime is nonexistent on campus.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities are not allowed but their are greek clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many more than can be counted and easy to create new ones.

    Great for these types of students

    Science Majors, people who want a diverse education or 'just for fun' classes unrelated to their major, people who want to live in a small town area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stealing trays from the dining hall(no longer used) to go sledding, first year students during Institute Week attend a square dance.

    Bang for the buck

    You really don't pay the full price tag, a lot of people only pay 5-10% of it. A really nice gym, extensive library and good food are great rewards.

    What to do for fun

    A multitude of clubs are available and you are bound to find one you like- you are even more likely to find so many that you have to choose which ones to join. It is easy to create a club if one you want isn't existent already. Akron, Cleveland, Youngstown, and Warren are all about 45-90 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a good selection that changes often. Also, when you get a meal plan it is a flat-rate. A set price for unlimited dining all year and buffet style eating. Commuter students can by a different meal plan that limits the amount of swipes. If you live on campus a meal plan is required. A co-op is available on campus for people who are vegetarian/vegan or have food allergies through an application for free.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of dorms, each with a personality. There is an all-girl dorm, townhouses for upperclassmen, etc. Dorms vary from 24 hour quiet to 12 hour quiet, and varying quiet hours on the weekend. Some floors are upperclassmen, female only, male only, first year only, etc. They aren't to shabby either.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the strength of your high school curriculum and your major it varies. Nursing students have harder classes and more requirements to graduate. The classes can be hard but professors are willing to help- along with a multitude of free outside resources on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don not let the price tag fool you. Hiram is very generous with aid. There is a wide variety of study abroad trips. If you have never done athletics but would like to, coaches here are willing to train you. Also an admission interview is possible though not mandatory, but I highly recommend it- it gives you a chance to explain things better and make a great in-person impression.

    In three sentences

    A small town area with a personality-diverse population. Generous with financial aid. Caring and courteous staff and students.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hiram has various campus activities to do. Soccer games, football games, and etc. They also have a lot of intramural sports like zumba, zombie vs. humans, campus involvement day, get involved in sports, and much much more. Private music lessons are available.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has various stations. Pasta, Sandwich Bar, Ice Cream and Dessert station, International Food dish, Waffle Station(During the Breakfast, and so on) Inconvenient dining hours depending on your schedule and sometimes the food can become boring. The Bistro you have to pay for with your own money but the food is fantastic. Healthy options like smoothies, fruit salads. And they have coffee and tea!

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life here is fun. You get to know everyone on your floor and most likely in your dorm. Each dorm will bonding experiences. There are range of different types of dorms. 24 hour quiet dorm, if that is what you would wish to do, or The Quad, rawdy if that is what you like, and everything in between.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will put you to the test. They challenge you on a concept through real life examples not based on what you remember. A lot of hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn, get involved, and get to know the other students and faculty.

    In three sentences

    Hiram, my school, is goal orientated. Both the faculty and students are eager to help when need be.Our campus reminds me of a family because Hiram focuses on you as a person not as a number.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students wanting to further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind college is what you make it no matter where you go.

    Am enjoying being here

    College is what you make of it and I am enjoying being at Hiram, I had my doubts but once i actually got to Hiram and meet people I enjoyed myself, I didn't even want to come home any more thats how enjoyable Hiram is.

    Am learning a lot

    Hiram is a well educated school it gets the students prepared for the next step, when i go out to places everyone knows about Hiram its a great school to have on your career applications trust me and if you don't believe me find an alumni and ask them, they will tell you.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts, Humanities, Science

    Bang for the buck

    Great education at an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    Drive in to Cleveland or volunteer with the Hiram Field Station.

    In three sentences

    --Hiram College is a strong liberal arts college. --Hiram College offers individualized attention and an opportunity to customize your degree program. --Hiram College has a rich legacy and a diverse student popularion.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life

    Tips for prospective students

    There is not much to do around here so be prepared for that. Otherwise it is a great college and I would recommend it to any one.

    In three sentences

    They are a very small college so student to teacher ratio is great! The teachers and classes are very well organized and challenging which is always good.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We're on a first name basis with the Campus Safety officers, and nothing goes wrong in Hiram. We're all friendly people with no crime.

    Greek Life

    Definitely thriving-throws most of the parties on campus, all of which are fantastic!

    Clubs and Activities

    96 clubs! Circle K, Biology Club, Nursing Club, Entrepreneurship Club, Trading Card Game Club, Anime Club, Intercultural Forum, and everything under the sun! If you want a club started, Hiram is where you begin!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this place!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends at the dorm and play video games and Magic cards together.

    Food and Dining

    The dining food is ok; the Bistro has the best food at the most reasonable prices, and every penny is worth it!

    Dorm Life

    The variety of dorm life suits every student. The people who live in your dorm definitely become part of your family, and everyone finds a family they belong to.

    Academic Rigor

    Hiram's workload is definitely long and challenging, but the work and effort you put in is worth the knowledge and experience you gain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to meet loads of new people and to become integrated into the heart of the college.

    In three sentences

    Hiram College has fascinating faculty and staff. The international students are wonderful people, several of whom are close friends. I love the peaceful country-side atmosphere and close connection with everyone.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mostly you have to leave Hiram in order to do anything like see a movie or shop. Its a very isolated campus.

    Food and Dining

    Only about half of the food is worth eating.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are clean and cozy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very hard and need to be a priority everyday in order to do well.

    In three sentences

    Hiram College has a very small campus that makes everyone feel at home. The schooling is difficult and the teachers expect a lot out of you, but it's a prestigious school that makes graduating from it beneficial. It's a warm, friendly environment that every college student could want.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One local fraternity (not affiliated nationally).

    Bang for the buck

    Having Hiram College on your college diploma itself makes you stand out! It gives you an extra edge against competition for the simple fact that they will prepare you for life and make sure that you get a general understanding of the world, not only your major.

    Food and Dining

    It is unlimited food, which is awesome, but there are some pains with the hours it is open, such as closing at 8.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are always lively and full of people enjoying themselves and having a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very detailed and interesting. Your basic Biology class or Chemistry class will go further than you'd have ever imagined.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to read, read, and read. In college, you MUST read to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Hiram is a very friendly community with an excellent faculty! They WILL prepare you for life after college and the real-world as we're always told!

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read, write, meet new people and study

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are coed and alright.

    Academic Rigor

    Hiram is a rigorous college but the unique thing about Hiram is it's very small and professors are willing to help any student succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Open-minded Work extremely hard Be focus Be willing to learn

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome liberal arts college that teaches students from different backgrounds how to write, think, and survive in the real world.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good about doing their jobs.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities and three fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, sports and activities to do on campus. I am going to pledge for one of the sororities in the spring.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student that is willing to do the work and have a little fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the weekends most people hang out around the townhouses.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive and as of right now I am having some trouble paying for my education.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I usually hang out with friends and we can usually figure out something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Other than the dining hall being down a steep hill, the food is pretty good and the facility is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is fun. Everyone leaves their doors open so that everyone can get a chance to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Hiram college's academic programs require a lot more time and effort than the ones at the school I previously attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to put in a lot of time into your work, especially nursing students. Make sure you bring a lot of warm clothes for the winter. You will meet a lot of new people, everyone is friendly.

    In three sentences

    Hiram college has the most intense nursing program. This college is filled with some of the best professors I have gotten the chance to know. The people here are very friendly and get along very well.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you need them, they will come. We have 9-10 emergency phones located around campus that will connect to campus safety. In three rings, if they don't answer, the phone connects to the Hiram PD immediately.

    Greek Life

    More like Greek Clubs. Our chapters aren't nationally recognized

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 80! There are so many to choose from! Or just make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a person who wants a Liberal Arts Education, then Hiram is the school for you! If you enjoy the arts, but want a different career path, like in science or accounting then Hiram can really be that creative outlet you are looking for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We don't have any unusual traditions here on campus, but we are pretty quirky.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid really does a great job. If you want to come here, they will make sure you do!

    What to do for fun

    We have midnight dodgeball tournaments and intramurals. Countless activities to keep you busy. Even in the winter, we go sledding down the hills to the soccer fields!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but after awhile nothing amounts to homemade meals! College dining can always use an upgrade--and that's anywhere you go.

    Dorm Life

    I love my rooms and upon arrival, Residential Education did a wonderful job placing me with someone I could get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty display tough love. They challenge you to be better and do better. They are always there to help and support you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know you want to come here. Hiram is a beautiful place and full or diverse (ethnic and cultural) group of people.

    In three sentences

    Hiram is such a wonderful place! If I had to choose all over again, I'd choose Hiram every time. I wanted a place that was like home and felt like home too; that's what I got.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're really friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and anyone, seriously anyone, can at least a club or two that would suit their interests.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey, but with scholarships and your tuition never going up the college is well worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    The mood after eating usually is, I've had worse and I've also had better. Although sometimes the food is pretty good. If it's not good there's always the Bistro or the pizza place on campus. Although if you want something else you'll have to drive 5/10 minutes to the closest town. This is really the only bad part of the college.

    Dorm Life

    While sometimes my dorm isn't the best, it's been quite cold this winter in the dorm, I've made some great friends and I enjoy where I live. You can't expect 5 star living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are more challenging than others, but regardless of how tough or easy there are always professors or students there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll find your place here, at first I was hesitant because I originally wanted a school in a big city, but since coming here I've come to rely on personal connections and friends more. If you're considering or unsure, visit, take a tour, shadow a student, go to an overnight.

    In three sentences

    The college is great if you're looking for a place where you can make a second family while getting an education. The staff is attentive and knows your name, you don't feel like a face in the crowd. The finical aid they offer is phenomenal and makes the school affordable.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It's easy to get involved. If there is not a club you are interested in, you can create it.

    Bang for the buck

    Students can apply for financial aid and receive a lot of money through the school.

    Food and Dining

    It has it's movements.

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorms are not the newest, they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You will get a very unique and personalized education experience as well as get to know many students on campus on a very personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's awesome when your professors actually know you're name and develop a personal relationship with you. Hiram is a small and an awesome community.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you could walk outside all night nothing would happen to you

    Clubs and Activities

    Where sponsored by NIKE so get fitted. We have the usual sports that most colleges have such as football,baseball,track,soccer,cross country,swimming,basketball,volleyball,etc... so take your pick.

    Great for these types of students

    People serious about there education. People who enjoy learning and experiencing new things, and making a lot of friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    people are usually in the gym, at the dining hall, or at the library

    Bang for the buck

    their expensive but the effort put into it compensates for the price

    What to do for fun

    we have bulletin boards all around school for activities especially in the gym where most of us athletes hang out. We also like to go into town to. Where a couple miles away from Aurora mall

    Food and Dining

    We have a variety of food from Asian to American traditional foods and it's over for awhile but don't go over board it will make you fat

    Dorm Life

    We have co-ed floors so cover up after you shower because you will see the opposite sex quite often.

    Academic Rigor

    Our academic courses not only force you to think outside of the box but we also give you hands on experience not much of textbook work

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK FOR HELP TRUST AND BELIEVE THAT YOU WILL GET IT. Don't party to much because class starts at 10. Last but not least STUDY,STUDY, AND STUDY

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing place. Looks just like a division I facility. Everyone there is extremely helpful if you have financial problems or need help with your classes.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small, but sometimes students do get rowdy, especially on weekends. The campus security is small, and also consists of the village police, who keep thing quiet in town. There is hardly any worry about theft or violence at Hiram.

    Greek Life

    There is no official greek chapter within Hiram, although there is a sort of informal women's club as well as an African-American club.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at Hiram are very poor. There are not many official clubs on campus, as most of them end up breaking apart because of poor leadership or a lack of interest by students on campus. There are only a handful of clubs that have many members and regularly meet and discuss things. The best example is the International forum, which is a club for international students as well as anyone else interested in being around international students.

    Great for these types of students

    Hiram is best suited for students who like a small-town rural area and classes that almost never have more than 40 students. Hiram is also a good place for students who want to meet other students from different states and countries as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hiram was co-founded by President James A. Garfield, so he has his own statue on campus. Every holiday students like to dress up the statue, and one time someone even stole the head from the statue. There are many tales of ghosts and hauntings within Hiram's old village society. There are many different interesting places to see within Hiram's small area and there are also many hiking trails throughout the campus and surrounding border.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't have a good opinion on the price vs. quality at Hiram yet. It is a rather expensive private college, but Hiram does offer a charming village environment, a dedicated and dynamic staff of professors, and a rather good study abroad program (or so I've heard since I haven't been able to do it myself so far).

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is not much entertainment on campus. The village is small, so students would have to drive between .5 and 1 hour away to reach shopping areas and entertainment. Sometimes the college hosts fun activities, such as Homecoming, Freshman Institute Week, SpringFest, and other events. However, students usually have to make their own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, the only dining hall on campus is utterly average when it comes to selection and excitement. During the beginning of the year the food is usually good, but it gets more cheap and has a smaller selection towards the end of the year. Sometimes there are really good days, but there are more often very plain food days. Other than the dining hall, students can go to the Bistro and buy things like coffee, fruit, burgers, or chicken tenders with cash. There is only one pizza place on campus which is pretty good and they offer students a discount. Students can drive 5 minutes down the road to reach a town with a few more restaurants, which is a good option IF you have a car.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the best aspects of Hiram, as the village is very small and there are not many stores or activities right on campus that we can go to. Many people meet their best friends in the first few weeks right from their floor. Almost all of the residential assistants in each dorm are really fun fellow students who can also be very helpful with personal or dorm related issues.

    Academic Rigor

    Hiram offers many interesting classes and a bunch of really fun and interesting teachers. That's not to say that the classes are a push over; I find that the classes are a good balance of hard work and fun. So, with a little hard work and the right mentality and attitude, you can get through without too much stress or boredom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The important thing to keep in mind when coming to a liberal arts college such as Hiram is that you do not have to have a major in mind or take a specific direction with your classes; I find that the best plan is to take anything that seems interesting at first, and then begin to narrow down your specific interests and see what kind of majors and classes line up best for you.

    In three sentences

    Hiram College is a charming liberal arts college in Hiram Ohio. Hiram's highlights include a small yet diverse ethnic student body, a large study abroad program, and dedicated teachers who are fun and able to work with students on a 1:1 basis, due to the small classroom sizes.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers are friendly as can be, unless you disrespect them.

    Greek Life

    We have no nationals here, but do have locals. They are rather interesting.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are great and you are able to join or even make your own clubs within the first couple weeks of school.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the students who want to be active and not be overwhelmed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do traying in the winter. Old dining hall trays are used to slide down the many hills around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. Had I gone anywhere else, I would have paid for a degree and not an experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are events going on quite a lot, planned by the college and/or the student clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    I rather enjoy the food, but there are students who do not. It depends on your tastes. However, Dining Services is more than willing to help you with anything you need- all you have to do is ask.

    Dorm Life

    They need to step up their game in some of their residence halls, but overall,they are livable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult, but they are small and intimate. You can always talk to the professor or other students for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best part of Hiram isn't just the academics; it is the student life. Join clubs and plan events! They're the most amazing part.

    In three sentences

    Hiram College is not a traditional college in the normal sense. It is a college where you learn, but this institution changes lives. You will find out who you are when you are finished with your degree.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple officers that are always on duty and strive to keep a safe environment at the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sororities and 1 fraternity on campus but the greek life is growing as of late.

    Clubs and Activities

    See above.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Musicians, Public Speakers, Activists, Outgoing, and but not limited to culturally diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Springfest every year is the most coveted event at Hiram College. There is the annual dodgeball tournament where the winner gets a cash prize, a dance, the concert that has a well-known headliner and the free carnival on Sunday.

    Bang for the buck

    More than 85% of Hiram College students receive financial aid. Because of the generous endowment from the college any student from any income is able to get a top tier education that is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The intramural season at Hiram College is intense. Every sport has a league and if you would rather spectate then come watch any of the varsity teams. If you go to a Hiram College Terrier event, expect free stuff to be thrown into the stands at almost every game. If you are not into sports, check out the music or theater department and watch a performance or join a group. Let's say you don't have any talents, the residential and student life department is always offering activities each and every week so students have an opportunity to get involved and win free prizes!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers an unlimited meal plan that always has burgers, pizza, deli and salads. There are specialty foods that are offered everyday that are made by actual chefs.

    Dorm Life

    During the week you will never find yourself with nothing to do. Most people hang out with their doors open and are very inviting to meeting new people. There are always activities going on throughout the week.

    Academic Rigor

    Hiram offers a challenging bachelor of arts program that allows you to focus on all aspects of learning. Instead of going to a large school that only focuses on one thing, you will leave Hiram with the ability to write, public speak and look at the world from a different perspective.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Hiram with an open mind that accepts different people of different cultures.

    In three sentences

    Hiram College offers a tight knit community where it is easy to meet people and make friends. With small class sizes, your experience is personalized and fit to your specific needs. Hiram offers a variety of clubs, activities and opportunities to do extra curricular activities or become involved.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    VERY! Hiram is accredited and looks awesome on your resume

    What to do for fun

    Go to the sport games! Whether or not if they win, its always a fun atmosphere with your peers around

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is always a good place but it has different food everyday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are little. But if your not in it all the time it doesn't matter!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard if you don't try and work for it. All professors are willing to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a fun campus so come prepared!

    In three sentences

    Hiram is a small family-like campus. You walk to class and you know every face you pass. It's always nice to get a hey from everyone you see.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. It's in the middle of nowhere, so unless you have a car, you're screwed.

    Food and Dining

    Worse than the dorm life. The other day, a student found a maggot in the food.

    Dorm Life

    Awfulâ??I advise people to try to live off campus because it's a waste of money.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some hard classes, but most of them are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from Ohio and can afford it or get decent financial aid at Oberlin or Kenyon, go there.

    In three sentences

    I have found some very good professors at this college. However, there have been many poor ones, and the school tends to favor athletes, which is unfortunate because it is a division 3 program. I wish they would take academics more seriously.