Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hocking College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outdoor type of people

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with admissions counselors they love to answer your questions.

    Will enjoy being here

    lots of things to do

    Will learn a lot

    THey have multiple acadamies and hands on learning

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome! There is always campus security walking around especially at night, to make sure that everything is okay and safe. and if you don't feel safe walking from point A to point B you can call the campus police and they will drive you where need to be. Or even if you need a ride to work.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can take walks around the campus or even the town, ride horses, go to Athens and explore the city. OR go rock climbing, swimming, lift weights, play basketball or table tennis in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that of a 5 star restaurant, but it gets the job done. Each day they have a special. The personal favorite is the chinese food day. There is a salad bar and they do have made to order food, like, hamburgers, fries, chicken sandwiches, chicken strips, Fish sandwiches, boneless wings, etc. There is also a convient store where you can do a little grocery shopping

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life... Is dorm life. Here everyone is nice. You'll make new friends and pretty much make a college dorm family. Everyone looks out for each other. Which to some people it makes living far from home easier.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty here at the school are the best. They are nice and helpful. And will make sure and do anything to make sure you pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of you studies and homework. It really makes a difference and you feel more accomplished. Plus, you can look back and say I did that. I finished college.

    In three sentences

    Going to Hocking College is one of the best choices I have ever made in my life. The location is beautiful and there is a lot of outdoor activities to do. Also, the faculty and staff are super nice and super helpful when you do ask for help and provides hands-on learning. Which a lot of other colleges do not.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The finacial aid department needs alot of work. For starters make sure your overage check is right because most of the time they get it wrong and force you to wait another few weeks to get the correct amount. When living off campus in town like i did it was my job to explain to the landlord that i cant pay because the college messed up. It was not pleasant sometimes.

    Did enjoy being here

    The college is in a nice little town with Athens 15 mins away if you were interested in that, or Columbus was about an hour away. There are alot of state parks in the area and are beautiful to see when not in class.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes were for your major are great but all the other fillers they make you take are not helpful at all. The teachers were great and really made my classes interesting, but with that said the teachers for your filler classes were not a big help.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are willing to work very hard and really throw themselves into it. If you need a super strong social life or like to party, don't bother with Hocking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect Nelsonville to be New York City....it's not.

    Bang for the buck

    For the relatively low expense Hocking offers a good education.

    Am learning a lot

    Lots of hands-on info and learning for people in the natural resources field--can't speak for other majors.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a huge thing on hocking campus. campus police are always on duty and making sure the campus is safe. they are always checking cars, making sure everyone has parking permits and making sure no one is breaking in to cars, or popping tires.

    What to do for fun

    hocking college has a student center that will keep any college student interested. they have swimming pools, rock walls, weights, video games, they have it all. they have something for every type of person and for the ones who are not interested in fun and games in their free time, they have many places to study and a lot of quiet computer rooms for studying.

    Food and Dining

    hocking college has pretty good food and well kept dining areas. i do not eat there often because i am a commuting college student trying to save money. however, i have had a couple meals from them and they were pretty good for the cost i paid.

    Dorm Life

    i am not staying in dorms, however, i have heard a lot of great things about them. hocking is the only accredited college in ohio that i know of, that has dorms and is only a two year school. i have heard they are very nice and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    hocking is a very nice academic school if you are just looking for an associates degree. hocking builds the basic needs to every degree and so far i have been very pleased with my academics. they have many students and a large number of teachers to make learning easier for each individual student.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advice is to stay calm, focus on your classes, and enjoy yourself. it is best to attend all new student orientations that way you know where everything is before you start! lastly, hocking college has a variety of programs and they are rated very highly in more than half of their programs, so i would definitely recommend this school to many others.

    In three sentences

    hocking is a wonderful school, especially for nursing students. i chose this school because they have a one hundred percent passing rate on their bar exams. i would choose this school all over again if i had to redo it.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good campus saftey, hocking college has there own police force and they do a very good job

    Clubs and Activities

    hocking college has a lot of different clubs and activities, just ask

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everybody from the dorms like to come over to my house and play wii.

    Bang for the buck

    hocking college is a really good bang for your buck, hocking is cheap and your get a good education at the same time

    What to do for fun

    ride my bike, lift, golf, and go to class

    Food and Dining

    great, i make the best food ever

    Academic Rigor

    classes are very on point and very easy to understand

    Tips for prospective students

    if your an outdoors person hocking college is the college for you. you will learn a lot and get a got start on the path to your future

    In three sentences

    hocking college is a very good college. its not a college for everybody but it is for me. hocking college has very good teachers and they go out of there way to help you with whatever you may need.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    anyone that enjoys the outdoors and is looking for a career in natural resources.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    smart start is an additional week at the beginning of the year for new students. it gives new students a chance to meet new people and get to know the area a little better.

    What to do for fun

    nelsonville is a small town with not much to do if you don't know how to entertain yourself. there are many trails up behind the school that you can hike on. movies 10, which is just a 10 minute drive down 33 has an arcade and a movie theatre. 20-30 minutes away, in logan is old man's cave where you can hike and enjoy the scenery. ou, about a 15-20 minute drive away has many small time shops that are very interesting to go into.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that when you're enrolling, you're paying close attention to any e-mails and papers you are sent. hold onto everything and keep organized.

    In three sentences

    hocking college is a great school for anyone attempting to pursue a career in natural resources. you will have a variety of classes that all pertain to your major. it is a two year college, but you can choose to go for multiple majors which will keep you at the college longer.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have like one cop car that drives around but i've only ever seen them write parking tickets. most students don't live on campus anyway. they did have some hate graffiti all over the dorms a year or 2 ago

    Great for these types of students

    those who don't know what they want to do yet or want hands on experience.

    Bang for the buck

    depending on what you take it's better. i was in the alternative energy program and i feel pretty ripped off. not very hands on and you have to spend a couple more thousand dollars and at least 2 more years just to be certified.

    What to do for fun

    you can drive down to athens. there's like one bar on the square, a fairly cheap movie theater, and every once in a while a good play will come in at the opera house. they have an interesting event every once in a while at the school.

    Food and Dining

    i don't even know if there is a dining hall

    Dorm Life

    most students don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i'm only giving this a 3 because i know the nursing program is strenuous. personally i've barely studied for my classes and have maintained a 3.4 gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    this college has a great nursing program, culinary program, and a few others but it would be more worthwhile for you to transfer to ou or another school for anything else. this is a good place to start if you are unsure about what you want to do or as a way to adjust to college classes. avoid any of the newer programs for about 5 years or so because they need to get most of the kinks out before it's worth your money to take them.

    In three sentences

    a very small school. small class sizes. not much to do.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they work really hard to keep people here safe ill give it a 97% safe rate good, theres till drugs and alcohal.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs here that you can join but i'm not in any of them because i just don't have the time.

    Great for these types of students

    this college supports guys and lesbian's, this college is great for people that don't talk much and the people here are pretty friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    this college is to much and i don't get enough money to stay.

    What to do for fun

    i sleep in on weekends and i go to the gym or do my homework, some times i go to the movies if i have an extra 4 bucks.

    Food and Dining

    they serve the same thing every week the food is all right but the price is more then what you could buy food off campuss witch is not right i have a meal plan that comes out of my finacle aid .

    Dorm Life

    the heights are the ghetto for hocking college there the older dorms but they are nicer then the newer dorms the people are nice but paying for the dorms are to much its 2,500 per quarter that's almost all of my finical aid.

    Academic Rigor

    wilderness horsemanship, is a great field to go in because its hands on, the teachers are nice and the classes are small there's on like 10 to 15 people in a class witch means you can get help from the teacher if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class, get up in time, eat right, do my homework, get what ever finical or loans you can get.

    In three sentences

    hocking college is a great school and there are many fields to go in. i am i wilderness horsemanship they have many horses over here to work with they will even let to bring your own horse. hocking college reminds me of home with the people and the surrounding's.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always campus safety and campus police out patrolling.

    Great for these types of students

    a great school for anyone wanting to obtain a degree in natural resources.

    Bang for the buck

    a very well priced school.

    What to do for fun

    there is a movie theater in nelsonville that has great pricing on both movies and refreshments.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is ok but slightly pricey. i would suggest buying you own food from the kroger in town.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live in the dorms myself, but with the addition of two new dorms on the backside of the campus, they look very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    very knowledgeable instructors in the natural resource department.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to go to your advisor for help scheduling. all of the programs have set block schedules that will keep you moving on track.

    In three sentences

    a very devoted school in providing a hands-on outdoor education to a broad range of students wanting a degree in natural resources.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm only on campus for class

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but i heard the internet is really slow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    Hocking College is a very good school. The nursing program is great and the professors are really nice and informative. Overall this is a great school.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Clubs and Activities

    Limitless

    Great for these types of students

    Naturists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hocking Hills and other State Parks are close. Canoeing, kayaking, hiking, horse riding and more.

    Bang for the buck

    Better than a bigger school, but without the big cost!

    What to do for fun

    Nature ideas are limitless, and on campus groups are anything you can imagine.

    Food and Dining

    So far, food is great, when you register for housing you are given a $350 dining card.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are close so that you can do a number of activities with different groups.

    Academic Rigor

    Small enough classes that you feel like you can get your questions answered.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a nature filled environment, this is your school. Make sure you bring your hiking boots, walking stick and bike and get ready for many adventures.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my first quarter at school, I like the classes and instructors I have. I feel very comfortable at my school, I can talk to staff and administration and get my questions answered. And the views of the hills and campus are amazing!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can play sports, sings, dance, all types of different things there to do.

    In three sentences

    A very well structured school were all walks of life can come and learn. there is a lot you can learn from the instructors, because the field they are teaching are the fields they are working.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hocking College like many other colleges have their own police department. There has never been a problem since i began here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs and activities. (Mentioned above in the What to do for Fun).

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love to be outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    A short five minute drive you can go to Movies 10 (The Fun Barn). The movies are always newly released and only $4. They also have an arcade inside and a mini bowling alley.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at Hocking College or within a short drive away. The student center is full of things to do, they have; A rock climbing wall, three basketball courts, large swimming pool, track, weight room,pool tables, foosball tables, and many computers to do work on or just surf the web. Flag football is offered in the fall, basketball and dodge ball in the winter, and co-ed softball in the spring. There is a bike path from Hocking College to Athens. Outside of the school, there are many places to visit. There are many lakes within a 20 mile radius. Fishing, hiking, camping or just being outdoors is never a problem. Ohio University is a 15 minute drive down the Highway. other attractions are; Strouds Run State Park, Zaleski State Forest, Hocking State Forest, Old Mans Cave, Wayne National Forest is all around, for hunting, fishing, riding ATVs, horseback riding, camping and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always a good thing. Food here is great. You use your student id to buy food. You can put however much money you would like in your account to buy food. The dinning hall is a large place, so there is always space to sit down and eat or do homework also. There is 3 large TVs around the hall to watch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. Nice buildings. There is an Resident Success Mentor (RSM) to help you out with anything you need or answer your questions. The dorms are always holding fun and exciting activities to participate in as well. There is a commons room upstairs to watch to TV, or do homework in. There is also a kitchen upstairs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check it out. Small school atmosphere. Tons of majors to choose from.

    In three sentences

    With it's friendly atmosphere, Hocking college is a great school to attend. There is a lot of things to do at Hocking also. The staff here is great and if you need help with anything, you can get it from all the different success coaches and advisers.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    music fest

    What to do for fun

    Party

    Tips for prospective students

    great natural resources program, nursing and culinary

    In three sentences

    The school is great. There is nothing to do after class and the food isn't that great.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch but as any other campus certain crimes happen such as breaking dorm drinking rules and smoking.

    Greek Life

    PHI THETA KAPPA is offered and is one of the best to get involved in especially if you're continuing onto a higher level of education.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities if you have free time.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, small classes with a lot of one-on-one teaching as well as nature/outdoorsy type of people.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest 2year colleges in the state of Ohio

    What to do for fun

    Go to MoviesTen off Rt. 33 see cheap movies for $4 and enjoy the Fun Barn part as well as food. There are Canopy Zip-lining tours that are scenic and adrenaline inducing. Also plenty of lakes to visit for a fun night of camping and fireside stories at Lake Hope, Snowden, and Strouds Run parks.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food options and friendly cafeteria staff

    Dorm Life

    Is fun and beneficial in making new friends in your home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Throughout all the programs at Hocking there are a wide variety of teachers. This allows it to become one of the most diverse learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into off campus housing rather than traditional on campus housing. Find or have a job lined up before you plan on attending college wherever you choose. Listen to your parents they've already been in and out of the college education environment they might know loop holes.

    In three sentences

    Hocking College is small but friendly. Its surrounding areas are beautiful most in the fall and spring. It's a great place to earn a good education for a cheap price.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe

    Greek Life

    no greek life to small

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs i am in the wildlife club and it is wonderful with the people that run it so nice and so much to do .

    Great for these types of students

    students that lean by doing working with hands on .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the concerts and there always stuff going on at OU

    Bang for the buck

    I think yes very good school for the prices .

    What to do for fun

    hang with amazing friends that you have meat here.

    Food and Dining

    not the best but Kroger in Athens is wonderful and only 20 mins away.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    they have a climbing wall and a pool what else do you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here for college.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college ever. I have leaning so much about wildlife. the teacher's are wonderful.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great police. There's a police station on campus. Two patrol cops patrol every hours and walk around the have campus. They can help you if you get locked of dorm, or car. They also jump start your car if we need them to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs for anything you can think of. You can also make your club.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students in culinary,nursing, firefighting, or anything involving a forest program this is the school for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hocking college is located in the middle of Wayne national forest and is in Hocking hills. So the scenery is absoulting breath taking. Love it!

    Bang for the buck

    Hocking college tuition is cheap community college, but its worth it. This college is great for culinary arts, nursing, firefighting, and any major involving the environment. For example my other friend went to Johnston and Wales culinary school and paid triple I did. I went to hocking and paid less and I've had job offers working for a top catering company in Columbus already and my friends have had nothing yet. So you get a lot for what you pay for just apply yourself.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Hocking college they have a student center which offers a very good community activities. Including to rock climbing wall,pool,full work out gym, computers and, a t.v. with a playstation 3 for everyones use. They also do have bomb fires and other activities they put together.

    Food and Dining

    When you live in the dorms tou have a five hundred dollar meal plan. You can use that are the cafeteria in John Light Hall. Basic regular cafeteria food nothing special, but the have a great salad bar. They also have a general store you can use your meal plan at. They have some everyday things,candy, pop, and other things. But other then those two places that's it. There's a dominos and a four fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay depending on what dorm hall your in. Hocking heights dorm hall is the only hall you can get a single room in. The down fall is you have no cable and no Wifi. If you want cable you have to pay twenty five dollars to get it in your dorm. Bathrooms are in my option in the heights are horrible. You sure a bathroom with all the girls on the floor. The toilets are fine but the showers are old and need updated. The water smells like well water and sometimes rust comes out. There's one community kitchen with two ovens and two electrical stove tops. The two dorm halls Downhour and Northhall are the newly remodel dorms. They have Wifi and satellite cable and nice suits.

    Academic Rigor

    Acdemics are pretty normals like other colleges or universities. Just listen to lectures and take goos notes. Always check your moodle page for grades, powerpoints,notes, and extra credit assignments. But other than that the teachers help you a lot and classes are straight toward just need to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring everything you can for dorm life, or if not your going to need little things you wouldn't think about. Bring lots of movies cause you'll her bored. Study before finals don't do it at the last second. Make sure to register for classes as soon as you can they fill up fast. Make sure to pay all your fees if not your can't register for next semester classes. Pay attention to deadlines for this college for example, you don't register for classes as for the semester they charge you fifty dollar late fee. Hosing contracts have a requirements for living there for two semesters and, and if you move out they still charge you for living there. If you do move out from the dorms and don't sign out right another fifty dollar fee. So there some major things to pay attention to.

    In three sentences

    Hocking college is an amazing community college with awesome major. Lasses. Hocking offers great hands on courses with great professional professors.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police facility right by college

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    quiet, want to meet new people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of... alot of rednecks.

    Bang for the buck

    prices are too expensive and graduation rates are down.

    What to do for fun

    Baseball

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers do okay but could improve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task, stay away from athens.

    In three sentences

    A small campus, few activities, and boring school. The teachers are good, but the classes are tough and you must stay on task to pass. Parking passes are way too expensive, and has the smallest workout room for 7,000 students ive ever seen.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Kids that want to work as Game Wardens, go into Forestry, work with horses

    What to do for fun

    The Square, go into Athens, Shows at Stuart's Opera House

    Food and Dining

    Instead of doing a meals per week plan, like most schools, Hocking does a $550 dollar meal plan. Unfortunately its hard to eat on that when a meal can cost you 4-7 dollars real quick in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on what hall you're in, your RSM, and the people around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Hocking doesn't seem to pay attention to Pre Reqs

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on the major, it will take you longer than 2 years to graduate

    In three sentences

    Great Instructors. Decent Dorms. Lousy administration.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety keeps the campus safe and does their best to help out with issues. Do not forget your parking pass though because 9 times out of 10 they will nail you with a parking ticket.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities to do. New clubs and events pop up all the time! This year alone at least three new clubs have popped up.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, especially those who love historical stuff and wildlife/nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of honestly.

    What to do for fun

    Hike the numerous hills, parks, etc. Shop and dine in Nelsonville's historical square and outside of town in Athens, Logan, and as far out as Lancaster's mall. Enjoy the historical buildings around Nelsonville (follow route 78 to see). Enjoy the scenery. Get involved with the numerous events and clubs the school has!

    Food and Dining

    The food personally made me sick after a long while and I heavily dislike the fact you need to buy a meal plan card and pay for the horrid quality food. A lot of others really like the food though so this is just my opinion. It's nothing fancy and choices are very unlimited unlike other colleges. Think high school.

    Dorm Life

    It is decent depending on the dorm. In Hocking Heights the showers are usually very cold or way too hot; hardly ever find a happy medium. The internet is not wireless and you have to buy the tv/cable package if you want to watch TV. Do not expect the maintenance team to fix anything really quickly. There's washer and dryer units at least. Personal AC/Heat unit. Downhour and Northhall seem to be the best all around. Wireless internet, TV/Cable (free), colored rooms that are pleasant to the eye, cleaner, washer/dryer units (Downhour only, bridge connects the two), and more. The bathroom is shared between 4 people, not a bunch like Hocking Heights. No personal AC/Heat unit (whatever the building is is your room temp) and stairs or elevator. Elevator is known to be rather slow. Summit/Sycamore - I am honestly not sure but I have been told the rooms are smaller but also quieter and 4 share a bathroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with whatever dorm you feel right in; I personally would move into Downhour and Northhall but I enjoyed my time at Hocking Heights as well. Prepare for slow internet that sometimes doesn't work if you are in the dorms. Avoid parties, too many people have failed out because of bad decisions.

    In three sentences

    Overall this is a good quality school with exceptional staff and I love the Wildlife Management program. I must say the dorm life is not for everyone but it is still good. There is not much to do in the town either but you are nestled in a very peaceful area with shopping only 15-30 minutes east or west.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not an issue here.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Archery, Dungeons and Dragons, Paintball, and Medieval just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, non-traditional, English or non English speaking. Great all around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Horses on campus. Located in the Wayne National Forest district.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Lot of clubs on campus as well as festivals and concerts in town. Movies, boating, camping, fishing, hiking, hunting, and swimming are available nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of food or dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems okay. I commute to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes seem pertinent to the degree I am pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school for any archaeology, culinary arts, equine, fisheries, forestry, nursing, or wildlife students. Ask about it in your field.

    In three sentences

    Hocking College is a great hands on learning school. Most of my instructors have done the job that they are teaching us. We are not learning from a book only.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are any clubs you can think of and if we don't have it start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on learning and people who like the type of learning that involves you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Smart Start! We have a week filled with activities. It is so worth the week before school!

    Bang for the buck

    It is totally worth the cost for school. I love it here, the faculty is awesome and take time to work with you one and one. It is really nice

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do for fun. Hocking has a rec center with rock climbing and a Olympic size swimming pool and it is a great place to work out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. We have a fine dining restaurant called Rhapsody with music and dining it is well worth the cost

    Dorm Life

    I am a current Resident Success Mentor and I love the Resident Life We all have planned events for students. They range from ice cream socials to water pong tournaments!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a hard school if you don't study. Make sure you start off right

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect the unexpected!

    In three sentences

    Hocking college is a hands on experience. I love hocking and glad I chose hocking!

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have many officers on the campus patrolling 24/7, they also hire students to work dispatch and as safety officers.

    Clubs and Activities

    i know they have a variety of clubs and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    overall there pretty cheap compared to other colleges and a lot of your credits will transfer.

    What to do for fun

    they have a disc golf course which is the best fun, they also have a pool, gym, and video game lounge.

    Food and Dining

    you will receive a food card that you can put as much as you want on. the cafe is usually always open, they make a lot of home meals.

    Dorm Life

    they have on campus dorms two of the buildings are new. the other is a bit older but is going to be revamped. they also offer off campus living.

    In three sentences

    There are very hands on. Always trying to better you. Always giving you every opportunities that come up.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are excellent. I have never felt more safe in my life no exaggeration.

    Greek Life

    There are no sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cru is great! It is a church community from Ohio University that comes down to hocking and i love it.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people. People who like outdoorsy stuff, and camo print.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you save a lot of money just going here especially for living in a dorm.

    What to do for fun

    There is not to much to do for fun but I love going to church so that is what I do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so great if I have to be honest. There is not many choices so I usually eat things from my room. Plus the food is expensive here and the meal plan sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! I love my RSM which is the hall manager. The people around me are great and I get along with everyone. I love living outside of my home and it is great and my room is a nice size big enough to have a lot of my things from home in.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes are not to bad but my Ethics class is so extremely hard and I'm taking that online so I would suggest not taking an online class unless you are good with figuring things out by yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to go Hocking college i would suggest bringing a car. Talk to your advisers to make sure you are on track. Make sure you meet your roommates and talk to people because the people are great.

    In three sentences

    Hocking College is great if you like small schools and still want to live in a college environment.Hocking has a lot of outdoor majors. The college has lots of different majors.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is really safe at hocking college. you can go anywhere and fell safe here.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    fittings clubs, anime club, and other clubs out there.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for culinary or horse program, fire or emt this school is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth the money you pay to go here.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends outside, swimming in the pool, taking a walk around camps, and just chilling and watching tv.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better. I love some of the food we have here like taco , potatoes, and cheesebugars.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at hocking college because you get to meet to new from all over the united states. It is easy to get from you dorm to your class. there are always something to do at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    keep looking into it and make sure it want you want to do.

    In three sentences

    Fun, down to earth college.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is actually a very safe place. I only remember of one dangerous incident where a knife was involved last tear, but that's all. Our campus safety are usually pretty cool people.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have clubs for everything. Climbing club, dance club, fitness club! You name it. And if we don't have the club you want, make it happen. We've got very cooperative staff that help with that. We have intramural basketball, football and softball!

    Great for these types of students

    A student who looks to slow down and focus. A student who can handle such a small town. Someone who doesn't need the credentials of a big name university!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like I have said, Hocking is not typical. What other school needs a rule that you can't field dress an animal in your dorm kitchen? It's a weird place all together. But if you open up, you'll enjoy it!!

    Bang for the buck

    Hocking College can be the best time of your life if you chose it responsibly. The atmosphere here is relaxing. Nelsonville is just a tiny town and after awhile, you'll find yourself living the quiet simple life.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy hiking, fishing, hunting, or just relaxing in the open country, this is the place for you. But if you love the city kind of social life, this is the wrong place. We are an outdoors college.

    Food and Dining

    We only have one cafe on campus and the good isn't the best. But they give you a pretty reasonable food card which if spent right can last. We also have a place called the Inn. About a 15 minute walk down the bike path you can go grab food prepared by Hocking Culinary students!

    Dorm Life

    Our dorms are well kept places. Some of them remind me of hotels. They are a little pricy for for the school, but the cheapest you'll find around.

    Academic Rigor

    Our core classes such as English and Math are easy to pass. But when it comes to your major specific classes be ready because some of the classes are going to take a lot of studying and focus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit first. When I say it's a small school I mean it. If you are looking for a bustling campus, this is not it. If you do come here for school, be prepared. Yes it's a 2 year school, but it will challenge you way more than you think!

    In three sentences

    A very small school tucked away in the South East Ohio hills. If you want to study anything nature related, this is the best place to come. Our teachers are highly skilled in their fields and are able to teach their students their success!

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Some of it is worth it. But some of it isn't really. I mean they charge a ungodly amount for books, clothes, dorms, and even some classes. But the good thing is that they do have some good deals and its not that far of a walk or drive from a Kroger.

    What to do for fun

    I go to work out in the gym that is free to students, I go to a club which is anime. And I also go swimming at the free indoor pool. Which it is very cool to walk the bike path too. It is always patrolled at night by the campus police so it makes you feel nice and safe if you have to walk.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are a bit crazy on somethings but some of it is totally worth it. Plus it tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    I hear its great from friends, but if you want to use a kitchen or anything your kind of going to be let down. Or even having a big room for the price they charge. Its kind of a bad deal when you get the lower dorms too. Some say it kind of feels like a prison.

    Academic Rigor

    Its great. Though I have to say some teachers here seem to not know what their doing. But some really do and they do their everything for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions! Do research, some people will not help you. And always make sure of something a hundred times over or else it can get confusing for you.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college, a little bit confusing. Though once you get everything figured out, its better. Though I do not recommend waiting to the last second, or not talking to anyone.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons to choice from, and if you don't see what you want, you can possibly start one of your own up.

    Great for these types of students

    If your more into the slow paced, small class size type of school and not looking to party your college years away, than this school will be perfect for you.

    What to do for fun

    The National Park is in your back door. Go exploring. There's Old Mans Caves and more just minutes away. There are intramural sports and a great wellness center to work out in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many extra things to do on campus from clubs to sports.

    In three sentences

    Hocking College is a great school. It's small in class size so you get alot of time with your professors. I'd give a 9 out of a 10.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is Campus Safety everywhere! Since I've attended Hocking, I've never had to have the campus safety or police involved, but they are constantly walking through the dorms, the buildings, parking lots, gym, etc. I feel very safe at Hocking.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am only aware of the Wildlife Club because I am involved in it. I understand there is an Outdoor Pursuit Club too. There are several activities to do any time of the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors men Hunter Fishermen Fitness Trainers Students who just want to get the basics done with

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I used to live in the dorms there was ALWAYS an activity going on. I never found myself bored. There is soccer and volleyball every other night in the gym, along with a basketball court in which games are played every Tuesday and Thursday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really up to the student to decide how much they get out of Hocking College. There are a ton of opportunities but the students have to pursue them. I think Hocking is under priced myself (not that I'm complaining!) for the amount I have gotten out of it.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy being outdoors. There are plenty of places to hike, camp, fish, hunt, etc. There is a shooting range within 20 minutes of the school. There are three ponds on campus that are available for fishing, along with a disc golf course that goes through the woods. I never have a hard time finding something to do, but if you're not an outdoor person this probably isn't the school for you. There is also a nice student center with a pool, a track, a gym and a rock wall. The closest mall is 45 minutes away and the closest nice restaurant is about 20.

    Food and Dining

    Hocking College has a $500 per semester meal plan, but the cafeteria has very restricted hours so it's best to make sure you have plenty of food in your dorm or apartment. I always found it hard to get to the cafeteria while it was open, especially when I had night classes and on the weekends. There aren't very many options either, so hopefully you aren't a picky eater!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are newer and they are by far the best dorms I have been in. We never had any problems with the heat, air, water, etc. They are a decent size and they did a very good job of pairing me up with a roommate and suit mates that I really came to like.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes you take will help you in your career. I thoroughly enjoyed all of my classes that I have taken so far. The classes are very in depth and as it turns out, you WILL need to remember all the basics as the classes get harder. Just remember, they're preparing you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going into Wildlife Management make sure you are equipped for any type of weather. We are outside in almost anything! Also, be as involved with the student chapter as you can. There are a lot of opportunities for students if they become involved.

    In three sentences

    Hocking has been great for my Wildlife Management career. I get a ton of opportunities to get some hands on experience. The classes are never boring and are mostly outside.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a Campus Saftey Officer walking around campus. If you don't see them wait about 5. Mins an you will see a small group of them walking. They working 24/7 so all you have to do I call and they will come to help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many some times you aren't sure which one you shoul join and which one you shouldn't because they meet at the same time.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for country kids or anyone who like the out doors. You always the the opportunity to be doing something outside.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is amazing. But just like any college corse fees and books can get pretty pricey. But because the tuition isn't bad it isn't too bad when you look at the course fees and books.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the student center. In the student center they have a workout gym, basketball and volleyball courts which coinside with a small soccer field, rock climbing and repelling wall, swimming pool and a dance studio. There are so many think you can do. They also have disk golf and many innermural sports you could be associate with.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food isn't too great in my opinion but I'm a picky eater. So on the grill they have almost anything, from grilled chicken and hamburgers to grilled cheese and fried chicken strips.

    Dorm Life

    You are always meeting new people. With there being 3 out of the 5 dorms being so close together you are always getting to see your friends that live on campus. Especially if you make friends with the people on your floor you will almost always be busy either talking or studying. With there being a study room on a floor of each of the new dorms and a lounge that you can go have a good time in with your friends you always have the opportunity to get your work done.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and how well you study and take tests the classes aren't too hard. But for some of the science courses they can be a little difficult if you don't pay attention, just like any college course.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming to Hocking I would advise you to either live in the dorms if you love far from the college if not in an apartment. Just be ready to make new friends every day. I have been here almost a whole year and I am still making new friends. Also, if you hunt you can keep your things down at the Nelsonville Police Department and go hunting either behind the campus with your bow and a permit from the school, or at one of the many public hunting spots close to the college.

    In three sentences

    Hocking is a great college to attend. It may be small but that allows for you to have a better chance of getting one on one time with your instructor if you ever need help. Especially is you are looking for any program in the natural resources field you have found the right place, Hocking is Nationally ranked for their natural resources programs.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety was a major hassle and will hand out parking tickets for unmarked spots very quick.

    Clubs and Activities

    There was no clubs or activities that I was a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive but lacking.

    What to do for fun

    Take a hike.

    Food and Dining

    Food was decent. However, the dining hall hours were very inconsistent and not open on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Hocking Heights rooms are very noisy so don't expect to get any sleep while there. I witnessed a lot of hazing and organized slander directed at students. If you need your heater replaced or a repair in your dorm, expect the staff to send you in circles trying to get it fixed.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my instructors were knowledgeable in their field, however a couple of them hardly taught whatsoever.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not put much consideration, if any, into attending Hocking College.

    In three sentences

    I lived on campus for two semesters and had a horrible experience with Hocking. The staff was not very helpful and the student environment was not friendly at all. The graduation rate is very low and may students drop out after receiving their refund checks from government funded student loans. There have been pass allegations of fraud with Hocking College and racism against African Americans. I would not recommend this school to anyone and I suggest prospective students steer clear of it.

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A good college located in a comfortable quiet town. Not much to do but many parks around which is a plus.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an extreme abundance of security after the incident a few years ago where the FBI had to come in and shut down the school for investigation. Although I know several people who have been attacked on campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very many clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People who loves the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The weekends here are like a ghost town.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth t if you live at home and commute or live off campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Athens. Hang out in the student center. Go hiking in the woods around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall here is awful and over priced. Everything is ala carte. The meal plan is also not typically enough to get you through the semester.

    Dorm Life

    The two newer dorms have large rooms for dorms but still not what I'd consider adequate. Also there is not much of a community in the dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what program you're in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live on campus. You can find an apartment for a whole lot cheaper.

    In three sentences

    I've learned over my first year at Hocking College that this is a very weird place. You will find that you will either have great teachers that are passionate about their subjects, or you will get one that couldn't care less. The teachers in the culinary, sociology/pyschology/humanities, and the natural resource seem to be the best.