Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Hollins University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who attended a small high school will discover that a small college is actually more comfortable for them because of the individual attention that's afforded when the teachers aren't overloaded. Girls who want to focus on their education without all the drama that boy-girl relationships offer will love it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit! We enjoy hosting prospective students so it's easy to arrange a visit and you can stay with a current student in her dorm room to really get a flavor of college life. Try attending the Hollinsummer program. The cost of the program comes back to you as a scholarship if you decide to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school so the cost is high, but the finance office comes through with great scholarship support so don't let the cost deter you from applying.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's easy to make friends at Hollins. Without the competition for boys' attention girls can get to know each other in an open environment. The campus is compact and easy to get around, and my dorm is a blast!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are so interesting here and the professors really care about the students. Class sizes are small so everybody can participate. No worries about stating your mind or giving your opinion; open discussion is expected.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women who hope to strengthen their own independence, and grow as intellectuals, friends, and people. Feminists, Creative Thinkers, Heterosexual and Homosexual Women, Activists and Future Leaders.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be turned off by the sticker price of an education at Hollins, if it's a right fit for you help won't be hard to find. Also, I would suggest staying with a current student at one time. You'll receive an honest opinion about what to expect of the university and a personal testament of their own experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    It took only one trip to the campus to calm my parents nerves about the bill we would receive for my education at Hollins. Needless to say my parents hadn't saved for such a luxurious college selection, but after one visit to campus, one meeting with the financial aid officer and one meeting with the admissions counselor my parents too fell in love with the college I was already head over heels for. The counselors eased our mind over the financial burden and assured us the school would do their part to insure my attendence at their institution, and they certainly have kept their promise.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've never been a place where every person I came accross was so friendly and approachable. The campus is welcoming to say the least. In addition, even though it's a women's school I never noticed there not being any men or boys around until someone actually pointed it out; and even then I felt uneffected. Also, it seems like the faculty and administration all go out of their way to make the students feel at home, the traditions are frequent and uplifting and contribute to the sense of sistserhood I fell in love with at first glance.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes I attended were deep and made me feel connected to the real world. I felt my opinion, and the opinions of my peers were important and valued. The professors were reachable and intelligent. I'm excited already for the fall.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LGBTQAI, people who like to get involved with their community, open minded individuals, and women that want to go places.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with the flow of the community and get in involved! Everyone is involved in something. Visit and feel out the atmosphere before you enroll, though. Hollins isn't for everyone, but everyone can learn something from Hollins.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get out of Hollins what you put into it. Therefore, you need to get involved! Attend the Day of Service, Mayfest, Octoberfest, speakers, readings, festivals, etc. The biggest complaint you can find is too much fun.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something going on to the point of where you have to decide between activities. They bring in artists, filmmakers, and bands. Furthermore, the people are amazing and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not hard, but they are not easy either. They are challenging in a good way. There are also a variety of classes and you get a little bit of everything.

  • 07/02/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, Riders, Writers

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and come! We don't bite!

    Bang for the buck

    Hollins may be costly but it seems to be worth it. I spent a night there and I was content with it

    Will enjoy being here

    The dorms are decently sized. The air is cleaner than where I'm from. The food is pretty good as well

    Will learn a lot

    I sat in on an Advanced French Class. I thought I knew the language pretty well and Hollins just added more!

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 9 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious students. This is not a party school, all of our courses are 4 credit hours (compared to 3 at most schools), and professors expect a high level of dedication to coursework. With classes this small, you cannot get away with skipping class or falling behind in the readings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit. You can sit in on a class, eat in the cafeteria, meet students and faculty, and really get a good feel for what campus life will be like. We are always excited to have 'prospies' on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As an independent student, I have a harder time paying for school than I do studying for finals. However, since Hollins is such a small school, the financial aid office knows me by name, and are always happy to help find grants and scholarships that allow me to continue my education. It is well worth the struggle, so don't write Hollins off because of the financial strain.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community at Hollins is unparallelled. Even though I started in the middle of the school year, I had no trouble jumping right into the campus community. I had been in my dorm no longer than 10 minutes before my neighbors were coming over to say hi!

    Am learning a lot

    We have an amazing faculty at Hollins. I ended up in some classes last semester that I was really dreading, but the enthusiasm and love of the subject from my teacher sucked me right in, and now I have plans to audit another course in that subject this fall!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 9 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is usually at least three police men patrolling campus, whether on foot or in a car. There is one always nearby.

    Greek Life

    Hollins University doesn't have fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus that cover a variety on campus. Don't see a club on the list but you would like to make it, you can! You can make any club here a success with enough support.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, diligent, conscientious, but fun-loving, happy people are who do best here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day - Happening on an unknown date in October, the seniors run through all the dormitories banging pots and pans at 6 AM signalling it's Tinker Day, then everyone convenes in the dining hall for a breakfast full of Krispie Kreme donuts and typical breakfast fare. All day classes are cancelled. Then, this is totally optional, you climb up Tinker Mountain, which is a HIKE, in crazy costumes. Then at the top, you sing songs, put on skits, and eat fried chicken and picnic fare. This is just one really nice tradition. There are several more!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is ridiculously expensive. Though the teachers and the quality of the classes make up for the price. There are hoops to jump through if you want to make it a bit cheaper, but the University is generally accommodating in most cases.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus, whether its a theatre production, renting out a DVD from the library, or hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Moody is the dining hall, it's set up buffet style. The food is adequate and edible, but it is severely lacking in quality most of the time. You have $100 to go to the RAT, which is right below the main hall, it overall has better food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorm on campus that has air conditioning is Tinker, the first-year's dorm. All the rest are just heating. You're at the mercy of the outside weather and your only source of relief from the heat is a fan. I also suggest getting earplugs if you're a light sleeper. People can get noisy, especially during parties.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will not allow you to slack off. They won't chase you down for assignments, but they expect you to do the assignments to the best of your ability and on time. They set the standards of the class, and you have to meet and surpass them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're the only one from your high school going here, try to make friends as quickly as possible. You'll be overall happier in the long run. Also, check out the on-campus theater and try to know the regulars. They're really accepting and loving. It's a good way to know upperclassmen.

    In three sentences

    Hollins University is a tight-knit community that prides itself on small student-to-teacher ratios. The teachers are willing to help students, and the students never walk away having questions. There is a strong camaraderie among the students.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Sit in on a class, meet some students, walk around campus. If it feels like home to you too, then this is where you belong.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive because it's a private university, but they have plenty of scholarships to knock the cost down!

    Will enjoy being here

    The students I've met are very friendly and the campus is really small and easy to get around; it feels like everyone is one big family.

    Will learn a lot

    I sat in on a history class when I visited campus this past spring and just in one lesson learned so much about the industrialization era that I had never even known about!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I transfered to sweet briar

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I got my acceptance letter today, with a hand written note on it and confetti congrats.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Hollins campus is a very isolated, small campus, which makes it safe. The students gave it this nickname, The Hollins Bubble to describe it because it is so secluded from the county, or other parts of town. Hollins also has a security department that's located in the center of campus, that is open 24hrs, in which security makes rounds all day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hollins offers a wide variety of clubs from fencing, to the gay,straight alliance club we call OUTloud. Hollins have clubs for everyone, with different interests and the people within the clubs are very friendly and welcoming to newcomers. The only negative thing about the clubs is that they are at night, which is understandable because of the classes during the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Hollins is great for students well-rounded students, who are open minded about other types of individuals and their opinions. Hollins is also great for students interested in writing, international studies, visual art and science because of the exceptional academic departments and professors who teach these subjects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Hollins, we have Tinker Day! A very anticipated day, in which seniors will have Tinker Day scares and bang on pots and pans in the dorm hallways, on random days, until the actual day. Tinker Day is a holiday in which all classes are canceled, and all of the students and staff, including the school president, dress up in wacky costumes and climb Tinker Mountain. At the top of the mountain, we sing songs and indulge in fried chicken and tinker cake.

    Bang for the buck

    Hollins offers its students a variety of opportunities and not only helps them to excel academically, but also socially in the schools small environment. At Hollins, you will not get the same experience as you would a regular school which, in my opinion, is getting more bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Hollins plans many events to cater to the entertainment of the students. Students who attend these events often enjoy them, and can usually request to have them again. Because Hollins is isolated from the city, there aren't many things to do outside of campus, however, there is a shuttle, free of charge for taking students out into the city. Hollins students are so unique, they get creative with their own kind of fun things to do on campus, however.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Hollins can either be hit or miss. The cafeteria serves its food buffet style so students can get as much food as they want. The bad thing about the food is that it is often not very healthy, and there isn't many vegetarian options available to those who don't eat meat. We also have a little restaurant located under the cafeteria, that serves exceptional fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Hollins is very rich. The dorms are located close to the academic buildings which makes it easy for students to go from there room to class without having to worry about being late. There are also several specialty houses in which students with certain interests can apply to these houses, and can live with others that share the same interests. One negative aspects of the dorm buildings however, is that because Hollins is so old, most of the buildings do not have elevators, or good working air conditioning or heat.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Hollins can be academically challenging, but with the small classes, students can get the individual help they need from their professors. Hollins also has a Quantitative Reasoning Center and Writing Center of dedicated student tutors, to further help you with your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly suggest that prospective students engage in the unique events that Hollins has to offer, just so they can get an idea about what Hollins is all about, and what kind of fun things we have on campus.

    In three sentences

    Hollins is an amazing, all woman's private college that brings out all of the intellectually strong, and talented qualities of every woman that attends the school. The campus is very diverse, which makes it more easy for minorities to be comfortable in their social environment. Overall, Hollins is an amazing school that guides bright, young women to becoming successful in the real world.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 8 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always seen the security around.

    Clubs and Activities

    always something to do and something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    hollins is all about traditions. we have traditions all the time. from battle of the bins, where you print the recycling bins, to ring night, where the juniors are given a list of tasks by their senior sister to earn their ring, or 100th night, when the seniors celebrate 100 days until graduations. there are many, many more traditions at hollins university.

    Bang for the buck

    yes, it is a private school and expensive but it is worth every penny. financial aid is very helpful and will do everything they can to make sure you are really able to come here if you want to.

    What to do for fun

    hab (hollins activity board) brings a lot of activities to campus and many other organization are available to join. this is how hollins women become a part of a community.

    Food and Dining

    food is okay and we are currently working to make it better.

    Dorm Life

    random roommate is the best way to go for your first year.

    Academic Rigor

    it really is what you make of it. if you want challenging courses those are available, and the same goes for easy courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    please do not let the fact at this is an all-women's campus scare you away. hollins women are the best in the world.

    In three sentences

    hollins university is an amazing place to learn and grow into a strong and independent woman. once you become a hollins woman you will always have that strength with you. the professors really have a one on one connection with the students and they love the subjects that they are teaching.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 7 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is great. Even if you're scared to walk back from the library at night, they're come escort you. they're super sweet.

    Greek Life

    There is only the theater chapter, but it's very small on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's over 40 clubs on campus and they're all interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    Writers, artists, psych majors, members of the queer community but everyone is accepted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TINKER DAY!

    Bang for the buck

    For about 44 grand a year, it's definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are SO MANY clubs and activities to do. Also, there's a shuttle that goes to the mall and downtown Roanoke. there's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better, but eh, it's college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are bigger than average sized dorms at other institutions. there is a lot of space and shelving available.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a lot of work, but it's so worth it. I'm learning so much here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely do an overnight visit. It might change your perspective of Hollins. Don't be afraid to ask questions and visit classes.

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors. Amazing classes. Great atmosphere.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I transfered to Sweet Briar

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is open 24 hours a day year-round. These people in the security office are really dedicated to what they do. There have been some security incidences since I've been at Hollins (mostly in the apartments), but the campus community is always alerted when they crop up.

    Greek Life

    No sororities at Hollins. We do have specialty dorms, which are dorms based on an interest, such as French, Spanish, anime, community service, outdoor activities, and more.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs at Hollins, and they're all super active. Like politics? Join College Republicans or College Democrats. Like activism and social equality? Outloud and FMLA (Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance) might be for you. Enjoy sci-fi, fantasy, or anime? Try the Cyborg Griffin or WA2 (Women Who Appreciate Anime). Like literature? There's the Cyborg Griffin, Cargoes, the Album, and Grapheon. Tons of clubs. Tons of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. There is no type at Hollins. There's a place for everyone who wants one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hollins has a ton of traditions: First Step, where the seniors take their first step onto front quad (the quad is reserved for seniors); Tinker Day, where everyone eats donuts and climbs a mountain in crazy costumes; ADA, a secret society that is all about school spirit; Freya, an anonymous secret society that walks a night for different causes; Ring Night, where the juniors do crazy things to earn their class rings from their secret senior sisters; Hundredth Night, the night marking 100 nights until graduation. And those are just the main traditions. There are also things like White Gift Service, Sophomore Senior Banquet, Holiday Tea, and loads more.

    Bang for the buck

    Between the classes and study abroad and internships and our alum network, Hollins is well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There's always lots to do on campus: Hollins has tons of clubs, and between regular meetings and special events, something's bound to be going on. The Hollins Activity Board (HAB) arranges movie screenings and concerts and other fun things like that. Around Roanoke, a lot of girls go hang out downtown or visit neighboring school.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is hit or miss. I dislike the fact that students are required to be on the meal plan unless they have a valid religious or medical reason, but it does make sense; kitchens in some of the dorms are tiny (ok, I speaking of West in particular. Tinker's are good; East's is good; the apartments have good kitchens) and not always the cleanest. The food is sometimes really good and sometimes isn't. It depends. The school does make en effort to provide variety to suit different needs, and Hollins often pulls from the community to get fresh fruits and veggies (and recently, milk. Which is super good). One issue I have is inaccurate food labels. Labels are often wrong and don't disclose allergens or have 0's for all the nutrition facts. Not cool.

    Dorm Life

    The way I see it, there are two downsides to the dorms on campus: most of them aren't air-conditioned, and you aren't allowed to have microwaves in the rooms. Some people don't like the fact that you have to live on campus for all four years, but I think it really takes the pressure off of finding and paying for a place to stay. The older dorms are gorgeous: tall ceilings, big windows, wide hallways, etc. The newer ones are standard and functional and pretty much only used by first-year students. Rooms campus-wide are a good size. Visitors from other schools have told me that our doubles are bigger than their triples. Housing lottery (where upperclasswomen pick their rooms for the following year) can sometimes be cutthroat and emotional, but I'm guessing it is at most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    While Hollins doesn't have the intense academics of an ivy league school, it also doesn't have the intense pressure. Classes are challenging, but professors are always open to helping students who might be struggling or are feeling overwhelmed. Students are encouraged to be curious and explore what the courses are about. Discussion is a huge part of nearly every class. Classes are small; I've had as few students as 5 and as many as 20, but usually between 10 and 15. The professors really know what they're talking about, and they are so eager to teach what they love.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus. A lot of people know whether or not Hollins is for them based on a campus visit. If you can, do it. And if you can't, use the other resources admissions gives you. Ask if a current student or faculty member can call or email you. We're often eager to bring in new women.

    In three sentences

    Hollins is a welcoming environment. The students are far from typical, and there is a niche for everyone here. Hollins has great resources for both academics and social life, as well as life after college.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is really great at Hollins. Our campus is so small that the security guards, for the most part, are right next to what is going on.

    Greek Life

    Hollins prides itself for not having a Greek Life. We are such a small school it would be really hard to have one. Though we don't have a Greek Life, we have two secret societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anyone can start their own SGA funded club, so whatever you want, you can make it! We have so many clubs on campus it is ridiculous.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for art, creative writing, and open minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hollins is known for its traditions! We have Tinker Day, a day where we dress crazy and hike up a mountain to watch skits and eat fried chicken. We have First Step, where seniors take their first step onto our lovely front quad. They open bottles of champagne and celebrate the night away. We also have Ring Night, this is where seniors pick their junior sisters and have them do silly tasks and skits. At the end the juniors get lovely baskets full of presents from their seniors.

    Bang for the buck

    I know I am paying a lot for this school, but it is worth the education. The only thing I do not think is worth it is room and board. It is over 10,000 dollars a year and is not something that is easily affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Hollins always has events going on around campus, or even off campus. On campus we have a rock climbing wall, a dine in restaurant that serves beer on the weekends, and plenty of students to hang out with. Off campus there are so many things to do. The Roanoke star, Mill Mountain Zoo, Downtown Roanoke are all less than 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    I love Hollins, but I do not love the food. Our dining center tends not to label things correctly which is not good for people with allergies. The two stars I gave this represents two things, vegetarian options, and the staff. Both of these are the reason I actually eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed on campus my first year and LOVED it. The dorms are a really good size.Our common rooms are equipped with big screen tvs and pool tables. Not only are the material things nice, the staff is great too. My R.A was an amazing person who was really supportive.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like all the professors I have had have pushed me. I might not get the best grades on my work, but the professors do not only look at grades, they look at class discussions as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion would be to apply early and go to as many over nights as you can.

    In three sentences

    Hollins is a Beautiful campus where I feel like I can be myself. The support from the professors, staff, and fellow students is incredible. Hollins really does create Women who are going places.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hollins University is a great school and full of opportunity; you will learn a lot and it's worth every moment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Hollins with an open mind, try your best, and never be afraid to be your very best; because that's what Hollins University is about.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school and I hope to be able to attend all 4 years.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy all my classes and the professors. I love that I have small classes because everyone gets to interact with the lessons.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 6 people found this review useful. 17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hollins University has their own campus security, including patrolling officers. They also have an around the clock number that you are able to call.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus. Probably more than 50. Hollins also has a unique attribute which is that anybody can create a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    As long as you aren't worried about men, this campus is nice for most women. The only other thing to keep in mind is that it is a very small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hollins University is home to a plethora of unusual traditions, one of the most well known being Tinker Day. Tinker Day usually happens in the middle of the week. The church bells are rung around 5:30 am and all the students join in the cafeteria for donuts. Classes are then cancelled for the rest of the day as everyone dresses in incredibly ridiculous outfits and then hikes Tinker mountain, which is literally a mountain.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a private school, the tuition costs more, but the atmosphere is nice and the education is widely known by most employers.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large mall with many restaurants just 20 minutes down the road. If you don't bring a car, that is okay because there is a shuttle that transports students on Wednesdays through Sundays.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very limited selection of food and the company in charge of the food is constantly making changes. However, the staff that is employed by Hollins University are all very nice and love to stop and have chats with the students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice for being on a campus. The doubles are nice and spacious and the singles hold just enough room. The halls and bathrooms remain relatively clean. Janitors come and clean them every morning. As expected, you are able to hear through the walls and noises echo through the hallways.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor, overall, is quite strict. Most of the teachers do their best to make you work for your grades. They constantly work around a student's schedule for meetings, as well as doing what they can to encourage the students to get better. If you are failing a class, they won't hesitate to set aside time to help you bring your grade back up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an opened mind when visiting. Just because it is an all girls campus does not mean you won't see men. In all actuality, an all girls campus makes things less stressful and more care free.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I find Hollins University to be a wonderful school. The campus is very warm and inviting, including all of the people that live there. I have only been attending this University for one year now, but I haven't met a mean person, be it another student or professor.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always on hand, centrally located; I feel much safer here than the place I transferred in from.

    Greek Life

    There's a Greek festival every year at a church, but that's all that I know about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for writers, for manga fans, for all sorts of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to learn, willing to be among other women (since it's an all women's college), willing to be around people who aren't going to believe what you believe, but who are still awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day we all get out of class and climb a mountain. We never know when that day will be, except that it's in the Fall. We all dress up in ridiculous outfits for it.

    What to do for fun

    There's a shuttle to a nearby mall, bowling, mini-golf, roller-skating, movie theaters, the usual.

    Food and Dining

    Decent, options available, and numerous dine-out places available not too far from campus.

    Dorm Life

    Eh, not bad, not wonderful, it is what it is.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found it academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come now, don't transfer.

    In three sentences

    Expensive, though they try and help out where they can. Challenging, making you think even when you'd rather be a lazy bum. A lot of opportunities for personal and future growth.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not too shabby.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. You form a lasting bond with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Hollins is good for challenging students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being a prospective student myself, I can only say that you be sure to work your absolute hardest and you can achieve whatever goals you may have.

    In three sentences

    Hollins University is a stunning campus to which I could not be more proud to be attending. My first visit was the only one I needed to know that Hollins was the college for me. They have done nothing short of making me feel like I belong.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hollins is a small campus and there are security personnel at the school 24/7. I have never felt unsafe here!

    Clubs and Activities

    Hollins is filled with clubs to get involved with! Also, if you know of a passion of yours that you believe needs to be shared, it is really easy to begin a club of your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hollins was founded in the nineteenth century, so most of the buildings being older, ghost stories naturally abound, and the added spookiness of the Hollins cemetery set beside the campus is great for a good scare as well as a lesson in history. Also Hollins is steeped in great traditions such as Tinker Day where on a day in the fall classes are cancelled, Hollins women dress up and hike to the top of Tinker Mountain to do skits and eat fried chicken!

    Bang for the buck

    Many high school students believe that just because private university's tuitions are high, means that unless their family has the money, they cannot go. However, Hollins makes the best effort to hand out as much financial aid as possible because they truly want you here!

    What to do for fun

    Due to the amazing valley that Hollins is located in, the University has many different offerings for on as well as off campus fun! Downtown Roanoke is a great place to just escape to as well!

    Food and Dining

    A lot of students are not the greatest fans of our dining hall, but as long as you break up your meals between the main dining hall Moody and the more casual Rat downstairs of Moody. Dining at Hollins can certainly be enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Tinker is a good first year dorm setting, however, Hollins has some of the best specialty houses, for example Near East Fine Arts and Carvin International House are some of my favorites!

    Academic Rigor

    The balance is perfect here. You feel as though you are being challenged , yet everyone is focused on making sure you are not becoming over whelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    A visit to the Hollins campus is a must! Come either over the summer for the Hollinsummer Program or stay with a current student! No matter what you do, get on campus to truly get the feel of this amazing place to see if it is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Women who are going places start at Hollins University. After only a few weeks on campus, I know that this is completely true.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is what I would call cozy, the buildings are close-ish together, but not smothering you. I felt very safe on campus and wouldn't expect much crime on campus. I didn't however see campus security, which they probably do have, I just went on a day when the campus was near deserted. Part of the secure feeling may stem from Hollins being an all-girl school. Also meaning less loud and crazy parties nearby. A student could just sit on the rocking chairs on the front porch and practice her speech or study. If you want a louder and busier atmosphere, head a little off campus and there it is.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school's website shows a wide breathe of clubs and such. There is a student-run one that also put recycle containers across the campus and there is even an Anime club. Basically a club for all. HOP or Hollins Outdoor Program is for the outdoorsy, canoeing persons. There' s 32 different clubs and also Hollins has their own dance company, Hollins Repertory Dance Company. I was also able to visit the on-campus theatre. It's definitely amazing.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, unique, driven, determined, inspired, horse enthusiasts, and basically what most of these other reviewers say. The campus may be a small one, but it is located in close proximity to Roanoke so students still have the benefit of civilization. Hollins seems to be a good mix of a small classroom experience with fewer students, but also the town actually has stuff to do. Admittedly, I only visited once, but these are my impressions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day where classes are canceled and everyone treks up Tinker Mountain in outlandish costumes. And I'm there are others, but I'm not a student. This is just secondhand knowledge. I've also been informed of a certain tradition that only the seniors are allowed to walk across a certain lawn. The school has a ceremony for it and everything.

    Bang for the buck

    When talking with the financial aid office, my fears of not being able to afford the school were alleviated to some extent. There are so many different scholarship opportunities and alumni that are willing to help out. From the alumni I spoke with they all absolutely loved it and they are in the field they went to Hollins to be in. Except one who got into that field, didn't like it, and now is in a similar field she enjoys very much.

    Food and Dining

    I've only visited once but the food was a buffet style with little variety. The staff were very generous and even custom made my mom a dish of her creation. Don't let this get you down! There's other eateries nearby! Plus I'm a picky eater anyways.

    Dorm Life

    From the sample dorm I saw the rooms generally have two beds and a real closet. The furniture is fine and the rooms are spacious, unless you clutter them. The buildings are older and the flooring and decor are often older in style, but that's part of the schools charm. Some buildings are newer however, these are just as beautiful. The dorm building I saw was very pretty. The hallways were very thin and I don't think they had showers for every dorm, just some for every hall. The floors were tiled and when walking we came to an oddly shaped room with several doorways. Each doorway lead to different dorms. It had a strange Alice in Wonderland feel to it, but it was so fascinating.

    Academic Rigor

    With the different teaching styles of classrooms, discussion and lecture, anyone can choose their style. From the people I've talked to the school holds it's own and is a very good school. The reactions I've gotten when I tell people I was accepted are also the genuine sounds of the schools prestige.

    Tips for prospective students

    These are old buildings, some look like they could be movie sets for very old movies. Even the main buildings are highly ornate and vintage. The dorms are older too, however they're in very good condition. Some buildings are of course brand new and very awesome. It's just that good mix again. Even though the location and campus sounds to be a traditional school, remember that from what I observed that the students and faculty are very open-minded and accepting. Also for the girls who consider themselves nerdy, artsy, or alternative, i.e. goth, etc. you should be fine. When I visited there were boxes of free books for the taking because someone didn't want them and they were some good books. There was also some students in the cafeteria who came over and welcomed us to campus and wished us a good stay. The travel abroad program is also ingenious. Also J-term sounds like it would be a blast.

    In three sentences

    Everything is so beautiful and the campus is set apart from Roanoke by large greens and the campus is easily walk-able. There a plethora of different types of students here, mostly artsy it seems. Their museum has a wonderful Andy Warhol exhibit and the library has comfortable lofts to study & read in.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very present and makes sure all of our students feel safe at all times. They are very approachable if you notice suspicious activity, and will take care of it immediately. I have never felt truly unsafe walking alone, even at night.

    Greek Life

    Since we're already like a giant sorority, we don't have any official sororities on campus. The closest would be ADA, but they aren't so much Greek as a secret society that raises awareness and excitement for events coming up on the horizon. Instead of togas, they wear purple.

    Clubs and Activities

    Because we're a small liberal arts school, we don't have a whole lot of sports, but we do have soccer, lacrosse, swimming, and volleyball, and a few other non-varsity sports. As for clubs, there are too many to list here, but there is at least one club for everyone. One such example, a club I participate actively in, is WA2, or Women Who Appreciate Anime. We meet every Friday and watch 2 hours of Japanese animation, bring different Japanese culture traditions to campus (kakurenbo, or hide in the seek in the dark; Maid Cafe, a maid-themed Japanese cafe; and others), and together with the specialty house Otaku Hall, put on a convention every January.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are quirky and creative, feminist and with a rebellious streak, you will fit in here perfectly. Don't be scared off if you're more conservative, though -- our campus is diverse in lots of ways. Just keep in mind that if you're against LGBTQ rights, you may want to keep quiet about your opinions, as we have an unusually high percentage of queer students here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year on a surprise date is Tinker Day, when all classes are cancelled and we dress up in crazy outfits and hike up Tinker Mountain to partake of fried chicken and Tinker cake, and then watch a number of skits from the different classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Though high, tuition is very transparent as to what it's used for, and every time there's a tuition hike they let us know exactly what it's going toward. This year, tuition was slightly higher in order to include laundry, so we no longer had to mess with quarters in the washing machines.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there are shuttles into downtown Roanoke, where there are a lot of cute local shops that are fun to explore. There's also occasionally a farmer's market and bazaar, with stands from many local businesses. Other things include the mall, movie theater, mini golf, Mill Mountain and its zoo, and a host of restaurant choices.

    Food and Dining

    Moody Dining Hall is average at best, but unfortunately has its sub-par days as well. If you are paying very close attention to what you're eating, you can eat healthily. Because we're in the South, some of the food is a little more fatty than necessary. There's also a sad lack of vegetarian variety, though if you're happy with beans, tofu, and salad, you can continue a veggie diet.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm is somewhat small, but has air conditioning, something the other dormitories on campus don't have. The buildings are all fairly old, and have a cozy feel to them. Walls can be pretty thin, though, so make sure you have a respectful rapport with your neighbors, in case you -- or them -- are being too loud, so you can resolve the problem easily and not have to involve an RA.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and fast-paced, and active participation is encouraged and sometimes required. As long as you perfect your time management, schedules should not become overwhelming. Any time there is confusion, professors are willing to answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Branch out and try classes you might not ordinarily take! If something sounds interesting and isn't in your field of study, go right ahead and take it -- we have class perspectives for a reason. Even classes that seem completely random will probably count toward your graduation requirements.

    In three sentences

    Hollins has top-notch class schedules, professors, and students. The professors really care about their students' education and will often check in if you are struggling in some way. The community is very tight-knit and accepting of new people.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security staff are super friendly and are always on patrol. Security will even walk/drive you to your car at night if you want.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something here for everyone. Interested in making a club? Find a faculty sponsor and talk to the club coordinator, easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to take an active role in their learning and are not afraid to get their feet wet, no matter their endeavors or interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day is a day when classes are cancelled and students hike up Tinker Mountain in ridiculous outfits.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are truly amazing people who go above and beyond. The financial aide is also very good.

    What to do for fun

    What can't you do? Hollins offers a free shuttle to Valley View Mall and downtown Wednesday-Saturday. There is always something going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria can be hit or miss on the quality, but Moody is not the only place a student can grab a bite to eat. The Rat and Jazzmen's are usually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The Housing and Residence Life staff are friendly and are always offering a fun chance to get together and hangout at socials. The dorms are nice, but not all of them have air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take and the professors. Hollins classes will challenge you in many ways if you ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come spend a night here to get a real feel for campus life.

    In three sentences

    Hollins is a friendly and welcoming place. We may not have the best food in the world, but the faculty here are amazing!

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non existent.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day is when you get a day off school to climb up Tinker Mountain! (Optional) but very fun!

    What to do for fun

    I normally hung out with friends and went to club meetings.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty bad.

    Dorm Life

    Always clean, rarely loud.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were difficult but Professors were always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are okay with going to a same sex institution, and have a positive attitude!

    In three sentences

    Hollins is an amazing place to learn. The people are friendly. The teachers are there to help.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great, sometimes they like giving parking tickets a little bit too much.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Hollins.

    Clubs and Activities

    HAB and SGA are great at providing chances to meet up with our peers.

    Great for these types of students

    Hollins is great a lot of different types of students from preppy riders to comic book readers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions such as Ring Night and hiking Tinker Mountain.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is pretty steep, but well worth it at Hollins.

    What to do for fun

    I play sports for fun at Hollins.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food options that Sodexo provides should be based on the opinions and comments of the students.

    Dorm Life

    I think that Nickie Smith is great at what she does in HRL.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that Hollins University pushes me to be a great student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I were to tell prospective students anything regarding Hollins University, it would be to get involved in as many things as possible because the people who run the clubs have a passion for it.

    In three sentences

    Hollins University is a very diverse environment. Hollins University has broadened my way of thinking. Hollins University is my home away from home.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Every club you could ever imagine

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, Inquisitive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tinker Day! In October, on a surprise weekday, everyone dresses up and skips class!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a tight knit community

    What to do for fun

    Roanoke is such a great little area - there's stores to shop at, zoos to visit, movies to go see, and mountains to climb! (There's even a zoo on top of a mountain!)

    Food and Dining

    three words - cant get enough

    Dorm Life

    Your roommate will become your new best friend, and RAs are always there for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework definitely keeps you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    YOU WILL LOVE IT HERE.

    In three sentences

    The campus is quite picturesque. Staff is always willing to lend a helping hand. Students are never bored.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus security are mean. they literally sit and wait by the parking lots waiting to give a ticket

    Greek Life

    NONE :(

    Clubs and Activities

    mostly geared to LGBT

    Great for these types of students

    girls who want to be 'sisters for life'

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TInker day, ring night

    Bang for the buck

    They do give you a ton of money but thats because no one else comes

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, the bus only runs Friday- Sunday and downtown Roanoke is 5 blocks wide and most stores are foreclosed.

    Food and Dining

    Moody sucks, be prepared to eat out a lot.

    Dorm Life

    Tinker bathrooms are bad and wifi in some rooms doesn't work. I had to change rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Like high school, they babysit you, you will not be ready for real life jobs. The internships are ones you get at Hollins

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE sure you want to come here, if you have doubts like I did before I came... odds are you will again.

    In three sentences

    MISLEADING MAJORS. I came here and learned that most majors are non bad. Math? The highest offered is Calc. Pre-med? no more like biology major. Law? try a different school. This school is mostly for writing/ English majors. Seriously consider a different school. I am transferring out in the spring