Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Holmes Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Starting off at a community college is great for the students that chose to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do everything like applying for federal aid, scholarships, or registration early because once you graduate high school time will fly by fast and you want to be fully prepared.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a bang for the buck

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here and I love all my teachers. Its just a good place to attend while doing your 2 years at a community college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot and all the things that will help me reach my goal.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    These school is for talented individuals, that can basically sing, dance, or draw rel well. They have many different groups and things for people to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is JOIN the choir, Dazzlers, Drama Club or Holmes Connections. These are the best groups for many people because you get to meet new and different people. You basically spend a lot of your time with these groups. It gives you friends instantly and you get to interact with a lot of different people. Also, if ever you need help with an Essay or paper talk to the librarians they are great.

    Bang for the buck

    Not much of a money-oriented school; so i would say they are a good choice.

    Did enjoy being here

    I really didn't enjoy this school as much because it's boring at times. They don't let you stay on the weekends. So if you stay far, it's basically a waste of gas to go back and forth every Sunday and leave every Friday.

    Did learn a lot

    I've learned a lot at this school. There are numerous teachers that have taught me a lot about life and other aspects that I would need to know. Mrs.Brown , in the English Department, is an excellent teacher. She goes far and beyond which takes a lot of guts.

  • 07/20/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to attend a community college before getting their bachelors degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you research it thoroughly.

    Bang for the buck

    It offers the same curriculum as most universities and would be a lot faster and less expensive than going to a university.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I will. I know many people who are currently students their and they say it is great!

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a quality education without spending much (if any) money, and people who want to stay close to home.

    Tips for prospective students

    BEWARE! The school made a mistake and told my friend he could spend a certain amount of money in the school bookstore, when the actual amount he could spend was less. Because of THEIR mistake, HE has to give back all of his Pell return plus an extra fifty. He was unaware of this until they put a hold on his account immediately before registration. It's a good school, but they are DEFINITELY money-grubbers. Don't let them pull anything on you.

    Bang for the buck

    Between academics, sports, and a Pell Grant, I don't know a single person who has to pay for their tuition. It is an EXCELLENT value, especially if you live in the area.

    Am enjoying being here

    I, unfortunately, am an out-of-state student. The town of Goodman is terrible. There isn't anything to do on campus, in-town, or anywhere within thirty miles. Being stuck here constantly makes you dislike it very quickly. The campus security workers are extremely corrupt. They have been seen sleeping on the job, scrapbooking on the job, accepting bribes of alcohol, and generally being power-hungry. It's atrocious. The most fun I have all week is hanging out with my boyfriend and participating in band activities.

    Am learning a lot

    I am pretty academic-smart, and this school has made me feel like I'm really learning. It is just a little community college, but the education quality is great. The staff really does care about your success both in and out of the classroom. The classes will suit anyone's level.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i go to the ridgeland campus.... i work and go to school.. but there is a lot of fun thins to do in and around ridgeland

    Food and Dining

    all types of food and alot of places

    Dorm Life

    not in dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to your advisors....

    In three sentences

    i have been going to night class, this is the best. i am now taking day class and i love the campus and the instructors they really care about the student. the advisor have an open door policy... it's great

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are awesome!!

    What to do for fun

    The clubs have a lot going on.

    Food and Dining

    No one really ate at school when we had a deli so they took it out.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at the ridgeland campus yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about teachers before picking one. This will be very helpful.

    In three sentences

    This school has a beautiful campus. The teachers here are funny and very helpful. Although you cannot dorm here they try to come up with a lot of activities.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    PHI Theta Kappa. 5

    Great for these types of students

    all types. Geek, lost, and determined

    Academic Rigor

    5 star.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love going to Holmes Community College. Give your best and you will be greatly rewarded with a great education.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I have attended for the last year and the teachers are wonderful and they take time to help you. Their is always a sense of professionalism with each teacher. I couldn't see myself anywhere else. I know eventually I will have to leave, but until then I am going to make the most of my time here.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You will love Holmes if you are the type of person who is ready to learn and to have a good time while doing so!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in our class work because the time you spend in college learning is also the time that will determine how your future will turn out! Make it count.

    Bang for the buck

    Holmes is not a very expensive school, although the classes and level of education you will receive is top notch!

    Will enjoy being here

    The living environment at Holmes is very good and it is surrounded by friendly faces and people who are just as eager to make friends and meet their classmates as I am!

    Will learn a lot

    Holmes seems to be a highly affective learning center for young adults as far as I've seen. Many of my friends and family members have attended there and have told me that Holmes is the way to go!

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on the ball!

    Clubs and Activities

    PTK - Honors Society, Mosaic, Skills USA, Ambassadors were a few of the clubs I participated in. I was also a cheerleader/stunt partner for 2 years.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent types. Support is given to any student having trouble adjusting to college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Fling with the Engineering Technology group with Crawfish boil,. Homecoming week was always a blast!

    Bang for the buck

    Great friends with students as well as being friends with Advisors and Support staff. Tuition is the best!

    What to do for fun

    Goodman is not near many large towns so most school activities provide the students with things to do. There's also plenty of clubs, organizations, and groups for students to join. Intramural games are held during school year also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in student life. Always be open to joining groups such as Skills USA and PhiThettaKappa (PTK). Dream big and you can acheive great things!

    In three sentences

    One of the best schools around in regard to students, faculty and support staff. I had the best time being a part of this school I acheived more things with the help of this school.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Band and M.O.S.A.I.C

    Great for these types of students

    Just be yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym or the Can are good places to chill.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go to the gym. Just relax.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast good. Lunch ok. Dinner good.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome!!! Can be loud. Can make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make excuses. Never disrespect a teacher. Always be serious when it comes to school.

    In three sentences

    It's easy, if you make it easy. Nice classes. Great teachers.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A safe campus. Campus police as well as the local police always patrol the campus and parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of different clubs and activities that any student could easy get involve it whether it a social club or academic club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Great experience for non-traditional students.

    What to do for fun

    Fall Festival in October. All clubs from each campus of the school join together for a day full of fun which include water fights, live band or dj, a dance contest, eating contest, free food and rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    Had a deli once I start attending in 2010 but as time went by it left the campus.

    Dorm Life

    NO dorms on Ridgeland Campus!

    Academic Rigor

    It challenges you as individual and as a group to better yourself along with helping out each other.. It does a great job preparing for a transition to an University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to have an outstanding learning along with social experience on the campus of Holmes Community College. Join and participate in as many club and organization as possible and ATTEND CLASS!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Holmes Community College as one of the best junior college in the state.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This community college is affordable. Payment plans are very convenient.

    Food and Dining

    Nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Safe, clean, and entertaining.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are very challenging. I can guarantee that you will definitely learn something new every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always meet deadlines! Ask questions if necessary!

    In three sentences

    This school is the ideal school for anyone who wants to pursue several associates degree completely online, (with proctored test that can be taken at any participating Mississippi Virtual Community College testing centers). Registration, advising, and orientation is completely online!

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There are always police walking and riding around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa was the only kind of greek life that I knew about and my mother was able to join it while she was at Holmes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several types clubs and activies to do, although I did not join any myself.

    Great for these types of students

    Holmes is great for any kind of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Holmes seems to be normal and nothing really out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    Holmes is very cheep compared to some the other college in the surrounding area. I think I made the best choice by starting at a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Holmes offer several outside school activities. As well as things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We did not really have any food except for what was in the snack machines.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students starting a Holmes, I think that they should learn to study but have fun at the same time.

    In three sentences

    I think Holmes is a great school for anyone. They have many different kinds of classes. Aslo, the teachers make it easy for you to get help from them.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is the Connection which is a club for singers. There is Holmes Plus, which is for students with high test scores who want to major in the STEM field. Then, Phi Theta Kappa is avaliable.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who enjoy studying. Students who need to focus on their studies more than hanging out will enjoy the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You won't spend much money. In addition, it is much cheaper than a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are intermural sports. Music clubs are avaliable.

    Food and Dining

    The food was wonderful. In addition, there are two places to eat. The staff made sure everyone was fed well to the best of their abilities.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms were made to have fun with other students. You could go converse with other students. In addition, there was a lot of video games being played daily.

    Academic Rigor

    Holmes is a mini university. You will be prepared for a real univeristy at the conclusion of your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely. It opens up opportunities for the future. Review teachers before you register for their courses.

    In three sentences

    Holmes is a great learning environment. What it doesn't make up in appearances, it makes up with kindness. Any one is willing to assist you.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremly safe at Holmes. I mainly attend classes in the evening and there are ALWAYS lots of campus police there.

    What to do for fun

    Holmes has several different teams to support or join, from basketball, baseball, soccer, choir etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers here. They are all willing to help in any way to help you achieve in your classes. Even assisting students before and after classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Holmes it is important to know that they offer 3 types of classes Traditional, Online and Hybrid. Also, you will need to apply for student loans separate than the regular finical aid.

    In three sentences

    I love Holmes Community College. I have found my fit here. Almost all of the staff and teachers are extremely helpful.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is huge at Holmes Community College! Honestly, it feels like everywhere you turn, you can see a security guard or police car! We have our very own police force, which really makes you feel safe while there! They are so nice and helpful too!

    Bang for the buck

    Holmes is surprisingly one of the cheaper community colleges around MS. Based on how well the school is, you wouldn't be able to tell! They have an ACT scholarship so if you make a 20 on your ACT, you get full tuition!

    Food and Dining

    I don't stay on campus, so I can't say much about food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I can't give a valid answer for this topic.

    Academic Rigor

    These teachers aren't there just for the paycheck, and that is clear when you're taking their classes. They go above and beyond to make sure you know what they are teaching. I even have one teacher who plans on taking the class to the zoo once we get on that part of our Biology II lesson. Yes, a field trip in college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make friends while you are there. Its not as much fun if you just go to class, and come home. Enjoy your experience there! Also, get on the teachers good side; it definitely makes a difference! Another important thing is to study, and then study some more! Don't just go to class, and not look over the materials! Just because it is a community college doesn't mean it isn't tough! College is college, and they want you to know what you've been taught once leaving their school.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love attending Holmes Community College! The teachers are so friendly and generally care if you pass their class or not! The students that attend the college are also extremely helpful and know how to make the time there exciting and fun!

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Goodman is not the safest city, but if you live on campus you are always protected. I would not recommend roaming around campus late at night, but for the most part you are safe around the resident halls.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Holmes is very active with the student body. I would say 9 of 10 students walking around campus belong to something. There are many luncheons and festival like things planned year round.

    Great for these types of students

    Holmes is great for students wanting to have a high GPA going to a University. Students wanting to be involved are encouraged. Also the Athletics are up and coming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i was a baseball player at Holmes. The student body and faculty get know them the fastest because every Thursday the baseball dresses up shirt and tie. There is also a zipline on campus over the pond that is pretty fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Holmes is fairly cheap, and when I transferred all my classes were accepted. This was also the case for all my friends. You woluld end up saving a noticeable amount of money choosing Holmes first than going to a University for four years.

    What to do for fun

    Outside of the halls there are meeting areas where students can socialize with co eds. Since most of the students are local someone usually knows someone that knows when something fun is going on. In that part of Mississippi hunting and fishing is a huge pastime, and a lot of people have camps near by.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very much like a high school cafeteria, but they do give you some options. I would invest in a hot plate and a mini fridge to stay away from some of the cafeteria's menu.

    Dorm Life

    The two newer Dorms (Webster and Choctaw) are nice, but I have heard horror stories about the others. In all the dorms there is a Holmes officer who will not allow a co-ed in, and will be at your door if they suspect anything unusual. Unless you commute from home you will have to stay in these dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like at every University some classes are more difficult than others, but these classes are easier than at the University. The professors are always willing to help and they encourage you to approach them. If you go to class and put forth average effort you can walk out of Holmes with a 4.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sociable! Holmes is a very small school, and the more people you know the better your experience will be. Get involved! The Goodman campus is the athletic campus and just about everyone is involved in something. Do not break the 1:30 campus curfew the cops will be stopping you and you get fined.

    In three sentences

    The professors at Holmes Community College will suprise most of their students with their knowledge and passion for their course, and all the classes are fairly small even for a community college. Most of the students are involved in the school in someway, and a very large percentage of the students are locals. The city of Goodman has two gas stations and two restaurants in a rural setting, but the city of Goodman for most is the worst thing about Holmes.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Funeral Service Program is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    School is worth the money. Not the financial aid office though!

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat at school

    Dorm Life

    dont live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go elsewhere!

    In three sentences

    Good faculty at Holmes. Financial Aid department is rude. Financial Aid department doesn't try to help the students.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional and traditional.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to sign up early because class can fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Holmes Community College in Grenada, MS is a small commuter college. Holmes has great teachers that work personally with students. They technology on campus is right up there with universities.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I cant wait to find out more about this school