Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Holy Family University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Almost everyone there gets some sort of financial aid, so it is very worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very much so. It's so easy to fit in here.

    Am learning a lot

    There is so much information I have learned so far and I am only a sophomore!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the various activities such as snow tubing, skiing, basketball games, soccer games.

    Food and Dining

    food is great, and there are plenty food places that are near by.

    Dorm Life

    they are great, always cleaned and nice people.

    Academic Rigor

    the grading system is a bit challenging but this makes you work even harder to getting great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work hard. small classes. ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    this university is great academically wise, because it pushes you to work hard. the classes are small, this gives an opportunity for students to gain more one-on-one with the professors. when a student is in need of help there are many ways for them to get help, there is a great help with tutoring offered.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun unless you have a car.

    Food and Dining

    Same food different day. It gets old quick

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is horrible. All people do is talk about your business and act fake.

    Academic Rigor

    The grading system sucks. Its an ivy league grading system for a non ivy league division 2 school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a better school with non ivy grading system unless and it is an ivy league school

    In three sentences

    Holy Family is OK school. The grading system is a little unfair. Their degrees hold some stayre.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All students must access the campus with the use of a card. The front desk is monitored by a security guard.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Extended Learning Division keeps the adult students involved through the emaill system.

    Great for these types of students

    Holy Family University Extended Learning Division is great for the adult student who needs to balance work, life and school.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes facilitate class room and real life experiences to life.

    Food and Dining

    The extended learning campus has a cafeteria with vending machines and a microwave.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the extended learning campus which does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The facilitators ensure that the students exceed even their own expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Holy Family will assist in every step of the way to ensure successful completion and academic excellence.

    In three sentences

    Holy Family University provides an excellent environment that promotes academic excellence. The administration truly puts the best interest of the students first. The balance of education and religion are key to the success of the university.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safey is good. They always have Security Guards Visible. You can not get in to a Dorm Building if you do not have a pass. You must sign in at the desk with ID if you are a Visitor.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Activities and Clubs at HFU. You just have to find the one that is right for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Holy Family is great for students who don't want to attend a Large University where there are sometimes 300 students in a class. HFU has smaller classes.

    What to do for fun

    The City of Philadelphia is full of a lot of things to do. If you attend the sporting events they are always fun. They have a lot of different activities for everyone. They have trips. And of course there are always different Parties going on with

    Food and Dining

    They have good food. The Dining Area is always Clean. They have different foods and you can request foods and they will listen to your requests.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AWESOME. They always have things for you to do. The Washers and Dryers are FREE. The Security is Strong you have Security Guards at the Front Door and MUST have your ID to get in the Dorms. I Feel Very SAFE. Being Safe is Very Important in any City.

    Academic Rigor

    The marking is a lot harder than other universities. They have tough classes but there is help if you need it. I was on Second Track in High School and I was afraid to attend Holy Family because of their Grading System. But I am doing well I have a 3.3 GPA. At Holy Family you must take your finals even if you a 4.0 GPA, Where as the State Colleges in PA if you have a 3.5 or higher you do not have to take your Finals. I feel this is preparing me for the Real World by making me take my Finals no matter what my GPA is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going away to College seems scary but go to College with an open mind. Get Involved, attend Basketball, Volleyball and Soccer Games. We have so much attending Games. I have made friends because I got involved, Holy Family also cares about You. There is help for your classes if you need help. They always have things for you to do. It is a small school and that is what makes it so GREAT. Everyone knows each other and the Professors do care if You Don't attend Class. Being a small university I believe is the reason why everyone knows each other.

    In three sentences

    I have made friends from Canada, New York, Rhode Island and from my home State Pennsylvania. I love it I don't want to go home. When we close for Breaks. We have so much fun.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Holy family has many activities provided to students such as Phillies games, paint-ball retreats, attractions and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Holy family has a wide variety of food choices. Students are able to choose from salads,pastas wraps,etc.

    Dorm Life

    Since I am a commuter I'm not to sure how the dorm experience is, but I can assure you that the University does not permit parties. Security assures that the campus is safe and clean at all times of the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Holy family has a very intense grading system, which encourages students to stay focused on academics and maintain high grades. Holy family enforces that students maintain a 3.0 GPA especially those with scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors are constantly encourage students to strive for success. There are many resources provided to assist students in need of extra assistance.

    In three sentences

    Holy Family is a great University! Professors make sure that students know all materials being taught. Besides the fact that tuition here is very high, overall the University has many activities to have students involved.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always safe and you never have to worry about anything dangerous happening. The statistics for crime on campus is available on the Holy Family website, which there are virtually no incidents that take place. All students at Holy Family feel safe and comfortable on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an extensive list of clubs and activities to partake in at Holy Family. Too many to list!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to have the college experience, but not get lost in a large student body or attend lectures with 200 students. The classes are nice and small (around 25 students) and professors are available whenever you need help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not many unusual traditions that we have on campus at Holy Family.

    Bang for the buck

    Holy Family definitely gives you bang for your buck. The tuition is $25K a year, but with FAFSA and scholarships based on academic merit, you can attend for nearly nothing at all. It is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Holy Family, most students hang out in the campus center, where you can meet and socialize with other students, play pool, eat, or play a round on the Nintendo wii.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Holy Family is delicious. They have a wide variety of meals from freshly prepared pizza to specifically- prepared athletic regimen. They also have chefs available to make any food at your request.

    Dorm Life

    since I am a commuter, I have not personally experienced life at the dorms, but I hear that dorm life is awesome. Living on campus gives you a chance to experience all that the school has to offer at any time of the day, without having to worry about being home in time for dinner.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors at Holy Family University have a truly unique approach to education. They are very helpful and insightful. Most instructors have a custom lesson plan which allows you to experience each professor's unique teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep deadlines in mind. Whether its deadlines for FAFSA or the deadline for a scholarship, always try to remember them.

    In three sentences

    Small school that surrounds you with great people and helpful instructors. Positive atmosphere and many resources at students' disposal. Great place doe a genuine college experience.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's expensive

    What to do for fun

    Walk around outside of campus or join clubs to get involved

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive and not always the best

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    pretty good teachers. Most of my teachers will give you extra help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's very small and there's not much to do and the grading system is very tough

    In three sentences

    Holy Family has a small environment. The classes are also small to get a better grip of what you're learning. It's mostly a nursing and education major kind of university.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security can be found throughout the buildings and in the parking lots. There is also an emergency box in the parking lot for emergency situations.

    Great for these types of students

    Holy Family is a great university for students who prefer smaller classroom sizes, friendly people, and a great atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    The library is a great place to get your studies done, either alone or with friends. They have numerous computers, quiet zones, coffee/hot chocolate makers, plenty of seats, isolated rooms for study groups, and more.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends, go to the gym, and participate in the many activities the school has to offer!

    Food and Dining

    Food can be pricey but the cafe always has a variety of foods and seats to choose from. There are televisions, ping-pong tables, and billiards in there as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are always plenty of activities going on, as well as a free gym, in case you don't want to stay in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Prepare to do a lot of work because you will get plenty of it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best not to get behind on class material; it's hard to get back on track! Fellow students are always eager to make study groups, you might want to join one.

    In three sentences

    Holy Family provides a great learning atmosphere. The campus is very welcoming and the professors are extremely helpful. Although the programs can get very difficult, it's worth it in the long-run!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    READ.

    Food and Dining

    GOOD FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    I GIVE IT A FIVE STAR BUT I DON'T LIVE ON CAMPUS.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO YOUR WORK.

    In three sentences

    AWSOMEEEE!!!! COLLEGE!11 :)

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports and clubs are the top things to do for fun. There's also zumba classes and a fitness center. You can also go to games that Holy Family has.

    Food and Dining

    The Tiger Café is pretty cool. The food is very delicious. They have almost anything in there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and fun all around.

    Academic Rigor

    No class is insanely easy so putting in work in mandatory.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small campus with small class sizes, Holy Family is for you.

    In three sentences

    Holy Family University is a small university which makes it great to meet people. The class sizes are small which gives students a chance to talk with teachers one on one. It's a friendly school.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Holy Family takes the safety of their students very serious. They try their best to make everyone on campus feel safe and they have done a wonderful job at it. We have an emergency texting system where you can receive and send campus alerts. There is security at the front desk of each dorm 24/7. Holy Family provides a safe learning environment and makes sure their students and possessions are protected at all times.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at Holy Family is wonderful. The chefs supply a wide variety of foods from the salad bar, to hot food, and the grill. The chefs at Holy Family take the satisfaction of the students here very seriously. They offer comment cards for the us so that any suggestions or requests we have can be made.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful. I think all freshman's at Holy Family should dorm here. The Resident Advisors and current students are very welcoming. They make you feel comfortable as a college freshman and even host many dorm activities and games for the residents.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are expecting to be a future Holy Family tiger there are a few tips I would give you. First is to let someone know if your struggling in class. Don't be afraid to ask for help because Holy family is a small college. The teachers and students here are always willing to help. So your voice will be heard. My second tip is to stay focused. Try keeping an agenda with all you assignments listed and important dates because even the best of us get distracted. My last tip is to participate in activities. Holy Family has many activities during the week and even weekends. So stay active and meet new people because sometimes friends and a little fun is needed.

    In three sentences

    Holy Family University is a amazing college. The teachers, staff, and students here are like a family. If you like small class settings and caring teachers Holy Family is the college for you.