Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Holyoke Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for part time students. Also for students to get the general courses completed to transfer to a 4 year school to jump directly into the area of study that they desire.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for just about anything with a diverse population and learning styles variations deferring amongst professors.

    Bang for the buck

    The best is to take general courses at a community college then transfer to a university. That is the cheapest way to get the most for your money out of a community college but in general it isnt that expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    There isnt much to do other than go straight to class. There is the lunch area which is a bit small and usually crowded. There is also the student lounge which you will find students playing hackey sack skateboarding or just hanging out listening to the music.

    Am learning a lot

    What you learn here depends on what professor you have. There are some extravagant and amazing educators in this facility. For example a sociology class I had taken last semester was the best the teacher was so laid back but learned so much the things i learned in that class stuck with me. While others are more towards lectures and other such structured classes but in general you learn quite a bit for a community college.

  • 03/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HCC is great for students who do not know what to major in. The liberal arts program at HCC is a great start for any indecisive college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to tour the campus before your classes start. Also, parking can get pretty ridiculous so leave your house early to get a good spot.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is pretty affordable, financial aid helps though.

    Am enjoying being here

    HCC have great clubs to join and awesome events. Just recently the music majors had a Jazz concert for all to go. The environment is warm and friendly. I have made so many new friends from my classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great, every one I had were very helpful and taught well. I am a photography major and the photo professors are such special people, I am so happy I went to HCC first to learn from them. Every photography major there come out pros in the Dark Room when they leave.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police force. They keep everything on an even calm. They are not overbearing in presence, but you know they are there. I feel completely safe on campus day or night.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    HCC has clubs for everything you can think of. If they don't, you can start one. The facebook page is very helpful in any questions you may have. I found that most students were involved in more than just their classes. HCC is a way of living and learning.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is a great community college for those who want to get a foot into college but not sure if a 4 year degree is what they want. The Associates degree is a good start to any degree program for bigger colleges, and HCC tranfers credits to state colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a childcare center on campus for those that want to be close by their children. The library is pretty central to everything.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC is a comfort zone for me. There are so many different classes available. There are just so many ways to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Every Wednesday is student activity time at noon. There are plenty of things to get involved in. Clubs are popular and every week something different is going on to involve the students. Music is always playing in the activities area, and it is a very comfortable place to be.

    Food and Dining

    HCC has a great cafeteria and a vast selection of foods. They have a grill, a salad bar, Subway, and snacks. Coffee is a big seller also.

    Dorm Life

    HCC does not offer dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    If you show up to class and do your work, most things will just fall into place. Most professors give you an opportunity to get extra credit. They really care about how well you do, as long as you show effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep in contact with your professors. If you skip classes, you are missing out on a lot of information during class time that can not be made up. Be involved in your school and what it has to offer. Use all the opportunities available to you.

    In three sentences

    HCC gives you so many opportunities to succeed and learn. The diversity of students and teachers is overwhelming. I found that all the faculty were so helpful in all the questions and needs of the students.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police were always really polite and nice. the campus is close together so if anything ever happened (which none did while i was there), then help would be there in the minute. the whole campus was filled with mature parents or young people who had wizened up. no drinking problems whatsoever. there are no dorms so there wasn't any hazing incidents either. the side of town the college was in was pretty nice--urban, but well kept urban. it was near two or three elementary schools too.

    Greek Life

    no dorms

    Clubs and Activities

    anime club, radio club, soccer, softball, basketball, black/white, writing, and about 50 others you can find on their website. yet all the clubs happened at 12:00 on wednesday so you had to choose only one to stick with. there were always a bunch of raffles or sales the clubs would do in the hallways where you could get stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    i would see a lot of mothers in all my classes. they said they liked telling their children about their day at school. my teachers were really cool with having little kids come to class every now and then and everyone was really nice and polite to these little kids. there was also a nursery on campus. i also appreciated how much cheaper my college was compared to other 4 year universities. the transfer office also made sure to try and get people to those 4 year universities to continue people's education. they had a lot of really good tips about where to go after graduating from holyoke

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    holyoke mall is literally right down the road. i would pick my friend up from elms college (i'm the designated college acquaintance with a car) and we'd go to the mall. we wouldn't really buy anything but gumballs but it was fun to just walk around

    Bang for the buck

    i saved at least 20,000 dollars be going to this school for the first two years of college than if i went to another state university

    What to do for fun

    a ton of clubs, but all happen on wednesday so you can only pick one), they have a campus radio station with actually good non-overplayed-music

    Food and Dining

    they have a subway on campus which is nice but it doesn't accept subway points cards or gift cards. most of the food is healthy (including sushi!), but it was kinda expensive so i mostly just brought my lunch from home. the teachers let you eat in the classes too.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    most of my teachers had worked in top notch ivy league schools at siome point. they all knew what they were talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    relax. people are going to help you. just ask for it. and try out the writing center for help on essays. the tutors are really nice and everything is free too

    In three sentences

    the teachers all try to push the students to make sure they graduate no matter what: they offer extra help, they explain everything clearly, and they try to overlap subjects into everyday life so you can clearly see why it is important to learn the skills they teach, not just for getting enough credits to find a job

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for minorities.

    Tips for prospective students

    overall, it's mediocre.

    In three sentences

    the school could use updating/cleaning, security response time and noise control with regards to their radio station blasting in quiet study areas. most staff/personnel are nice and easy to work with: the math center is the best for helping you understand the work. biggest downfall: the micro slides and anatomy lab structures used (and tested on) are extremely outdated (made it very difficult to learn)

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Would like to see more of the officers then just patroling in their cars

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, cant say enough about online learning, they make it easy for anyone to be able to find time to further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    I am attending for my second degree and its only going to cost me about 15,000 grand total in tuition and fees for two years of full time study. My degree is going to put me in well paying position so i would say greal value here!

    Food and Dining

    Good selection for all, tasty things to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am entering in for September is very competitive, only 22 out of 250 applicants made it. The building classes and gen eds are wonderful and move at a manageable pace

    Tips for prospective students

    Always follow up on paperwork that has been submitted, I have had several things lost from my file and reappear later.

    In three sentences

    Has the best online learning program in the area. I loved the flexibility of taking classes on line and selection available for online learning is amazing! I also really liked the summer sessions classes I have taken.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    YUM!

    Dorm Life

    NO DORM

    Academic Rigor

    AWESOME!

    Tips for prospective students

    NEVER GIVE UP AND ALSO PUT FORTH YOUR BEST EFFORT.

    In three sentences

    i think Holyoke community college is a very affordable institute. it also offers numerous areas to study, and there is supportive staff to guide you in the right direction

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol regularly and they walk the campus along with the parking lots. Accidents often happen in the parking lots and the exits of the college. Drive carefully. Car break-ins are known to happen the later it gets.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at HCC. However the academically gifted individuals belong to Psi Beta Thai. They receive special scholarships even a chance for a full ride at new sister colleges in New England.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I previously mentioned there is a gay rights group, psychology group, and numerous groups for all majors. Including sports groups and academic groups.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is great for bilingual students, and continuing high-school education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every winter the tennis courts are opened up to provide additional parking lots to students. There is a gay pride group at HCC. Every year they have a coming out of the closet ceremony in the courtyard. They walk through a door and make a speech. Free STD testing comes to HCC provided by Tapestry Health. They also give away free condoms and lube. A guest speaker named Megan comes to HCC once a year. She is a sexologist and comes to talk to HCC about safe sex. She is very funny and give lots of freebies.

    Bang for the buck

    Food is cheap. Expenses such as tuition is reasonable compared to other schools. Always park in a parking space and get to school earlier than your class time. Parking is sparse and tickets start at a 15 dollar fine. Prior to gradation you must pay these or your account will be on hold and you will not be allowed to graduate. Make sure to check out scholarships at HCC. HCC gives numerous scholarships to students who attend there college. They do not advertise this. They do not give out scholarships for individuals moving on to new schools or going out of state.

    What to do for fun

    Every Wednesday there is an activity period. In which there are dance classes, guest speakers, ceremonies, open houses, and give-aways. They are entertaining and fun if you take part in. There are several sports teams. These are a great way to make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Recently a Subway has open up at the cafeteria. The prices are low. There is one other food lobby that sells various kinds of food. Such as sandwiches, salads, and fruit. Also a new coffee shop has opened up in the C-building. They always offer free samples. The food is good to decent quality.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at HCC. However they do offer a daycare program. I do not have personal experience at the day care center however I have heard that it is expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigorous life of an academic at HCC! I suggest staying on top of required or recommended reading, and taking notes in class. Several mini papers are due in each class or a research paper is due at the end of the semester in some classes. You will have three or four test in each class a semester. As long as you are keeping up with your reading and note taking the test will not be hard. The classes are much like high-school classes. Make friends with your professor and students in your classroom. Students can help you with missed notes and professors that like you are more lenient with you. You can get all A's at HCC but you need to study the classes are not overly difficult or hard. Simply just showing up to class can help and being involved in class. I suggest not taking philosophy and mythology courses at HCC. Only a couple of professors teach these classes. All are rigorous and a lot of work. Also if your point of view differs from these professors you will have a hard time passing the class. Professors not to take classes by include: Rod Dube and George Ryan. These are nice but difficult professors. They are not lenient and the workload is difficult and rigorous. And they themselves are difficult people. Professors that are great: Terri Kinstle, Patricia Bonneau, Larry Levitt, and Jane Vecchio. I suggest all students take the Human Sexuality course at HCC it is amazing, informative, and fun. I have never enjoyed going to class so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I suggest talking in-depth about your career choices to all teachers you encounter at HCC. Each advisor or professor will tell you how they started their route to their career, making a career choice, what route they think is the best to take, and what jobs are the best. It is important to talk to numerous people about career options because all will give you different answers. In these different answers who will find the best choice for you. It maybe confusing, frustrating, and difficult at the time so research yourself will be helpful. If you do not ask, the professors will not just talk about jobs in the field your studying or career options. You will have an education at graduation but lack knowledge of furthering your education. It is important that you YOURSELF stay on top of the classes your taking, required classes, fulfillment of degree and graduation,course credits, overall credits needed to graduate and financial aid. The advising center is NOT helpful unless you know all the above listed. They do there job which is to put you in classes. They will not be further help to you. You may get put into classes you do not want or need or extra classes adding to your workload. It is important that you have knowledge and are not afraid to speak up and say NO to taking a class. This is your education and its your choice as to what classes you would like to take. At the end of your education at HCC you might have had around 6 different advisers. It gets frustrating. This is why you need to stay on top of your class requirements. Personally I learned the hard way. It is a plus to be bilingual at HCC. Most of the professors are not, however the financial aid, advising center, and transfer departments at HCC only hire bilingual employees. If you are bilingual you will be treated nicer and be provided with more help than non-bilingual individuals. This is not meant to be a derogatory statement but knowledge that you will gain and experience first hand. If you do not possess this skill you will be making several trips back and forth to departments to get done what you need to.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College (HCC), I assume like a lot of colleges has great teachers and some teachers with not so great teaching methods. The classrooms are small and the workload for a Psychology Major is not too much. Class room rules are similar to High-School. No food or drinks. No talking and being late for class. I know ridiculous but all classes are 50 minutes or 1 hr and 15 minutes. Not to bad.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have alot of activities going on. wednesday from 11 to 1 is acivity period and a lot of cool things can be done.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is good. we have a subway on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    this is a 2 year community college so we dont have any dorms but the campus over all is a welcoming place.

    Academic Rigor

    the staff here at hcc demad alot of their students. it's not impossible to do though. you will get what you need to know for your career plans in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. register for classes early to get the best times.

    In three sentences

    holyoke community college is a good place to start of your college education. the staff are dedicated to ensuring that the students get the best out hcc. the vibe in hcc is friendly.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never personally had a problem, but I have occasionally heard of cars being broken into. Which can happen anywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student who wants their teacher to know their name, not just think of them as a number.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria actually has great healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and I've had many great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule an appointment with an advisor as soon as you can. They will help guide you to plan your future. Choose your classes carefully and don't be afraid to take an art class!

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College has a friendly and supportive environment. I graduated from HCC in 2005 and now am returning for the R.N. program. I wouldn't have chosen any where else!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have seen anything bad happen. No complaints.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to be apart of and you can also make your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, business, and criminal justice students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zumba class outside in the court yard.

    Bang for the buck

    The money is worth the education. I feel like I've learning a lot for not that much.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there is an activity going on around campus. Always try to attend and become involved. They are actually kind of fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay they have a variety of food. Subway, Mexican food, and also grilled food such as breakfast in the morning like pancakes, french toast, omelets and for lunch you got burgers and fries.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at HCC

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are a challenge but others are a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to arrive on time for all your classes. Try to attend all classes, attendance is important. Always ask for help if you need or or use the CAPS center for help. Don't procrastinate because HCC is there to help you not hurt you.

    In three sentences

    Great school for transfer students who are looking for a cheaper way to get a great education. Students and faculty are very friendly and the campus is easy to get around. But, parking is a hassle.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education without a great wipe out of your walllet

    Food and Dining

    Haven't actually eaten there, but it smells good :)

    Academic Rigor

    Just challenging enough to help you be challenged and successful, without overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stop in on a school day and you will see how wonderful the campus is on any given day.

    In three sentences

    Is a great college for nontraditional students! The faculty and staff go out of their way to help you be successful. Every student has a face, name and story.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a Club activity for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, Academic, Sport oriented Students.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest colleges around Western Mass.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out at the cafeteria or by the Student Activities building where other students frequently play different games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive Early for Parking. Make sure you always know which building your class is.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a very quiet, tidy and excellent community College. I love the Professors and Faculty. I also love the way the building layout is set up.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great value. If I could go back to the last year of high school I would recommend highly for individuals to consider going to a community college first before going to a four year college, if cost is an issue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to look into. Plenty of degree opportunities. There are also opportunities for those looking to ease into the college experience.

    In three sentences

    Overall, excellent experience that can be had at this college. If time management is an issue due to work or family, they have the class for you. Trying doesn't hurt anyone.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The free gym to students is where I spend my free time.

    Food and Dining

    There is food for everyone-even vegans.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms? There is none here. Easy to get to from near-by towns.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers I have had so far are really here for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. No one bites here.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College Staff is very helpful when you need it. It really is the place to start for the simple fact that you have so many options here. Everyone is treated like family.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Campus police all over campus, watching out for everyone's safety. I have not heard of anything going wrong at Holyoke Community College with safety. On their last report, there had been no known acts of violence or any safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated earlier, it seems as if there are an infinite amount of clubs. Anything that you can think of, it's probably there. This is a great way to make new friends.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for anyone Looking to start your education for much less money. It's very smart to start out here because of how well they prepare you for the real world and/or the next school you attend.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many things that are available to all students that is included with tuition. There are support groups, study groups, private tutors, etc. Everything is top notch here, and everyone will find that every penny that they paid was worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There seems to be an infinite amount of clubs at Holyoke Community College. you will be able to find friends through clubs of whatever interest you have, and spend time learning, talking about, and applying what you're interested in. If a workout is what you do for fun, all Holyoke Community College students can go to the Athletics Center for free!

    Food and Dining

    Their dining area features a Subway and a Grille works restaurant. The quality of the food is great, and is inexpensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, with all school work, it's slightly difficult, but since you will be doing what you want to do, it won't even seem like work. However, I did rate it 3 stars because a math class is a math class, and an English class is an English class, and those are generally slightly difficult classes by nature, but it will be nothing new to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend this college, there really are no real tips. Of course, I could say that you should stay on top of your work to make sure you graduate, but I know that the professors will make you WANT to do your work, and guide you to wanting to further yourself with your interest. If anything, I could say that you should be proactive about your college payment. It can be stressful if you don't look at the bill until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community college is a fantastic college. The professors are amazing, and are very passionate about their job. They know how to help you succeed in what you want to do.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student activities from interest clubs to special events like flash fiction contests and costume contests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but a little pricey

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    It preps you for your next step in a four year instition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you understand what documents are required for your application and Financial Aid. The earlier everything is in the smoother things go.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College was a warm and welcoming school that cares about student goals. It is a school that promotes and encourges creativity. All the Offices from Admissions to Advisors were really accessible.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend the activity periods every week, mingle with new people

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every service available that relates to you, your major, and your struggles

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College is a good school to attend because of all the services and help offered to students from beginning to end. No one is denied an education. The advisors help find any and every solution to school related struggles and make you feel comfortable.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a wide variety of student clubs to get involved in, and Student Activities is constantly planning events outside of club plans.

    Food and Dining

    As a community college where many students are coming and going throughout the day, the cafeteria and other foods spots around campus provide ample variety.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to be open-minded about new possibilities. Having a plan is great for some. If you are not sure where you see your end result, embrace it as an opportunity to discover your passions.

    In three sentences

    There are great opportunities for involvement. There is a wide variety of programs. The opportunity to easily move on to local 4 year colleges is exciting.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's a small school so i feel safe and besides the security there are state troopers.

    Greek Life

    not smart enough

    Clubs and Activities

    i plan to get involve with the photography club because that will be my second major.

    Great for these types of students

    it gets too loud for me when i'm trying to study. people can so dumb with the way they speak, i mean aren't they in college and shouldn't they speak with more class?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it gets real serious around crunch time during exams, no one talks to no one.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a great school to get all your required classes you will need in order to get to a bigger unversity.

    What to do for fun

    i like to go to starbucks and out to eat with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good, especially the salads.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    study, study, study, the minute you get your homework start it because you easily can get left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    always use your student email, that is where our professors sends us notes and assignments to, never use your own email they will never respond to them.

    In three sentences

    good professors and very ubderstaning to our needs they're there to help so we won't fail and the advisors are there to help us meet our goals

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to talk, text, and skyp my friends.

    Dorm Life

    HCC is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent. They help you if you need it. The classes are challenging so you have to stay up on the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good school. The campus is small so you won't get lost. I think that you will like Holyoke Community College.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a good school. There are lots of people to help me make the right decisions based on my interests. I think that I will be successful at HCC.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Satisfactory

    Dorm Life

    Commuter

    Academic Rigor

    I took very challenging courses with some of the best professors at this institution because I am a serious student. It was wonderful to surround myself with other like-minded students. I have formed bonds with some of them that continue outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your professors. They understand the college experience and are there to support you when you need help.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College offers a great education at an affordable price. The educators there are world class and you cannot beat the diversity of the student body. As a non-traditional student, the advising services were there every step of the way to support me at times when I became overwhelmed.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is decent. There on top of some issues but there some things where they could do a lot better. Got my laptop stolen in a area where cameras should be.

    Clubs and Activities

    Played soccer at the school, had a great time playing for the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great for the price for college.

    What to do for fun

    Many sports teams to hop on and play. Many clubs and a free weight room for students and alumni.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, there is a subway on campus. Very expensive however.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of good teachers, very helpful and a great way to start to bachelors.

    In three sentences

    The school is very good for a community college. Teachers are very good. Diverse community helps in the classroom. Great way to save some money for a 4 year college.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue. They always issue warnings for weather or any other hazards one could experience driving to or on campus with their email/text alert service.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide assortment of clubs on campus as well as campus sports teams and drama club.

    Great for these types of students

    Had a rough high school career. Want to a make a turn around to make your academic career look brighter then try your hand at Holyoke Community College because they'll work with you to obtain the education you want.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college, absolutely. I've had to pay my way thus far and I'm debt free and full of ambition and knowledge for my transfer school prospects.

    What to do for fun

    Hang outside the lounge and listen to the college radio station. Every Wednesday there's activity period which usually has something different to change things up week to week.

    Food and Dining

    There's a great Mexican food stand that got me through countless between class food runs. Subway built in the cafe. Homemade sandwiches look dicey but fresh coffee and bakery.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load varies from major to major but it is still just as engaging as you let it. You'll encounter your fair share of teachers who expect you to study and do each assignment with flair, but hey, isn't that why we're in college?

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and do the work and let the teacher do their thing because they can if you let them. Engage yourself in the material, ask to do more with your class's subject matter. You can make the good grades if you try, many of the teachers at HCC reward hard work.

    In three sentences

    In my now 3 year attendance at Holyoke Community college, I have felt both supported and welcomed. For a community college they have a very engaged staff always ready to help a student who wants to go above and beyond the classroom. HCC is a campus for student's like me who needed a good first step down the road to success.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking to save money on loans. Unsure of what career path to follow. Not ready to leave home.

    Bang for the buck

    Great low price, for great quality education

    What to do for fun

    An array of clubs and student run organizations to join. Weekly activity periods to help students become involved around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Very limited variety, but the food is still tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Non- Applicable

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with a plan. If you are unsure of what you would like to pursue as a career, research, browse different websites, and ask for help.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a very diverse school, in aspects of cultures, educational courses, and in the interests of the student body as a whole.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Not much but the student lounge is a great place to hang and talk to students. But if you like nature walks there are great trails behind the college.

    Food and Dining

    General Cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but easy to get to.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll have hard classes you'll have fairly easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and this college is perfect.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere. The teachers are good, the welcome center is very helpful, and the fellow students are friendly.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join and students have the opportunity to create their own clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and they are updating their food choices

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to miss any classes and take time to study.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College is a great way to being someones education. As a two year college they are invested in their students and push them to succeed. They give students to tools to continue on to four year colleges.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to advance themselves, be it just out of high school, or someone looking to change their career

    Bang for the buck

    It's an inexpensive school, and gives you a great education

    What to do for fun

    HCC has a lot of sports teams and clubs. Not to mention the area the campus is located; Western Massachusetts is a beautiful area, with the scenery, and a lot to do - inside or out, depending on your mood and the time of year.

    Food and Dining

    There are several great places to eat on campus, from ready to eat food, to Subway and Mexican.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself. Be real, and the rest will follow. College isn't about starting over, it's about figuring out who you are, and expanding on that person.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a great jumpstart to the future. It is a fun, friendly community, with teachers who care and want you to succeed. HCC helped prepare me for my chosen degree.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe in my time here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There was always student art placed around campus which I always stopped to admire. You might see some dogs running around a fenced in area on your walk into school from the Vet Tech program.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer good financial aid and you get every penny out of what you pay for. Only negative I can say is if you can find your textbooks online- avoid the bookstore. Although sometimes I just went to my classes and got out of there- I often took advantage of what the school had to offer. I utilized the library-quiet and free printing. I went to my advisor whenever I had questions/ to make sure I was on track for graduation. I spoke to a counselor when I was dealing with some overwhelming personal issues. I listened to the school DJ while enjoying the school's courtyard on my breaks.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a sports team, an array of clubs to choose from, as well as activity hour every Wednesday. There are also movie nights, concerts, bus trips, etc to watch out for.

    Food and Dining

    I thought the dining hall was great for a Community College. It offered an array of options and the campus also had little cafes in 2 buildings. Check them out-great beverage choices!

    Dorm Life

    Community College- no housing

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some wonderful and intelligent professor's here that had high expectations-some too high but most me a lot. I've also had a few lenient teachers that really understood the demands of their students' everyday lives and focused more on the students' success in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with your advisor immediately and stay in touch. This really helps you stay on track and feel at ease and confident in the direction you are going. If you are struggling- take advantage of the library, tutoring center, writing center, etc. Explore the clubs. Use ratemyprofessor.com when picking classes-do priority registration!

    In three sentences

    HCC is entirely what the individual makes of it. It has a mix of entertainment and scholastics. It offers an abundance of resources to fit its diverse students' needs.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think they do a pretty good job at keeping their students safe. They have campus police and they watch over the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any activities but from what I hear they are awsome.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people that are not sure what they would like to do and good for a student that may not have done great in High School.

    Bang for the buck

    I am going to HCC because I do not want a huge mount of debt it is the smartest life choice you will make if you choose HCC.

    What to do for fun

    HCC has many clubs and sports that all students are invited to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat and I have never had a problem with their food. THEY HAVE SUBWAY! :)

    Dorm Life

    HCC is a community college, therefore, there are no dorms there.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is diverse it does not seem very difficult for me personally. That could be because I know how to study but I do not think that the classes are rigorous enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not know what you would like to do or do not want huge debt HCC is definately the place to to. Not only will you find what you like to do but you will succeed there.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College is great for students that do not know what they would like to do. The career center really helped me to discover what I am interested in and what I have strengths in. Since HCC is so diverse it really developes your skills in thinking from many perspectives.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Precautions and changes have been made since last semester so the campus can be much safer.There might be more done as well as the year goes on. Everything's very close and there are officers on campus so I do feel safe there.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before, a variety of clubs that you can join and if you want to start one, you can!!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who needs a starting platform for college, who wants a quality education, and wants to explore and find themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs you can join on campus and if you have an idea for one, just get a faculty member and up to ten people involved and you're set! There are also free events and many workshops on many topics you could be interested in along with guest speakers that come to talk with students. Every fall semester they have a BBQ to welcome the new school year and a Spring Fling at the end of the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is SO MUCH. In the forum on campus they have a booth where you can get coffee and sweets :D and the cafeteria has many foods you can choose from, desserts included!!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, your class experience may be life changing and amazing, or a complete waste of your time. The classes I have had so far have been very interesting and I have taken something out of each experience. The professors have been great and helpful and if they see you care and trying, they'll take that into consideration and be there when you have questions or need advice. It helps bring down your stress levels and make you feel more at ease.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and ask questions. Communication is key with your professors and really makes a huge difference. Make friends! There is a diverse background on campus with Veterans, just out of high school, and those returning to college. Have fun! Take advantage of free workshops and guest speaker appearances! You will have people who don't care. Don't focus on them. Focus on YOU and you will go far :) Use ratemyprofessor.com for your professors to see how they are BEFORE you take the course.

    In three sentences

    If you need to save money, this is a great place to start off your future. If you want an education that is worth it and won't waste your time, go here and have your mind opened and many opportunities at your fingertips. Everyone starts somewhere, and sometimes a community college is the best way to go.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working Students, Parents who do not have a degree and have children, Students whose parents are poor.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty expensive here.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter college. It is hard to get on buses to get here to campus depending on where you live

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors can be here to help you. Others may not be available to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever you come into this college, you have to figure out for yourself how to use the services that are currently available on campus. I would stay away from some people here depending on who you trying to speak to as they can get pretty rude here sometimes and you might not want to get near them.

    In three sentences

    The college can be okay in some ways. Some staff including professors, advisors, and others currently working at this college may help you. Others may not help you very much.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    excellent prices

    In three sentences

    Affordable education for this mom heading back to school. Thank you to my husband for the inspiration and encouragement to follow my dream.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police on the job 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great amount of variety in clubs and sports and other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! Anyone is welcome! It's a community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have performance hour, so anyone can perform a talent, once a month on a Wednesday. We have a time on Wednesdays called activity period.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs available! If you need something to do, you will always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. There are many varieties, and the price is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but there are teachers there to help you at any time you need it. There is even a 24/7 tutoring program purchased by the school for all students as well as a tutoring center in school. Or meeting with your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a very good way to start your college life. It is like another home! You will like it.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome and welcoming, feels like a four year college. The professors are nice and helpful, as well as any other staff. There are many activities and clubs for all the students.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was a little expensive and wasn't the best tasting. Not the healthiest food here either.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were a little difficult, but a majority of the teachers were good at explaining the material needed to learn. Some teachers were better than others, but for the most part, the college was decent.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If anything of major concern happens, the campus will close and all of the students can keep updated on the college's status on their Facebook page. It is very helpful.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Holyoke Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs such as: writing, anime, photography, theater, wildlife society, yoga, cycling & computer Information There are even some clubs for students with certain educational interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money or want to live at home for a bit longer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the music building, students often play instruments and hang out in the halls between classes. They call it the bin.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is average in many aspects but it will allow you to get a great start to your education without taking on much debt, if any at all. Start here and transfer later.

    What to do for fun

    Unless you join a club there is nothing to do on campus but there are plenty of restaurants around and a local mall.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines and a small store to get prepared breakfasts and lunches. Not bad at all and these are a great alternative to picking up fast food before or after class.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Holyoke Community College

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of courses here that are very easy, as expected from a community college. However, try to talk to other students about their professors if you can. There are a handful of professors who make their classes more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! Classes fill up fast. Same with books, get them early, the stock at the campus bookstore always seems to run out. Lastly, use the campus library to study instead of getting distracted at home.

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community College is affordable. It is a great place to start right after high school or as a returning adult student. The staff is very helpful as a whole.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I havent started school so i wouldnt know

    Greek Life

    I havent started school so i wouldnt know

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent started school so i wouldnt know

    Great for these types of students

    I havent started school so i wouldnt know

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I havent started school so i wouldnt know

    What to do for fun

    check out the various sports teams, and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to register. Just go to the frost building and they can direct you to everyone you need to meet.

    In three sentences

    The staff that work at HCC are very nice and helpful. Everyone i have met with so far has shown a keen interest in setting me up for success. I cant wait to start college here and begin a career.

  • 10/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's good cause its cheap education to get those core classes out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    Leave

    Food and Dining

    Is there even dining? I'm an online student so I'm not even sure if there is anywhere to eat.. I'd assume there's something though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    I only take online classes. One class we have an essay, test and small post a week. In my other class it varies. Usually an essay, small post and another assignment or two. Nothing is ridiculously hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect much, and don't expect a wonderful time. The classes (mine are online) aren't impossible, so it's ok. Some of the people that actually go to the campus though are interesting...

    In three sentences

    Holyoke Community gets the job done as a 2 year school if you're planning to transfer to a four year. The campus is ok, definitely nothing special. The education itself its ok too, nothing special.