Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Honolulu Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is often seen on campus, and they do their job well enough that i have not had a problem on campus or seen one escalate to a full lock-down. people often get mad at them because they give out a lot of parking tickets.

    Clubs and Activities

    club and activities are seen everywhere around campus at certain times of the year, and there is one almost every week. however, due to the nature of the campus, it doesn't feel as interpersonal as it could be.

    Great for these types of students

    recently graduated students who dont know what to major in, but want to get their liberals out of the way. do decide when you are there though!

    Bang for the buck

    you get transferable credits here, but it depends on what class you take and from who. taking the class from an easy professor wont help you prepare for a 4-year university unless you put lots of time into self study.

    What to do for fun

    go to the student lounge. people there usually are passing the time playing video games or watching a movie on the tv. if video games aren't your thing, there are lots of student clubs and organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is good, but for better and cheaper food, there are better places off campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    hcc can be difficult at times, but is not quite up to the intensity of other universities on the mainland.

    Tips for prospective students

    its faculty range in teaching ability, so its best to ask around or check review sites to assess whether to take a class or not. the student lounge is a great way to pass time between classes for commuter students. if you are hungry hcc has a great cafeteria, and there are many other fine eateries in the area.

    In three sentences

    hcc is a great starting place if you don't know what you want to do with your college career out of high school. its faculty range in teaching ability, and i have had bad experiences in trying to ask for information on campus. hcc is also a great campus if you are looking to get a trade degree.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have 24 hour security here on campus that help to protect us and keep us safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi thetta kappa, hui oiwi, triosss, student life, makawalu, and many many more.

    Great for these types of students

    if you love to study we have lots of quiet areas on campus. if you love to eat, we have great food all over on campus. if you love to talk stories, we have wonderful student activity and interaction rooms on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a portion of the burlin wall located on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    hcc campus has good family games and contests year round for students.

    What to do for fun

    surf, bike, hike, dance, fish, sky dive, wave board, and skate.

    Food and Dining

    cafe food is great and we have awesome restaurants surrounding the perimeters of our campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    i highly encourage all incoming students to take advantage of our first year experience program upon entering hcc.

    In three sentences

    hcc is the #1 college to be. everyone is so welcoming and we're just like family. we have the best staff and faculty members on campus that love us and help us to become great achievers in our careers.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are having financial problems in paying for college. Great for students who save a lot of money for their first two years of college. Then enroll into a university to complete a bachelors.

    Will enjoy being here

    Because they have programs which include the classes I will take in order to join the programs.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never an incident since I have been hear, nor have I heard anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society

    Clubs and Activities

    MELE (Music & Entertainment Learning Expereince) Club, Debate Team

    Great for these types of students

    That want to get work done. Library and computer lab at your disposal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a piece of the Berlin Wall on the side of campus. One of the most unknown gems in Oahu.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy books back from students and not the book store. Put up fliers showing you are interested in buy book A & B.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach!

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is really lacking variety and good healthy food. Subway, Costco, McDonalds and more are just around the corer.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers enjoy their classes and students. Very passionate about their fields and more than willing to help students during and outside of class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your deadlines, be proactive in getting the information you need to register. Talk to your teachers in the program you are interested in. Everything is all on you!

    In three sentences

    Great campus and students. Pleanty activities outside of class and amazing Music Business program.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is fair. We have security guards always driving around. However, our school is out in the open in the middle of a city. Anyone could walk into campus armed or drugged. So far, I have not encountered any dangerous situations.

    Greek Life

    None unless you make one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball, basketball, flag football, fashion shows, auctions, out of state competitions, state competitions, pumpkin carving, food and toy drives, donating blood, halloween costume contests, robotics club, computer-drafting club, fashion club, cosmetology services.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy-going, relaxed, and open minded. Undeclared majors is a definite. Best school for welding, computer science, construction, electrical installation, fashion technology, cosmetology, computer drafting, and carpentry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual and most entertaining location on campus is the student lounge. Students encounter different personalities and make new friends. Students hook up their own game system and play video games with others or watch movies from their laptops.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable! As long as you have a part-time job, working parents, or financial aid, this college is bang for the buck. Students have the choice to eat on or off campus, purchase books in the bookstore or anywhere else, and classes are easy to sign-up for.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes, students like to hang out in the student lounge, library, or cafeteria. Basically anywhere on or off campus! We have this thing called Student Life where our student government creates activities for students like interdisciplinary sports, holiday activities, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The best time to dine is breakfast. Our local breakfasts are affordable and very edible. Our way of dining is like going to a Korean BBQ. Students choose a plate for breakfast or lunch and make side order choices.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take prerequisites at my college because it offers many classes that can transfer to a university. This is good for students who have not declared a major yet.

    In three sentences

    Out of 10, I would give my college a 7. I give my college a 7 because after earning a degree, students are ready to go into their chosen technical career. My college provides good education for technical careers like computer science, welding, and fashion technology.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not seen one severe safety issue (murder, rape, stealing, etc) on campus, but there are some people who break the rules (such as smoking). Overall, Honolulu Community College is a safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activties are extremely limited at HCC. I would give it a higher rating, but I believe a one star rating is fair.

    Great for these types of students

    Honolulu Community College is great for students who are looking to save money (looking to earn their bachelors degree after completing their associates degree) and for students who want to learn a trade (automotive, carpentry, etc).

    Bang for the buck

    Overall this school gets the job done at a decent price. Is this school worth the $? In my opinion it is because it is much cheaper than attending one of the universities (UH Manoa, UH West Oahu, etc).

    What to do for fun

    At Honolulu Community College their are very few clubs and organizations. With that in mind there is nothing much to do on campus. You could go to the student lounge, but you would be better off if you just go out to the mall or the beach.

    Food and Dining

    At Honolulu Community College the food and dining is okay at best. I have eaten in the cafeteria on a few occasions and I am sad to say, but the food is just okay. You would be served more justice if you walk a block or two and eat somewhere near campus.

    Dorm Life

    At Honolulu Community College there is no dorms. Therefor this section cannot be rated.

    Academic Rigor

    This subject will differ from person to person. However, in my opinion I believe this school is neither difficult or easy. I think the classes are moderately difficult, but that also depends on your instructor and class (for example, college algebra is easier than calculus 4).

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip is to never skip class. My second tip is to always do your homework. My last tip is to not be afraid to see your teachers doing their office hours.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Honolulu Community college (HCC) is just another ordinary college. It is not flashy, nor is it fun. However, it gets the job done; it has a multitude of programs to choose from and it's a good place to start your college career.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe Campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, and very active!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has a lot of different items to choose from!

    Academic Rigor

    Work is not too hard but not too easy. Workload is a nice amount. Very managable

    In three sentences

    Greta place to get started on your college credits, especially if you're not too sure what you would like to major in.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and on it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of cool clubs to check out.

    Great for these types of students

    People seeking cosmetology and computer networking degrees.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some great food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set at a good pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make up your mind to attend and stick to it! Also, seek help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school for computer networking. Fun, friendly atmosphere. Teaches are caring and always willing to help.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Choke things to do for fun, Surfing or diving, looking at the moutains, going for hikes.

    Food and Dining

    Not to sure about the food yet cause i'm not there but very excited to eat some fish.

    Dorm Life

    They don't offer dorms but you can stay in apartments and watch the ocean

    Academic Rigor

    Heard the automotive class was once best in the nation

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early and get your mind on track finish with a good degree.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is going to be a great experience. Cant wait to start early January. So far i heard its a good place to get your mind set and figure out what you want to do in life.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Honolulu Community College is a learning environment. One can meet students from different backgrounds and learn so much more beyond academics.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can meet others who enjoy singing and playing music on their instruments. It's mainly guitars, but I'm sure people are open to sharing and meeting others of the same interest.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has food made daily, with specials, snacks, and drinks. The bookstore also carries water and noodles.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses, and great instructor's. If you have the desire and the drive to learn, success is definitely possible through this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever hesitate to ask for help or directions. Of course, be mindful of your belongings, and be aware or your surroundings. There are many teachers, and tutors who have patience to teach others a subject or problem. The students are welcoming and can be very helpful at times.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus with a lounge, cafeteria, parking for mopeds, motorcycles, and cars. The faculty and staff are dedicated to making you feel welcome and equal. There are lots of resources--financial or educational to help you succeed now and in the future.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out in the student lounge. shop around in the book store. lounge around outside of the benches or grass. read books in the library. catch up on work in the computer labs. grab a bite to eat in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome! and prices are reasonable. I'm just glad their are food and drink spots ON CAMPUS.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life but their are places you can rent out to live near the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Great! Each class has been a challenge but I know I'm learning a lot from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for all the classes you want early! Pay for your classes on time to ensure your seat in the class room! Take class time seriously!

    In three sentences

    Honolulu community college offers more than meets the eye. HCC offers nothing but the best. HCC proves that community colleges are just as good as universities!

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security. I don't know what they do other than walk around. I see them on campus and in the parking structures.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots. I don't participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults looking to advance their career. Students with a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Price is alright, but if you have an opportunity for free money you should take it.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, crafts, read.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't used the cafeteria. The student lounges, and snack shops are good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers assign a lot of assignments. Most teachers want you to succeed and will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Attend classes. Take advantage of any opportunities.

    In three sentences

    The campus is average. The faculty is very helpful. The course selections are good.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    homeless people wander around the campus every once and a while, but the school employs a number of security guards.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a piece of the Berlin wall and rubble from the twin towers on campus as a fairly large memorial site. we also have a native Hawaiian plants garden.

    What to do for fun

    chill in the student lounge. there are lots of clubs and the student life and development set up all kinds of fun activities throughout the semester

    Dorm Life

    its a community college, there is no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around campus who the best teachers are. Go off campus to get lunch.

    In three sentences

    HCC is fun, relaxed and welcoming. Some of the teachers are bad at teaching, but know their subject, some teachers find it hard to adjust to different learning styles, and some are fantastic. the people who are working and attending here, want to be here.