Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hood College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a wonderful place for stundents who need their professors to be attentive to them and work better in a smaller enviroment

    Tips for prospective students

    So far i can tell that everyone is all about their education and that respect is a big thing at the school.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a smaller class size, hands on experience, and a small campus near major cities, then it is a great place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit! At first I was worried, because no one really knows about it. But it really is a hidden treasure.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition seems really expensive, but the finacial aid office is great. There are plenty of big scholarships, and they'll bring the price down below your EFC by at least a few thousand.

    Will enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus!

    Will learn a lot

    The classes are smaller, so I feel like students have a better relationship with their professors.

  • 09/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here, take yoga! It's a great break between classes, and you get gym credit for it. Its relaxing and the teacher couldn't be more positive and peaceful. Another tip-- don't be shy! Just try being outgoing and see what happens.

    Am enjoying being here

    Hood really has something for everyone. My advice is, come check it out and think of how you can make it work for you. We may be small, but our small campus gives the feel of it being a bit bigger. I'm a freshman, and the first few day I was here, I thought everyone was being cheesy just to be welcoming for the new students. Weeks have gone by, and I've discovered that people here really are genuinely nice. I was worried that there would be nothing to do here, but there is tons. Downtown is beautiful, the mountains can be seen from most of the buildings, and you're just a short drive from Baltimore and D.C., where friends of mine go to concerts often. The professors are great. I like to think that they're so nice because they live in such a pleasant area. Also, we are very, very diverse. There are a good amount of international students, and French and Spanish houses. To my surprise, you can find students from all over the country.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not get bored easily. People who do not care about learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a large, urban college, Hood is not for you.If academics are not big for you, this is the place to go!

    Bang for the buck

    They'll give you a full scholarship just to lure you into going here because there is nothing else going for this school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful, and surrounding town are beautiful, but there is no a lot to do and the people are not as friendly as advertised.

    Am learning a lot

    At first all the classes seem to be great, but after being here for a while I've yet to learn anything.

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit, attend the different Prospective students days and sit in on a class. It really helps.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition seems really expensive, but there are a lot of grants and scholarships that help out and financial aid will really help to lower your expenses to a much lower price.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a small campus, which I'm used to (I graduated with 20 other kids that I'd been with since 1st grade) and everyone is cheerful and friendly. You get the sense that its a big family and its great.

    Am learning a lot

    There's a great science curriculum here and I have learned so much in the bio and chem courses I've taken. The teachers are wonderful and will go out of their way to help!

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is the best. There have been very few incidents, but they havve all been handled quickly and efficiently. they are really there to look out for us and not to get us in trouble. If you ever feel uncomfortable they will come pick you up from anywhere day or night.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek life on campus, but you can still join local chapters. We do have Greek honor societies on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus I can't even name them all. There are a few education clubs and quite a few service organizations. There are over 60 clubs on campus for it to be so small.

    Great for these types of students

    Hood is a great school for students who like having one on one time with their professors. It is a great place to make friends if you have ever had trouble making friends. You will get to know everyone that lives on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hood Hello is probably the buggets tradition, where you somehow say Hello to everyone you pass on campus whether it be a nod or hey or high five. The most fun tradition is policies for dollars where all the freshmen from each dorm compete to win a pink spoon. One of the best locations on campus is the Pergola it is right in the center of campus and when you walk through it the tradtiion is to not split the poles. ANother cool new place is the Coblentz underground, which is our gameroom that has every videogame system, it is a great place to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is really exceptional and the professors are very helpful and understanding. As for meal plans they are so close in price always go for the unlimited, you never know when you might get hungry. The book store is really expensive, but they have sales often so watch for them. Also there are a lot of discounts we get as students like at taco bell, pizza hut, maggie moo's, discounted movie tickets and lazer tag. There are also a lot of free trips offered to DC baltimore and other surrounding areas. Also, very chep trips all the way to New York.

    What to do for fun

    The school is very close to downtown, it is just a five minute walk. There are so many shops to look at and visit. There are lots of restaurants. There is also a bowling alley withing walking distance. There is an ice skating rink and zumba class nearby. We just put in a new gym and we have an indoor pool. We will soon be adding tennis courts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, especially around holidays. Our dining staff is great. They make a lot of ethnic foods so there is always something to try, but they also have traditional options for picky eaters. They also offer a lot of vegetarian and vegan options. There is something to fit every one's diet.

    Dorm Life

    The people that live in your dorm really become your family. The dorms are open 24 hours so you can come and go as you please. Also guests can come at anytime and all you have to do for a guest, even an overnight guest is sign them in when they get there. The rules aren't too strict and you vote on the rules that fit you best. Quiet hours are meant to protect everyone!

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't find my first year classes to be very challenging, but a lot of my friends and others that live in my dorm did have some trouble. The key to success is to stay organized and know when your assignments are due. Also, have good communication with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to Hood apply yourself and get good grades. Hood gives a lot to their honors students. If you want to come to Hood there is a way. Don't let money stand in your way. The best way to get scholarships at Hood is to have good grades.

    In three sentences

    Hood is a place that you can really call home. It has a very welcoming atmosphere and everyone is very encouraging. All the faculty is very approachable and helpful from the professors, all the way up to the Dean and the President.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they just put up a bunch of emergency stations over campus, and campus security is willing to walk/ drive you if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot, but many are very unorganized and meet at weird times that many can't attend the meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    those who want professor who cares about the individual student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you don't split the poles in the pergola or you and that person won't stay friends.

    Bang for the buck

    pretty expensive, and the administration waste money on things like i-pads for the incoming freshmen, but doesn't even upgrade the snail-slow internet.

    What to do for fun

    not much. they campus doesn't have much going on during the week or weekends. but there is downtown frederick within walking distance as well as baker park.

    Food and Dining

    they have really good food days, then you can go a couple of weeks before you get another one, or just wait for an admitted student's day for good food.

    Dorm Life

    not much to do on campus on the weekends, and some of the dorms are kind of old. the furniture is nice and slowly getting upgraded.

    Academic Rigor

    i haven't really had to work hard to get the grades i do. i haven't had to have any all-nighter study or work times. i don't know if it is the classes i'm taking or what but everything has seemed to be fairly easily graded as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like a small school setting this is the place for you! the professors really care and will do all they can to help you succeed! the professors actually get a chance to get to know you as a person not just as a student.

    In three sentences

    hood has a beautiful campus. hood has wonderful professor who mostly know their stuff and know how to teach it. the administration tends to be unresponsive to current student's needs

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Once I enter my Fall 2012 semester at Hood, I will definitely take advantage of the luscious scenery of campus for biking. Also, since Hood is fairly close to Downtown Frederick, I definitely plan to stop by there every weeks or so and soak in the city life.

    Food and Dining

    When I toured Hood college and had lunch there for the day, I was especially impressed with the cafeteria. Their was several food options in the buffet area as well as a fresh salad bar. The students in the cafeteria seemed very content and comfortable in their environment and all seemed to get along.

    Dorm Life

    When I visited Hood college in February, my tour guide showed me three dorm buildings for the students. One was all girls, one was co-ed with girl and boys separated by floors, and the other was co-ed with girls and boys on the same floor. Considering Hood was once an all women's college, this must have been a fairly recent addition. The dorm rooms had a great college feel to it with all the needed necessities and spacious closet room and more than enough space for two others. Along with the rooms, each dorm building has a themed lounge rooms for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard nothing but prestige about the academic aspect of Hood College. My high school teachers, friends, bosses, and people who I've merely just run into a conversation with talk very highly of Hood college and all the internships, research, and assistance they offer when helping their students reach their career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Considering I haven't yet attended Hood College, it is hard for me to comment on this matter.

    In three sentences

    From touring the campus of Hood College it is easy to interpret that even though the school is smaller and less populated than your average University, this factor does nothing but work in it's favor. The small canvas in Frederick, MD is cozy but yet still spacious and offers all the essential accommodations for a student to succeed in college life such as academic counseling centers, career services, libraries, student lounge areas, etc. The fact that the school is smaller gives students a better chance to reach out to their teachers for help and feel less overwhelmed.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. It's in Fredrick Maryland and is part of the top 10 safest towns in the nation.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs. Ranging from martial arts, to African American social club, video game club working on communication and team skills, to helping military veterans to helping students on campus. You think it Hood has it. Also you cant start your own club if you have 4 other people and have a description of what you want to do and Hood gives you budget to start with.

    Great for these types of students

    Hood is for everybody whether it be interests, race, ethnicity, social standings, commuter, resident or transferring hood is for everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One big tradition on campus is the Hood Hello. What this is, is when you walk by anybody you always say Hello because the campus is a small community about 2,500 students everybody knows each other.

    Bang for the buck

    You will have to spend quite a bit out of pocket first year, but once you get your foot in the door you will be good to go and on your way to getting a degree and fulfilling your dreams.

    What to do for fun

    Millions of organizations, sports,events, activities. Just added a new swimming pool and upgraded the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, not 5 star rating food though.

    Dorm Life

    So many diverse people. Easy to make friends with same interests and different interests. Big rooms plenty of space for your personal needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Tons of classes to choose from, but a lot of the classes require you to be hard working and not slack.

    Tips for prospective students

    High rate tuition, but offers unlimited financial support, organizations, internships, and plenty of opportunities to receive scholarships.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Around the clock security and a location in a city ranked in the top 5% for safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition, fees, and meal plans consistent with a public, state school with many scholarship opportunities and on campus employment available.

    What to do for fun

    Frederick is both a historic town and a modern city, with shops and site seeing blocks from the campus. Buses are available to Baltimore and Washington, D.C. and Zip cars are available on campus.

    Food and Dining

    All types of food variety in a comfortable setting, along with quick grab and go on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable setting with numerous team building opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are what you make of them. All levels of educational opportunity are available, from basic to honors, each with their own level of academic expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for many social opportunities within the boundaries of the campus as well as the outside community.

    In three sentences

    Hood College focuses on the individual student by providing small class sizes and big learning opportunities. It's location in a Frederick offers the feel of a small town with the exposure to many large city amenities and access to Baltimore and Washington D.C. The campus layout allows for ease of class scheduling, studying, and recreation.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety patrols on their bikes, cars, and by foot. They are everywhere and anywhere when you need them. Blood emergency telephones are located all throughout campus to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an abundant number of activties offered at Hood College, Academic/Departmental Organizations â?¢ Cultural Organizations â?¢ Governing/Representative Organizations â?¢ Media Organizations â?¢ Performance Organizations â?¢ Programming Organizations â?¢ Service Organizations â?¢ Social Organizations â?¢ Spiritual Organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Hood College is a great college for students who enjoy small learning envrionments class sizes do not exceed 35 people. It is a great place for students who wish to seek a well rounded education and explore a little bit of everythinglife has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hood College has a Pergola, which is located in the center of campus and is a great place to relax. In the summer time when it is 96 degrees outside it feels like it is 75 degrees under the Pergola. It is a very pretty attribute to Hood College. Just be sure not to split the poles in the middle, its a hood tradition. If you are walking with a friend through the Pergola and you walk opposite sides of the pole, according to Hood tradition you will most likely no longer be friends. Hood College gives every student a dynk which is a little cap and each grade has a different color. The dynking ceremony is a very popular ceremony at Hood College!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun at Hood College. 95% of the time the student activities board has various activities planned for weekends and one or two weeknights. Washington D.C. and Baltimore city are only a short forty minute drive away. Downtown Frederick is full of restaurants and unique little shops! There is Cunningham State park 15 minutes up the road where students can explore hiking trails, lakes, and natural waterfalls.

    Food and Dining

    The Coblentz Dining Hall has a large variety of food: salad and vegetable bar, pizza, deli sandwiches, soups, grill items, vegan bar, made to order pastas and salads, and many sweets in the dessert area to choose from. The hours of operation are from 7 am to 8 pm Yet, they do close for one or two hours during the day to prepare for dinner. During this time the Blazer and the Freshie located in Whitaker Commons are always open until 11pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are five dorm halls on campus, Coblentz Hall (located above the dining hall), Shriner Hall (all girls dorm), Meyran Hall, Smith Hall, and Memorial Hall. All dorm halls are co-ed except for Shriner. The majority of the rooms have two room-mates. You can request a single room, although it is extra and I do not recommend for first-years. All dorm halls are quipped with kitchens, laundry rooms, and computer labs, all free of charge for full time students.

    Academic Rigor

    According to US news under the education articles, Hood ranks number 26 out of 100 in the north of best schools to attend. That is a very good number given the number of Ivy Leagues located in the North. Almost every Hood College student, and a large number of the professors will tell you, Any degree from Hood promises success.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is essential to apply early and avoid extra fees. Be sure to visist our campus, and meet with faculty, staff and students. It is a good idea to ask a variety of Hood students their experiences on campus. Be sure to do your best in school and really pay attention, that way you understand the material the first time, and will have more free time.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is a small liberal arts school located forty minutes from the fun and exciting life of two major Maryland cities, Washington D.C. and Baltimore. Students that earn a degree from Hood become well rounded individuals. The Hood community is full of kind, loving, and compassionate people, that make you feel like you are home.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. As long as you use your head and don't walk alone at night, and keep your room locked there should't be to many problems. There have been a few vandilisms in the dorms by students (mostly to bathrooms) and sometimes in one of the teaching buildings. Campus safety is open 24 hours a day and can be called at any time, they usually respond quickly and are equipt to handle most situations that could arise. Sometimes strangers get into buildings but with quick action they are quickly removed!

    Greek Life

    I've never done much with the Greek Life but there are numerous honor societies and academic societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, many clubs and activites. There are numerous sports clubs, on of which is NOT football, religious groups, choir, academic clubs, honor societies, college radio, newspaper and you can start you own club if there is interest and it's not offered!

    Great for these types of students

    Hood is great for open-minded individuals and anyone who is looking for a quality eduation, including liberal arts. Hood is a liberal arts college so we learn just a little bit of everything on top of our majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hood is full of traditions. Freshmen get their class Dinks during convocation. There is the Hood Hello, if someone says hi to you, you say hello back! Then we have the pergola which is the center of the residential quad. All sideways in the quad led to the Pergola. Tradition is that you must never split the interior poles, for this is a sign that your friendship/relationship won't stand the test of time. There is a Sophmore dinner specifically for sophmores. Juniors have a ringing ceremony and this happens second semester when students have ordered their Hood ring. During the ceremony someone special gets to place the class ring on your finger. During the Fall there is the annual singing of Handel's Messiah and in the spring there is the Margret S. Hood Ball! So much more!

    Bang for the buck

    Hood is pretty decently priced, though tution has increased since I've started. There are many scholarship oppertunities and the college provides a good quality liberal arts education on top of the major. The tution is the same for instate and out of state students (I'm an out of state student so I know ver well.) It's worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do! There is Downtown Frederick which has many shops, resturants, and parks. Not far away is the Francis Scott Key Mall, Regal Cinemas and other shopping areas. The campus offers lots of activites and prgrams as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average in my opinion, some weeks the food is great, others it's not. But, there is always a salad bar and soup and generally show chefs who are making different meal options. There are vegan and vegitarian options. Oh and during the weekdays there is always pizza! The Blazer has a grill for fried foods and there is a healthier option bar in there but it is only open until 8pm for the moment.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older, Meyran, Coblentz and Shriner have bigger rooms where Memorial and Smith have smaller rooms. Some rooms in Meyren and Coblentz have sinks. The rooms have AC and Heat, some central air others AC units. The dorms are pretty homey, all containing some type of lounge, a kitchen, computer room, laundry and vending machines. Rooms come with twin beds, closet, dresser and a desk.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had to put a lot of time and effor into my work, i'm a science major but every major on this campus will pose challenges. Professors are generally very helpful and will help you with problems but if you aren't doing the work, or putting in your best effort, why should you expect them to help you?

    Tips for prospective students

    Hood is very open minded, there are lots of different cultures, religions and ethnics groups here, as well as international students. You only get what you put into college so be prepared to work hard, college is much different than highschool. Bu, above all, meet new people, try new things and have fun here too! There are lots of activites that go on, on and off campus! The food also isn't too bad and the dining hall tries to accomadate special dietary needs.

    In three sentences

    Hood is a wonderful college and great for anyone looking for a small and personal atmosphere! The campus is welcoming and inviting and resources are generally easily found. The professors are well education in their fields and the food isn't too bad!

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The students and faculty are extremely friendly. Everyone goes out of their way to greet strangers with the Hood Hello.

    Will learn a lot

    Hood offers a wide variety of classes.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend staying the night and attending a class to really get a feel for what Hood College is like.

    Bang for the buck

    Hood College is private so it is more expensive, but there are many ways to find scholarships here.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is always offering the Hood Hello at Hood College. Everyone I talked to was very nice and welcoming. Hood also has the best food that I have tasted! Definitely try the homemade chips!

    Will learn a lot

    The classes at Hood College seem to be very efficient and the honors curriculum is outstanding!

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, friendly

    Will enjoy being here

    Every time I've visited campus, everyone is always so happy and nice and very welcoming. Can't wait to start!

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for if you like to be outside and get to know everyone. The college has a small enough number of students that you will always see people that you know.

    Bang for the buck

    Definatly. You will just have to go to Hood College to see what I mean by all the things that I am saying.

    Will enjoy being here

    Hood College is GORGEOUS. The surroundings are amazing and the campus is just so elegant. There are trees everywhere. It's very peaceful. Also laundry is free!

    Will learn a lot

    They have such amazing and astonishing buildings. The classrooms are a nice size and it will be easier for you to learn in a good classroom environment. The class size is nice too. It doesn't go over 20 students.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    close to downtown frederick so plenty of things to do. there are many museums and a library. movie theater close by. tons of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty decent. always a pretty large variety of items to chose from. vegan choices available.

    Dorm Life

    the people in my dorm are fantastic. i do not have problems with others within the dorm at all.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are difficult but the teachers are always there to answer students questions and provide help.

    Tips for prospective students

    buy books from online sources rather than the bookstore. live on campus as long as possible.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am part of a group that is starting a fraternity and there will likely be a sorority to follow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All Freshmen receive their Dinks (small round hats with their class colors on them) during commencement.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers a lot in financial aid. You can get your degree from a private school for the price of some community colleges, but you must play your cards right. Study hard in high school, and Hood College will reward you. There are innumerable opportunities to expand your experiences at Hood. If you are looking for work in the sciences or computer sciences, this school sends many students to work at Fort Detrick, located hardly a mile off-campus.

    What to do for fun

    Walking around downtown Frederick is usually quite interesting, though there are always programs on campus from the wide variety of student groups.

    Food and Dining

    Many people complain about the dining experiences here, though I always find something to eat. There is a main dining hall which is being remodeled this summer, and a pricey grill/cafe in the student union. There is also a Taco Bell, a supermarket, a Subway, a Chinese restaurant, and a pizza place directly across the street behind the school. Of course, just a ten minute walk will bring you to all of the great options for food in downtown Frederick.

    Dorm Life

    As an RA here, I know how under-staffed and underpaid the Residence Life staff members are here. Nonetheless, the campus is always beautiful and the Campus Activities Board (CAB), as well as numerous other activities from various groups and sports teams, continuously program. Nearly every day, there is a program to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult because of the material, but many are made to be easy. Overall, the classes here require effort, but not necessarily that you have mastered a concept.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the academics here thoroughly to be certain that this school will offer what you are interested in. Being such a small school it cannot offer as wide of a variety of classes as other schools.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is a close-knit school with plenty of opportunity to take leadership challenges. It has a beautiful campus, though it is quite small. Over the years, it is easy to have periods where frustration overtakes the people around you, but overall, these people grow to be your family.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a feeling of unsafety on campus. Security rides around in campus safety cars on a continous basis. There are campus phones on various spots on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hood has dance, basketball, volleyball, foreign languages goups, and other clubs that will interest anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small campus, then this is the school for you. Since Hood is a small school, you get to know the professors and other students very well. It is not overwhelming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hood College has a tradition at the beginning of each new school year where each class is given a different colored beanie to wear. There is a welcoming ceremony the first day of classes, everyone is expected to take part. The administrators, students, parents, and alumnae are invited to take part. It is a way of starting the year off right. It is so much fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Hood offers everything your money can buy. You definitely get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Hood is right next to downtown Frederick. It is walking distance to a lot of shops and boutiques. The college also has movie nights, dances, competitions; and all sorts of things to do. You won't get bored much.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is definitely not like home. I think that they don't use much seasoning because they have to cook for everyone on campus. There is a cafe on campus which I prefer. But, when you're hungry, the food in the cafeteria can be quite appealing.

    Dorm Life

    I had to get used to a roommate. I always had my own bedroom at home my entire life. My roommate and I started off distant, but we have bonded quite nicely since getting to know each other a little more.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a lot different than the ones in high school. Being an A student in high school came much easier than in college, but the challenge is welcoming,

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely attend new student day. You get to meet other new students and the staff. They even serve you and your family a great lunch.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely have enjoyed by first year at Hood College.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around, if you need help or lock yourself out - they'll help. Hood is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and groups, almost every sports team available to try out for.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want to go to a big school and want to focus on eduction. Although there's still time for fun! If you as a student like face to face confrontation and your teacher will know your name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pergola is a beautiful spot on hood. A tradition is the pink spoon, you'll find out more when you get there!

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but they give you a lot of scholarships and financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff going on at Hood. They do a lot for students!

    Food and Dining

    In 2012-2013 Hood is getting all new dining menus.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    If you do the assigned homework and study daily, you will be alright with grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly to everyone and they'll be friendly back! Study and do your homework To keep up with the classes because they are hard.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is a beautiful school. Everyone is friendly, even the professors! The classes are hard but you get a good education.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on at the school especially on weekends. The best time of the year is during May Madness right before finals week when the campus turns into a water amusement park.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing will ever beat a home-cooked meal. However, the food isn't terrible.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I don't know about dorm life. I here it is easier to live on campus because you meet more people faster and easier.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes that require every minute of your day, but there are easier courses. Finding that balance will take a year or two.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a party school, you're in the wrong place. Given there are parties here, but it's not a priority for most students attending Hood College.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is small so everyone knows everyone, but somehow there are still days when you meet new people. Most of the professors are very helpful, but there are the occasional bad professors. Hood College plans a lot of fun things to do on and off campus that are almost always free.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have alot of student activities to choose from and organizations to join.

    What to do for fun

    They have alot of activities to do here on campus. I keep hearing from current students about May Madness. It must be a ton of fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    I am new to Hood College so I do not have many tips. All I can say is have an open mind and don't worry too much. The staff is there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is a beautiful campus that I fell in love with right away. It is a small inviting campus that does not overwhelm you when you come there. Everyone at Hood is friendly and helpful.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a very nice school with high quality instructors, but the tuition is definitely excessive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the most part, but it is extremely expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not an on-campus student, but there seems to be a lot going on for resident students.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be pretty intense, but as long as you work hard and pay attention in class, you should have no trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is good about giving grants to students, but you'll still need a lot of financial aid to be able to afford the tuition here.

    In three sentences

    Hood has really great professors and the campus is beautiful. Class sizes are really small so the professors can focus more attention on the students. The only real downside is the high tuition cost.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For being in a city, Hood is extremely safe. There are officers constantly patroling the campus on foot, on bikes, or in cars. Blue lights are on campus. They will even walk you to your car off campus if you do not feel safe. They will do anything to make you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There are no social greek organizations. They are all academic. Greek housing does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs funded by the school. If you can't find one, create one and have Hood pay for almost everything! It's great!

    Great for these types of students

    Hood is great for students who actually want to learn instead of party.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to learn the traditions from the upperclassmen. They are secret unless you are a Hoodlum.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but then again, all colleges are now.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Frederick is always fun with the shops and restaurants. Hood does several events each month. The best is movie night, where they show movies that aren't even out of theaters yet. If you ever have a suggestion for something fun, Hood is always willing to listen. They love spending money on their students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best in the dining hall. Dessert is always good. They even have a birthday day each month where they bring in two full sheet cakes. Delicious! There is The Blazer which has better tasting food. The salad bar is always open for those who wish to eat healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old, but comfortable. They aren't worth the price, but it's a lot easier to meet people in a dorm than to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The whole point of going to college is to get an education and Hood provides one of the best. The staff are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy an umbrella and rain boots. You will need them. That is seriously the best advice. Also, do not buy your books from the bookstore. Buy from online sites, or find upperclassmen that will sell you their textbooks. Everyone at Hood is friendly.

    In three sentences

    Hood is great for students focused on education. The parties are lame. The academics are the best.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are extremely helpful. If you have a problem it is no problem to them.

    Greek Life

    None to speak of but I see this as a plus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons to choose from. The hardest part is deciding which one you won't join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hood hello: this school asks that you say hello to everyone you meet on campus whether you know them or not.

    Bang for the buck

    FREE IPAD

    What to do for fun

    There are countless extra curricular clubs to join on campus as well as nights for all sorts of things, like movie nights and D&D. I look forward to spending free time in the fairly new game room.

    Food and Dining

    This is not public high school food. You get a large selection of choices for all three meals.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very comfortable looking, and everyone in the dorm buildings is welcoming. I fully expect my dorm building to be a community for me.

    Academic Rigor

    They pay close attention to the fact that coming out of high school students may not be prepared for college, but even so they push students to reach a higher standard. Don't expect breaks that are free of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Size isn't everything: don't look at the fact that Hood is small, look at the experiences you get that you can't get at a big college.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with the pergola on the center of campus the first time I saw it. I love how the professors remembered me on my second visit. The historic atmosphere of the campus just makes it all the more charming and a place you want to live.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never had a problem!

    Greek Life

    There is so sororities of any kind! It's awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many I've lost count.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-football fans; students going into Education; students with an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't split the polls in the Gazebo in the middle of campus or you (and whoever you split the poll with) will not be friends after graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every cent.

    What to do for fun

    Everyone is always hanging out and enjoying life in the common rooms playing foozeball, Wii, or Xbox.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman 15 can easily become Freshman 45 by how delectable the food is.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and open minded.

    Academic Rigor

    wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus Go to the first summer orientation date or you won't get any of the classes you want

    In three sentences

    This school is wonderful for anyone who is looking for a peaceful and friendly environment. All the classes as under 36 people and is just about as close to one on one teaching as you can get. It's worth every penny.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Pergola is a beautiful spot located in the center of the dorms and the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting pricey, need to offer more classes.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown, not too great, but gives you something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty bad. There's not enough choices and the choices they do have are not appealing and taste nasty.

    Dorm Life

    The cleaning staff does not properly clean the bathrooms so it can get unsanitary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school before attending.

    In three sentences

    Hood is small, but not as diverse as I thought it to be, regarding students as well as teachers. The student:teacher ratio is better for a student who doesn't want to be in a huge lecture hall. Hood needs to improve their living standards for students and the dining hall food.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is available 24/7 and are always very helpful even if you loss your wallet or lock yourself out of your room.

    Greek Life

    no fraternities or sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have things like the mock UN, orchestra, choir, drama, Wisteria, the newspaper, the international club and a student run radio station along with many different service organizations

    Great for these types of students

    students who aren't afraid to work hard but also enjoy having fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a tradition that we cant split the poles walk around the poles on a different side than a friend supposedly you will lose touch after graduation. An unusual place on our campus would have to be the Pergola a vine covered gazebo dead-center in the middle of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    absolutely amazing school anyone would love it.

    What to do for fun

    we do all kinds of fun things like: going downtown to shop, campus wide trips to the mall, trip to NYC and DC, campus wide movie nights we new release blockbuster, trips to the fair, go to the park, and of course just hanging out in the lounge watching TV or hanging out in the game room and playing some Mario Kart or just lounging around with our Ipads.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always interesting and their is always something new to try. Also the dining hall staff is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. I love every minute of it especially if you have gotten to know your hallmates.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but not to bad. this school will definitely keep you thinking

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you visit campus. explore dowtown and meet the faculty.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. Never a dull moment on campus. there is always something going on for everyone to enjoy.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. All of them are understanding and helpful, but will crack down on those causing problems. Hood has multiple emergency phone stations all over campus that goes directly to campus safety in the event of an emergency. They will also come pick you up in a car if you feel uncomfortable walking where you are.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus. However, there are honors societies that do community work and some events. Also, some students are trying to start a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus, but starting one will take some time. The process itself is not hard, but Student Life is not timely approving the applications. The clubs themselves are very active and host many different events. There is a club for almost any group you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Hood is great for student who like small campuses. You get to recognize about everyone on campus and can make connections easily. It's not a party school, but there is still fun events and such to participate in and its not a school for slackers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the center of the quad is The Pergola which has many superstitions and stories surrounding it. One is that if you split the poles with someone you are walking with, you won't be friends after graduation. There are also many ghost stories about Brodbeck Music Hall. Additionally, every year has an assigned color and at commencement your first year, you receive a dink, a little beanie cap, in your class color that you keep from then on. We where them at all the major academic events. It looks silly, but it a cutesy tradition and bring the student body together.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is high, but so are many other colleges now a days. If you get involved and take advantage of your studies, then it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board puts on event all the time and so do the club organizations. There is also a gaming room available and a lounge area in the Campus center. The downtown is literally right next door and there are plenty of quirky shops and cafes there.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be a little better in the dining hall, but you can always find something to eat in there. The only other on campus food places are pricey, but the food quality makes it somewhat worth it. They have a healthier expensive food option and a fast-food type cheaper option.

    Dorm Life

    The resident assistants in each dorm hold events all the time, but not many people attend them. Some dorms are a little outdated, but the furniture is all really nice and the dorm rooms aren't too small. There are some party people, but they can be easily avoided if that's not your group.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work that goes into every major and sometimes its overwhelming. However, the classes are challenging in a positive way and make sure you can't just cruise your way through college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus activities and clubs right away. You are not going to be here very long and the sooner you get involved, the more you will get out of the many organizations on campus. Show that you are interested in your education and put your name out there to the academic departments you want to be involved with.

    In three sentences

    Hood College has some wonderful academic departments and the professors truly wish for your success. The administrators tend to focus on outward appearance and make some decisions that do not make logical sense to students. Also the tuition price is high, but for the quality of the academics and the sense of community, it is worth it.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour safety desks, blue emergency lights/phones on campus, red emergency phones in each dorm, etc.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hood is very big on traditions. One that took me by surprise is the Hood Hello which is simply speaking to your peers as you walk by even if they are strangers.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Frederick

    Food and Dining

    Many options are available to Hood students including to go meals, vegan meals, as well as buffet style dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms serve as little communities on campus and are filled with lots of activities for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Hood is very strong in academics and holds their students to high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure the college you choose is a good fit for you. -Don't simply choose a school because it is fun. -Plan ahead and have some positive of time management.

    In three sentences

    Hood College is a very family friendly place. This school provides good opportunities academically. Once you become a Hood student they support you throughout the rest of your life.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers have great character, but most lack training and knowledge of campus policies. Many campus safety officers are very out of shape, as well. A number of students wonder if they're fit for the job.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    CAB, Ping Pong Club, MLS, Hood College Musical Theater, and the Hood College Choir are all wonderful organizations. Some clubs are very active, while others are almost nonexistent.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm not sure who this school is great for. . .some students love the school and wouldn't want to go anywhere else. However, I think that is the minority. I think most student feel like something is missing when they come here. Personally, I think it is community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have some amazing traditions. Each class has color and a class dink, which is worn at graduations. We have a late night dinner right before finals, where the faculty serves us our meal. We have a crab feast, holiday dinner, and strawberry dinner, which are very enjoyable. The pergola and tradition of splitting the pole is a also a huge tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though you get a scholarship to go here, don't be fooled. Everyone gets one. This is the method the college uses to entice students, because otherwise no one would attend here. The college is upping tuition and other fees, as well.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown and Baker park is pretty cool, this first 5 times. Afterwards, it gets rather monotonous. If you attend this school, you HAVE to have a car. Otherwise, you get trapped in a 3 mile radius, and it's horrible.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is horrible. They do not meet student's needs and lack variety.

    Dorm Life

    Shriner is clearly the most renovated and nicest dorm on campus. The other dorms, Memorial and Smith specifically, hardly compare.

    Academic Rigor

    As an AP student in high school, I didn't find it that difficult. However, other students really struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here, bring a car! Otherwise, you get trapped on campus!

    In three sentences

    Hood College is an OK college. If you're looking for an intimate school, this is place for you. If you're looking for community, look else where.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus safety officers all over campus that are friendly and willing to help you with whatever is needed.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs with a wide variety and some sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that work hard and are friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition is that you have to smile and say Hi to everyone you pass on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive but they give out financial aid and work study. It is a private college and my biggest class was 31 people. You get plenty of one on one time with teacher, and free tutoring.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different organizations with a wide variety. There is something for everyone. There is not a whole lot that goes on during the weekends and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is typical school food but they do have specialty bars that are extremely tasty. There is also something called Blazer bucks that you can use to get some even tastier food after or during the cafeteria hours.

    Dorm Life

    There's a dorm for every type of person. If you want a dorm with a lot of parties we have one. If you want a dorm that's quite and easy to study we have that. And they are mostly all high quality.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing at their fields but there are high expectations and many students don't graduate within four years. I have to take classes over the summer and winter breaks and I am still not sure if I'll graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see the campus during the class week because most people here are commuters and it can be very quiet. Not good for people who want a party school or even just a large school. It's only a little bigger than my high school kind of feel.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing school with professors that are not just great in their fields but are also great at teaching. The foods not awesome but I heard it's better than at some places. Over all it's a friendly and inviting place to meet people.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not very good and seems to be over-priced

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is really friendly as if it is just one big family

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very tough but the teachers will work with you.