Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Hopkinsville Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    hopefully i will. it seems to be a great campus

    Will learn a lot

    yes i will learn a lots because i very easy to learn thing that im most intrested in

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety has never been much of an issue to my knowledge. but there are campus police patrolling throughout the campus daily.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    What to do for fun

    located on campus there is not much to do for fun. hcc does have a ping pong table in the purple cat cafe, to help students relax and unwind during breaks. many different events are hosted here throughout the year, these include but are not limited to concerts, movies, and guest speakers. there are also numerous clubs that students can become an active part in, and are encouraged to do so.

    Food and Dining

    there is one place to actually sit down and eat on the campus, it is called the purple cat cafe, but there are numerous vending machines located throughout the campus. although, the campus is located near many fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    just like with any school, depending on the classes you take will vary in academic rigor. there is a lot of work that has to be completed outside the course, mostly done online.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should know that the classes are very small so you have more one on one time with the instructor. most of the teachers are very understanding and willing to work around the student's schedule and personal life.

    In three sentences

    hopkinsville community college (hcc) has an education centered learning environment. this college provides an affordable education for students with financial difficulties, or for those students who just want a four year degree. hopkinsville community college students are diverse in age, race, and social standing which helps to allow more opportunity to a greater amount of excited learners.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. I am a sixty-year old grandmother and wanting to open my own business.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable, and clubs and programs are free.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy the clubs and special programs offered by the school. They offer dance lessons and weight training on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good little cafe on campus, and many nearby areas.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply. Housing is off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    HCC offers academic assistance through tutoring, which makes things easier to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved in clubs and special programs. I have made great friends, and it makes learning fun.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Hopkinsville Community College. The professors are very helpful and there are many tutoring areas available. We also have academic/social clubs for everyone.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who are financially unstable and aren't for sure what they want for a career.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a higher education at a low price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time and make sure your ACT subscores are all higher than an 18.

    Bang for the buck

    I got classes that were 3 credit hours each done in only 8 weeks.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes because its not far from my home

    Academic Rigor

    I will learn alot because I will be at thier fort campbell location which is a small classroom type atmosphere.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for military spouses that wish to return or start an academic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend new students to see an academic advisor to help them get started with their academic career. The college has a convenient location located on Fort Campbell (military base), for those students that are spouses to active duty military and wish to stay close to home while attending classes. They offer a balance of lecture classes, hybrid classes, and online classes. They have classes that will accomodate anyone's schedule.

    In three sentences

    This college has a wonderful staff. They do everything in their power to help you reach your academic goals. They offer a wide variety of classes and degree programs.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hopkinsville is a small town so there is not much to do. Take a drive to Clarksville, TN and you will find much more!

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at school.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I wouldn't know but I'm not even sure they offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    While the academic rigor is tough it is not nearly as tough as what I thought it would be so I am not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. Most junior colleges are however, not as rigorous as say a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes the Financial Aid department as well as the Admissions department can be irritating to deal with. Make sure you are well prepared in advance have all the necessary paperwork filed with the school well in advance.

    In three sentences

    I have had a terrific experience here. My professors have made learning so much fun and I am actually going to hate transferring once the time comes.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Get the classes you need when you need them.

    In three sentences

    I love HCC. There online classes provide flexability for your needs. Instructors are always willing to help.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study every day or make a plan. It would be also best to work ahead sometimes if you have something coming up that is important.

    In three sentences

    The people are friendly. It is inexpensive. Programs could be a bit more diverse.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has 24 hour patrol and is a safe place to be day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities - speakers, artists, comedians, poets, singers and many more come every week to shed light on how they are affecting the world around them.

    Great for these types of students

    The college has been effective in restarting students like myself who have changed their career path or who have been displaced from their jobs because of plant shutdown.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is affordable and a good start before I transfer to a four year college to complete my bachelors and masters. Books are always expensive. I do think that Books A Million who has the contract for the bookstore is a rip off especially when we can buy our books off amazon.com for half the price or less!

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs on campus make it easy to get involved. Our Human Services club offer projects to volunteer in. Different sororities have functions and many different clubs are available for any student to chose from.

    Food and Dining

    Food by the cafe is delightful. Snack machines are always in use.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus dormitories; this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    All work is tough; turning on your brain again in this capacity has been rigorous to say the least. Challenging my intellect and forcing me to see things in a broader light and not in the small town the college is placed in. Professors are easy to talk to and accommodating to a fault.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so you can get funds available from scholarships and state funds; do not wait too late or there will not be any assistance to help you achieve your goal in education.

    In three sentences

    Hopkinsville Community College has made the transition back to learning comfortable and manageable. Changing my career path after many years has not been easy and attending classes and interacting with faculty and professors has made my learning experience a profitable one. It is a clean and safe campus for all who attend day and night.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join Phi Theta Kappa it will pay off in the end! :D

    What to do for fun

    I am a lot of different organzations. It is best to be involved on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest with your professors. Be on time! Check your email and student self service a lot! It is best to be involved on campus!

    In three sentences

    This is school is awesome! I have learned so much and I am ready to transfer to a university. The staff and professors rock!

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap it's really good on the wallet

    What to do for fun

    Depending on what campus you go there's stores coffee shops etc.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you get the right classes for your degree. When graduation comes apply before hand and keep asking to see if your class requirements are met.

    In three sentences

    Best place to get your general studies done.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They always have some kind of activates going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok but it not the best

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Rember that it is nothing like high school and that it is not easy. You is going to struggle but the teachers are always there to help you as long as you ask them and is applying yourself.

    In three sentences

    I really love it here. The teachers are always willing to help and are very helpful. It always best to start at a community college first and then switch to the university. You will save money this way.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't been to any campus events

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm .

    Academic Rigor

    I was taking online classes .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get your core classes done quick I recommend this college.

    In three sentences

    I think that Hopkinsville community college is great for students trying to complete there pre requisites. Hopkinsville has a good two year registered nursing program. The staff for Hopkinsville tend not to be very helpful though.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college is always holding some sort of social event for various clubs to which anyone is invited. They will send e-mails or post signs around campus. As far as in town, there is a small mall and a small movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There is a delicious cafe in the auditorium building. There are also vending machines int he same area. Down the road, you will find a newly built Taco Bell, convenience stores, and McDonalds.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available. There are, however, many apartments located just behind the college for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as challenging as any four-year university. The deadlines are a bit longer than in a university, but it is very good for someone working or with children. I learned as much as APSU as I did at HCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead of the game. Treat deadlines like they are due a week before the date given. Learn the campus before your classes start. This will be helpful in finding many different places in a short time. Ask questions. Ask your professors, staff, and fellow classmates. You never know who might be able to help you study, who can help you find a job after graduating, or who you can help.

    In three sentences

    Hopkinsville Community College is a wonderful 2-year college. They have very flexible schedules for those working or with children. The campus is easy to navigate, and the professors are understanding and care about their students.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of fast food down the street from the school. If you want dine-in resturaunts town is not too far away.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here but there are many apartments and housing near by.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to study hard and make it to every class but if you pay attention to the instructor you will understand the course quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA as soon as you can so that you are eligable for more scholarships and grants.

    In three sentences

    Hopkinsville Community College is a great school to go to before transfering to a four-year instituation. The staff and factulty are very friendly and will try to help you in anyway possible to get you to your goal. I highly recommend this school.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just about as safe as anywhere else. Both campuses are small. Main campus has there own security, and Fort Campbell campus is smack in the middle of a secured Army base...... can't get much more safe than that!

    Greek Life

    Just Phi Theta Kappa for honors students.

    Clubs and Activities

    No huge frat houses here, but there is one of the oldest chapters of Phi Theta Kappa at Hopkinsville Community College.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would fit in nicely here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a really cool sculpture park at the edge of the main campus, and there is also a professor there who has hidden a few geocaches around campus (if you love treasure hunts, look up geocaching on google!).

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is always a great idea. The first two years of classes are the same at every school, so why shell out a ton of money for the same thing elsewhere?

    What to do for fun

    Hopkinsville is a nice southern town, but more of the action probably lies closer to the Fort Campbell campus, which borders on Clarksville, TN. There are bars, clubs, breweries, wineries, distilleries, shopping, museums, civil war forts and battlefields in Clarksville, not to mention the Cumberland River.

    Food and Dining

    There is a café at the main campus, and a snack bar at the Fort Campbell campus. Also, different organizations on both campuses occasionally have luncheons or cook outs for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, there are no dorms, but both campuses are close to housing and apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    College is harder than high school, but as long as you are disciplined, study, and make use of student assistance, HCC is very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on where you live, you can take classes at either or both of the campuses. Also, through KCTCS, you are able to take classes online from over a dozen colleges at once, and all of the classes will be documented through Hopkinsville Community College. This greatly increases the number and types of classes that students can take.

    In three sentences

    Hopkinsville Community College is a great stepping stone into the world of higher learning. It is wonderful for both the new high school graduate and the adult returning to education after a break. Having two campuses gives students lots of options.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. not bad neighborhood

    Greek Life

    phi beta delta

    Clubs and Activities

    math and science

    Great for these types of students

    all

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is cheaper and I buy my books online to save money

    What to do for fun

    I have joined a couple clubs. Math and science

    Food and Dining

    it ok

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but what college isn't. You need to mentally prepare yourself. It is not high school

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a small school. The staff is very nice

    In three sentences

    my adviser has been very helpful in creating academic plan for my degree. It has been challenging because I am going between school to help lower cost and have everything ready to transfer to Murray next year. She has been extremely patient with me and I am really grateful. Since Murray is over an hour away i am trying to save as much money as i can to pay for gas to get there and back. She has been very helpful in setting up my classes and being understanding in what I am trying to accomplish.