Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Horry-Georgetown Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students acquiring an associaues degree and students not 100% commtted to a field can get core courses saving in the long run on tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    Spring and Summer hit the beach!!!! Fun in the Sun!!

    Food and Dining

    Campus offers a cafeteria and a coffee shop. The coffee shop has excellent sandwiches and soups.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are no dorms on campus you can find nearby housing off campus with in walking distance or maybe a condo on the beach wouldn't be a bad idea!!

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study and attend class you should find it easy to pass all your classes. You'll get the grade you deserve based on the effort you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is currently a nightmare due to college expansion. Most of the student parking has been closed off for site preparation for new buildings.

    In three sentences

    Horry-Georgetown Technical College is for the relaxed student. The only pressures are your studies. The campus is clean and well maintained.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to transfer or receive an Associates or Certificate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there earlier than 10 minutes before your class, parking usually is easier and if not you still have time to park further away and walk!

    Bang for the buck

    It definitely is, as long as they have your major. My major wasn't being offered so I had to take a general topic degree (science instead of chemistry).

    Did enjoy being here

    I love attending HGTC. Its small classes were wonderful. The library was small but had the resources to acquire books from elsewhere.

    Did learn a lot

    I had some wonderful teachers and even a few that pushed their students harder! Overall for what Myrtle Beach/Conway has to offer I really did learn a lot!

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Commercial concession for lunch cafe. Well stocked vending machines

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Some degree programs fill up quickly

    In three sentences

    Excellent location, Excellent learning resources, Excellent teacher-student ratio

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the beach

    Tips for prospective students

    always do your work and you won't be failing. study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    i think this college is wonderful. all the teachers are very well-prepared and respected. also the students are very nice and we have a diverse campus.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the myrtle beach area has so many fun things to choose from. market commons has everything from dining to football fields. broadway at the beach is also a fun filled location.

    Food and Dining

    hgtc offers a variety of food choices. they have a cafeteria with hot foods. also, they have a student cafe with sandwiches and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    they do not offer dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    enrollment is a very easy process. they have advisors that will help you step by step. a very friendly staff.

    In three sentences

    hgtc provides many opportunities for students to be successful. they offer free tutoring, day or night classes or you can even take online classes. this is a great school.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food on campus is okay. the best part is the java lounge where you can get coffee. you can also eat a good and inexpensive luch at a dining room run by the culinary students

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    good! a wide veriety of classes and majors

    In three sentences

    horry georgetown is a great school to get started at. the teachers are great and the class sizes are very reasonable. if you are looking to get an associates degree or get a head start to transfer this school is perfect

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No problems at all. There is always a security officer around.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the beach or hitting up Broadway!

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants in Myrtle Beach.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your coming from a quarter system know that you have to take 6 credit hours to receive financial aide.

    In three sentences

    The college overall is average. Teachers thus far have been great. Financial Aide department could use some more organization.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a very affordable starting point. If you don't have a scholarship start at the community college to get your basics. 1+1 is 2 no matter how much per credit hour you are paying

    Food and Dining

    Nice cafe and hot bar. Nothing special

    Dorm Life

    Not really applicable

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as much research as possible before asking for help. The more you know the better. AND BE POLITE!!! Rudeness will get you no where

    In three sentences

    Accomodating, usually friendly but somewhat unorganized

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for starting out if your still trying to find your self

    In three sentences

    Very affordable school. Teachers are really nice and friendly. You will really enjoy learning here.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very happy with it

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have several lecture series throughout the year. My favorite is the domestic violence lecture series. We have awesome guest speakers and everyone is so supportive

    Tips for prospective students

    At least take your core classes here they are much more affordable

    In three sentences

    I love attending Horry George Town Techincal College. I returned to school after 30 years and they welcomed me with open arms. My confidence level has really grown and they are wanting you to succeed.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the most safe campus I know. I can not even think of any time any one has had anything bad happen to them. our safety team is always doing their job, and helping people out. When you call on them they are always right on time. They make sure everyone is doing what is asked of them while they are on campus grounds.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do offer clubs and activites you just have to keep any eye open for when things are happening and where.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone. You will always meet new people and add on new friends. This campus is like a big family, even though we don't know each and every one. There is peac and love here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is nothing I can think of that is unusual about the campus. everything is well put together and handled.

    Bang for the buck

    The one thing I love most about this school is that they give you their all to make sure we are learning, getting better understanding, the best teachers who care about what you have learn and took in after leaving out of that class. The outsides are clean and well keep. We have a really nice book store. A lot of help to offer the students when they really need it the most. If I had to give my school a GPA grade it would have to be a 4.0 they really have brought a change in my life and my children for the better. I will always be grateful for what this college has had to offer me as a student.

    What to do for fun

    They do a lot of outside events for the students, they offer movie night once a month outside. Job fairs are held twice out the year. And other great activities to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    There are two areas on the compus where you are able to get food to eat through out the day. and there are a lot of venders in each building to pick up and go. I would have to give it a 10

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms at this college but there are a lot of them around us. I would have to give it a 0

    Academic Rigor

    This college had many many programs to offer people. There is just no way of going to this school and not being able to find not one thing you like or want to do. i would have to give it a 10

    Tips for prospective students

    I tell people all the time who want to go back to school and are not sure of themselves. This would be a great college to start out with, to see if college is for you are not. And everyone that I know that has went are still going, or have finished.

    In three sentences

    Ever since I have been at student at this college since 2007 I have loved every day of it. The teachers really care about your learning and believe in putting first thing first. This is a college filled with lots of love and understanding.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a degree opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    In Georgetown County? I don't know. You can go to Walmart or possibly go cow tipping.

    Food and Dining

    Non-existent

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A student only has to try hard in the classes taught by the incompetent teachers. Stay away from the nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take night classes. The students in the day classes are all fresh out of high school. They are more worried about partying than they are about academic achievement.

    In three sentences

    The college has mostly adequate teachers. The support staff is a joke. Do not attend if you do not have the ability to do all the jobs of the financial aid office yourself, because they are useless, rude, and incompetent.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are numerous security guards who periodically check the campus for any illicit actions such as illegal parking or loitering.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't recall there being any clubs or activities; however, the guidance counselors' hallways are usually filled with activity posters on the walls mostly for philanthropic purposes.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a nice school for introverts because people hardly converse there only in class or at lunch.

    What to do for fun

    For me, the only fun I have is streaming the computer.

    Food and Dining

    They have much to decide from vendor machines in every corner almost square tables and firms seats usually every so often bigger meals are guaranteed.

    Dorm Life

    It's essentially a commuter college so no domestic life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's moderately stringent but with all the help from staff you can't go wrong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should come with a positive demeanor and remember that first impressions are lasting ones so come to class promptly with the items that they need without excuse.

    In three sentences

    It's a decent college with nice lounges for both students and professors to relax on their leisure until the next class begins. There are terrific professors who are able to aid students academically through technology; for example, students can use their student accounts to chat online with their professors or other professionals to clarify their assignments to them and give them tips on improvement. Most classes are small ,so the prospects of failing them are virtually impossible to do.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Horry-Georgetown Tech employs their own security on each of their campuses. They are always available to assist with any concern you may have.

    Great for these types of students

    Horry-Georgetown Tech is an ideal college for everybody. Whether you are a high school student looking for your first college, a transfer student looking for a new place to call home or a mom or dad looking to better yourself with a career change, Horry- Georgetown Tech welcomes you to their community. You new tomorrow starts with today.

    Bang for the buck

    Horry-Georgetown Tech is a great value for your money. The students and staff are always friendly.

    What to do for fun

    Just minutes from Myrtle Beach there is always something to do when the studying is done. Whether you are hitting the beach for a day of fun or visiting Broadway at the Beach, there is always something to unwind.

    Food and Dining

    There are many convenient places to eat within a short driving distance.

    Dorm Life

    On campus dorms are Not available but many off campus housing options are conviently located within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Horry-Georgetown Technical College offers a small class size with competitive courses. Professors are easily reachable for any questions or concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Horry-Georgetown offers many degree opportunities. Talk with an admissions advisor who can guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Horry- Georgetown Technical College is a beautiful campus just minutes from Myrtle Beach. With 3 convienient locations this college is always easily accessible. Great value for your money!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult learner, non-traditional student

    What to do for fun

    Myrtle Beach is minutes away. Shopping, the beach, and great restaurants are some of the top things on the list for things to do around HGTC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about applying, apply early. Get financial aid paperwork turned in early, and pay attention to deadlines.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the class sizes. The science professors are great, and the professors will go out of their way to help you in their class.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always roaming around campus and are available to help you with anything you need. Almost all of them are friendly!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy flexible schedules, want to save money, and who want a quality education.

    Bang for the buck

    I am saving thousands of dollars by starting here and I'm not losing out on any experience!

    What to do for fun

    Student organizations are great! They have one for most majors and I am part of the honor society that is invitation only. Most are national organizations which means that they take part in events, conventions, etc. around the nation and not just on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe but it is only open during normal business hours. They have a lot of snacks and drinks but they do not offer much. It's definitely affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    My pre-requisite studies varied in difficulty. However, the nursing program requires a lot of work. It's tough but there is a rationale for all of the hard work it requires. It prepares you to be the nurse that you would want taking care of your loved ones!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to HGTC! It's affordable and the education is as good as you would get at a 4-year university. Transferring is easy when you graduate with your Associate's. Take advantage of the tutoring center because they always have something to offer you. Make the most out of your experience while you are here!

    In three sentences

    Horry-Georgetown Technical College has really prepared me for real-life nursing. The college definitely has students' best interest at heart. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Friends. Beach. Party. :)

    Food and Dining

    Unless you like fast food or vending machines, there is nothing else.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    So far, so good. The courses are a breeze, the teachers are wonderful, the workload isn't too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your Compass tests! They aren't pass and fail tests and they will judge your strengths and weaknesses. You may need the extra help!

    In three sentences

    The school and the teachers are wonderful! They're always willing to help and you WILL learn. The financial aid department on the other hand...

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach :)

    Food and Dining

    not many choices on campus

    In three sentences

    Well rounded programs. Variety of diplomas, certificates and degrees offered, as well as continuing education. Very pleased with my experience here.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When talking to a counselor about what class to take, talk to Susan. She's very helpful

    In three sentences

    The faculty is very helpful, knowledgeable, and kind.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    HGTC has one of the best culinary programs on the east coast and provides lunch and meals on campus. There are also coffee cafes on campus as well

    Dorm Life

    Off-campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    The academic advisers at HGTC are truly understanding and care about your needs and financial stability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste your time, effort or take up a space in a major you're truly not passionate about.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is one of the most career-driven schools I've visited. Not only do the professors love their field of lecture, they love that you do too. They are caring, understanding, and great mentors.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers various activities and courses to students that range all across the boards. The three separate campuses really allows for a more expansive environment.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm's on campus, but if there was, I'm sure the people would be wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are phenomenal.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to be sure you can handle the amount of classes that you are taking. My first semester, I registered for five online courses and while I made it through, it was the most stressful experience.

    In three sentences

    The staff is more than accommodating and the professors are wonderful. The professors teach with such a solid structure that it feels nearly impossible to get lost.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to get to know others that I dont know.

    Food and Dining

    They have like a louge and the food is open at a certain time. I wish it were open twenty four hours.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms there. I am actually renting an apartment close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Right now it is pretty easy, maybe its because I just started but I like it so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get to know everyone; don't judge everyone.

    In three sentences

    It feels like everyone is your family their. It is a perfect place to be if you are looking for teachers to help you one on one. I will give this school a 7 out of 10 if I had to rate them.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think Horry-Georgetown Technical College does a great job with campus security they always make their presence known. Also, we do have Horry county police officers who are assigned on a regular basis to patrol our campuses as well. Our campus also has several emergency call boxes located in every parking lot and throught the campus grounds.

    Greek Life

    Phi theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    I do know that the Phi Theta Kappa group is very active on campus as well as in the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Business, Nursing, Radiology, Civil Engineering, Golf Turf management, and any student who just wants to get started but doesn't quite know what field they want to be in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, I can't think of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Highly recommend. This school is great for creating a foundation to build upon with further education if you choose to. Tuition is low and there are several financial incentives to help with the costs of enrolling. If you choose not to continue there are quality two-year programs you can choose.

    What to do for fun

    Well there are several campus events scheduled throughout the semester for which students can participate. Since our school is so close to the beach, dining, and shopping venues we really never get bored here.

    Food and Dining

    We are lucky to have cafes in several building on our campuses. As well as, many great restaurants surrounding the campus locations.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dormatories.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academic rigor is relevant to the program chosen. I personally have chosen a competitive program that is based off of a weighted scale. There are only 20 seats filled per year for the program I have chosen

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tips I could give prospective students is to shop around for comparative tuition rates and to definitely start out at a two year technical college before moving to a name school if that is apart of your academic goal. My next tip is to rent textbooks when you can as they can prove to be very expensive and effect your bottom line. MY final tip is to be proactive about your education meeting with your academic advisor about every two months. This could save you a lot of headaches concerning changing policies in programs.

    In three sentences

    I think Horry-Georgetown Technical College is a great college to start off with especially if you plan to transfer. If you don't plan to transfer they have some great certificate, two-year programs that can really help you further your career goals. I would highly recommend this college given the economic climate.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have many officers on campus and they usually get to any situation pretty quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who where ever told that they couldn't do it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the campus they have a waterfall area which also sets the day from getting out of class and socializing with associates.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that HGTC has a large variety of different programs offer to students. The teachers also make sure the the students understand every thing even if they had to repeat themselves a hundred times.

    What to do for fun

    They always have great family fun events throughout the school year.

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer dorms or housing assistants because its a tech school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to work hard because its not like being in high school.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a great school where a very large quaintly of people can become successful . I would give HGTC a 10/10, because it a great school for people young and old to get a great education.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach isn't too far away.. don't get caught up in the nightlife and let your studies go.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students make excellent food, be prepared to try new things!

    Dorm Life

    I live in Loris, SC so I chose to stay at home instead of moving closer to campus. HGTC does not offer housing, but CCU is right next door!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would be prepared for LOTS of writing if you're taking the english classes. I'm in my 3rd week and have already turned in 3 essays! It's a lot of work, but it will be worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    I was nervous about college at first, but my professors are very helpful and I'm really enjoying school. I am a PACE student and I am taking ENG 101, PSY 201, and MAT 120. I plan to transfer to CCU for my B.S.N. and I know this is the right place to start.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are normally close by wherever you go.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many clubs or activities around campus. I really wish that there were more. However, I do like that they are close to the Red Cross. The red cross comes to campus at least onece every few months.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. This school could be a great foundation for transfering students, parents returning back to school, or young adults who does not want to stay in school for very long.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I know many people that attend Horry Georgetown Technical College in order for them to take their first steps into college, and to gain a sturdy foundation for their life.

    What to do for fun

    You is smart. You is kind. You is beautiful.-The Help. In my spare time I enjoy watching movies. I take interest in watching various types of movies ranging from Chinese martial arts to inspirational African American movies. I believe that knowledge is power and diversity is strength, and through movies a person can gain knowledge about the world and cultures around them. As well as making them more aware of the diversities of people surrounding them. Horry Geogetown Technical College instructors have helped me to realize the importance of being globally aware.

    Food and Dining

    We have a small cafe and lounge on campus. I try most of the time to stay away from buying products from this cafe, do to the over priced products. However, the lounge is one of my favorite places to study in between classes. The serene setting proves to be the best place to study everytime.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm, therefore, we all stay off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as if a few of the courses could be a bit more academically challenging, but overall this school defiantly gives you a head start into the college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there was one thing that I would say to prospective students who attend this school is to make sure you do your work and study hard. As much as you may not like your professors teaching strategies find ways to adapt to it and continue to push forward. Do not use the excuse that u do not like the professors teaching strategy. This is college; it was designed to push you out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    Horry Georgetown Technical College is a stepping stone into the college world. This college is a great foundation for students who plan to transfer to higher universities. The staff prepares their students with skills and knowledge to succeed in not only a university education, but life outside of school.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BEACH, COASTAL FOOTBALL GAMES, AND BEACH!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is up to you to buy. Luckily there's a plaza full of stuff to do and places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, it's a technical school. But if you can afford it, there are townhomes literally right next door to the campus. YOU CAN LITERALLY HOP OUT OF BED AND WALK TO IT. Starting at 515, you can have a nice unfurnished house, within walking distance to everything...except the beach.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, especially late start, because its a whole semester chopped down into 10 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to consider enrolling, MAKE SURE YOU KEEP UP WITH YOUR STUDENT ID!!! You need it for everything. Also ARRIVE EARLY FOR PARKING, because lets face it, parking sucks everywhere.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a very convenient campus with three locations to serve the Horry and Georgetown Areas. The teachers here are very meticulous about helping students succeed. The Classes are very rigorous but in the end the hard work will definitely pay off.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety on both HGTC and Coastal Carolina University are excellent. You have actual Horry County Police Officers patrolling the campuses 24/7 and have an emergency and non-emergency phone number that is monitored 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    Well, we are in the Myrtle Beach area so there are tons of things to do. The beach of course, Broadway at the Beach, which is like an outdoor mall/attractions for the whole family or just you and your friends. There's also TONS of places to eat along the beach, off the beach, on the main highway, 501, pretty much anywhere you go there's food down here.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus at HGTC, so I can not evaluate this question

    Academic Rigor

    This is a Technical College so the majority of the classes you are required to take are solely for your anticipated major, no filler classes. They only teach you basically what you need to know, they don't beat around the bush with topics or classes which make them fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is somewhat limited so make sure to be ON TIME for class, meaning at least 15 minutes before class actually starts. Some professors will lock you out of their classroom if you are not there at the time the class begins.

    In three sentences

    This Technical College is very helpful with whatever you need. The Professors actually care about their students and know most by name. The accommodations at HGTC are very nice, 3 campuses to choose from and the advisers always work with you to help solve your problems.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    HGTC offers many activities on all three of there campuses. Most majors have clubs to join that allows you to network with the people you will eventually be working with.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing or other medical support students should check out the new Medical building at the Myrtle Beach campus. BEAUTIFUL!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Myrtle Beach campus is literally 2 minutes from the ocean! It is loated at Market ommons, whih has a beautiful park and pond close by.

    Bang for the buck

    for only an average of $1700 a semester, you can't beat the cost!

    Food and Dining

    Due to this not being a full university with dorms, there is only a small coffee/sandwich shop. The food is prepared by the culinary students and is REALLY fresh and good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms = no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are just as tough as other universities, but the professors have more time to go over class materials due to smaller class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with your advisor. Certain classes are offered only in Fall or Spring so the advisor can help you plan for that. Your professors will always take the time to talk with you, and will work with you one on one if needed.

    In three sentences

    Smaller classes allow for the Professors to take more time with you, as a student. Class time and availability is great, with day, night, and internet courses offered. HGTC offers a great transition into the college life.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Locals especially. Great for anyone who wants to go to college and live near the beach. Great choices of classes for all.

    Bang for the buck

    Best prices on classes.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with the guys and gals and do study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Be proactive in your pursuits.

    In three sentences

    I love the school atmosphere. Classes are easy to arrange around schedule. Better than high school could ever be!

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty decent shops.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms allowed.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy. Not too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep in contact with your teachers and academic advisor. Do what feels right.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a good school to get your Associates or continue on for a Bachelors. There are plenty of programs to get you on the right track. The faculty members are helpful.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard on campus. They are very polite and helpful. I always feel safe walking to my car.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Non that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school to start out and get your prerequisites because you will save thousands of dollars before going to a university. Most of the classes they offer are transferable. If you have a question about any of the classes you can always compare it with the college you would like to attend in the future to make sure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really a traditional school.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is great there. The max you will pay for a semester is $1500 plus your books or supplies.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym there. for some people it might be fun to work out.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there but they do have days where chik-fil-a come and serve lunch to the students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. It is mostly working adults trying to get a higher education or kids trying to get their prerequisites out of the way.

    Academic Rigor

    They seem to pretty much approve a financial aid appeal for anyone. Numerous times. They do make you speak with an advisor now before letting you go any further. I wish they would of done this a couple of years ago when I was attempting a different major. I might of known sooner that it wasn't for me. Over all they seem to be stepping it up a little and trying to be a little more student oriented with helping them be more successful .

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a check list for when you are registering. Make sure that you set at least half a day to sign up there. Also even if you don't think you need help with a class sign up a few weeks in advance with tutor because spots book up fast for the good ones.

    In three sentences

    This school can be frustrating at times to get signed up and turn in paper work. In the long run they have improved over the years with helping students succeed. There are still a few bad professors there but you will have that in any college.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Horry Georgetown is a very safe campus. There are constant security guards ( I know because of parking tickets!) and 911 call booths in the parking lots. buildings and parking lots are well lit which makes it easy for night classes

    Greek Life

    Horry Georgetown does not have any type of Greek Life. To partake in that you'll need to walk across the street to Coastal Carolina!

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally, I am not a part of any clubs on campus but I have heard of a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Horry Georgetown is a school for the people who have lives outside of class. I work eight to five Monday through Friday and attend classes at night. Its perfect for non traditional students who have children and families to tend to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one unusual tradition my friends and I have is study groups. This may not sound to unusual to most but maybe the fact that we all do it in a circle of tail gates in the parking lots makes it a little more weird. At least we get a lot of weird looks!

    Bang for the buck

    Horry Goergetown town is the definition of more bang for your buck! the education provided is amazing at half the price.

    What to do for fun

    Student Engagment Hour is always a fun way to met new people.

    Food and Dining

    Horry Georgetown has a small cafe on each of the Conway and Grand Stand campuses. The muffins are great... the coffee could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Horry Georgetown does not have dorms since it is a community college but there are many great apartment complexes within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    through collaborative efforts, students and teachers consistently work towards high stands for all. While refusing to allows obstacles such as age, ability, and economic statues hinder individual or group efforts.

    Tips for prospective students

    It get in early! My first at Horry Georgetown I waited till the last couple weeks to apply. It was a nightmare to find classes! Take advantage of the Learning Center: It is full of models for anatomy classes and tutors to help you in any subject.

    In three sentences

    Horry Georgetown is an amazing school to be apart of. It is so nice that as a local there is a school that provides a quality education for a fraction of the price that it would cost to attend a 4 year university. The campuses are clean and safe and it is somewhere I enjoy attending.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i hear about and get lots of emails about activities

    Bang for the buck

    a great education for a great price

    What to do for fun

    be social

    Dorm Life

    doest have dorms but the cove is awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    great school go for it

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a great school. It also has great teachers. i believe its a great school for young students to get in the swing of college life.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    middle aged and under previlledged.

    Bang for the buck

    Coffee Shop!!

    What to do for fun

    That depends on the person.

    Food and Dining

    All pretty great in this area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay in touch with your advisors and financial aid. Also visit the library it is great.

    In three sentences

    I would rate my school at about a 8.5 overall. It has a lot of construction going on right now which messes up the parking .parking already need all the help it can get.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All we have are vending machines..have a cafeteria but that's for the high school students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Any science teacher, wants you to fail!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick another school. If not, do everything on your own, because if you ask for help either you don't get it or they screw you over!

    In three sentences

    This place is not very nice, most buildings are old and are gonna be tore down. Elevators don't work. You're basically going to school on a consturction site.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Becoming a member of Phi Theta Kappa was also a great decision I made. Being a member gets me more connected into the community with the events and fundraisers that happen almost monthly. The support from other members is also very beneficial. I am looking forward on working on the College Project and also the Honors In Action project to learn more about myself, my school, and my community.

    What to do for fun

    The Horry-Georgetown Technical Grand Strand campus is located near Market Commons. There is a 1-mile jogging path around a beautiful lake that has health stations you can make use of. Market Commons is also filled with outlet style shopping, unique restaurants, bars, movie theater, and the best Barnes and Nobles in town. There is plenty to do!

    Food and Dining

    The student lounge always offers healthy food choices. I would like to see them opened longer and they run out of food, a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are only difficult if you make them. The teachers are tough, but fair. It is really up to the student to decide how successful they wish to be. I have adored every teacher I have had thus far. They are not lenient, but they are fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip to prospective students is don't think that you can't do it, because you can. I am a high-school drop put with a GED who has been out of school for many years. Talking to the advisor at HGTC really gave me the confidence that I needed to complete my education. I am now going strong and a member of the school's honor society. It can be done!

    In three sentences

    To attend Horry-Georgetown Technical College has been a wonderful decision that I made to change my life. The faculty and staff are very encouraging and real. I love my school, and would recommend it to anybody!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always campus security around and numbers for there emergency phone all over. and they have those poles for emergency services. but i have never seen any one use one of course haha

    What to do for fun

    ummmm... go to the beach?

    Food and Dining

    i have never eaten at the cafeteria but i hace at the cafe and they have great snacks, coffee, and service. plus there is a ton of places near by to eat at

    Dorm Life

    I have friends that live there and ALOT of things get stollen!! I wouldn't live there unless i had to. its party central so no studying can get done at night and u cant chose your dorm mates. Its better to get an appt with friends on carolina forest or river oaks.

    Academic Rigor

    not a ton of homework but the tests are something to study for in every class. no matter how easy the class lectures may be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your classes ASAP! they go super quick. also check out your teachers ratings so ur not stuck with a horrible teacher for a whole semester because it is hard to change your schedule around after classes have started.

    In three sentences

    It is a great technical school. Good for certificates and degrees. They have all sorts of majors to choose from, 3 campuses, and a lot of online easy to use classes.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not familiar with any non-safety issue, in fact security is often seen throughout the school riding around in their golf carts and monitoring all that goes on. I feel extremely safe, and I attend night (after dark) classes, but it always important to be aware of one's surroundings.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs available for the enthusiasts.

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs are great for students, as well as the art exhibitions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not familiar with any traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    An excellent school for the money.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are excellent, I am a member of the Computer IT Club, which is open for computer majors interested in helping others, national competitions, and interacting with other computer majors.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the opportunity to dine at the school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an excellent school for students who are fresh out of high school or have been missing in action for a while. It offers plenty of opportunity for one on one student to teacher interaction, and allows the student the opportunity to work and go to school. It also offers excellent online courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an excellent school for students who are fresh out of high school or have been missing in action for a while. It offers plenty of opportunity for one on one student to teacher interaction, and allows the student the opportunity to work and go to school. It also offers excellent online courses.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school for students who are fresh out of high school or have been missing in action for a while. It offers plenty of opportunity for one on one student to teacher interaction, and allows the student the opportunity to work and go to school. It also offers excellent online courses.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    If they have them, i wouldn't know because i don't participate in these sorts of things.

    Great for these types of students

    The average every day student??

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're an in county resident the tuition is cheap.

    What to do for fun

    On campus??

    Food and Dining

    Local restaurants everywhere. There is a local coffee shop on campus. Students have minimal options.

    Dorm Life

    You live off campus. So there isn't really a dorm life so to speak at Horry George Town Tech. Maybe check with Coastal Carolina for options there.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not completely sure how to comment on the rigor of the school. Each professor has a different way to approach things, and your seriousness as a student is probably the most important thing in regards to your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for your classes, and in case you can't the advisor's will absolutely do everything they can to get you in.

    In three sentences

    If you're in the Myrtle Beach area, this is the best tech school for your money. Great campus's and the staff is extremely helpful. If you're planning on going to graduate school, this is a great place to start.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Awful. They try to take all of your money.

    Food and Dining

    It is a tech school so there is no cafeteria, but it is surrounded by many restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on HGTC, because it is a tech college. However, there are many different neighborhoods and houses around.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a great school. It has many different facilities; however, I do not like going here because if you do not know exactly what you want to go to school for, they are no help. It's definitely more like high school than college.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is taken well care of inside and out with new buildings and parking lots going up all over campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa member, Outside of school I am also the member of a local band called, That's Cool & Stuff. My husband and I have performed together for over 16 years. I am the bass plyer and sing lead on most songs. I am also the mother of three boys ages 10, 9, and 6 who are all actively involved in sporting activities. The whole family participates currently with taking Tae Kwon Do. Currently, (except for the youngest), we have all achieved our Orange belts!

    Great for these types of students

    Don't let your age deter you from getting back into school. There are many of us non-traditional students attending here!

    Bang for the buck

    The idea of going back to school was revealed to me through the VRAP program (for unemplyed veterans). Getting back into school after so many years of being out, I am excited like a child again putting my backpack on each morning to go to school! It is a very empowering time in my life showing me that I am able to achieve great things through my hard work and effort! Everything I am learning, I am able to directly apply it to the business that I have recently started. School could not have came back to me at no better time in my life! I am so blessed!

    What to do for fun

    Loved taking my kids to some of the outdoor movies on the campus grounds. Becoming a Phi Thetta Cappa member, I have started attending their meetings and meeting lots of cool people in there that have been very helpful in so many ways!

    Food and Dining

    Always enjoyed the salads that I made 2-3 times a week in the cafeteria. Never has any complaints! You can also go off campus and within a mile of the school you have multitudes of different places you can dine at.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying focused on your goals and always putting your best try forward will always give you results you can be happy with. Through my efforts, I am proud to say that I have been able to maiintain a 4.0 GPA each semester. This is a very personal goal that has brought me much joy knowing that I can do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the services offered anytime you are needing assistance. This includes (from my personal experience) wavenet central and the SSTC. Lots of helpful people there to assist you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with lots of improvements going on all the time to make it even better. My professors have all been top notch! I can't see going to any other school!

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HGTC has a great safety for their students. You see security around all the time.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs or activities at this school, just solely learning.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that like smaller class room and like to have one on one time with the teacher for help.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of state student and the price for me being full time does not break your pocket. Great price for the amount of classes and the teaching you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Some things to do for fun is go to library and study with other people and there are a lot of people to meet. You can also go to the SSTC for help and they make learning fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and they have a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm and it's a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excellent. By far best out of any college I have ever heard about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips from me are that it isn't easy so study hard but the teacher are more willing to help you in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    I love Horry Georgetown Technical College. They care about each and everyone of their students. It's a great college to start furthering your education at!

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The common core classes are spectacular. In the recent years, Horry-Georgetown has upgraded many of their classes to smart classrooms. This allows for a more techy approach to learning. The skills that come with this sort of learning style are perfect for on-the-job applications. The teachers, in my experience, have given a perfect work load. Just enough outside work is assigned to not stress one out, but still provide a perfect amount of daily review. That is not to say that one is not challenged. The classes push one enough to help the academic mind grow, as well as inspire creativity.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to advise prospective students to not let their guard down. Technical/Community colleges have a misconceived image upon them. Many students believe that they are easier, or that the education is not up to par. This is the furthest from the truth. Many of the professors understand why some students may choose to go to a Technical/Community college, and therefore are very passionate about their teachings and their students. I would also advise prospective students to take advantage of the small class sizes. The ability to have your professor know your name is a feature not many large scale universities can offer. If you are struggling on a particular topic, your professor will have the knowledge of how to help you specifically on an individual basis.

    In three sentences

    This college is a door way for many opportunities. If you take your time and put all of your effort into it, you will get everything back and more. It has prepared me for a four year university, as well as many others for future careers.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is ALWAYS present. The campuses are well-lighted and everyone keeps an eye out for each other.

    Great for these types of students

    HGTC is great for just about any type of student in my humble opinion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Life along the Grand Strand is more casual and laid back than other urban settings.

    Bang for the buck

    Coastal Carolina is next door to the Conway Campus. Hint, hint.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends. There is SO much to do for fun along the Grand Strand.

    Food and Dining

    The dining options at both the Conway and Grand Strand Campuses is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and there is considerable work and study outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. If you will require financial aid, keep an ongoing dialogue in place with the financial aid office and all the employees there. They really are there to help and are happy to do so. 2. Register for classes early; they fill up very quickly. 3. Enjoy your experience.

    In three sentences

    If I had the power to go back in time and attend ANY college, I would still attend Horry-Georgetown Technical College in a flat, skinny minute. I am an older student and never did I feel made uncomfortable due to my age or circumstance. I love Horry-Georgetown Technical College and am quite proud to have had the opportunity to attend and shortly graduate from there.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Market Common is located right next to the HGTC Grand Strand Campus. So there is a lot to do. Bars, restaurants, shopping, art in the park, yoga, gym & movies!

    Food and Dining

    What we have offered on campus is good although there definitely can be more options. Both campuses are located by lots of restaurants so maybe that is why there are less on campus options.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are honest and helpful about the work load for each class. Online tools are great. Course work & homework are developed for real life people working their way through school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be excited to be here. Local school with great, loving, professional educators. Students are friendly & welcoming.

    In three sentences

    HGTC is a wonderful school. All staff & administration are delightful to work with. I am in love with the Culinary Program.