Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Houghton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Houghton College is great for academically focused students. Students ready for a challenge will succeed here. It is a Christian school, so students open to Christian teachings will benefit. It is great for students of all social backgrounds - quiet or outgoing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Houghton College at least once to see what the community is like. The campus is beautiful and the students are welcoming.

    Bang for the buck

    Houghton College is worth every dollar spent. The professors are concerned about my academic success. The class sizes are small and beneficial to learning. The food and dorm life are good.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student body is close-knit and academically focused. My fellow students are a great help in my success in college. Activities are fun on campus, and I am getting to know many new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Academics are rigorous and challenging to me. The courses are thought-provoking and insightful.

  • 12/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Also because of the price look for scholarships. If you email the financial workers they will be more than willing to help you find scholarships that apply directly to you.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Houghton is expensive. The price you pay for the education is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere here is awesome. Coming from the Philippines, I thought that the transtition would be difficult. I was dreading coming to college because I did not know anybody. However, when I got here I was surprised by how nice the people treat you. They were really open and made my transition easy. Also the teacher's take time to take interest in your life

    Am learning a lot

    I went to a Christian High School in the Philippines and when I started looking for colleges I wanted to go to a Christian College, but I also wanted a college that would fully prepare me for my career. When I applied to Houghton I heard that it was difficult. However, when I actually got here it was really challenging. The professors teach alot of information but since they enjoy teaching it, the classes are not boring and learning results in being fun. Houghton is a tough academic environment, however, if you work hard you will succeed.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    couldn't ask for anything better. i never lock my dorm room. i have no problem leaving my laptop in the middle of the campus center and know that no one will steal anything. everyone is really trustworthy :)

    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of fun things to do. always. i signed up for a million clubs freshman year and have found a couple favorites: student alumni association, ultimate frisbee, rock climbing, and swing dancing :)

    Great for these types of students

    you have to be okay being in the middle of nowhere. great if you want to build really meaningful friendships, have lots of creative fun, and learn a little more what it means to live as a community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    houghton=middle of nowhere. there are tons of trails and places to explore. takes about 30-45 minutes to get to the nearest walmart. there are tons of quirky traditions. we have a huge rock on campus that gets decorated for any upcoming events, and a tree covered in chewing gum. there are also a lot of meaningful traditions. houghton has a very rich history and god has really worked there. every year we have class events that tell a little story about houghton's history.

    Bang for the buck

    college is expensive, but i feel like houghton does a pretty good job keeping the cost down. i feel like i am offered a lot of opportunities!

    What to do for fun

    there isn't a lot around houghton so people tend to stay on campus. that being said, there are always fun activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    i never go hungry. it is a small campus and so there aren't a ton of options, but i can always find something to eat and it is usually delicious :)

    Dorm Life

    amazing! residence life staff is amazing and committed to creating a safe, fun, and welcoming environment. so many wonderful people to meet!

    Academic Rigor

    there is a lot of work to do, but it is definitely reasonable. i'm learning a lot and have found that professors are happy to work with me as much as needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    come ready to learn, grow, and be challenged. try new things. reach out to people.

    In three sentences

    houghton is an extremely welcoming campus. the staff and professors are really there to help students and get to know them. i'm friends with many of my professors and that makes classes so much better.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who value their walk with Jesus Christ and place a high value on friendship and camaraderie.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out your specific area of interest and compare that specific program with those of other schools. Make sure that you are comparing apples to apples.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most economical choices of Christian colleges that I came across in my college search. I personally feel it's one of the most reasonably priced private institutions in the nation.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is exactly where God wants me to be. A very Christian atmosphere that challenges personal beliefs.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been stretched beyond every limit I thought that I had. Houghton has showed me that I can do things that I never thought possible. A very challenging curriculum.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a college away from the city, music and science majors, and those interested in Intercultural studies (missions, translation, Islam, inner city missions).

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit campus and spend a few days in a dorm with a current student. Definitely consider doing the Highlander Adventure Program at the beginning of your freshman or transfer fall semester. It is a great way to get to know some of your classmates as you spend 10 days on a wilderness adventure doing things you never imagined you could do.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very good price for a private, Christian school with very high academic standards. The teachers are passionate about what they teach and consequently you learn a lot in one semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. This friendly and quiet atmosphere is great for learning and makes it easy to focus on my studies. I enjoy finding a quiet place in the woods to read a book. There is plenty of space in the library for doing homework.

    Am learning a lot

    I like Houghton because the classes are small and the teachers are always willing to give you help. Sometimes they just like to sit and chat with students. You don't find those kind of relationships at big colleges.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to the dining hall when everyone else does, either go as soon as it opens or go half-hour before it closes. If you go when everyone else does, you will end up standing in a line, some people do not even get to eat lunch because they are standing in a line but they have a class in a few minutes and have to leave. On chapel days, I do not have classes immediately after, so I go about half-hour before my classes start (1:00)

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great fitness facility, basketball courts, pool, soccer field

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    Excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Houghton is an excellent school to further your education. Great professors and staff

    In three sentences

    Excellent school

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe on campus. this year, i had an issue with my key not working correctly in my dorm door, and the campus security took care of the problem immediately.

    Clubs and Activities

    all of the usual.

    Great for these types of students

    houghton recently expanded their science buildings and mac lab. they just received a huge donation for their sports programs, so expansions will be starting soon.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    twice a year, houghton puts on spot which gives the students a chance to perform for the college or show a video they've made, etc; prizes are given out.

    Bang for the buck

    i like houghton because it's a smaller college than some- about 2,000 students, which is nice.

    What to do for fun

    houghton is a small town with not a lot of stores and malls around-if those interest you, you'll have about a 45 minute drive. sometimes movies, recitals, art shows, etc. are going on, and there is always the gym to hang-out in. frequently, i'm trying to catch up on my sleep.

    Food and Dining

    i prefer fresher fruits and vegetables than what is served, but there is a wide-range of food. downstairs, there is also a burger joint, coffee shop, and this year the college has opened up another restaurant that allows you to use up to $100/ semester of your food-plan at the restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    houghton has you fill out a questionnaire on the type of person you are along with your likes and dislikes. they try to match you up with someone in common. this is very important, because you spend a lot of time in your dorm room with your roommate!

    Academic Rigor

    with the classes i'm taking, i'm kept busy with studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    as a freshman, i felt like a fish out of water. an information package with phone numbers, websites, maps, etc. of where i could go for help would have been extremely helpful. i'm learning as i go along.

    In three sentences

    i have a wonderful advisor who is willing to help me with any questions or problems i have. i don't care for every professor i've had, but that's normal. i'm glad i waited two years before going to college.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is good but unnecessary. rarely are there times when they have to step in. this part of new york is really calm

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is the rock climbing club which is a lot of fun. it starts during the spring and a lot of people tend to go.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are focused in school and want to get these done will appreciate the location of houghton. it is not near any commercial institutions such as malls. the nearest of such is about an hour away in buffalo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during the soccer season there is a group called shen block. this group cheers on the men's soccer team and is made up of about 40 to 50 guys painted and dressed up.

    Bang for the buck

    the food at big als is good and sort of cheap. there is also a grill incorporated which is cheap as well.

    What to do for fun

    there is a bowling place nearby that a lot of people go to as well as a ice rink. there is also big al's which has big screen televisions and people usually go to watch the big football games there.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not great here. there are times when it's really good, but overall not great. the breakfast is always good though.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is not great, but you get to meet a lot of people. as mentioned before, people are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    always, academic rigor depends on what you take. the school in general, however, does have a somewhat tough grading scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    i recommend one visits the school. it is in the middle of nowhere, which some people find to be a positive. you can really get focused on both your religion and academics here.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school that integrates faith and religion. the people here are nice and always make you feel welcome. also, the academics are strong and the passion for sports is here as well.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus is pretty secluded rurally but the community is great and you always see neighborhood kids playing and riding their bikes in the quad or families walking around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the cool things about campus is the giant rock. It is just a boulder in the quad that anyone can spray paint for advertising or announcement purposes. There are rock etiquette rules for painting it but anyone can and it is always fun to see what the rock looks like.

    What to do for fun

    Houghton is a very rural and secluded town so the campus tries to offer a lot because there isn't much off campus activities. There are many clubs and activities that are offered to appeal to all sorts of students. The country atmosphere also makes for a great area to take walks or you can got Letchworth state park which isn't far from here.

    Food and Dining

    The dining at Houghton is ok but its not spectacular. Some days are better than others in terms of choices of what to have to eat. You can never go wrong with a bagel or cereal when all else fails.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is so much fun! I have gotten so close with the girls on my floor and they are now my best friends and my family. We have so much fun together and they have made college so much better, without them getting used to college and getting through things would have been so much more difficult.

    Academic Rigor

    Houghton is a very challenging school academically. They have very high standards but that is a good thing because it motivates you to work harder. There is a lot of work but the professors are very helpful and want to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't procrastinate too much. Get involved with the campus and clubs and activities. Make the most of your time, it goes by really fast!

    In three sentences

    Houghton is an overall very friendly campus. The professors all genuinely care about you and want to help you succeed. The Christian environment is also very uplifting and encouraging.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can walk around by myself at 3 in the morning and feel completely safe.

    Greek Life

    Don't think there is any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ski club, Journeys End Tutoring, Life Club, Frisbee Club, Soccer, volleyball, etc. pretty standard

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, social, Christian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shenawana at the soccer games! you have to see it to believe it

    Bang for the buck

    It was totally worth going. It changed my life. I am closer to God and have made forever friendships.

    What to do for fun

    Granny Gerts!, Big Al's, Lambeine Creek clay fun, Quad/ outdoor fun, ski hill, nature trails, Java 101

    Food and Dining

    one word: BLUHHHHHH

    Dorm Life

    Awesome!!!! So much fun! Always something to do and amazing people to hang with.

    Academic Rigor

    An A is a 96 and there are no A+s to boost the GPA. Plus the honors courses are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the teachers. They really care about you and your grades.

    In three sentences

    Amazing people. Amazing faculty. A great place to go if you want to do your best, become your best and grow closer to God.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Houghton is somewhat secluded, most student activities are found on campus. However, there are hiking trails and nice, quiet lanes for biking or walking. The gym is open to students and has an indoor pool. Houghton's main drawback is how far away it is from the commodities of a large city, such as wal-mart, the movie theatre, or strip malls. However, Houghton works hard to balance this by providing a constant stream of student activities such as drama, intramural sports, and themed activities like dances and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality in the cafeteria is above the average high school cafeteria food, but is not particularly good. There are other food options as well as a student run coffee shop called Java-which is very good! There are a few restuarants nearby, including a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at houghton is fairly average. Freshmen have the option of a double, triple, or quad, but singles and apartments are available for upperclassmen. Dorms are not particularly large. Two double rooms are connected by a sink-room and triples each have their own. Every floor has a bathroom with showers, stalls, and sinks specifically for washing hair.

    Academic Rigor

    I will be starting at Houghton this fall, so I haven't had a chance to experience the academic aspect yet. However, I get the sense that the academic programs are stellar. All the faculty hold significant degrees in their fields and there are select Honors programs available. Many opportunities are available for students as far as internships and student run projects such as the Houghton Star newspaper. Study abroad opportunities are available to all students, and is encouraged to help develop a sense of other cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Write down questions on a piece of paper beforehand or whenever you think of one so that you are prepared when you go for a college visit. Write down your initial impressions of a college during a campus visit as soon as you can, so that you can look back and use your notes to help you make a decision.

    In three sentences

    The most striking aspect of Houghton College is the strong sense of community. Both the faculty and students are willing to share their own experiences without bias in order to guide prospective students towards the choice that will best suit their interests. The entire atmosphere is very friendly and the staff and faculty show a genuine interest in getting to know students.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is excellent, there is little if any that goes on in the campus. People can leave their laptops open on a table and come back 2,3 hours later and it will still be there.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a variety of clubs ranging from college choir, gospel choir, heritage club, equestrian, Student Government Association, canoeing, skiing, foreign languages and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for everyone but it is exceptionally great for those who are interested in equestrian studies, pre-med, pre-vet, pre-dental, art, psychology, music, and history.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Houghton would be painting a large boulder almost every month and we have gym trees that have those advices that come at the back of tea bags.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much that I could say about Houghton College from the academics, work-study, tutors, jobs, friends, teachers but then that would be based on my experience. I want you to come and have a great experience that you will never forget.

    What to do for fun

    At Houghton College, since it is slightly remote you learn to become inventive with your free time. Games, movies, bowling, skateboarding, biking, skating, walking, going to the gym, concerts, the art shows, or just laying out on the grass and enjoying the day.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is supplied by Sudexo and there are a variety of choices to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are even dishes for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great, it is not co-dormitory but you do bond with the people on your floor and even with the people in the building. There is always some kind of fun activities that everyone is doing almost every week.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is challenging and it requires some thinking outside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend always to pack light because you will always be bringing things from home every break . And I also advice you to not only take the classes seriously but to have fun during those four years.

    In three sentences

    Houghton College is a place where people can develop in their academic skills, communication, spiritual relationship and build friendships that last for a lifetime. It is a place where people connect no matter where their career goals will take them in the future.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs and activities. Every student should be able to find at least one that interests them! They are also available to a wide range of students - for example, you don't have to be a music major to play in the orchestra or a science major to be in the science honors program.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students interested in an academically challenging school rather than a school with a big social life (although there are plenty of opportunities to get involved on campus, too!).

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great quality, for college food, which, of course, doesn't come near to home cooking. :-) After your Freshman year, you have the option to make some of your own meals, if you want to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly small, which makes it nice to get to know people on your floor and such. Often the first friends you will make will be people from near where you live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Houghton has a very rigorous academic program - but you're there to learn, aren't you?

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply here if you aren't interested - it is a rigorous process, especially if you are applying for things like the Honors Programs or various competitive scholarships. But if you are a fairly good student and are willing to spend some time applying, your chances of getting accepted are pretty high.

    In three sentences

    This college has a very friendly atmosphere - people talk to you even if they don't know you when you're visiting campus. It is a smaller schooler, about 1100 students, so you can get to know just about everyone in your class if you want to. And it's way out in the middle of nowhere, so if you're there, chances are that you want to be there. :-)

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Houghton College is quite safe. The biggest crime on campus last year was the vandalism (spray paint) of a closed student residence hall. Stealing is almost non-existent; you could leave your laptop unattended, and it would either be there when you returned or in the lost-and-found. Students leave their rooms unlocked for the most part.

    Greek Life

    There are not any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Houghton College has recently entered the NCAA. There are plenty of intramural sports. Houghton has many outreach programs, a couple drama societies, several academic clubs, an equestrian club, a couple of literary groups (newspaper, yearbook, and magazine), and a couple of athletic activity clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Houghton College is perfect for any of the Christian faith, those who enjoy the country, and/or students who are looking for close relationships. Also, the college has an equestrian center for those who want to bring their horse or ride and care for the college's horses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school has a gum tree along the way up to the athletic center - students like to stick their ABC gum on this tree. A fairly well-known tradition among the adventurous students is bridge-jumping. All you do is find a bridge with enough water under it to safely jump into from the bridge's sides. Homecoming is a tradition in itself with the scarf-adorning ceremony for freshmen and the hat-donning ceremony for sophomores and other such occasions. The male dorm Shenawana has Shen Olympics which is No Females Allowed due to their performing in the nude (this is the rumor - no one except Shen men know what goes on up there). The Highlander Wilderness Adventure is another school sponsored tradition - the head of the athletic department leads groups into the Northwestern New York wilderness to develop responsible outdoors activity, comradeship, and spirituality.

    Bang for the buck

    Houghton College has done a great job in hiring attentive teachers who care about each student's progress. They have a thorough Financial Aid department who will work with you to receive all that their students can. For a small school, they tend to go beyond expectation.

    What to do for fun

    Houghton College is in the middle of nowhere which means one has to make their own fun, which any country grown person will know how that is. There are local swimming holes, trails through the woods (Allegany State Park is just down the road about 15 minutes), and all the people on campus. The college has a great Student Life team which work to organize fun things on campus like celebrations (Homecoming), campus-wide movie nights, and Spot (a student-comedy night once each semester). Houghton does have a variety of clubs which regularly meet. The drama clubs regularly perform and they tend to be quite good. The school has an equestrian center for horseriders. Olean - the nearest town - is one half hour away which is where most students go shopping and see a movie. Buffalo - the closest city - is one hour away; most students go to Buffalo to get out of the country.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room food can get old fast if one insists on eating the same things - some think it is poor quality, but I think it is pretty good. There are two fast food places within five minutes walking distance - a Chinese take out (which is really good) and Subway. 3 Bums Pizza delivers to the dorms and is a five minute drive from campus. Houghton College has in the basement of the Campus Center its answer to Starbucks called Java 101 which is a nice treat. It is relatively quiet and a very peaceful place to chill. It also has Big Al's which has burgers, wings, fries, desserts, and other foods of that variety. Big Al's shares its space with Sandella's, a healthy alternative that serves wraps, salads, and other entrees with leafy greens. Being in the country, there are other homegrown establishments which are fun to check out.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Life staff and Leadership Council are in charge of the dorms and their activities. They schedule dorm events, and the RAs organize floor events. The dorm events tend to be annual events while the floor events can be sparse depending on how dedicated the RA is. I find that the RAs always schedule a floor event at least once month (moreso in the girls' than the boys' dorms). It is what you make it though; if you participate it can be loads of fun. The dorms have open hours for the opposite sex - Houghton College has a zero-tolerance for breaking visiting hour rules. Make sure you are well-versed. This also goes for drugs (obviously) and alcohol. Alcohol is not allowed on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely knowledgeable and strive to impart their knowledge to their students. If you are able to take comprehensive notes and study them well, tests tend to go well. The professors love short answer and essay tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a physical challenge and making close friends, sign up for the before-school freshman and transfer student program, the Highlander Wilderness Adventure. You will not regret it!

    In three sentences

    Houghton is a great community of dedicated teachers and eager students. Thought a small Christian college, it has a strong tradition and is welcoming to all. It is far from the distractions of city life.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Christian Centered, although not necessary

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are the Highlanders in sports, so for homecoming we do traditional Highlander activities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities right on campus in which anyone can participate.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good

    Academic Rigor

    Students at Houghton are encouraged to excel

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a small college that makes you feel like you belong, come to Houghton College

    In three sentences

    I find Houghton College to be an excellent small school experience. The professors and coaches provide so much positive encouragenment to all the students. I love that professors know you by name on sight.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walking at night on campus, leaving valuables out, and keeping our doors unlocked are all completely safe and acceptable. You can't be ignorant, but campus is safe and crime is VERY low.

    Greek Life

    NONE! Fraternities and sororities are not present on or near our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We don't have every club possible, but overall there are many different kinds of things you can get involved in. Environmental Club, Global Christian Fellowship, Water Sports, Choirs, and other clubs are prominent on campus. Did I forget to mention our Nerf Club too??

    Great for these types of students

    People truly desiring to grow in their faith. People serious about homework. People seeking a strong community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of them you have to see for yourself, but the men will serenade the dorms more than once in a semester. It is always fun to scream out the windows at the wonderful Houghton men singing everyone love songs!

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely a place that is worth the money. The community, the location, the support, and the education are all exceptional and all from the Christian POV. If you want a quiet place to seek the Lord and have a wonderful education, this is a place to be!

    What to do for fun

    There are concerts, sporting events, and other random events throughout the semester. The dorms and floors have events, and CAB (Campus Activities Board) often has events. We have speakers often as well, many of whom share wonderful messages. If you think Christian worship is fun, then we have many different types and styles of worship that you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to other schools, our dining hall is amazing! However, we have two places to eat (and one has limited hours), so you get tired of the same things very quickly. Either way, the food is decent!

    Dorm Life

    There are two girls dorms, two guys dorms, and upperclassmen townhouses. All dorms and houses have specific hours for the opposite gender to be in. You get used to being around girls/boys, but it is different from most schools. Each dorm has its pros and cons, but overall, housing on-campus is not difficult or disgusting at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect a lot of hard work, and the course loads aren't simple. The school work is manageable, but it is definitely something to get used to. Note: The work increases AFTER your freshman year, so don't be fooled in your Gen Ed classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the requirements for AP courses and other college credits. Some things will count and many things won't. Try to make connections with other students, even upperclassman. Contacts help you get started when there is such a small student body.

    In three sentences

    Houghton is a academically rigorous school that keeps students busy! Despite being in the middle of nowhere, and 45 minutes from the nearest shopping centers, there is always something to do. The student body is friendly, and welcoming, so that whenever you are on campus, you can feel like a part of a wonderful place!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    STUFF!

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    It's been great in my experience.

    Academic Rigor

    HARD

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into the college preparing to work your butt off.

    In three sentences

    Houghton College is a Wesleyan school. Its science programs are the most difficult. It has an ivy league grading scale.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is rather really nothing around, but there is a Subway and a China Star. There is also a beautiful park, as well as small towns with some stores.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining hall on campus, but also a Big Al's and Sandellas downstairs. The food down there is amazing. Big Al's serves burgers and wings and chicken and greasy food. Sandellas sells flatbreads and salads and broccoli flatbread bowls. In the main dining hall, you have the main food, sandwiches, stir fry, pizza, a specialty, dessert, salad, specialty salad, bread, cereal, and bagels.

    Dorm Life

    There are two girls dorms and two guys dorms - yes they are separated. There are certain open hours for the opposite gender to come in. There are lounges for everyone to hang out on as well. On each floor, there is an resident assistant, kitchen, shower, bathroom, and lounge. Quiet hours are from 11pm-8am.

    Academic Rigor

    Houghton College is very rigorous. Your professors expect a lot from you. Classes are generally 4 credits each, with some exceptions. However, you get what you pay for! I know that I have learned so incredibly much from my classes, and this will all help with my career!

    Tips for prospective students

    For you prospective students, try to stay overnight in a dorm; you will get more of an experience if you stay in a dorm. Also, meet with the admission counselor and ask any questions that you have. Get a tour of the campus; it's small, so it shouldn't take you long.

    In three sentences

    Houghton College is a welcoming college that stresses community. this is a college of about 1,400 students where students have small classes and where the professors really reach out to you ad care about you as a person. Being a private Christian college, Houghton strives to raise up the next generation of students on a Christ-centered foundation.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No offense, but you shouldn't be going to Houghton if all you want to do is party in college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a ton of clubs and activities to get involved in, so get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring before Spring---don't do it! Shen Men Java SPOT shows

    What to do for fun

    Mattress jumping during loud hour of finals week is great! Join a club Go to games JAVA!!!

    Food and Dining

    There is such a diverse range of foods. The desserts are too good. There is a stir fry station and 20 different flavors of ice cream!

    Dorm Life

    I have been very fortunate to be in a great dorm. I have made really close friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very pleased with my academic experience at Houghton. It is challenging, and the professors are the best. I feel that they do their best to encourage and help you pursue a successful future, but also deeply care about the students spiritual lives as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Houghton! Be sure to apply for as many scholarships as you can and keep your grades up, seniors, don't slack off because hard work always counts! make sure to visit the campus before you make a decision

    In three sentences

    Houghton is a wonderful school that integrates the pursuit of knowledge and the Christian faith. The campus is beautiful and peaceful. In addition, the students, faculty, and staff are some of the nicest people I have ever known.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and has adequate lighting at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of options

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working adults

    Bang for the buck

    The PACE program is definitely the Bang for the Buck. Due to its accelerated pace and class structure while also including the books as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ideal program for working adults.

    In three sentences

    I love the class structure and flexibility. The staff is very helpful. I would recommend others to attend the PACE program.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As I said before, it is really safe. Just use your common sense and don't leave anything extremely valuable in plain sight. There is a locked drawer in your dorm room to secure these. And if you still feel at risk, there is a campus safety desk. Just talk to any parent of a current student, and they'll let you know that Houghton is a very safe place.

    Clubs and Activities

    The problem with those is that they require free time. And you can't do them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious... religious... um, religious? You shouldn't come here if you arn't contemplating becoming a Christian, or already are one. Learning and growing in your faith is interwoven into every aspect of campus life. And how else could you survive a mandatory chapel attendance?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you're a guy, you want to room in Shenawana Dorm. They have Shen Block, which is a group that dresses up and makes a ruckus in the stands for every guys' soccer match. If you're a girl, take the time to see a guys' soccer match. The homework can wait, but the team only has so many matches a season! (And sit on the right side of the bleachers for a special surprise!)

    What to do for fun

    Did you know that the Houghton College website has a list of 101 Things to Do posted under the Current Students link?

    Food and Dining

    Everyone gripes about cafeteria food, and it isn't your mom's cooking. But Houghton provides a good variety of selections. Hot and cold breakfasts are available, and your lunch and dinner options range from sandwiches, pizza, vegetarian/vegan dishes, fast food options (burgers, fries, chicken nuggets, and grilled sandwiches), a stir-fry station, a salad bar, soup, specialty salads, and fresh bread. And don't forget to choose your dessert, from ice cream to cookies, and pudding. There has been known to be an appearance of cheese cake for special occasions.

    Dorm Life

    First off, Houghton is a dry campus with a strict no-drugs-no-smoking policy. Don't come here if you want to party. This being said, we still have fun. Each floor has floor events so you make fast friends. The campus is small enough that you can find a friend from another dorm within 5 minutes. We throw surprise birthday parties, and watch movies together. But you can always count on time to sleep and study; dorm quiet hours are from 11pm to 8am.

    Academic Rigor

    Houghton is considered to be academically challenging. To get an A- you need a 94. The hardest courses are the Honors Programs, and East Meets West. But who's to say they arn't fun?

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing you should learn are the cafeteria hours. There is nothing worse than being one minute late to dinner and having to find an alternate option. And be alert for hour changes on the weekend. Allow your lunchtime to be flexible. Chapel precedes lunch, and everyone trying to get lunch at the same time leads to lines that last for 30 minutes or more. If you have a class within the next 45 minutes, you may want to eat after that class.

    In three sentences

    Houghton gives off a sense of maturity. Students here respect what's yours, whether you choose to never lock you dorm room door, or to leave your jacket and books lying in the lounge while you eat dinner. And you rarely go through a day without someone holding a door open for you, and you reciprocating the favor.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Every trusts everyone else in this Christian environment.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for the studious Christian student who wants to excel academically in a decidedly Christian environment.

    Bang for the buck

    With great financial packages, I was able to attend Houghton for less than the State college

    What to do for fun

    I like to go for walks on the many quiet trails or work out at the gym. There are also a lot of campus-wide activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK. Great variety, but not quite like at home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent with strict rules about dorm life expectations.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to live in a quiet environment. There's not much to do around Houghton, but the area is beautiful.

    In three sentences

    Houghton is a small, peaceful school. Academic standards are high. The entire community supports the students and strives for their success.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have some great ones, but they aren't always easy to find.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who enjoy coming up with crazy, clean fun. Not for people who are bored easily. Also, students need to be willing to put in a lot of effort academically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a big rock that people spray paint and decorate all the time. It has been used as ad space for events, a place to ask people on dates, a giant eyeball, pacman, Starry Night, and so much more! One girl even knitted it a hat last year :) We also have the gum trees...

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously, I love Houghton College! But just a tip from someone who has gone through the selection process. If you're not in love with the campus, keep searching. Your perfect school, the place you belong, is out there somewhere! Don't settle!

    What to do for fun

    You really make your own fun. There's a nerf club, and a group plays murder in the dark every week in Paine... Letchworth state park is nearby...

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. We make a big show of complaining about sodexo, but it's not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm, and it's very open and friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework is challenging, but professors are fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not a party school... drinking, drugs, sleeping around aren't prominent. If that's what you're looking for, I would probably look elsewhere. This campus is a great place to make your own fun! My friends and I make blanket forts in the campus center to watch movies at three a.m. and other crazy stuff like that!

    In three sentences

    Houghton is a great place to make amazing friends and learn from professors that have a passion both for their subjects and for their students. It's a safe, fun environment in which to become the person you were created to be. Plus we have a nerf club, of which I'm the secretary.... it rocks!

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to be pushed and achieve goals that otherwise thought to be out of reach.

    What to do for fun

    Host a small home group for some students from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I support myself

    Academic Rigor

    Reach for excellence and you will achieve it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save and Strive for the Best!

    In three sentences

    Academically Successful while reaching limits that you didn't know you could reach. Financially high for an average adult that has no savings or source for obtaining additional funding other than outside sources.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Shen Men are a group of guys from a dorm who dress up in silly costumes and support the men's games by singing or chanting their own cheers. Very entertaining and loud.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus activities going on throughout the week. Many different clubs, intramural sports, and groups to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but the lack of options makes the food grow old fast.

    Dorm Life

    This really depends on which dorm you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    At Houghton, you will have some classes where a 96 is an A, and a 93 is an A-. You will also have classes where a 94 is an A, and a 90 is an A-. Depends on the the professor, but across the board it is academically rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a girl, ask to see Gillette Hall. Really think about the lack of places to eat, as well as the small town. Houghton is a very good school but if you can't handle these things, you may not want to go there.

    In three sentences

    Houghton College is a small, friendly campus where you get to know your professors and peers. It is a Christian campus which means you have to attend chapel each week, and there are numerous Christian activities going on during the week. The campus is in a very, very small town in Western NY.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Homeschoolers, International Students, and students looking for a Christian Community Campus.

    What to do for fun

    http://www.houghton.edu/campus-life/101-things-to-do/ CAB: Campus Activities Boards plan events such as glow-in-the-dark rollerskating, movie nights (recent release; VERY recent), Midnight breakfast!, Midnight murder mystery, Theatre on Campus, Musical Theatre Club, FILA (Foam in the Liberal Arts) Nerf Club and MUCH MORE!!!

    Food and Dining

    Houghton dining services include a cafeteria, a burger place (Big Al's), and a coffee shop. Off campus you can find a Subway and Chinese restaurant. Still looking for more? Ask an international professor or staff member to teach you a new recipe from their home country!

    Dorm Life

    DORM LIFE IS THE BEST! :)

    Academic Rigor

    You will get your butt kicked. I graduated Valedictorian of my high school class, and I am proud of my (Harvard Grading Scale) GPA of 3.5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college! It truly makes a difference when you can talk to professors and students and experience the campus for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Houghton is place where you will be challenged spiritually, academically, and in your world view. You will grow relationships with students and faculty in a way that will encourage you in your academic endeavors and your spiritual journey. Expect to be changed here and to experience a beautiful community where you can find your calling and be prepared to chase after it full speed!

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can hunt on campus and every time I check in with them to take my bow out of the safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shen bloc is when the entire guys dorm dresses up in the wackiest outfits and find somthing that will make noise and head down to the athletic field. There we cheer our hearts and lungs out supporting our soccer teams.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a hefty debt that I will be going into, but this is the last step before graduate school prior to entering the workforce. I have no fear that I will be able to repay that debt soon after I get out of college.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, many clubs one of them being my favorite Nerf Club, hunting, singing, prayer, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is in control this year and they do a great job. There are some days where it's hard to find something you want, but there always is something.

    Dorm Life

    I know every person in my dorm they are all friendly and I know most of them very well after just meeting them this year. Did I mention that we have floor devotions?

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't think that it would be that hard coming into college. I found out soon that I was wrong. Houghton College has excellent academic programs that force the student into a learning mode to gain the most they possibly can out of their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    The whole cost of college factor did play a major part of my decision in coming here. Don't be afraid to step outside of your comfort zone. God will always provide for you regardless of the circumstances and situation.

    In three sentences

    Houghton College is a small-town, Christian college, surrounded by an outstanding community. I felt the warmth of people's hearts the first time I set foot on campus. The experience thus far is truly unremarkable and well worth it!