Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Housatonic Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    An affordable option whether Your considering a 2 year degree, or interested in a transfer program. It is an affordable option if You are worrying about paying off student loans.

    Bang for the buck

    Housatonic Community college is not a dorm college. The College is for everyday people who want a secondary education. People who attend this school, work jobs, have children, or are students who live in the surrounding area. Many HCC Students transfer to 4 year colleges because of the affordability of HCC- This is a perfect starting off point. The School offers an excellent education with excellent professors and teachers.

    What to do for fun

    The area offers many exciting things for entertainment. Seaside park, festivals, Harbor yard, Theatres, restaurants, swimming

    Food and Dining

    The HCC area has many great places to eat!!! Try something new and differnt. The city offers Greeek, Italian, Jamaican, Spanish, Jewish, turkish restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start registering as early as possible. Prepare Your FAFSA. Work hard.

    In three sentences

    Housatonic Community College is a 2 year college that offers certifications, degrees and transfer programs. The college is convenient to My home & public transportation. HCC is affordable & has an excellent reputation in my community.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety Officers

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Senate, Women's Groups, Men's Groups, Professional Groups, Religious Groups, Minority Groups, and more

    Great for these types of students

    serious, learning disabled, honor, legal immigrants, seniors, continuing education, hybrid, and more

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus has diverse populations elders, professionals, parents, high school students, and more.

    Bang for the buck

    Make use of the student labs. Get extra help and anticipate problems you may have with subjects. Plan to schedule appointments with tutors before hand.

    What to do for fun

    Join a student club or shop downtown Bridgeport.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is decent. More than one Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus. College closes at 10 p.m. Plenty of lounging areas. Student life is active.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are reasonable. Small class room size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid assistance early. Research opportunities in advance.

    In three sentences

    Housatonic Community college is an ideal school for individuals who have lower incomes and/or are minorities. It is located in downtown Bridgeport in close proximity to buses, train station and ferry. HCC has transfer partnerships with four year colleges located in New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and others.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is taken very serious, from the parking to when your in the halls there are always security enforcers out.

    Greek Life

    there are no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Housatonic provides a huge number of clubs and activities such as, bowling club, computer design club, and clubs outside campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    definitely you must check out the huge court yard, in between classes everyone goes out there when its a nice day and just a breather, there they have a lot of events when the day is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of things to do for fun, you can join one of many clubs the school provides.

    Food and Dining

    their is a cafe in the school, it's not to bad, some of the food there is good but, because this college is in the dead center of the downtown area, there are many fine dining all over and very close.

    Dorm Life

    since this is a community collegs there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    one word of advice for Housatonic Community College future goer's is, never underestimate your professors, they're very serious about grading.

    In three sentences

    Housatonic Community College in my opinion is a great place to jump start your career as an undergrad. Housatonic is by far one of the best schools that your career opportunity's are endless.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security guards around both campus' and they often walk around the halls for safety precautions. Housatonic is a safe school. For as long as I have been attending, I have not heard of anything going wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    Housatonic has a bunch of clubs available such as: healthy living club, photography, psychology, music, business, and so much more. Basically for any class there is a club. They also have dance classes available and different festivities during the spring and summer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to transfer after they complete their two years in college or reached their associates degree. It is also great for students who are unsure of what they want to take up as their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, I have not paid too much attention to this. But the food courts usually are filled with different groups. Though I cannot say directly what the groups are, it is obvious that people tend to break off into certain cliques.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the park, explore the art gallery, or attend the events and activities. During the spring and summer Housatonic has a lot of festivities going on, so I would recommend you look out for those.

    Food and Dining

    There are two food courts located on both campus' but you can also go outside of school. Around the school are many dining areas and also fast food restaurants. It's only but a walk and the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher that you have. Some are strict and some are easy to work with. Many know exactly what they teach and how to make certainty and understanding of that course, while others don't. If you want to be in a class with a teacher who is known to be great, be sure to check on ratemyprofessor.com.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you apply for major classes on time such as sciences, because they fill up the quickest. Do not fall off purposely in any class because you will be likely to hold yourself back from reaching your graduation date. Try to be apart of any volunteer options available to help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    Housatonic is located in downtown Bridgeport among several buildings, dining sit-ins, and recreational parks. There's always plenty to do like take walks, go to the park, eat at restaurants, or shop during breaks. The school itself is very relaxing and satisfactory, so my rating would be an 8 on a scale of 10.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Expensive food that is not at all appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Huge parking garage with atleast one car accident occurring per day.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty easy, but it doesn't seem like the professors enjoy teaching here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not attend this school again.

    In three sentences

    Financial aid office lost my financial aid in their system and are making me pay out of pocket for their mistake. Multiple people's social security numbers were stolen from their computer system and I am hoping mine wasn't one if them. Stay away from this place if you want to keep your money safe.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security staff all over the building and walking throughout the garage. Also they have little help buttons you just push in the hallway and they can see you on camera and talk to you through speaker

    Greek Life

    I am not involed with the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently not involved in any clubs or activities on campus. I am a Girl Scout leader and my son's tball, team mom

    Great for these types of students

    All students.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are inexpensive

    What to do for fun

    The school has many activities you can take part in.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad.

    Dorm Life

    I commute. They do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is always better to go to the school to find out any information you need, rather than calling. Check out the campus and the art displays.

    In three sentences

    The teachers, advisors and councilors really help you in anywaythe can. They care about your education. Wonderful facility, new science labs coming soon.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Gsa music gym etc...

    Bang for the buck

    money-saving

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of group activities to do and every once in a while there is an event going on

    Food and Dining

    the food is delicious

    Dorm Life

    there isn't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on point

    In three sentences

    the financial aid is very good covers most or all the tution. there are a lot of extra activities to do. the teachers are great and understanding.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not once have there been any major problems on campus since I have been here, and a security officer can be seen at almost all times around the building.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek things here are either a piece of art and the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't say for certain because I am not part of any, but they are here and I have never heard anything bad about them.

    Great for these types of students

    Art- the school is primarily centered on art so anything involving a paint brush, camera, graphic effects, or unique creativity. Everyone- Like I mentioned financial aid can usually cover the entire tuition you there for so it's great for anyone looking to get core credits out of the way for cheap.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is nothing really traditional they do, but being primarily an art school you may on occasion see a piece of art that makes you stop and look for one of two reasons: That's really cool and interesting or Were they high when they did this?

    Bang for the buck

    If you get your FAFSA to them on time your financial aid award usually covers the entire semester tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Again it's a community college you go home after class, but they do have clubs and activities from time to time so check bulletin boards for anything interesting.

    Food and Dining

    Two cafeterias with food choices that you may want to avoid if you want to stay healthy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it's a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on how devoted you are to the subject. *Picking a highly rated professor helps too.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Rate-my-professor.com has all of the faculty on it so look up what teacher you are going to have so you are prepared 2. Make sure financial aid (and all) paperwork required is in on time, or you will be waiting until the end of time for a response.

    In three sentences

    A good college to go to for core courses on the cheap. Very helpful in giving ideas on what you want to major in. A very good starting point for adjusting to college life if your coming straight out of high school.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say for the most part its pretty safe since there are security guards constantly roaming the halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs including, photography club, business club, criminal justice club, religious clubs and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love siting outside in my free time with friends or sitting and group studying.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym for those who are active. And there are student life activities that happen at the events center.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually amazing i love it especially the cheese fries.

    Academic Rigor

    Its ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious in class and do all the work because unlike high school teachers don't let you do make up work late.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice environment. Teachers and staff are willing to help in anyway they can. And there are tutoring sessions for many subjects like math, science, english etc.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think it is odd how they separate the two buildings. I think because it is such a small school, it could have all remained one, as not to confuse students from out of town. But this is just my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Well because the tution here is not as high as some traditional community college I thinkj the cost matches the learning experience in this case. Once I do grow in my career path I would like to go on to an official University! In the economy we are in today, I am greatful to have a community college in my area.

    What to do for fun

    There is the music club. Across the school, they post opportunities of leisure activities, which some will afford you extra credit. Finally there is a gym which is always excellent!

    Food and Dining

    Because my particular schedule outside of school is extremely busy I honestly have not had the chance of utilizing the dining room. I do however appreciate the vending machines on each floor. I appreciate having the option.

    Dorm Life

    Housatonic does not have dorms. It is a Community College. I think possibly in the future if it is able to expand, then that would be an awesome idea!

    Academic Rigor

    I would say Housatonic's books are large and expensive. For my particular field, I don't feel all of the classes I am taking are skills I am actually using in my career as an Executive. But I do appreciate the excitement my instructors have as it motivates me to pay attention even when I am drained from my work and family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and the classes you'd like early as the city of Bridgeport has a large population. Also if you drive, you should arrive early because the parking garage usually fills quickly. And it is best to take advantage of the computer labs during the week as they have the latest operation hours on the weekend.

    In three sentences

    This community college is affordable. This community college has a variety of classes I was able to chose from for my major all seven days of the week. Finally the teachers thus far are very enthusiastic about their particular topics of discussion and patient.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types including journalism, GSA, and language clubs

    What to do for fun

    Talk with other students, join one of the many clubs, walk around downtown which is where the school is located

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria but its small

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and really want you to succeed. You are held to guidelines that I imagine any school would hold you too at this level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and use all the help that is offered. There is way more than you might think.

    In three sentences

    I believe that HCC is a great school for those who are looking to bring up their grades to transfer. It is also great for those who cannot necessarily take loads of classes at a time. HCC works at your speed!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is super affordable compared to every other school out there with excellent teachers from all over including Sacred Heart, Fairfield University, and UCONN. Financial aid helps a lot with tuition and books, plus there's always money left over in the refund checks for most of the students which says a lot about the tuition. The cafeteria food is a little more expensive for my taste, but is very very good.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located right in the middle of Downtown, Bridgeport. So it is surrounded by shops and fast food places.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE the food. There are so many options the cafeteria already offers, including homemade specials, and there's even a few restaurants outside the school for even more variety.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a dorm college. It is great for those who have jobs or children; the classes definitely have a wide range of times to work around your own schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff are very helpful, do not be afraid to ask for any help.

    In three sentences

    The school is kept in very well condition; very clean and inviting. It is always kept at a low noise level; no headaches from yelling students. It also has smiling, helpful staff everywhere you go.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can sit and talk with friends if you have any.

    Food and Dining

    No healthy alternatives, such as; wheat bread, egg white sandwiches, salads, or turkey burgers.

    Dorm Life

    The school has no dorm but the campus is very boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work and seek help if you need it most teachers are always eager to help.

    In three sentences

    The school academically wise is very good. The professors are great and enthusiastic. Campus wise the school is very boring there is no student lounge and the cafeterias are very tiny and have limited options for food that are not even all that appatizing, unless all you eat is fast food.

  • 09/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HCC has security offices and video cameras to watch and protect student's safety.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kapp Alpha Sigma Phi

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name but some of them are: Student Senate, Christians Club, Honors Club, and Black Student Union Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and any age

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome Back Party

    Bang for the buck

    Wish there were more scholarship opportunities offered to students with high GPA, but I got my first two semesters were completely paid for. However, by the third I owed a little to complete my last 3 classes.

    What to do for fun

    Student Clubs and events

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes, do your homework, be respectful, and student for test.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a place to learn from interesting, fun, and intelligent professors. There are opportunities to become part of honor societies. Students can increase their GPA and save on college during their first two years. Then, transfer to their dream school with scholarship offers based on their good grades; leaving students with less loans to worry about.