Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Howard College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student looking for a great nursing program, a cosmetology school, and a place to earn an associates degree. Howard College even offers CPR classes and certifications in many areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Howard College is an inexpensive school which offers a variety of degrees from cosmetology to even nursing. All you have to do is go online to apply.

    Bang for the buck

    I go to Howard College in San Angelo and it is super cheap. If you just want to get your basics over with but do not want to spend a lot of money, I would recommend going here. All of your credits will transfer to an accredited college or university. It also has a great nursing program and is a great college for earning an associates degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to Howard College because there are no classes on Fridays! Also, they are really good about working with your schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at Howard College because the class rooms are smaller than a university. Also, the teachers do their best to schedule an appointment with you if you need to meet. There are also tutors on campus which will help you if you are having difficulties.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get your basics out of the way at a very affordable price, I highly recommend this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes for taking 17 hours a semester, it is much cheaper than the University here in San Angelo.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the fact that it is 10 minutes from my house, and it very easy to commute from home, work, and etc.

    Am learning a lot

    I have attended Howard College for over a year, and I must say I am very pleased with the school. I have chosen this school for the simple fact that it is affordable compared to other college's that I have looked at.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some sports and activities, but not as many as there are in larger schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for graduated high school students who are coming from a small school or graduated home schoolers who are not wanting to immediately transfer to a university. The staff are great in providing as much encouragement as you need to help you navigate your way through higher education.

    In three sentences

    I take most of my classes online and I find the process simple to figure out and easy to use. The atmosphere of the campus is always calm. Most important to me is the staff, whom are always quick and helpful.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although there is no recreation, there is social bonding. Everyone enjoys communication and at Howard everyone helps one another. You can go outside and enjoy the landscape and have a walk around with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is nice for its low cost construction, it has computers and lounging areas for social students. Food is not top dollar, it only accompanies Chick-Fil-A as the choice of food service. Tables and chairs are comfortable and is not so noisy for people who wish to study in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available at Howard College which is one reason the tuition is very low compared to other colleges. Although there are no dorms available, there are many housing areas near Howard College. Howard College in the future in going under construction to making a bigger change to its architecture and will later have dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well knowledgeable instructors who know a great variety of their careers to help students understand the field as well. Classes are very flexible for morning or evening options for students who are working. Howard College has a very high success rate and low drop out rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are interested in Howard College will have an incredibly easy time paying for tuition and book costs as the college is not an overly expensive beginning of their education. Friendly environment with many helpful people, strangers no longer become strangers but more as helpful people. Students who are looking to finish basic studies should really take into account of Howard College and then later transfer to a University of choice.

    In three sentences

    Howard College is a clean, friendly and sophisticated environment. Good for low income families and students to afford. Amazing and knowledgeable instructors that will work with you to help you do great in your course and field of study.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Chick fil a isn't bad, just slow.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes you have to take the initiative and read the material even if they do not tell you to. With multiple teachers I found this out the hard way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school! Best nursing program in Texas! Get involved! And get scholarships!

    In three sentences

    I wish there were more classes offered, however, they offer the basics that I need to transfer. Teachers are great, and so is all the staff. And I think it stinks that we have to pay out of district tuition.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Howard College has 24 hour security on the campus so if you are in need they will be there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs but there are always some kind of activiy being planned.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to go into the dental field or nursing field should go to Howard. There is an excellent Dental school and Nursing school here.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a very cheap one. Just because it is cheap doesn't mean it is bad. you actually get a great education for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    Here at Howard College they have multiple activities to do. They have movie nights and go bowling. They are always having some type of activity to do on the weekends so you can just relax and have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    My mom lives right across the street, so if I get hungry I just go over there. The cafeteria here is kept clean and it is very large.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I do not know from experience. However, I hear they are pretty nice from other students.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are nice, however they try their hardest to keep you in line. They are excellent tearchers and you will learn many things from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people at Howard College are very kind. There is always something going on that the professors and other staff members put together. You would really enjot it here.

    In three sentences

    This is a really nice college to attend. It is small and all the professors are very understanding and kind. I wish this was a four year college instead of just a two year.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing. Not only do we have guards but we also have cops that come and make sure everything is running smooth. Both dorms are also packed with security cameras to watch for any type of restrictions

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek life groups at Howard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs like student government. My friends are also in a literature club that I am not to familiar with. They also offer Community service.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not to sure what this is asking, but the school is great for kids that are scared of big towns. Maybe the just want a break from the hectic life. Howard college is the place for them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not really any traditions that I know of. However, they just added homecoming week into the school this year. Also, there is this weird rock maze thing that I am not to familiar with.

    What to do for fun

    People spend lots of time on ping pong tables and pool tables in both the Student Union Building and the dorms. One of my favorites is going to the music hall and trying to learn the piano. There is also a gym to get your workout on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food has a decently wide selection, but it is very repetitive. However, meal on the grill everyday if you do not want the regular lunch food. There is also a little cafe next to the cafeteria called the hawks nest that offers some great food.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is not exactly what you would think. Here it is no crazy party and people do not do things you see in movies. It is actually kind of strict and quiet most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    academics here are great. They offer as many classes as they can for being a small school. not only that, they have been supplied with great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no freebies at college so you need to be on your A game. which you should be anyways since you are now an adult. No more acting like a child when you don not get your way.

    In three sentences

    Howard College is a very small and friendly school. The campus is extremely easy to get around, and is fulled with faculty and staff who are there to help. This small community allows people to interact with the same people making it easy to make friends.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Being from a small town, this college suits my needs perfectly. They have small classrooms and the professors are awesome at making sure everybody has the oppurtunity to go by their offices if needed. I feel like I have more of a chance to understand material, if i have difficulty on a certain subject.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never had an issue feeling unsafe there or anything. There is a security guard always at front office

    Greek Life

    they do have one and very involved with the community and school

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they have a bunch just havent joined any

    Great for these types of students

    who have to work while going to school, need that one on one time with the teacher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    non that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and worth every penny spent.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    they have Chick Fil-a on San Angelo Campus

    Dorm Life

    dont have one in San Angelo

    Academic Rigor

    Very good classes, challenging but not overloaded with information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in early, joing study groups. Talk to your teachers and dotn be afraid to ask for extra help. They want to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    I lovethe class sizes and teachers. They really care, and are there to help you succeesd. I am not to pleased with the main offfice, very unorganized.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As up to 30% of the students are criminal justice students, the campus is extremely secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association.

    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice, Nursing, and Cosmotology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable education with University standards.

    What to do for fun

    Most students have an intellectual exchange of ideas in the student center for fun.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Subway restaurant on campus, vending machines, and snack items at the student book store.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fun and the students get more attention because of a small class size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a small learning enviorment.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Howard College. The teachers are friendly and perserverent. The San Angelo campus is small and simple.