Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Howard Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money and get their general education classes over with at a local school. Students who are unsure of what they want to major in. Continuing education students looking to enrich their work, life, and home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor and let them know what your future plans are so they can help you get the most out of your time at HCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Well educated professors and PhDs teaching classes. There is FREE tutoring which helps 100%. There are so many computers and wi-fi spots on campus, and the library is a great place to get work and research done.

    Am enjoying being here

    Columbia Maryland is such a nice place to go to school and there are so many resouces at HCC. The campus is gorgeous, almost feels like you are at a big university, but on a smaller scale.

    Am learning a lot

    HCC is an amazing place to get your AA degree or your general education credits to transfer. There are so many classes and majors to choose from, the time really does fly by.

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer Students Further Education Students Continuing Education

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend attending Howard Community College because not only is it full of interesting people, but it also gives you an opportunity to choose your major at a far reduced price. Howard Community College is a very unique college because it combines the effectiveness of a liberal arts school, and specializes in nearly all majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Howard Community College is a community college, it makes paying the tuition a lot easier versus at a four-year institution. In a way, you are paying a two-year institution price with a four-year institution education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my stay at the moment at Howard Community College. The staff and students are friendly. Not to mention, the well educated faculty giving positive insight on the upcoming semesters, among other things. Since nearly everybody is friendly and open, it makes it easier to make friends and feel right at home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at Howard Community College. The professors are friendly and supportive, and willing to help you succeed. Many of the professors are willing to spend extra time after class to ensure that you comprehend the material.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a very safe enviroment

    Clubs and Activities

    FBLA Nursing club and many more

    Great for these types of students

    Howard Community is great for all students not specific students . it is affordable and have a lot of activities on campus

    Bang for the buck

    it have beutiful building and closer to the columbia mall.

    What to do for fun

    i have not attended yet but i head they have a lot of activities on campus

    Food and Dining

    great and healthy foods

    Dorm Life

    i live home but i head they have great dorms and off campus buildings

    Academic Rigor

    i heard it have great teachers and teachers are helpful too.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a student in Howard county looking for affordable college Howard Community College will be the best choice you will ever make .

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is a very great school and can,t wait to attend this fall. Campus is great, friendly people and great teachers.it is very affordable school

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is absolutely no harm present on campus on any given day. Everywhere you look your bound to see a security guard somewhere or another.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would be able to give you the full list but if you are in campus you definitely be able to see posters for any club your looking for, and if your don't it is hard to start your own. I have friends that have.

    Great for these types of students

    Really this school is great fro everyone. Unless you really have your hearts set on going to a really big school. For that I can make no promises. But as for help and comfortably, I would it is incredible; after all, small classes means more help for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All that I can say is that anyone planning to attend should be prepared to meet some unique individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely say the you get your money is worth at this school. As I mentioned earlier it is the same quality education at better price.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there are several clubs and organizations you can join that offer some enjoy. Also the campus is situated near a mall and a gym and track/field are available for recreation.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than traditional campus dining. Also the chef, if you would like to call him that, does try to come up with creative new choose. There is also a Starbucks and sushi bar located in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry, as great as it is, it is still just a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this school really relies on you. This school offers classes as advanced as differential equations that can challenge even the most serious engineers. But its up to you to take those classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for you is come in here with a plan for your future and if you do not have yet get started while your here.This is because this college is a great platform for you go on to do bigger and better things. Some come here unintentionally, such as myself, but by staying focused and having a set goal, utilize the readily available resource around to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I would give this institution a 10/10. Not because its the best school in America but because even as a community college it has truly created an environment that anyone can succeed in comfortably. Simply put, it is the same quality of education as a larger 4 year university at a better price.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Not sure what four year university they want to attend -Low on funds -Doesn't want to leave home yet -Loves the town of Columbia

    Tips for prospective students

    If you make the most of your experience you'll enjoy yourself. Don't under estimate this school because it's a community college. It's very challenging and does feel like you're in college. Give it your all and you'll be rewarded!

    Bang for the buck

    I really feel like I got the bang for the buck. I have learned so much in my time spend here and can't understand why everyone doesn't start at a community college because it saves so much money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Howard Community College. They have great student activities, and I've made a lot of friends here. They really do care about their student population. The only thing that is negative is the fact that you can't live on campus and get away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I am learning so much at HCC. My professors are wonderful, and honestly don't have any complaints. HCC could definitely stand up against any four year institutions as far as education goes.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I highly recommend attending howard community college. The classes there are well orchestrated and the teachers are willing to work with you if you put in the effort to connect with them. The school is a great place to go to transition from high school to college and the Silas Craft Collegians Program is one of the best on campus. They provide ways to pay for college, one on one assistance in anything you may need help with, and they are a wonderful resource when needing help around campus and even off campus. HCC is a really good school and i wouldn't be surprised if it's a heavy competitor to universities.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. Diversity is the strength of Howard Community College

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends especially advisers. Hey did you Know that they actually have a kids on campus center? You don't have to go west for a child care when you are studying south! You could see your kid through the window he studies while you study. Isn't that great? Hope to see you soon...

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared and on time to every class. The more you come to class the better your grades would be.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yes, there are blue lights at hcc, but unfortunately, they are only found in the parking garages and a few spots in the parking lots (at least the one's i've seen). teachers stress on the very first day of class to get the instant updates on your cell phone. the school immediately sends you a message about all types of emergencies and late school openings or closings. it's a very handy tool, so you won't have to wake up extra early to see the 5 o'clock news to see if you have school or not.

    Greek Life

    there isn't much of a greek life unless you sign up to be a phi theta kappa, and that's only used for academic achievements. but, if you want to stand out from the transfer crowd, and you have the grades for it, then definitely try to be one. it'll help you in the long run if you want some money.

    Clubs and Activities

    sometimes, there are certain clubs who have their own interest days, where students can go check out the club. unfortunately, because there is a very big lack of promotion, you would have to be either lucky, or you have a good incentive into wanting to join a club. so, in a sense, hcc is a school that kids just come to class, and when they're done, they either go to work, or go back home.

    Great for these types of students

    those interested in transferring continuing education international students starting a new career path

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during the beginning of every year, they would have this sort of festival where every club known to man would set up a booth to have students come by and see if they would be interested in joining a club/activity. but the interesting part is that they would give you free food, drinks, and they even have a moon bounce for the students to jump in. it's a good place to try to broaden your interests, but again, it's your decision to want to join or not.

    Bang for the buck

    because it's a community college, the prices of the courses are literally over half-price from regular 4-year schools, and the books are way cheaper (still look at barnes and noble or amazon though). this is definitely a great place to be if you're really short on cash. plus the teachers are actually in their office during office hours,and they are really experienced in their field of study. so you really do feel like you got your monies worth once you finish that final.

    What to do for fun

    mostly people hang out in the quad cafe during lunchtime. but when it starts getting nice outside (from march to october), the quad area is filled with people who are playing ultimate frisbee, soccer, football, whatever you can think of, they're probably doing it at the quad. other than that, the columbia mall is less than five minutes away from the school, which contains a food court, many shopping and game centers, along with all sorts of commercial restaurants surrounding the it. also, there is a movie theater, so a great location for a relaxing movie-and-dinner date.

    Food and Dining

    surprisingly, their quad cafe is very good. they have the usual pizza, hamburger and fries, etc. but they also have their own varieties of foods i.e. the sushi bar, and the sandwich area. along with that, there is a built-in starbucks, so students (and teachers) can get good coffee for a good price. too bad they're only open for about four hours every day though.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately, since hcc is too small, there aren't any dorms. however, there are some students who live in apartment-complexes close to campus, but since most of the students are between 5-35 minutes away, there was no need for it.

    Academic Rigor

    the coursework is about a mixture of high school and college. in some classes, you do have homework and quizzes. however, in some courses, you only have maybe two or three exams, and that makes your final grade. so you have to realize that it isn't high school anymore and learn to take responsibility, and have the work ethic to make sure to do well and transfer to a 4-year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have no idea what you want to do in life, or if you want to balance school with work, hcc is a great place to start! the people in the advising center and your professors are more than willing to help you find out your interests, and start you on a plan to keep you motivated to graduate. but they can't help you if you don't ask for help. no excuses.

    In three sentences

    howard community college is definitely the place to be where you can roam around to find your niche instead of wasting tens of thousands of dollars on a major you hate. when i was in high school, i hated the idea of going to community college. i thought that if i went there, i completely failed at life, and i would be flipping burgers for mcdonalds for the rest of my life. but now that i'm actually enrolled here, i realized that it was actually much more interesting than being in a four year school.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. their are buttons all around campus that you can push if you are in need of help.. plus we have many security guards on campus.

    Greek Life

    we dont have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    they are alot of club and activities to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    there are alot of activities around campus. i would look at your hcc email because they send out newletters letting us know whats happening each week on campus. also, they will tell you about trips coming up and or ways to make money.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great at this school. they have breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    at howard community college, their are no dorms. most students commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here are pretty great but as always their are some that arent as good. i would suggest going to ratemyprofessor.com and reviewing before you take a class. you will learn alot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    use all your resources. go get a tutor, spend your time in the library, ask for help for help if you need it from your professors.

    In three sentences

    hcc is great. they have great resources, great professors, and a good safe campus. they have free tutoring, help sessions for exams that are coming up and they always seems like they really want us to succeed.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for your classes and utilize resources provided like free tutoring and mentoring.

    In three sentences

    The advising staff is friendly and intelligent. There is a great atmosphere. Plenty of student events and organizations.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking difficult now due to construction

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food good

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all this affordable college has to offer! Great way to start your college career

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is very easily accessible and offers many majors. They are currently building a whole new science and technology building. Most professors are easy to talk to.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. security patrols 24-7

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, Hispanic Club

    Great for these types of students

    Young, old, working adults, parents

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Its affordable with financial aid

    What to do for fun

    The game room and the gym

    Food and Dining

    Does not have as many options as I would like. They need more vegetables, fruits and options for vegetarians, vegans and glutton free food

    Academic Rigor

    A Its fair. Just study and keep in constant communication with your professor. The nursing program is hard, however it is one of the best

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take all placement test and try to score as high as you can to get into the class that you want. Take advantage of all the job fairs, transfer fairs, and health seminars like free acupuncture and massages

    In three sentences

    A good school with lots of qualified teachers and professors. The school also offers a lot of activities from zumba, to the free store and many arts displays and musical acts.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great education and facility for the money spent.

    What to do for fun

    The Columbia mall is within walking distance as well as parks etc.

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks cafe as well as a small snack area. Vending machines around the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough courses at times but it is worth it in the end you learn a lot and it will stick with you through your whole life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get signed up for classes early because they do fill up fast especially after high schools release their senior classes.

    In three sentences

    Great school and good learning environment. Very clean, great staff. Great first school to attend.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HCC is very safe, the security is always available and easily accessible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HCC is becoming a green school. It is also a very clean campus, they have clean up days you can volunteer to be a part of. There is lots of free food throughout the year because of big events.

    Bang for the buck

    Howard Community College is inexpensive however, they have a great reputation which makes it easy to get a job after your educaiton there or transfer to a local University. They have a great relationship with the University of Maryland and Towson University that makes it very easy to transfer and recieve a Bachelors from there after attending HCC for the first two years. This is great because you save so much money at HCC.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and activities to join at HCC. The sports teams are also fun to be a member of or watch. There are also, free Zumba classes, yoga, a fitness center, a pool, and acupuncture accessible to all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at HCC is amazing. They have soup, fresh made sandwiches, sushi, pizza, chicken, vegetables, burgers, and best of all a Starbucks. There is always something different in the cafeteria which is nice. The food at HCC is inexpensive and easily accessible from every building.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at HCC consists of living at home with your parents or in an apartment. There is not dorm life or on campus living at HCC, but Columbia is a beautiful, safe area with lots of affordable apartments and townhouses. Living at home with your parents is usually free which is always good.

    Academic Rigor

    HCC is challenging but not necessarily difficult if you put in the effort to learn. There are a small amount of students in each class which is really beneficial because professors are able to individually help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your professors, they simplify everything for you so its the best, easiest, and correct way to learn and accomplish things. Use the online resources and the learning center for extra help in your classes. Go to HCC if: you didn't do well in highschool and therefore can't get into a big University, or if you don't have the money to attend a big school, or if you don't know what you want to major in go to HCC so you don't waste money and you can transfer to a University with a program specific for your major.

    In three sentences

    Attending Howard Community College was a great experience educationally, financially, and personally. They are well accredited and have a fabulous reputation. I would not change my choice of going to HCC for the past four years.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shop and Eat. Occasional party.

    In three sentences

    A great place to get an education for people who don't have a clear career path. Teachers from top universities and community colleges who have connections from some of the most successful people in the area. Big campus with plenty of diversity.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of interesting clubs to join

    What to do for fun

    There's the columbia mall and a plaza area by the campus. You're in columbia so there's plenty of places around

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is nice and it has a Starbucks

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    So far the classes I'm taking now are good

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the financial aid office as well as your councellor because they'll give you the information you need. Plus they'll send you emails and letters about opportunities on your HCC account so check it reguarly!

    In three sentences

    This college has a good study abroad program. They offer a great honors program (The James W. Rouse Scholars Program) that offers great opportunities. The campus is nice (minus the current construction) and the students are friendly

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is every where. I love it.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners getting back into school or just have to work fulltime. They have a great evening program of classess.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a University.

    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds of groups to join and a game room too.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and you can get something nutritional to eat up until 7pm.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    I think some of the A&P classes were too hard. Took the fun out of adult learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor first before you start taking classes. They can give you insight on what to take first.

    In three sentences

    I think It is a great Community College and it also is great for older student like me.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If bored, you can go and play football or frisbee on the campus. There are many other sports you can play as well. For instance, there are basketball and tennis courts already set up in their gym.

    Food and Dining

    Howard Community College provides many nutritious meals at their food and dining area. The food their is great.

    Dorm Life

    Howard Community College does not provide for dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, especially if you enroll in an honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best at everything you do. If you seem to struggle, then endure it with patience. We are humans after all, and we make mistakes; however, it is these mistakes that push us forward.

    In three sentences

    It provides many opportunities for students and truly recognizes them. The campus is small but manageable. There isn't much stress of getting from one building to another.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I belong to the anime club

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, get involved

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not easy, no easy A here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, don't assume that you will pass just because High School was easy

    In three sentences

    Really great environment to learn, good teachers, great classes

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. There are security poles and lights that turn on when it starts to get dark. There are at least two security guards in each building.

    Greek Life

    There is none at this college

    Clubs and Activities

    The club I'm most exited about is a Chinese club that is just starting up, because I am relearning my Chinese so I can go study abroad someday. Or maybe even go back with a few friends for a summer just to have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for me because I was adopted from China when I was eleven years old. When I got out of high school, I wasn't quite ready for a university yet. This place is a great first step for me. This way I have some knowledge of what college is like and I have the opportunity to continue to develop my English skills though a smaller more interment program.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a wonderful education. Small classes and attentive professors for a resonal price. I am getting a lot more for what I'm paying.

    What to do for fun

    They have a theater performance from time to time. They have clubs and a game room. This up coming week on September 20, 2012 there will be a outdoor movie event. They are going to show Hunger Game. I can't wait for that!!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe and the food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms because this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teachers. Some teachers are more strike then others. All the teacher will help you if you ask. They love helping students to be fruitful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is very small, if you want a big campus then this isn't the place for you. But if you do like small campus then go and visit, it never hurts to visit.

    In three sentences

    This college is great because it is not far from my home. I like how they give announcement to the students of what even will happen during each month.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take safety seriously at HCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is an individual here and no one is ever outkasted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is building a Solar Powered science lab building, how cool is that?

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing isn't the cheapest compared to some of the surrounding Community Colleges for other counties, but the quality of education you receive makes up for the pricing! In the end it is still way cheaper to attend than a 4 year University.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and cool shows such as art exibitions or theatre plays!

    Food and Dining

    I think they could use more Vegan options, but over all everyone will find something they can eat. There are options for healthier meals and quick meals.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there are no dorms here at HCC

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your study some teachers will see your potential and push you to work at the height of your ability. In my art classes the teacher gets to know each student's potential and sets goals for each student based on the individual's ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help! Some teachers, advisers, and councelors will bend over backwards to make sure you succeed if you are trying your absolute best.

    In three sentences

    They will help anyone who seeks it out. The teachers are very understanding and will do everything they can to help you succeed. Everyone is friendly!

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere at all times...

    Clubs and Activities

    Pharmacy Club, Drama Club, National Honor Society, Chess Club, Geek Club, Computer Club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of...

    What to do for fun

    They have an assortment of clubs open to the students as well as trips for studying abroad and an internship program with Disney.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of foods and even vegetarian for the vegan.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My Economics course was very challenging. But that was good because it got your brain going!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever need any help just ask!! They are more than welcome to help you.

    In three sentences

    They have nice teachers. It's a really nice calming atmosphere. They have different Support groups according to your individual lifestyles.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well-lit, with security evident and accessible.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of the Rouse Honors program and the phi theta kappa group on campus and these are both very enriching experiences.

    Great for these types of students

    While community colleges are always great for any student who is unsure about what they want to do or looking to save some money; I would posit that HCC can fit the bill for just about every type of student willing to be flexible in what they expect from a college (dorm life, eg.)

    Bang for the buck

    I can't imagine any school with such quality education for such a small price tag.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of opportunities to get involved on campus and our student activites group is always coming up with fun activities. Just watch for great opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad; it is a little overpriced (but it is Columbia, after all) and you can easily go off campus to get nearby food.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not an easy school if you choose to challenge yourself. But if you only take *easy* classes, then you will get what you expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look very seriously at the honors programs and classes offered at HCC; they are very worth the extra work and look great on your transcript. This also applies to becoming involved on campus and with our honors society, phi theta kappa.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a great school to kick off an educational journey. As part of the Rouse honors program, I have had the opportunity to explore ideas and intern in a small, personal community. I could not recommend this school more strongly, it is affordable, quality education.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent. There is always someone around in each building.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has an activity for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the learning experience you get here is great for the price that they charge you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers/staff are awesome here at this college. They take the time to help you with your classes. The college environment is also more personal, the one on one time with the teachers to help you with your studies is priceless.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs on campus for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the welcome center at the RCF Building; they have a whole lot of information for you. Sign up for free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is a nice place to be. The whole place is like a community in which you can interact freely with others. You feel secure when you are around the campus.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do on campus, besides clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is average.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work and study hard because the work is hard.

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is a wonderful community college for students. The workload is difficult, and you must work hard to earn a good grade. The people at HCC are nice, and very friendly.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Great college to start out at!

    In three sentences

    HCC is a wonderful college. The campus is beautiful and also not so big. Also has nice size classes so it is not over sized.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has not been any issues with not feeling safe on campus, and they have a very obvious security presence.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life, or at least none that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for all types of students which the school helps funds, from clubs that gather to chat about world events to the anime club, and many more between them.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who have a major that requires a lot academically, with many appropriate services present for the student to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This could be considered unusual, only in that fact that it seems to naturally happen where a certain ethnicity of people will be the dominant presence of certain areas of the school. There is a large amount of blending of students still but the consistency of ethnicity is still apparent.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's tuition is a relief since my major is an expensive one, where my books are expensive also and usually required supplementary materials for the class. Everything else on campus is relatively cheap like food, and lab goggles.

    What to do for fun

    Columbia Mall and the Movies are very close by to the school, and Howard CC has a gym, basket court, track, football field, or any other type of equipment for other sports interest. There is also a game room where people can hang out, bring their own games or use the systems already there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, with a wide variety of choices from all three major meals of the day, and can be filling for the days where your are very hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are opportunities to receive aid in paying for a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work given in some classes can be a bit much, but in the end it is worth it as you have been prepared enough for certain topics in a class.Although I truly feel pushed to succeed as a student, I have taken only one class where my peers and I have not been able to produce on tests what the professor taught on in class. Also, there aren't as many activities going on that other schools might have light dinners and themed event nights or activities to get to better know people of your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip to offer would be to start off, as early as you possibly can, taking summer or winter classes when possible, to get ahead with your best foot first.

    In three sentences

    Being there one full academic term, the college is very well kept. Academic standards are high and most teachers truly work to keep students well informed in their classes.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go on trips and participate

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask many questions and take full advantage of the resources.

    In three sentences

    The college staff is friendly. Financial aid department staff needs to be more involved and willing to help. The professors are great !

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You are absolutely getting what you put in. The teachers care about the students and they are there to help you. Free tutoring and help is offered if one is struggling with any class subject. The campus is beautiful and students have access to the fitness center and library.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of club and organizations offered in HCC.you could also sit outside in the quad, go to the fitness center and workout, or join one of the athletic teams.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at Howard Community College offers various choices for all types of diets, whether you're vegetarian or lactose intolerant, you'll find food options for you. The food is cooked fresh and there are healthy options. There is also a Starbucks in case you need to grab some coffee. The cafeteria is a clean and spacious area with outside seating available.

    Dorm Life

    Howard Community College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Proffessors are there to help you and advice you. The curriculum matches the same curriculum as 4-year schools, therefore matching the quality of the education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're leaning towards attending a community college definitely consider Howard Community College. If you need more assurance I suggest you go talk to some of the department directors and they will answer all of your questions. If you plan to major in medicine or music and the arts, I suggest you contact the head of the department and talk to them first before registering your classes. They will give you the right advice.

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is great for you if you want to save money during your first two years of college. The college offers well developed programs that will match the curriculum of most 4-years schools therefore making transferring more simple and easy to do. The staff is well educated and they have professional practice in what they teach.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Joining an athletic team or a club will help you get through the school year as well.

    In three sentences

    The school is very welcoming. There are a ton of services that you can use to help you with your education. A lot of the teachers I have had don't talk AT you, so you will be able to understand the information better.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always things going on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The QUAD has some yummy food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no doors, you must live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare, go to the bookstore and see what books you need, log the ISBN then find them used!

    In three sentences

    This college has great class, teachers, and programs. The cost is low, and helps people achieve their goals. Advisers also help with transfers.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ALOT. Everyday the student life will send you an email letting you knwo what's going on, on campus. For example, Zumba, Game Night, Movie night etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Starbucks in the cafeteria and also the Cafe serving area offers a daily entree station, soup and salad bar, deli sandwiches and grilled items made to order, sushi, pizza, hot and cold grab&go stations, desserts, ice cream, and assorted beverages and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Being that it is a community college most students commute to the campus, there are no dorms at HCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Before you register for your classes meet with an advisor. 2. Be sure you know what classes you are interested in or are required for your major. 3. Always look at the catalogue that has all the classes and the times they meet. 4. Make sure you leave your house an hour before your class actually starts because if you are more than 15 minutes late, you will be considered absent. 5. 4 absences will lead to an F in that class 6. If you do not understand what is going on talk to your professor or even your class mates. 7. If your grade is an F prior to the deadline for dropping classes make sure you talk to your advisor or teacher, so they can tell you what to do. 8. HCC is very diverse. 9. A W on your transcript is better than an F ( a W stands for withdrawal meaning you dropped the class for what ever the reason may be where as an F, stands for failed and you will not being able to transfer this over and you will have to take the class agin until you pass) 10. You SYLLABUS is your PASSPORT in college! HAVE FUN!

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is an excellent place to start off especially if you are unsure of what you want to do. The staff are genuine and are truly their for the students. They strive for the success of each individual attending HCC.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have guards around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is some, but I am not aware of anything about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are environmentally friendly and they have a pond that actually helps filter run off from the roads on and around campus. It has a fountain that lights up at night. It is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Best community college for the price of the education.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations that you can join here at HCC. They also have a great sporting organization.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good. They make fresh sushi daily, have a grill, and everything is practically made to order.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how much you put in, and the classes you take, this school can be very rough.

    Tips for prospective students

    The price for the amount of education you will get is amazing. If you do not have the money or you are undecided about what school to go with you simply can not go wrong with this institution.

    In three sentences

    One of the most reasonable liberal arts community colleges you can attend. The goal of this school is to help you build a foundation that will allow you to move forward with school. Does an extraordinary job of helping students create and obtain their goals.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security around. I feel 100% safe while on campus, and have studied very late and still had no problems.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks is a must, and is available on campus. Cafeteria offers other great options as well. Just a bit price for a students budget.

    Academic Rigor

    Many have the perceived notion that community college are not as intense as larger universities. Actually the course work is just as intense, and requires much studying and focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to your advisor FIRST to plan out your academic career.

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College offers great academic support. The campus is offers a variety of new features, and student involvement. Lastly, the classrooms are quaint.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who don't have too much to spend, want a great education, and for those who have no idea what their interests are!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus has a bunch of random spots to sit at outside. I love the area with a bunch of benches and trees, it is super relaxing.

    What to do for fun

    Due to the fact that HCC is a commuter college I'm not really that involved there. For fun I go to the mall with my friends and ride horses.

    Food and Dining

    Howard C.C. has THE best pizza of all time (coming from a girl that works at a pizza parlor.) There is also a starbucks located right in the food court, what else could a college kid ask for/.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class and the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT SLACK OFF. I am a sophomore at HCC and did not realize until this semester that I would not be transferring like a traditional student would due to the fact that I slacked off.

    In three sentences

    DRAGON LIFE.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for adults going back to school

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most affordable two year colleges in MD

    What to do for fun

    Attend concerts on campus

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and you'll excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your professors and advisors and take lots of notes. Submit assignments on time and ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    A small college with excellent professors. Includes state of the art facilities and affordable tuition. I especially love the unlimited access to tutors, all day long.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has a lot of security and cameras around campus

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and a game room along with honor societies.

    Great for these types of students

    For fun students wanting to further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Good school financially and offers financial aid along with scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Great mall nearby, cafe inside the college to meet up with friends. Game room and lots of activities every week to do!

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks located inside along with a food court.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but great community and homes and apartments around.

    Academic Rigor

    Great education and professors are amazing instructors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend if you want to go to a community college, great school.

    In three sentences

    A great school for students who plan to attend a community college. The staff and professors are great. The education is great also.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are constantly riding around and making sure everything is in order. They are aware of everything and they do not play with parking so be very careful.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students !!

    Bang for the buck

    All in all yes it is worth it. They are especially known for their nursing program. The only thing for that program it's that it's almost a 1-2 year wait to get into it so applying for that when your finish your prereqs is strongly suggested or maybe even right before your done! As I stated before they are very helpful with all of the extra studying activities they offer which are very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Wow, they have a gym, and pool, they offer fitness sessions and classes which include Zumba, and who doesn't love Zumba!

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks Starbucks Starbucks !!!! I mean yes this is amazing right in the cafe! But yes in general the food choice in their is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the extra help this school offers. They have so many tutoring sessions and the professors are willing to stay and help you. Believe me this college really helps their students when they need it. For those who are undecided on their major they have a wonderful career planning section upstairs that will assist you in what's right for you.

    In three sentences

    Howard Community College is a beautiful college that offers a good variety of academics. This school does have a lot of students attending and at times I think they are over capacity, but this school is amazing. They have many opportunities, sessions, classes etc. for students to better achieve their self in class.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many, but I never had time to check them out

    Great for these types of students

    any type really

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of

    What to do for fun

    practice in the amazing piano practice rooms

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is awesome

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know what this means

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from the game room, it will waste your time.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. The professors are very caring, and the small campus is nice. I also like the facilities.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe in comparison to other campuses. There are telephones with emergency buttons near the parking garage and on some of the walkways to and from class. Also, our security navigates around the parking lots, buildings, and campus. I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities on campus such as Phi Beta Kappa. This organization is non profitable and is for two year colleges, such as Howard Community College. Phi Beta Kappa offers scholarships for its academic members. Only academic students can be accepted into this club.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at HCC! HCC has a lacrosse, swimming, track, cross country, soccer, an SGA club (student government association), etc. There are also meetings held every week for people that are interested in nutrition and want to learn more. Howard Community College also has a spectacular culinary program!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who may be looking for an affordable and enjoyable college experience. Also, this school is full of great teachers and since there is a smaller population of students here than at a four year college, classes are smaller, meaning your instructor may have more time for each student. This college is great for people that want to have more interaction with their teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In finals week Howard Community College has puppies brought in from animal shelters for students to play with to de-stress. I think this is a great idea!

    Bang for the buck

    Howard Community College is quite affordable in comparison to UMD, College Park. Most teachers I have had here I have gotten my moneys worth out of the classes.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I suggest checking out Zumba, which is a dance workout for students who go to Howard Community College and it is free. Also, HCC provides free acupuncture, which is enjoyable to some people. Also, the game room at HCC has a pool tables and other activities. Stay updated on events going on at HCC. There will be days where there is free food (popcorn and cotton candy) in the Clarke Library building. There are also other festivities.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great in comparison to the Columbia mall food. There are many options on what you would like to eat. For example, the cafe on campus has sushi, pizza, oriental food, hamburgers, and almost anything you can think of. The food is also fresh as well and made in a timely manner.

    Dorm Life

    There is little dorm life at HCC. Most people that go here commute every day. There are dorms nearby if you wish to live near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the class. Some classes are harder then others and it depends on the person as well. If you take a class that you took in high school already, it may be easier for you. If you have little background knowledge on the subject, it may be difficult. However, there is one free hour of tutoring in the learning assistance center each week for each subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips: 1. Study hard, do not slack off. 2. If you are planning on transferring, make sure you talk to a pre-transfer advisor counselor at the school you are planning on transferring to (if the counselor is available to you). Also, talk to a counselor at HCC as well. 3. Take advantage of your teachers office hours, do not let them go to waste! 4. Do not be afraid to ask questions or to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    My overall rating of HCC out of 5 stars would be 3.5. I think this school is a great choice for students that want an affordable education while they are still deciding what they want to do with their life.