Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Howard Payne University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a place to really grow before you go out into the real world HPU is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    I know I am receiving a great education and I had my tuition locked in when I started so I don't have to pay more.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love HPU! The people here are great!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are really interested in their students and want to help!

  • 03/03/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They help a ton so just keep in contact with them and they will help you through it .

    Will enjoy being here

    I totally enjoyed being there it was a great environment!!!

    Will learn a lot

    I learned a lot from the people at Howard Payne University!!!

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Howard Payne University is great for students who like to be challenged, who are serious about their walk with God, and who like small classes and a small campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun. I know that when I visited colleges, I was stressed because there was so much I was trying to analyze. Choosing your college is definitely an important decision, but it's okay to enjoy making it. Also, pay attention to little things. How the professors interact not only with you, but also with current students. How the food at the cafeteria is. How students behave around each other as well as around their professors or coaches. It's also a good idea to walk up to random students and ask them what they think about the school, either in general or a specific part of it you are interested in, such as the football team or math professor or anything you care about. They'll answer you honestly.

    Bang for the buck

    Before beginning my freshman year, I considered applying to nine different colleges in three different states. Of all the colleges I considered, I enjoyed the atmosphere of Howard Payne the best, they offered the best scholarships, and it was the cheapest to begin with. I am about to begin my second year at Howard Payne University, and I believe that I made the right choice financially -- among other ways -- in choosing this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    In addition to having a great educational program, Howard Payne University has many extracurricular activities as well. Greek life, student government, intramural sports, Bible studies, concerts, fairs, and so many more things are available for students to enjoy. Class time is generally interactive, which is helpful in retaining student focus and ensures that each student has at least a certain level of understanding of the material being explored. The cafeteria food is generally delicious, and the staff is friendly. Chapel is engaging, and there is a wide variety of speakers who come and talk to the students. Overall, Howard Payne University is a close-knit community and I really enjoy being here.

    Am learning a lot

    Howard Payne University has so many wonderful educational programs. The class sizes are small, which creates an atmosphere in which students and professors are able to interact at a more intimate level. This provides the opportunity for professors to be able to work with, challenge, and encourage students individually. The professors care about the students and take the time to get to know them and make sure they are learning a great deal in the class.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HPU is great for students who want a faith based, small school with the ability to grow and mature in your faith as a whole. Students from all walks of life are welcome and surely will feel that Brownwood feels like home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the various organizations in which HPU has to offer! Also, get to know your professors and classmates because they can become a vital asset for when you get out of college.

    Bang for the buck

    Howard Payne is a private college which means that it is typically going to be more expensive than public colleges. However, HPU has recently won an award for being one of the best colleges in our region based on tuition, education, and experience. Also, if you are from around the area you can receive the Heart of Texas Scholarship which is $40,000!!! This scholarship allows students to be able to afford their education while being close to home.

    Am enjoying being here

    Howard Payne University is a small campus which means that friends are easy to come by and classes are easy to comprehend! I have the ability to get to know so many people here on campus and share our testimonies with them!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a ton here at HPU! It is definitely an awesome experience to have the ability to have a personal relationship with my teachers and getting to know them fully! Here at HPU the teachers want to know each student individually and is willing do whatever it takes for each student to have an excellent education!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a recreation center where you can rock climb, roller skate, and roller blade !

    Food and Dining

    The caf is not all that great. Jacket buckets and Stinger buckets are very useful though. You can use them at local fast food restaurants in town !

    Dorm Life

    Very fun, nothing like you've ever experienced before !

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors are there for you ! They help as much as possible .

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved ! Don't miss Jacket Journey ! Join a sport, join the cheer team, or the dance team !

    In three sentences

    Overall great campus ! Great activities. Everyone is helpful, nice, and glad that you're attending HPU !

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. They constantly have police driving around campus, as well as campus security walking around. It being a Christian University, I also believe they have the Holy Spirit truly guarding the school. I have heard nothing negative in this section of discussion about the school itself. Truly a safe and friendly university!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap. Normally this is not associated with a private school, but this one really is. The pricing for what you get is outstanding. With every meal plan, you receive Stinger Bucks which can be used at major diners in Brownwood. You can take advantage of any building on campus, any student activity that is going on, for no extra cost to you. This means millions when you want to go practice that piano or guitar song, and not want to pay a fee for the room space.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus. One major attraction is called Jacket Golf. Created by a HPU student, the object of the game is to hit a tennis ball to various obstacles located on campus in the recommend amount of shots or less. Played much like regular golf, just no hole and way more fun! If golf isn't your sport, you can sneak away to the Recreational Building or Gymnasium and play a mean game of one-on-one basketball, or table tennis. Brownwood recently placed a disc-golf course at the city park, only adding to the list of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had a bad meal yet! You get a choice of what to eat. Most of the time, you choose between pizza and hamburgers (the main meals) and then a third which has changed every time I have went there. The reason for the one missing star...their cups are cracked and leak. You get used to placing a napkin under your glass, but other than that, the dinning hall is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    The three main dorms on campus, all single-ed dorms, are centered at the hub of the university. This allows the students to interact with each other, and not make one dorm feel isolated from the others. The dorms themselves are very nice; clean, well decorated, and roommate friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    You never can really give this section 5 stars. Some of the classes are not as rigorous as others, but Howard Payne does a great job of fitting you into classes that suit you, and that will only help you further your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything they offer; free counseling sessions, academic advising, even freshman orientation. If you are wanting to really see what campus life is about, and not have to typical group tour, the personal one-on-one tour is amazing; plus you get to see what the cafeteria really tastes like!

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne University has a fantastic home atmosphere. The moment you walk on campus, you are never left out. The staff/faculty and students all play a role in welcoming you onto campus, and hopefully into the HPU Family!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Like any school it's up to you to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Costly, but well worth the personal attention.

    Food and Dining

    Small town, but it had all the options I needed.

    Dorm Life

    Most students seemed to have homes close by so they would often leave on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and engaging. I did extremely well because the instructors made each class interesting. They were also there to help when needed.

    In three sentences

    I loved the school, but too far from my home. If you want the personal touch this is the school for you.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it is a great school with nice poeple and a good campus.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security cars driving around day and night. I have never felt in danger for one second.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is small because of the school size but it is very involved and fun.The pledging process is hard but in the end the friendships are worth it. It is not for everyone but definitely worth a try.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of ways to get involved. In fact because the school is so small it is easy to get overly involved because you can do everything. There is Baptist student ministries, Student activities council, and the Student Government and more.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for Christian students looking to have a growth in the faith and some Godly support from you Professors and fellow students. And it is good for small town kids who have grown up in a close knit community. It can be good for a big city student like me because it is a new experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite things we do is Jacket golf. There is an official golf course set up throughout the campus and you play with a golf club and tennis ball. It is super fun and different. There is also a a really cool welcoming and leaving ceremony called chime in and chime out. Where you walk through the gates your fist night and walk out the night before graduation. Also there are a lot of cool traditions that come with Homecoming. It is a week full of fun activities called Days of Payne.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but I don't regret one penny I will spend. The people and the environment make up for it. The one on one help I get from teachers are awesome. They want to be involved and help in any way. The small school atmosphere is the best.

    What to do for fun

    There is always just hanging out with friends. There is also driving out to look at the country and stars. We have volleyball and student activities through the school. You definitely have to get creative. I have had a lot of firsts here since I come from a big city and am not used to the small town life.

    Food and Dining

    They cafeteria isn't always good but there are usually plenty of option and the restaurant up stairs that has really good hours and options.

    Dorm Life

    It is small and easy to get to know people. There are big rooms and they are very clean. And they are very active the dorm faculty especially. It is a little bit older building but the girls dorm is definitely the nicest and it is always busy. The night time has the busiest in the girls dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard but the teachers are always willing to help and have there doors open for tutoring and anything else so it is easy to succeed and excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump out there and get to know people and rely on your teachers to help you because they will. The student to teacher ratio is awesome. Start making friends it is easy to do.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus size, students, and faculty. The people here are amazing and loving and care to see you succeed. The small school life is perfect for me.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Like any private college, tuition is more than a state funded school; but HPU offers many scholarship and grant opportunities-plus, the education I'm getting is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I really like the intramural sports offered at HPU. They give me a chance to be active, without the demands of being in a more organized sport. If I need to study, I will miss practice or a game, and no one will get upset.

    Food and Dining

    HPU offers Stinger Bucks, which are loved by all. The bucks can be used to buy foods both on and off campus. The cafeteria has great choices every day.

    Dorm Life

    All students should experience dorm life. Getting to know others and being a part of a small community is a great start for life away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying doesn't come naturally to me; at HPU I do have to study, but even the athletic coaches are supportive and offer tutoring time to help me succeed in my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try the campus intramurals and get involved with campus organizations; you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne University is a small school where the professors take interest and get to know their students. HPU has many opportunities to get to know others through the small classes and through all the different activities offered. The professors teach students to become lifelong learners.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Students adquired knowledge that is applied to real and current situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whatever you are looking for, HPU will direct you to the right path. Go to the financial aid or the admission office and you will receive help and wise answers. Let HPU helps you to change your life!

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne University is the best place to start and build your future. HPU offered an excellent academic program that enhance positivism and link to success. HPU really cares about you!

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is pretty safe at HPU just because i feel like the security officers are everywhere all the time. i hardly hear of anything bad that happens there.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is the best! you get close to your brothers and earn friendships that will last you a lifetime. i highly recommend freshman or anyone to pledge! i pledged and i had the time of my life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals is the best kind of activity to do in my opinion! you get to be competitive and play for some exercise and fun with your friends!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have what is called Daze of Payne where freshmen have to wear a HPU beanie for a whole week and they have what is called a Big which is a person who has done Daze of Payne before. The point is they have to wear and say funny things that the Big makes them say every time anyone says their name. for example, someone could have pijamas and a pillow with them at all times and any time they say their name they have to say pillow fight! and wack whoever said their name with the pillow!

    What to do for fun

    What people can do for fun is go to the gym and play basketball or work out, they can hang out with friends in the lobbies or just play intramurals. pledging is fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, could be better but the people that serve the food are always nice. Food is a little too repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    I love the people that live in Taylor Hall, they are funny people that always make me laugh. The campus apartments are also great for people to just enjoy their own bathrooms and showers and live away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Study a lot because even though college is fun, you are here to make good grades. Classes are challenging but if you study you should not worry about a thing

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! Try hard and do not slack off because grades can drop easily. Become active and join some clubs!

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne is an awesome school and i love it. People are great and friendly. Could not have picked a better university for me.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security but I believe he's more scared then protective.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs such as the debate team and sororities but not many to really choose from. The only activities are sports, intramurals, or activities that come out the bag.

    Great for these types of students

    Howard Payne is great for students who only believe in staying focused on academics. Typically for those who do not have a social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can honestly say that Howard Payne University is a school in which everyone is suppose to believe in the same thing. So that's unusual and unfair in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Howard Payne is only a school for pre majors or sports. Because their pre majors and sports are good, I believe thats the only reason why many people are here. This is not a school in which you would stay all four years to obtain a Bachelor's degree in whatever it is you study.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in Brownwood, Tx unless you're a person who thinks everything is fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is selective. Some days there's good food but other days the food is not very appeasing.

    Dorm Life

    The resident assistants are all kind and each have something interesting to tell you everyday. Their motivational as well as charismatic.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always there for you in any way that you need. There's extra tutoring for free and you could always go to your professor and talk to them one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a person who likes to go out into the world and express your beliefs, I wouldn't advise you to attend Howard Payne University.

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne University is a typical university in which the professors are there for you mentally, physically, and emotionally. They support you in everything you do. Only thing wrong is you're not allowed to truly express yourself so therefore I would rate Howard Payne a 6!

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    always ask for help because its a small school and you can easily get one and one aid from professors

    In three sentences

    wonderful professors,staffs,and awesome programs

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good

    Great for these types of students

    join clubs adn surorities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    days of payne is an awsome tradition for freshmen to get to know people in the campus.

    What to do for fun

    intermirals, clubs, fellowship, community service, dances, sports

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with work and be social

    In three sentences

    good school amazing teachers and excelent christian values

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that if someone may be interested, they should visit the school. You will be blown away!

    In three sentences

    Howard Payne University is an awesome school. I am excited to attend because the staff and professors are interested in me as a person as well as my success.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's only three frats and two sororities, plus the honorary organizations for band and theater, but they definitely have a big presence on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons of organizations to plug into on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    HPU is great for students who are seeking a small, tight-knit community to belong to while in college. Also, it's great for students who are looking to grown in their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Daze of Payne, Freshman drum, the Suspension Bridge, Echo Star

    Bang for the buck

    Howard Payne is expensive, but I personally think it's worth every penny. The level of care and personal touch that you receive at HPU is second to none.

    What to do for fun

    Brownwood is a small town, so the things we do for fun are sort of interesting. A lot of people have movie nights in various locations around campus, and there's a lot of things in and around Brownwood to do for fun. There's always some kind of student life event going on during the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria seems to get more sketchy as the semester progresses, but there's always pizza and Stinger Bucks!

    Dorm Life

    The residence life staff make a strong effort to get a feeling of community within the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    I am majoring in Practical Theology, and the rigor in this program is definitely high. The professors have a high level of expertise in the subjects that they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! You'll be blown away not only by how awesome the place is, but also by how genuinely nice all of the students and professors are.

    In three sentences

    At Howard Payne, professors really care about knowing their students on a personal level. The campus is small enough that you get to know everyone pretty well. I definitely feel at home when I'm at HPU.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police are nice and keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    We have official and non-offical Greeks. Those in them are in love with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish there were more clubs offered. The ones that are available though, are lovely!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small environments. Socialities have their chance at knowing literally everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dayze of Payne is a week full of craziness and fun. Upperclassmen pair with underclassmen and it's a softer version of being hazed!

    What to do for fun

    Movies, abandoned bridges, driving around, parties.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. I wish we had more options sometimes. Fam's is great though! If only it was a tad bit cheaper. Stinger bucks are awesome while they last.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun and it's really nice getting to live with all of your friends. Sometimes the temperatures can mess with comfort level, but all in all, the dorms are great. (Speaking from Veda Hodge)

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are understanding and sometimes easy-going, but they know that you are here to learn and attempt to aid you in bettering yourself academically, among other ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is Christian based and small bits of religion are found around here. Chapel hours are required as well as Intro classes to Old and New Testament.

    In three sentences

    HPU has wonderful, caring, brilliant staff members. Facilities are clean, safe, and cozy. Student life is active, inclusive, and the atmosphere is friendly.