Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hudson Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The fantastic thing about community colleges is the diversity so open-mindedness is key. HVCC is great for students willing to take an active approach to their education and learn from others. You can be as active or as passive as you want, just keep in mind that you get out what you put in!

    Tips for prospective students

    Guys, you get what you put in, so give college your all! In my first semester I was able to earn a 4.0 and I did NOT do it alone! HVCC has a fantastic Writing Resource center located in the Marvin Library on campus. The staff are willing to help with everything from writing your first college paper to writing your 100th if need be. On several occasions I found myself stuck when it came to a college writing assignment. Not only did they help me through it, but they walked me through the research, writing, and revising process step by step. We worked for hours each day until it was time to turn the paper in. When I finally received my first term paper back I was shocked when I saw a 100% on the paper. I could not have done it without the staff. To my amazement, a member of the library staff approached me at the end of the semester and asked out I did on the paper! Thats dedication. Also, make sure to take advantage of the “Ask a Librarian” page located on the HVCC library webpage. Link: https://www.hvcc.edu/lrc/ask.html You have access to a library 24/7 even on vacation! It is set up just like an AIM chat or texting would be...INSTANT! If a HVCC librarian is not available it transfers you to another library somewhere else! Great for those of you who procrastinate (which is all of us).

    Bang for the buck

    I plan on attending medical school in the future, so I decided that it would be best to enter a community college first in order to save as much money as possible. The Financial Aid system at HVCC is phenomenal. If you find the process at all confusing, contact Financial Aid Services and they will gladly help you out! My father and I just finished signing up for my second semester and it literally took about 35 seconds! All of your information is kept in the system after your first semester, making all other semester sign-ups SO easy. I was shocked. I’m not good at technical stuff so its awesome that the process is so easy.

    Am enjoying being here

    First off, I really wanted to write this review because of the stereotypes that go along with community colleges. Before I chose HVCC, and honestly for a little while after I started attending, I had a stereotype engrained in my head that community colleges were “dirty.” I had a fear that my education would be in jeopardy; I felt that I could receive a better education somewhere else. Looking back, I cannot believe how ignorant I was! The diverse students, the willing staff, the coffee shop in the campus center, the ice rink, the gym, the new parking garage are all fantastic parts of what make HVCC a great school. I could not be happier with my choice. I also don’t understand how I could get an educational experience like this for such a great price!

    Am learning a lot

    I have only been in HVCC for one semester so far, as I am starting my second semester in a few days. Because of this, I have only taken basic courses. However, the teachers that I have had so far go so far beyond a chalkboard and a lecture that I feel like I am getting a well rounded, useful education. HINT The best teachers: Engl 101- Anthony L. Podlaski Engl 210- Ellen A. Laird Music 100- Mary Ann H. Gulyas Western Civ- Matthew A. Zembo

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    HVCC is great for people who want a higher education but cant afford the over priced colleges. They also have a great nursing program and dental hygienist program and we kick butt in football and bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I felt like it defiantly wasn't a waste of money but you have to do the work in order to really succeed here. They dont hold your hand and you really have to navigate your path if you want to graduate there in 2 years. Word to the wise dont go into individual studies until u know exactly what you want because they dont know how to really guide you when it comes to picking class. I began to think of it this way as my friends spent so much money on a four year diploma i was getting an associates in two years and then a bachelors in another 2 and then hopefully a masters so in a way community college kinda splits up the amount of time it really takes to graduate with a bachelors degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I was suppose to go to siena however i could afford it and siena like most colleges hasn't really been sharing the wealth. HVCC is amazing and i saved so much money going here.

    Did enjoy being here

    was a skeptic about HVCC in the beginning. I really just wanted to get out of town and have that college experience. Well that cant be done cheaply unless your parents are divorced and in major debt or you have something really really really special about you like you are majorly smart. Im neither just average. My first year at hvcc was a surprise because as much as i wanted to hate it i ended up loving everything about it. Teachers were great classes were amazing and i really got to find out what i wanted to do with my life.

    Did learn a lot

    I felt like i learned a lot about myself the most. I realized that the ideal thought of going aways to college and having that college experience wasn't as big as a deal as i thought it would be. I began to realize being a community college wasn't that bad and i was learning so much from HVCC. My classes and teachers really knew there stuff and if you want to learn you will.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    well.....for me...its great for students that will love to get into the automotive programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jusst keep ur head up and try to stay fouse

    Am enjoying being here

    oh im loving it......not so bad as people say

    Am learning a lot

    learning alot even tho sometimes it hard to learn alot at one time :)

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college has over 70 degree programs. If you are interested in any field, this college will make you dream come true. The adviser's are wonderful and very helpful. The majority of the programs have classes that are available online through blackboard. This is comes handy if your a parent and can manage your school on your own schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hudson valley has a very good dental hygiene program and it's only two years. The nursing program is great even though there is always a waiting list, its worth the waiting. If you are interested in technology this is the college you want to apply for. Hudson valley also has a very good early childhood education program that is transferable to majority of the colleges around the area.

    Bang for the buck

    The college has wonderful transferable degree programs as well as certificate programs. This college is affordable with $153.00 per credit hour it's worth even driving 45min everyday.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college setting is very comfortable and unique. The staff are very friendly with great advice. There are many areas to study such as; the library, cafeteria, the lounge, and the book store. The college is very well maintained with new construction and beautiful buildings.

    Am learning a lot

    In every class that I have taken, I learn new materials everyday. I am in the early childhood education program and I enjoy how much time the professors take with you to meet your requirements and fulfill your dreams. Online classes are available and on sight schools for your internships.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for self-motivated students who want to advance themselves educationally but not break the bank.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Keep your eye on what your goals are. Engage the professors. If they think you are interested in what they teach and you make an effort they will help you in any way they can.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat Hudson Valley for affordability. I work full-time and go to school part-time. I make to much money for financial aid so I have to pay as I go. I could not afford to do this if the tuition was higher. So glad HVCC is there.

    Am enjoying being here

    The down side to a community college is that students who really want to learn are interspersed with students who are just killing time. If you can look past that then it is an amazing experience.

    Am learning a lot

    This two year community college has some of the most dedicated professors. They often go out of their way to deliver the information to students and genuinely care if their students succeed.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the malls.

    Food and Dining

    great local restaurants and local take out places.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    keep organized.

    In three sentences

    this is a great local community college. i take 4 courses online and one on campus. i enjoy this school.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    hvcc is definitely worth going to. you would be doing the same courses and material for the most part at a 4 year college for only a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of clubs and athletics to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria on campus and a small cafe area. (i have not purchased anything from either)

    Dorm Life

    it is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the program you are enrolled in and how studious you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to compare courses with the ones required for your program at the college you plan on transferring to in order to get the most transferable credits.

    In three sentences

    hvcc is a great school with many opportunities. very pleasing and well maintained campus. there are many programs available to the student.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's a really affordable school with lots of different programs to choose from

    What to do for fun

    go to a valleycats game during the summer

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and you will succeed!

    In three sentences

    it's a great college to attend especially if you can't afford or don't want to go to a four year school

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are still unsure of what to major in. They have an excellent general studies program.

    Bang for the buck

    Price is reasonable

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you show you want to succeed their are people there that will help you.

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley Community College has the best two year education a student can ask for. The professors are encouraging and are there to help you succeed. The price is reasonable and can open doors to other opportunities.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always at the ready.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    It's really great for any student, especially if you can't afford a 4 year college. If you go here first you will be getting a great education for low expense.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap because its a community college. You can learn a lot if you put forth the effort.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright. It's a college, what can you expect.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not tough if you take the time to learn. Faculty are always available for help

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and get involved.

    In three sentences

    This college is great. If you take the time to do your work and get involved, you can learn a lot and have fun doing so.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play in a local Flag Football league

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley is a good school that I have to decided to attend for a second time very helpful employees and staff, would recommend to any student looking for a college to attend

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student that doesn't have hundreds of thousands of dollars lying around to spend on school. Also, there are no dorms, so students that don't live around here would probably have to rent an apartment nearby.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus first, so you know where all the buildings are before your first day of classes. Also, come to the school half an hour before your first class, you will use almost all of that searching for a parking space.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Hudson Valley is a Community College, but you are learning the exact same things as in a four year school and it's the same quality of learning, just for a fraction of the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall the campus is enjoyable, most of the people are so nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are extremely accessible outside of class if you have any questions. Also, there is such a wide variety of classes for you to choose from, there's something for everyone.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Free pizza on thursdays. Get there early. Good value.

    Academic Rigor

    Do your homework. Read your text. Answer questions in class.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs, or hang out in the campus center. Or if your a quiet person like myself, hang out in the library.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places to eat right next door to the campus, the campus also has 2 cafeteria's in it. They all serve some really amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is definitely something to get used to. I don't live in a dorm but i pass them everyday on my way to school and it seems pretty peaceful and calm.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers take the chance to get to know the students, advisers really help that pays off in a great way. If you feel you really need the help, i'm positive their are at least 20 different academic professors and advisers that would gladly help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers here, really care about their students, and will try to help them in anyway possible, all it takes is for you to open up. They also have a great tutoring room. The people are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    You have the chance to meet great new people. The atmosphere there is really amazing. It's definitely something that should to be experienced.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety staff are always around

    Great for these types of students

    Adult returning/or second career students, students who are not sure what they want to major in or if they are just unsure about college life. This school will help anyone adjust, learn and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many academic programs offered at this college and the cost for a New York State resident is very reasonable. The knowledge I am getting for the program I am in is one of the top in the state.

    What to do for fun

    The bulletin boards always have club info on them, and many times students can get discount movie tickets. There is always something going on and there are plenty of clubs to join too.

    Food and Dining

    The student center cafeteria has pretty good food. Some things are more reasonably priced than others. One spot in the cafeteria makes awesome wraps and they are pretty cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms and I live at home and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is tough but help is always there. The instructors want to help you succeed and will do anything they can but you need to want to succeed also. As long as you do, the instructors are there to provide whatever assistance they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and the admissions office, the people at the office can answer any questions and will help with the application process. If you applied online, keep checking Wired for information and status on your application.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college with with a wide array of majors, opportunities and support network. The teachers are amazing and want the students to learn and succeed! There are always activities going on to participate in and have fun.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public saftey is everywhere. There are emergency phones and cameras scattered throughout campus. There are always officers on duty.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities since there's no on campus living, but there is an academic club called Phi Theta Kappa for students going above and beyond.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and activities. There is so much diversity that everyone can find something they are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people wanting a new experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It seems that every time a student has a break they head to the campus center to hang with new and old friends. You get introduced to a lot of new people there. When it is nice outside you will also see large groups in front of the campus center playing Frisbee and doing other fun activities.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition to this school is cheap compared to all other institutions, though the education you get is nothing less than that of a large university.

    What to do for fun

    The campus center is a great place to hang out and meet new people. There is also an ice skating rink, library, cafes, and a gym if you have alot of extra time.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is actually really appetizing, though like all campuses it is a bit pricey but there are meal plans to help you out.

    Dorm Life

    There really isn't any dorm life here. There are no dorms on campus. Most every student commutes. Though the small size of the campus allows for great socialization.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, classes can be tough. I took a year of Early Childhood Education Which had classes that were a breeze. I am now taking dental hygiene which is a different story. Just go after what you want, the teachers don't try to make things impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is sometimes an issue here. Be sure to leave a bit early since most all students commute. Apply yourself. If you are struggling there are a lot of places you can go and people you can see that are there to help.

    In three sentences

    Priced low, yet you get the best education possible. Teachers have a sincere want to help. Campus isn't too large, you get to know a lot of new people.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great provided with phones all over campus, as well as video cameras and guards throughout. very safe school.

    Greek Life

    I am not farmiliar with sorority or Greek llife.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a posting throughout the buildings, as well as an area next to the cafe to speak with advisors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious and want to gain a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is spread out and now is being remodeled for a new 1 million dollar library facility.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive to go to school, but in some cases it can be cheaper to attend community college.

    What to do for fun

    go to the newly remodeled library that will be built over the next two years.

    Food and Dining

    In previous years we have had starbucks in the cafe, and in the future they will be inputing a dunkin donuts in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very good school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you arent sure about what program you are interested in I would suggest speaking with an advisor, as well as individual studies.

    In three sentences

    I like how there are a variety of Programs available. It is good to have individual studies for students with an undecided major. The professors are very informative as well.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I didn't get free time. I worked and went to school. But did catch a baseball game here and there.

    Food and Dining

    Seemed ok. Didn't eat much on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but worth it. When employers see HVCC on your resume they will take you because the know what you been through.

    Tips for prospective students

    If trying to get into the nursing program study for the entrance exam. If you don't make it the first time it is worth the wait. Hang in there.

    In three sentences

    The Nursing Program is great, you get what you pay for. It can be difficult to get it in but it is worth it. Best education in the area for a 2 year school.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Transferring in can take some time. A visit WILL be required. Don't wait until the last moment.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students planning to transfer to a different college in two years.

    Bang for the buck

    For a starter college, this is the place to be. Cheap, but with amazing quality learning AND a wide variety of courses to take.

    What to do for fun

    Hudson Valley has live bands and entertainment constantly popping up at their campus! Never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    I heard the food is GREAT but REALLY expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't even think they have dorms there?

    Academic Rigor

    They have pretty much everything, but the nano-program I was expecting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep chill. The hardest part is getting through the paperwork.

    In three sentences

    It contains a wide variety of courses and degrees. It is a great starter college for those who want to get their basics out of the way, CHEAPLY. Their credits easily transfer to a lot of other schools!

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the overflow lot, a lot of people park like crap and the Public Safety Department does nothing about it. I received a note once saying not to park where I was parking when other people in the lot park worse than I do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more and better as well.

    Great for these types of students

    People who need a refresher on their education and/or are low on funds.

    Bang for the buck

    It's alright, I suppose. You get what you pay for; it's cheap so that's what your education is.

    What to do for fun

    There are some on-campus activites, but they take place rarely and when everyone else has class.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes like absolute crap; thankfully, there's a Price Chopper, Subway, and Wendy's across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are good whereas others are not. It depends on who you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if you want social interaction; you won't get much here. It's a good school if you're low on funds and/or plan to transfer. The nursing program is hard to get into so try and look into another school for that.

    In three sentences

    Overall, it's okay if you're planning to transfer. There isn't much social interaction unless you have friends there already. The teachers could be better.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused and goal oriented, then Hudson Valley is a good school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for a fraction of the cost. I intend to take as many courses as I can before transferring into a four year college.

    Food and Dining

    Meals in the restaurant are very expensive and the food quality is poor too. But you could just walk across the street and get better food from a bunch of restaurnats.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms and housing around school is relativel expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make good use of the LAC(Learning Assistance Center). You will find this as a useful key to your success here. They provide assistance for writing assignments,Calculus assignments,whatever course you difficulty you have, there is always somewhere to get help.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best community colleges you can find. The teachers are commited and there are a lot of learning resources available for the students to better their performance.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see either a cop or security walking around on campus

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different clubs on campus

    Bang for the buck

    HVCC is definitely a great price if you are a in state student. If you are out of state it costs more but, its still a good price because it is a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun. There are many areas to sit and talk to friends on campus but other than that there is not much.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't bought food on campus because i usually eat at the other places surrounding the school. There is a cafeteria that has a variety of food and a couple cafes that sell coffee, salads, sandwiches, and other things like that

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as hard as you make them. It depends on the professor but, the only way the classes can be hard if you slack on work or if you are not strong in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and stay focused. The amount of people who don't finish in the two year time frame is high. If you stay focused you won't have to be there for 3, 4 years like many end up doing.

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley is a good school for those who don't know what they want to be or for those returning back to college.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    college fests and events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the help on campus.

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley Community College values its students by providing a vast amount of opportunity. I have obtained great satisfaction from all of the aid on campus. Lastly, small classrooms provide the best manner of education.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said before, get involved. There is no better way to enhance your community college expereince.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is average at best, it can get a little pricey. However, there are a lot of options in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    It may seem like a college where you don't have to try, but you do need to put in the effort. Phi Theta Kappa has a HVCC chapter and is a pristegous group to be invited to- less than 1% of community college students are accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many different clubs and activities, and this can make all the difference in the college experience.

    In three sentences

    After attending a private school for a year I transferred to HVCC and couldn't be happier. The students are friendly and the staff is phenomenal, always going above and beyond. For being a commuter college there are a lot of opportunities to make this more than just another school, but to make it your school.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres a nice shopping plaza across the street and east greenbush which is right down the road has a ton of things to do. Our student center is also quite nice as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms unless you choose to live in one of the off campus apartments

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you do your homework and participate in class you will do just fine.

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley Community College is a very good school. Its got a ton of well educated professors and other such personel hear to help you at a moments notice. There is also no shortage of places to prepare and study for tests.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hudson valley community college is the best education you can get for much less than any other school around. If you are a resident of New York, you save a lot more with a certificate of residence. Even I you are from our of the state, you won't pay more than $1500 for one full semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on at hvcc. The last I heard there was an ultimate frisbee tournament. If you can't find things to do on campus, you are doing something wrong.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is always a good place to go at hvcc however, there are a few other options. There is a subway and price chopper directly across the street. Next to the campus there is a pizza and sub shop as well as a Taco Bell. And if you enjoy dunkin donuts, there is one right across from Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Hudson valley since it is a community college. There are some apartments for those who live far away and/or out of state. To my knowledge there is at least one apartment complex for students right next to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really care, they assign work and expect it to be done on time. They want everyone to do well and are always there for support. There is also a student help center in the library for tutoring and such.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell any first time student of hvcc to make sure they have a map. The campus is not huge but it is a decent size. The buildings are all well maintained but sometimes it can get confusing which is which.

    In three sentences

    Hudson valley community college has it all; great majors, great sports and high standards in education. Hvcc is the best place to start out an educational career and save money while doing it. The campus is in a great location that is easy to commute to and has plenty of activities for all.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police active and available

    Great for these types of students

    Students ready to move on from high school with or with out diploma

    Bang for the buck

    24 credit program available for students needing GED

    What to do for fun

    ping pong, Frisbee, attend school events, ice-skating,

    Food and Dining

    nice selection locally both on and off campus. Normal pricing

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available, local housing available

    Academic Rigor

    Achievable with communication, studying and participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the information in college forum. Use the student assistance programs. Talk with your professors they can't read minds. Attend your classes you paid for them.

    In three sentences

    Good place to transition from high school. Affordable. friendly

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure

    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure of their Major Students that are unable to qualify for financial aid

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    HVCC is rated as one of the top ten community colleges and is a perfect school to begin your college career without the large expense of a 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    Lake George, NY is only 1 hour north while Bennington, VT is 45 minutes east. Albany provides varied entertainment opportunities at the Times Union Center, State Museum and shopping malls.

    Food and Dining

    There are many local restaurants as HVCC is in close proximity to Albany, NY the state capitol, Troy and Saratoga.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus only

    Academic Rigor

    Hudson Valley CC will provide opportunities to challenge yourself both in academics and sports. 5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student that is unsure of what will be your major HVCC will advise you in a direction that will maximize your strengths. HVCC will also tailor your schedule to provide maximum transfer credits to 4 year schools.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Hudson Valley Community College as the best New York State community college due to it's high rate of student's that continue their education at 4 year schools. The support and guidance that has been provided to me has been exceptional. HVCC provides a student environment that allows the student to easily transition from high school to college life.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security drives around the campus all day/night long. There are multiple emergency areas in the parking lots as well where security will come and meet you.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheap college that offers a really great education. They have many ins with different colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports that you can join at this college. There is a list online.

    Food and Dining

    They have multiple cafes set up in different buildings. I've heard from people the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do online research, advisors like to see that you know what you're doing. That's also a way to keep them in check as well.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for all thats getting started, unsure of major,or short on money. HVCC offers a wide variety of programs, all are very respectable. Teachers here are great.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've found campus safety to be friendly and helpful. They also tend to not give out tickets for not having a parking pass until two months into the semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs. I don't think they meet every week, though. The other issue with them is many of the participants are just looking to pad their resumes (especially officers). The activities appeal to a wide range of interests, but fitting them in can be difficult. They tend to occur mid-day (when I'm usually in class). When they're at night it ends up being mostly convenient for people who live close to campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is best for self motivated students. It also seems to be pretty comfortable for non-traditional students, too. More typical students might have a harder time. You just have to make sure you don't let poor partners on group projects bring you down.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is easily affordable for someone working part-time year round. The programs are also good enough to attract commuters from Vermont and Massachusetts. I just find there choices for text books are a bit annoying. They get special custom editions that are a little cheaper new but you'll have a hard time buying them used or selling them when the semester finishes. Some professors will tell you what book the text is based on if you contact them so you can by a cheap used copy on Amazon or something.

    What to do for fun

    Club meetings seem to all be on Monday at 2 p.m. The Engineering Science Club has been holding a pumpkin chunkin' contest each fall. The school regularly has cultural events and you can also get discounted tickets to Valley Cats games. People just tend to be so busy and used to commuting that they forget to stick around for them.

    Food and Dining

    There are many dining locations with pre-packaged snacks and sandwiches but they're pretty pricey. The only food I usually get is pizza or freshly made sandwiches at the cafeteria. The pizza is usually only warm and the crust isn't that good but they do offer a variety of flavors. Fortunately, there are plenty of cheap dining options within walking distance. I particularly like the pizza at Deli & Brew.

    Academic Rigor

    This can be mixed. A few classes I've taken were all multiple choice and were pretty easy. On the other hand, I'm in an engineering science class where several people have dropped out and the class average on tests has been a D+. The academic rigor of the Engineering Science program allows many of its graduates to be admitted to RPI. I think the business program has been getting tougher, too. I've heard they're adding a capstone comprehensive final to it. Aside from that, the main difficulty of the program lies in the projects. There's a good deal of writing, so you mainly just have to stay organized. Some classes ask you to find local companies to work with. Make sure you keep in mind how easy they will to keep in contact with over the course of a project.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply relatively early if you want to be in nursing or certain School of Engineering and Industrial Technology programs. The commute and parking can be nerve racking for new drivers. If you take the Troy-Menands Bridge, remember that if you miss the turn at Morrison Avenue you can still get to the school by making a right onto Route 4 at the next intersection. Parking tends to be easiest by Joe Bruno Stadium and in the overflow lot across the road from the new Science Building. Also consider taking CDTA, since your tuition includes free bus fare.

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley is a great community college. The professors tend to have industry experience and are happy to help their students learn. However, the motivation and abilities of your peers will vary greatly.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security hands out tickets like candy. They wait in parking lots for kids that don't fully stop at stop signs or don't have a ticket on their car, also they're either extremely mean or extremely friendly. I have had on campus experiences where I've seen campus security hit on the girls that walk around and I have experienced it also. They shouldn't be bringing girls around on the golf carts from their cars to their classes and be flirting with the students. But when you want to find them, you can't.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hudson Valley does have clubs but they're never really talked about, only the ping pong tournaments which are mentioned sexually from students on their twitter page. Also during the sign ups for clubs the students they choose to run them don't really put them out there or want other new students to join. Hudson Valley doesn't even have a cheerleading/dance group which was encouraged by students but ignored by faultily. The students have no say in adding or wanting to change anything about the originally way they have things. Which is wrong because they should be open to students wanting to encourage new and different things for the college.

    Great for these types of students

    Hudson Valley is great for unsocial able students or students they don't care about college. Really if you just want to go somewhere where you can get decent grades with cheating and hardly doing anything, HVCC is the place for you. I have seen kids be at HVCC for four or more years just doing nothing and the teachers watch them cheat but don't do anything about it. Also there are really awkward social groups that just stare and pick on people, so if you need some self encouragement this is the place for you. None of the kids on campus are friendly unless they just want to hook up with you and the same goes for the teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not really worth the month, even though it's not very costly it's truly a waste of money. I honestly can't show you what I have learned from my two years here, all I have done is buy overly expensive books that we don't even use in class.

    What to do for fun

    The gym hours are only early hours and you can't use the gym unless they have a class or you go between the set 6 hours. Which is really hard to do if you commute or have classes back to back. After 2pm on campus everyone usually goes home so it's beyond dead and no ones around, the gym isn't open to use and the ice skating ring only has limited hours as well. You can't use the art room or join in anything unless it's your major so there goes anything that you were interested in. Unless you want to go watch a baseball game or football game, which you'd probably be the only ones there that's something there is to do but once again the students will hit on you.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is only open odd hours and it's all gross food. They don't really have many options, unless you want to drive somewhere around the town and get stuck in traffic. They do have a really good Deli and Brew right before the college which I must say has amazing pizza and great deals for college kids on a budget. If you want any kind of decent or quick food you have to drive at least 15 minutes down the road to a Mcdonads or Panera if you have enough time between classes otherwise you're screwed. Also the dinning hall randomly shuts down and you can't get food or runs out a lot of the time.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, the only apartments Hudson Valley has around them are low end dumps. The apartments run from $700 for a dump with a room mate, that you cannot choose from or over a grand for an apartment in the old folks home. Also you can't really walk to the school unless you want to get hit by on coming traffic, so you would have to drive. There is only two apartments slightly near Hudson Valley and they are not really a good walking distance especially in cold or hot weather.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes have really good one on one courses, but some of the classes are really basic. You can't get ahold of the teachers once class is over with or before, even when you try and email a teacher it might be days or even weeks before they get back to responding back to you. The down fall to HVCC is that the teachers really put no effort in their students or even try to help them succeed. They only talk about the previous kids that have attended and have made themselves be someone. Unless you can make it big you won't even be acknowledged by the teachers or professors. Some of the classes have off campus activities you have to attend for a grade, but they won't tell you till the day before if it gets canceled or if the date is changed which is extremely hard to work around when you have a job. You have to constantly check your email even if you do that sometimes your teachers just won't show or tell you, you will find out by a note on their door. If you decide to take a class online you will only meet with the teacher once during the final, other than that they will ignore you and not see you before hand. Once again trying to get ahold of them is a night mere. Also some of the online teachers like to change your grades right before the semester and deny that you handed in all your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never commute to this college, it is not worth it or the travel. The financial aid doesn't help you either so it's all out of YOUR pocket. Unless you get your teachers to like you they will be rude to you. You will never get to know your teachers, they are not sociable or friendly if you need to talk to them outside of class.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here don't really give out help when it's needed or asked for. It is also really hard to contact any of the teachers or staff, they leave classes whenever they want and cannot be found on campus. There is no dorms, only apartments that are overly expensive for the dump they are.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nothing spectacular.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively difficult and fast paced when compared to high school courses, but studying regularly for short periods of time will get the job done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything. Try everything. Don't just go to class then back to your car, get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school, great for first time university students or someone needing a flexible schedule. Very welcoming and diverse in both people and classes. One downside, there is a large student population so you can get lost in the rush sometimes.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are so many measures taken for campus safety. There are several posts with help call buttons incase one wants assistance to their cars or around campus. Also campus security is always roaming around campus in their vehicles or on the go carts.

    Greek Life

    Im not very familiar with the schools Greek life but im sure thats great as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too manynclubs to mention. Also there are always meetings and fundraisers going on that are posted right to our blackboard system. Very convenient to find out whats going on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think students that are looking for an affordable and flexible school that offers many degrees and a great education comes to hudson valley. It has a great reputation and is continually expanding and becoming larger.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In our new science building on each floor at the end is an open room with large open windows that overlook the albany region. Very quiet and peaceful at night when I attended night classes. That was definitely my favorite place to study and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you get is well worth the money you pay. Thankfully community college is not as expensive as a private college or university. The teachers are great and are very accommodating to the students needs.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers several different activities almost everyday. There are many different clubs students can join. There is also a gym on campus that isnopenbto students and the public. The school has many different school sporting events which students can attend regularly. Around the college is shopping of all sorts which everyone loves.

    Food and Dining

    The food at hvcc is good. I have only eaten there a few times of which the food was more than just frozen food and food out of the vending machines. There are several places nearby the school also at which are walking distance for students.

    Dorm Life

    I actually don't live on campus, although I think living on campus is a great part of the college experience and learning how one can be on their own and independent. You can meet many other students who share the same interests that could potentially be a great friend after school as well as during school.

    Academic Rigor

    Experiences that help students underatand the knowledge and concepts they are being taught. Some concepts can be large, difficult, and complex. Academic rigor can help students to acquire skills they can use towards their education, their career and just everyday lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend studying every chance that you can get. Ask for help if you need it, the help support staff and teachers are great when it comes to requestingnhelp. I would also recommend a study buddy or study group, its great to have someone to help be motivated.

    In three sentences

    An overall great community college. It offers flexible schedules for students with special needs. The teachers and students are great when it comes to help with studying and any questions or concerns I have.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education especially for the price. The education would compare well to a four year school and the tuition is less than half as well as the cost off living off campus is far less expensive than living on ccampus

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities on campus. Good sports facilities as well as many things to do around the city of Troy

    Food and Dining

    Good food and dining quarters, but no meal plan and very expensive in general.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing, so dorm experience is completely up to you and how good of housing you find.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary in difficulty quite a bit. Some classes are based completely on effort, while some classes are based entirely on four quarterly tests that you are responsible for studying for

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study in your free time. Find a good place to live. Bad living quarters can make a possible good experience a very bad one

    In three sentences

    Hudson Valley offers many majors in many different areas of study. The Professors are very personable and friendly. This college is perfect for fresh out of high school students and returning students alike