Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Huntingdon College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking to be actively involved in their College life. Huntingdon offers several leadership opportunities and helps anyone get involved wherever they want to be! You can be as hands on or as laid back as you want to be and every is accepted for who they are. Huntingdon is a christian college and offers several faith-based classes and extra-curricular activities to grow your faith and give back to the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Come and meet the professors and academic dean! They are all very nice and really want to make you feel at home! We have Host weekends throughout the year where you can come and stay with a current student and really get a feel for the college life. Orientations throughout the summer are offered to prospective students where you learn more about the college and can pre-register for classes. Huntingdon really makes it easy to get signed up and ready for your college experience!

    Bang for the buck

    Huntingdon's tuition is higher than most others around here, but it is worth every penny! The laptop you receive and a travel class in your junior or senior year are imcluded in the tuition and it really makes college life more enjoyable! The opportunity's presented by the college are unbeat by any other I've seen and the one on one attention from the professors is the best!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small town feel of this college. It is located close to several small shops and convenient to all of the malls and restaurants. The campus life is great and you really get to know your classmates and teachers well. Everyone is friendly and genuinely cares about their fellow collegians.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here really take a pro-active approach to ensure yo u understand the course work. The classes are hard, but I really feel like I am learning a lot and the teachers are willingly to stay late and come early anytime you need extra help!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security officers on each part of the campus! They make the campus as safe as possible!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join and activities to partake in!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student fits in at Huntingdon. Very diverse population of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ghost of the Red Lady located in Pratt Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Top notch education. Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Huntindon has many oppertunities that provide fun and wonderful experiences full of new friends just waiting to be made!

    Food and Dining

    Great dining hall!

    Dorm Life

    Fun, always full of fun activities with the dorm residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work your hardest at everything you do. Be who you want to be!

    In three sentences

    Huntingdon College is an exceptional college that strives to give students the best education possible. Being a part of the Huntingdon family has provided me with many assets I am sure that I could not gain from other colleges or universities. Huntingdon College provides top notch academic excellence and makes the college experience a joyful time.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Oracle Hunt

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. There are weeks of entertainment and fun, such as Back to School week, movies on the Green, concerts, intramural sports, etc. There is never a dull moment at HC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Whether it be with a sports team, sorority or fraternity, or any other group, become involved beyond your academics. It will make your college experience much better.

    In three sentences

    Huntingdon College strives to make each student's education and personal experience important. The faculty is always willing to help their students, in and out of the classroom. The institution is always striving to improve and be the best.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Almost every building is haunted; we're known for our ghosts! Halloween is really fun here. There's a giant slip and slide every year provided by the frats. Before exam week, there's an annual Christmas tree lighting. There's lots of little things that make this college unique.

    What to do for fun

    There's basically always something to do on campus, from religious activities to varsity athletics to community service. Downtown Montgomery is 5 minutes away. There's plenty of shopping, historical sites, and also cool places to hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Huntingdon will prepare you for life outside of the class room. It's a great school.

    In three sentences

    There's plenty of activities and opportunities to get involved on campus; there's always something to do! Montgomery is a great city to live in because there are so many opportunities, and everyone is so nice and positive!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    getting involved in campus activities and joining clubs keeps you having fun.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining hall staff is very good at feeding us with really good food. They treat us with the greatest respect and know how to cook.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are decent. The freshman residence halls are very old but still in very good shape.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do really well at teaching their subjects and help you whenever you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    make a lot of friends and join as many things as you can. the more things you join the more involved you are. keep your grades up and your college life will be amazing.

    In three sentences

    Huntingdon College is an amazing college for prospective students who love God and want to get a good education. The campus is beautiful and the teachers are awesome. The student count is also low, so the less student to teacher ratio.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the people in student life make sure there is always something going on to keep the students having fun. many of the activities include watching movies, bowling, playing broomball, and many intramural sports. student life is always excited to get new suggestions.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good, and the dining hall is nice.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorm, but everyone i know that lives in a dorm seems to like it.

    Academic Rigor

    the material is hard to understand, but if you honestly try, the professors will help you learn what you need to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for any and every scholarship you can. it's a pain, but do it whether you feel like it or not. study hard and try to learn everything you possibly can. be prepared and organized. learn to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    huntingdon college is a great place where students, faculty, staff, and administration are all friendly and willing to help anyone who needs it. the academic expectations are high but attainable because of who the professors are and how they do their jobs. every professor is willing to advise any student on school, professional, and life experiences.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party ! everyone is really laid back and fun .

    Food and Dining

    Heard its ok

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are OK . there not horrible but it is not the Hilton if you know what I'm saying .

    Academic Rigor

    People there said the professors are really help full

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it a chance .

    In three sentences

    Have been looking at this school for a couple of months now. I'm Interested in playing Lacrosse and getting my degree here.I think its the right fit.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Friendly, active people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and stay focused.

    Bang for the buck

    Some things could improve, but other things make up for it!

    Am enjoying being here

    LOVE!

    Am learning a lot

    lOVE IT HERE.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i am planing to attend huntingdon college because it has everything i am looking for. it is a nice small school were you can actually get one on one help from your teachers and professors.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities to do in and around Montgomery

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to maximize your scholarship opportunity

    In three sentences

    Huntingdon is a great choice if you are looking for the small campus environment with lots of opportunity. Your professors get to know you on a personal level, and are always willing to assist you! There are also numerous opportunities to get involved

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security on campus is amazing. You always see them rolling around on their golf carts, and are willing to help you at any moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of extra curricular activities on campus between Greek life to sports there is never a dull moment on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus we have ghost. Our main ghost is named Martha, and she currently lives in Pratt Hall which has recently became a new resident hall. BOO!

    What to do for fun

    Things I do for fun is gather with my friends and plays games. So when you come to college don't forget the board games.

    Food and Dining

    I love the options that are given at this school, but on some days they do lack in good choices.

    Dorm Life

    I love it here in the dorms. Some of the other girls have become sisters to me. Living in the dorms is like gaining a new larger family.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is fairly difficult, and tests your abilities. If you are successful you have truly accomplished something great in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future students are that if you do your best and give it all you got at this school you too will find that it could be your second home.

    In three sentences

    I love Huntingdon College, it has become a second home to me. The professors here are amazing, and are willing to work with you through anything. This school was one of my greatest decisions in life.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be known. It is a great small college and everyone really wants to connect with you

    What to do for fun

    1 1/2 hours from the Gulf of Mexico. Lots of city things to do in Montgomery. I play a sport so not lots of spare time

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food choices. Wish the cafeteria was open for all meals on the weekend

    Dorm Life

    Love my roomie, the freshman dorms are very old and small, but it is part of the experience!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small, the teachers really care, and onsite tutoring is available for free. The college also gives you a laptop to keep and services it as well

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit

    In three sentences

    An EXCELLENT small college. I traveled across the country to attend here and everyone has made me feel at home. Loving my first year

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. Everyone has the number to security. If you need to go around campus at night, call security and they will be glad to pick you up.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun. We have lots of swaps with fraternities. Joining a sorority or fraternity is a great way to meet lots of new people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Freshman Forum Choir

    Great for these types of students

    Well-rounded and athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beware of the Red Lady. It is rumored that the Red Lady haunts one of the older halls.

    Bang for the buck

    The College is a littel expensive, but the family experience you'll have is worth it. I never even visited another college. I knew Huntindgon was the perfect fit. I was right. I love Huntingdon and all of friends that I have made.

    What to do for fun

    There are malls close by for shopping. Lots of movie theaters and places to bowl. The college provides numerous music bands during the year. During senior year, seniors take a trip. The places I've heard that they go are overseas. It's the event of a lifetime.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is really good, especially Fried Chicken Thursdays. Breakfast is great too. The dining hall was recently renovated. It is amazing. The food is awesome. Always hot and fresh. The dining hall is also open at times that are convenient for its students.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in a dorm. Everyone borrows each others clothes, jewelry, etc. It's like we are living with a bunch of sisters. Love, love living in the dorm. Refridgerator is provided. We are allowed to decorate our rooms and doors for our taste or for the season.

    Academic Rigor

    Huntingdon's classes are not easy. Studying is a major priority. There is plenty of time to study. School is out on days baseball and football games are away. Huntingdon has a 100% rate for most Pre-Professional studies. 100% of their students enter Pharmacy College, Dental College, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to study, but the teachers/doctors are very helpful. Most are willing to stay after class or meet later for extra tutoring. You are not a number at Huntingdon. You are a person and you are surrounded by people who care about you and your success.

    In three sentences

    Huntingdon College is absolutely amazing. There are activities almost everyday. I'm in a sority and everyone is so nice.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security operates 24/7. We have numerous security officers that ride around campus every hour of every day. Whenever we need to walk somewhere at night and we do not have anyone to walk with us across campus, we just call one of the officers and they offer us a ride. Huntingdon is in general a safe campus. Everyone here is family and we all protect each other like family would. All of our staff and faculty make sure that our campus is a safe and secure as possible because they want what is best for us! When you come to Huntingdon, you know you are in a safe place.

    Greek Life

    Here at Huntingdon we have 3 sororities and 3 fraternities on campus. Our fraternities and sororities can play a big part in campus life. They host awesome swaps (get together with other sororities or fraternities) and sponsor events. They also all have different philanthropies that go towards a certain cause. They even have their very own tailgating parties at all the home football games right down in the endzone! Greek life is an amazing way to get involved on campus and make friendships that will last forever!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 50 clubs and organizations on campus. We have academic, political, musical, social, activism, creative, and influential clubs. There is something here for everyone to do. We also have intramural sports to participate in if intercollegiate athletics isn't quite your style. In clubs, we offer tons that spark any type of interest you may have. We have academic and honor societies for the brainy student. We have political and social groups such as the College Republicans, College Democrats, and the Voice of Justice (club that promotes the stop of human sex trafficking). We have art club, drama club, music clubs, and about anything you can name. And if you don't find something that you like, well you can even create your on club! In intramurals, we have sports like flag football, basketball, volleyball, softball, and soccer. You can make your own team or even participate with your sorority or fraternity!

    Great for these types of students

    The great thing about Huntingdon is that it isn't a college for any particular type of student, there is absolutely anything for anyone to enjoy here. We have clubs and activities, sports, music groups, worship groups, campus ministries, academic societies, and Greek life. We enjoy all of our students and welcome all here. We support our hawks in all that they do!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you have read 13 Alabama Ghosts and Jeffery by Kathryn Tucker Windham and Margaret Gillis Figh, then you know all about Huntingdon's Red Lady or should I say Martha. Martha is a ghost that haunts the 4th floor of Pratt Hall (former residence hall that now hosts Greek Life). The story is a pretty intense one and I believe that you should look up that one on your own. However, I will tell you that every year near Halloween, Greek Life hosts the Red Lady Run - it's pretty scary, especially when tons of Greek girls run through the halls screaming for Martha!! Tim Burton's movie, Big Fish, was filmed on Huntingdon's campus - in the movie is was designated as Auburn University. An unusual location on campus would have to be the fountain located in front of Flower's Hall. Many people who visit Huntingdon figure that this fountain was just a part of history just like the rest of the school. But wrong! During the movie, the producers wanted the fountain placed in front of the building just for the movie. So they paid for the renovations and moved the fountain in front of Flowers! Another tradition, keptery, very secret, is the tradition of Oracle Hunt performed by Juniors and Seniors every year as a right of passage. But that is all I can say!

    Bang for the buck

    Huntingdon is a 4-year private Liberal Arts college so cost of attendance is sort of pricey. But, Huntingdon also offers numerous and generous financial aid packages. Even though it might seem like much, this college is an amazing place. We offer a laptop computer to all incoming Freshman and transfer students. We also over optional study abroad trips for Juniors and Seniors. We have great internship opportunities and clinical/lab experiences. Here at Huntingdon, you receive knowledge, wisdom, love, friendship, recognition, and most of all, family. So the price that you pay to attend college here, it is well spent. You get all the college experience that you hope for right here.

    What to do for fun

    Huntingdon College is located in Montgomery, Alabama which is the state capital. Montgomery has so many fun things to do including lots and lots of food choices nearby! There is the Shakespeare Theater where you can catch a good Shakespeare play. There is also the Capri Theater right down the road from campus that shows amateur, but awesome plays. We also have karaoke places, ice skating, museums, great shopping places, awesome music festivals/concerts, bowling, arcades, movies, and much more. Anywhere fun that you wind up, chances are, you will see some Huntingdon people there. Montgomery is also home to 4 residential colleges and several community colleges. Alabama State University, Auburn University - Montgomery, and Faulkner University are also located here in Montgomery. It is awesome getting to meet other college kids that live in your area. It is especially awesome getting to meet them on your 2 am trip to Waffle House!

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Huntingdon is outstanding. We have Julia Russell Dining Hall and also the Coffee House on campus. The Dining Hall (DH) serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner on Monday-Friday and brunch and dinner on the weekends. The Coffee House serves coffee, snacks, and other frozen foods and drinks. The DH is set up basically like a Golden Corral. It is a buffet type deal and they have many different things to choose from. Everyday there is something different except for the pizza bar and salad bar that is there everyday. We are famous for our Taco Tuesdays and Fried Chicken Thursday. You won't want to miss out on that. And if you think you will miss mom or dad's home cooking, think again. We have all kinds of choices and a lot of them are down-home foods that will make you feel like you are at the dinner table back at home. On certain days we have celebrations that we incorporate different foods. The dining hall staff go all out like for Mardi Gras that we had not too long ago! And our DH staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. They are always there to help you in any way, all while doing it with a smile.

    Dorm Life

    From my personal experiences here at Huntingdon, we have a great dorm atmosphere. I have had an amazing experience living here. As a small school, we have 3 residence halls. Ligon (Freshman women), Searcy (Freshman men), and Blount (Co-ed Upperclassmen). I really enjoyed coming in as a Freshman and living in the Freshman dorms. I have a lot of classes with most of my friends who live in my residence hall. The best part about living in a same-sex underclassmen dorm is that whenever you need your best friend or someone to talk to, they are just a yell down the hall - literally. Another great part about living here is the get-togethers that we have. We watch late-night movies in the lobby or play games and hangout. Living on campus in one of the residence halls is probably the best experience you can have at college - particularly here at Huntingdon College.

    Academic Rigor

    We have 22 different majors, some having different and interesting concentrations. We also have great Pre-Professional programs that have exceptional graduate, medical, dental, and veterinary school acceptance rates. The academic rigor can be challenging, depending on your major and your overall academic abilities. But we have amazing professors who are highly educated (graduating from Duke, Harvard, University of Chicago, University of Alabama, etc.) who are generally interested in your success. They want what is best for you and will help you in any way they can. As long as you apply yourself and study hard, you can ace any class!

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, you should of course look at all that Huntingdon has to offer you. Explore your interests. What did you do in high school that you think you might want to continue in college? Did you play in the band? We have a marching band and various spring ensembles. Maybe you played sports? We have 8 men's teams and 7 women's teams participating in NCAA Division III. Maybe you have a new interest that you want to endure in college. Look at our clubs and activities! We have over 50! We have a lot to offer here at Huntingdon, so I advise that you look into what Huntingdon has to offer YOU and get ready for one amazing ride!

    In three sentences

    Here at Huntingdon you are not a number nor a letter. You are not just another face in the crowd. Here at it is not clich�©, because here at Huntingdon College, you are family.