Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Huntington University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Huntington University is expensive but it is very much worth the money because you will not have another experience like it. Going to a private Christian university will help you understand your faith while learning material towards your career too. Huntington has many different scholarships and grants they offer to help ease the cost for students.

    Will enjoy being here

    The different housing arrangements are a very unique thing at Huntington University. The people on your floor are the people you know best and there are many competitions held between different floors and sometimes even full dorms will compete against other dorms.

    Will learn a lot

    Huntington is a nationally recognized Christian University and it is ranked very highly by many different polls. FORBES. com lists Huntington University in it's TOP 100 colleges and universities in the U.S. Huntington has a variety of different classes and many different majors to choose from, helping students broaden their horizons and see what all there is out there.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Though this school may offer something for you if you aren't Christian, this school does have a very religious atmosphere. Some people might not enjoy that if they don't share Christian beliefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, visit the school beforehand. It helps on the decision making process. I also hear that staying the night is very helpful to quite a few people, because it gives you an idea about what dorm life and the Huntington community is like. Unless you need a cheap textbook which is easier to grab from the school bookstore, almost anywhere else is cheaper for textbooks. Although they are starting to do rental books now, so if you can, try to get a rental if you must get books from the bookstore. Otherwise, amazon, chegg, half price, and a number of other book places are much cheaper. Check in with your roommate ahead of time, so that you guys don't both bring TVs and refrigerators. It helps save space for everything else you probably want to bring. If you like decorating, go ahead and bring decorations. Fun decorations are always enjoyed by people in dorms, especially the girl dorms. Always check to make sure your financial aid awards have been applied. Some scholarships require your school to send a letter proving that you are a student before the school can receive the money. Our school doesn't send out this letter automatically, you have to request for them to send it. Sometimes more than once. Make sure your funds are in order. While laptops are nice, you don't necessarily NEED to have a computer, so if you can't afford one don't fret too much. This campus has several available computer labs (with printers and scanners).

    Bang for the buck

    Make no mistakes, this school is very expensive. I recommend visiting the school to meet with the professors in your department before signing up. That way you can get a feel for how your department is going to be. I came to this school because I liked the professors in my department. If you want to major in music studies, I really recommend that you go elsewhere. That is the department that I hear the most complaints about from people who have come here with some history in music. For those of you interested in a technical field, your money will probably be well worth it. This school has a very nice science facility, several available computer labs, a fitness/sports center, theater, and a lot of film/animation equipment. I can only assume that the Nursing and fitness majors also have a pretty well-equipped area for themselves as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have some issues with the organizational skills of this school, so I can't give it a five rating in enjoyment. I can't tell you how many times I have had to resolve an issue with tuition payments or loans, or really a number of other things. The administration seems to have a hard time communicating amongst itself, and so many students experience the frustrations of trying to fix errors because two administrative offices have poor communication with each other. However, I do enjoy the people. Many of them are genuinely kind and want to help you out. Members of the dining commons staff, as well as secretaries in various buildings, are known for being incredibly nice. They often give you a cheery hello when they see you, and they take the time to remember your name. Most of my favorite moments at this school involves the people that I see on a daily basis.

    Am learning a lot

    I can't in good conscience rate Huntington with five stars, simply because it has a lot of things that could be improved. The classes tend to be hit or miss, depending on the department. Programs that are weaker in this school (based on the experience of majors, as well as myself): music, english (again, very hit or miss with this one), broadcasting (not because this is a bad program, but because this program is probably going to go under soon due to poor financial support), spanish (you can only get a minor now because so few people were in the major). There are other weak programs, but these tend to be main ones. Programs that are very strong according to students: religious studies, social work, missionary work, history (I have never heard anything bad about any of our history professors), philosophy, psychology. Huntington also offers some majors that are harder to find in a liberal college which may be of interest: Film, animation, nursing, space science. The thing that this school has going for it is the professors. Most of them are very knowledgeable about their topics of interest and very excited about teaching it. Regardless of their teaching ability, every one of them is easy to get along with. Although it is sometimes difficult to contact professors, most of them post office hours and respond quickly to emails if you have questions or comments. And because the classes are small (the largest class I have had thus far was a lecture class of maybe 50 people, many classes have less than 30 students in attendance), the professors know their students on an individual basis, something you won't get at larger schools.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Do you go to a high school full of people unlike you? Do you suffer ridicule and are ostracized for your Christian beliefs? Do you want to freely be yourself and share the love and life Jesus has given you? Then check out HU! It just might B4u! =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. Once you step foot on campus, you will know if this is where God wants you to be.

    Bang for the buck

    HU is expensive, but well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Huntington University offers a Christian college experience like no other university I visited. You can feel the difference on campus the first time you visit. Students are friendly and truly care about each other as individuals and support each other while trying to be salt and light for Him. Professors are tangible intellectuals making sure all students succeed and perform to the best of their ability. Chapel services offer spiritual growth opportunities while campus activities are always being planned to keep students interacting and enjoying campus life. Visit and see if HU is 4 U! =)

    Am learning a lot

    Attending class is the easiest part of my day. Professors make class interesting, and I want to be there.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Though athiests and other religious sectors are welcome here, the lifestyle is centered around Christian values. Anyone who wants to have good, clean fun while developing their intellect and discovering who God made you to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night. When I spent the night here and experienced the sincerity of the student's love of Christ, and, consequentially, their Christly love for one another, which I did not experience any other place I visited, that I knew this is where I belong. Also, never be afraid to ask a question. Whether it is about the campus lifestyle, the teachers, or the food, the only way to determine which college is for you is to visit and ask questions!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is more expensive than a state school, Huntington University offers scholarships and on-campus jobs to help defer the cost. There are many advantages of going here, even if it costs more than other schools. The small class sizes allow the professors to get to know you, makes it easier for you to ask questions during class, and offers a more personal approach to learning. Huntington University offers many free events for students, including concerts, study breaks at the President's house, tournaments, bonfires/hayrides and guest speakers. They also host discussion panels on issues relevant to college students (gay marriage, the 14th amendment, relationships, etc.), and many service opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus activities abound and the brotherly/sisterly love of Christ surrounds every aspect of campus life. Nearly every weekend the college hosts an event and there are multiple clubs and activities to fit every type of personality. Floor worship and floor outings frequently present opportunities to go out, have fun, and spend some time with your sisters in Christ. Brother/sister floor events, including worship, bonfires and eating out together is an awesome way to experience Christ's love and support through having fun and worshiping Him.

    Am learning a lot

    The material is challenging, but not overwhelming. The professors are all very knowledgeable and truly desire to help students understand the material. Professors are always willing to answer questions in class, through e-mail, or during a one-on-one meeting. Free tutoring is also offered through the learning center if you desire additional guidance. The professors also make it a point to teach you how their discipline relates to the Christian worldview and how their subject has an impact on whatever you do throughout your life.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my life, I do not think that I have spent considerable time anywhere safer. It is in a small town will dedicated campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a college of this size, there are a lot of clubs. If you can not find one that suits you, that is fine, just make your own! I am sure you will find someone else who was thinking the same thing!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are of the Christian faith. Especially those who are going into ministry. We have a very comprehensive curriculum at Huntington, you will not leave feeling unprepared. Those who find it pricey can try to find scholarships and financial aid. We have a little something for everyone in particular we tend to lean towards the Protestant worldview, though you can find people with several different worldviews.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pricey. That is no lie, but it is worth it. Especially if you are pursuing a degree in ministry. The staff works hard to ensure that the experience is worth it. You will grow in Christ and learn more of the Word, these things are imperative in any field if one is a Christian. Good luck and God bless!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot that you can do for a good time. The school does not expect you to live like a monk for four years. You can play video games or join clubs. We have a fairly accomplished baseball team, if you enjoy sports. A gym that anyone can workout in. All kinds of fun stuff. Volunteer opportunities are common, they are a fun way to build up friendships and resumes. All in all, you can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. It is buffet style so eat as much as you want! Also there is a good deal of selection so even if you are picky you will probably find something to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. However, by all accounts they are a lot of fun. There are rules and regulations, but nothing one would not expect from a Christian college. They have activities and other things that are a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard. No doubt about it. But what we are learning here is of utmost importance. It is not only about being able to adequately do your job, it is about doing that job in a way that glorifies Christ. To put it another way, we are not trying to create leaders to sustain the economy, we are trying to advance the Kingdom of God.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused! You have to work hard to really understand what you are learning. It is not about only knowing it until the test is over, you have to understand it completely.

    In three sentences

    It is a great Christ centered college. The classes are challenging and the professors really know the material. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a Christian college in the Midwest.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, hard-working, those wanting a good college experience

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends. Play disc golf or urban golf. Go to the sunken gardens and play tennis! Go see movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new things and be ready to enjoy college and everything it has to offer!

    In three sentences

    Huntington University has changed my life. I have learned more already than I ever thought I would. I have met so many people that have also changed my life.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like a peaceful atmosphere Christian

    What to do for fun

    Movie theater for $5 Tons of coffee shops Frisbee golf course on campus Games with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that it is a small school. Don't expect too much excitement. But it is great if you don't mind relaxing weekends. Number one tip: get your chapel credits done early.

    In three sentences

    Huntington is an amazing place to go to school. The professors genuinely care about each student as an individual. Community is a main goal of the university.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Huntington University is a great place for someone looking for a small, christian based university. The school is secluded from any surrounding cities, but a large town is not far away and people often make trips there to shop and have fun. The community is pretty close and most people hang out in the dorms.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The community is very friendly and often watches out for each other. There is also a campus police that circulates at night. It's a pretty small campus, so it's pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    There's only one sorority, and I don't even know what it's called. Mainly all it does is different volunteer work.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of different intramural sports to get involved in. There is also a huge volunteering office, called JMC, that hooks students up with lots of activities. There is also the Student Activities Board that does the same thing, but with different campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great campus for almost any type of student. Except the party-er. They find it a difficult place to be because it's a dry campus. But it's a very open campus with decent diversity. It is a Christian University, so naturally it caters to students from some kind of Christian faith.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, it's a very expensive school....just like any other private school, but it's a good school. DO I think we should pay less? Yes. But I would say they are a very good school, and relatively speaking, worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Oh there are so many things to do! The school is often putting on different events for the students, like Olympiad, which is an Olympic/game competition between dorms. There are also tons of intramural sports to get involved in. And all the dorms and floors are always bound to be doing something fun, whether it's playing games, watching movies, or pranking a brother sister floor. There's also a frisbe golf course on campus!

    Food and Dining

    It's just like any other college food, it's not bad, but it's not the best. Sometime you question what it is they put out, but most of the time its all good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Every dorm has it's own sort of personality, so everyone can find one that best fits them. All are warm and inviting and wonderful places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Huntington is very dedicated to giving it's students the best education possible. This doesn't just mean book smarts, but includes teaching students what it is to think for themselves and know what they believe as well as why. They help them apply their academics to everyday life which allows for better and deeper learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get to know your professors. Almost any and all of them will be more than willing to have lunch with you or meet in their office to discuss class, grades, faith or just life in general. Also, get involved on campus. There are SO MANY wonderful opportunities available.

    In three sentences

    Huntington University is a wonderful University that helps grow its students into men and women who have a lot to contribute. It is full of opportunities for students to broaden their knowledge and sense of self both in and outside of the class room. It allows students not only to learn and study but also to grow in becoming a generous and well rounded human being.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THere is always police here on campus at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs anad boards to be involved in on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to be challenged academically as well as spiritually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Olympiad is a campus-wide event held every year with teams and competitions in different areas like water polo, volleyball, and cards.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, great people, great schooling,and overall a great college!

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out at the HUB on campus, the PERC, go to any of the multiple events on campus, go see a movie off campus, or go bowling, or go out to eat in Huntington!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good to eat and there are plenty of healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms with excellent cleaning services and RAs and RDs.

    Academic Rigor

    We have great programs in every area and the professors really challenge you and make you think! you will be challenged!

    Tips for prospective students

    IF you are looking for a small, great christian college with excellent academic programs and athletics, then Huntington is the place for you!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly on guard and will answer at any time throughout the night. No major incidents have occurred in my two years at the University.

    Greek Life

    Huntington University has no frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I've said before, Huntington is a very community based college. I am a part of the Student Activity Board, Campus Life, and work in the training room four hours a day. The best aspect of Huntington University is the opportunities it provides through clubs, on campus jobs, and volunteer opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Huntington is great for students that are looking to go into Nursing, Digital Media Arts, or any type of sports study. Students that are creative will fit right in and be surrounded with new friends to swap and share ideas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a semester the guys on my floor make a slip n' slide that stretches the entire length of the dorm. Another thing our hall does is throwing rocks at trains. Sounds dumb I know...but it's oddly fun. Olympiad is a dorm competition put on by the Student Activity Board. It's our main event during the year and completely envelops the college campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Huntington University's classes made me think deeper about my spirituality and personal beliefs. It really challenged my beliefs and who I was. People and classes that challenge your faith are nice...but they don't give you a degree. Sometimes it feels like the university loses focus on giving students a fair opportunity to get a degree. Sometimes it gets out of hand. That mixed with an awful food service, high price, and lack of a student-centered focus really takes down the quality of the school.

    What to do for fun

    The movie theater down the road costs only $5.50 for students. Afterwords we usually make a little visit to Appleb's for a late night snack. If you're looking for more of a summer experience the Huntington Drive In is just for you. Two movies for the price of one? You can't beat it. If movies and food aren't your thing, Fort Wayne is only 25 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Suedexo is the food provider at Huntington University. The lack of employee heigene, variety, and food quality reached a new low last year. These three problems with the food service made me feel as if someone was stealing money straight from my wallet rather than paying for a service. My one star goes too the new Sub-Connection addition to our student center. I find it better than subway...but it does get old really fast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. My problem comes with the university's maintenance and upkeep. Recent events and lack of funding take away from the quality of the college dorms. My four star rating comes from the closeness the dorms provide. After the always awkward meet and greet first semester, dorms really tend to open up and eventually you will feel like brothers.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class setting at Huntington University gives professors the ability to give each student one on one attention. It does sometimes get annoying when a class that has nothing to do with your major stresses you out more than your major based courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever doubt yourself. Find a great group of friends to support you through the challenges life is about to throw at you. This period of life is confusing, scary, and sometimes merciless, but Huntington University provides the resources needed to get through hard times.

    In three sentences

    Huntington University can be defined in one word...community. A balance of community outreach programs paired with very demanding class work makes the university a great place for any individual looking for growth. Growth socially, intellectually, and spiritually.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of things!

    Dorm Life

    My first year at Huntington I stayed in the newest dorm which is Livingston. It was nice and clean, and the friends I made were awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Nursing student the classes that I have to take are pretty hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay in your room! Get out and go to the events that the students put on and make friends! Don't be afraid of going out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    Huntington University is an excellent Christian college that has helped me grow in my faith, and the person that I am today. I have met some pretty great friends by going to HU.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security on hand always and make sure that everyone is fully aware of how to contact them in case of an emergency. They also pass out rape whistles.

    Greek Life

    Not personally being Greek myself, I'm not sure if we have any Greek based clubs or not. I think so, though. Huntington strives for ethnic diversity and explores the culture, food, etc of many different ethnicities for the whole campus to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs, and ministry opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts, and those going into pre-law, or education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hoe-down or Glow-down. They're dance parties basically. But Glow-down is in the dark with glow-sticks, neon paint flying everywhere, etc. Paranoia is awesome, we play it all the time between dorms, or the entire campus! everyone gets a name, and you have to keep away from the person who has yours, or else they could tag you and you are out. last person standing wins! Sometimes it goes on for a few weeks!

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are expensive, but the teachers really know their stuff!

    What to do for fun

    Each dorm has a few things like; a Pool table, Ping Pong, etc. Outside, people love playing Ultimate Frisbee or Frisbee Golf, Powder puff football, lots of different sports, plus the annual activities such as the Glow-down, or Plays and Music Concerts. There is a roller rink nearby, and Fort Wayne is also nearby for shopping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Not always the best, but they give you plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm is unique. I love the people in the dorm that I live in.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but fun. Huntington demands your very best effort at your schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions about anything and everything. If you want to take classes over the summer and transfer the credits into Huntington in the Fall, get a pre-consent form from the registrar's office.

    In three sentences

    I love it! The professors are amazing and usually have working experience in their field in addition to teaching. It feels like family.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    none.

    What to do for fun

    The college's SAB (student activities board) is really good about planning campus events. So far this year we've had mud volleyball, a hoedown with a line dancing teacher, fall work day where we volunteer around the community, and Olympiad which is our version of the Olympics.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It is buffet style with the typical choices, along with some gluten-free options (which usually end up being the best choice for dinner). There is also a separate place with subs and pasta.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Hardy Hall is great. I have one roommate and community style bathrooms; but they are very clean! The whole floor gets along with each other and we are one big family. We plan floor events and events with our brother floor in Wright Hall. Hardy third is so great.

    Academic Rigor

    You are definitely challenged by the curriculum here. However, there are professors and advisors very willing to help you if you're struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's okay if you come in with your major undecided because there are people here who will pray for you, can counsel you, and can help you discover your interests and get you on the right path. If you want a great group of close friends and people who really care about you, Hardy Hall and Wright Hall is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    At Huntington, you are surrounded with a huge group of people who genuinely care for you. You have a giant support system of people who are willing to listen to the struggles in your life and who will pray for you, encourage you, and help in any way they can. Also, the dorm community in Hardy Hall and Wright Hall is really great; we are one big family.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of Top Schools in Saftey

    What to do for fun

    Many Activities to take part in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your general studies as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Huntington University is great school. Not only am I getting a great education, I am also getting spiritual aspects as well.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to be educated well while growing in their faith, for people who want to expand their horizons greatly while staying in a faith-based setting, for people who don't like the idea of attending a college that focuses on a lot of tradition.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is very lively at Huntington and the town of Huntington itself is very unique. I can't wait to explore it more. Huntington offers a variety of intramural sports and student events.

    Food and Dining

    Huntington has a pretty average food situation. Someone who is looking for something more exotic or wider variety might be attracted to another college.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm had its own sort of personality, from peaceful and comfortable to wild and full of fun events. Students I talked to emphasized the fun they have with their dorm mates and people in other buildings; the campus has a wide variety of activities to get people mingling and having a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes that I sat in on while visiting were clear and well taught. Class sizes were small and professors, who seemed to know their subjects very well, gave students time and attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit campus. I got a very comprehensive tour and and idea of what is important to Huntington, as well as what they have to offer their students. Ask a lot of questions and think carefully about how you feel there.

    In three sentences

    A great, unique atmosphere. It is a little non-traditional, which may not be attractive for some people, but it is a great fit for me. I like the small classes and dedicated education offered there.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    i thought it was good

    In three sentences

    an amazing school

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are ranked one of the safest colleges in the state of Indiana so that says it for it's self.

    Bang for the buck

    It maybe pricey but it is defiantly worth it just because of all that they do for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is what you would think a college would serve. It could be better but they will ask you for your view point on what needs to be better through out the year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing here. You know everyone on your floor and grow great relationships with everyone. There is a close community with each floor in the dorms and it's basically like one giant family.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here is off the charts because of the professors investing in you so you can do your best in their classes. Also they know what they are talking about in their subjects and they do their best to keep it Christ centered.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is make sure you have an over night visit because that will help with your decision. Having the over night visit will give you a great example of what dorm life is like and what the community here is all about. Also try and take in a chapel to see what it is like.

    In three sentences

    I give Huntington University a 10 out of 10 because every staff member here invests in your interests and want them to come true. The university may be a bit pricey but is defiantly worth every bit of it just because of how much they invest in you and what you want to do. The campus is very Christ focused out of the classroom and in the classroom, also everyone here wants to help you grow in your relationship in Christ.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's the second safest university in the state!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not what you think; mostly its volunteer oriented with no separate housing.

    What to do for fun

    Mostly on-campus activities that are regularly scheduled and really enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    Be prepared for only a few options that you may not enjoy all the time. It's edible, though.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is really nice and get super close. It's really laid back, comfortable to live in, not too small, and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but worth going to.

    Tips for prospective students

    It might be uncomfortable for a non-Christian student looking for a high-paced, stereotypical college experience. There's a large focus on community here, but only come here if you're into making friends who like to keep it on the DL for the majority of the time.

    In three sentences

    Huntington is truly a Christ-centered University. It may be a bit expensive, but you're paying for a great overall experience. Also, it's pretty small, but there's lots of on-campus activities.

  • 07/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime doesn't exist at Huntington University. Period.

    Greek Life

    None. Some people will tell you they have a sorority, but it's not really a sorority sorority. I don't really know much about it, but anything you envision about a typical sorority is NOT what they have at Huntington. That's not a bad thing as all of the girls I know in it are extremely nice and smart. It's just not a regular sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good sports. Didn't get involved because I was transferring.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the Christian environment, like others holding you accountable for your actions, and having a big support system while getting a quality education. Everyone at Huntington cares about you and will listen to your problems. Just as a warning though, I've found some of the people here to be a little judgmental. Some, not most, students at Huntington University have this idea that they need to separate themselves from what they deem 'poor influences' completely and as a result are pretty close-minded and not open to hearing those who are more liberal.

    Bang for the buck

    Huntington is a good school with great professors and they are good about giving you financial aid so you can meet your need. However, keep in mind that this is not a top-ranked University. If you take a degree from Huntington to an employer, it doesn't have that national reputation that large flagship Universities have. I'm not in one of the religious majors, but I know Huntington has some sort of system where they will refund you some of your expenses if you're income isn't at a certain level. I don't know exactly how it works or if that statement is entirely accurate, but there is something in that regard. If you want a degree to work in missions or ministry or anything in that area of study, Huntington is fine. I personally want a higher paying job and I am transferring in part because I don't think a Huntington degree is likely to warrant me a high income.

    What to do for fun

    Let me start by saying there's almost no parties. I wasn't expecting a party school coming in, but I assumed there would be more than what I found here. If that's your thing, just know you won't find it at Huntington, but then again, most people looking into HU aren't going to be big time parties either. On a typical Friday night, about 1/4 to 1/3 of the campus is going to go home or out of town for the weekends. The rest are going to be in the dorms, watching movies, playing ping pong, or doing board games. Sometimes they'll go out to Applebees or Pizza Hut and a few will venture off to Fort Wayne for something bigger. Honestly, I was bored most weekends at Huntington. I am from a larger city and am used to lots going on all the time. I didn't find that at Huntington and it was the most disappointing aspect of my Freshman year.

    Food and Dining

    Sunday Brunch is good. The rest gets really old and gross after awhile. This was the worst aspect of Huntington University.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the hall. Wright Hall is really good about scheduling activities every weekend, but others such as Livingston just let you do your own thing for the most part. They do have events, but I think Wright has more as a whole.

    Academic Rigor

    I had some classes that were a complete joke and others that were quite difficult. I will say I never had a bad professor and I'd match the faculty at Huntington University to that of any college in the country. They care so much about you and your success, it's amazing! If you want a challenge, I think it depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to Huntington University if you are expecting any sort of night life. It's extremely limited in that regard.

    In three sentences

    I'd say 75% of the students at Huntington University love it. I am transferring, but I will admit it was a good experience and I met some amazing people here. You will meet people who light up a room with their friendliness and compassion.