Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Husson University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I definitely didn't know how much I would save with financial aid and I have to say that I am very pleased.

    Will enjoy being here

    They have a wide variety of clubs that you can join and they have awesome sports teams. The teachers and students are great and the food is delicious.

    Will learn a lot

    I visited this school during an open house and I fell in love with it immediately. I can't wait to attend this fall, and I am really looking forward to all of the different things I will learn and do while I am there.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    We all know college is expensive however, for the education you receive at Husson and the financial aid packages that are available, you won't be disappointed.

    Am enjoying being here

    Husson is a wonderful place. Considering its small size, campus feels like a mini community. Also, you never have to worry about finding something to do. The student activities coordinator at Husson works very hard to put on fun and exciting events, you always have the option of joining a fraternity or sorority, sports teams, a variety of clubs, intramurals, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    Husson University, regardless of one's major, strives to graduate holistic individuals. The team of faculty, staff, and adjuncts work together to prepare competent individuals in all aspects of their life, not just their academics. This University also provides outstanding hands-on learning experiences. Having participated in such opportunities, it is my belief that I am receiving an education that far surpasses that of a college graduate from another University. When I have entered my field to gain experience I do not feel overwhelmed, rather, I feel confident that I am right where I need to be with my education.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Husson also has an extensive financial aid and student accounts departments willing to help students get their school bills in order. They truly want you to succeed not only in your classes, but outside of college as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    In addition to classes, Husson also offers several clubs and organizations. They have everything from sororities and fraternities to a theatre group, an outdoors club, criminal justice and psychology clubs (as well as other clubs for each respective major), a pep band, and sports teams, including basketball, golf, football, lacrosse, softball, and baseball.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a criminal justice and psychology major at Husson and the professors and classes are simply the best available in New England. There has not been a single class in the criminal justice department I didn't like. The professors are intelligent and always willing to help students.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small school who is not interested in constant partying and is serious about their goals and aspirations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply here! Living on campus is great, the price is right, the professors are helpful, the students are nice, and there are many opportunities for new students.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is only costing me about $2,000 per year, including lab fees, room and board.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very friendly, and the atmosphere is helpful and inviting.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors get to know you on a more personal level than most larger schools, allowing a more open relationship when questions are welcomed.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is the furman where you can hang out, watch tv, play pool or ping pong, etc. events are held at the gracie and sometimes there are some cool ones.

    Food and Dining

    the dick isn't very good but the food at cressy's marketplace is yummy.

    Dorm Life

    not great.

    Academic Rigor

    i am in pre-pharmacy which is very hard but any of the other majors are much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    many people realize they don't like the small size of husson and end up transferring. also, stay close to home because you will get homesick.

    In three sentences

    small school with about 3,000 students.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Husson's dining services were not the best, however they are reconstructing the building in hopes to make things run smoother.

    Dorm Life

    I no longer live on campus as husson has an over flow of students

    Academic Rigor

    Academia is no walk in the park here but you certainly learn a lot. Professors are well rounded and know their stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wonderful School that takes care of its students. When you have an issue faculty members are quick to step up and help you or guide you in the right direction.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have always been an athlete so for fun, I play football for Husson. It's great that Husson has athletic teams.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school that will help you achieve your goals, then Husson university is that school. The community is small so there isn't many distractions, and the instructors are able to know you on a more personal level, then being lost in a large lecture.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the university life, with a small commuity feel of Husson. Instructors are knowledgeable about their subjects, and involved with helping their students achieve success.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Husson is a very small campus and Husson security is always patrolling around. There are no areas of campus in which feel unsafe at any time of day.

    Clubs and Activities

    Husson has many clubs and activities to get involved in. They offer many things from sports to academic clubs. If you make leader of a club you receive 20 hours of volunteer work.

    What to do for fun

    Husson holds a lot of activities such as comdians, majicians, mind readers, etc... Also, there are a lot of things going on in Orono.

    Food and Dining

    The food that Husson actually made was good, but often I felt that there was not enough choice. Where Husson is under construction right now, I foresee that changing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average because the dorms themselves are not in bad condition at all but you can hear everything going on around you from people outside to people in the other rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to bigger schools, Husson gives students a lot of small homework assignments but the homework pays off when it comes to taking tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to do a lot of busy work, that will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Husson University has a very well rounded Accounting and Business Administration program, in which I believe will have very successful students. The living at Husson is also nice and Husson is currently under construction making a sweets and a new dining hall. Overall Husson is a well accomplished school with mild flaws.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They have a Greek System. Not much goes on, from what I've heard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to do and new activities to sign up for.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a smaller college within a small city.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. They helped as much as they could with scholarships and loans. And even then, for a private institution, their price is a lot better than most.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bus that will bring students into town where the strip mall and movies are. The acreage at Husson allows for hiking, camping, and other great outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    Just like any other college food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. All they really need are some decorations.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty here want there students to strive to be their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything in early. The earlier, the better.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, beautiful campus surrounded by woods in the suburbs of Bangor, Maine. There is renovations going on, but it'll just make the school better. The small amount of people gives the campus a tight-knit feel.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food! lots of variety.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging. You must work for a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study a lot. Take advantage of help center. Get lots of sleep.

    In three sentences

    It is a challenging university, and because of this, you receive a very good education. The teachers truly care about the students. The school is in a good location.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe at this school. There are always campus security around willing to help. They will even escort you to your car if you have a late class and it is dark.

    Greek Life

    Multiple frats and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much to do to get involved if you wished to be involved

    Great for these types of students

    All students!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly expensive school, but it is completely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something going on at campus for students like sporting events, outings, and on campus movies.

    Food and Dining

    Seriously, the best food ever!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but from what I have heard, the dorms are very nice and dorm life in general is very good. Lots of opportunities to campus living students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a pretty challenging academic program, but the professors are more than willing to help, and it is completely do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    In high school, maintain a decent GPA and get involved! Husson has many leadership scholarships based on how involved you were in your school and community.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school that teachers amazing values. The professors are well educated, but not to the point where they are pig headed about it. It overall is a wonderful environment and so close to many shopping facilities and restaurants.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is a lot cheaper than most colleges. There are some clubs and student activites to do. The professors are very experienced.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do on campus. There are some things on the weekends but not a whole bunch. There is a a bunch of stores and things to do off campus but they can cost money.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety. It does get repettitive. There is usually always the same things with only different type of meals.On occasion they will go all out for their students. One night they served whole lobsters and steaks cooked to the way you wanted.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm are ok. Depending which one you are depends on how new the furniture is. Carlisle hall has the old furniture but Bell Hall has nice new furniture. The rooms are kind of small but they are good for people who do not have a lot of stuff.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor depends on how hard the class is. Most are pretty easy. The professor are all experience in what they are teaching. They are willing to sit down and help you out when you need it.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have RA's and security patrol I have always felt safe on campus and there's always someone to be with.

    Greek Life

    Am really not sure about this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Outdoors Club ,Paralegal Club, Running Club ,Sportsman's Club and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    First time from home, out going, ambition

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Home coming week and charity runs

    Bang for the buck

    There are apartments right by the college so later on it could be a option for you.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports activities, theater, swimming pool, a pool table and different clubs. There is something to do all the time.

    Food and Dining

    You have a choice of a verity something for everyone

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close to dinner area and to you classes which is a big help. Your have a laundry room and a place you can go to use a microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    always willing to take the time to answer questions and explain things that you didn't understand. Very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    there is a small shopping center close by and Husson has sport and exciting activities and clubs. Husson is like one big family and everyone is friendly

    In three sentences

    There is always someone there to help answer any questions that you may need. There are also work study hall that are a big help. Everyone here at Husson are very friendly. From 1 to 10 I rate this university a (10)

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There honestly is not much to do for fun around Husson. The mall is close and there is also the sports arena which is a fun place to go. However, other than that there's not much to do, especially at night.

    Food and Dining

    Husson just built a new dining hall, and it has many more food choices than the last dining hall. Husson provides a main course, a grill, a sandwich bar, a pizza bar, a pasta bar, salad bar, and dessert tray. There are many choices for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Since Husson built the new Living Learning Center, the suite buildings are definitely better than the rooms in the other three dorm buildings. The other buildings have some old furniture but they are not too bad. The LLC has new furniture, a common room between two bedrooms, and a bathroom, it's definitely the way to go.

    Academic Rigor

    The schoolwork depends on your major but it is very difficult and time consuming. The work is definitely not impossible but it takes dedication and hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and do not procrastinate. If you start to have trouble in a class talk to the professor because most of the professors are more than willing to help but you need to notify them as soon as you are having trouble. Also utilize the writing and tutor center, it's extremely helpful.

    In three sentences

    Husson University is a small school but provides many opportunities. Many of the teachers are willing to do whatever they can to help. Husson University is mainly focused on academics rather than extracurricular activities.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Husson is expensive and the financial aid didn't help me at all actually. It was such a small amount given.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to do on campus and there's the student center that has ping pong tables and a pool table.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes on the weekends they change the food for brunch to lunch without specification and it really gets annoying because if you're planning to eat breakfast and it's not there, you get a little upset.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the best, but it's got everything needed to live the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the classes provided at Husson. They have courses that are just challenging enough for me and they aren't so easy that I don't have to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you interact with your floor if you live in the dorms. It'll make living on the floor so much more enjoyable!

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities, but they are not allowed to have houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities available to student, and if they don't have what you want it isn't difficult to start a club yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to stay out of major cities and attend a smaller school.

    What to do for fun

    Bangor has many shopping opportunities as well as movie theaters, bowling, and roller skating.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons are very nice - they were newly renovated this year. The food is good for the first 2 to 3 weeks you eat it, but then your body becomes sick of eating the same things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are in disrepair and old, but it is a good experience for every freshman to live in the dorms for a year.

    Academic Rigor

    For general education requirements, their classes could be tougher; however, their degree classes are more to the level of rigor that should be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy books from the bookstore, look online first. Go to campus for a tour or overnight. Talk to your advisors; they are great advocates.

    In three sentences

    Some of their degree programs are very strong while others are much weaker. The campus is small with cramped parking but they have recently been trying to promote social events. They have very good, recognized Division 3 athletic teams.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities such as sporting events, concerts and comedians.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. There are places on campus that are available for students to eat at when the dining hall is closed.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older, but they are clean and are always warm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard, but there are many opportunities to receive extra help. No one should ever be lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you apply. Many do not appreciate the small campus, while others fall in love with it.

    In three sentences

    Husson University is a small, beautiful, and welcoming place for further education. It offers majors that are not available at other local colleges, such as Pre-Pharmacy. The small classroom atmosphere allows for individual attention.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. It is pretty well lit at night, and the security guards are very friendly and are willing to help any way they can. There is a number you can call in order to be escorted by security anywhere on campus if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of sororities and fraternities at Husson. There aren't any buildings designated for Greek life, the students are either commuters or just live in the regular residence halls. I'm not too familiar with this system but as soon as you are on campus finding somebody to talk to should not be a difficult task.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to get involved with on campus. You can check out the Husson website at husson.edu to see a full list of the clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    Husson provides a lot of different opportunities for many different types of students. I think that no matter what kind of student you are, as long as you are dedicated to your studies, this university could be the place for you. College really is what you make of it, and taking advantage of the opportunities available is going to make your college career a success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus, but I'm sure if you ask the right person they'll be able to tell you!

    Bang for the buck

    College is going to be expensive wherever you go, but Husson provides a lot of opportunities and resources for its students. There are countless things that students receive as a part of their tuition, it is just up to them to utilize those things. In my opinion, the room and board is a little bit pricy but everything is so convenient that it is almost worth the extra money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different places around Bangor to go, but as a college student you usually have to find your own fun instead of paying for it. The Social Committee puts on a bunch of great events all throughout the year and becoming involved with clubs and organizations serves as an outlet for many students.

    Food and Dining

    The Dickerman Dining Center has been redone this past summer and the food is much better than it used to be. The facility is great and the staff is very friendly. Sometimes the food options can seem repetitive, but there is usually always something that you can find. There is always a vegetarian option and the dining center offers gluten-free products as well. The Grab-N-Go center recently opened where students can use their meals to get a meal to bring back to their dorm or another campus location. Husson is right in Bangor, so if you are looking to dine off campus, the city is right there and very easily accessible.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not like living in the dorms. I roomed with a friend from home my first semester, and it unfortunately didn't work out. I was told not to room with a friend, and I definitely should have listened. If you are thinking about rooming with a friend from home, rethink it and maybe request to be in the same building rather than in the same room.The dorms are kept very clean, but some of the furniture in the rooms have seen better days. The custodial staff is really friendly, and they take very good care of the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing program, which is one of the hardest programs at Husson. I've heard that junior year is the hardest, but it is a very big adjustment as a freshman. Although the program is hard, there are many resources available for students. I've taken advantage of the tutoring center and re-teach sessions which have been really helpful for me. It is important that students stay organized and get their work done ahead of time instead of scrambling at the due date.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you did not meet the SAT requirement that Husson looks for the first time, you should take them again to improve your chances at being accepted. Another thing to do in order to maximize your chances at being accepted is go in and have a meeting with somebody in the admissions department, and be sure to ask lots of questions and let them see that you are really interested in this institution. Make sure you meet all of the deadlines put in place by the registrar admissions offices! The last piece of advice is to get involved on campus, you need to find something you enjoy!

    In three sentences

    Husson is a good choice for students looking for a quality education. The faculty are dedicated to helping students achieve their maximum potential and are interested in seeing each student succeed. Husson is safe, and the surrounding area makes things very easily accessible.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always driving around campus and checking things out.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a exceptionally large amount of clubs and activites offered.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid is really good for this school. Students tend to get a good deal. They also have flexible payment plans as well.

    What to do for fun

    They're is a lot of activities put on through out the school year. Movie nights, pizza night, and trivia nights. They also have special deals for going to great skates, the sports arena, and more. They really try to get their students out and about.

    Food and Dining

    Husson has a really good cafeteria and another dining hall. They're prices aren't outrageous and they're affordable. They also have restaurants local that you can get discounts as a student.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter in college. I may go to dorm life at some point but as of right now I am just a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Your always allowed your opinion here and it's never turned away. You can argue in a discussion form with the class and professor. They actually encourage to be challenged by the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your having trouble academically go to your professor right away to figure out a plan that'll help turn you around. If you think you want to change your major do it and don't feel ashamed.

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus environment for the students. The faculty is really great at working around with each student. You don't have to feel alone going through college if your struggling.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bangor has many activities for all ages and Husson alone recruits acts, theatre, and musicians all of which perform on campus. There are bingo and movie nights, as well as outings to the local bowling alley and skating rink.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh food, something for every taste.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with the staff, they will help you achieve the road you want if you are open and honest with them.

    In three sentences

    Husson is very interested in their students and their goals. They are organized and professional and they actively make sure that each student receives the most out of their education as possible.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see security in the parking lots it is a great feeling. I know that all my stuff and my car is safe even when I am in class. I also know that if I needed help that they would be very willing to assist me!

    Great for these types of students

    Self driven student and students that can work independently and don't rely on group settings.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the education is very good for the price you pay.

    What to do for fun

    I go bowling in my free time.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall I thought it was very fair but some time you have to double check with the professor. They are human and do mess up sometimes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your study skills before you hit college. Be prepared to multitask.

    In three sentences

    Really clean environment to learn in. Like how they let you know when your class is cancelled. Like how the professors use the projector I feel that it is much more interactive.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Bangor Mall, hang out with my friends at other surrounding colleges, lots of recreational activities!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, lots of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I am living in a new dorm this year, absolutely love it!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have small number of students, more individualized attention from professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time at Husson!!!

    In three sentences

    I am in my second year at Husson. The school is a much smaller setting which works well for me. Food is great & great housing!!!

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Husson offers small classes and a friendly staff.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    skiing, movies, shopping, dining, bowling, clubs, sports, gym, pool, gym classes (yoga, zumba), greek life, seasonal activities apple and pumpkin picking

    Tips for prospective students

    Shadow a person in the field you are looking to study. Explore all options and career services is there to help with any questions.

    In three sentences

    Small university full of teachers who care. Each program is like a family. Great friends are made here.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a really great campus safety team (which may be good or bad news to you) they offer a self-defense class for all freshmen and will escort student back to their dorm if needed. They're always there if you need them.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Husson is alright. I was kind of disappointed that Husson has no Greek Row to speak of, but there are a couple sororities and fraternities, including Kappa Delta Phi (which is national) while the rest are campus specific.

    Clubs and Activities

    Husson has probably two or three dozen clubs of one kind or another, but I've had a little trouble finding out who to contact to join said clubs. If you miss the club fair (I had classes all day : ( ) then you're a little out of luck. There is a lot of variety in Husson's clubs, though. There's A Cappella, intramural sports, PrePharm Club, Science club, Habitat for Humanity, a couple LGBT clubs, improv, gaming, and many more. They're all listed here: http://www.husson.edu/club-directory

    Great for these types of students

    Husson would be great for an average student who isn't interested in the hustle and bustle of a large university or one located in a large city, who prefers more personal attention in the classroom and a campus that only takes about seven minutes to walk across.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going for Pharmacy, and of the thirteen I applied to, Husson was by far the cheapest, especially without financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    This might disappoint, but Husson just isn't much of a party school. It is a dry campus, and the administration is pretty strict about underage drinking. In addition, there is no Greek Row at Husson, so there are fewer Greek-related activities. Most people drive to the University of Maine to have fun. However, if you're less into partying, then Husson's Student Activities does a great job of offering alternative activities. We've been able to go roller skating and bowling (both for free), and there is always some kind of music, presentation or movie playing in either the auditorium or the Gracie theater. In addition, they offer free Zumba and Yoga classes (if you find that fun, like I do) Husson is also located in a fairly large (by Maine standards) city, and Bangor has the Bangor Mall, some other shopping centers and lots of places to eat among other attractions.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at Husson (freshman 15, here I come!). There are always at least three or four different options, plus a full salad bar, to essentially cater to most tastes, including vegetarian, gluten free, and usually vegan options. The Dining Hall staff are really friendly and do a great job. Naturally, every once in a while there is a night where you might find that there's nothing good in the Dining Center, but then you can get food at the Grab and Go (pizza, subs, etc) or at the Cressy Market (a mini market with all kinds of stuff, and they make good sandwiches).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice. Each one has nine floors, and most (if not all) are single-gender floors. There are also themed floors, such as a First-year experience floor, a quiet floor and a healthcare majors floor. Husson did just make a building specifically for graduate students to live in an apartment-based setting, but the original dorms are pretty average. Also, the internet can sometimes be iffy, but most students just have ethernet cables if they need them. There is free cable, though! (By free I mean covered by room and board :P)

    Academic Rigor

    Although Husson is certainly not known for academic rigor, it really depends upon your ability as a student how rigorous Husson is. From my experience, teachers in general tend to be fairly understanding. I'm still a freshman in intro courses as well, so (as would be expected) the average student's perception of Husson's academic rigor will likely change as they take more advanced courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Husson, as far as colleges go, is probably going to be your best option financially on the East Coast unless you receive a generous scholarship. In addition, many people love how small Husson is. Although it isn't as prestigious as many other universities, the students and faculty do make new students feel welcome. Although, Husson can be kind of a pain to deal with over the phone, so if you are able to visit the department you are calling in person, that is usually the better option.

    In three sentences

    Husson University has a lovely, clean campus, with plenty of trees and other foliage. The food is pretty great too. Plus Husson has an impressive array of courses for business related majors and offers the comfort of a small campus.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    excellent

    Dorm Life

    lots of storage because beds raise high. most rooms you have a roommate. each room has 2 closets, 2 beds, 2 desks, 2 small (3 draw) dresser. more storage than what I though

    Academic Rigor

    classes are fun an easy if you show up to class. tuition is reasonable but want to apply for financial aid and scholarships to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should definitely apply come visit the campus get personal tours and get a feel of campus life

    In three sentences

    housing is close to classes food/ dining is great- just recently updated new furniture is in the process. most rooms already have it

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always around. It is a safe campus but is open to the community so the risk is there but the security is reliable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything and if there isn't then you can make a club.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The university posts a schedule for student activities every two weeks which range from student lead movies to shopping trips.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center is between three halls and always has good food. It has a different menu each night.

    Dorm Life

    It is nice. The quite hours are reasonable and campus security does hall checks through out the night.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year classes aren't all that hard but that is not to say its not going to be hard for some.

    Tips for prospective students

    Broaden your circle of friends, it does make the transition easier.

    In three sentences

    Husson university is a wonderful place to attend. It is nestled in a small city and in a friendly environment. Another plus is that the shopping area is a 5 min walk from campus.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is wonderful. I never feel unsafe and the campus security officers are very friendly.

    Greek Life

    Greek life seems like it is kind of a joke to me. I didn't even know we had any.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is required to join two clubs by the time you graduate at Husson. I have found interest in just two of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that might struggle more in school, the professors care and are there to help you. I didn't find the courses as challenging as I had expected.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid was very slim

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. The activities planned by student activities, not many people I find go and its almost awkward. You hang out with your friends, go to sports games, or go to the mall for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is repetitive but good.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms, I have had no trouble with my roommate. Not much going on within the dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found only one of my courses to be an academic challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the transition. Work hard, and put in the study hours, it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Husson University has a good paced nursing program. It is very much like high school in that it socially wasn't welcoming at first. It takes time to transition here.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Eh, go to the talent show and the free concerts. Get involved to make friends. For fun events.. go to UMaine

    Food and Dining

    When i lived on campus it was awful. However now they have completely re-done the dining hall and have tons of options and the food tastes much better. There are always healthy options like the sandwich bar and grilled chicken and there is also always pasta and pizza in addition to whatever the meal is.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt think the dorms were great when I lived there, They need to re-do the bathrooms. But overall they are improving and the rooms arent as small as at some colleges. I had a triple, so mine was slightly different than the norm.

    Academic Rigor

    Because I am in a five year double major program I think that my academics are extremely challenging and can be too time consuming to allow me to have a life other than school. But i know that other majors like psych and teaching, etc. have a lot less of a work and class load, rather than taking 7 classes per semester like I do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget, because books are expensive!

    In three sentences

    Husson University can be a great place, it all depends on your major. I have had professors in the CJ field whom I loved, however I think that they hire a lot of adjuncts who have no idea what they are doing or how to teach a class which can get frustrating. If you are going here for Occupational Therapy, I recommend you go somewhere else.