Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Hutchinson Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trying to get their General Education classes (Math, Science, English, etc.) out of the way on a budget.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking in the student parking lots is terrible! Get to the campus at least 10-15 minutes early to find a good spot and then head up to your class because most teachers I've had have started right on time! There is a parking lot across the street from the school. The street you have to cross to reach the campus is really busy and there is nothing stopping the cars from entering the crosswalk when a student is walking across it. They are just some white lines painted on the ground. Be extremely careful here!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable and most classes really teach you something that will stick with you for life!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the fellowship of the students a lot!

    Am learning a lot

    I find that my teachers are fair and kind, the students are friendly, and we all work together to understand the lessons.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not any Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Theater students, firefighting and athletics.

    Bang for the buck

    It's nice to actually get away from home and be on your own.

    What to do for fun

    Go to sports events, movies, club events.

    Food and Dining

    Almost everyone complains about the food. It isn't that good, and there have even been things such as moldy bread, hair in the food, dirty trays, bowls and ESPECIALLY silverware. Now for other places to eat, if you have money, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from around Hutchinson.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms, and most of the rules aren't stupid, and there is security after 9 every day, so that makes you feel safer. Also there is always a number you can call for the on-call RA if you need help with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only choose HCC if you don't want a big-time campus experience. It's a smaller college, but the people are pretty nice to get along with.

    In three sentences

    HCC is a school where its hard to get lost in. The school as well as the teachers have helped me learn many things on my choice of degree that have helped me. They have a few strong degree interests that are popular.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart and willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I dont really know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good when it comes to financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Im usually studying or hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    I cook at home.

    Dorm Life

    I heard about it but I have my own place.

    Academic Rigor

    I dont know what this is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a pretty good college. I like it.

    In three sentences

    Well they keep it very clean on the campus. Their is plenty of team spirit during the games. Most of the teachers I have had so far have very good teaching styles which led me to soak in the material better.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live out of town, however Hutchinson is a nice town with good restaurants and sports events.

    Food and Dining

    can't comment

    Dorm Life

    can't comment

    Academic Rigor

    I have faced challenges and grown from them

    Tips for prospective students

    If your a student truly in need financially with limited resources, it is a good idea to compare schools to see how different schools resources and ways of helping all students with many different types of financial hardships, especially in today's job market.

    In three sentences

    The professors, tutors, IT staff, ADA Counselors are all excellent and very knowledgeable. Overall, staff care about the students and like what they do. Wondering if financial aid meets with all students, or some students or is paper submission the only contact ever made with a student?

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around cameras every where you look so your belongings will be safe

    Great for these types of students

    Sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Really dont know any of the traditions here yet

    Bang for the buck

    Hutch track team is on point this year and for the 2013 season

    What to do for fun

    They do lots of things here, what I have liked was the dances.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok can be better in some places

    Academic Rigor

    My academics are great right now

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pick a good major or go undecided and get all your basic

    In three sentences

    I would say my time at hutch right now is very great. The teachers here are awesome and the students here are all friendly.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports available.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty bad. Somedays' it's edible, somedays' it's so bland i can't eat it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make friends with your adviser, they are here to help you. Don't procrastinate, it will hurt you greatly. Be involved, it helps with stress and depression.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very knowledgeable. It is a nice sized campus, not too small, not too big. The dorm rooms are pretty big, compared to most.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The main campus has a variety of groups, sports and clubs to become involved in. Movie theaters, shopping and dining establishments are close or 30 min away to more choices and variety.

    Food and Dining

    I am not familiar with the main campus as, I attend the Newton branch but, do know that all three branches are close to a variety of food & dining establishments.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus, so am not able to comment.

    Academic Rigor

    This greatly depends upon how many hours of classes you take per semester and also what classes you take within the same semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, especially if you have been out of school for awhile or aren't familiar with college yet. The financial aid advisers, and the school adviser are a main source of helpful information. Take the college orientation class, it offers lots of information you may not otherwise be aware of.

    In three sentences

    H.C.C. has three campus areas, the main one in Hutchinson, Ks. & one in Newton, Ks. & McPherson, Ks. with several online classes offered also. This widens your choices and greatly helps with being able to balance school, work & family life. Overall, I feel H.C.C. is a great school to attend and have done very well and have been pleased with the instructors I have had so far as well.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had any personal experiences, but I've heard good reviews on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of extra clubs and activities. Just check out their site. You can see it right from the start.

    Great for these types of students

    I know they have a great art program, but I'm not sure about anything else. It seems that they have lots of good teachers in other departments. Very good online program.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome In-state tuition and out-of-state isn't half bad either.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard bad things about the school's food, but, on the other hand, surrounding area restaurant's are nice and have good food. There are many options for cheap dining.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything doesn't seem like it will take a rocket scientist to complete so I don't think the courses are to rigorous. This is a pretty laid back atmosphere while still requiring you to get the work done and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask, ask, ask. Don't be afraid to talk to people and ask questions. They understand you're new and that you need help.

    In three sentences

    Campus is clean and navigable. Quite a few majors to choose from. Big focus on art(which I like, I'll be majoring in Fine Arts).

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to transition into university struggle academically.

    What to do for fun

    Applebees is a fun place to hang out. Wichita is pretty close and always has things going on. There is always something going on at Hutchinson through residence life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers if you have any issues they are very accommodating! Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very committed to helping you succeed. The classes are challenging but if you work hard you can have success. It is a good school all together.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt completely safe in this area.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in the campus Greek associations.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any of the campus clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This specific program is great for anyone living in Wichita or the surrounding areas looking to become a Paramedic. The program will prepare you for what you will be facing in your career, and the support from faculty and staff is phenomenal. If you are committed to learning, have a high expectation of yourself, and a good self starter, you can succeed in this program.

    Bang for the buck

    I am extremely happy with my choice to attend Hutchinson Community College. If I had to make the decision all over again, knowing what I know now, I wouldn't change where I decided to attend school.

    What to do for fun

    The area has many attractions, including the science center, a salt mine, and many little shops for shopping. Hutchinson is just a short 40 minute drive to Wichita, which has more to offer like fine dining, the county zoo, and lots of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Our classes are in Wichita for the first 2 semesters, which has plenty of great eateries! There are several places to eat in the Yoder/ Hutchinson area to satisfy your taste buds!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The program is tough. You should be familiar with the human body and understand how it works, down to a cellular level. The amount of studying depends on how well you absorb the information. There are several large exams throughout the program that require a lot of time to study for. Internship and clinical hours are extremely time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a vigorous program that takes up a lot of your time. The financial burden becomes much greater during the third semester (summer), so be prepared and have money saved up.

    In three sentences

    Hutchinson Community College has given me the opportunity to continue my education in the emergency health care field (EMT-Paramedic). I have been exceptionally impressed with the professionalism and willingness to help me and my classmates succeed over the past year. I would recommend this program for anyone interested in becoming a Paramedic.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great on campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pep band is a must for anyone who wants to enjoy cheering at the games, plus getting paid to go to the game is a bonus. Track and Field is like a family and not just a sports team. There are all sorts of sports to do, speech and drama, and all sorts of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone will find a place to fit in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students say the Fine Arts building is haunted. The Student Union is the place to go to improve your skills at ping pong.

    Bang for the buck

    Hutchinson's campus is in a great location. The town is full of friendly people. I would recommend Hutch to anyone who wants to go to school for a great education and have fun while learning.

    What to do for fun

    Midnight ping pong. Wii dance parties in the lobbies. Around town you have the movie theater, and the zoo is a nice place to just chill and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is food. It's not much better than high school cafeteria food. But hey you should be used to it by now. There are a lot of really good eating places near campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting. If a midnight game of ping pong is what you're looking for Hutch has it. And the inflatable dorm parties are the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you but as long as you ask for help when needed it is possible to keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers and advisers. Make friends with the people on your floor you will spend a ton of time with them. Sports teams will become like family at least that is true of the track team.

    In three sentences

    One of the friendliest places to attend school. The teacher are there to help you obtain your education needs. The student body is amazing and full of school spirit.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than other colleges.

    Food and Dining

    Good snack bar.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek out tutoring help when needed.

    In three sentences

    This has been a good place for me to learn. I have been able to get tutoring when needed. The computer/printer access has been helpful!

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security on duty at all times. There are plenty of cameras to deter crime and plenty of lighting to make students feel safe at night. Within the last year over one hundred more light poles were placed around campus. Security are there to escort anyone who needs it at night as well.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a Greek system at my community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities range from our outstanding sports teams and dance to Student Government Association, Block and Bridal, Intramural sports, Phi Theta Kappa, Student Ambassador Program, Photography Club, Republican and Democrats Society, Foreign Language Club. We have something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who needs to spend less on college while getting away from parents will love HCC. We have sports for all types of fans whether it is our competitive volleyball team to Football or Basketball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My college is home to the Sports Arena which hold the National Junior College Basketball Tournament EVERY year! Its a great place to go with friends and watch a little competitive basketball. Colleges from all over the United States come to compete. It's always great when my college gets into the tournament.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college it is definitely less expensive, but that does not mean the quality is any less. Most of the faculty in our Science Department have PhD's and chose to work at a smaller school that they love rather than a large university. This department also was also granted equipment that most college students would not get to use until they were in a graduate program at a university. The college itself is not expensive when you factor in the quality of teaching and how beautiful our campus and buildings look.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus from Homecoming Week events such as the dance to Spring Fling week. Our sporting events are always a good time and we win lots of games.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a meal plan, but the times I have eaten in the cafeteria I know the food could have tasted better. It is not horrible though. There are always plenty of choices from a salad bar, sandwich bar, cereal is always available, and much more. The cafeteria may not always seem the cleanliest. The staff is always friendly though.

    Dorm Life

    I did not chose to live in the dorms, but I often wish that I had. There are always activities going on over there. They have a beginning of the year pool party for new dorm students to meet. There is also an annual dodge ball tournament.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are taught in a way that invites students to think. All faculty are there to help you whenever needed. Classes will be difficult if you do not come to class and study, but they teach you things you will need for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where you plan on transferring to and what major you plan on studying as soon as possible. Make sure to tell your adviser this as well so that they can enroll you in the correct classes that will transfer. Advisers are great at their jobs when you help them by knowing these things. Do not worry about changing your major along the way though. I did it and so do many other students.

    In three sentences

    The best community college in Kansas, possibly even the United States! From the campus to the faculty and quality of education, I am glad I decided to chose a community college instead of heading to an expensive university. I have met some of my best friends and most likely lifetime friends at this college; everyone is nice and friendly.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small and very well lit campus with campus security on patrol at all times. I have never once had any issue with safety or had a feeling that I was unsafe.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide array of clubs and activities to choose from while attending HCC. The college offers an activities fair at the beginning of each year as well for new students to get an idea of all the clubs and organizations on campus to see what best suits them if that is something they're interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    HCC is great for really anyone. The college offers all the generic AA degree options and majors as well as technical programs such as auto-collision, mechanics, welding, IT, fire-science, farm and ranch management, livestock judging, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HCC does not have a tennis program, however there are tennis courts available for public leisurely use right in the heart of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    HCC offers many scholarships to prospective students for many different majors; be sure to apply early though before all deadlines. Even without the help of a lot of scholarships, HCC is very inexpensive for the education, instructors, campus environment, and athletics the college offers.

    What to do for fun

    Each semester HCC has its annual Fall and Spring homecomings, these offer different activities each year to help you get involved, acquainted with others and have fun. There are also numerous dances held throughout the year, this is a great way to spend your free time and have a little fun with some new friends.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a meal plan nor eat at the cafetaria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Course work and curriculum are spot on for getting you ready to graduate with an Associates of Arts/Science degree or prepared for transferring to a university. Some academics can be tough, just give your best effort by studying and attending class regularly and taking advantage of the multiple tutors on campus and one on one help by your instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take full advantage of the instructors' willingness to help you succeed. Class size is small with a lot of group work or class discussions. Show you're effort and motivation to succeed as well as interacting with others and course work will be a breeze. Also be sure to look into a club or organization that interests you, this will get you acquainted quickly with a lot of the student body and staff, but if you're busy with sports or work there is still other ways to become involved.

    In three sentences

    HCC offers small course sizes with friendly instructors willing to help you succeed. Hutchinson Community College also provides great campus atmosphere with a diverse student body, and many different clubs and organizations to really get you involved. A great place to start your college career if you still are undecided on a major.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    VOCAL JAZZ GROUP IS AMAZING.

    Great for these types of students

    Starting out, wanting to get prerequisites done.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a scholarship, definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go out, watch movies, shop.

    Food and Dining

    The food is normal cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be sketchy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships you can!

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly environment. Teachers are friendly. The vocal jazz program is wonderful!

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost is very affordable and is great for someone on a budget! The credits also transfer very easily.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options for student activities. I have joined Skills USA and have enjoyed my time there.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the food court at this school, but I haven't heard any complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I do know that the price is comparable to other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken at Hutchinson Community College, haven't been extremely but they were a good challenge. The teachers are always willing to help you out if needed. Hutch really likes to see their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend starting here! Hutchinson is a Community College, therefore keeping the cost low. They are one of the few community colleges that I know of that also offer student housing. Every semester they have done their best to work around my schedules. Granted, they can only offer so many classes but they will try to find one in your degree.

    In three sentences

    Hutchinson Community College is an affordable and flexible school to attend. Hutchinson has a lot of different degree options, at an affordable price I might add. Hutch is a great start, to get your gen-eds done.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Hopefully the dorms have been considerably more updated and comfortable since I last stayed at dorms many years back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused but do not try to hurry through the acedemics process. Get all the education you can that is offered.

    In three sentences

    HCC is very reliable. The staff has made returning to college very hopeful. The on line and McPherson campus has been the determining factor for choosing this school.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there is alot of clubs to join

    Great for these types of students

    there is everything for every student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing i know

    What to do for fun

    there is alot of things to do in this town and at the school they make sure you are happy here

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you meet new friends here and there is a news paper that comes out every friday so make sure you read it.

    In three sentences

    this school is great for anyone they help you out alot. you have some much to pick from when you go to school here.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am going to achieve my goals. I will do everything to make my life as best as I can by staying focused and working hard.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard the cafeteria is good, but I have never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own house.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very open and friendly and have no problem assisting you with anything that you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to stay focused on your goals and do your best and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    I am excited to start the nursing program at HCC and know that I can graduate in such a short time. They offer many classes that work with my schedule so I can still work and take care of my children. I like HCC and I am thankful for the great people who assist in making my life better.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security do a great job at keeping the college safe. Guns are prohibited. Students and faculty get along well with each other making the environment comfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of sports and intramural things that go on on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want to learn and enjoy doing it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Dillon's Lecture Series in our sports arena where public speakers come and share their stories. One speaker that came was Elizabeth Smart.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good school. The teachers educate students well and the tuition and fees are low.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is right next to the Cosmosphere, a science museum. There is a salt mine in town where you can take an elevator 600 feet underground. There are restaurants, a mall, and a nature center. There are plenty of different churches for the religious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every session, make use of the library and the tutors, and enjoy the area.

    In three sentences

    The school is easy to navigate. Teachers are very energetic and passionate about teaching. If you like studying outside, there is a fountain on campus with benches to sit at to enjoy the scenery while learning.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Hutchinson Community College is a great school! The teachers there are well educated and super nice!

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang with soccer mates

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy life and meet new people

    In three sentences

    I would rate Hutchinson a 8.