Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Illinois College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IC's teacher education program is one of the best in Illinois. They also have an incredible Biology department and a large Psychology program. Though the art department is small it's a very good program. Regardless be willing to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your professors will expect A LOT from you. However, they are more than willing to take the extra time to help you; many will even give you their cell phone number. Take advantage of this! Join clubs on campus. Not only is it a great way to make new friends, but with so many options, their really is something for everyone whether it be intramural sports, choir, a religious life group or something else entirely.

    Bang for the buck

    Though small the campus has the beauty usually associated with a large school. A new athletic center was just built a few years ago, which includes not only facilities for the sports teams but also weight rooms, open gym times, and an indoor pool complete with hot tub open to everyone. You get personalized attention not found at a state school coupled with chances to get involved which many small schools simply don't have the resources for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I fell in love with the campus the first day I set foot on it. It's really the best of both worlds, having both the physical beauty and networking opportunities of a large state university but with personalization and small size of a rural college. As a general rule, they do an incredible job of matching people to good roommates, and almost everyone is so friendly that it doesn't take long to develop a close circle of friends. Also being so close to Springfield and St. Louis provides ample opportunities for culture and fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Illinois College offers majors in a wide variety of subjects, whether your field be science, art, English, theater, education, etc. Pretty much you name it and they can probably find a way to make it work for you. As a liberal arts school, students are also required to take classes outside their major, which leads to exposure to a great many topics and subject areas that you might never have heard anything about. They also have a convocation program that gives students a quick taste of many different issues and cultural experiences, everything from dance groups and music ensembles, to lectures on current controversial topics, to presentations by various TV hosts. Your professors all know you by name and there's free tutoring for when you need that little extra boost.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IC is great for visual learners and people who like hands-on activities. Teachers will make an effort to teach their subject to you, and if you want more help on top of that, fantastic tutors are nearly always available to help you out!

    Tips for prospective students

    You're welcome to visit classes on campus during the school year, and to chat with current students about their experiences at IC. Also, I recommend applying as early as possible, because IC offers a lot of merit-based scholarships, and the earlier you apply the better!

    Bang for the buck

    Illinois College can be a bit on the pricey side, but I feel like I'm getting all the possible bang for the buck out of my college experience. Also, there are a lot of merit-based scholarships that help students meet their financial needs!

    Am enjoying being here

    I've learned so much in three years, and I can't wait to start my senior year! I've taken a wide variety of classes to earn a liberal arts degree, and although my classes are varied in subject, professors here frequently make connections between them. Also, I think we have one of the best Health Services here on campus, just saying.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are fantastic to learn from! They really want you to succeed in their classes, and if you put in the effort in your classes, it will totally be worth it!

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is small, close together and very safe. security officers are on duty 24 hours a day and the campus is very well lit at night.

    Greek Life

    illinois college has literary societies which do literary productions, community service activities, and are great opportunities to form friendships for life.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs for just about anything: religious groups like newman club and fca, an environmental club, an outdoor club, ic theatreworks which offers 3 productions each year. groups are small and opportunities for leadership are there.

    Great for these types of students

    ic is a great school for anyone who wants a very well balanced education and a chance to develop close relationships with other students and even the faculty. it is possilbe for students to even assist teachers with research opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many great old buildings on campus, including beecher hall the oldest college building in illinois. the college has a great orientation program for first year students which leaves them feeling very comfortable and ready to start school. each 1st year student gets an invitation to attend a dinner at the president's house with a group of about 14 other new students in their first semester on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel that i am getting a great education and lots of experieces for my money. the cost is high but financial aid is very available.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs on campus for just about anything. there are also movie theatres and a bowling alley in town. many fast food restaraunts can be found blocks away. the student group also brings in many speakers and music groups and offers bingo several times each sememster. there is also a great fitness center and pool available for student use.

    Food and Dining

    the food is mediocre definetely not moms home cooking. the main dining hall is buffet style and there is also a coffeeshop and a grill to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorms are a little noisy but their location on campus is great. the older dorms are not completely air conditioned but are being updated and air conditioned right now. freshman dorms are standard twp bed rooms but upperclass dorms feature suites.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are a challenge in the science department but much help is available. other than the first biology class, all my classes have been very small. teachers are concerned and very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    come and see the campus and you will feel right at home. if you are interested, apply even though the cost may be high. they do give good financial aid and there are jobs available on campus. check out a preview day.

    In three sentences

    illinois college is a great campus with lots of history and nice small classes. the teachers i have had for class are great--they really care and do all they can to help you. it is very easy to get extra help and tutors when needed for classes. i love the music department and have joined wind ensemble, jazz band and concert choir. i just got back from a week long trip to disney with the band and it was great. i am so glad that i chose ic.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has never had any accidents or injuries since I have been here. It is a small campus and everyone is really close, and crime is almost non-existent here.

    Greek Life

    There are multiple fraternities on campus. If you want to be a frat boy or girl, or if you just want to join a service fraternity we have a variety of choices.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 100 different clubs that you can get involved in at Illinois College and if there isn't one that interests you, then the school gives you the option of creating your own club and recruiting members. This gives everyone the chance to be active in something they are passionate in. These activities don't include all of the sports teams that are available at Illinois College.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is right for almost all types of student because we have such a well rounded curriculum. I am a biology/pre-med major and I am getting exceptional help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here at Illinois College, every year we have a big competition between the freshmen, sophomore, junior, and senior class. We have obstacle courses and puzzles that each class tries to solve to see who is the winning class of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school. The best part for me is that if I ever need any assistance I can always contact my professors. They give you their phone numbers and home addresses. This is a smaller school so everyone here is like family making it really easy to get help with any problems that you are having.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that are put on by different organization at the school every week. We have concerts, comedians, plays, dances, and other activities that are hosted by the school. This doesn't include all of the activities that you can do in town. Our town is very large with multiple restaurants and other places for you and friends to hang out and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Here we have a buffet style cafeteria that is open every day of the week. We also have two other places to eat. One is The Grill, where you can get pizzas, burgers, chicken sandwiches, fries, onion rings, and multiple other grilled and fried foods. The other option is the Coffee Shop, which is pretty much like a Starbucks. You can also get freshly made salads and deli sandwiches here.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a coed dorm that is separated by floor. On my floor there are all guys and we are like a family. There isn't a day that has gone by that we haven't checked to see what everyone was doing. Other dorms on campus include dorms that are designated all male or all female, and there is even a dorm that has males and female on the same floor. This campus also provides actual houses that a group of people can live in if they so choose.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Illinois College all the classes that are offered challenge the students in different way. There are classes that require you to give speeches or participate in debates. In other classes such as Genetics, we had to read multiple medical documents and then write a paper that explained specific details of diseases and research we had learned. All classes challenge the students to use their minds to their full extent, without overtaxing the workload given to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    To best prepare for college all you have to do is have to ability to manage your time. Your are able to have fun and do all the things you want all long as you factor in some time to finish all of your academic obligations.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a small Liberal Arts College that is dedicated to getting its students a broad educational experience. The faculty here are exceptional not just because of their skills in their field, but they also make a personal effort to get to know every single student they teach. Here at Illinois College the teacher and overall campus environment make it exceptionally easy for anyone to succeed academically.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several great literary societies here. The colleges athletic facilities are amazing. There are a lot of great social activities and travel opportunities here.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 dining facilities on campus. One is a grill/deli area. Another is a coffee shop area. One is a full cafeteria with great choices.

    Dorm Life

    It seems like most dorms are up to date or getting there. Some seem a little loud. Just write down all of your prior interests on the application so you get matched up with a good roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    This college has many excellent students. This college has a small campus for getting around. This college expects good grades from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an expensive school because it is private. The scholarships are larger because of the prior note. This college has a real family atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    I love that this school is smaller and private. I really like that it is close to my home. I also am happy that it is a liberal arts school that focuses on your future.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security officer on duty 24/7 at Illinois College. If there are any problems in the dorms or in one of the buildings, the security office can be notified.

    Greek Life

    At Illinois College, Greek Life is known as Literary Societies. They are not sororities or fraternities because the students do not live in a house together, and they must perform at least one literary production per month. The only labeled fraternity is Alpha Phi Omega because it is a national co-ed service fraternity. Each group goes through a process of selecting students to become part of their society, and each organizes a set of campus and community service projects throughout the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless! Illinois College offers clubs for the sciences (Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Mathematics), foreign languages, varsity sports, intramurals, literary societies, and many more. Plus, six or more students can propose an idea for a new club and get it approved through the dean.

    Great for these types of students

    Illinois College is a great campus for various types of people. I knew students who lived 20 minutes away, several hours away, as well as students from different states and countries!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Illinois College, where Abraham Lincoln attended, is said to be the most haunted campus in the midwest! Several legends claim that ghosts pass through various buildings and dorms. Also interesting, Beecher Hall, now house to two male literary societies, was the first medical building in Illinois, where students were able to witness medical practices and autopsies.

    Bang for the buck

    While no education is cheap, the price of a liberal arts education is a little more than a larger university, mainly because it is a private institution. The educational value, however, is incomparable. I firmly believe that my education was more well-rounded and in-depth than any state school. There are also more opportunities for scholarships and grants (i.e. that don't need to be paid back!) at a smaller school.

    What to do for fun

    IC is set in Jacksonville, IL. While not a very well-known city, it is certainly rich in history, having a few historical buildings to visit downtown. Movie theaters, a bowling alley, and a roller skating rink are just a few minutes away. For more of a night life, Springfield, IL, is only 30 minutes away from campus, offering a larger movie theater, shopping mall, and various restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining options on campus, giving students more variety. There is a cafeteria that serves more homestyle foods open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Common Grounds coffee shop offers a great lunch selection of sandwiches, salads, soups, chips, and fruit that is easily accessible while running between classes. The Uncommons offers more fast food, like burgers, pizza, and fries. Each student purchases a meal plan that they feel fits more with their eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorms on campus, including all male, all female, and co-ed. Students sign up each spring semester and can rank where they prefer to live. Each dorm has a Resident's Assistant (RA), on each floor, who arranges different activities. College apartments are also offered as on-campus dorms, which allow students to cook in their rooms. Each dorm is a little different. The freshman dorms are a great way for first years to get to know their fellow classmates and be introduced to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Having earned a Bachelor's degree in Biology, adding Chemistry and Mathematics minors, playing for the women's tennis team, and participating in several clubs, I know what it's like to be busy! The Biological Science route (alone) forces students to learn how to manage their time, which is a necessity. Even with the business of school, students will connect with each other in a way where they can work together and help each other learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in! Illinois College allowed me to participate in activities I would not have been able to had I attended a larger college/university. I always had an interest in playing tennis. After never having played on a tennis team previously, I joined my college's team and worked my way up. I also joined Alpha Phi Omega, a co-ed service fraternity, which allowed me to help people in the community via service projects. Chemistry Club allowed me to teach younger students in the community the importance of science and the environment. This and more is available to any student.

    In three sentences

    A small, liberal arts college, such as Illinois College (IC), allows students to participate in activities and programs that are just not possible when attending a larger university. A student can try out for a sports team, participate in various clubs, and even assist professors in research. Everyone, including faculty, staff, and even the president of the college, has a connection, making the IC campus more like a family than a school.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few things to do for fun off campus, but you'll mainly have to make the 30-40 minute drive to Springfield if you want more options. However, on-campus, the Student Activities Board (SAB) is constantly bringing in bands, comedians, putting on carnivals, and other family and student oriented activity.

    Food and Dining

    Food over all is not bad, but does get old after a while. The cafe is the main eatery. It has hot dishes, pastas, pizzas, sandwiches, salad bar, and desserts. However, the hours of operations don't always fit into an athlete's needs. It is closed on the weekends until 10:30 a.m. when they serve brunch, and closes at 1:30 pm. this small time frame can make it difficult for athletes to get a good sized meal. The Grill is a place where students can get burgers, pizzas, smoothies and chicken sandwiches. A lot of students enjoy this eatery place and seem fairly satisfied with it. the Final place for dining is the Coffee Shop. Here, students can get a sandwich, wrap, salad, smoothie, or coffee to start or end their day. the eating plans are probably the worst out of the entire dining experience at Illinois College. If you get the 19 meal/week plan, you are given 3meals/day, but they don't tell you that if you don't use a meal for that day you lose it for the entire week. You also have time slots that you can eat in (i.e. dinner starts at 4:30), and unlike he other meal plans you cannot swipe for anybody else who may need a meal. You're better off getting the highest block plan. That way you can use your meals with more flexibility.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm you live in, it could either be a good experience or a bad one. New hall/ Lincoln is relatively quiet, but has sensitive fire alarms that may create 4 a.m. wake up calls. Pixley is good for girls who don't necessarily want to deal with guys 24-7, and turner is for guys that don't want to deal with girls 24-7. Crampton is for those who don't mind staying with 2-3 other people. All the dorms have their moments of being quiet and loud and clean and messy. The janitorial staff of the school does a real nice job at doing their best to keep all the dorms clean as possible. students also have access to the security staff who will escort anyone who needs it if someone does not want to walk in the dark alone. there are also emergency posts throughout the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Illinois College is a college that believes in creating a well-rounded individual. All students have certain gen-eds that need to be accounted for in addition to requirements of their selected major. In the end, academic rigor truly depends on what major you decide to go into. Biology and education majors seem to spend more hours studying while sociology majors seem to have more free time to spare.

    Tips for prospective students

    -get involved, it'll help you make more friends and make new connections - learn to cook, Chartwell's is not Mom's home cooking -Buy text books from online, you'll save a lot

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. You have professors that are excellent, and some that leave you thinking about how you've learned nothing in the past semester. However, the professors are able to meet with you one-on-one, and know you by name rather than a number.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent and very supporting. Rate as a 5 star.

    Clubs and Activities

    Visitation looked very good.

    Bang for the buck

    Have only visited but I am excited and cannot wait to enter in August. This should be a 5 star.

    What to do for fun

    Both town and campus have many activities available.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent choices, lots of food. Rating should be 5 star

    Dorm Life

    Unknown, but seems very good. As of now, it is a 5 star

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be very good, but have not started classes. Rating very high on my scale. 5 Star

    Tips for prospective students

    Inquiry and be available.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, both academic and sports encouraging. Many excellent opportunities. Seems to have faculty and upperclassmen support.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The square in downtown Jacksonville is a cool place to hang out. There is a cool old movie theater and the awesome Leo's Pizza is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. Not as good as home cooked meals, but not too shabby.

    Dorm Life

    IC has a nice variety of living styles and dorms. The school did an excellent job of pairing me up with a great roommate who had similar interests as me.

    Academic Rigor

    Illinois College is a challenging school. Teachers do ask a lot from you, but it isn't unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the many resources and organizations on campus.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a great school! Even coming in as a transfer student, I feel at home. The small size, great teachers, and beautiful campus really appeal to me and has enabled me to excel.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking or athletic.

    Bang for the buck

    They really consider your financial situation.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events put on by the college itself to entertain students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. They offer many varieties and selections daily.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are in pretty good condition and people seem to be content with their roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers so much to struggling students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and get your financial aid work done immediately. Also, start scholarships early.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a beautiful centerpiece to Jacksonville, Illinois. The campus just brings light to the entire city. It is a friendly and home-like college fulled with people who care about your future.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Illinois College and Jacksonville, Illinois are both very safe. The campus security is generally friendly, serviceable, and amiable towards all of the students and the college is fortunate to have such a staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good selection of clubs on campus, many of which are serious about contributing to the campus and community. The campus reps will always note that any new club can be formed with only five students, and while this is true, the larger process of forming a club is often more trouble than it's worth when you can just meet with your friends as a non-school sponsored group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While not a tradition per se, one of the campus' selling points is being host to a group of students from Kyoto, Japan for two months every spring semester. The time that they are there is one of the best chances to interact with international students. Every Wednesday morning, classes in the 8, 9, and 10 o'clock blocks are canceled for chapel services, so you will almost always get a break in the middle of the week.

    What to do for fun

    Although Jacksonville is a small town, there is a newly opened Cinema on the edge of town; very modern and elegantly built, it will be the primary nice spot to go. Jacksonville has no clubs and only a few bars down town. Many students go into Springfield on the weekends to go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    All food on campus is run by Chartwell's Dining Service. The food is nothing special, although it is certainly not as bad as any student would have you believe. Meal plans are required for everyone who is not a senior, so it's best to select the full meal plan; if you don't, not only will you have to provide meals for yourself, but the cost of meals in the dining halls increases to over $10 per meal.

    Dorm Life

    While I cannot and will not say anything in praise of the residential life services, I must say that the dorms are, for the most part, above average. The college has also started a renovation project for the older dorms to bring them up to their standards. I hope that you enjoy your dorms, because you are required to live on campus until your senior year.

    Academic Rigor

    As I noted above, the professors at Illinois College are very dedicated to their students' learning and I have spent many hours talking with them in their offices. Because of the small size, even professors with whom I have never had a class or conversation with will make time to meet with students. However, I believe that one would find that a strong desire for academic pursuits is not found in the general student body. That is, one must actively search out those few students who share a passion for learning about varied topics and improving themselves. This can be discouraging to seriously-minded academic students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with a professor in a department you are interested in. They will be the largest influence of your college life at Illinois College. If you want to go to a party school, do not come to Illinois College: What few parties there are are small and often low scale. See the new facilities: the gym and science building are only a few years old and the library recently got a new media room. Also make sure to check out the old facilities to see what the standard is.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a small (less than 1000 students), liberal arts school located in Jacksonville, Illinois. The professors at Illinois College are very dedicated to their students and are constantly available for help with papers, classes, and even life tips. Much of the student body is homogenous, coming almost entirely from small towns around Jacksonville; however, there is a small but close community of international students.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus security always around and can call them at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, and the many clubs I really have not gotten into due to me being an athlete at the college.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student this campus is great for them. If not we wouldn't be diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing is unusual to me on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school gives us many emails on the available jobs on campus.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has many on campus parties. There are house parties and other than those in a lot of occasions the school would have many activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    You have a variety of options in what you want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is orderly and very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small so if needing help you have many options to talk to a teacher for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay asking questions.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is very accepting of students. The classes are very small and it helps because you have a hands on learning experience. This college directs you in the path to be successfully in the future.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and will be their in any situation deemed necessary.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is excellent with four men's groups and three women's groups on campus. They are not however fraternities or sororities, they are literary societies. They have Greek aspects but we also give literary productions and do numerous service projects.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous Clubs if you want to start on, do. Even if its controversial it will not receive opposition from the administration.

    Bang for the buck

    All the student activities outside of the dances are free, and their are movie theaters and nice restaurants within walking distance if the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events, and the school will never have a lack of special events to keep students entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The numerous dining options given the size of the school will leave it so you never get board.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is open and excellent, and the dorms for the older students are spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be a challenge, but with the small student population, direct contact with the teachers is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply with the intention of joining one of the great sports teams, other groups, or literary societies. Come in with an open mind, ready to change your major, and this school might have that happen with one of its many great departments.

    In three sentences

    It is a diverse school that has a fantastic history as the oldest college in Illinois. It has an understanding administration and student affairs office that will allow any kinds of groups to form on campus. It also has a great campus life in general.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A police officer is always around for security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have clubs that really fit your niche! Your never feeling left out.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to be known to a fellow college student, professor, or just a simple chef at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Gourmet dishes is the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students really make the school for what it is. Not the surroundings you see.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College has a great community for students from every where. It is a small private school that makes you feel wanted an actually home. Overall Illinois's college has great resource's for you to excel in anything you pursue an everyone needs that.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is what it is.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student really. Whatever you want IC has you just have to find it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ellis and Crampton are supposedly haunted. We don't have sororities or fraternities we have literary societies which essentially are the same thing.

    Bang for the buck

    It may sound cliche but the education you get at IC is priceless. They challenge you in areas outside of your field of study to make you a well-rounded citizen.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Springfield its a 30 minute drive. You can hang out in friends rooms or other dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your first semester seriously. Get out and go to different club meetings you don't necessarily have to join. Talk to your teachers if ever you are having a problem

    In three sentences

    Teachers here really care about your academic and personal well being. There are lots of organizations to join. Overall its a good school if you're looking for individualized attention.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jacksonville is an extremely safe town.

    Greek Life

    There are not sororities, but they have lit societies, which fill a similar place on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs, and their organization varies based on who runs it.

    Great for these types of students

    Student Athletes, those in search of smaller class sizes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First year students are invited to dinner with the president of the college each fall.

    Bang for the buck

    I find the academic rigor to be lacking; however, the small campus does allow students to make many academic connections.

    What to do for fun

    If wanting to avoid drinking, students have to find a small group of friends and plan things to do on campus. Periodically, the center for student activities plans various events on campus, which are typically fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are not as many dining options as available at other colleges, and the food served is not the best quality.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms are kept clean and many have been renovated recently. I would visit and look at the dorms before choosing which to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not very difficult despite the capable professors. The majority of academic challenge will need to be created outside of the classroom. The school does not have an honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering playing sports at the collegiate level, this is definitely a strong option. However, if you are more academically inclined, I would sit in on a few classes and speak with professors in your prospective major before choosing this college.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus, but it has beautiful, historic buildings. The student body is sports-centered, and the campus has a fantastic fitness center. The professors are extremely dedicated and involved in their students' success.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    easy to locate right on campus located at the bottom of one of the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    mostly everything is ran by students.

    Bang for the buck

    student activity is great very, laid back, every one knows everyone on a first name basic. lunch ladies are awesome and sweet.

    What to do for fun

    go to every social event on campus and dog walking.

    Food and Dining

    edible.

    Dorm Life

    safe, great to make friends and very open students.

    Academic Rigor

    biggest journey of your life before the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    have a planner, talk with you teachers, have tutors for every class, go over notes everyday after class and participate in study groups.

    In three sentences

    illinois college is great school, family like environment. lots of help opportunities are offered. very beautiful campus all year round.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    That just be yourself. Don't fall into the lazy zone finish out strong.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Is a nice environment. where everyone is friendly and allowed you to increase your education.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a Liberal Arts school. The classes here are generally small and the education has a high quality. Illinois College is a school that works for the student body.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and often prepared in from of you. There is a wide variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms because I do not attend Illinois College, I'm still in high school. However, I visited the campus and the dorms were very nice. Laundry is free for any students on campus.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is very welcoming to all. They will address you by name and answer any questions you have. The staff and students there are very nice.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many ghost stories that the upper classmen will sometimes tell us Freshmen. You get to know all of the secrets of the campus and the historical value of it.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking to save money, then there is an Aldis in town.

    What to do for fun

    There are martial art studios, movie theaters, a surplus of places to eat, and there are even a few places to do clothes shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! I would say that it is almost as good as my mother's cooking!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little cramped, but what dorms are not? Since the school is so small, all of the students tend to be very close. There is this feeling of comradery among the floors.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying in groups is the best way to get a handle on tough material. If not, the professors are friendly enough for you to approach them and ask for extra help after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work harder then you ever have in your entire life. Prepare before class, and take good notes. However, the most important thing to do is study.

    In three sentences

    Illinois College is a top grade liberal arts school. Despite me going to a public university as a high school senior, Illinois College has managed to shatter my expectations. This is the kind of school that will push you to the brink, and help you cross over.