Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Illinois Eastern Community Colleges-Olney Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college the tuition is not overly expensive and the campus is great for moving straight out of high school, or even returning to school after being out for awhile. You will learn a lot and be easily guided into the college life.

    Did enjoy being here

    The faculty is very helpful and the campus is small and welcoming. It is a very close campus and everyone is very friendly.

    Did learn a lot

    The Teachers at OCC are very good about explaining things in their field of teaching and are very accessible outside of the classroom. Anytime help is needed by any student the student just has to address the teacher about it and the teachers are more than happy to work with the student to help them further their knowledge.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there is always someone walking around in the halls. Its never quit and nothing can ever happen that someone dont know.

    Great for these types of students

    For social, funny, and outgoing students that are willing to learn.

    What to do for fun

    I sit on a couch and talk to friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have AMAZING food at a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    I have very good academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small local college this is the one for you.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college, teachers and office workers are friendly. They are focused on the students education. I feel like i belong at Olney Central College

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Olney is the home of the white squirrels, so it is great to go just off of campus to the park and watch them! (They love McDonald's french fries!)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is amazing and is completely affordable!

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so there are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Olney Central College is a great place to at least get your gen. eds. done before moving on to a University because it is a community college -thus making it quite affordable. Plus, it is accredited, so the majority of classes transfer!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a really small town so in general it's really safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in no clubs or activities but there isn't very meany here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One little weird thing is the freshmen parking lot its a good little walk and you walk across a bridge to get there.

    Bang for the buck

    For in state, full time I have never even went over 1,500 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    In this town there isn't much to do for fun. It's a small town. We are about 2 1/2 hrs from Saint Louis, MO, and around an 1hr and 45 mins from Evansville, IN.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I dislike the cafe food but their are many fast food places, and pizza places around town

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home so I can't speak for dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the classes here are rather easy.... only class i really had to work hard in was Composition with Tucker, but he's an excellent teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    One really good tip is get to know your teacher some of them aren't as bad as they seem, and are really easy going.

    In three sentences

    OCC has a small town feel, in the middle of a small town. It also has small class sizes and most teachers are bubbly. Everything in OCC is really easy to find and easy to get to.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very remote location. It is cold with all the wind though.

    Greek Life

    There is one Greek organization, but they are more for academics than parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs for such a small campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to earn their Associates Degree and continue on with school or go to work..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the labs are on the third floor. It's a bit of a climb.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable and can get you started off right for about $80 a credit hour. Which is nice.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or homework. There isn't much to do...

    Food and Dining

    Not bad. Everything is decent and there are lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's good. I don't live in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Physics... Ugh

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for Test. Actually show up to class. If you can't make it to class let the professor know.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college to get your Associates Degree. It is a good transition school from High School to College life. I really like the teachers here.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not felt unsafe on campus nor seen any unsafe behavior.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not a lot of choices for clubs. There is the Phi Theta Kappa for smarter students, the sports teams for athletes, and Student Senate for everyone. I am only in Student Senate, but this club is great for anyone who wants to make friends and have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who just want an Associate's degree as there are several different options for those degrees. It is also perfect for students who want to attend a university in the future but do not feel they are ready just yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is mostly reasonably priced. The extra fees can be a little bit expensive, and the books from the bookstore are very overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    Students who are involved in the student senate can have fun helping set up events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers excellent food. Students can eat breakfast and lunch with two choices for each. The choices change everyday so there is a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have dorms, but it does have apartments for athletes. I do not live in one, but they look like a nice place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are harder than high school, but not as bad as they would be at a big university. The teachers are almost always willing to help students who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely join clubs and make sure to attend all the classes.

    In three sentences

    This school has very friendly staff and students. There are a variety of classes offered here. It is a good place to make friends and get an education.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study and make the most of the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Olney Central College is a fairly good community college. It offers a variety of degrees and transfer programs. If you want to get a nursing degree or just save money before transferring, then OCC is a good college to pick.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Olney Central College is an extremely safe campus. Being located in a rural area, you are surrounded by hospitality and courteous people.

    Clubs and Activities

    We may not have many clubs, but we are always ready to create more! As I've heard many times, See a need, fill a need.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for those who are trying to make their transition into college as smooth as possible. This is a very safe environment to start taking the steps into adulthood living.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, our Student Senate creates a haunted house for the college crowd and the community to enjoy. It's a very high-end production, and many have claimed it to be the best in the area!

    Bang for the buck

    You can easily earn your Associates degree for under $10, 000 which is a major plus in this economy. You also learn valuable life skills, and knowledge that you carry with you on to a four-year university.

    What to do for fun

    In our Student Union, we have many activities such as ping-pong, pool, and many other activities to relax with. We also have beautiful trails to walk through on our campus to help you connect with nature.

    Food and Dining

    Our Student Union, which is where the cafeteria is located, offers wonderful food! You can order almost anything you can imagine, and it will be hot and absolutely delicious!!

    Dorm Life

    Our housing is a great part of OCC. Many people live in our dorms and participate in activities such as baseball, softball, music programs, art studies, and also foreign exchange students. Living here will provide you with a well-rounded group of people.

    Academic Rigor

    The many courses can be tasking and the instructors do expect a lot out of their students, but they are always there to help in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely advise going here before a four year university. Olney Central College prepares you for the rigorous college life, and helps you adjust without overwhelming you. It's also very low on cost!

    In three sentences

    I give it an eight out of a ten point scale. It's professional enough to give you the college feel, but small enough to make the transition from high school very easy and painless.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like smaller class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap cost for a good undergrad education.

    In three sentences

    OCC has a nice campus and friendly staff. I would recommend looking into this school.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I also feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    OCC has a wide variety of clubs and they are very open about you starting your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wanting to save money and transfer somewhere later. Also great for students who want to feel as if they belong to a school instead of being just a number.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has plenty of financial aid for those whole are eligible. I paid $4,000 for a whole year of classes!

    What to do for fun

    There's a movie theater, bowling, laser tag and roller skating. A lot of the students attend sports events.

    Food and Dining

    We don't have a cafeteria, but we do have a little lunch/snack bar. The food is great and a good price.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a few easy classes and a few very difficult. The core classes are easier than the classes just for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers because they are very willing to help you. Also, get involved in clubs because that creates more connections.

    In three sentences

    All of the teacher's I've had have been very helpful and friendly. The office staff is fantastic and they know everyone's name. The campus is small so I know everyone and it makes me feel comfortable and at home.