Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Illinois Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I recommend students that live in Illinois and want to pursue architecture to check this school out. Its one of the best in the country, and there is architecture all around, since you are in Chicago. Thats what made me choose the school. Also, you have to be patient, motivated, organized, and very dedicated to your work. Soccer is also a big thing at IIT.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give students is to not go by the name of the school. Evaluate a school by the career you want to have and the opportunities that an institution can give you. Also, if you dont have the money, still apply because you might be surprised by how much financial aid you may receive.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is expensive. About $43,000 a year!!!! The good thing is that every one gets financial aid and this school helps you get a job quck. I had to pay a $3000 loan and that was it for my first semester, but I am really poor so FAFSA helped A LOT.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its Chicago so if you like the city, you will love IIT. Its on the South side and next to the White Sox stadium. Theres so much to do! Students here are friendly and nerdy, you will find someone to hang and study with for sure.

    Am learning a lot

    Students that attend IIT go to study and become future leaders, not to fool around or party. I am currently learning so much from the architecture program. The professors are practicing architects and although I just ended my first semester, I feel like my work is improving a lot! In addition, there's people from all around the world and a lot of student organizations!

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves engineering and science especially. Those academic types. Students willing to work to get what they want. Students who know that hard work pays off. Those who like a close-knit community, a big city atmosphere, or both!

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Work hard in high school, but make sure that you take part in some extracurricular activities too. Colleges look at the whole package, and being in an engineering activity or student government could set you above the rest. 2.) Make sure you apply early to the college, I know it helped me. Also, visit the campus. This might be the place for you, or you might want something bigger. IIT is unique in its size, so make sure you check out many options. 3.) Make sure you are willing to put the work in if you want to succeed here. Don't mean to scare anyone, but it is a lot of work. However, if you can do it, trust me, you will find that you have not wasted your time. 4.) If you are going for financial aid, as I did, IIT was wonderful to me. Make sure you apply early and keep an eye out for any forms you still need to fill out. 5.) College can be stressful, but it can also be fun. Make sure you leave time to hang out with friends, meet new people, and relieve stress. Don't make it all work and no play, but don't play all the time and not work either. If you can find that happy medium, you've got it made. Good luck and I hope to see some new faces come Fall!

    Bang for the buck

    IIT is worth every penny. The professors I've had don't waste your time and they make sure that you learn what you came there to learn, but be prepared to put in as many hours as they say you'll need to! They aren't kidding. Just make sure you save a little cash for some down time on campus or in the city, fun should go with the studying.

    Am enjoying being here

    IIT is like a small, close-knit community. Everyone, from the other students, to the RAs, even the professors are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The campus is also a nice mixture of small town feel and big city access. If you want the small, cozy feel of a town, the campus activites and the BOG (the student fun center) are just right for you. If you are more the big city type, there is an EL station right on campus, and a UPass is part of your fees for the year.

    Am learning a lot

    IIT is the place to expand your mind literally. The classes are intense, but if you can keep up with the coursework, totally worth it. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions! The professors are readily available, always willing to help, and they enjoy talking to students. You really do get the most for your money and time here, but be prepared to spend a lot of time.

  • 08/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IIT is mainly focused on architecture, engineering, and sciences, but they also have other departments such as business, and writing(communication or humanities). Usually you'll benefit more if you're interested in Architecture ore Engineering and Sciences though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking of applying to this school, make sure that you do have leadership skills and that you don't just do things inside the classroom, because IIT also focuses on what students do OUTSIDE the classroom ,so try volunteering your time every now and then. Also when you are admitted and arrive on campus, don't be afraid to be yourself and make sure to get to know your teachers because teachers here do enjoy when students come to their office(that's what office hours are for!) and even talk to your teacher after class if you have questions, just remember, You're in college, no one is going to play mommy for you.

    Bang for the buck

    This year the tuition went up about about 6% which making the cost of tuition 28,512 instead of the 26 grand it was previously. The amount of experience that you will receive here in the end of course is worth it, since the graduating class of 2008 made in their first year between 80-90 grand. So IIT is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I first heard of IIT, i didn't think I would like it here, especially since I'm from Georgia and not Illinois, so being form out of state I had even more questions, but when I get here I was completely surprised. IIT isn't just all about books, there are countless student activities and clubs that will interest almost anyone. Its like many say Don't judge a book by its cover. IIT is an amazing school that combines a good education with comfortable and enjoying living for students.

    Am learning a lot

    The work load at Illinois Institute of Technology is designed to help students learn and how to use what they learn in the real world. Each and every professor here at IIT are very helpful, the one thing they tell you when you on your first day of class is: IF YOU NEED HELP ASK, YOU'RE IN COLLEGE NOW, NO ONE IS GOING TO DO STUFF FOR YOU ANYMORE, THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO BECOME WHO YOU ARE AND LEARN HOW TO SUCCEED IN LIFE!

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IIT is great for a ton of different students, but if you dislike the thought of a conversation about the new sci-fi flick coming up this is not the place for you. We cater to many students needs but one universal trait is that we are all nerdy in our own fashions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about the little things. Counselors will work with you to make sure you get everything in on time and if you need some in community college to make yourself more appealing, they will flat out tell you that. The counselors are very friendly and rather than string you along, they will help you in all the ways you need.

    Bang for the buck

    When I first got accepted into IIT I received a 50% scholarship (which most students receive). Within two years I had increased that to a 100% tuition with an additional $2000 from various scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Much like anything you do in life, student life is what you make it. If you choose to sit in your room and play video games all day, that is all you will get out of IIT. If instead you choose to get up and join a few organizations (of which there are over 100) you will really enjoy your time here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a third year business student here a IIT and I love my coursework. It really provides me with a lot of hands on experience rather than sitting in a huge class just listening to a lecture. In several job interviews I have talked about projects I have worked on in class and have impressed my employers by doing so.

  • 08/08/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to argue about math, physics, and play smash bros. while doing it then this is the place for you to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and peers as early on as possible! It helps tons for networking and review plus you get to meet great people.

    Did enjoy being here

    You get to meet a lot of great people here form all over the world!

    Did learn a lot

    The professors here are really helpful if you ever need help understanding anything from class lectures or homework. They LOVE it when a student shows up to their office hours!

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Are you willing to work hard? Do you want to learn? Does the city of Chicago appeal to you? Are you ok with professors knowing your name? (trust me, you should be - it's a good thing, and at IIT they will!) Are you curious how the things around you can be made better?

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Visit campus. Take as much math in high school as you can. Do NOT count IIT out due to the price of tuition (IIT is VERY generous with scholarships).

    Bang for the buck

    The education you can receive from IIT is worth far more than you would ever pay in tuition. Employers in the city of Chicago know the type of students IIT produces and are eager to hire us because they know the type of work ethic we have.

    Am enjoying being here

    What better place to study than the amazing city of Chicago?! There are plenty of inexpensive activities going on all the time in the city that students at IIT can enjoy. There is also a wealth of activities happening on campus at any given time.

    Am learning a lot

    As a student at IIT, you will be pushed to excellence. You will be given a wealth of information and expected to be able to understand and explain with great detail that knowledge. Due to this, you will learn more than you thought possible. Because of this, you will advance beyond your peers.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your into engineering, sciences, math, computers, and architecture, then this is the place for you. We also have the Vandercook School of musics, so for all you aspiring musicians, this is also good for you. To the many people into the liberal arts side, we associate ourselves with the Shimer College that will give you a taste of literature.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advance Credit courses will get rid of basics, but make sure you remember them before taking more advance classes. Take advantage of office hours when you don't understand anything. There is no shame in asking questions. Be ready to be involved with loads of activities if you come here.

    Bang for the buck

    The opportunities here are endless. You get to associate yourself with loads of people around the world since they are so many exchange students and internation students so you can immerse yourself the various culture our world has to offer. Your given a pass that is paid from your tuition that gives you unlimited usage of the public transportation (CTA) within the city, allowing you to save so much as long as your willing to explore the city. Tuition may be expensive at first, but the school will usually give loads of scholarship to lower that fee down.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being around the city just allows so many opportunities for you. You can go out relax at Millennium Park, walk up and down Navy Pier, or just walk up and down the Magnificent Mile (high class shopping street) and just shop.

    Am learning a lot

    You got to learn a lot of things if you want to keep up with what your professor is talking about. If you don't understand what they're talking about in lecture, all the professors will always welcome you during their office hours to help you out.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IIT is a small school focused on getting students jobs after graduation. This is a great school for the sciences and technologies. If you like doing things on the computer you will fit in great here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities at your school, it will help you meet new people and also look great on your resume. You will learn a lot about how to get a job after graduation; pay attention to these tips, they will get you far.

  • 02/05/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 7 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with moderate TOEFL scores, students with moderate GMAT scores, students with little to no work experience, students interested in dual degrees, International students, part-time students interested in a program located downtown

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a class at the downtown campus if you are thinking about going to the GSB. There had been some issues with students cheating, and the academic honesty is very relaxed. Many of the students are from China or India. Some students are from other parts of the world. The majority of the students are young, and have little experience in business. Students with moderate to relatively low TOEFL scores are required to enroll in a non-credit earning English course taught at the downtown campus. The course is an added $4000, so be sure to study. Most domestic students are part-time students with full time jobs and careers. Most domestic students are helpful and friendly. Classes are offered during the day or at night. I have not seen an online graduate course. If you are a McNair Scholar or classified as a McNair Scholar Candidate, I would recommend a different university.

    Bang for the buck

    This was a very expensive gamble. I had applied to several graduate business schools, and I expected to learn a great deal from the program. Unfortunately, I could not afford the tuition. Tuition is about $13000 a semester, and roughly $25000 for the year. Although I had a 4.0, I did not qualify for scholarships. Most of the scholarships went to International students and joint MBA/JD students.

    Did enjoy being here

    There is a Friday lecture series ranging from guest lecturers and PhD candidates. Most are very interesting. Some activities are worth going to, but most of the activities are on the main campus. If you want to create a group or club, the university has the funds to do so. The GSB uses a floor from the Law School, and the Law students have more events and services.

    Did learn a lot

    I was a graduate student at the business school. I would like to say I learned a lot, but I really didn't learn as much as I expected. The graduate program is semester based. The professors have a great deal of experience and knowledge. Unfortunately, the class structure benefited the international students than the domestic students. I felt unengaged and I was bored.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the people that live with you/the people who are signed in legitly by the people who live with you are 99 times out of a hundred more dangerous than south siders - the projects have been removed from the area. just because they are minority and low income, doesn't make this campus not safe.

    Greek Life

    there are truly better places to party, even at a tech school. a social group with little function or impact beyond themselves. the party ends long before the first midterm in the fall and doesn't have much time to pick up even during breaks

    Clubs and Activities

    about maybe 250 people make up 50%+ of the involvement on campus. this is bad. there are a lot of clubs and activities but you will see a lot of the same faces just in different positions. even if it's a small school, we aren't that small...

    Great for these types of students

    (not to diss, i just think computerly inclined is more condescending) computer nerds/geeks technical internationals tourists/people not from chicago (otherwise, there is very little to do by means of entertainment - yes, we have big buildings, and you will see crimes against humanity on the public transit) if you are in a stock iit major and just want to define yourself as student for three-five years (rewards are great, cost can be high by way of social/personal growth)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the pumpkin launch was awesome once or twice...also, when ever we change buildings, we seem to let alum pay to damage them for us...

    Bang for the buck

    if you are not going for engineering, architecture (which is our top program w/ very few rivals in the area) and computer science, move on. most other majors are used to catch engineers who decided it wasn't their thing and can't transfer since our gen ed is tech specific. we have programs from the '40s that are still going through growing pains - psych, business and new ones from post 2000 - poli sci and socio - don't do it. you're paying for engineering lab fees and equipment and a technical name for a non-technical degree.

    What to do for fun

    beef up your computer. seriously.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the main cafeteria is fun and dynamic (for a cafeteria servicing a student body that reps 100+ countries). easily the best cafeteria of it's class (not u of c or northwestern). a lot of other eateries that are campus owned - quality drops steeply after leaving the commons.

    Dorm Life

    campus life is centered around the dorms. there is virtually no campus life. housing is...interesting. very liberal, lax and vague in rules and policies and enforcement is extremely random and over bearing. as of '13 the least expensive option on campus (without assistance) is set to rival or exceed 10k + meal plan. freshmen are mandated to live on campus, unless they live in chicago.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor vs. professors who are (or were) in their field and are concerned with recruiting lab workers more so than teaching...many will be on the fence about the true rigor long after they graduate. depending on the major, the answer will be all over the map.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit. a lot. visit with a tour. visit during the few functions. visit late at night. unfortunately, there aren't many places on campus open to the public, or where you can just blend in - there's the mccormick tribune campus center and that's definitely it.

    In three sentences

    a specialized engineering, architecture, computer science school attempting to expand into other somewhat related areas. there are several degree programs that are excellent, just have to do a lot of digging, which they don't make easy.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Awesome college

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, really involved students, prospective engineers and architects, those who classify themselves as nerds (and those who don't).

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a lot of different extracurriculars and activities in your high school background. They really like to get students who are going to be involved in the school. Also, take a lot of math and science classes. AP's are the best because you can get credit for them and then that is less classes you have to pay for, especially since most or all of the majors require math, physics, and chemistry.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of scholarships here. Like, a lot! I, personally was awarded a scholarship to cover my tuition, so I am only paying for housing and board and all that, which is still expensive. But if you are looking for a good engineering or architecture degree, you can definitely find it here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I made some really great friends on the first weekend that I was here and I have thoroughly enjoyed that aspect. There are a ton of events and organizations to participate in, and there is also the city of Chicago just a brief train ride away if I am looking for a break from school. The only downside is that I am often super busy with homework and finding time to do all of these fun things is difficult.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in some pretty challenging classes, but for the most part, I really am enjoying it. Even the class that I don't like, I look back on my semester and see that I really have learned a lot. In my Intro to the Profession class, we have learned so much about the field of engineering and have done two labs (electrocardiogram and electromyogram: the real deal!) and 3 research papers. Even though the research papers are a pain to write, the topics are really interesting to research. I am also learning about the design process through this class. We have a design project to come up with a product that will help a paraplegic in either the bathroom or the kitchen and the whole process has been really great. Design is not one of those things that is intelligence based. It is a process.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you aren't afraid to work hard and want to have a lot of control over how you develop socially, academically, and professionally, IIT is for you. Responsibility is key!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, fill out your FAFSA on ASAP (January 1st), and make sure to personally visit campus. They'll give you a warm welcome in a very personal way. IIT is all about the people!

    Bang for the buck

    $40 grand a year? True, its expensive, but you won't come close to paying that much in reality. University financial aid is VERY generous, and thats even before state and federal. Definitely apply and see what kind of financial aid you're eligible for! If you need more aid, let IIT know. They want to make it possible for you to come here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are SO many ways to make an impact here - student government, 100+ student orgs, etc...There are always lots of fun student activities going on. You'll form fast friendships with students and faculty. At a smaller school like IIT, you'll also get opportunities to further your academic and professional career like undergraduate research opportunities and professional societies that are very involved.

    Am learning a lot

    There aren't many 'easy' classes here. Bottom line - you need to pay attention in class, be proactive, and work diligently. Faculty are really interested in not just teaching students but getting to personally know them. They care!

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    It will be nice to live in Chicago and get to experience life in the city, instead of the suburbs

    Will learn a lot

    The education at IIT is a top rate, especially for engineering.

  • 09/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    IIT requires that everyone come in with an open mind. The school offers many great programs, clubs, and opportunities that help students embrace the full experience that is college. Also, the work load can sometimes be a bit crazy, but you cannot let it get to you. That's what the clubs and events are for. To help relieve the stress that the work puts on you.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive. I have to pay nearly $50,000 due to the fact that I live on campus, but IIT does everything it can to help students financially as far as scholarships and loans go.

    Am enjoying being here

    When the weather is warm, the campus can be one of the funnest places to be on especially when you get along with the right people. The moment it gets really cold out is when you sort of wish you could be back home, but as far as the people around and the experience here I definitely enjoy it.

    Am learning a lot

    I have definitely learned many things, academically, socially, and professionally, that I never knew coming out of high school. With each major comes a different type of work ethic and once you get passed the general education classes you finally start seeing your major and career taking shape. College is definitely not high school where most of the time you feel like your not being challenged enough.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    is it true?

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    do you have any?

    In three sentences

    campus is nice

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety folks are always roaming around the campus, basically seen everywhere. The safety level is very very high.

    Greek Life

    Awesome......thinking about joining one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs with brilliant actives in campus weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is ready to learn and perhaps have little bit of have fun too!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Taste of IIT is one of the greatest multicultural events I have ever witnessed. For those of you who doesn't know about it is an event where people from different cultures bring their home meals to the campus to share with the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Well is a private institution which comes with higher tuition and fess, but over 90% of all the students receive financial support from the school.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has it's own bar and restaurant equipped with great sound systems and lots of amenities or games to chill. What more can you ask for? There is a cool gym and soccer field too.

    Food and Dining

    Great foods but I am not an advocate for campus dinning due to prices. Well, that's wholly my opinion and my friends loves the Commons (dinning place of the campus).

    Dorm Life

    The campus has lots of dorms, and for the dorm I lived at is very quite and roomy. It has a common area for public interactions, group work or to watch TV. MSV is one of the dorms with United Nations like student population...due to the diversity nature of the campus and dorms. Awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Superb, especially the Applied Technology field (because that's my area of concentration)

    Tips for prospective students

    Please, contact or visit the admission office and ask them about the requirements, especially for the transfer students make sure you ask about the transferable classes/credits. So that you can decide on taking only the transferable classes at your current school.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Tech is a vibrant institute with the largest diverse student population I have ever seen!. Education First! Fun last!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. There are blue boxes around campus. The campus is also very well lit.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek system at IIT.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are an Information Technology and Management program join the new ITMO club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    7-11 for drinks!

    Bang for the buck

    Take the red line to the Roosevelt stop where you can find a Trader Joes, Target and Whole foods for cheap eats!

    What to do for fun

    IIT campus is off the red line. It is easy to get to amazing areas of Chicago like Chinatown, Boys Town and head to beach in Rogers Park. The Bog is also hoping on weekends!

    Food and Dining

    Food could definitely be improved. There is a buffet that offers a variety of selection of foods. If you are vegan or vegetarian there are plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You need to study and be focused in order to succeed. Outside learning is a definite plus if you really want to be set apart from the rest. Some area's of the campus are open late so you can study into the night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search out the STEM+ scholarship. Get involved with student groups. Rent the bikes around the campus for easy mobility

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors that take the time to help. Ipad initiatives gives you tools to be successful in academic classes. The opportunities that are offered here help the students become commodities in the future!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were a few crimes a year ago, but security is 99.99% effective

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs such as Union Board, which meets about the extracurricular life on campus. Also there's the chess club, and robotics.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the commons isn't too bad, but not something you might consider eating every day. Try other locations, like the Pritzker club or Center Court, or even Einstein Bro. Bagels in Hermann Hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just okay, nothing too fancy or whatever.

    Academic Rigor

    What more can I say? In terms of academic, this school is one of the best schools to go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to slack off; that's the worst thing you can do. Also, go to help whenever you can; almost everyone who goes here is both brilliant and friendly, teachers and students alike.

    In three sentences

    This college is by far one of the greatest schools for the aspiring engineers and architects. The work ethics and skills taught in class are both intriguing and invaluable to any student who just takes the effort to appreciate them and use them to their advantages. In addition, the extracurricular activities and various events on campus make life here much more enjoyable

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very professional and maintains a safe campus. Additionally, Chicago Police has a facility about two blocks south of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was a member of the Japanese Film and Animation Society and had a great time. I am actually in the Illinois Institute of Technology: A Vibrant Campus in a Global City video at 5:38 in the floppy hat. That was for Homecoming 2011 and we turned out cart into a cardboard tank.

    Bang for the buck

    I went for something other than an engineering or architecture degree, but I still felt that I got my money's worth in the classes.

    What to do for fun

    It's in the middle of downtown Chicago with access to the L-Train, so you can get pretty much anywhere from campus easily. Join one of the school clubs, there is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, but it got bland after a few years eating the same stuff. That said, they have a decent variety of options, but it was hit and miss.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were often quiet when I attended here. They had occasional parties, but for the most part students kept to themselves in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all pretty good. They don't drown you in material leaving you uncertain how to proceed, but they challenge you and require you to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to being asked if you go to ITT and having to explain that it is IIT.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a great school, especially for those how are majoring in engineering or architecture. The school is widely diverse with students from around the country and the world. IIT has great access to Chicago and all its benefits.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are public safety officers that patrol outside, and blue emergency buttons stationed all around campus; However, don't step too far off campus once it gets late. That can get scary.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is quieter than at most schools. It's nice though. The Greeks have the highest GPAs on campus, and we know how to have fun. There's always something going on in the quad when it's nice out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so much to do to get involved! From professional organizations, to student government, to clubs dedicated to music, coffee, or anything else, we have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are disciplined enough to know when to work, but also know how to have fun. Nerds reside here, so be able to handle references to anything from Star Wars to Harry Potter to Doctor Who.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MTCC is an awesome building. Very unique. Crown Hall was designed by the famous architect Mies van der Rohe. As far as traditions, there are plenty!

    Bang for the buck

    It's A LOT of money to go here, but the experience is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We're one train stop away from the heart of Chicago. It's seriously hard to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons has good food on occasion. Breakfast is the best. So is the pasta bar. If you decide to go Greek, however, each house has their own chef!

    Dorm Life

    For a tech school, it's awesome. No, we don't have crazy parties all the time. No, we're not one of those colleges that fits the media's portrayal of college. We're quirky, and very accepting of other people. We like to chill out, but we like to have our fun as well!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are VERY difficult, but as long as you do the homework and are willing to ask for help, it'll be fine. The teachers are here to ensure success, and will do everything they can to help you, as long as you are trying to help yourself first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and take a tour. If you can, spend a weekend here in one of the dorms or Greek houses! We'd love to have you. A weekend can change your whole opinion-- it did for me!

    In three sentences

    IIT is an amazing school, with amazing people. The teachers and students alike are friendly, amazing resources. Illinois Tech supplies students with the resources needed to ensure success.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Jus reading books

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Well

    Academic Rigor

    just go on through the web address.

    Tips for prospective students

    Better to choose this university.

    In three sentences

    It Is good

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around and if you need them you can call them! There is a nonemergency number and an emergency number.

    Greek Life

    There are about 8 frats and 3 sororities. So if that's your thing, you can find one!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different orgs and you could start your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of Tech Traditions. Nothing unusual. However there are Architecturally famous buildings. MTCC is fun and there are lots of places to hang around in.

    What to do for fun

    Hang around with friends! There are volleyball courts, tennis courts, Keating Gym, the Bog, and more. There is also access to downtown and most of Chicago via the CTA.

    Food and Dining

    Food varies from time to time but you should stick with a meal plan if you really can't cook and I personally only did it one year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and there are a variety of choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to open up to different cultures and new friends.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a very diverse school. The professors are great and really care about students. I love the environment.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nerdy, smart, serious, academic, scientists and engineers, nice, people who like small schools and those who want to get the most out of their lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a frisbee golf course located throughout the campus, watch out for flying discs! A pumpkin launch is held during the fall.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, exercise, go to a game, see what activities are being sponsored in the school's news paper (free movies, ski trips, etc.), make friends, eat, there is lots to do!

    Academic Rigor

    IIT offers a very rigorous academic program with some excellent professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Get to know your professors. Get involved with research. Join clubs. Exercise. Make a lot of friends!

    In three sentences

    IIT is an excellent school with a very unique and admirable student body. IIT offers a rigorous program as well as many opportunities for research and both academic and vocational training. I feel that beyond receiving an education that I am also gaining competence and character that will help me succeed in any and all of my future career goals.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Different school clubs have different actives all around the year in which you could have fun, specially in Finals Week.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different places in which you can buy food in IIT. My favorite place is Pritzker Club.

    Dorm Life

    I have friends that live on campus, and they enjoy every second of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Illinois Institute of Technology is a very rigorous school that challenges you many times.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, I recommend lots of studying before an exam. I would also advise them to visit their professors and develop a professional relationship with them because this will help them know you better, and it will benefit you in the end.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a very challenging yet amazing college. It makes you develop your mind and open to new ideas. It is also a very fun place to study at.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety and police constantly roam campus and they have stations with a button to call for help. Can also have public safety escort you to/from your dorm room.

    Greek Life

    Awesome Greek life, a strict no hazing policy along with some of the houses being dry, no alcohol allowed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Man on the Bench park.

    What to do for fun

    Hall activites, clubs, sports, greek life, building for sports and gym. As well as a on-campus bar with a bowling alley and games.

    Food and Dining

    Buffet style eating area with specific areas having different food everyday. Other dining areas on campus as well as a convenience store. Otherwise go into Chicago for a lot of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Fun halls with A/C.

    Academic Rigor

    Decently tough with great teachers and curriculum. Prepare architecture majors very well with big projects and hands-on activites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you love to do, make sure you can handle your credit hours and activities.

    In three sentences

    Busy, decently sized campus just south of downtown. Free public transportation to travel throughout Chicago.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or sports which are the only things to do there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are searching for help as soon as it seems the lesson is difficult, email or ask teachers for one-on-one help, and finish homework ahead of the due date.

    In three sentences

    It is boring and barely has any fun activities. The classes are tedious and are great for students who love high paced professors. The financial aid is a decent amount.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This school seems pretty good.

    Food and Dining

    This school seems pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    This school seems pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    This school seems pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school seems pretty good.

    In three sentences

    This school seems pretty good.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have fun :P GO to BOG - Basement of Games .

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out for your courses and their ranking in IIT before you apply

    In three sentences

    Best school for Architecture Fantastic learning experience Unity in diversity = IIT

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are on the south side of Chicago so safety is a concern. However the school does provide security. There are door guards at all the dorms. There are public safety officers patrolling campus all the time and there are emergency boxes where you push a button and public safety is there immediately.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 girl houses and 5 guy houses. Everyone is generally nice and welcoming. Many of these students are leaders on campus and focus more on academics than partying. Unfortunately they have a huge time commitment which can be difficult for student with heavy course loads and jobs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and leadership positions available. However there is limited funding. We have very few sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are nerdy. Everyone here is a nerd in their own way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    IIT is full of famous architecture by Mies van der Rohe.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheaper schools in Chicago. You will get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    There is Chicago 2 greenline (a train) stops away, which provides clubs, theaters, restaurants, museums, and parks. On campus there are clubs, pool tables, and many events (e.g. a hypnotist visited).

    Food and Dining

    A meal plan is mandatory and the options are poor and expensive. The only good thing is that the commons is buffet style so you can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    Very basic housing is available, nothing amazing but not bad. The RAs try to get students involved and it is nice to know there is someone there to look out for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the teachers on the most part are fair with grading and provide a curve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the opportunities and get involved in campus life before you isolate yourself like many students here do.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a school full of opportunities to participate in social activities, research, and leadership. The teachers are always helpful and available. The Offices are less helpful. The education experience is great but the admissions and offices are not helpful and you are often left to figure things out on your own.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is well protected by security, have never felt uncomfortable on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons to choose from, your standards like Student Government, along with Rock Climbing, fencing, and formula electric automobile-building organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, hard-working, and lovers of math and science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Checkout the bog, our on-campus bowling-alley.

    Bang for the buck

    Although I have not yet graduated, I have already been approached for numerous jobs and internships. Enough said!

    What to do for fun

    Join the Climbing Club, or maybe the Society of Automotive Engineers, maybe start fencing? Oh, and there's Chicago! A wonderful city with a booming startup industry. If you have an idea, this is the city to build a team, and make it happen.

    Food and Dining

    Not perfect, but consistent, and many offerings to choose from on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    Whether you stay in MSV (more traditional dorm) or SSV (uber-modern, very cool), you'll befriend students your first semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors take your education seriously, and it's your responsibility to do the same! Read a lot, think a lot, and enjoy your education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Checkout the scholarships offered by IIT, http://www.iit.edu/undergrad-admission/cost/iit-scholarships.shtml And apply! Not only will you receive an excellent education, but you'll find phenomenal opportunities for internships and research.

    In three sentences

    IIT has excellent faculty and staff that push students to do their best work, but also help us. Our campus is a hallmark in terms of architecture, with very large-open spaces. As a student, you make friends with peers from across the globe!

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's pretty good but repeatitive.

    Dorm Life

    Depends where you live try to become friends with your floor mates and just be friendly all around and you'll be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focus it's a lot more responsibility than High school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to be apart of the school in a big way join organizations and maybe consider Greek life.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. It's the perfect size I have professors that know their students by a first name basis. A great experience for a student wanting to study any STEM field.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They can be seen roaming the school grounds 24/7. I am an architecture student so I have walked to the dorms at around 2am and the school's police officers are still active.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is a very popular part of IIT. In total there are 7 fraternities and 3 sororities. Being part of the Greek Life can be helpful because you can always count on help when it comes to any kind of problem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    IIT has its own game area known as The BOG (located in the basement of Herman Hall) and has bowling, ping-pong tables, pool tables, and even televisions with game systems.

    What to do for fun

    Besides participating in the school's sports, clubs/organizations. downtown Chicago is just a train stop away. The best part about going out and leaving campus is that all full-time students get the ride the Chicago trains at no cost for while they are in school.

    Food and Dining

    Even though, not liked by all, the campus's cafeteria operates in a buffet-style which means unlimited plates. The school also offers other dining options throughout the campus such as a cafe, a bagel shop, and even a 24/7 Seven Eleven so there is always something to eat at anytime of the day.

    Dorm Life

    There are two rooming options for first-year students, MSV and SSV, which are really accommodating. Living on campus is also an excellent way to meet people and in return, since IIT is a relatively small campus, one can make many friends which can come in handy when the academics get challenging.

    Academic Rigor

    Being part of the architecture program at IIT, I know it is definitely a challenging one. I know that the engineering programs are also quite rigorous. Most of the programs that I am very familiar with, pushes one to the limit of their knowledge capability which will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    For one it is important to be aware of scholarship/grant opportunities since any financial help is essential in studying at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Attending any tours or events such as Discover IIT Day or Preview Weekend that help you learn more about the school is almost essential in determining that IIT is the fit-school for you. Also as a prospective student, meeting new people whether they are in the same position as you or a student there is full of benefits.

    In three sentences

    The Illinois Institute of Technology is a one-of-a-kind school with its fairly small student:teacher ratio and its challenging academic programs. Its location is ideal as it is not in downtown Chicago but just a few minutes from it. Studying at IIT is a good way to challenge yourself for a higher education at a world-class city.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious students who are eager to learn and know how to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    When the main building, McCormick Tribune Campus Center, is open, Ping-Pong paddles and Billiard tables are available for your enjoyment. In my first semester, I was able to become pretty good at Ping-Pong because of how much I played before and after lunch, with my friends. On Thursday and Friday nights, the Bog is open, you can play Billiards, Ping-Pong, Darts, and Bowling! You can also get a beer or some food at the bar.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty if places around campus to get a bite to eat! The Commons is the cafeteria where you use your meals, they change the menus everyday so there's always something to try out. Center Court is where you spend your Bonus Points. Their menu stays the same but the food is always delicious and it's open all day! There are also coffee shops around campus as well as a 7-11.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very lively! Every floor has its own community that is very close. I guarantee that a majority of the friends you make will be living on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    From the beginning to the end of the semester, there is a consistent amount of work being given out and accepted. It gets worse as you get near the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about going here for engineering, be ready for a lot of time in your dorm. This time will be spent on homework and studying for the sake of your own understanding. Most courses give a sizable amount of homework while others require some extra work put into understanding the concepts.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite being located on the south side of Chicago, Campus Security does a great job of keeping IIT safe and secure by patrolling the campus streets all throughout the day and into the night. I have never unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for every interest and every type of student at IIT, whether its Greek Life, volunteering, sports, writing, or art. Every organization is so welcoming of new members and it is so easy to get involved on campus!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Chicago is basically IIT's backyard and is just a free train ride away. Exploring the city is so much fun during the evenings and weekends!

    Food and Dining

    IIT has an abundance of fresh and delicious food and dining options, ranging from the Commons (the main cafeteria) to Center Court (options of sandwiches, salads, burritos, quesadillas, etc made to order). The Commons has really really delicious food that serves to many different ethnicity and food preferences.

    Dorm Life

    I have only resided in State Street Village (SSV), and I have had an awesome experience. SSV double suite-style dorm rooms provide a shared bathroom for every two dorm rooms (four students). It is a clean and quiet environment filled with fellow students who are very respectful of each other's living, studying, and eating habits.

    Academic Rigor

    IIT's academic programs are definitely very challenging. Attending class is a must. The lectures are key for excelling in the subject area. The professors at IIT definitely make attending class worthwhile by keeping their students engaged and engrossed in every lecture. However, despite the academic rigor, IIT is filled with so many resources to help its students succeed such as the Academic Resource Center and the 24-Hour Galvin Library. Professors also organize exam reviews to help students prepare for midterms or finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    IIT is a very welcoming and supportive community that does an awesome job in helpings students transition into college life through numerous events hosted by the Dean, Provost, Greek Life, and Student Organizations. Attending as many of these events as possible will definitely help you feel like you're a part of the IIT close-knit community.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Institute of Technology is a challenging and encouraging educational environment filled with students that share a burgeoning interest in engineering, sciences, architecture, and technology. IIT is equipped with a faculty that allows its students' intellectual abilities to expand and thrive. The faculty and staff go above and beyond satisfying every student's thirst for knowledge and growth.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has the campus security car in sight.

    Greek Life

    Here has students from all over the world. You'll get the chance to experience different culture. Maybe get the chance to visit your roommate's country and live with them without paying for the hotel.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of activities you might interested in. Like international week , we visited the Baha Temple and a huge Japanese market. The dorm will organize some fun activities like ice-skating or having picnic on beach.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't wanna live in a remote place.Plus, Chicago is really cool.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is right next to the Green Line.

    What to do for fun

    CHICAGO is amazing!!!! Use your Upass and explore the city!! Art Institute of Chicago is huge, you can hardly see them all in one day.

    Food and Dining

    The breakfast in Commons is basically the same everyday. But others are OK. SSV(dorm) has kitchen every floor, so you can cook yourself.

    Dorm Life

    DO NOT live in SSV. Though it looks modern, the interior design sucks. You have to buy toilet paper and hand soap by yourself, and you'll get to know how expensive the toilet paper is...Every floor has an RA, so you can go to them if things got wrong in your dorm or with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    I major in Architecture. Professors are pretty helpful and kind here. Study in the Chicago Landmark means there will be some tourists take picture of you while you're making models or drawing.The Material Lab, where students cut their wood, is not that neat...

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of the scholarship. The tuition itself is pretty expensive, so at least my scholarship is not that useful. Every freshman can get an iPad!!!

    In three sentences

    IIT is a pretty cool place to start your college. It's not so big, so you'll get the chance to get close to everybody.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life isn't thrilling, the BOG is open every thursday and friday night where you can bowl, shoot pool, play ping pong, play video games, and if youre of age, you can get some drinks from the bar to relax and unwind. Student Council usually does a good job of organizing events to gather students and meet new people but as the year goes on, they have less appeal and you are more likely to stay in your room to study or hangout with your closer group of friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are meal plans that you can choose from. Most people usually pick 14 meals a week with 175 bonus points. with this meal plan, you get 14 meals a week from the Commons, the main cafeteria. There are other places on campus that you may dine in but only bonus points are applicable there so most people only eat at the commons. The food itself is typical cafeteria food, there is nothing special. there is always pizza, burgers. salad bar, and there is an asian cuisine section and a sandwich bar. nothing too exciting, it will get boring very quickly.

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorms, MSV and SSV. MSV is the traditional dorm setup with several rooms in a hall each with two desks, two beds, and 4 drawers. MSV is a much older building and over the summer, if you have a dirty room, you will see some ants here and there. In SSV, it is a suite style with two rooms connected by a bathroom in between which will have to be cleaned by either you, your roommate, or your suitemates. MAjority of the building is constructed of concrete and the air conditioning is rather powerful so it does get cold but the rooms are larger and they look a lot nicer than MSV but they are more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but the professors have office hours for the students that really need help and they will jump through hoops to see a student succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into finding used books before buying the ones from the bookstore, they are VERY expensive and you won't need them after the class.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a very stereotypical tech school, there are a lot more guys than there are girls which is good and bad. Campus life isn't thrilling but its not a party school, its a tech school.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is relatively solid. A lot is done for security but we are kept ill informed. Many times information has not been given to us until someone blows the whistle and asks why? Other than this, solid. Currently, all buildings require student ID cards for access.

    Greek Life

    The Greek houses are awesome. There nice and they love doing things to make campus more fun. What else could you ask of them?

    Great for these types of students

    If you have interesting passions like dungeons and dragons, magic: the gathering, online gaming, fire twirling, sword eating, uni-cycling, mixed martial arts, parkour, anime, piano playing, and anything else you may have ever felt alone in, you will likely find that more people then you ever expected are passionate about it too.

    Bang for the buck

    IIT is a place that will have many different approaches taken toward it, thus many different opinions. It is truly only as much as you make of it. You're given some of the most brilliant people on earth and the whole city of Chicago at your fingertips, thanks to the UPASS. There are endless possibilities for the student with the drive to enjoy them.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations on campus. if you have a passion, there's probably a club for it, and if not, get a few signatures and create one! There is also a lot of fun and socialization around rush week. IIT does its best to plan certain socializing events but there is also the Bog: a regularly opening social club on campus. In there one can play pool, video games, bowl, ping pong, darts, or go over to the bar for a drink and some of the best food on campus.

    Food and Dining

    IIt Dining is very acceptable. Many are unsatisfied with our main cafeteria's menu items, but it is very considerate of different cultures and dietary needs. The food itself is also good. Unfortunately it doesn't change much, so people get tired of eating the same thing after about a week. There are so many more options for dining on campus that make this completely acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies quite a bit and how much you enjoy your experience truly depends on what your looking for. There are three types, regular dorms (MSV), Deluxe Suites (SSV), and apartments (Gunsalis, Carmen, etc). If one wants to live in what is comparable to a community of their peers, MSV would be an appropriate choice. They are the smallest and cheapest, but include more then enough study and living space in individual dorms and lounges. If one must have a bit more space and doesn't mind paying more, SSV is ideal. There is sort of a community setting available, but it's harder to bring out in SSV, because every one's room is so nice, why leave? If you are looking for a more adult experience for a higher cost, you can choose to live in an apartment and cook and clean for yourself. All that being said, and having experienced all three, I believe dorm life at IIT is awesome. I'd advise all to try the Regular dorms before all else. It's a great way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough. It's tough to the degree that many people will take non major classes somewhere else because of how unnecessarily tough it is. Occasionally, IIT throws you a curve ball with a professor that you feel is doing nothing for you, and you rely heavily on books and peers. However for the most part, if you're dedicated to your studies it's fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people. Take the campus by storm and don't worry about what anyone thinks. Illinois Tech is different, everyone is an individual. So be comfortable and just be yourself. Join clubs and socialize. Far too many people on campus long to speak to each other but never work up the courage. Be bold, be kind, be awesome!

    In three sentences

    Illinois tech receives a 3 out of 5 stars in my book. Though it may excel in academics, there is little good to be said about social endeavors

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pool tables, Bowling, Ping Pong

    Food and Dining

    There are some decent fast food places around. Besides the cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for many scholarships because like all private colleges, it is not cheap to attend.

    In three sentences

    It is a well respected school. It's a pretty comfortable environment. The professors all seem to be well qualified to teach.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus cops are always present and I feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved, but I know a lot of people love their fraternity or sorority. Sounds like they have a good time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them. They are very active and put on a lot of events,

    Great for these types of students

    Geeky students, techies', or simply students who care for their school work

    Bang for the buck

    Respectable institution that gives quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Being so close to downtown, it is easy to take our U-Passes and hop on a train or bus to explore the city. On campus, there are always activities going on, whether hosted by the fraternities/ sororities or one of the many clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a good place to see friends and chat, however the food is simply mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    The school tries very hard to have activities for the different halls and make it an enjoyable experience, but in the end the rooms aren't that great. Perhaps SSV would be nicer than MSV though (where I'm currently staying).

    Academic Rigor

    No doubt about it, the school focuses on academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit before making a decision. The best way to know whether the school is for you is to see it yourself and talk to some of the students current,y attending.

    In three sentences

    Illinois Tech is a good school that places heavy emphasis on coursework. The facilities are not the nicest, but the professors and class materials make it worthwhile. They have a variety of majors and living so close to downtown is great.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bog

    Bang for the buck

    IIT has a lot to offer and gives students a considerable amount of money in scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard some complaints about the food. I went to the commons a couple of times and thought the food was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Based on what I've heard. If you are the nerdy type, you will fit in.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm a commuter. So a strong work ethic is essential, especially when traveling from home. The earlier the you arrive at school the better. This will allow you to prepare for your classes and be on time for your morning class. Make sure you get your eight hours of uninterrupted sleep. Just as school/work/thinking happens in steps, you must go through your five phase of sleep in order to be well-rested and ready to work the next day. For me I try to sleep by 10:00 pm and wake up at 5:30am. For first year students, especially commuter students, try to get involved in clubs so that you can make friends and build your network. Do not let it interfere with your course work! Balance is key. If you do not have a strong work ethic coming out of high school, develop one as soon as you can. I've depended mostly on books and online resources to learn. READ before class! Its hard work but once you get the hang of it, it saves you a LOT of time and stress in the long run. If you can, try and get your textbooks weeks before classes start and begin to read and study from them. This will leave you less stressed during the semester, feel more confident because you will have prepared before class and give you some extra time for activities you would like to do during the semester. Work hard in college! Understand that this is one of those rare periods in your life where you have a ability to change the world, learning new things, and have numerous opportunities. Once you're finished with college, there are seldom times where you will have the same enriching experience.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a professionally focused school that motivates me to work hard. If you put in the requisite effort, the knowledge and experiences you gain will definitely pay off in the long run. Be able to learn from yourself and not from a teacher.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs to meet more people and practice your social skills or form your own study group to persue academic excellence. The sports center is really fantastic. You can swim, play basketball, badminton and most importantly, all sports are free.

    Food and Dining

    Because of the diversity of the students here, food choice are multiple. Students have the access to food from all over the world. The menu is not always the same. They change it almost everday.

    Dorm Life

    Housing on campus can be expensive if you don't have housing scholarship. Rooms are quite small in MSV. However, living on campus is really safe and fun. Each floor has their own culture and the RHA( Residence Hall Association) is doing really great to satisify students' needs. Life is much easier when you live in the dorm. You are close to the student center and your classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are nice and thoughtful. They give out detailed syllbus at the beginning of the semester and like to help students with trouble. Students are energetic and promising.

    In three sentences

    IIT is a place where students wil find out their path of life, a place where glory is achieved,a place you can take a look of the world.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    IIT is a lot more rigorous than expected, yet the quality of education is also more refined and of a higher grade than most would perceive. It is a technical focused school yet continues to capture the hearts of the wild students and can still let loose and have fun. All in all, it is a school that defies expectations and exists to usurp its perceived stereotype.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Check out their graduation rate. Being at 38% for four years, I expected a lot of students to attend co-op programs, yet after six years the graduation rate is only 64%. I have yet to find out why this is, but I find this fact disturbing.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Really read up on IIT and its majors. There are some very interesting majors in my honest opinion.

    In three sentences

    IIT seems to be a great school for pursuing engineering or technology in general. I have researched and have found more positive things on the school than anything. It looks like a great opportunity to study here and I look forward to my decision letter in the mail.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only 2 incidents this year and it was because people were out past 2am. We are still in Chicago. You have to be mindful of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    Moderately tame.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything you could find at a big college.

    Great for these types of students

    All types. This school boasts the best diversity for a college possible. We have people from all over the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Korean drinking games.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive so get them scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Anything you can think in a big city. Festivals, clubs, amusement parks.

    Food and Dining

    The food it good. Ots of choices in the cafeteria. But if you want to eat out Chicago has SOOOOO many cultures and types of food to chose from

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm life :D

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman Year: Easy Sophomore: Getting Hard Junior: Hard AF Senior: Medium Architect Major: Hard to the physical limit all years. BTW this major is 5 years. No exception.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first month is extremely important. Make as many friend connections as you can. After then, prune out your social circle by hanging out with the ppl you get along with most. Meeting so many people may help you when you need a random favor. Being charming helps too ;)

    In three sentences

    At IIT life can be a breeze, unless you are an architect major. 95% of people are nice, if you look in the right places. You will find a job right out of college, if you look in the right places and again this excludes architects.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, But me mindful of your surroundings. We still live in the city so walking around at 1AM with your iPhone 5 out and expensive headphones is not wise.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is tame. The school cracked down on them after some incident that happened before I got here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs ranging from religion to engineering clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who are out going and do no mind meeting people from very different backgrounds. We have students from all over the world. Us Americans are a minority here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Snowball fight in the summer. Basically panty hose filled with flower and thrown at each other. Similar to a fun game of dodge ball.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive. But that's what we get for going to a private institution. Scholarships please!

    What to do for fun

    School clubs, workout, and everything you can imagine is in a big city. Festivals, concerts, everything.

    Food and Dining

    The common cafeteria has many choices of food. People only complain because it is the same variety every day. There are only so many ways you can be creative with a buffet.

    Dorm Life

    I live and MSV and I love it!!! The bathrooms are clean the people are nice and all is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is easy but gets progressively harder each year

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, party frequently. Its not hard to balance both fun and study

    In three sentences

    The school is very diverse. The proffesors here are smart and engaging. However, it seems more expensive than it needs to be.

  • 07/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have no doubt on the safety. I rate the safety out of 5, because of the police stations available nearby, and patrols are also seen in campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things to do in the campus as said before. There are many clubs available to join depending on your interests in hobbies

    Great for these types of students

    It's a awesome university for international students and for people who likes to know people from all over the world

    Bang for the buck

    Because it's a private university, the cost of study is a little more than other state universities. I rate the cost a 3 out of 5 because it's fairly expensive

    What to do for fun

    Fun is a subjective thing. There are many thing to do for fun. There are sport halls for sportive students to join. There are also many clubs such as movie clubs, and many other clubs with students with your same interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at IIT is a also a 5 star. I rate this a 5 star because the choices are vast. In the dorm, you get a meal. While in campus, there are many canteens and mess hall with different kind of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a 5 star. I rate this a 5 star in IIT because it gives you many choices of dorms depending on your budget. The cheapest dorm is still clean and OK, while the most expensive one is a luxurious dorm with all indoor private facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate the academic quality of IIT a 4 out of 5 star. I believe it deserves a 4 star because the teaching staffs are all professors, because of the vast choice of literature in the libraries and because of the facilities available to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have no special tips for interested students. Just be honest, and follow the application instructions

    In three sentences

    IIT is such a great university, and that it's an honor for me to be able to study there. It is highly ranked in education quality and it's very diverse with a lot of international students coming from all over the world. Excellent place to study and find experience.