Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Illinois Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    IVCC is very close to the town. the mall is close by, so is the theater

    Tips for prospective students

    attend classes do not be late to class use the resources available such as the writing center

    In three sentences

    IVCC is a great school teachers are very friendly has a very good teachers

  • 12/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who don't really know what kind of degree they wish to pursue. IVCC allows you to take many different classes to help you form an idea of what you enjoy and what you don't. There are also many professors who can talk to you and help you learn about what careers are out there that you might like. And you can do all of this for quite cheap, instead of spending tens of thousands of dollars at a four-year school. For students who don't have the money to spend on four complete years at a four-year school. IVCC is part of the IAI, so you can take the same classes you would at any other IAI school at a much cheaper rate and pick up as a junior at your favorite four-year school without any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge a book by it's cover. IVCC may not be that expensive, state-of-the-art four-year school that you've had your heart set on since the sandbox, but it isn't as terrible as it's less-than-prime location might lead your to believe. Yes, the winters are cold. But the campus is beautiful during all other seasons and not hard not navigate. There aren't 200+ buildings for you to keep straight and it doesn't take twenty minutes to walk across campus. It's small, but it's cheap and can really help you out and ease you into your college experiences rather than having you jump in over your head as soon as you finish high school. Give it a chance, it will surprise you.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously, a community college is the cheapest way to attend college short of getting a full ride. This was certainly a deciding factor in my choice to attend a two-year institution rather than going straight to a four-year school. I do believe that I have gotten what I've paid for. My classes are all interesting and my professors are very knowledgeable in their fields. The administration and staff are all very helpful whenever I have questions. There are numerous programs offered so many ways to become involved. Although it's price tag is small, you certainly still do get a decent college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was wary of the idea of a tiny community college located more or less in the middle of a field. I wanted to get out of rural Illinois and onto better things, so I was less than excited to start at IVCC. About one year later, although it may not be the four-year university experience, I am happy with my experiences. Attending this small school has made me realize that I would prefer to attend a rather small four-year institution in the future. It has also helped me realize what kind of degree I would like to pursue. I do wish that we had perhaps a football team so I could go to the traditional college football games, but that is only a small bump in the road in the scheme of things. Another small bump in the road I have discovered is very limited wireless Internet and cell phone reception. There are times I need to get in touch with family and can hardly find the reception to do so. There are also days where I have free time and would like to work on homework and am forced to move around with my laptop looking for fleeting traces of wireless Internet. But overall, for being in rural Illinois and very small, I must say that IVCC has exceeded my expectations for a community college.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors have all been very passionate and knowledgeable about their chosen subjects. I have had some exceptional teachers that I enjoyed immensely also. Not to say that I have had other, bad teachers. All of my teachers have been wonderful, but a select few have went the extra mile to help me, even with things that have little to nothing to do with their class. I have not met one teacher I didn't like, but I have only actually had ten or fifteen professors. But no matter which classes I have taken, on-campus, satellite, night, day, etc...the quality has been the same. All of the staff may not be the most highly recognized person in their field, but they all know a great deal and give their jobs their all.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe, and the school has an excellent record for safety.

    Greek Life

    i do not participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of aclubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    students of any variety. from green freshmen, people in the workforce looking to hone skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a hidden fishing pond that has some of the most beautifull fish you will ever see.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition fees are competitive.

    What to do for fun

    the school offers a variety of clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    the food is a small notch above cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.'

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers all seem to be competent.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you do your research fisrt on what you will need for school. this includes your books and time for study. remember that there are many resources at the school to help you if you find yourself confused.

    In three sentences

    overall so far my experience has been positive. i was less than satifsfied with the services of the bookstore. the main building is easy to navigate.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students not ready to go away to college. students wanting to save money too.

    What to do for fun

    extra curricular activities galore.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the resources at ivcc. counselors are available to help you start your academic path.

    In three sentences

    ivcc is a valuable resource right here in my town. i am able to take all my general studies and save money while doing so. ivcc is a great starting point for me.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ivcc has many clubs and organizations that a student can join to have a better experience while attending ivcc.

    Food and Dining

    ivcc has their own cafeteria that provides great food at good prices. also, there are many local restaurants that provide good food as well.

    Dorm Life

    there are not any dorms at ivcc since it is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    ivcc has very challenging classes, but as long as a student is willing to work hard, he or she will be able to get a good grade in all of his or her classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip would be to give ivcc a chance. just because it is a community college does not mean you will not get a great education. in fact, you can get a great education for a much smaller price than attending a four year university right away.

    In three sentences

    illinois valley community college provides students with not only a great learning environment, but also a place he or she can feel at home in. ivcc is equipped with a great teaching staff that works hard to give their students a great education. overall, ivcc is a fantasic community college at a great price.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking lots are far from main campus and sidewalks dark.

    Greek Life

    NONE.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not quiet sure on what they want to major in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very always the same not many options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan and register for classes on time.

    In three sentences

    Friendly staff, clean environment, and calm setting.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always around, and I have never seen any foul play going on in the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student going into healthcare, science, math, or fine arts. Phenomenal classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many events go on in the school, it keeps you on your toes.

    Bang for the buck

    IVCC has probably the cheapest tuition in the area still, and the classes are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless clubs, sports, and activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and you'll almost always see students walking around with coffee and other hot drinks from the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    IVCC courses always challenge students to move past their comfort zone in assignments and learn things they've never learned before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of assignments. If you have a lab class, always make time to go down and study. Never wait to the last second to complete big assignments.

    In three sentences

    The science-related and health-related courses are excellent. There are great teachers who really want to see you succeed. There are so many means of study aide in this college: the professor's office hours, open labs, peer tutoring, and the help centers.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go somewhere else most clubs on campus exist in name only and there is very little to do in the area. I guess you could see a movie at the theater in peru.

    Food and Dining

    Average cafeteria food nothing really good or bad. Lots of fast food places are nearby as well as a few sit down restaurants

    Dorm Life

    NO dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are just too easy. I took harder classes in high school than most of classes I've had at IVCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to use financial aid apply early because the aid office tends to take awhile processing information and even loses paperwork sometimes. On a brighter note the chemistry teachers are amazing I recommend Johll for gen chem.

    In three sentences

    This school is bad even for a community college. You should not expect to learn or do very much here. If you need financial aid good luck dealing with the office.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is very little crime in this area. Security guard monitor the campus regularly.

    Greek Life

    2-year college organizations such as Sigma Kappa Delta, the English Honor Society; Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society; etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Getting involved with the various clubs is very enriching to a college experience. At IVCC there is: student government, political clubs, socially progressive clubs, HSO (Human Service Organization), WLO (World Language Organization), and many many more options for clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    IVCC is a great option for students who aren't ready to move away and commit to a major they aren't sure about. If you like living in a rural, small-town setting, you will love IVCC. There are nearby State Parks, like Starved Rock State Park, people enjoy visiting to camp or to hike.

    Bang for the buck

    Students who attend Illinois Valley Community College can save over $30,000 by taking general courses that transfer to the four-year university of choice.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in sports by trying out for teams, join various clubs and organizations on campus, and be social by talking to your classmates.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is basic and cozy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at IVCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Illinois Valley Community College has great professors, who take time to explain concepts and how to apply lessons to everyday life.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to succeed, students must read the material given to them by their professors. Take college assignments seriously and get involved with activities on campus. Take advantage of your professors office hours to know your instructor on a personal level to become aware of what is expected of you as a student.

    In three sentences

    IVCC was a great transition from high school to college. At IVCC, I honed my study skills, campus leadership, and community involvement. There are so many opportunities here for all students to become successful and further their educational goals.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You do feel very safe on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a value for the price.

    What to do for fun

    You could sleep or talk to other people in the halls.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria sucks, but does provide food at an overpriced price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends of the teacher. Some teachers are tough, others are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your teachers wisely and stay on top of your school work.

    In three sentences

    The school is a good school to transition from high school to college. There is not really a sense that you are at college though. It is a place for learning, but you take a gamble at the quality.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wrote for the school newspaper and the worst that happened was someone pulled a fire alarm one day.

    Greek Life

    There's a couple different societies like Sigma Kappa Delta and a few other honor societies of specific fields of study.

    Clubs and Activities

    Won 7 Illinois Community College Journalism Awards while attending IVCC and went to two different conferences, the first one at Malcom X College in Chicago and the second one at the Hilton Hotel in Springfield.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, like myself, are great at this school, as well as any students pursuing a certificate instead of a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Frisbee golf course on campus as well as many different special interest activities like anime club and swing dance group.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as difficult as you choose to make them, and there are plenty of honors classes and extras you can get into if you choose to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in more than just your classes. Within a week of being accepted to the college, I had an internship at the radio station across the street, I was the school newspaper's sports editor, and I was an active member of the gamer's club and continued to enjoy those activities throughout the two years I spent at IVCC.

    In three sentences

    Great teacher to student relationships. Many unique interest and extracurricular groups to get involved with on campus. All the tools and utilities to get through your General Education requirements at a very fair price.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is really not a lot for fun here. But its about an hour and a half from Chicago.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes don't help a whole lot toward a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all your classes you are in will transfer.

    In three sentences

    Decent school with a good Chem program. The councilors are not helpful at all. Seek help from anyone else.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus security when I'm walking through the parking lot. Good enough for me.

    Greek Life

    Mostly honors societies

    Clubs and Activities

    I live about 40 minutes from the main campus so I don't go to many activities, but there's a lot offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't want to leave the area, or those who want to get their Associates before transferring(:

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you see, basically. It's a small town community college so not much goes on.

    What to do for fun

    Hm, well there are all sorts of extra curriculars and activities to join, and you're welcome to it!

    Food and Dining

    I stick to the vending machines in the cafeteria. They aren't horrible. Both campuses are only about 10-15 minutes from good food anyways.

    Dorm Life

    You live off campus, so this isn't really applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a different regime from high school work, but personally, the rigor isn't all that geared up for me. If you challenge yourself, you can find classes that will do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's not high school. Things may be different, things may not. Either way, be adaptive to your surroundings. The teachers there are willing to help you, so don't sell them short.

    In three sentences

    I've been attending IVCC since the summer after my junior year. It's really nice, and I like the atmosphere! IVCC has a split campus which makes things a bit more convenient, for me personally.