Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Imperial Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is a non smoker would enjoy this school. completely non smoking campus.

    What to do for fun

    go to basketball games when the teams are good. other than that, nothing.

    Food and Dining

    its alright. very expensive and only few choices to select from: snacks (chips, candy, fruit), or mexican food.

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms. not even for athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    one of the only good things about this college is that they have one of the best nursing programs in the country. but, good luck getting in, they only accept 20 a semester and there is only one class for every pre-requisite you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips i would give to incoming students would be either join a club that will give you priority registration or if you have the money to go somewhere else, go! the school is broke, and instead of adding clases for students, they knock down buildings. i have heard stories about students waiting 4 semesters just to take one class due to the lack of classes and over population of students.

    In three sentences

    imperial valley college would not be a school i would recommend to a student. the college is very disorganized, professors and staff are not helpful, and treat students who don't have priority registration unfairly.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moderate to little campus safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, all ethnic backgrounds. Everyone is welcome at I.V.C.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dia de los Muertos is an unusual tradition that is celebrated at I.V.C. due to our nearby border town of Calexico, Ca.

    Bang for the buck

    Have Fun with the Family at Nearby Attractions. Cinemark movie theatres and mall have awesome food court.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the Pioneers Museum, full of interesting facts about desert life. Go shopping in Mexicali, enjoy authentic mexican food and drink, Ole!

    Food and Dining

    Small but quaint cafeteria with friendly service.

    Academic Rigor

    The I.V.C. approach seamlessly encourages exploration, cooperative learning, problem solving, reflection, and real-world connections, all while engaging studentsâ?? imaginations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be flexible, and always present yourself in a positive light.

    In three sentences

    Imperial Valley College is committed to academic excellence and believes in keeping classes small and providing valuable one-on-one interaction with faculty if needed. I.V.C. is for engaged learners seeking to immerse themselves in an intense and transformative experience, and to become prepared for making a difference in not only the students life but also for all who come into contact with the I.V.C. graduate.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be involved in many groups around campus. There is different social groups around that will gladly help you fit in.

    Food and Dining

    The burrito and pizza are probably the best food they serve there. It is a little expensive, but at least the meat is grilled right outside the student center and it smells great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are offered in IVC.

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard for every class and the grades will reflect you're hard work. Many students slack off in easy classes, but don't be that kind of student. It is easy to just get stuck in a community college like IVC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always be on time for classes and don't delay for payments because you can get dropped out of a class for owing money. Also ask for help if needed, there's many people that can help you around campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a good cheap school to go to. Many people are friendly and the professors are well qualified. It was a great community college to go to.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Check out the fairs or events they sometimes have on campus. Attend activities the ASG puts up.

    Food and Dining

    Even though I never really ate at school, there is a good variety of food which can be purchased there as well as snacks and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I took there were pretty easy for me however they do require time to do the work or assignments given as well as to study for exams. However other classes that I took there as well do require I a lot concentration and time because they are rigorous and challenging. The good thing is that the professors are always open to help you and clarify material you don't quite get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take things lightly just because its IVC. You should always try to do your best and get the best grades possible because the education you get there is going to be your foundation for when you transfer out; and the better you do at IVC the easier things will be.

    In three sentences

    My overall experience at IVC was great. I had the opportunity to join a program which gave me priority registration, something that helped me get all the classes I wanted without having any trouble. Also throughout the two years I attended, I got to meet some incredible teachers who are great at what they do, and who guided me, supported me, and encouraged me to always do my best and keep going no matter what.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe there. No fights, no bullying, just a great place to relax.

    Clubs and Activities

    I dont like the clubs from there.

    Bang for the buck

    Try to apply for financial aid. If your lucky, you wont be worrying about money.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing much. I really do not like the clubs there. I just hang with friends during my breaks.

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive and the food is very greasy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school but in need of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS ask ,before getting your classes, which teachers to get and which teachers not to get.

    In three sentences

    I believe it is a great college to start after high school. What i didn't like was that there is not enough classes for everybody, so everybody is trying to get a class. Also, i didn't like my counselor for last semester.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    upward bound, student support services

    Great for these types of students

    math lab

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    usually in front of the college campus there are activities going on around the school year

    What to do for fun

    play sports in the gym or outside

    Tips for prospective students

    expect independence

    In three sentences

    this college is small, so everybody knows each other. most of the classes are professional. most of the time it's clean.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isnt much to do but to play sports. It is to hot most of the year at Imperial Valley College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Imperial Valley College to me is an unorganized college that never has enough classes for there students.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well the imperial valley is small but its nice to go to the mall and to the movies.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria that provides lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms in this community college

    Academic Rigor

    its a great school

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared college isnt that hard just stay focused and motivated.

    In three sentences

    Great community college for recent high school graduates, parents or people that have job and all classes have flexable hours that work with anyones schedule and they even provide childcare if needed.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Onsite security guards, and Administration of Justice student officers make this campus safe.

    What to do for fun

    Several of fun clubs, sports, gym

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food, good variety, reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    None available

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy for the most part. Also it depends on your major, the subject, the instructor and YOU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep good grades, register as soon as you can, and crash whenever possible

    In three sentences

    This campus is fairly big, hosts a good amount of buildings, variety of studies, and different people.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is completely nothing fun to do in this school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is sours of tasty, on certain days, prices are over the top and the quality varies.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they can't never teach properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    For other students, be as competitive as you can, check for classes you need, never waste time and pass all of your classes. College is not a joke take it seriously is your life your working on now.

    In three sentences

    Imperial valley can be described as Over crowded, very minimal opportunities are given to students, classes are very limited and hard to get, there is hardly any advantages for those who want to continue their education.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has many securities but are very lenient.

    What to do for fun

    Students go out to eat on breaks. Outside of school students party on the weekends, students are very outgoing and sociable.

    Food and Dining

    School cafeteria has great cooks who cook to your request. Many students carpool to nearby restaurants. Students love the pizza pockets on campus. Top things to get on campus are the breakfast burrito and the tortilla soup.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing, but students are friendly and outgoing. Students socializing in and out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a school adviser.

    In three sentences

    Imperial College provides great educational opportunities for degrees and technical certificates. Teachers and students are friendly and create a good environment. Classes are challenging and flexible.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is quite kept up but its very dark around campus at night.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs such as CAAP, Student Council, and more.

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have a car to drive back and forth, there isn't much available unless you join a few clubs, other than that, it's located away from the city.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines, cafeteria food, and typical gas station products are available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are at this school, you basically need to live here because it's a small junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    Low graduation rate due to dropping out or transferring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a agriculture, nursing, or business major, this school is a good choice, other than that, not much is available.

    In three sentences

    Although it is convenient due to the Valley being so small, it is not my first choice to go to school. This college doesn't offer much to a broad variety of students like myself and I would much rather go to another school if I could afford to. Most of their scholarships aim toward farming, business or nursing and the financial aid criteria is a joke.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The only food I personally don't like are the hot pockets. The other foods like the hamburgers, carne asada burritos, soup, and tortas are actually delicious. Except it'll cost you around $6 for a burger. There is enough to eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the upper division classes can be pretty challenging based on what teacher you have here at the college. Math is not that hard here, but homework for the math classes is given on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to get a class, get on the wait list or crash it; there are a lot of students that attend this college.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and staff are pretty friendly. Classrooms and buildings are kept clean. The ASL program is great here.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Plenty of gamers on campus.

    What to do for fun

    College hour. They usually have cook-outs or events in the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good here. The only issue here are the prices. Spend wisely.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus, so don't worry about moving out.

    Academic Rigor

    Hands-on tutoring and helpful teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for this college, be sure to meet up with a counselor if you haven't before high school ends. Save up from financial aid for textbooks, supplies, food and transportation. Don't purchase unnecessary things with your financial aid, you will need the money later on for unexpected fees.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly people during college hour. The food here is delicious. There are very flexible schedules.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its Smoke Free and Alcohol Free campus so its very safe. I have never heard of there has never been a shooting here because people here are not crazy just poor but crazy or murderers.

    Greek Life

    .......

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club that comes in to mind is Christian Club and Anime I now they have more but I am not very involved its never late right?

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want an education but that know that in other colleges are ridiculously expensive. Not because this college is not expensive it means that the quality of the education is cheap. Its absolutely the opposite. Students get a great education at a great price. Also learning in you. Getting an A is easy in every college . know giving that A a real value is the hard part.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its the only place I know its right next to border of mexico and its fun and easy to cross the border. This border is not dangerous and they have the beat chinesse food restaurants and Carne Asada Tacos.

    What to do for fun

    Read, play video games, apply for scholar ships, draw, paint. take a walk in the park, hand out with friends, Parkour, and cooking.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome Carn Asada Tacos. They also have pizza and ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    the school does not have dorms,

    Academic Rigor

    I do not understand the question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never ask another student for advice. The best thing to do is going to counselors I assure that they will know more than a student. If you have a hard time getting a book make friends with some in the class that has it and collaborate in studying with that student. Also some courses text books are available at the library and you can borrow them for two hours.

    In three sentences

    Imperial Valley College is the only college in the valley so, its very hard to get a spot in the class. Despite than, Imperial Valley college has awesome, intelligent, and nice professors. Human beings worth meeting.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. There isn't that much trouble, except for a few parking infractions. The guards can look kind of intimidating, but they're really not. I think it's part of the job description to look tough so people don't break the rules.

    Greek Life

    Imperial Valley College has no Greek life, sadly.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club I was a part of, and it wasn't for very long, was the LGBTQ Club. It usually is just a small group of people, but its very close knit and they're always there for you if you need anything.

    What to do for fun

    One thing I like to do, and you don't have to consider this fun, is sit outside in the grassy areas and just watch people walking by. I also like to feed the pigeons and crows that inhabit around the school.

    Food and Dining

    While the food is actually pretty good, the prices are excessively ridiculous. You're better off bringing lunch from home. I will say this though: Treat yourself at least once a week to a school lunch. On your busiest day, pick a time to go to the cafeteria and order whatever makes your mouth water. I guarantee you, it'll help you relax and you'll be able to focus more on your work.

    Dorm Life

    Imperial Valley College does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of teachers, and professors, are very strict about their rules. And while some are a bit more lenient, they still uphold the school regulations. Some of the teachers I've had were definitely strict when it came to one subject, but if I had them for several subjects, their attitude would be completely different. So choose your teachers wisely. If a really good friend of yours advises against a certain teacher, ask a few other people before you make any decisions.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip for students would be to always get familiar with the campus before the term starts. Sometimes just using the maps that the college provides helps. I know they helped me my first semester. Oh! Parking is HORRIBLE, so always make sure you arrive a good 15 to 20 minutes before your class starts so you can find a good parking space. If you want to study, the library and Math and Science building (2700) are always good places.

    In three sentences

    Imperial Valley College is a two year community college that takes you five years to finish. Its rural location is not ideal, but students make do. It also has a great campus feel.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have I once felt threatened or in danger on campus. I guess it is because of of the environment.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who are still trying to figure out what they want to study. Since the classes are affordable, it gives you the liberty to test out different classes.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is decent. There is a good selection of food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save a few bucks on general classes, I recommend you attend IVC before you plan on going into an University or technical school.

    In three sentences

    Imperial Valley College, is a great place to get your generals out of the way. Also, the classes are extremely inexpensive. Something to think about too though, is the amount of students that attend IVC, it gets really difficult to find classes if you wait till last minute.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some very prosperous clubs here ar IVC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tutoring and libary sessions are a must (:

    In three sentences

    Imperial valley college has good major programs. The professers help with any question that a student might have. And tutoring is available for academic support.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and friendly, most of the students know each other from the surrounding high schools.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is beginning to create new honors programs for students. They are building new buildings to support more modernized classrooms. The school is getting better each year.

    What to do for fun

    There is a basketball team, women's cross country, tennis, and various clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that serves food, i don't eat there myself.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college

    Academic Rigor

    Students are expected to be able to work together. The also must present to the class and display public speaking skills. Students are expected to act professionally and turn in work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with councilors regularly and make sure you know what needs to be done and their deadlines. Make sure to get the correct classes towards your degree. Some classes are only offered once a year.

    In three sentences

    This college is a good training college. It's kind of like an extension of high school. You will have to learn to take charge of your education if you want to finish.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are a lot of things to do.

    What to do for fun

    know all the students

    Tips for prospective students

    the teachers are the best

    In three sentences

    IVC is a good school for everyone. I like this school. this school is wonderful

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They hold many activities for the students all depending on the month. They have raffles or have contests. Above all the students attending are really sociable. You meet new people everyday.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent not to fancy. They need more variation. They got to make it bigger and keep the prices how they have it. It is cheap for the students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is easy but you still got to study. It is a college after all. If you do not put an effort than you will fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give is not to take it lightly. It might look easy but you got to remember it is college and you will be graded harshly and a fairly as possible.

    In three sentences

    The rating I would give to the college I am currently attending would be an 8 out of 10. IVC holds many good things and it is mostly the teachers. The teacher understand the students very much. I that way they have an advantage on how to teach us. You learn many things by many teachers. You even learn without trying. These teachers prepare you for life.