Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Independence Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who has a talent. this school has a lot of sports and offers a large amount of scholarships. this school is also good in the arts and band as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a very small school. it should be a great place to get your basics out of the way. DO NOT be worried about this being a 2 yr. school. You can transfer later.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This community college is great for students who want to get a couple years of schooling under their belt for an affordable price. It can also be great for those who feel a University is to big right off the bat and will make the transition much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student I highly suggest looking into the school in depth. By this I mean making sure they have your major and actually stepping foot on campus. Many times you may think a college is right for you and have everything you need then when you get there you hate every minute of it. So always check out the school and town in person before you commit!

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part this school is good about getting you what you pay for. It offers many classes you need in starting your college education off right!

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes there isn't much to do in this town, I'm not going to lie. However, I play basketball and that pretty much occupies my life at the moment!

    Am learning a lot

    I feel I have gained quite a bit of knowledge while attending this school but I also brought a lot of knowledge in out of High School!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are very busy, those with a job, moms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you try to find out things about which teacher you want to take a certain class from by talking to past students! It's really easy to get all your classes planned for the morning then you have the rest of the day free!

    Bang for the buck

    It's very easy to receive a books and tuition scholarship which I love and I even with the fees payment I had it easy with payments!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus and small and easy to get around, it's never hard to get to my classes on time and every is so nice!

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are all challenging and useful for the career I am seeking!

  • 10/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who want get a feel for college, people who want to be art or theatre majors, or people who don't have a lot of money, but want to further they're education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If want to get a great feel for college life this is a great place to come.

    Bang for the buck

    ICC gives you a great deal for each semester and have many scholarships that help, so you don't pay a lot and get a lot of bang for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed being here because I am learning a lot and making new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot about accounting basic and I want go in as a career.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's good for sport people and art people, lots of opportunites to practice.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, go out with your friends. I can always find what to do anywhere, so that's not a problem for me

    Food and Dining

    ICC has a cafeteria that has 3 meals per day during the week days and 2 meals during the weekends. Breakfast is usually a bit early for me but that's good when I have morning classes. That way I can eat something before I go to class.

    Dorm Life

    There are two types of residence living at ICC: dorms and bricks. Dorms are a big Residence Hall with double rooms. You have a roommate and share a bathroom and a shower with an other room. Bricks have 3 rooms sharing a bathroom and a shower but they also have a living/studying room and are built as an apartment type. I like them, the rooms have a bed, a desk for studying and closet space. It's good enough for me. Everything else I can decorate :)

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have been challenging, but that's what's good about it. College has good teachers who will give you personal attention when you ask for it. It has been hard in some of my classes but I've managed it. The only advice I can give is: work hard and you will pass even the hardest of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small community, personal attention and friendly teacher than this college is for you. It has a lot of transfer deals to bigger universities and has a lot to do in terms of sports and activities. For me it has been a great start to my future career, I hope the same goes for you!

    In three sentences

    I really do love studying in Independence Community College, it has given me an opportunity to start my education in the United States and helped me in making loads of new friends and participating in a typical American college life (I was a member of a cheer and dance squad). I really like my classes, they are challenging but also very enjoyable and I would recommend this college to anyone who loves a small community and personal attention in terms of classes.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school is really laid back, good for someone wanting to go through the motions.

    In three sentences

    Independence Community College is a good school for students want to get a basic degree. They have good instuctors willing to help with whatever you need. They also have a very home-like campus.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that meet every so often. Im involved in the Phi Theta Kappa club and it is a national honors society club.

    What to do for fun

    You can participate in the different sporting events. They have open mic night you can get involved in and different events around the college.

    Food and Dining

    It serves you food everyday and every meal.

    Dorm Life

    It is a good opportunity to meet new people and it is a smaller campus so you will get to know new people. It is easy to get around and I love all of the new people i have met!

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes that i have taken are challenging. It is not an easy A and you will learn the information. The instructors are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the SSS program. It is very helpful to many students. Go to class everyday because learning is good and it will only can take you to a better place.

    In three sentences

    It is a very helpful school and when i need help i always get that extra help I need. They have many opportunities for you to become active. You will learn because there are good instructors.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the only option for Greek Life here. To join you must fill out an application, have a 3.2 GPA, and you must have completed 12 college credits. There are different requirements for freshmen in there first semester so that they may be temporary members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual locations: The Bricks. These are the other living option besides the dorms. They look like a little, brick apartment. Each houses about 8 guys (boys only). There are four rooms, one lobby area, and one bathroom in each brick. The bricks were originally built to house the football team and keep them separate from the other students. Recently they have decided to try and intermingle the sports.

    What to do for fun

    If you like being outdoors there is a lot for you to do. We have a disc golf course on campus. You can fish in the pond outside of the dorms, but you have to throw them back. If you are into sports, there is a soccer field right outside of the dorms, a football field at the other side of the parking lot, outside basketball courts next to the dorms, and the gym. If you have a car - there is a nearby lake, zoo, putt-putt, parks, and plenty of other activities.

    Food and Dining

    Vegetarians beware. . . The food can get a bit monotonous. If you are versatile, you can make it work. Fruit, cereal, and a side vegetable are always available and sometimes there is a vegetarian friendly main dish (cheesy pasta or fish Friday). For meat eaters, there will always be food choices. The best thing about the cafeteria is the work staff. They care about you and want you to get enough to eat! The biggest downside to the cafeteria is that you cannot take food out of it - even if you are late to class.

    Dorm Life

    I gave a pretty good rating for 'dorm life' because I like living in the dorms. Within the first couple weeks of being here, I knew most of the students living in the dorms. The lobbies on each floor are great for hanging out, studying, or becoming a pool champion! There are also different dorm events that go on like poker night or dorm Olympics!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging depending on your academic strengths and your choice of major. However, studying and visiting your professor during office hours will help a ton!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time to go on a college visit! Understand that if you are coming from the big city (OKC, NYC, KCK, etc..), Independence, KS may be a bit of a culture shock to you. The professors here are great people! They want to help you (despite what your high school teachers said about professors not caring) and they want you to succeed! They will make all of that possible if you put in the effort to show up to class and participate, which includes studying once in awhile!

    In three sentences

    ICC is a really great school! The campus is beautiful and small enough to walk to every class. You will have the opportunity to know everyone's name (including your professors')!

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel you really get the most out of every dollar you spend at ICC.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Frisbee golf course, basketball court, a pond, and much more. There is never a dull moment on campus!

    Food and Dining

    ICC food is AWESOME! There is always a salad bar available if you don't like what is on the menu that day. With this being said, there is always multiple choices and it's all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! They have a community laundry mat and plenty of places for the students to to hang out outside of their rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something whether it's chess club or a fraternity. The more involved you are, the more college will be fun.

    In three sentences

    ICC is a great college if you're looking to stay close to home. They have a lot of different programs that students can be a part of. The class sizes are small making the chance to connect with your professor easier than a big university.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting a small-town atmosphere or wanting to just begin their new college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school may not be the highest ranked or have the newest facilities it is a good deal for how cheap it is. If you find scholarships whether it be academic or athletic or any in-between you can almost attend school for free.

    What to do for fun

    Independence, KS is a very small town so as you can imagine there is not much to do here. There are close towns (close as in 45 minutes away) which has more options such as malls, dining, or activities. During the summer time Independence, KS has a small pool and zoo that is enjoyable to graze during the warm summer days.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here at ICC is average for a community college. It is difficult to eat healthy in the cafeteria though. They do have healthy options such as a salad bar or a sandwich bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ICC are not the best but they aren't horrible. There are the main dorms which boys and girls share, then there are the bricks which the boys are in which are 4 rooms and one living area. The dorms are all suited with two rooms connected with a restroom and four people living in each suite.

    Academic Rigor

    This academic rigor at ICC is not very difficult. Most of the classes that I am currently enrolled in I have or could have taken In high school, in an honors class or AP class. You should not expect any community college to have very rigorous classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy close-knit atmospheres and small schools you will enjoy ICC. As it is a community college you should not expect the classes to be very advanced. As well as that aspect of a community college, the population of this school is almost fully made up of athletes.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Independence Community College a 5 out of 10. The school and campus are very small. The education opportunity here is average, although the options are not very grand when attending this college.