Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Indian Hills Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hills is great for anyone and everyone to go to!

    Am enjoying being here

    I've made so many friends that I honestly don't want to leave them!

    Am learning a lot

    I am in class every day from 8am until 3pm and have learned much more than I believed I would.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Indian Hills is really great for any type of student. If you think you may have trouble with certain subjects, there are tutoring opportunities open to students, and if you excel in a certain subject, you could even be the tutor! The face-to-face classes and online classes provide learning opportunities for every type of person.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a going to attend Indian Hills soon, make sure to register for your required classes with time to spare. They fill up very quickly!

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are fairly affordable, even if you don't get a lot of scholarships or loans. There are also many scholarships available through the Indian Hills Foundation Scholarships program.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, easy to navigate, clean, and beautiful, the instructors and students are friendly, and the staff is very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm going into the science field, and the science and math classes are great! I love my professors, who are very helpful and accessible, and I've learned so much!

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's really not alot to do for fun unless your a work out junkie or a basketball junkie. otherwise your screwed. (on campus) but once you get off campus you can have a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    again the cafeteria is not so good in the arts and science building. but the cafe in other building is good. theyre more fresh.

    Dorm Life

    depends which dorm your in. trustee is nasty!! dont go to that one. oak is alright. kind of nasty. the others arent as bad. well i guess theyre all kind of gross.

    Academic Rigor

    i guess it depends which field your in. the nursing program is excellent. and so is the aa program. the culinary program is alright if you liked getting treated like a 5 year old. those are all the programs i've had a taste of. the professors that i've had as a whole is good. you know some are better than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips would be: always go to the financial department if you need help with anything. they are nice and will try to help you. they arent rude like other departments. try to get to your classes early because if your late, you wont get a parking spot. dont go to the main cafeteria in the arts and sciences building, it sucks. instead go to the building across from the bennett building.

    In three sentences

    i think ihcc is an ok school. there is alot that is great and a lot that is not so great. i love the nursing program.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a team of campus security always around, all buildings need an access card after 10 pm, dorms need access cards all day.

    Clubs and Activities

    We are full of clubs and activities here, from choir, student government, culinary club, automobile club, multicultural club and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all kinds of students, we even have an international student office and we have handicap accessibility in all buildings and classrooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus has very beautiful places in it, like ponds, a golf field, and sports field. the climate is excellent and the fall colors are just breath taking.

    Bang for the buck

    A great price for such a great education.

    What to do for fun

    You can play sports, hang out with friends, join clubs, in the summer time there is a pool on campus, and all year long there are different activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not controlled by the culinary arts program yet, so we have kind of high school cafeteria tasting food, but that will change soon.

    Dorm Life

    It is fun to live on campus, you meet new people, make a lot of friends, and you don't have to commute. There are fun activities to do, like join clubs, play sports, or just hang out with your friends. And the whole college campus has wi-fi.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes from the first day are tough, but teachers are always there to guide and help you in everything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planing to come to IHCC live on campus, it is easier to get to your classes on time and also you will have a lot of fun. Don't take too many credits, you may get overwhelmed, just take 9 or so your first term.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college, the Culinary Arts program is really complete. Here at Indian Hills you learn hand on, so going into the real world is easier. The teachers here help you to obtain all the tools you need to have success in your career.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say that the campus is safe. I have never heard of any think happening on campus. But the town that it is in is getting more dangerous. So avoid down town if you are off campus and you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    There is NO Greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for almost all the programs. These clubs offer Scholarships so make sure to apply. There is also Choir and Show Choir and about three plays a year. So lots of stuff you could do. There are also sports.

    Great for these types of students

    IHCC is great for students that want to get a 2 year degree or those that are trying to get classes out of the way before going on to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that this college is worth the money. But if you plan on transferring to another college after your 2 year program make sure to check that your credits will transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Most of my friends like to go to the Vine which is a coffee shop of campus and there are other things to do but I just manly study so I am not really the one to ask.

    Food and Dining

    There is nothing really fancy about the cafeteria. But the Culinary Art students do cook the food so it tends to be good.

    Dorm Life

    I personal do not live in the dorms, but all my friends do and they love it. They can be more active in the college and they can hang out with there friends. But I would not like to have to live in a little room and share a bathroom with other girls. But like I said everyone I know loves it so you may too.

    Academic Rigor

    IHCC is not supper strickt on grades they like you to have good grades and they offer a lot of resources to help you get good grades. But depending on your program you are in and weather you have financial aid or scholarships, will really determine what kind of grade and GPA they expect out of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really think a head if you are planing on attending IHCC or any other college. There is a lot of paper work and some of the process have to be completed before you attend. Also remember class do fill up so sign up as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    IHCC is a very affordable college which is very helpful. They offer a variety of programs which all have great scholarships. There is no school on Friday so this is a real perk.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs as well as sport interactions to do in your free time. there are a lot of fun places on campus to spend with friends or to get some quiet for that well needed last minute studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not one hundred percent positive what you want to get a degree in, take the time to take classes outside of your comfort zone. Indian Hills is the perfect place to learn more about you, who knows you could change your degree and be a lot happier.

    In three sentences

    Good starting school for those intending to transfer to universities for four year degrees. It is also a great trade school and a perfect opportunity to learn about yourself and where you want to go in life.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Okay but needs to be improved

    What to do for fun

    Take weekend trips out of campus!!!

    Food and Dining

    Not for everyone need a healthy diet but if you want to gain the freshman 15 sure eat your heart's desire

    Dorm Life

    Not the greatest but can be improved

    Academic Rigor

    It very fast paced, study hard, test every week

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take tests weekly!!

    In three sentences

    This college is a great place for people wanting to get into the nursing field straight out of high school. I recommend coming here if are ready to jump into the college experience from classes to clinical. The fast paced program isn't just for anyone, but you will be done quickly to enjoy job opportunities in the nursing field

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They offer 24/7 on campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many different sports to participate in if you wish.

    Great for these types of students

    All students looking to get a away from home to help them better focus on college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can recall.

    What to do for fun

    Go on walks. Ottumwa downtown city offers many places to go for past time. They have a water park called The beach that is a good place to go, and admission is only five dollars.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good school and offers help in many differeny ways.

    In three sentences

    This community college offers many types of degrees. This is a great place to go for everyone. The campus offers living on campus as well.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    I belong to Phi Theta Kappa, the Academy, and student services. There are many different clubs to belong to as well as activities to attend as well as join in on.

    Great for these types of students

    IHCC is great for older students, such as myself as well as displaced workers, etc. It is also a great school for those fresh out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    IHCC is one of the most reasonable schools around. I researched prior to attending.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in Ottumwa, both on and off campus. There is always something going on at IHCC, but if you would rather go to town, there are movies theaters, malls, restaurants, bars, trails, concerts, and a water park.

    Food and Dining

    Many different foods and dining halls to choose from and the food is reasonable, as well as tasty.

    Academic Rigor

    You can take as few or as many classes as you want; however, to be considered full-time, you have to take a minimum of 8 hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the advisers and the financial aid office. Always fill out your FAFSA. The success center will help you with any classes you are having trouble with.

    In three sentences

    The Professors are all patient and care about their students. Academic advisers are always there to help you choose the curriculum you need and want for your career. There are many career paths to choose from.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top-notch. They solve any mystery in less than 30 mins! For example, I had someone rear end my car while I was in class and after reporting it, our security quickly figured out who the culprit was and everything was solved with basically a snap of his finger!

    Bang for the buck

    IHCC is a school that is very affordable. In-state and out-of-state students only have a $1,000-9,000 difference. It depends on what course you will be in.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join! Ranging from the Multicultural Club to the Skeleton Club, there are a lot of clubs here that will fit your personality. We had recently had casino night (just playing games without money involved) and I had won a Nook Tablet prize! Other prizes included Beats, a Samsung home theater system, and food!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! One sandwich will have you full until dinner time. The food is personally cooked with our Culinary Arts department and is always improving everyday. Dining in IHCC is always heavenly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is very tight in IHCC. Everyone clicks and gets along very well. I have not had any problems with meeting new people and I'm currently enjoying it!

    Academic Rigor

    Since college is fast paced, learning in IHCC is the same. BUT the difference is that they also get hands on. So if you are a student that learns best with demonstrations, don't be afraid to ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look for sources of extra learning, because you WILL need it! Do not procrastinate and if you have any free time, use it to get ahead of in any of your classes! It's better to ask now than later because then you will forget your question. And every teacher is basically a friend so don't be afraid to talk and communicate with them! They want communication with every student!

    In three sentences

    Indian Hills gives you the freedom to explore what it's like inside college. With their education system, you can get anything done and you are not struggling to learn! Every teacher and staff always do their best to accommodate the needs of each student.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    didn't eat there. i don't know.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know. didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are good.

    In three sentences

    it's an okay school. good education. could be better.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is very good if you have a problem of any kind they are willing and do help you out.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the Criminal Justice Club on our lunch hour so we go to class before and after making it possible.

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure what there is to do for fun because I have two small children, so it is imposible for me to participate in acttivities.

    Food and Dining

    The new coffie shop has really good sandwiches and muffins

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Academicaly I would choose no other school to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the advice that is given both from teachers and from students, listen to students about teachers they have had if the current teacher you get isn't working for you.

    In three sentences

    I feel that this college has really been a very good place for me both academicaly and physically. The teacher's here are very helpfull and understanding to each students needs. I have exceded more than I have ever thought I would do in my life it is hard work and teachers who understand how it is.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is here 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    the activities are very supportive

    Great for these types of students

    this is a college for students that want many opportunities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was shocked that the staff at the college adopt families during the christmas season

    Bang for the buck

    you will get a big bang for the buck just apply yourself

    What to do for fun

    get involved in just get in different activities and get connected

    Food and Dining

    food is wonderful thanks to the Culinary arts team

    Dorm Life

    the dorm students seem to have a nice life here on campus

    Academic Rigor

    This is where it all starts

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recomend you to try it out because I gurantee you would stay

    In three sentences

    There are tutors four days a week from 6am to6pm All Instructors have an office on campus The college is expanding for better access to study

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Indian Hills Community College offers many programs for students with a vast variety. They provide their students with the help they need, and are always avaible. I enjoy going here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security system

    Clubs and Activities

    cheerleading softball, soccer, basketball, baseball

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't want to go to a big school and feel more confortable in a smaller place

    Bang for the buck

    Nice athletic programs and a nice gym.

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    A lot of options for eating.

    Dorm Life

    great dorms

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help from the success center .

    In three sentences

    Indian hills is a very good school with a nice campus. Small classes and time to meet with professors. It also has nice dorms.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not live on campus, but I do spend a lot of time on campus. I have never seen anything terrible happen. Campus security is available to call and they are often seen patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not in any sororities and I do not know much about them at Indian Hills Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Indian Hills has many clubs and activities. I am most familiar with the nursing scrub club. The have intramural sports such as volleyball.

    Great for these types of students

    Indian Hills is great for students who want to work and continue their education. They offer flexible program and classes. They have online programs, ICN programs and the classroom programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful behind the Hellyer Student Life center there is a little pond, a bridge that goes across it and a walk way.

    Bang for the buck

    Indian Hills offers a great education for a low cost. The college its self offers many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has different activities to do they have military personal come and they do the rock wall climbing. Last week I believe the military race car was there. They also have local bands come and play.

    Food and Dining

    The have two dining places that I know of and they are both really good. The people who work at the dining place in the Arts and Science building are in the culinary arts program. The food is inexpensive and taste good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know much about the dorm life I am a commuter. My friend likes living on campus she was able to choose her roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics has always come easy to me, but here I have to study. I am in the nursing program and we have a test in each one of my classes at least once a week. We have two class periods and then a test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and study groups, and do volunteer work. Try to find volunteer work that relates to what your degree is going to be so you can get a good start at your career.

    In three sentences

    Indian Hills Community College is a smaller college. It has smaller class sizes so you are able to get to know your instructor.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on duty. They patrol the campus throughout the day and night. Security is very on top things. Haven't had any problems on campus so far.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a diverse amount of students here at Hills ranging students from all over the United States to all over the world. Some of Hills' international students come from the Caribbean, Japan, Brazil, England, Ecuador, Puerto Rico, and Africa. I really think Indian Hills is for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    Hills is very supportive of their the athletic programs. Athletic programs at Hills consist of Softball, Baseball (Centerville Campus), Basketball, Volleyball, Men's Soccer, Women's Soccer, Cheerleading. There are also activities that are set up on campus and off campus for students.

    Food and Dining

    In the Arts & Science Building is where the cafeteria and a small coffee shop. The cafeteria serves anything from the main meal to a salad bar which is all made by the students of Culinary Arts program here at Indian Hills. The coffee shop has sandwiches, pastries, smoothies, and frappes. There is also Warrior Junction located in the Advanced Technology Building serves quick treats.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms/apartments on campus are co-ed, which isn't a problem. In Oak and Trustee girls on two floor, guys on the other two. Keokuk, Wapello, and Appanoose are apartments on campus that are boys/girls mixed floors.

    Academic Rigor

    Hills is dedicated to excellence in educational opportunity, economic development, cultural understanding, and social enrichment. Hills has a number of courses that can taken, as well as programs that will help you start a career after graduating from Hills. Hills offers 3 types of degrees: Associate of Arts (A.A.), Associate of Science (A.S.), and Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.). The programs include Advanced Technologies, Arts and Sciences, Health Occupations, Skillâ??Building Courses, and Customized Learning options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your goals close, do not loose sight of why you go to college.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, eat in the cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the materials they send you before school starts