Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Indiana Tech Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a very social person, this is the school for you. If you're a computer nerd, this is the school for you. If you're a basketball, baseball, volleyball, softball, or track star, this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY FOR PLENTY OF SCHOLARSHIPS!!! I cannot, repeat, CANNOT stress this enough!!

    Bang for the buck

    Indiana Tech is EXPENSIVE. Being a Commuter student as opposed to living on-campus, I can't say that Indiana Tech is a very good value.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Indiana Tech for school. Not only is my job as a Tutor there, but it get's me out of the house, and I truly enjoy the friendships I've formed with many of my regular professors there.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned many things at Indiana Tech; but growing up Home-schooled, I've learned as much NOT in the classroom as in it. Indiana Tech is an excellent place to just learn about life in general, as well as the normal, expected academia.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, ensure that your SAT and/or ACT scores are what you want them to be. Even if you only played junior varsity in high school, you should look into that sport here at tech. It is another source for a scholarship.

    Bang for the buck

    Tech is definitely expensive, but worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is never a dull moment on campus, we always have an event going on that is put on by our very active Student Life group.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors get to know you and help you out a lot. Which you will most likely not find at a larger school.

  • 07/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    the people our great the athletic program is great too

    Am learning a lot

    you will learn alot the professors our great

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, small-town teens, committed students.

    Tips for prospective students

    While adjusting to college life might be hard at first it will get better. Get involved in a sports team, intermural team, or even a Bible study on campus. It really helps to get you in with the right kind of people.

    Bang for the buck

    While Indiana Tech is a little bit on the pricey side, it is definitely worth it! I do not know of many universities where undergraduates are allowed to be as involved in anatomy as I have been. The experiences I've gained in my classes definitely make this the place to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first it was difficult moving away from home, but at Tech I quickly found the very best friends I have ever had. The campus is small and personal and there's always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Indiana Tech has been great when it comes to education. My advisor happens to be my favorite teacher here because he puts so much time into teaching us exactly what we need to know when we head out into the work field. So many professors here make it their goal to educate us the best way possible.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are into tech, sports, or meeting new people. Than this may be for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is good to always be prepared. Make sure to research anything and every thing you can before you make your decision. Some decisions can only be made once.

    Bang for the buck

    Indiana Tech might be pricey. But I think joining the service will help with the cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    Being away from home will do me some good. Hope to meet new people and make some cool friends.

    Will learn a lot

    I look forward to learning a lot if I am accepted into this college. Indiana Tech seems to be the place for me. Technology is a big part of my life and most careers involve tech.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, and Securitas is always ready.

    Greek Life

    There's not much of this, and I tend to stay away from it...

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on, and there are clubs for most tastes. Most importantly, there are professional societies so that you can start getting ahead in the professional world.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering and Computer Science majors! You also have to be willing to work...and work...and work and be diligent in studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This isn't really unusual, but for the biomedical engineers, we always look forward to the first cup of coffee brewed in our adviser's office of the semester. It reminds us that we're equals and will one day be like him. One cool thing is that the Oropeza and Evans-Kimmel residence halls are mirror images of each other on the outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty much for the same reason why Academic Rigor is rated the way it is. If you're a non-engineering/computer science student, it's a waste of money, but if you are a engineering/computer science student, you couldn't ask for better, more helpful teachers. The Career Center is super helpful, you should make use of it!

    What to do for fun

    There's just so much to do! ITGS is usually running something, Residence Life and Student Life are running something, there's bowling, the theater, and Fort Wayne in general has a lot to offer, such as laser tag and gaming.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is excellent, others not so much. ...Like at the end of the year.

    Dorm Life

    Residence Life does a lot of events which makes it fun to be on campus. However, they do not do a very good job of placing you with compatible roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The engineering and computer science programs are both very rigorous, warranting a 5. As before, the non-engineering/computer science program... very easy, and it deserves a 1. Overall, a 3 when you take both into account.

    Tips for prospective students

    Math math math! And science. Those are key for an engineering field. Don't come here if you're going for something that isn't engineering or computer science. It's too expensive for the quality you're getting if you're a non-engineering student.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech has a fairly good atmosphere. The engineering program is par and rigorous. The non-engineering program...not so much.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers a lot of clubs, so you always have something to do or join. The school does not have to many activities. They may offer an activity once a month.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for athletes. We have many sports and lots of scholarship money. The school gives you a great academic and athletic experience.,

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty expensive at around 32K a year. They do offer a lot of scholarships so it is cheaper then 32K. The classes give you real world experience and not just book smarts.

    What to do for fun

    The school is close to downtown. You can go to professional hockey, basketball, or baseball games all close to the school. There are two malls and lots of stores. The school has lots of sports teams so something is always going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very good. The lines are always long and it takes a while to get your food. They serve the same things over and over which gets old. Omelets are the only good thing they have.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a lot of fun or miserable. It all depends on who you have as a roommate. The dorms all have tv's and are very comfortable. There is lots of space so you are not crammed together.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty difficult, but the teachers will help you through the material. Being a Tech school, the classes are harder then your normal university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own food because the food is not the greatest. Try to room with a friend or otherwise you might end up with some very interesting people. Get to know your teachers; they are willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    The food is not the greatest, but the teaching makes it worth it. The teachers are knowledgeable and make the material easy to understand. Sports are a huge thing at our school.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus life team does a good job on coming up with events for the students that live on and off of campus. You have many chances to win prizes from these events that they put on for the students. Also if you get a group of friends to play games(sports) there is a few areas to play and gyms as well

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is great and then others you are going to eat the pizza that is always there and/or a salad, but you have many options to choose from when it comes to food. Indiana Tech also provides a good amount of different type of drinks to go with the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be a lot of fun, but you do have to follow most, if not all, of the rules. If you get a great RA then you can possibly get away with more stuff in the dorms... like having music louder then other students. get to know the students around you so you don't have to fight about things that don't matter that much also. It will make the dorm life a great experience if you do that,

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Indiana Tech are great for any student in the engineering degrees, but the business degrees are getting better. Some of the Professors are great at getting everyone involved and into a learning state, but others who are there to pretty much pick up a check

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an expensive college, so you might have to take a loan or two out to pay for it. Go out and meet your fellow classmates how you can get elp from them if need be for your classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a clean and good looking campus in downtown Fort Wayne, Indiana and is in walking distance of many fast food restaurants and a triple A baseball team. Since it is in downtown the traffic does pick up a little bit a rush hour, but isn't bad to get across the street. A down fall to the campus is that has a graveyard across the street and it sounds bad at times.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Apply for scholarship they have plenty, and are willing to give them to deserving and qualified students

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    i wasn't sure if i was going to like the five week class study model being use to four to six class semesters. even though it is a lot of work and challenging, i have adapted quickly and love it now.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don't know what your doing or having a problem just ask, the people at the college are great and if they don't have the answer they will point you in the right direction!

    In three sentences

    great online study program for my major. independent study allows me to study around my schedule. wonderful people to answer questions and help with any difficult situation (application, financial aid, transfers, ect).

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is great. always available, security cameras always working, and rarely a break in.

    Greek Life

    there is a fraternity and a sorority on campus. not largely recognized yet, but still do a lot for the school and community.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs on campus, something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    great for engineering students. willing to work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive school, but worth it for the experiences.

    What to do for fun

    the events the school holds are a lot of fun. also, there is a sorority and fraternity on campus that will hold events, and makes campus life much more active.

    Food and Dining

    food is not great. some days it is okay, but most of the time it is not good.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very clean and nice. however, it is much cheaper to live off campus if possible.

    Academic Rigor

    great academic programs, but there should be some staffing changes. staff is willing to help, but not always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    file the fafsa early. keep on top of financial aid/billing with the business office. do not procrastinate. if possible, live off campus, it is much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    this is a vary small, private school. small class sizes make it easy to connect with teachers. all faculty is willing to help with any problems with school or life in general, which is great.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is in the middle of Fort Wayne and Fort Wayne can be thought of as an unsafe city/community but Indiana Tech is definitely very safe. People that don't attend the school don't walk through because walking through our campus doesn't create any shortcut possibility. There are blue emergency stations scattered around campus that call the police directly if anything bad did occur. Security walks the grounds every once in a while to make sure everything is going squarely. Entering campus housing isn't possible without a code or school ID.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority and one fraternity on campus. They're not as popular yet because they started not too many years ago. They hold social occasions and events every once in a while.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that can be joined. There are clubs that match majors and minors, intramurals for sports you'd like to play other than the sport they play for Indiana Tech or because they don't play anything at all. It's fun and competitive. We have religious clubs. The Fort Wayne Tincaps play in the Spring season and students like to attend those games at the stadium just a few blocks away.

    Great for these types of students

    Indiana Tech is great for the students that enjoy the small school feeling. It's great for the students that like that one on one contact with teachers/professors because the professors at Indiana Tech are willing to put in the time with their students that they know by name. Indiana Tech is great for those student that want to come out of college with possible job offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    These may not be unusual but we have nights of fine dining, red carpet dining, ice cream socials, egg hunts on Easter, Thanksgiving dinners, intramurals and so much more. What makes these traditions traditions is the people that attend.

    Bang for the buck

    You're paying quite a bit but if you choose the small school setting you'll probably have a fine time at Indiana Tech. You can walk out of graduation with job offers from your professors, your professors get to know you and you DON'T have to share a bathroom with 30-40 people! Always a plus.

    What to do for fun

    Student life, sorority/fraternity, and other school groups and clubs have social options about once or twice a week. There's bowling, music, corn hole on the warm days and a large grass area in the middle of campus for other fun things like ultimate frisbee, softball, football, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great. There is a variety but its' food from a catering company so it's different than some might be used to. If that is the case there is a salad, pizza, sandwich and pasta bar available a every meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are bigger than what most colleges have and each dorm has their own bathroom and shower. A normal room has two bathrooms and one shower that would be shared between up to four people. Handicap rooms are larger than the normal rooms and has two full bathrooms (full bathroom including shower and toilet).

    Academic Rigor

    Indiana Tech keeps track of attendance unlike most colleges. They care about their students' success and are very serious about finding them a career that will last them a lifetime.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be absolutely sure they want to spend the next four years at Indiana Tech and work very hard to do well and get their professors' attention because their professors will have connections that could help them get jobs in the future.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is a great school for student-athletes. If a student is completely sure they want to attend then it's the perfect school for them as long as their major is taught here. If they're not completely positive about attending they need to do research and decide carefully because credits don't transfer to many other colleges or universities.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have sercurity called securitas

    Greek Life

    We have a sorority and a ferturnity on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities that are offered for students

    Bang for the buck

    Indiana Tech has discounts at certain areas with valid school ID

    What to do for fun

    In Fort Wayne there is a lot of things going on everywhere (on campus, off campus, the coliseum, Parkview Field, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    All you can during a certain amount of time

    Dorm Life

    There is alot of bonding and socializing in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but professors are able to answer any questions

    Tips for prospective students

    two words, Time Management

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus, but growing. Friendly atmosphere. We are a close family of students and athletes.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Securitas they don't do much but they can be very helpful. Fort Wayne police is always on top and ready if we need them. They occasionally come up to the school and make sure nothing is going on.

    Greek Life

    i do not know much about Greek life. That is not my place of interest.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is always great to get involved in clubs at Tech. It was only my first year so i do not know the names of many.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are big on God then you should join the choir at Tech. We also have FCA which is just fellowship of christian athletes. Also weekly bible study and church in the theatre every Sunday.

    What to do for fun

    We have the rec center where there is Dancing, Bowling, Pool, air hockey etc. Also they come up with different activites every week for the students to have fun. Although, it is more fun to go to the put put golf and go karts down the street, maybe even krazy pins or laser tag is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but they try. The grilled cheese and pizza has to be my favorite. They try and give out as many options as possible. The dinning is pretty cool. The cafe is big enough for everyone and we can sit and just enjoy ourselves.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. The way they are set up is amazing. All dorms are co-ed and big enough to party. The only building that is a struggle is Kalbfleish. There is no air conditioning and it is pretty small.

    Academic Rigor

    This institute takes attendance and assignments very seriously. The faculty is always willing to help but you have to come to class and be on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is such a small campus so be careful what you tell people. Try to get involved in as many campus activities as possible. It is a great way to enjoy yourself and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is a great school for one on one help. The teacher-student ratio is great. They are willing to help and campus activities are always fun.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are posts sitting around campus that can be used to contact the police in an emergency. The campus stays lit all night long. If anything happens, the police station and firestations are close by. Securitas monitor the cameras 24/7 and will call the police if there is a problem.

    Greek Life

    There are opportunities for this, but I am not aware of how things work in this category.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tech has many sports, intramural and recreational, which travels. New clubs are made every now and then and are very hands-on and fun. New activities and things going on around campus are sent via email and are also posted around campus so everyone can be apart of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Tech is great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pizza place on campus that makes pizza till late night or early morning for those late nights. They are cheap and make pretty good pizza and other things. There is something always going on around campus and they school works really well with all the students.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that it may be a little too expensive, but since it is a private school, they give out more scholarships. I definitly would recommend this school to other students, because its a great experience and you will learn a lot. Plus, Tech has a beautiful campus and its small so everything is close to eachother, but not too close.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many activities to do that are for all students to partake in, such as decorate frisbees, make t-shirts, play games, etc. There is a rec room which is great for everyone, they have pool tables, bowling, game systems, fooseball, air hockey, and more. The school is located right downtown, which makes it easier to do things in town as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food may not always be great but there are plenty of options. They have a pizza bar, which is open everyday, all day. They also have a pasta bar, salad bar, ice cream machine, and three other lines that the food changes in daily.

    Dorm Life

    They have co-ed dorms, so its easy to meet new people of both genders. Living with other people makes it even easier to mingle with others and makes it more fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great and all have experience or work in the fields that they teach. The class size is small, about the size of high school classes, aka maybe 20-30 students per class. Small classes means the teacher knows each student and is able to help them individually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to change and do your best to make the college experience great for you. Do your homework right after class, or at least that same day/night so it will be done and out of the way. Living on campus is a great way to gain independence and learn skills such as to live alone and fend for yourself.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school and can be enjoyed by everyone. Tech is full of diversity and it is very easy to meet new people and make new friends. The teachers work in the field that they teach, which makes learning easier and more enjoyable.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe!!! Even at not so safe hours.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for traditional students. Those students that are just getting out of high school.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Life department does a great job sending out a weekly student events schedule. Every Monday they send the weeks activities to every student via email. I thought that was a great idea. No student can say say that they don't know what is happening on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I think that every school would complain about the food and dining. We always think it could be much better. I will leave it at that

    Dorm Life

    I dont actually live on the dorms. They haveto bedoing well. I say that because, this is the second year in a row where this istitution has added new dorms. This year they have bought a block and arev building brand new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very good. The instuctors at Indiana Tech push for excellence. They are always available to work with you. They put in many hours working for us as students. I really appreciate all the help that offered in the library and tutoring offices.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give to any prospective student is to simply visit the campus! Make sure you visit during the school year so you get the full effect of that insitution. My next tip is for the student to research the insitution's cost and what type of financial assistance (i.e. scholarship and or insitutional assistance) is offered at this insitution. Lastly simply look around on the campus. You can feel good energy at a campus. See if the students there seem happy, excited, active, Those are my tips

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is a very good institution for young students just getting out of high school. It offers personalized classrooms and many other great ammenities. The adult program on the other hand could use some work, it does not offer much and the insitution does not really put much effort into the adult program even though 85% of the insitution's enrollment is in the adult program.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate them a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that yo are aware of your financial aid options, as well as current work study programs.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very knowledgeable about what they are teaching. The warrior network is very helpful when calling about class scheduling, and the class times that are available work very well with adult schedules.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an adult student.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus. I do however know people that live on campus. And they say that everything is very nice. A+

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm. It seems like the dorms are great. A+

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but that is expected. I feel that it is a great school. A+

    Tips for prospective students

    All offices are wonderful about helping the students in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    They offer lots of different career choices. The professors that I have had so far are wonderful. Everyone is very helpful with any problems that may arise.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is horrible! Anyone is allowed in the building anytime without i.d. The security really didn't do anything but stare at you while you spoke, which was very rude.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is not what you expect. They have only one club for both men and women.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun on campus. Everything closes at around 9 p.m and that leaves the students the rest of the night to do absolutely nothing.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Indiana Tech is just plain nasty! They don't offer a variety of foods. They serve fries almost everyday and the dishes and eating area was not clean at all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Indiana Tech is very boring. I felt like I was in elementary school the way the RA's baby sat us. The dorms are very small and you share one shower with four people. The dorms are not very secure and your neighbors are very disruptive.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics go this is a great school! Although if you do plan to transfer after your freshman year your credits will be held. The classes are very small and the professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to be open minded about everything and to bring a lot of things to stay busy while on campus.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have one security desk, and security is not available after specific hours, also for the classes held at night there is only one security guard. yet there tends to be some breaks ins into people's cars because of the lack of security.

    Greek Life

    they do offer a small fraternity and sorority, but because this is a smaller school there isn't a large number of participation, and because sports are the major focus of this school, they don't get alot of attention.

    Great for these types of students

    this college was originally created for traditional, campus residing students, with sports scholarships. it is a private school so if that is what you are looking for this school is it.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes are over priced, but for my degree i don't have to take as many strenuous classes that are required of me at other universities, also i don't have to pay for books because we rent them. another advantage is we take one course per week for five weeks then move on to the next course. however, we do pay twelve hundred dollars per class.

    What to do for fun

    returning adult students are not offered nor given any choices for extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    returning adult students are not offered any food and dining services.

    Tips for prospective students

    take your time in considering several colleges before settling on one. compare pricing per credit hour for each class and services offered to guide you through your entire college career and afterwards.

    In three sentences

    indiana tech offers a good program for returning adults, going one night a week for fives weeks per class. however, the program is not very developed in it's services and assistance given to non-traditional students. the classes should be offered at a lower rate as well, considering we are not getting the same length of education as traditional students are.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is watching and protecting 24/7 365.

    Greek Life

    indiana tech has two fraternities and one sorority

    Clubs and Activities

    several other intramural sports are available for fun, but have no scholarship value attached to them.

    Great for these types of students

    great for soccer, tennis, track, baseball, softball, basketball, and lacrosse athletes!

    Bang for the buck

    the admission process is extremely frustrating and the overall experience is not something to be wowed over, but indiana tech is known for giving out scholarships that will cover at least a third of tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few day trips that can be made to the zoo or to one of the two malls, but there is no night life on or off campus.

    Food and Dining

    indiana tech only allows you to purchase a 19 meal a week plan and it is way too much food. no one needs that many meals a week in college. also, freshman are required to purchase the meal plan and the hours of the dining hall are extremely hard to accommodate to an athlete's schedule or someone with a job.

    Dorm Life

    the freshmen are required to live in a suite style dorm, but indiana tech has over booked themselves the past few years and have students living in hotels for an extended period of time. make sure that there is enough allocated time for the housing application to be processed (may 10, 2012 is the earliest).

    Academic Rigor

    i have enjoyed the majority of my professors and have had no problems obtaining a good grade point average, but as always there will be a few professors that are not to your standards or liking.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure there is time to take a tour of fort wayne. it is the second largest city in indiana and it can take some time to get used to driving in the thick traffic if you are not used to it. indiana tech has shuttle buses and tours available during freshman orientation and i strongly suggest you take one of them!

    In three sentences

    indiana tech is a great school for someone who wishes to attend a small school with an abundance of one on one time with professors, but the business office of the administration is extremely slow and under staffed. just make sure you track all of your financial, admission, and personal information to ensure that nothing goes wrong!

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i live in indianapolis, there are plenty of things to do for fun here.

    Food and Dining

    cps is only available as an off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    cps is only available as an off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the accelerated pace constantly challenges me.

    Tips for prospective students

    good time management, endurance on class days. 5 week courses means you need to be able to absorb and understand information quickly.

    In three sentences

    college of professional studies program works great to balance work, family, and school. accelerated courses and multiple locations means that i am always able to get to class. it is a real pleasure to be instructed by people who are working in the field to give that real world insight.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i receive emails on future and current events. ways to help your community out and dinners and yard sales. meetings and gatherings, so be sure to check your school email account, so you can stay up to date on the fun at indiana tech.

    Food and Dining

    i live off campus. contact the campus you wish to attend and take a visit and explore the dorms and or campus.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus. contact the campus you wish to attend and take a visit and explore the dorms and or campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    i'm in the acceleration program. i enjoy my five-week classes. get plenty of rest and eat healthy because you will have to study for quiz and test. we'll know it's hard to study without rest and a proper meal. don't put a lot of course on yourself if you can't handle it. look for scholarships and apply if you have not already done so. do research on the campus you are planning to attend. ask a indiana tech representative some of your concerns.

    In three sentences

    indiana tech is a professional college that displays respect to their instructors as well as current and future students. if you need help or have any concerns, it's always available 24/7; with a click or phone call. there's lots of diversity, young and older adults. overall it's a mature setting.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although our campus is small we do have security on site during class hours

    Greek Life

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location and does not have greek social groups

    Clubs and Activities

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location and does not have activities and clubs

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, adults, working parents, new high school graduates, students who only want to take a certain amount of classes at a time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location

    Bang for the buck

    I researched many schools in my area and this is one of the best fully accredited schools and very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location

    Food and Dining

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location and does not have a dining area

    Dorm Life

    NA= The campus that I attend is an offsight location and does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your concentration, there are a wide range of courses. However, at the offsight locations the classes are small so that you can get the detailed assistance that you need

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure of what your intrests are. I would definitely recommend that you meet with an acedemic counselor. Indiana Tech has a wide range of studies and they can help guide you in the right direction for a career path that is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is truly a unique school. The atmosphere is very comforting. Class size is small enought so that you can directly with the professors who are knowledgeable and willing to give you tips and the assistance that you need.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    test

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security is all old people and they don't even really check ID's or anything. The place locks at like 11 pm and unlocks at about 7 in mourning. There isn't much crime in this area so that makes me feel a little safe.

    Greek Life

    There is one very small fraternity across the street. They don't smoke, drink, or promote underage sex and may host a party if they chose to.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have limited clubs and the ones they do have meet only about 2 times a month

    Great for these types of students

    If you just want to go to any college only for graduating and don't like to go out this is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a fire pit that they turn on on weekends sometimes people can hang out at and socialize. They have a chapel on campus but its only one room on the second floor of the same place as the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount I had to pay this school was not worth all of it. I had to purchase a full dining plan for my residence hall and i don't eat all of them so it was a waste. Its a good school if u just want to go, graduate, and never come back but not at the price.

    What to do for fun

    They host something in the theater every 3 or 4 weeks that you can go to. Other than that you can play basketball on the court or volleyball on the sand pit. They have a library and in the rec center they have activities like bowling, ping pong, and air hockey. If you like to go out then there is almost nothing.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a varied amount of foods inside. The breakfast is the same mainly just eggs, sausage, ham, and waffles. The lunch and dinner portion have something different every day from different cultures around the world. It ranges from Thai chicken to chicken ceaser salad to chocolate pancakes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't very big at the Pierson center. Unless you get the 1 or 2 rooms on a floor that are bigger than all other dorms you don't have much room and you share a bathroom with 4 people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't hard at all. It will take some work and if u don't understand it you can ask your teacher or go to the tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your mainly into athletics and lacking in academics this is the school for you. The classes aren't hard and there is a free tutoring centers everywhere. The teachers will work with you if u don't understand anything.

    In three sentences

    Indiana tech is a very small private athletic school with nothing particularly special about it. There is almost nothing to do here except for every once in a while the school will host something for a couple of hours on the weekend, which is fun but short lived. Its restrictive on classes; you chose your major and they chose all your classes for the next 4 years.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    Online, working student or those returning to school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that it is a good value. Books are included so it is an all inclusive price.

    What to do for fun

    Unknown

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    You will feel like you are learning, but so far nothing that can't be handled.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have everything in writing about what classes will be required. I got hosed on 1 class that they made me retake after I was enrolled.

    In three sentences

    Good online program for people returning to school. Fairly flexible to accommodate a working persons schedule. Regionally accredited.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Jefferson Pointe Shopping Center, Crazy Pinz Bowling Alley, Foellinger-Freimann Botanical Conservatory in downtown Fort Wayne, Glenbrook Square (shopping), Fort Wayne Children's Zoo, Fort Wayne Museum of Art, C2G Music Hall, DeBrand Chocolate Tours, Embassy Theatre, Rave Cinemas, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Many of the housing options offer a meal plan. Most units have kitchens. There are plenty of restaurants to try in Fort Wayne.

    Dorm Life

    Indiana Techs Fort Wayne Campus offers suites housing 251 students. Apartment style living with 2, 3, or 4 bedroom units with partial kitchens, and furnished living rooms. In addition there are 4-6 person townhouses, as well as housing assigned to athletes on specific scholarships.

    Academic Rigor

    As an adult student at Indiana Techs College of Professional Studies you will be able to draw from all the knowledge, theories, and strategies that you have learned throughout your career and/or real life experiences. I have never had a teacher/professor that wanted to see their students fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the library, on-line student resource centers, and other tools the college has to offer. Apply for scholarships, even if you don't think that you will qualify.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is great for those fresh out of high school, those seeking a college education for the first time, or busy professionals returning or continuing their educations. The professors make it their goal to educate all students in the best way possible. Most work FT outside of the school and discuss their own real life experiences as it might relate to a particular topic offering invaluable insight.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, bowling, fashion design

    What to do for fun

    Sing in the chorus

    Food and Dining

    Nothing like home

    Dorm Life

    Interesting

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Great learning opportunity

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although I think that the online course are a bit pricey it isn't a bad deal when you consider it is an online course.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great since it is at my home.

    Academic Rigor

    Online courses are started and finished in five weeks so it is a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to consider when doing an online degree.

    In three sentences

    Good school. Not Ivy league but a very fast paced environment.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to move forward time goes by fast. You will be in and on your way out before you realize it. Awesome!!

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is a wonderful school! I am a single mother, working full time. The College of Professional Studies (CPS) program allows me to work and continue my education. The classes are five weeks long, so your moving along rapidly which is wonderful.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security as well as call boxes on and around the campus and dorms.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about this since I am not currently looking to join a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities on campus for students to join even if you don't live on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for communtor and students looking to attend a small campus

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the education here is well worth the money, the fact that there is no book fee is even better. Each semester you rent the books for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    I am on the bowling team so we practice and compete a lot. There are various other sport teams and clubs to join so take your pick.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is not bad, it is way better than the food at my former high school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, my dorm is new so it is great and me and my roommate get along very well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are lecture based, so if you are not use to that you may have a hard time in the beginning but once you figure things out you should be ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask for help if you need it. Although the campus is small and there isn't much to do in the area there is public transportation so you will be able to get around and experience the city. Join a club or team.

    In three sentences

    This is a great small school, there is a lot of assistance here if a student is struggling with anything from classes to personal issues. I love my dorm, I was lucky enough to be housed in the new dorm and it is great. I had some issues first semester but I expect to be back on track this semester.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is excellent around this campus. They have guards posted throughout the campus and each post is in visual contact with the other guards.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an excellent college with excellent programs for working adults.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private college without state funding, so the tuition is a little high, but you really get what you pay for , with quality instructors and smaller class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time and go to school full time, so fun isn't much of an option. Lot's to do in Fort Wayne though.

    Food and Dining

    The same as the dorms, I have never eaten on campus. Great food and lots of choices near by.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it three stars because I just don't know. I don't live on campus and I don't know anyone who does.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging, but not so bad that can't get it done and do well at it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and make sure you have your books before classes. There are always reading assignments before the first class and it is very hard to catch up if you start behind.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with Indiana Tech and the quality of the professors there. I was a little wary when I started there, but I have no regrets.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24-hour security in their main building, part-time security for all of campus, emergency stations everywhere, small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have great athletic programs.

    What to do for fun

    Catch a game (they always have sports going), watch a movie, take a walk with friends, play ultimate frisbee, etc.

    Food and Dining

    It's all you can eat and it is well prepared. You have no worries when it comes to eating.

    Dorm Life

    They have a great selection of housing and it all very nice and well taken care of. You're sure to find an accommodation that you like!

    Academic Rigor

    They work with you to set up a nice schedule that fits your pace. Not too hard but not too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus, apply for scholarships, communicate with the admissions people (and coaches).

    In three sentences

    Extremely friendly campus! Great school spirit! Dedicated faculty!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep contact with your advisors and track your planned course path often. Also look at the prerequisites for your courses. Many times you can take more than one class at time during the 5 or 6 week semesters. If you can swing it, it gets you to that degree even quicker.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech is a great institution for professionals looking to further their careers. The fast paced courses are a great challenge and learning experience. The curriculum is very good, and the instructors are extremely qualified.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety here is definitely one of kind. Not once have I ever had to question my safety here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth here at Indiana Tech. You will receive exceptional advice and lessons from your professors. Your professors here actually care and want to see you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Fort Wayne is a somewhat smaller city, but there are many things to do here. The Indiana Tech campus is about 5 minutes from the downtown area. There are many dining options and tourist attraction close to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the application process seriously and be dedicated. If this is the palc efor you, you will thrive here! Coming here is a life changing experience. Be prepared to take the best step for your future.

    In three sentences

    A fun learning environment, dedicated to helping their students succeed. There is no other college like Indiana Tech. I am proud to say I go here.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that like to get screwed over on their transcript and courses and financial aid is overly delayed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Can't speak for the students that live on campus because I am a CPS student (attend night classes) but if you are interested in internships, which they don't offer to CPS students, nor do they make exceptions because they claim they have no mechanisms in place to do so and making simple schedule changes then choose a better college that can work around your needs.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech students are nice but if you need assistance getting a course scheduled that the Warrior Information Network (WIN) scheduled and messed up then they wont take fault and make things VERY difficult for you to continue with your studies. They don't work with you even with all you pay in tuition fees and it doesn't matter if your close to graduating.They will make things more than hard for you to get into a course, even if you have the instructor backing you because they are too stubborn to move their feet.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. They send out emails every week of the menu to let us know what were having. They have a salad bar, ice cream machine, hot chocolate machine, and pop/juice machines. Lunch and dinner are the busiest meals of the day, but its worth the wait since the food is handmade. The cafeteria is pretty big and you can see the courtyard outside from the windows. Its a very nice view.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorm halls here. Two for freshman and several more for upperclassmen. Upperclassmen can actually request to live in the freshman dorms if they want to and room with some friends of theirs. The rooms are fairly spacious depending on how much stuff you have. They provide closets and desks with chairs so you don't have to worry about that and they also have cabinets with shelves for your stuff too. Laundry is free which is something they just started so you dont have to stack quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, its not difficult but not easy. Its in the middle. It all depends on what kind of person you are and the classes you take. The school allows you to see all the classes you need to take for your particular major and depending on whether it needs a prerequisite class you can pretty much take classes whenever you want to. The classes are small so that way you can have more one on one attention with your professor.

    In three sentences

    Its a really great school. They have a beautiful campus and its not too large so you can walk the whole thing and won't be out of breath or your feet won't be hurting. People here are also lively and friendly.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Greek Life

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Clubs and Activities

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional Day

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Bang for the buck

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    What to do for fun

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Food and Dining

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Dorm Life

    NA to me I am a professional student.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and up to date course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work ahead if you can because the course work is challenging but great.

    In three sentences

    Indiana Tech has great professors, curriculum, and online formats. Their Financial Aid Department presents problems for most students because they have no set aid refund schedule. If you can overlook that department in combination with the business office the school is great.